The Editor

Barbados Underground

Barbados, W.I

Dear Sir/Madam

There was an article in your newspaper of 3 .February 2020 entitled: “Barbados not rushing to ban travellers from China.” The same message was also aired on radio. Mention was made about the statistical likelihood of an outbreak locally being under two percent. There was even mention of the fact that since 1967 there was no real impact on Barbados of the outbreak of contagious diseases. According to the aired news the local authorities were following the World Health Organization (WHO) guidelines. As the holder of a doctorate in microbiology and some one who has done post doctoral studies in the discipline, I have a few questions, which I want answered in the public interest.

According to the Center for Disease control and Prevention (CDC). the virus has an incubation period of two weeks. Infected person maybe asymptomatic during the two-week period. It was for this reason the USA instituted a ban on persons who had been exposed for less than two weeks entering its domain. The reason given for doing so was the logistics involved in screening for potential carriers. Let me explain.

Let us assume there is an asymptomatic carrier who has entered the Barbadian domain and is interacting with the locals. After realizing that there is an active carrier in Barbados, it is incumbent on the authorities to track down and screen all persons who have interacted with the carrier. If the carrier has interacted with one hundred persons, each person has to be screened. This only allows for interaction of the carrier with one hundred persons. Allowance also has to be made for the interaction of each member of the one-hundred with other people. As can be envisaged, the number of persons required to screen, dramatically increases to such an extent, that the screening process breaks down. It is for this reason that countries have introduced a ban on persons who come from infected areas. In the case illustrated above where would Barbados get the required trained persons to actively carry out screening?

There has been mention of the fact that Barbados is following the WHO guidelines. Is this the same WHO that was shown to be totally incompetent its handling of Ebola? What about the Haitian cholera outbreak? The latter was under the aegis of the United Nation of which WHO is a part. The best scientists in the field do not work for WHO; they are found in research institutions. The WHO like all other United Nations bodies are constrained by political realities of member states who push political objectives ahead of what the correct scientific should be. As far as I can make out, there seems to be a pecuniary method behind Barbados’s stance on this matter: namely an effort not to affect the tourist industry.

Sincerely

Robert D. Lucas, PH.D.

734 responses to “Coronavirus Back Story – Why Barbados is NOT Banning Travel from Affected Areas”

1. ASSTIN

RE The fair assumption must be that the QEH has better facilities than the military,

SO THEN YOU WILL ADMIT A LARGE NUMBER OF INFECTED PERSONS TO THE QEH AND RISK INFECTING THE HOSPITAL PATIENTS AND STAFF? NOT VERY SMART SIR. NOT VERY SMART AT ALL.

RE . Therefore, any assistance from the BDF medical corp must be peripheral. I WOULD PREFER THAT THEIR ASSISTANCE BE “PERIPHERAL” RATHER THAN HOSPITAL BASED. .

RE As to the quality of military medical services: if the BDF services are better in anyway than the civilian medical services then something is seriously wrong. WHY SHOULD THIS BE SO SIR? ARE NOT THE SERVICES AND TRAINING OF THE PERSONNEL STANDARDIZED?

WERE NOT ALL THE NURSES AT THE BDF TRAINED IN THE SAME WAY AND AT THE SAME PLACE AS THE QEH NURSES?

2. @Hal Austin February 7, 2020 11:18 AM “Public Health England has ordered all its staff to get the flu jab as a precaution and others are going off on a tangent.”

A public education campaign has been running in Barbados for at least two years advising everybody to get the flu shot. I can walk to my polyclinic right now and get the flu shot. All medical professionals know that the should get the flu shot. if a silly lay woman like me knows this you think that doctors, nurses, lab technicians, emergency medical technicians etc. do not know this.

My God [for miller the Sun, for me the Creator of the Sun ] has dropped excellent brains everywhere, not only in the United Kingdom, and not only 70+ years ago.

We got some damn smart young people ’bout dis place [some ‘o dem is me fambly.

3. @Hal Austin February 7, 2020 11:18 AM “As to the quality of military medical services: if the BDF services are better in anyway than the civilian medical services then something is seriously wrong.”

NOBODY, NOBODY has claimed that the medical services of the BDF are better than the medical services of the QEH.

