“…[P]unishment for mere mental states is intrinsically unjust because such punishment would be a form of mind control – Gabriel Mendlow, “Why is it wrong to punish thoughts?” [2018] 127 Yale L. J. 2342

It is by now beyond dispute that the freedom of expression constitutionally guaranteed to everyone is not absolute. Not only are there the express limitations or qualifications provided in the Constitution itself, but there also exist limitations imposed by common law and statute and by considerations of decency, situational appropriateness and what may be generally regarded as good societal conduct.

Given the significance of free expression in a democratic society, these limitations are closely policed and in the inevitable tension between the freedom and its proscription, it may be observed that the modern trend bends towards the increase of the freedom rather than towards its diminution.

As President Saunders of the CCJ had cause to observe in a recent decision-

Because it underpins and reinforces many of the other fundamental rights, freedom of expression is rightly regarded as the cornerstone of any democracy. A regime that unduly constrains free speech produces harm, not just to the individual whose expression is denied, but [also] to society as a whole. On the one hand, the human spirit is stultified. On the other, social progress is retarded. The fates of brilliant persons like Galileo, and Darwin, and countless others, sung and unsung, betray a familiar pattern in the history of humankind. Today’s heresy may easily become tomorrow’s gratefully embraced orthodoxy…

Indeed, in light of the proliferation of modern communication through social media, with its inherent anonymity permitting the expression of even more ideas that we might disagree with either in form or in substance, it has become necessary for us to reconsider the nature of our freedom of expression and to examine whether our society is more likely to benefit from an extrapolation or from a further attenuation of this freedom.

According to the introduction to The Free Speech Century, a text edited by two of the leading First Amendment scholars in the US, While vastly expanding the opportunities to participate in public discourse, contemporary means of communication have also arguably contributed to political polarization, foreign influence in our democracy, and the proliferation of ‘fake’ news.”

It is further suggested there that we shall need to interrogate “To what extent do these concerns pose new threats to our understanding of ‘the freedom of speech, and of the press’? To what extent do they call for serious reconsideration of some central doctrines and principles on which our current First Amendment [sc. freedom of expression] jurisprudence is based?”

I, likewise, pose this query here in the wake of the news item earlier this week where a young man was convicted of sending an electronic communication that was “menacing in character, intending to cause or reckless as to whether it caused annoyance inconvenience, distress or anxiety to the recipient or to any other person to whom he intends it or its contents to be communicated”. This conduct is criminalized by section 14 of the local Computer Misuse Act 2005. According to one newspaper report, the annoyance, inconvenience, distress and anxiety would be caused to the members of the Royal Barbados Police Force.

The matter was tried summarily in the Magistrate’s Court and the accused confessed to the offence anyway so of course the issue as to whether this provision disproportionately compromises the constitutional guarantee of freedom of expression was never broached.

However, I have long held the view that this specific criminalization of expression would not pass a test of strict scrutiny so as to be held constitutionally compatible. First, it appears to particularize electronic communications as being somehow more offensive than other modes. To my best knowledge, there is no equivalent offence for causing mere annoyance or inconvenience especially to others by ordinary oral communication. Should every opinion that might annoy us be made criminal? Or is this a necessarily incidental hazard of societal existence?

Moreover, the section does not stipulate that the annoyance, inconvenience, distress or anxiety produced must have been a reasonable response to the communication by the individual affected. A comment from the American Civil Liberties Union seems apposite-

Our Constitution protects hateful speech, yes — but on the theory that truly free speech means the best ideas will win out. We need [people] trained to really listen to ideas they hate — and respond with better ones.

I, too, agree that the message used by the young man in this case was obscene and distasteful, but strictly construed, he did no more than express an outrageous perverted desire without threatening to accomplish it personally. Ought a police officer of reasonable fortitude to have been annoyed, inconvenienced, distressed or made anxious by the communication? Ought the accused to be punished for his anti-social, perverted thoughts?

I dedicate this week’s column to the memory of my father who was called to higher service on Tuesday of last week at the age of 93. It was he who taught me to read and he was an avid fan of my weekly musings. Until he became too ill to do so, he patiently and lovingly collected every one of them. May his spirit travel home in safety and peace.

100 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Anti-social and Distasteful…but Criminal?”

1. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“On the one hand, the human spirit is stultified. On the other, social progress is retarded.”

And that is exactly what the BLACK DEMONS in your SLAVE PARLIAMENT have done with the MAJORITY POPULATION……their own black brothers and sisters for 70+ years.

