The blogmaster thanks Tee White for sharing the Paper used to complete this blog
– David, blogmaster

In recent weeks two matters have unfolded in the Barbados courts to support the view that the time has come (past) for citizens of Barbados to sensibly discuss crime and the criminal justice. Although Barbadians have been labelled an educated people this is betrayed by the ease with which we cede our civic responsibly to the political class.

At a juncture in our history where the crime level has risen to an unprecedented level and a dysfunctional court system that threatens to implode under the weight of a burgeoning case load  – the question on the blogmaster’s mind is why are Barbadians allowing members of the political class AND surrogates to lead the conversation about crime and the justice system in Barbados. The politics we practice by design is adversarial and it therefore stands to reason a debate  about law and order matters will be acrimonious and unproductive if led by this group. We need to hear from non political players, the social scientists et al.

In a paper written by Christina Pantazis with the title Inequalities in crime and criminal justice as it pertains elsewhere the author concluded with the following:

In this paper, I have shown that the criminal justice system reproduces inequalities: certain groups of people selectively pass through the system B namely, young poorly educated males, many of whom have ethnic minority backgrounds, and who may have spent some time in care or living as homeless. The over-representation of these groups of people is the result of law enforcement procedures which serve to highlight the activities of these people, whilst simultaneously minimising the criminal actions of more powerful people and organisations.

Given the type of people who get caught in the criminal justice system, as well as the reasons for the disparity, we can see that the role of the criminal justice system is not a means for dealing with crime and dispensing justice. It is more about classifying harms B where the harms of the powerless are exaggerated, and the harms of the more powerful are minimised.

A further read reveals similar characteristics to what obtains in Barbados. It cannot be refuted that Dodds Prison and other ‘penal’ institutions are predominantly populated with people from the lower socio economic segment.  What also cannot be refuted is that the majority of those arrested are located in the lowest socio economic bracket. What also cannot be refuted is that citizens suffering with mental and related challenges are dealt with harshly in our system.

Why is our prison population not reflective of behaviours in the national population? Do we have white colour crime? The affluent do not drink and have mental events? Why are certain types of crime not vigorously pursued by the ‘system’? The ordinary Barbadian is use to saying  – we have two Barbadoses.

The question (for 10 marks) we have to answer on behalf of our children – why is there an over representation of certain people incarcerated by the system. With the upsurge in crime in Barbados and a court system under perpetual duress triggering decline now is the best time to understand and address what are factors adversely affecting law and order and creating a bias to how we operate.  The stability of our little island requires for sensible people to rationally discuss AND address the cause of the seismic shift that has occurred in the social landscape  of Barbados.

Unless we want to follow the path of a few neighbouring islands.

Link to paperInequalities in crime and criminal justice (Christina Pantazis)

91 responses to “Fixing Crime and Criminal Justice for the Sake of OUR Children”

1. https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/243520/ag-people-prepared-talk

DO NOT……speak to Barbados’ authorities about corruption or give them any information you have….. DO NOT GIVE THEM…you may find yourself locked up in an asylum, imprisoned or DEAD…

If Ms. Millar had spoken to them, that would be her fate, if you have information that could lead to a CONVICTION of these vicious criminals…you know who to speak to or ask advice from someone who does, do not risk you and your family’s lives and freedom by speaking to the CORRUPT. in Barbados…they only want to know what you know.

2. Just to remind everyone it was just this week that Dale Whistleblower FROM PARLIAMENT…told the WHOLE WORLD that people came forward with informaion about corruption but then stated that they were afraid because their families were known, or lived close to the criminals or their kids went to school with the criminals….so WHAT THE HELL HE WANT PEOPLE TO COME FORWARD FOR NOW TO PUT THEIR and their FAMILIES LIVES AT RISK..

think ya slick..

3. It is worth repeating that the purpose of this particular blog is to move the discussion to a next level. Understanding and devising an action plan to deal with deep underlying issues is the priority. Many people braying on FB do not live in Barbados.