ALL hospitals everywhere practice triage. The most seriously ill patients, those less ill, those idiots feeling hale and hearty who go to the hospital for a “check-up” and so forth.

4. @Dame Bajans February 7, 2020 11:10 AM “Story going around in Ottawa is that this is no ordinary outbreak, i.e. the hazmat suits of medical staff treating the infected.”

We have been reading the WHO situation reports. The first one issued on January 21; and the most recent one on February 6.

https://www.who.int/docs/default-source/coronaviruse/situation-reports/20200121-sitrep-1-2019-ncov.pdf?sfvrsn=20a99c10_4
    WHO situation report 1

https://www.who.int/docs/default-source/coronaviruse/situation-reports/20200206-sitrep-17-ncov.pdf?sfvrsn=17f0dca_4
    WHO situation report 17

No new countries reported cases of 2019-nCoV in the past 24 hours.

5. the medical services of the BDF are BASICALLY THE SAME AS the medical services of the QEH.FOR ALL SIMPLE CASES

the medical services of the BDF are FOR THEIR CONVENIENCE AND PREVENTS CLUTTERING UP THE QEH SERVICE

FOR THIS REASON THERE ARE MEDICAL OFFICERS FOR POLICE FIRE SERVICE PRISON SERVICE AND THERE USED TO BE FOR THE CHILD CARE BOARD LOCATIONS ALSO

6. @NorthernObserver February 7, 2020 11:32 AM “‘Let loose’? The cost to China will be huge. Not only to their people, which they don’t always care much about, but their economy.”

I bet that it is kinda hard to have an economy without people, so if a country wants a good economy it had better be good to people; especially as the lab which produces fully grown people is kinda slow, and can’t seem to get a good job done outside of about 20 years or so. Can’t seem to get the people-making job speeded up.

7. My bone of contention relies on evidence which is supportive of my views that landfills contain my toxins and pollutants that are dangerous to people as well as animals health
    As far as those who prefer to aim towards political preference they can do so all they like
    However the problem which i brought to the table about the constant fires at the landfills should be first and foremost spoken of towards finding a solution
    Again shooting the messenger is not the answer

8. Nobody will draw me into their agenda
    What is see happening and the fear the virus has cause amongst people world wide is not a joke
    I read where America has taken drastic precautions yet some areas of America has reported some cases
    Anyone in their right mind after hearing such reports and still belives that barbados lacking in high tech medical technology and advance screening could be safe proof have rocks for brains located in their heads
    Fuh christ Sake america is an example that no matter how well and secure the measures are put in place a failure can occur
    Yet we have barbados govt giving n all out clearance for the Chinese to come on our shores without having all the medical expertise and technology to save lives in case a crisis occurs resulting from the virus.
    Go figure

9. Newsflash! There is no place on earth that is truly safe! Running around setting our hair on fire makes it even less safe. We will surely die in the fire!

Sensible precautions. That’s all we can do and hope for the best. That’s what your government did. That is what this government is doing.

Imagine you, of all people talking about agendas! SMH.

10. Again
    How are the Chinese go to get to Barbados unless they come through the greater countries that has the Technology to screen them
    And also if the sane countries that they must first enter in order to get to Barbados has ban them from coming
    How do u arrive that it is an olen door policy ???

Ps. I just passed through another USA AirPort only saw two people wear Mask
    So much for the hysteria here on bu

11. Bro how did those having the virus who had passed through screening at international airports enter America
    Maybe that is the question u ought to be asking yuh self instead of talking poop about “hysteria”

12. Cruise line bans China citizens; Outrage as doctor who sounded alarm over virus dies

“UNACCEPTABLE STIGMA”

The virus has spread around the world, with 320 cases now in 27 countries and regions outside mainland China, a Reuters tally of official statements showed.

WHO emergency expert Mike Ryan called out a stigma being attached to the virus over reports of Asians being shunned in the West. “The unnecessary, unhelpful profiling of individuals based on ethnicity is utterly and completely unacceptable and it needs to stop,” he said.

Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd <RCL.N> issued a statement on Friday saying: “Any guest or crewmen traveling from, to, or through mainland China, Hong Kong or Macau less than 15 days prior to their sailing will be unable to board any of our ships.”

