grenville-phillips
Submitted by Grenville Phillips II

The main reason given for demolishing the structurally sound 6-storey old NIS building, is that it is not compatible with the “sacred ground” of the proposed Clement Payne park.

The Government did not properly maintain the building, and several workers got ill. We are told to believe that the building is a reminder of people getting ill, which is not compatible with what Clement Payne advocated.

We are told to believe that the building is beyond maintenance, having been abandoned for so long. It may be beyond maintenance, but it is clearly not beyond repair, and it is certainly very far away from needing to be demolished. But such thoughts are considered heretical.

To oppose the demolition is to be accused of being against workers’ right to a healthy work environment. To question why a building, with the most expensive foundation system in Barbados (piled), and no apparent structural cracks, should be demolished, is to attract the wrath of political operatives.

The public relations on this matter reminds me of George Orwell’s masterpiece, ‘1984’. It was written in 1949, and shows what happens to a society when the Government does not tolerate independent thought. I will extract part of it for your interest.

‘It is impossible to see reality except by looking through the eyes of the Party. That is the fact that you have got to relearn, Winston. It needs an act of self-destruction, an effort of the will. You must humble yourself before you can become sane.’

He paused for a few moments, as though to allow what he had been saying to sink in.

‘Do you remember,’ he went on, ‘writing in your diary, “Freedom is the freedom to say that two plus two make four”?’

‘Yes,’ said Winston.

O’Brien held up his left hand, its back towards Winston, with the thumb hidden and the four fingers extended.

‘How many fingers am I holding up, Winston?’

‘Four.’

‘And if the party says that it is not four but five – then how many?’

‘Four.’

The word ended in a gasp of pain. The needle of the dial had shot up to fifty-five. The sweat had sprung out all over Winston’s body. The air tore into his lungs and issued again in deep groans which even by clenching his teeth he could not stop. O’Brien watched him, the four fingers still extended. He drew back the lever. This time the pain was only slightly eased.

‘How many fingers, Winston?’

‘Four! Four! What else can I say? Four!’

The needle must have risen again, but he did not look at it. The heavy, stern face and the four fingers filled his vision. The fingers stood up before his eyes like pillars, enormous, blurry, and seeming to vibrate, but unmistakably four.

‘Five! Five! Five!’

‘No, Winston, that is no use. You are lying. You still think there are four. How many fingers, please?’

‘Four! five! Four! Anything you like. Only stop it, stop the pain!’

‘You are a slow learner, Winston,’ said O’Brien gently.

‘How can I help it?’ he blubbered. ‘How can I help seeing what is in front of my eyes? Two and two are four.’

‘Sometimes, Winston. Sometimes they are five. Sometimes they are three. Sometimes they are all of them at once. You must try harder. It is not easy to become sane.’

‘Again,’ said O’Brien.

‘Four. I suppose there are four. I would see five if I could. I am trying to see five.’

‘Which do you wish: to persuade me that you see five, or really to see them?’

‘Really to see them.’

‘Again,’ said O’Brien.

Perhaps the needle was eighty–ninety.

‘How many fingers am I holding up, Winston?’

‘I don’t know. I don’t know. You will kill me if you do that again. Four, five, six–in all honesty I don’t know.’

‘Better,’ said O’Brien.

Fellow Barbadians, it is time to evaluate your progress. If you did not know your party’s position on the demolition of the old NIS building, would your response when questioned have been, “I do not know”?

If you know your party’s position, would you automatically agree with it? Do you enjoy when your party’s political operatives try to damage the reputations of those who do not similarly agree? If so, then you have been adequately trained to actively support a totalitarian state. Wise up.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

109 responses to “Becoming Sane”

1. Why are government buildings not properly maintained?

Why do sewer and water systems fall into disrepair?

Why does the government do such a poor job of collecting its tax revenues?

Why do most statutory corporations and state-owned enterprises lose money year after year?

The answer to all these questions is the same. Barbadians, like their fellow West Indians, cannot do a good job of organizing a two-car funeral.

The management skills and the worker discipline required to run modern organizations successfully just are not there. But when you say this, no one believes you.

Dent, deny, deny.

2. Our principal problem is one of poor management. The root cause is the politicization of our previously professional public services. The solution is obvious – better management, and the depoliticization of our public services.