4. The “we gathering victims” SCAMSTERS…don’t care who live in Barbados or NOT….lol

5. From all reports the ideas forum held under the initiative Wr Gatherin was well received in St. Lucy.

https://www.facebook.com/gisbarbados/videos/2322070044751505/

6. It’s nice to have a we gathering connecting local Bajans and the Diaspora…something both governments …AVOIDED LIKE THE PLAGUE BEFORE…as long as the we gathering does not include ROBBING DIASPORANS OF THEIR ESTATES AND BANK ACCOUNTS…all is good.

7. @Christina Pantazis “who may have spent some time in care or living as homeless.”

I agree with much of what is written here, except that I don’t know that the young MEN imprisoned in Barbados have been in care or homeless, but i would like to see criminologists/sociologist investigate this. My feeling in that those children raised by the aunties of the Child Care Board are less likely to committ crimes than those young people raised in father absent homes. That the Child care Board’s wards are more disciplined, more likely to have had serious religious instruction, more likely to have completed secondary school, less likely to have been convicted as a juvenile etc.

It is not only the system; and yes it is the system, but it is also that too many of our children, especially our boy children suffer chronic trauma, chronic stress because of the absence of their fathers, and that this father absence makes them extremely vulnerable to middle class and upper class drug dealers and other big hard back criminal MEN,

A father’s principal role is to love and to protect his children from literal snakes in the grass and other natural harms and also from criminal snakes and other harms in the society. Our fathers, ALL of them need to come home to their children, especially they need to come home to their boy children. I believe that if we have more loving, sensible disciplined fathers in the home with their children that then our boy children will do better. Out boy children won’t even come to the attention of the drug dealing snakes nor come to the attention of the criminal [in]justice system

Child rearing is hard, real-real hard, it is perhaps the hardest job in any society.

THINK: A calypsonian/griot/poet sang “we mistake policemen for parents” and the Great Carew sang about “snakes in the grass.”

8. @Simple Simon

The idea of the blogmaster is to show the kind of deep discussion required if we are serious about influencing attitudes and approaches in Barbados.

9. Psalm 127:1
    Except the Lord build the house, they labour in vain that build it: except the Lord keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain.

Q: PLEASE KINDLY DEFINE deep discussion required if we are serious about influencing attitudes and approaches in Barbados.

PLEASE KINDLY IDENTIFY THE DEEP DISCUSSERS required if we are serious about influencing attitudes and approaches in Barbados.

PERHAPS THE NATION SHOULD LOOK UP INSTEAD OF LOOKING AROUND

PERHAPS THE NATION SHOULD ” SEEK AND ASK ” AS MANY LUMINARIES HAVE POSITED HERE FROM TIME TO TIME OVER THE YEARS

10. Piece the Legend Avatar

Sometimes, when de ole man reads what these people write and how they write it, I RH WEEP!

But, in an effort to contribute to the spirit of the paper ANN NOT ITS JACKASS RAMBLING CONTENT, de ole man going ease of that aspect of my usual examinations.

Here is my first suggestion.

It arises from a carefully cut text in this rambling article

“…The over-representation (what de ef is over representation? One is either represented or not! Is the author hinting at disproportion?) of these groups of people is the result of law enforcement procedures which serve to highlight (serve to highlight? STATUS is not cause!) the activities of these people, whilst simultaneously minimising the criminal actions of more powerful people and organisations….”

But I digress as usual.

I Piece the Legend propose that EVERY RH BAJAN LAW STUDENT SHALL,

1.During their time at Cave Hill, provide 2 weeks of compulsory national service to the Legal Aid program

And

2.on completion of their Wooding Institute graduation and admission to the Barbados Bar, EFFECT 2 MONTHS OF PRO BONO SERVICE (specific man hours to be computed) TO SAID LEGAL AID AND A PUBLIC RECORD KEPT OF SUCH PERFORMANCE/SERVICE so the public knows something about the 1100 of wunna purportedly crooked a.sses!

De ole man hope dat dis moves our conversation from the customary highlighting of teif like Ernest Jackman, Skeletor Gollop, Slit Eyes Nitwit Brafwit, Lashes de Druglord lawyer and de poor raky Speaker of de House who needs 2 jobs to maintain he life style!

11. @GP:

“PERHAPS THE NATION SHOULD LOOK UP INSTEAD OF LOOKING AROUND”…… yes, we do look “AROUND” and “BACK” a bit too much instead of looking “FORWARD”!!!