But it did not stop there. It also said, “Any guests holding a Chinese, Hong Kong or Macau passport, regardless of when they were there last, will not be allowed to board our ships.”

https://www.yahoo.com/news/china-virus-toll-jumps-past-011404305.html

13. So i ask again

Should we ban flights from USA and all other internation AirPorts that have flights to Barbados?

If prevention is better than cure isäntä this what u should be pushing

The greatest threat of the virus getting to Barbados is throught ports in USA England and canada.
    Not the non existent flights from mainland China

14. [U.S.] Centers for Disease Control.Interim Recommendations for Airlines and Airline Crew: Novel Coronavirus in China

This document provides interim recommendations for the commercial airline industry about the 2019 novel (new) coronavirus (2019-nCoV) first identified in Wuhan, China. CDC reminds air carriers of the requirement under Title 42 Code of Federal Regulations section 71.21 to report ill travelers to CDC who have certain signs and symptoms during flight, and all deaths onboard, prior to arrival in the United States. This document also contains recommendations for managing ill travelers onboard if novel coronavirus infection is suspected. Please also see 2019 Novel Coronavirus: Interim Health Guidance from the Federal Aviation Administration and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention for Air Carriers and Crews

More here: https://www.cdc.gov/quarantine/air/managing-sick-travelers/ncov-airlines.html

Subject: 2019 Novel Coronavirus: Interim Health Guidance for Air Carrier and Crews.
    https://www.faa.gov/other_visit/aviation_industry/airline_operators/airline_safety/safo/all_safos/media/2020/SAFO20001.pdf

15. 39th sitting of Parliament

Caswell Speaks on Corona Virus

16. @John 2

You should be so tired.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

listen to Dr.Walcott at 15.15 in the above video. The NIS hasn’t laid audited financial statement before either house in umpteen years. And he is talking about “normally”? They may be required to submit such reports, but since we haven’t seen one since 2008, may I suggest To Dr.Walcott that “normal’ today, is NOT submitting. How can one choose to believe or not believe something which does not exist?

18. When i made mention that govt hides information from the public i was cussed
    A member of Parliament Caswell says the exact words when he gave his views on the issue of the Corona virus and what knowledge he has acquired about govt measures

19. Latest coronavirus study implicates fecal transmission

Diarrhea may be a secondary path of transmission for the novel coronavirus, scientists said Friday following the publication of the latest study reporting patients with abdominal symptoms and loose stool.

The primary path is believed to be virus-laden droplets from an infected person’s cough, though researchers in early cases have said they focused heavily on patients with respiratory symptoms and may have overlooked those linked to the digestive tract.

A total of 14 out of 138 patients (10 percent) in a Wuhan hospital who were studied in the new paper by Chinese authors in the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) initially presented with diarrhea and nausea one or two days prior to development of fever and labored breathing.

The first US patient diagnosed with 2019-nCoV also experienced loose bowel movements for two days and the virus was subsequently detected in his stool, and there have been other such cases in China documented in the Lancet, albeit infrequently.

“Importantly, 2019-nCoV has been reported elsewhere in the feces of patients with atypical abdominal symptoms, similar to SARS which was also shed in urine, suggesting a fecal transmission route which is highly transmissible,” William Keevil, a professor of environmental healthcare at the University of Southampton said in a comment to the UK’s Science Media Centre.

The possibility is not totally surprising to scientists, given that the new virus belongs to the same family as SARS.

Fecal transmission of SARS was implicated in sickening hundreds in Hong Kong’s Amoy Gardens housing estate in 2003. A rising plume of warm air originating in bathrooms contaminated several apartments and was transported by wind to adjacent buildings in the complex.

Based on the literature, “The 2019-nCoV virus found in stool may be transmitted through fecal spread,” added Jiayu Liao, a bioengineer at the University of California, Riverside.

But, he added, “We still do not know how long this virus can survive outside the body — HIV can only survive roughly 30 minutes outside the body — and what temperature range the 2019-nCoV is sensitive to.”

Fecal spread could present new challenges to the virus’s containment, but is more likely to be a problem inside hospitals, which can become “amplifiers” of epidemics, said David Fisman, an epidemiologist at the University of Toronto.