3. mr philips, who pretends to have SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS BUT HAS NONE, PLEASE KINDLY TELL US YOUR SOLUTIONS FOR APPROACHING THIS PROBLEM IN TODAY’S PAPER

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/01/21/lifestyle-diseases-take-eight-out-of-ten-lives-many-young/

I JUST ASKING CAUSE YOU WANT TO TEK OVER THE COUNTRY
    YOU HAVE A SHADOW GOVERNMENT READY RIGHT

4. If something is really confusing you and you “don’t understand” and you wonder if you are going mad, or getting Alzheimers the best course is to “follow the money”

Long ago and far away I has an elderly supervisor who thought that she was getting Alzheimers because she would put down things, principally money or valuables and then they would just ‘disappear.” She couldn’t understand this because she was working in an office with all “certifiably honest” people. Finally before she quit she beseeched our employer to investigate. The employer did and what did they find on camera too? The supervisor’s favorite employee, the one who used to “carry news to her” the only one in the office she had recommended for excellent work and excellent work ethics with her hand deep, deep, deep in the supervisor’s handbag. The employee was questioned and even in the face of the camera evidence which clearly showed her actions, denied that it was she. So the tape was played again and again so that she could see her own distinctive features very, very clearly. “Alas” the company had to let the “employee of the year” go. The supervisor is in her 90’s now and still has no sign of dementia or Alzheimers.

When you “don’t understand” ALWAYS follow the money.

Ask yourself WHO BENEFITS.

5. @Simple Simon

Finish your point- who will benefit?

6. MR PHILIPS, SIR

RIGHTGUARD AND DEEPEEDEE(he is the son of Twidledee) SAY THAT I ENVIETH THEE
    BUT I WILL SOON BE 68 AND WILL SOON JOIN THE RANKS OF THE DEAD IN CHRIST OR BE RAPTURED, SO I DONT ENVY FOLK, I DOES JUST MOCK THEM IF THEY ARE STUPID ENOUGH TO CALL ME AN APOSTATE AND A FALSE TEACHER

NOW I ALREADY GOT THE ARRRRRRRTRITIS AND DE PRESSURE AND I TOO SWEET AND DE PROSTATE ACTING UP

I THINKING OF GATHERING BUT I FRAID TO COME DOWN THERE WID ALL DESE PEOPLE COCKING UP AND DEADING LIKE DE PROFESSOR SAY..YOU TINK HE SANE THOUGH? LOOK WUH HE SAYING
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/01/21/lifestyle-diseases-take-eight-out-of-ten-lives-many-young/

WHAT PLANS YOU HAVE FOR THE PEOPLES OF BARBADOS…IN UDDER WORDS WUH SOLUTIONS BARBADOS NON SOLUTIONS GOT FUH LL DESE YOUNG PEOPLE GETTING STROKES AND HEART ATTACKS IN BIM

I HAVE TO ASK YOU CAUSE YOU IN DE FAMILY BUSYNESS. DIDNT YOU GET ANY ANSWERS IN THAT TRAINING MANUAL YOU GOT FROM JESUS?

7. SIMPLE
    I AM AT A LOST TO RELATE DEMENTIA AND getting Alzheimers WID TIEFING
    DO YOU THINK THAT PLAGIARISM IS TIEFING TOO?

8. @GP January 21, 2020 7:58 AM “YOU HAVE A SHADOW GOVERNMENT READY RIGHT.”

I know that you int ask me neffen, but I is a malicious Bajan and I will answer anyhow.

I once proposed to a senior government official, deputy head of his department, that what barbados needed muchmore than flyovers was sidewalks. He felt “no way” would that get a pass by decision makers, because he agreed with me that sidewalk are not sexy. i don’t worry for him because both of his parents lived to be over 100 years old.

