Thanks to fellow blogger at caribbeansignal.com for reminding the BU blogmaster to continue focus on the economy. The controversial former Governor of the Central Bank continues to push a line of argument about the advantages of dollarizing the economy. Discuss for 10 marks

David, blogmaster

DeLisle Worrell: Sovereignty and the US Dollar

Source: DelisleWorrell.com

Reproduced with permission, the full text of Dr. Delisle Worrell – former Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados – July 2019 newsletter – caribbeansignal.com:

The one question which always surfaces in response to my lecture “The time has come to permanently retire all our Caribbean currencies”  – Dr. DeLisle Worrell Says Time to Jettison Caribbean Currencies  – (search for this title on Youtube) is about national sovereignty. Most people seem to believe that sovereignty is “lost” with the retirement of the local currency. On the contrary, replacing domestic currency and deposits with US currency and deposits gives everyone in the country wider access to goods and services. With domestic currency you can buy only local goods and services; with US dollars you can purchase from anywhere in the world, wherever you can get the best value for your money.

The fact of the matter is that the US dollar is sovereign in international transactions, and there is nothing than can be done about that. Even China, the world’s second largest economy, with 15 percent of global GDP to the US’s 24 percent, accepts payments in US dollars. A Jamaican travelling to Haiti, a Guyanese to Suriname, a Dominican to Guadeloupe, a Trinidadian to Barbados, all take US dollars with them. All hotel rates and oil and commodity prices are quoted in US dollars.

Ironically, having a domestic currency in today’s digital world may make a country more susceptible to US sanctions than a fully dollarised country would be. Iran and Cuba, countries which are currently subject to harsh US sanctions, both have domestic currencies. The sanctions are effective because Cubans and Iranians earn in a local currency whose value continues to fall because the country’s access to US dollars is limited.

The US reaps tremendous benefit from the fact that its currency is in universal use. Countries which have their own currencies all maintain a reserve of foreign exchange at their central banks with which to protect the value of domestic money. Those reserves are mostly held in US treasury securities, and constitute a loan to the US Government. However, a country like Panama which has no currency of its own does not have that problem. Such accounts as the Panamanian Government may hold with the US Federal Reserve are solely for the purposes of facilitating payments with foreign countries. Dispensing with an own currency means the government no longer has a reason to make a substantial contribution to the financing of the US Government’s deficit.

The bottom line is that rather than impairing national sovereignty, replacing the domestic currency empowers the country and its citizens by giving access to the world’s goods and services, to the full extent of their incomes. Moreover, the country has no need to offer credit to the world’s wealthiest nation, in order to maintain the value of domestic financial assets.

Source: http://www.DeLisleWorrell.com

116 responses to “Worrell Recommends Dollarization”

1. But seriously wunnuh tink dat if we “dollarise” it gwine be dun at a 2 to 1 exchange rate?! Dollarisation means that every single Bajan is making a demand on the foreign currency reserves (we still got reserves?) immediately. So the $BDS1000 dat I gots in the de credit union will be exchanged for $US10.

Ecuador got oil, Panama got the canal, the BVI with 31 000 people and plenty offshore businesses could dollarise. If wunnuh want to know what would happen to Buhbados look at Zimbabwe!

2. Some Caricom Prime Ministers didn’t have the resolve and commitment to regionalism yo day NO to Trump. Join the OECS IF hey will have us.

3. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A at 3 :58 PM

I would suggest that you study John Williamson’s paper as referenced by David BU. You may or may not change your position.
    “Printing” of money is a Central Bank’s policy lever. Almost all the money issued by Federal Reserve Bank Is “printed” . Do you prefer the US’ to Barbados’?
    I recuse myself from discussing this issue. I am a friend of the author (Worrel). He already knows my position.

4. @Vincent

You took note that Barbados was mentioned in the paper? There is no panacea, we have to manage our affairs better regardless to the system we implement.

5. @ Vincent.

If We had a record of being able to police ourselves I would agree with you. But our record on handling our own money supply is a dismal failure.

We are here now because one man had the power to do as he felt and we all now must pay the price.

Even if we were using the EC dollar we would of been saved from this as the ECSB would of been in control.

I just have no faith in giving any MOF this power again sadly, so yes the USD will protect us from ourselves.

6. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU @ 6 :32 PM

Thanks David for the upload. Even though I speed read it I noticed the reference to Barbados. The size and structure of our economy is the deciding factor.

@ John A

Independence means taking responsibility for our affairs. We are not running back home like spoiled children. We will get out of this. Not all 50 years were years of bad decisions. So straighten up and fly right.

7. @ Vincent.

Let me ask you 2 questions. Based on our current systems what will stop it from happening again under another MOF?

Secondly when we do finally got out of this what will the bds dollar be really worth?

8. John A . There is always food for thought in your submissions. This one you have incorrect regarding the Antillean Guilders, which is widely used in SXM. Certainly , we have to look at things in it practical sense and in perspective. I often recalled a discussion between three gentlemen two who were Barbados scholar Ronnie Hall, Camy Tudor and Mr. Harewood,whilst still a boy at The Lodge. The discussion entered around social democracy and free economy and implication on small island states. Imagine a giant of a man. Harewood told Tudor you ‘talking foolishness ” You ain’t know nothing bout poor, a black bajan is conditioned by his circumstance, you and Barrow fooled the masses, Crawford was de man. Boy come along and do not listen to them, think practical ! Think and make use of common sense , education system is geared toward plantation labour and he and Barrow have it so. That was almost four decades ago and Leroy “Grady ” Harewood had it right, if only he was alive today, we still work on the plantation and some of us still thinks like the house slave as indeed the plantation is now air conditioned office and we are slaves to the dollar. What visionary thinkers that put an Oxford Alumus and Edinburgh Alumus in their place, a man who told me that he had little schooling before going to work as bus conductor on the London transport. Oh we need some more men like you now Sir.