12. DavidJanuary 17, 2020 6:50 AM

It is worth repeating that Many people braying on FB do not live in Barbados.

What i would venture to say that some in parliament making decisions once lived out of Barbados for many years and were welcomed in govt to formulated decisions in helping to build a better barbados
    Which begs the question why would u even travel a path of division when (whether) home or abroad all are barbadians
    It seems u have a torrid indifference to overseas barbadians on this blog making their views or presence known
    But out of pretentious deceit you tolerate them

13. DO YOU MODERATE EVA BODY SIR?

14. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mariposa

That point you made at 8.41 am IS A DAMN GOOD POINT

These people constantly make derogatory statements about the Diasporeans YET MUGABE WENT A BRING BACK 2 AND CHANGE THE CONSTITUTION AND MEK DEM SENATORS!

15. @Silly Woman, if you really knew what happens in the Child Careless Board you and many others would be surprised.

16. @ Silly Woman January 17, 2020 7:24 AM
    “It is not only the system; and yes it is the system, but it is also that too many of our children, especially our boy children suffer chronic trauma, chronic stress because of the absence of their fathers, and that this father absence makes them extremely vulnerable to middle class and upper class drug dealers and other big hard back criminal MEN…”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Here we males, all along trembling in our rubbery socks, were thinking you had the “final solution” to this intractable problem by castrating all the boys born out of wedlock and in households where there is NO Daddy; in other words over 70% of the male children born in Barbados.

Why don’t you be more ‘evenhanded’ in your recommendations to solve this perennial problem of crime?

How about advising the women not allow themselves to be impregnated by those “middle class and upper class drug dealers and other big hard back criminal MEN”?

After all, as you quite rightly pointed out, the ‘Pill’ and condoms have been around and freely available to women since the 1960’s and there is absolutely no reason for them in the 21st century to be beholden to ‘hard back criminal men’ through the granting of sexual favours in any unprotected fashion (even within the confines of marriage of the legal kind).

We are sure you are ‘old’ enough to have heard the saying: “It takes two to tango” (especially in bed or even in the back of a 1953 Chevrolet or a 2019 SUV unless it is an incidence of date rape).

Always remember, you “Silly Woman”, that it was the ‘wise’ wo(e)man who first tasted the fruit of lustful sin; not the stupid man.

If only Adam had worn a condom he would not have been saddled with a ready-made jacket made by the Devil.

You can check your own book of mythology for the full story.

17. @Miller et al

Is there greater value in pushing a more pragmatic view? The rise of single families, diluted/diferent values, reltivism etc means we have to accept a reality – certainly in the short medium term – that solutions will have to consider.

18. William Skinner Avatar

We are still buying into the irresponsible fathers blame game. When are we going to move away from these mundane positions. We cannot seriously discuss such issues without a historical understand of how our society was developed. Within our culture there are certain realities that must be faced. I am getting a bit concerned about all of these groups purporting to defend men against our women folk. I am equally perturbed by those who are blaming the absence of fathers as role models. Twenty years ago we began blaming the rise in female teachers for the apparent decline in the manhood of our boy children.
    We always get trapped in trying to transport the symptoms of other societies into our environment.
    First, we need laws to protect our children and women from all forms of violence.
    Secondly we need to realise that the family of the future will have same sex parents.
    Thirdly we need to realise that parenting today is completely different from forty years ago.
    Fourthly we need to accept that the modern woman does not see or expect men to be their protectors.
    Unfortunately a lot of the so-called male advocates are a pack of hypocrites and they cannot accept that the modern woman does not have the time will or desire to pamper them like their mothers sisters grandmothers and aunties did fifty years ago.

19. RE we have to accept a reality – certainly in the short medium term – that solutions will have to consider.
    WHAT MUST WE DO IN THE LONG medium term? OR THE SHORT LONG TERM?
    ARE THESE IMPORTANT CONSIDERATIONS ALSO?
    JUST TRYING TO JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING MY VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE.

20. @ David January 17, 2020 9:16 AM

Of course there is!

I was just responding to simplistically stupid proposal from ‘Silly Woman” whose only purpose is to see men and (by the laws of nature) women become extinct as what is about to happen in Japan.