We need sidewalks so that people can walk short to medium distances in their own communities, so that most children can walk to school [but sidewalks are not sexy, not much STEAL in them either]

We need decent public transportation so that everybody does not feel the need for a car to fet them to work on time, yet they end up being stuck in miles long trafic jams. The thig about decent bus services is that they can be so organised that many, maybe most people would have to walk 10 to 15 minutes to the bus stop. People would get 20 to 30 minutes of exercise everyday. Barbados would save tons of foreign exchange. [But buses and not sexy]

We need to cook old fashioned sensible food at home, and stop making the fried grease merchants rich. This morning i had sweet potatoes stewed and eaten in their skins for breakfast, with a cup of coffee. My grandmother who may not have gone to school at all, since she was born in 1879 and I NEVER saw her reading anything and there were no books at her home, but she lived past her 90th birthday. I don’t know that she ever went to a doctor except during the last few weeks of her life. [But sweet potatoes stewed and eaten in their own skins sure int sexy]

We need to stop believing that now we get big, or now we get to be big shots that our kidneys and livers and brains have also become big shots and are immune from prosecution by Mother Nature. Mother nature is a real-real bitch and she don’t care whether you are a big shot or not. She don’t care if you drink white rum straight outta a nip bottle or if you drink “top shelf” brandy, whisky or champagne. If you over indulge Mother Nature WILL tek ya down. She don’t care if you are a Prime Minister or Ninja Man. In fact Ninja Man might well be in better health than many of our political/economic class. He certainly looks fit and buff when he walks naked through Bridgetown, and he didn’t need any stomach bypass surgery to keep slim. He walks ’bout nuff nuff, maybe the walking ’bout keeps him slim [But nobody want to hear from Silly Women about their alcoholism]

We smoking everything as we feel like. But smoking anything can’t be good for your cardio vascular health, even if the political/economic class tell you that smoking legal [again follow the money for this one] Bu alas, smoking anything and everything IS SEXY. Never mind that you may so damage your cardio vascular system that by 65 ya can’t get a hard on, and ya juices dry up.

A lot ‘o we Bajans need the lord [But God sure int sexy]

Lemme go outside now and do a couple of hours of hard physical labor in the hot sun.

Grenville you may continue.

9. I suspect the reasons for incompetence in the management of organizations go well beyond the politicization of public services.

For example, if “best practices” in maintaining a unit of infrastructure, or collecting revenues or whatever, are not documented in sufficient detail, an organization can lose (or fail to acquire) the body of knowledge it needs for success, especially as older people retire and new people are hired.

I have no idea why management problems are not kept at the forefront of public debates as Barbados struggles to raise its standard of living.

The destruction of wealth that occurs because of incompetence seems to be a huge problem that wont go away anytime soon.

10. @GP January 21, 2020 8:36 AM SIMPLE. I AM AT A LOST TO RELATE DEMENTIA AND getting Alzheimers WID TIEFING
    DO YOU THINK THAT PLAGIARISM IS TIEFING TOO?”

Gas lighting=manipulate (someone) by psychological means into questioning their own sanity.

11. @Ewart Archer January 20, 2020 9:46 PM “Barbadians, like their fellow West Indians, cannot do a good job of organizing a two-car funeral.”

Actually when my parents and siblings died hundreds of people came to their funerals, in the case of my parents perhaps over 1,000 people to each funeral [because they knew God, even while not knowing the Pope they died quietly and peacefully in their own beds, no hollering, no screaming, no carrying on and above all no Grim Reaper] We organized funerals very, very well, including wakes with enough food, massive bowls of pudding and souse made by our own hands, enough home baked coconut bread to feed a small army, the fees paid to the undertaker the same afternoon.

Didn’t count the cars though, so don’t know if there were more than 2.

When Bajans do things badly, when Americans do things badly, when whoever does things badly it is because they choose to do things badly.

Bajans are as competent as anybody else

12. SIMON
    AGREE WITH YOU

RE Lemme go outside now and do a couple of hours of hard physical labor in the hot sun.
    I CAN TELL YOU THAT I REALLY MISS THAT NATURAL EXERCISE

RE Grenville you may continue.
    NOT VERY LIKELY——HE HAS NO SOLUTIONS FOR BARBADOS

13. RE Bajans are as competent as anybody else
    AT LEAST THEY SURE USED TO BE
    I CERTAINLY MISS THE POSTS BY COLONEL BUGGY ABOUT LIFE IN THE COUNTRYSIDE, AND HOW THINGS WERE DONE IN THE PAST
    LEARNED A LOT ABOUT SUCH ALSO ON THE SUNDAY “STOP AND STARE” WALKS WITH COLIN HUDSON IN THE MID 90’S

14. @ Silly Woman

Barbadians are as potentially competent as anyone else. But at present our nation, both public and private sectors, are grossly incompetent, embarrassingly so. Further, our idiotic drivers (all demographics) are the worst and most reckless in the civilised world. Look at the gangsters running the ZR vans.