Benjamin Neuman, a virology expert at Texas A&M University-Texarkana, cautioned that while fecal transmission was “certainly worth considering,” “droplets and touching contaminated surfaces then rubbing eyes, nose or mouth” were likely the main way the virus was transmitted based on current data.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/latest-coronavirus-study-implicates-fecal-transmission-232814719.html

20. @ Mariposa February 7, 2020 4:42 PM
    “Bro how did those having the virus who had passed through screening at international airports enter America
    Maybe that is the question u ought to be asking yuh self instead of talking poop about “hysteria”..”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Ms Multi-pokies, why don’t you ease up off the ‘authorities’ as they respond to the threat of the corona virus?

At least they have demonstrated a ‘proactive’ approach to a potential threat to their very economic survival by way of trying to minimize the impact on the country’s main breadwinner called tourism.

Compared to what took place when your administration allowed the poorly-maintained pit toilet on the south coast to overflow onto the streets and then had the gumption to blame it on those connected to the sewage network (and on deliberate acts of vandalism) the present lot is doing their level best to a phenomenon outside their immediate control.

Can you imagine, Ms Many Ps, what Barbados would look like today if the Stuart administration was still in the business of turning Barbados into the No.1 Shi**thole country in the tourism world?

What do you want the MoH and his handmaidens to do? Mingle among a group of locally-resident Chinese to allay any fears of the existence of the virus in tourism heaven just like how Boyce and Sealy donned their frogman suits to prove that the sea on the Bajan south coast was safer than the WCs used by the angels in heaven?

21. David any comments on Caswell bombshell where he questions govt truthfulness on giving information on the Corona Virus
    Noteworthy he stated that information given to him says that person quarantined at Paragon are suspected to having the virus
    A call for his retraction from the house speaker and Moe was ignored by Caswell

22. Miller did u receive any of the 25 million dollar check from the chinese
    Why should i keep my two sense worth
    Did u hear Caswell input
    Well u should give a listen

23. I did say that I would be shocked if the virus wasn’t present in Barbados; given the casual approach this country has to the influx of people from the hot zone areas

24. Do we still have those Chins doctors at the QEH?

Trump administration has cited concerns over Beijing’s scientific spying programme as the reason it wants to block a Chinese plan to build an $80m headquarters for the Africa Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Ethiopia, amid growing competition for influence in the continent.
    “It’s a threat to Africa. Africa has vast amounts of genomic data and the Chinese want to build the CDC to eventually steal the data from all the other centres,” an administration official told the Financial Times, referring to five regional Africa CDC hubs, some of which were built by the US.
    Based in Egypt, Nigeria, Gabon, Kenya and Zambia, they handle high-risk viruses, health crises, research and data collection. The role of Africa CDC, launched in 2017 in the wake of the deadly 2014 west African Ebola crisis, is to respond to disease outbreaks including coronavirus.
    It is owned and part-funded by the African Union’s 55 members, with additional financial support from the US, China, the World Bank and other donors including Kuwait and Japan.
    Its secretariat is based at the AU headquarters in Addis Ababa. African foreign ministers are expected to discuss a new headquarters for the first time on Thursday.
    “Out of nowhere the Chinese swoop in and want to build the Africa CDC headquarters,” the administration official said, adding that the US had invested $900m in the past 15 years to support health in Africa. “If the Chinese build the headquarters, the US will have nothing to do with Africa CDC.”
    Washington gave $14m to Africa CDC in its first year of operation and still pays the Africa CDC director’s salary along with those of senior medical staff seconded from the US CDC.
    On Friday, a spokesperson for China’s ministry of foreign affairs spokesperson responded to the allegations, saying: “This is just as ridiculous as the recent allegation by some in the US that China is building the AU conference centre to steal AU data. It shows that some people in the US always make presumptions by their own pattern.”
    Beijing has already built the AU’s $200m conference centre, which houses the Africa CDC secretariat, in Addis Ababa. The building was mired in controversy following 2018 claims denied by Beijing that it bugged the 19-storey building and uploaded a nightly data cache, including audio recordings, to Chinese servers for five years.
    The Obama administration reached a 2016 agreement with Beijing to jointly support the Africa CDC and strengthen links between Chinese, African and American health experts.
    But this co-operation has withered under the Trump administration as the two countries clashed over trade. China has invested billions of dollars into Africa, increasing its strategic hold over the continent.
    Beijing told AU officials it wanted to build the headquarters in 2018, but the Trump administration has criticised it as an opaque deal that has not been reviewed by the union’s 55 member states.
    “China is attempting to force a groundbreaking ceremony and other public events to give the appearance they are moving forward,” said a second person briefed on the matter, adding that Beijing had requested to name facilities after Chinese scientists.
    The same person said China also planned to build eight labs on the continent despite a history of allegedly “reckless” health security, citing a Beijing mission to fly the live Ebola virus to China on a commercial Air Canada flight in March last year.
    Canadian health officials have said there was no problem with this mode of transport. Ebba Kalondo, spokesperson for the AU, said she was not aware of the Trump administration’s threat and could not comment on specifics but said the organisation had a “robust partnership” with the US which it hoped to scale up, and that it was also co-operating with China.
    The Africa CDC has welcomed Chinese proposals to increase funding and strengthen their contribution to the organisation, including sending two technical experts from China’s own CDC as well as building the headquarters.
    Under the Africa CDC statutes, any relocation of the organisation from AU headquarters would be subject to review by African heads of state. African foreign ministers meet at the AU on Thursday, when the US hopes its allies will stymie Chinese plans.
    The Chinese embassy in Washington referred questions to China’s AU mission, which could not immediately be reached for comment. The Chinese foreign ministry in Beijing did not respond to requests for comment.