2. Jeff, Firstly condolences on your loss.

Secondly, on the issue of freedom (s) and in particular communications, I would think that the acid test is whether such communication, whether oral or written, is demonstrated to cause potential harm to the recipient.

For such to be criminal, surely it would have to cause potential, likely and immediate harm to the recipient. I include immediate as this increases the likelihood of it being a real threat.

For such to be civil, aka a libel, surely it would have to be shown to cause harm in whatever form, to the recipient’s image and life.

In terms of general hate speech i.e. speech which is intended to cause severe disruption with a focus on one segment of society, such that they are ostracised and threatened in mind or physically, there must be a broader interpretation of criminal intent and action.

Such hate speech may or may nor be interpreted as having an immediate threat, but is of a nature that clearly causes serious harm to one or more groups of people.

I fully agree that robust and deep discussion is necessary to move a society forward. Restrictions by the state on freedoms, whether movement or communication, are inherently worrying and suspicious.

However, restrictions that specifically address the threats as noted above are to be expected and respected by responsible citizens and we should act accordingly.

3. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff

I am sorry for your loss.

I am also troubled by this conviction. I do not believe that the actions of the accused amounts to a criminal offence. Even if it did, I believe that our policemen should be made of much sterner stuff and should not be offended or annoyed by the reported acts. Similarly, I don’t think a person should be convicted of a crime for merely calling a policeman an idiot. But several persons have received their first conviction for doing just that.

4. Jeff, one more point.

On President Saunders comment, while I strongly embrace his approach and his point on limitations of free speech, we must also be careful to not accept rubbish and hate speech as merely pushing the envelope and testing societal development.

The caveat to his references is that those scientists based their approach on investigating, understanding and knowledge. This is far different to an approach based on division and hate or speech directed at one person or segment in society.

Further, acceptance of their teachings has been based on further work and understanding, over many years.

Basically, we must not accept any and everything as free speech that merely stretches the society’s collective imagination.

As with so much, the watchwords must be balance, logic and commonsense.

5. Sad to say but the law makers and those in authority to pursue justice seems to be grabbing at straws
    Imagine a couple weeks ago the justice system said Charles Herbert was free to go without as much as giving a court trial
    Now a poor man exercise his freedom of speech in a derogatory manner is sent to jail
    History would reveal that barbados failures were systematic of protecting the haves and destroying the have nots

6. Condolences.

7. William Skinner Avatar

@ Jeff
    My condolences to you and family on your loss

Amazingly, right here on BU, I have read similar offerings. Nobody has so far been brought before the courts. I agree with your position.

8. May I again nominate Jeff and Caswell for national awards for their steadfast dedication in educating the public about law in general and, in Caswell’s case, labour law in particular. I think Jeff should also be made a QC and the UWI should think seriously of awarding Caswell an honorary PhD in laws. Public education is one of the most important things a specialist can do in a democracy.

9. @Jeff,

sincere condolences to you and your family.

10. Sincerest condolences, Jeff!

Separately

While Caswell occasionally comments on a limited range of issues

When it comes to the political it seems he has been muted. No doubt by the dear leader.

Now! We understand that as political parties go there will be hard limits on what he could say, as compared with before.

However, to almost entirely withdraw from all the previous positions, through silence, is representative of something else.

11. The passing of a loved one is never a good feeling but those who have fallen asleep in the Lord would one day rise in Glory
    My deepest sympathy Jeff

12. In a country filled with lawyers and law enthusiasts, this poor black man could not find a friend of the court to counsel him before pleading.

In Barbados, free speech, without deep pockets or access to free counsel, is just as elusive as that thing called transparency and accountability.

13. Jeff, Firstly condolences on your loss.
    **============================xxx======================*

This is the kind of issue that I do not know where I stand.
    It pains me when I see John Public being disrespectful to police officers and feel the should be punished in some way.

Some believe that freedom of speech means saying anything that you want when you want to, but they soon find out, that the law has a narrower view.

On the other hand, I believe the the ‘punishment is often excessive”. Don’t ask me what excessive means.

14. As for Caswell he comes across as a Chihuahua now he sits amongst the politician

15. Forgot my manners. Condolences to you and your family Mr. Cumberbatch.

16. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Jeff

Deepest condolences to you and family on your father’s death. May he rest in Peace and rise in Glory. I am sure he is pleased by the accomplishments in his life,this side of eternity.
    A timely and instructive submission as usual. There will always be a tension between freedom of speech and the effect this freedom has on the targeted person.,intended and unintended. It will always be the adjudicator’s call.