What you are witnessing today is the social decay resulting from the breakup of the extended family model which served the black Bajan families with success in their fight against poverty and the feudal system of social apartheid which defined the social landscape of yesteryear.

In a non-industrialized society it takes a village to raise a child; not two poverty stricken individuals who can’t even rub two old Bajan cents together.

Just take a look at the Israeli Kibbutz system and see that the Mummy & Daddy only nuclear family model is not always applicable to a society.

The same challenges will be faced today even when both mummy and daddy have to go out there and make money to keep up their middleclass materialistic appearances leaving little Johnny and Mary to their own online devices.

21. @Miller

Agree with you so far, it is good to identify the problem. What building blocks can we put in place to start the process of clawback given the reality to add to William’s input.

22. Bajans love to talk. The elites love to talk, and the counter-elites, well represented on this blog, love to talk even more.

Where does all this talk lead? Contrary to what Mia would have you believe, it leads NOWHERE.

Consider the blog master’s call for MORE TALK about the inequalities of the criminal justice system.

The elites and counter-elites of Barbados both reject any proposals to abandon the British system of jurisprudence we inherited from the past.

So the only reform ideas we are left with (e.g., creating Legal Aid societies by compelling law students and fully licenced lawyers to take on pro bono clients) are ideas that have already been tried in more advanced Commonwealth countries, like Canada.

Has Canada successfully tackled inequalities in its criminal justice system by implementing the ideas being proposed nowadays in Barbados? OF COURSE NOT.

For example, in Canada today, about 10% of the federal prison population is black, even though blacks make up only 3% of Canada’s population. And about 25% of prison population is Aboriginal, even though only 5% of Canadians are Aboriginal.

In every single country in the world, without exception, lower class people are overrepresented as defendants and convicts in the criminal justice system.

23. the question on the blogmaster’s mind is why are Barbadians allowing members of the political class AND surrogates to lead the conversation about crime and the justice system in Barbados.
    ——-””’””””””””””””””””””

When last was the voices of barbadians taken seriously.
    We have a justice system that needs total overhall
    Fuh christ sake barbadians having been constantly complaining about the drugs on the streets and a need for better security at our ports and what was the response deaf years from politicians and Unions
    Therefore may i asked who would now listen after many years of complaining by ordinary barbadians
    The truth now lies within the manifestation of those masters politician serve
    A kid coming from a dysfunctional family can only have access to guns because of a legal system that have closed eyes to those providing the opportune gateway for guns and drug availability into the country

24. It is unfortunate to see William Skinner fold like a tent before the destructive onslaught of Western feminism.

The prevalence of female teachers in elementary and high schools IS UNDERMINING the masculinity and the classroom performance of boys, and is sowing the seeds of gender confusion, sexual deviance, etc, in the male population.

To deny this is in the name of political correctness is to bury your head in the sand.

Science tells us that the widespread use of female birth control pills is putting estrogen in the water supply. Long story short, when men drink estrogen-contaminated water, they end up with a greater risk of prostate cancer.

Should we deny the destructive effect women’s birth control habits are having on men, for political convenience? I hope not.

In the same way, we should not deny the destructive effects of female teachers, and feminism, on boys.

25. re Ewart ArcherJanuary 17, 2020 10:08 AM

Bajans love to talk. The elites love to talk, and the counter-elites, well represented on this blog, love to talk even more.

Where does all this talk lead? Contrary to what Mia would have you believe, it leads NOWHERE.

IT IS TRUTH YOU AH TELL SIR ALL DE TALK IS LEADING NOWHERE
    MAYBE WE OUGHT TO PRAY

26. “We are still buying into the irresponsible fathers blame game. When are we going to move away from these mundane positions. We cannot seriously discuss such issues without a historical understand of how our society was developed.”

don’t mind all the noise, the Barbados society was DESTROYED from within methodically, your weak governments were more concerned about being millionaires and billionaires rather than look after the needs of families with growing children, they were more interested in the yardfowl approach so as to be reelected to continue more destruction with their criminal friends….three generations of families did not stand a chance…put the blame right where it belongs.