25. Apologies. Should read Chinese……

26. All five new coronavirus cases in France are Brits.

27. Btw David did u get in touch with Caswell to question his comments on the bombshell he dropped in Parliament stating having knowledge as to people at paragon suspected to be infected with the Corona virus
    Or are u of the feeling that govt relation or PR on this issue gives u enough confidence to believe what govt says
    Doesnt Caswell comments give u a sense that govt is placing the lives of its people in a harmful situation and more questions ought to be asked of govt
    Why has govt not released information on those people quarantined
    David if you want to wear the hat of journalist first u must do diligence on behalf of the populace and not be goaded by the interest which best serves govt or politician

28. Are we serious about climate change
    Then why is Senator Rudy Grant speaking about burning tires as an option
    The truth lies in a solution that will not compromise peoples health and destroy the environment
    What people want to hear is that the govt has found a permanent solution for landfills

29. People who want to enter the United States after having traveled to China now face new travel and quarantine rules to contain the coronavirus outbreak.

Cnn 2.8.2020

30. The question now being asked is why would Caswell make such damming allegations in Parliament
    A call should be asked of PM to address Caswell allegations as to the truthfulness of the comments he made in Parliament
    Comments which are being carried around social media
    David as a media practitioner u have a role in flushing out truth from falsehood
    Noteworthy is how fast u were to label me an agent of rumor when a story was stirring on social media which all but made similar allegations as those said by Caswell
    Also noteworthy is your silence on what the goodly senator said yesterday in Parliament with glaring allegations to govt truthfulness

31. The Pangolin Is Now a Potential Suspect in Spreading The Wuhan Coronavirus to Humans

Many animals are capable of transmitting viruses to other species, and nearly all strains of the coronavirus contagious to humans originated in wildlife.

Bats are known carriers of the latest strain of the disease, which has infected at least 31,000 people and killed more than 630 worldwide, mostly in China where the outbreak originate.

A recent genetic analysis showed that the strain of the virus currently spreading among humans was 96 percent identical to that found in bats.

But according to Arnaud Fontanet, from France’s Pasteur Institute, the disease likely didn’t jump straight from bats to humans.

“We think there’s another animal that’s an intermediary,” he told AFP.

Several studies have shown that the bat-bourne virus lacks the necessary hardware to latch on to human cell receptors. But it’s still not clear which animal is the missing link.

Fontanet believes the intermediary was “probably a mammal,” possible belonging to the badger family.

After testing more than 1,000 samples from wild animals, scientists at the South China Agricultural University found the genome sequences of viruses in pangolins to be 99 percent identical to those on coronavirus patients, the official Xinhua news agency reported.

But other experts urged caution.