15. Good topic Grenville, good to read you playing to your strength. VOB should be congratulated also for featuring the engineers and architects lat week and following with the artisans in the business. A lot of grief has been meted out by this sec, especially Bajans returning home after retirement.

16. RE nextparty246 January 20, 2020 11:37 PM

“Our principal problem is one of poor management. The root cause is the politicization of our previously professional public services. The solution is obvious – better management, and the depoliticization of our public services.”

GRENVILLE PHILLIPS BACKGROUND AND CREDENTIALS SPEAKS BOLDLY OF THE ROAD HE TRAVELED AND WHAT HE HAS ACCOMPLISHED…

It is notable that in 2002, GP 11 was assigned responsibility was to develop an action plan to prepare the professional services sector to be internationally competitive by the Ministry of Economic as it was critically important to understand that trade agreements were negotiated to give a country’s industries a competitive trade advantage.

GP11 OVERSAW A COMMITTEE OF OVER 25 PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS IN BARBADOS WHO COLLECTIVELY GAVE A CONSIDERABLE VALUE OF THEIR TIME TO THE TUNE OF APPROXIMATELY $0.5M to develop a report that “detailed strategies and actions that individuals and associations should pursue to allow Barbadian businesses to become internationally competitive. It also included the critical actions that the Government needed to complete to facilitate economic growth in the services sector.

This Plan was Successful as it was designed too for those who put it into action. GP11 blazed the Trail in this effort by becoming the first person to qualify as a Chartered Structural Engineer in 15 years in Barbados. And you did not stop there you then trained others to successfully achieve the same international qualification.

From The Grenville Phillips Column – The End Game, Part 2 – Choking on Worms…

The Article speaks of the seeds planted and the Harvest reaped as he worked on projects worth over $500,000,000 over the next 5 years, and earned foreign currency in 10 Caribbean countries and was awarded for his efforts as the first service company in the Caribbean to attain the ISO 9001 quality management standard, winning the BIDC’s Exceptional Quality award.

The plan was so successful that in 2014 he was the frontrunner of the National Innovation Competition, and president of Walbrent College.

The break down came as the Governments B & D failed implement the critical actions to facilitate the economic growth of the sector. That is where the EU Exploiters stepped in dangling ‘Aid for Trade’ hook-worms to guarantee our participation.

THE WORST THING EXPOSED HERE IS HIS HATE AND ENVY FOR GP11 BY THE RESIST AND OBSTRUCT TRIBE WHO WILL STOP AT NOTHING TO DISCREDIT HIM.

https://i2.wp.com/www.highlandparklc.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/Proverbs-18.21.jpg?resize=700%2C628&ssl=1

17. If you know SB party’s position, would you automatically agree with it? Do you enjoy when SB party’s political operatives/leader try to damage the reputations of those who do not similarly agree? If so, then you have been adequately trained to actively support a totalitarian state (under SB/its current leader). Wise up.

Or you will be called a political operative and accused of serving your (political) masters.

18. The main reason given for demolishing the structurally sound 6-storey old NIS building, is that it is not compatible with the “sacred ground” of the proposed Clement Payne park.

Clement Payne was a communist agitator sent from Trinidad to divide and destabilize Barbados in the 1930’s!!

Others went to other islands with the same intent.

It is laughable to see politicians now bemoaning the division of the Caribbean.

19. Bajans are as competent as anyone else?

Let me repeat myself.

The correct answer is No. That is why we have human waste on the roads. That is why we have electricity blackouts and water shortages. That is why our high rise buildings fall apart in record time.

And we will remain incompetent for at least as long as we deny our incompetence.

20. @Grenville

From you experience what do you think it will cost this “brek ass island” to demolish, remove and then rehabilitate the space and build this park?

Also again from your experience what roughly would it cost to clean industrially the building and return it to working condition?

Not looking for a formal quotation here just a ball park figure based on your experience.