17. @Vincent

And it will be left to respected academics like Jeff to dispassionately divide and deposit these thorny issues in the public space to expand the repertoire of decision making options for the ‘adjudicator’.

18. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Condolences to you Dean Jeff.

A life well lived in to his 93 years no doubt… the joy of having wonderful bondings with an elderly parent is priceless!

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

And condolences are definitely in order to Jeff and family.

20. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

Caswell once stated on BU that he had no interest in being “elected” or “selected” to political office.
    I repeat that he’s a breath of fresh air in the senate and public discourse.
    However, it is a bit too much to expect the brother to be as busy as he used to be on BU. Having accepted office, he must obviously show some restraint.

21. Sir William Skinner

Your rejoinder does not at appear unreasonable, at the surface.

However, when one extrapolates, you will also mean that Caswell is to be loss to all the rest of us, his insights.

And if we go a little further it may even be assumed, base on logic, that Caswell may well re-emerge as a totally different personage, as systems are want to do.

We might not even known then, whether the Caswell of yesteryear who we have come to know and respect in indeed the Caswell of today.

Is this scenario not one of the basic problems in governance?

22. Sincere condolences to the Professor and his family. Is this elder related to John and Grantley from St. Joseph?

23. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

I agree. Let’s just leave the brother alone for a while. He is now a member of the BLP/PdP coalition government that is the latest configuration of the duopoly.

The Duopoly Rules

24. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Dean Jeff, I look forward to reading one of your legal theses expanding our consideration of “…the nature of our freedom of expression and to examine whether our society is more likely to benefit from an extrapolation or from a further attenuation of this freedom [of expression].”

Although the young man was not “threatening to accomplish it personally” yet his threat went well beyond any personal fortitude or hardiness of an individual police officer.

He invited acts of grave body harm against the entire arm of our protective forces.

That is NOT acceptable .

It is hyperbole to link his behaviour to “conduct or speech inciting people to rebel against the authority of a state” … better known as sedition but is it a bridge that far to be crossed in a certain climate such as this.
    Or

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

…Our freedom of speech must be protected but it can’t be a free call to recklessly ridiculous commentary bordering of social unrest.

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

QUESTIONS ON RISING IN GLORY

WHAT DOES RISING IN GLORY MEAN?

WHO WILL RISE IN GLORY?
    WHO DECIDES THOSE WHO WILL RISE IN GLORY?
    WHEN WILL THIS EVENT OCCUR ?
    WHAT IS THIS EVENT PROPERLY CALLED?
    WHAT WILL CAUSE THIS EVENT TO OCCUR?

CAN ANYONE HELP ME WITH THESE ANSWERS?

27. Well…one US court has decides you can cuss out a cop in one state, me thinks they would all draw the line at threatening to kill them though….even if done in anger and frustration as happened with the due in Bim..

“On June 2nd, the 8th US Circuit Court of Appeals upheld a US District Court decision that refused to throw out a civil lawsuit against an Arkansas police officer who arrested a man who yelled a curse word at the officer as he conducted a traffic stop on another citizen.

What Happened
    According to court documents, in 2015 Arkansas State Trooper Lagarian Cross was performing a traffic stop on a Fort Smith highway when he heard a passerby yell “f*ck you” out of the window of a moving car. The remark prompted Cross to end his traffic stop and pursue the car. After making the stop, Cross arrested Eric Roshaun Thurairajah on a charge of disorderly conduct, stating the profanity constituted “unreasonable or excessive noise.”

Thurairajah spent hours in jail for the utterance, court records say, before the charge was dropped and he was released under his own recognizance.

Thurairajah, however, was not done.

After spending eight hours barefoot in a jail cell with a toilet that had overflowed, he filed suit against Cross, alleging that the trooper violated his First and Fourth Amendment rights by arresting him unjustly.

Cross attempted to have the case thrown out, citing qualified immunity—a legal doctrine that shields government officials from lawsuits—but was denied by the US District Court for the Western District of Arkansas. In that 2017 ruling, the court ruled Cross’s arrest violated Thurairajah’s clearly established rights under the Constitution, voiding his qualified immunity protection.”