billion dollar thefts of pensioners and taxpayers money over decades, took away from any social upliftment…for the black majority….reducing tens of thousands to poverty and having to seek any and every way to survive, which led to the greedy devising a more streamlined prison system to line their own pockets…rendering tens of tousands of young black people fodder for prison…

All the assets of the greedy minorities need to be FROZEN…there are losts of stolen Estates and bank accounts in their stolen assets…not to forget all the stolen taxpayers and pensioners money…

yall need to tell the truth about why the island has been reduced to a corrupt gang of vipers which caused the degradation of the social fabric ..and now everyone can see why the miseducated and unware in the society have fallen victims to the well designed creation by criminals to enrich themselves from the 1940s…with their well established criminal SYNDICATE.

27. “During their time at Cave Hill, provide 2 weeks of compulsory national service to the Legal Aid program”

but when these young legal graduates with their LLBs and go into the law firms of criminals WHO ALREADY CORRUPTED THE SUPREME COURT…. to intern or get their feet wet…THEY ARE IMMEDIATELY CORRUPTED.

bear in mind that these are the same lawyers who have the supreme court and island…LOCKED DOWN TIGHT…with corruption..

how do you get around that.

28. @ Ewart Archer January 17, 2020 10:26 AM
    “Science tells us that the widespread use of female birth control pills is putting estrogen in the water supply. Long story short, when men drink estrogen-contaminated water, they end up with a greater risk of prostate cancer.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I am supporting you on this one, Ewart!

This is a point which is made from a position of Commonsense and ought to receive serious analysis.

The same way we are told “we are what we eat” so to there could be some validity to the concern about the role of excess estrogen in the male body.

Hormones are major factors in determining the sex and sexuality of the human species.

The same way the same estrogen is having a ‘phenomenal effect on certain species of fish there is some possibility that similar “demasculinizing” effects can exist in the human populations exposed to high levels of ‘female’ hormones especially of the artificial type as found in certain processed foods (both human and animal), medicines, prophylactics like the female contraceptive pill.

Why do so many young boys have such pronounced breasts compared with their forefathers of say 50 years ago?

“Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.”¬ Hippocrates

29. Miller

Thank you for your support. I never thought I would see the day.

30. RE The same way the same estrogen is having a ‘phenomenal effect on certain species of fish there is some possibility that similar “demasculinizing” effects can exist in the human populations exposed to high levels of ‘female’ hormones especially of the artificial type as found in certain processed foods (both human and animal), medicines, prophylactics like the female contraceptive pill.

MILLER YOU TALKING SSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS—————————–E!
    IS NOT THE BAD BEHAVIOUR OF THE YOUNG MEN WALKING BOUT SHOOTING MORE LIKELY TO BE DUE TO HIGH TESTOSTERONE LEVELS RATHER THAN ESTROGEN LEVELS? LOL

RE Why do so many young boys have such pronounced breasts compared with their forefathers of say 50 years ago?
    COULD IT BE DUE TO INCREASED LEVELS OF ACETYLCO ENZYME A AND ITS SEQUALAE?

CHECK IT OUT

31. @ GP January 17, 2020 11:39 AM

Is that why there was so violence among the men in the Judeo-Christian bible times?

Cain had to be a testosterone junkie to kill his ‘girlie’ brother who was more ‘favoured’ by Yahweh.

Even today that high level of Testosterone can be found among those in the Middle East where the use of female contraceptive is un-Islamic and could lead to a fatwa on any ‘liberated’ woman’s head.

BTW, King Solomon had to be testosterone-laden giant of a cockerel to service his 1,000 women he kept in his palace for a harem.

32. WHY DO YOU THINK CASTER SEMANYA LOOKS LIKE A MAN AND OUT PERFORMS ALL THE WOMEN IN THE 800 METERS AND THAT THEY CANT FIND EXOGENOUS STEROIDS OF ANY KIND IN HER BODY?
    SHE HAS EXCESS TESTOSTERONE LEVELS ………BUT THEY ARE NATURALLY PRODUCED

33. @ GP January 17, 2020 12:03 PM
    “SHE HAS EXCESS TESTOSTERONE LEVELS ………BUT THEY ARE NATURALLY PRODUCED”

But Dr. GP, ‘he and she’ is the kind of woman you like to cuss and call PRIME WICKERS.