21. GP11 PLEASE ALLOW FREEDOM THIS INDULGENCE TO ASSIST GP TO IMPROVE HIS HEALTH.

• GP January 21, 2020 8:30 AM MR PHILIPS, SIR “NOW I ALREADY GOT THE ARRRRRRRTRITIS AND DE PRESSURE AND I TOO SWEET AND DE PROSTATE ACTING UP…”

MAY FREEDOM SUGGEST A DIETARY ALTERNATIVE TO THAT WHICH THE GP MAY BE ACCUSTOMED THAT SHOULD MOST DEFINITELY IMPROVE HIS HEALTH!

After the body has rested and fasted during the night period of 6-8 hours, Start the day by drinking 20 oz. of water thus bringing oxygen to the cells before consuming food. Freedom has made this a Practice for over 20 years; A Fresh Squeezed Lemon may be added to regulate the PH Balance in the body. (Look at it like if your body is a garden being watered first thing in the morning to withstand the noonday sun.)

After the body has fasted during the sleep period, Use fruit for Breakfast as it milder on the body at this time and digest within two hours while other food takes an average of four hours to digest.

Stay away from stimulants found in coffee, tea, something Freedom has practiced for over forty years and stay off soft drinks. Herb Teas and Unsweetened Juice are Acceptable to which a Natural Sweetener may be added to suit the palate. Instead of Milk Shakes that are high in Sugar use Drinkable Fruit Flavoured Yogurt as a nice treat.

Increase Protein Intake and Reduce Carbohydrate Consumption. Enjoy Heart Healthy Fats, Olive Oli, Avocado Oil, Coconut Oil and Butter. Fat Increases Energy while Carbs Reduces Energy…It’s a Fact!!

Enjoy Fish, and Meats, Grilled and Baked and if fried use Cassava flour instead of wheat flour as the coating. Yes Fried Food is Acceptable!

Stay off Wheat Based Products. Many Wheat Flours are from GMO grains and are the cause of many digestive problems and other problems like Sinus infections, bloated Gut etc. While Abstaining from wheat flour based products, use bread and other desired items that will delight the palate substituting wheat based products for those made with Almond and Coconut flour.

In addition, abstain from Sugar, White and Brown and substitute Stevia or Algarve.

Stay away from Canned Vegetables and other processed products of such like and only use Fresh Vegetables …

Stay away from White Potatoes, and use Sweet potatoes, which are said to be the most nutritious vegetable there is. The Centurions of Barbados believed in their ground provisions and they drank lots of water filtered by our coral Stone.

Freedoms life along with my companion, does not consume Caffeinated or Soda Drinks, we do not eat Rice, Sugar, Processed Foods such as Pastas, Candies, Cookies etc.

We eat Nuts of Varying Types, Fresh Fruit and Dried Fruit among which Dates and Prunes are our Favourites. Freedom has tried being a vegetarian for Six years in the Past, but thankfully has seen beyond that stage and now enjoys being a meat eater once again…best thing ever.

They Say that Diseases is the Outward Manifestation of DIS- Ease within the Body that are the cause of Cancer and such like eating away our Bodies… Hatred on the other hand will eat away our Souls…Something worthwhile considering Anyway!

http://rpmdaily.net/uploads/3/4/8/7/34875211/4735051_orig.jpg

22. Oh one other little question.

Based on floor space of the NIS Building, were it cleaned up how how much money could we the tax payers save if the government entities currently renting privately owned buildings were relocated there?

No matter how one views this, destroying a solid building to build a park is financial lunacy for an island that can least afford. Then again I guess political ego outweighs logic every day of the week.

23. john A.

I hope you not really suggesting that government workers be put back in that building. That would be a complete lost of time and money because one person only have to “sneeze the wrong way” and the unions will walk out and you back to square one after spending so much money to clean it up..

24. @John A

The blogmaster attached an additional question to Grenville the SME.

There is chatter about carbon emissions from the diesel buses from the bus station and stop and start traffic on the nearby streets infiltrating that building and adding to the reported occupational health and safety issues.

Can you offer an informed comments?

25. @ John 2

What I am proposing is that the building be professional cleaned by environmental specialty cleaners. If we don’t have such a company here they are several in Florida. This should be done AFTER the suggestions made to improve air quality by the engineers have been implemented.

Next a private company should then be contracted to maintain the building after that. Along with this every 3 months test of the air quality can be conducted. If it will make the unions happy, one of their senior people can be made privy to the results of each test. After all we did say that we were going to be accountable and transparent didn’t we?