28. On Friday the Courts were closed early because lawyers had to have an AGM. Who cares about those delayed justice? Are lawyers so special they could not have met after hours or a weekend? I guess no one cares and things will only change when the unconscionable adults have all died out only to be replaced by a vocal Gen Y and Gen Z

29. GP…find something better to do and stop that dumb shit..already, christ, ya can’t even converse with a bajan without them telling ya how hard they read the bible.

…..but they can’t fix none of the damn problems on the island that are killing them and their fellow bajans, their children and future generations…….they can’t even understand the major problems they have…

that is what they were put to do from in Africa…become useless to themselves…lol

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

WARU
    YA CANT READ BU UNLESS THERE IS A LOT OF SHIT BOUT POLITICS
    DO YOU SEE ME COMPLAIN?
    YA CANT READ BU UNLESS YOU SEE AN UGLY BLACK WOMAN RANTING AND RAVING
    DO YOU SEE ME COMPLAIN?

I DID NOT CAUSE ANY of the damn problems on the island
    AND I AM NOT EMPLOYED TO FIX THEM
    NOR WILL I WASTE ANY ATP CEREBRATING TO OFFER ANY SOLUTIONS
    I WANT TO RISE IN GLORY SO DAT IS WHY I ASKING REASONABLE QUESTIONS TO GET HELP

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE On Friday the Courts were closed early because lawyers had to have an AGM. Who cares about those delayed justice? Are lawyers so special they could not have met after hours or a weekend?
    YOU MEKKING SPORT OR WUH?
    IN BARBADOS LAWYERS REAL SPECIAL…YOU AINT KNOW.
    SOME ONE BU WANT LAWYERS GET NOMINATED TO be made a QC for national awards for their steadfast dedication in educating the public about law

N BARBADOS LAWYERS REAL SPECIAL.. YA HEAR
    I GWINE STUDY LAW AND COME BACK TO BIM AND BE SPECIAL TOO

WHO KNOWS THEY MAY MEK ME A NIGHT

32. Winston Anthony Jackman Avatar
    Winston Anthony Jackman

WHO WILL RISE IN GLORY?

WHO REALLY CARES?????

CAN ANYONE HELP ME WITH THESE ANSWERS?

NOT REALLY, BUT I KNOW THAT WON’T STOP YOU FROM TELLING US AND FORCING YOUR INTERPRETATIONS OF THE BIBLE DOWN OUR THROATS AND REMINDING US WHAT BIBLE ILLITERATES AND DUMMIES WE ARE.

33. Waru

Yuh right as shiite.

These religious ah should keep their dirty dogma to themselves instead of polluting the blog wid shiite, for years.

34. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Winston Anthony Jackman

RE NOT REALLY, BUT I KNOW THAT WON’T STOP YOU FROM TELLING US AND FORCING YOUR INTERPRETATIONS OF THE BIBLE DOWN OUR THROATS AND REMINDING US WHAT BIBLE ILLITERATES AND DUMMIES WE ARE.

NOT TO DAY
    I THINK I TOLD WUNNAH ALREADY
    WATCHING THE WORLD CUP
    WAITING FOR MY SWEET SPOUSE TO RETURN FROM HER RIPERIAN VACATION IN MAINE WATCHING WHALES AND PHOTOGRAPHING LIGHTHOUSES
    ALSO I STUDYING MY LAW BOOKS SO THAT ONE DAY I CAN COME HOME TO BECOME A “NIGHT”

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Winston Anthony Jackman July 14, 2019 11:52 AM

WHO WILL RISE IN GLORY?

Q. WHO REALLY CARES?????

A. EVERYBODY OUGHT TO CARE
    EVERYBODY OUGHT TO KNOW

36. “YA CANT READ BU UNLESS YOU SEE AN UGLY BLACK WOMAN RANTING AND RAVING
    DO YOU SEE ME COMPLAIN?”

lol..at least help us get rid of the SCUM IN THE SLAVE PARLIAMENT…destroying your people’s lives…you do care about the vulnerable black bajans ya left behind don’t you..

the brainwash bible bullshit is worn out and tired…ya people cannot even help themselves OR EVEN THINK CLEARLY because of the crap they keep FOOLING THEMSELVES WITH….coming from that blighted book….created just to keep them STUPID and UNAWARE…

and yes, ya old liar, ya complain about ugly black women on BU all the time…..we done know ya prefer ugly, racist old white men, those are whom you feel inferior to…so ya got no problem being their foot stool.

37. Condolences Jeff

Good that your late father got to bask in some of your reflected glory and hopefully you have inherited the genes of longevity so you can continue to smell the flowers before you fertilize them.