How come you are not using your Judeo-Christian biblical whip to lick that natural tendency out of her as is your wont with Obama?

34. THIS WHY I NO LONGER TRY TO DO ANY SERIOUS TEACHING ON BU

35. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Wow !! Wuh Loss!

@ David Bu
    Where ever you start ,you will end up at the same cross roads. The laws exist because society expects man to break the laws.

Sorting the prison inmates by class should reflect the society.Have you examined the prison ratio and compare it with the ratio of working class to total population?

If there is a significant difference ,do you not need to examine what advantages the upper classes have that are not available to the working class offender? The same goes for classification by ethnicity.
    I am afraid this is another brain storming session and is likely to end in non- conclusivity.

36. @ GP January 17, 2020 12:31 PM

All we are doing is throwing back in your Doctor GP’s face the chamber pot of unethical standards you have been dispensing here on BU.

You cannot expect to disparage the PM and the former president of the USA and expect us to be impressed with your teachings about the human body.

Bloody apologize to both of them and then we will listen into your tutorials to see if they are made of commonsense and not made-up bullshit written in some book.

Medicine is not an exact science and has a lot in common with philosophy.

If it was an exact science you would be following to a “T” the teachings of Hippocrates instead of reaching for the prescription pad to instruct people how to ingest synthetic poisons.

“If we could give every individual the right amount of nourishment and exercise, not too little and not too much, we would have found the safest way to health.”

37. Start by locking up the crooked, tiefing minorities.We all remember this dont we. This one croaked in 2014 but they always find more and more to help them commit crimes on the island.

“Gary Morse was using Wells Fargo to send tens of millions of dollars through FCIB for the Port Ferdinand development at Six Mens and was caught by the IRS.”

38. @ GP January 17, 2020 1:26 PM
    “AND MY WIFE WILL NOT STOP LOVING ME”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

We pray that you will never find out that you are not the only one whom she is “LOVING” because of your ‘shortcomings due to a lack of testosterone and surfeit of estrogen.

That would send so stark staring crazier that the only cure would be a religious cocktail of Mary Jane and Ayahuasca to bring you that needed peace of mind.

39. If it was an exact science you would be following to a “T” the teachings of Hippocrates instead of reaching for the prescription pad to instruct people how to ingest synthetic poisons.

WHAT ARE THE the teachings of Hippocrates?

“If we could give every individual the right amount of nourishment and exercise, not too little and not too much, we would have found the safest way to health.”

WHAT IS THE right amount of nourishment and exercise, not too little and not too much?
    WHAT IS THE safest way to health.?

40. RE We pray that you will never find out that you are not the only one whom she is “LOVING” because of your ‘shortcomings due to a lack of testosterone and surfeit of estrogen.

I AM SO VERY SORRY TO HEAR THAT YOU EXPERIENCED THE SITUATION THAT YOU ARE PROJECTING HERE
    AND AM AT A LOSS AS TO HOW YOUR EXPERIENCE ADVANCES THE DISCUSSION ON FIXING CRIME AND CRIMINAL JUSTICE IN BIM

41. Miller January 17, 2020 9:13 AM “castrating all the boys born out of wedlock.”

Have I ever said a single negative word about any child born out of wedlock? Have you ever seen me pushing wedlock as a solution to societal problems. No. Because there are good parents livin within a formal marriages, and there are bad parents living within formal marriages.Both of my beloved parents, very fine people were born out of wedlock.

What I am asking is that fathers AND mothers devote a significant amount of their love, time and money to the care of their own children. This can be done in a formal marriage or not, although it is perhapseasier if done within formal marriage, since both parents will likely be in the same home as their minor children.

Children need to be mothered.

Children need to be fathered.

That is all that I am saying.

42. Miller January 17, 2020 9:13 AM “Always remember, you “Silly Woman”, that it was the ‘wise’ wo(e)man who first tasted the fruit of lustful sin; not the stupid man.”

Aren’t you tired of repeating silliness.

You know don’t you that there was no Adam, no Eve, no serpent, no original female sinner, and that nothing significant in human history took place in the Middle East.