This will not only free up the state from paying millions of dollars in rent, but will also bring badly needed traffic back to the city.

If companies could go in New Orleans after Katrina and return hospitals to safe environments, surely the NIS Building is child’s play to such professionals.

26. @ David

If that is their excuse then every building in Bay Street, Baxters Road, Cheapside, Fontabelle and half the island would need closing. They are several parts of the island less well positioned that have these same elements to deal with daily. In my view its about proper filtration and air quality maintenance.

I was in a government office last week and there was a split AC unit In there where the vents had on at least 1/8 inch of solid dirt. What we going condemn that one next as sick, or simply service the AC units?

27. @John A

The inquiry is in a context the NIS building is uniquely located.

28. @ David.

They are several other buildings in more densely built situations which are closer to the road that open and function daily.

Think of lower Baxters Road where the buildings practically touch one another and there is no where for the fumes to go but up from all the PSV and other commercial traffic. The NIS building sits on a corner lot with high wind out the East all year around.

We can find any excuse to support an argument if we look hard enough.

29. Why should an office building deteriorate to the point where it needs to be sanitized?

Every iccupied high rise office building should have a Health & Safety Committee, consisting of a professional building manager, employee representatives from each floor of the building, and management representatives.

The Committee should meet at least every month, should be responsible for fire drills, review of air quality test results, pest control reports, reports on malfunctioning toilets, etc.

If a building manager and an H&S Committee do their jobs, an office building cannot deteriorate to the point where it needs to be sanitized.

Is this country part of the modern world?

30. @ David January 21, 2020 12:39 PM
    “There is chatter about carbon emissions from the diesel buses from the bus station and stop and start traffic on the nearby streets infiltrating that building and adding to the reported occupational health and safety issues.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So how then can the political authorities talk about converting the Treasury building for housing people 24/7?

What kind of people (including the boom in babies demanded by the government to prop up the NIS) would be put in this building? The squatters and illegal immigrants?

Would this conversion to ‘affordable’ housing be hooked up to the existing overburdened sewage and potable water systems and be a PPP initiative with the building tycoon Maloney at the helm?

31. @ David

Wait I confused. You say the NIS building has specific concerns about high exhaust emissions. So wait if that is the case we going turn it into a park for people to sit on benches and inhaled the said fumes unobstructed by walls? I can’t understand that argument at all at all.

Build the straw men let we knock them down one at a time! Lol

32. “So wait if that is the case we going turn it into a park for people to sit on benches and inhaled the said fumes unobstructed by walls? I can’t understand that argument at all at all.”

lol…creates sick people for the private clinics and private hosptials…..where so many of them sit on the boards.

33. @ Nextparty246

Quote “Our principal problem is one of poor management. The root cause is the politicization of our previously professional public services. The solution is obvious – better management, and the depoliticization of our public services.”

So who will implement this better management and depoliticization??

Who? People from the same system that causes the problem in the first place? It’s easy to arrive with eloquent talk but not the balls to really tackle the underlying problem or better yet be the political martyr to make the tough decisions needed to implement it

All talk passivity at its finest

34. So wait if that is the case we going turn it into a park for people to sit on benches and inhaled the said fumes unobstructed by walls? I can’t understand that argument at all at all.”
    CLEARLY THIS HAS NOT BEEN WELL THOUGHT OUT …HAS IT?
    MIA CARES FOR SURE
    MIA DEFINITELY GOT THIS RIGHT?
    BARE MOCK SPORT IN BRIDGETOWN

35. PHILIPS NON-SOLUTIONS FOR EVERYTHING IN BARBADOS IS better management and depoliticization…AND BY the same system that causes the problem in the first place

RE It’s easy to arrive with eloquent talk but not the balls to really tackle the underlying problem or better yet be the political martyr to make the tough decisions needed to implement it

WHAT BALLS YOU TALKING BOUT SIR? HOW YOU KNOW THAT DE MAN DOES NOT HAVE TESTICULAR APLASIA? MURDER

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Wuh Loss!!! Wow!!