38. Nonsense comments in the opinion of the blogmaster will be deleted starting now.

39. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BUT DAVID MOST OF THE COMMENTS ON THIS BLOG HAVE BEEN NONSENSE

YOU HATE ME CAUSE I DONT LICK ASS?

I AM TOO OLD TO BOW DOWN OR BEND DOWN

40. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

You have my sincere condolences Jeff.

41. Censoring is the opposite of free speech. Toleration is the key. You may disagree, but let it go by. That is the mark of a competent chairman. Who determines what is ‘nonsense’? The soldier with the gun, the man on the keyboard, or Ninja man? Let he readers decide.

42. The blogmaster tolerates you does he not?

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HAL AUSTIN SHOULD BE UP FOR NATIONAL HONORS FOR HIS CONTRIBUTION TO BU EVEN THOUGH HE HAS MUSCLE IN HIS BRAIN , AND EVEN THOUGH HE HAS QUESTIONED MY ANCESTRY.
    HE DESERVES TO BE TOLERATED

44. Sorry, mate. You are not in a position to ‘tolerate’ me. The day that happens I will jump off the bridge.

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

It agree with you Jeff that section 14 of the local Computer Misuse Act 2005 constitutes ridiculous overreach. The fact that it crimalizes communication that is clearly free speech in a face-to-face context makes it ripe for a constitutional challenge. For example, if I accost a constable with the pythonesque insult “your mother was a hamster and your father smells of elderberries” it would not likely expose me to prosecution if delivered to his/her face, but online where they can look up the reference and deduce that it is tantamount to “I fart in your general direction” and thereby claim that I have caused them olfactory annoyance and furthermore that I am both indecent and obscene.

46. Let the blogmaster be very clear to a few of you who want mock the BU project.

Some of us live by old fashion values that guide how the blog is moderated.

The blogmaster comes from a school of thought that says it is decent to show sympathy to a person grieving a love one.

You are entitled to disagree but as long as this blogmaster is behind the BU dashboard it is a custom we will cherish and protect.

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Georgie Porgie July 14, 2019 12:38 PM
    “I AM TOO OLD TO BOW DOWN OR BEND DOWN”
    You show most remarkable flexibility for one of your age sir, because you are perpetually licking your own ass. It is not therefore, hard to discern why you cannot perceive the topic of this discussion and respond appropriately.

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PLT

DESPITE WHAT YOU SAY I HAVE THE RIGHT TO RESPOND TO THE FACT THAT FOLK IN BIM ON BU AND BT LIKE TO TALK ABOUT RISING IN GLORY BUT DONT SEEM TO KNOW OR CARE WHAT IT REALLY MEANS

YOUR NASTY AD HOMINEM IS UNWARRANTED

FOLK ON THE ” BU PROJECT” OPINE ON WHAT THEY WISH BUT WHEN I OPINE ON WHAT INTERESTS ME WUNNA BARKING AND BRAYING

I FIND IT VERY HARD to discern why you AND OTHERS cannot perceive the topic DAT I AM discussinG and respond appropriately.

I HAVE NOT CUSSED A SOUL

I REPEAT “I AM TOO OLD TO BOW DOWN OR BEND DOWN”

I SHOULD KNOW MY PHYSIOLOGICAL AND PHYSICAL AND PSYCHOLOGICAL STATE BETTER THAN ANYONE

49. You are on record that you visit BU to ‘mock the rumshop’. So mock elsewhere, your mocking comments are NOT invited here.

50. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Section 15 of the local Computer Misuse Act 2005 is even more ridiculous than section 14. It anticipates that the constabulary is endowed with precognition or some other psychic ability; it states in part that:
    “15. (1) Where a magistrate is satisfied, on information on oath given by a police officer, that there are reasonable grounds for
    suspecting that an offence under this Act […] is about to be committed in any place and that evidence that such an offence […] is about to be committed is in that place, the magistrate may issue a warrant authorising any police officer to enter and search that
    place, including any computer, using such reasonable force as is necessary.”

So if a constable decides that I am of the opinion that the force is marginally competent at best, and an embarrassing travesty most of the time, not to mention harboring suspicion that they are occasionally profoundly corrupt (and it is well known I do hold all these opinions), then using their psychic ability they are justified in breaking into my house because they suspect that the offense under section 14 that this “constitutes a threat” because I intend to cause them “annoyance, inconvenience, distress or anxiety.”