Aren’t wunna MEN tired of blaming women for your absence from the lives of your OWN children?

43. @Miller January 17, 2020 9:39 AM “Just take a look at the Israeli Kibbutz system and see that the Mummy & Daddy only nuclear family model is not always applicable to a society.”

Where have I ever suggested “Mummy & Daddy only nuclear family model?”

I said, and I REPEAT that fathers [and yes mothers too]must spend a significant amount of their love, their time, and their money on their children.

Where have i ever excluded grandparents, aunts, siblings etc?

For most of my life i have been an active older sister, auntie, baby sitter, foster mother, grandmother etc.

But I am NOT a father.

I can do a lot, and indeed I have. But I cannot replace the love, time and money of a father.

And “no” I don’t wish harm to any man.

i want to see our sons do well.

Do you think that I enjoy seeing young black men killing other young black men; or killing anybody at all?

Fathers must NOT absent themselves from their children’s lives.

44. @ Silly Woman January 17, 2020 5:14 PM
    “You know don’t you that there was no Adam, no Eve, no serpent, no original female sinner, and that nothing significant in human history took place in the Middle East.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So if you know this to be a ‘historical fact’ why do you go to the Anglican shop of religion that sells such BS to puerile minds like yours?

Or do you go to ogle the young priest whom the old cougar fancies?

You as a black person would be better off following your African ancestors’ religions.
    Even Obeah would better than ‘believing’ in a white blue-eyed god completely at odds with your appearance which is certainly not in his image.

Why not take up Whitehill’s invitation and attend his sanctorum. He would show you his real snake which is longer than the miller’s small foot.

45. @Ewart Archer January 17, 2020 10:26 AM “The prevalence of female teachers in elementary and high schools IS UNDERMINING the masculinity and the classroom performance of boys, and is sowing the seeds of gender confusion, sexual deviance, etc, in the male population…Science tells us that the widespread use of female birth control pills is putting estrogen in the water supply. Long story short, when men drink estrogen-contaminated water, they end up with a greater risk of prostate cancer.”

I am trying to get this straight. According to miller women are responsible for original sin. According to Ewart women are responsible for male gender confusion, sexual deviance, and prostate cancer. Prostate cancer? I had a beloved brother who died of prostate cancer,. I take no responsibility for that. When my dear brother was diagnosed he refused to return to the doctor for 8 years. Then he died. How is that my fault?

Oh Lord when will men stop behaving like hard ears l’il boys and take responsibility for their own actions?

Wha’ we women do wunna misogynists?

i raised my children well. i spent a lot of love, time and money on them. Can wunna fellas say the same?

Nope the village will not raise your children for you. You had the fun. You get to raise the kid, or not. Your choice. But if you don’t spent the love, time and money on him, maybe you will get to bury him before he is 25 years old.

46. @ Silly Woman January 17, 2020 5:08 PM
    “What I am asking is that fathers AND mothers devote a significant amount of their love, time and money to the care of their own children. This can be done in a formal marriage or not, although it is perhapseasier if done within formal marriage, since both parents will likely be in the same home as their minor children.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

What compelling evidence do you have that the average Bajan man does not do the things you are asking him to do?

Bajan men of today are more loving and caring for their offspring than certainly their fathers and grandfathers of yesteryear many of whom had numerous children from different women sometimes in the same village giving rise to the sobriquet “village ram”.

Even the law takes care of that mandatory commitment. Cock tax is a real heavy tax.

PS: you need to stop promoting the castration of young boy children or not there will be no children to look after,

47. @Miller January 17, 2020 5:37 PM “Or do you go to ogle the young priest ?

I must admit that my arish priest is young and very, very handsome.

But “no” I have NEVER interfered with him, nor have I ever attempted to do so.

Lolll!!!