37. VINCENT
    I WAS ONCE LECTURING IN CELL BIOLOGY IN MED SCHOOL
    I BROUGHT UP A SERIES OF SLIDES
    FIRST ONE NORMAL HISTOLOGY OF THE TESTIS……….I SAID THAT IS DR GP
    NEXT ONE SHOWED APLASIA I SAID THAT IS MR THOMAS
    NEXT ONE SHOWED APLASIA I SAID THAT IS MR MORE

MEN BAWLING
    BARE MOCK SPORT IN DE LECTURE ROOM
    BUT I REAL SERIOUS BOUT GRENVILLE

38. Hi David:

Thank you for your query about the exhaust from the buses in the bus station and nearby streets.

The buses collecting passengers are located over 50 m north of the old NIS building. Between the buses and the NIS building is a barrier of vendors’ kiosks.

Wind blows in a predominately east-to-west direction. Therefore, exhaust fumes from the bus station are unlikely to affect persons in the NIS building. They would more likely affect persons west in Independence Square.

It is more likely for exhausts, from vehicles at the road intersection bounding the NIS building, to affect NIS building occupants during times of low wind speeds. The main sources would likely be the minibuses that used the southern lane as a pick-up/drop off point, and buses that used the northern lane as a drop off point. That could have been solved by restricting those activities.

Finally, the intake for the central air conditioning equipment should not be located in a location vulnerable to low air quality.

39. John A:

I would estimate the value of the current building to be $15M. To fix it may cost under $5M. We are planning to spend $15M on UK consultants to look for corruption – so we can afford to fix it. Why not pay them $10M and use the rest to fix the old NIS building?

40. @Grenville

Thanks for the feedback.

It looks like the demolition is a done deal.

The Hyatt is coming?

41. @nextparty246

Excellent point but that is too logical a road for some to travel. It’s not only that, but imagine the amount that could be saved in office rentals by the state to the private property owners if the NIS building could be fully utilised.

No matter how you look at it destroying that building makes absolutely no sense. Not when we are paying away millions to rent other people’s buildings.

42. @ John A

Who made this decision? Was it made in Cabinet? Who will benefit from the demolition? Who will benefit from the clearance? What will be the total cost?
    The Probyn Street fire station is ideally situated for house fires in the City. By moving the fire fighters out of the city, and leaving a few in containers, this is not only highly risky, it also says more about this government and its incompetence than it says about the environment. Government by diktat. This is presidential despotism, not prime ministerial leadership.
    What about the neighbouring streets: Jordan’s Lane, Nelson Street, etc? Barbados is a failed state. Instead of sorting our the basics, and contributing to raising the standard of living of ordinary people, our president wants to pick a fight with Trump and Pompeo. Crazy. We are betraying our young.

43. WELL SAID HAL! Barbados is a failed state. Instead of sorting our the basics, and contributing to raising the standard of living of ordinary people, our president wants to pick a fight with Trump and Pompeo. Crazy. We are betraying our young.

I QUOTE ” THINK OF THE CHILDREN” LOL

44. Thanks.

45. Hal:

For many years, you have asked similar questions here, fully knowing that no one here can provide you with an accurate answer.

Have you ever asked those who can give you a correct answer? Have you ever sent a question to the Barbados Parliament? I have and received meaningful replies. Since you do not use a fake name, you are encouraged to do the same. The link follows.

https://www.barbadosparliament.com/

46. @Hal

I too am waiting to hear those answers. Up to now I have heard no figure mentioned for the demolition and removal or who got the contract. Assuming of course a contract exist.

47. That is precisely what I was thinking about the wind direction and the exhaust fumes. Even at the drop off point the wind does not blow the fumes from the Transport Board buses in that direction.

Still, I wouldn’t sit in any park in that location for any length of time.

48. @ John A January 21, 2020 3:40 PM

Doesn’t the government have great plans to achieve a zero emission target for all vehicles by 2030?

What has happened to the plan to turn the buses into electric powered vehicles?

What about banning the importation of all ICE-powered vehicles especially those bought off the second-hand market or crash heap and burning up a load of scarily scarce forex?

What about turning Bridgetown into a more pedestrian-friendly place by restricting the amount of vehicles using the city as a thoroughfare to get to other places on the small Island?

Why not use modern technology on a mini scale and take a leaf out of the city of London’s book of Congestion Charges?
    It might even help in the fight against the coming escalation in crime.

49. @ Donna,

The Transport Board buses will be Electric in a few years.

No more fumes to worry about.