“This is not scientific evidence,” said James Wood, head of the department of veterinary medicine at the University of Cambridge. “Investigations into animal reservoirs are extremely important, but results must be then be published for international scrutiny.”

“Simply reporting detection of viral RNA with sequence similarity of 99+ percent is not sufficient,” he added.

More here: https://www.sciencealert.com/the-pangolin-is-now-a-suspect-in-the-coronavirus-outbreak

32. Pangolins are scaly mammals which lay eggs and which smell like skunks. And yes human beings eat them. They are the most critically endangered mammal in the world, hunted for their meat and scales. The scales are regarded as a cure-for-all.

If it smells like a skunk.

No I don’t want to eat it.

33. @AkenatenI

“InfoWars is a FAR-RIGHT AMERICAN CONSPIRACY THEORY AND FAKE NEWS WEB SITE owned by Alex Jones. It was founded in 1999…Talk shows and other content for the site are created primarily in studios at an undisclosed location in an industrial area in the outskirts of Austin, Texas. The InfoWars website receives approximately 10 million monthly visits, making its reach greater than some mainstream news websites such as The Economist and Newsweek. The site has regularly published fake stories which have been linked to harassment of victims.[a] In February 2018, Jones, the publisher, director and owner of InfoWars, was accused of discrimination and sexually harassing employees. InfoWars, and in particular Jones, advocate numerous conspiracy theories…”

Source: Wikipedia

34. Dr Johnson is a school psychologist and expounding on science???

35. I was going to say that Alex Jones is an old white guy. He looks like an old white guy, but was born in 1974. Anyway let Wikipedia tell you the rest:

Alexander Emric (or Emerick) Jones (born February 11, 1974) is an American radio show host and far-right conspiracy theorist. He hosts The Alex Jones Show from Austin, Texas, which airs on the Genesis Communications Network across the United States and online.Jones runs a website, InfoWars, based on conspiracy theories and fake news, and the websites NewsWars and PrisonPlanet

Jones began his career in the 1990s running a live public-access cable television program, later switching to radio. He has been at the center of many controversies: he promoted conspiracy theories about the Sandy Hook Elementary School mass shooting.He aggressively opposed gun control in a debate with Piers Morgan. In other conspiracy theories, Jones has accused the US government of planning the Oklahoma City bombing,the September 11 attacks, and falsifying details regarding the 1969 Moon landing. He has claimed that several governments and big businesses have colluded to create a “New World Order” through “manufactured economic crises, sophisticated surveillance tech and—above all—inside-job terror attacks that fuel exploitable hysteria”.

Jones has described himself as a conservative, paleoconservative and libertarian, terms he uses interchangeably. Others describe him as conservative, right-wing, alt-right,and far-right] New York magazine has described Jones as “America’s leading conspiracy theorist”, and the Southern Poverty Law Center describes him as “the most prolific conspiracy theorist in contemporary America

36. @ Silly Woman February 8, 2020 4:30 PM

You can bet your last pangolin scale that the ‘bought’ scientists will find a way of linking the virus to the African pangolin exported to China via the illegal trade in endangered species.

There is the Asian variety of the pangolin just as there is the elephant but the African pangolin would carry the blame for the just like the people of the same continent are blamed for the AIDS virus.

It seems as if the devil spreading the virus is black and your Jew-created God is indeed a pale skin creature.

37. Ya confusing yaself miller etc.

Nobody is claiming that the African pangolin is the vector for the new corona virus.

it is clearly stated that the current theory is the virus moved from bats, via batshit eaten accidentally by nocturnal ASIAN pangolins, then people not knowing that the pangolin was infected via the batshit ate the pangolin.

We all eat mammals don’t we?

And we eat chickens infected by chicken shit and catch salmonella sometimes don’t we?

You need to drink a cup of tea and go to sleep.

Goodnight.

38. @ Silly Woman February 8, 2020 5:43 PM
    “We all eat mammals don’t we?”

No we don’t!