48. SIMON
    YOU ARE RIGHT
    I WAS TEACHING 2 TWO HOUR SESSION IN PHARM IN CURACAO IN 2005
    I DONT KNOW WHAT GOT INTO ME
    BUT JUST BEFORE THE BREAK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE SESSION I SAID
    “MEN I WANT YOU TO KNOW THAT THE MOST IMPORTANT JOB YOU WILL HAVE IS NOT BEING A DOCTOR, BUT BEING A FATHER”

AT THE BREAK ONE OF THE FEMALES WHO HAD HAD A CHILD DURING THE PREVIOUS SEMESTER CAME TO ME IN TEARS AND LAMENTED THAT HER CHILD FATHER WAS NOT DOING HIS ROLE

I CAN WRITE A BOOK ABOUT THE INTERACTIONS I HAD WITH MY FEMALE PATIENTS ABOUT THEIR EXPERIENCES WITH THIER MEN

I REGRET THAT I DID NOT RECORD THE STORIES

49. @ Silly Woman January 17, 2020 5:51 PM

We are glad to hear you keep your cougar hands off the young priest. It’s a good thing he is not Roman Catholic.

What we want you to recognize that this gun violence is not only among young black men in Bim but right through the Caribbean. It can be found also in the inner cities of the UK and the ghettoes of your favourite country the great US of A.
    Even Brazil which has a large black population is plagued by such black-on-black violence.

How then do you explain this ‘common’ sociological streak of violence in the social DNA of non-Bajan black boys and “hardback criminal” men?

50. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, the blogger @Vincent suggested that your discourse may reach no-conclusion and one sees his logic ; although @Skinner made some awesome conclusive remarks…. Alad, its a truism that we will NEVER get any conclusion because our life is NOT ordained to reach a cutely packaged one….those who govern us (that political deep-state of every nation) work comprehensively to brpe the powerful rulers and keep the powerless under their rule!

And here powerful is defined by perceived class grouos first … and then by racial ethnicity.

Therefore there is no answer for you on overturning this model because those with the power will never voluntarily give that up to be submissive to another group or even share equitably. That’s not human nature.

There is a large statistical over-representation “… of certain people incarcerated by the system” simply because if that wasn’t the case then more of the powerful elite group would have to be in those spots! Survival of the fittest will always drive those numbers as there are unless there in anarchy.

You continually lament that there is “… perpetual duress triggering […] factors adversely affecting law and order and creating a bias to how we operate.” Then you added “The stability of our little island requires for sensible people to rationally discuss AND address the cause of the seismic shift that has occurred in the social landscape of Barbados.”

Do you really BELIEVE this is some happenstance shift . No !

This is a case of gradual and continuous tremors which have shifted the “tetonic” plates continuously overtime… so that under our very noses we have a “new normal” that is fully accepted in our social landscape!

I am not being CYNICAL Mr. Blogmaster.

So let me turn back to @Skinner and a few others. He bluntly noted “We cannot seriously discuss such issues without a historical understand of how our society was developed.” That’s says it all and I am NOT talking about slavery. Here his remarks should also be interpreted to mean how we “institutionalized” very structured and often intractable class demarcations.

Have we not seen (to use your word) a burgeoning middle and upper class in Bim… and as that has exploded have we not seen a direct explosion in the corruption and incestuous (professionals acting together) malfeasance also. Correspondensily have we not seen more of the lower and powerless class groups incarcerated (over BS crimes), disenfranchised and simply victimized.

You really see that as happenstance!

@Skinner also very interestingly said : “We always get trapped in trying to transport the symptoms of other societies into our environment”. That’s one of those simple but effing very profound remarks.

I read him as: We have built and stratified this terribly broken system and now we want to analyse and define it with some externally created psycho-babble. No. We BUILT it by dint of our own perverse sense of self satisfaction.

We elected Grantley and every other government since we had full suffrage; we reelected corrupt group after corrupt group; we reelected gun-trafficking, narco-running administrations one after the other; we elected men who were alleged to have beaten their women and others their same sex partners; we supported administrations who consorted with alleged killers of salesmen and others and NOW we are agahst about purported drug kingpins at opening of Parliament and consider this now exploding death rate SEISMIC after all these years of playing ‘hear, see and say nothing’!

No bro…these tectonic plates shift outta whack long, long time. Protecting our youth is a bit of a false narrative … of course we always need to protect the innocent from immediate harm … but in the overall scheme of things we desparately need to let out our dirty linen and hope our youth have the strength of character – which we damn well didn’t – to clean the stink before the island sinks under the weight of the stiffling doo-doo!

Leave a Reply to Hal AustinCancel reply