39. Barbados denies entry to MV Caribbean Princess cruise ship – by Barbados Today February 8, 2020

Barbados has denied entry to the cruise ship MV Caribbean Princess due to an outbreak of gastroenteritis on board.
    The ship, carrying in excess of 3,000 passengers and 1,000 crew, was scheduled to berth at the Bridgetown Port Sunday morning.
    Acting Chief Medical Officer, Dr Kenneth George, disclosed that the Ministry of Health and Wellness had received a number of reports, including from the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA) of “a significant outbreak” of gastroenteritis on the ship.
    Dr George said that in keeping with the guidelines of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and “as a matter of caution” aimed at protecting both the passengers and the people of Barbados, the Ministry of Health and Wellness has decided that the cruise liner will not be allowed to berth at this time

40. About time common sense take charge instead of govt protocol with an hidden agenda

41. The general public is invited to join other stakeholders at an engagement and training session on the 2019 novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV) at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, Two Mile Hill, St Michael, on Sunday, February 9.

The session, which will be facilitated by the Medical Officers of Health in the Ministry of Health and Wellness, will run from 4 to 7 pm.

Stakeholders represented at the event will include the trade union movement, the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners, the Royal Barbados Police Force, the Barbados Defence Force and the University of the West Indies. Government departments such as Immigration and Customs, the Ministries of Tourism, Agriculture and Education will also be represented.

42. Five Britons contract coronavirus in French ski resort

LES CONTAMINES-MONTJOIE, France/PARIS (Reuters) – Five British nationals including a child have been diagnosed with the new coronavirus at a French mountain village, and health officials said they were checking who else might have been exposed, including at local schools.

In total, 11 people, including the five who tested positive, have been hospitalised in southeastern France and were being examined, the French health ministry said on Saturday, adding that none were in serious condition.

The group of Britons included holidaymakers and a family currently residing in the Alpine village and ski resort, Les Contamines-Montjoie.

They shared neighbouring apartments in a chalet and temporarily hosted a British man believed to have contracted the virus at a business congress in Singapore before his short visit to France in late January, the ministry added.

Two schools would be shut next week for checks, regional health official Jean-Yves Grall said, after it emerged that the nine-year-old who tested positive had attended lessons and French classes in different establishments.

Two other children were also part of the group of 11 now in hospital in the cities of Lyon, Saint-Etienne and Grenoble, and they had been schooled in the area too, according to Etienne Jacquet, mayor of Les Contamines-Montjoie.

Some parents in the village, nestled in the mountains close to the Mont Blanc peak and the Swiss city of Geneva, said on Saturday they had received little information so far and were being cautious.

“Our children were meant to go to a concert tonight, we took the decision not to take them to not expose other people,” said Beatrice Louvier, adding that her 10-year-old daughter was in the same classroom as one of the three British children.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/five-britons-infected-coronavirus-france-095848612.html

43. @ sillywoman.

https://youtu.be/2Ha62FwCMpM

44. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ ManyPussy sorry Mariposa

“… Mariposa February 7, 2020 8:41 PM

David any comments on Caswell bombshell where he questions govt truthfulness on giving information on the Corona Virus

Noteworthy he stated that information given to him says that person quarantined at Paragon are suspected to having the virus

A call for his retraction from the house speaker and Moe was ignored by Caswell…”

De ole man is just reading this submission by you.

Any such claim CAN BE EASILY CONFIRMED by Senator Franklyn IF HE *****

This is indeed akin to the “tsunami of February” that de ole man prophesied IF IT IS TRUE!

And Senator Caswell Franklyn DOES NOT LIE!

Let me give you a clue about how to independently confirm this claim!

FIRE!

yes ManyPussy, while the Paragon Base will be on an unusual lockdown AND NONE OF THE LOCAL PAPERS WILL BE CONDUCTING ANY INVESTIGATIONS, what CANNOR BE HIDDEN IS THE FIRES THAT WILL, initially be used, TO DISPOSE OF CONTAMINATED ITEMS!

After this post, the second thing will be THE APPEARANCE OF MASKS IN DRUG STORES AND LATEX GLOVES!

That WILL MIGRATE TO PEOPLE ON THE STREETS!

Third will be military leave!

Soldiers WILL NOT BE ABLE TO GO HOME ON LEAVE.

Bajans CANNOT KEEP SECRETS so a call to any serving BDF soldier will elicit a response.

IF IT IS TRUE, there goes the Gathering 2020!