9. Oops! What a visionary thinker that should have read.

10. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A

I have advised myself not to comment on this issue. I will take my advice.

11. @curley16

When I speak of the circulation of guilders I was speaking mainly to its presence in business say on Front Street and as the currency of choice in commerce especially with regard to the tourist trade, which is bulk of their economy. My point was that they were freely trading in USD mainly, which they then used to buy back goods for their stores. So unlike us they didn’t have to buy dollars at a rate higher than they took them at.

I know the locals working on the Dutch side used to be paid in guilders years ago, not sure if they still are though. Also I remember the prices in Front Street and Middle Street were displayed in USD as well.

I am going back a few years though so not sure how much has changed. Even on the French side at the restaurants and stores the trade was done mainly in USD.

12. I readily admit that I would rather be a fed, watered, housed, clothed and medically cared for “colonial” than a hungry, starving, homeless, unclothed, sick, poor-as-ass independent “citizen” punching above my undernourished flyweight!

Ping Pong,

You are describing the benefits our slave ancestors derived on the socialist utopias of the plantations!!

Fed, watered, clothed, housed and medically cared for from cradle to grave.

Super centenerians were not uncommon!!

… and yes I wonder how businesses will earn the foreign exchange to pay wages to their workers.

Where does an importer get US$s from to buy goods overseas?

Guess I am just not a financial wizard!!

I suppose all BDS$s will get converted to USDs at once and all transactions thereafter are in US$s.

… and that’s how a local business could earn US$s.

Only problem is the conversion rate as you point out!!

Money launderers might love it!!

13. I got an idea. Forget de $US leh we get real fancy and move to Dagcoin. Look it up.

14. @Vincent.

No problem my friend I will let you and Mr Worrell settle that one over a fine meal when next you meet for a chat.

We can always agree to disagree on this as our opinions differ. I know you see it as a lost of sovereign control of what is ours, whereas I see it more in practical terms of moving forward without political interference.

We can leave it there as a result no problem.

15. @ John A July 13, 2019 3:27 PM
    You realise if we were dollarised neither of the 2 above scenarios would ever of happened? We can’t print USD and as a result we would not have to safe guard any ratio.
    In a country that had clearly proven it is incapable of acting correctly and is willing to ravish an economy for political gain, I say never again. Take the currency manipulation option away from them all together. I don’t care what promise any party makes going forward, if we dollarised not a man or woman can touch the currency supply ever again!”

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

It seems that you and the academic quack doctor of economics have finally come around to the reality that the Bajan dollar is nothing but a Mickey mouse currency which will soon have a value only on a monopoly board.

The quack Worrell should have taken that position since 2013 after $300 million mysteriously disappeared under his watch instead of printing monopoly money and peddling junk bonds to stupid Bajans to cover his administration monetary donkey.

Worrell’s outbursts are laced with the poison of vindictiveness and vengeance for the dismissal and disgrace he suffered at the hands of Stinkliar and the clown prince Fumbles.

Dollarization of the Bajan dollar would effectively wipe out the pseudo middleclass whose current existence is primarily a ‘dependant’ on the nanny state.

Wouldn’t they have to ‘productively’ earn foreign money in order to continueto drive around in their air-conditioned SUVs on donkey cart roads and drink Absolut while posing with an imported pep bottle of Evian water?

The days of Bajans borrowing foreign money to live big off the imported hog are over.

Dollarization would effectively reduce the standard of living of Bajans and forced them to live within their means which must now be earned and not borrowed.

It would definitely turn that old saying of having champagne taste and mauby pockets into a day-to-day truism; unless they are prepared to adhere to the Biblical injunction:
    ‘By the sweat of the Bajan brow in trying to kiss the blarney stone of tourism, thou shall eat foreign bread (imported goods and services).

So, on which side of the cul-de-sac of inevitable monetary reform would the current administration travel?

The side of further Devaluation, officially, of the Bajan Mickey mouse dollar which will soon worth less than what Paddy shot at?

Or its replacement in 2020 with the Greenback as indicated by the official declaration of allowing Bajans to keep foreign currency accounts?

16. I have already given my two bits worth on this dollarization and it was as a result of the shenanigans of the last administration including the goodly doctor.My first position was to abandon the BD dollar,close the Central Bank and join the OECS where no politician has as yet been able to influence monetary policy.If I’m not mistaken I think the IMF had warned of the pending danger of the then Minister Sinckler suceeding in influencing monetary policy thanks to a compliant GOCB.Dollarization remains a viable option,better yet if all Caricom would do the same as suggested.More commercial activity among the grouping would be an immediate attainable goal and I don’t mean in the underground economy.

17. @ Vincent Codrington,

I thought you would be willing to comment since you have expertise in banking.

wha happen ?

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron July 13, 2019 10:04 AM “We could only spend as much money on the hungry and helpless mouths of the public service as the tourism industry earns…government would have to fire a considerable proportion of the lazy masses from public service We would cut off the rotten flesh from the state organism.”

I was going to ask how would dollarisation would affect ordinary poor people. But i see that tron has the answer, throw those ordinary poor people off the 300 foot cliffs at North Point, so that the sharks can feast on them.

19. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron at 10:17 a.m. “the locals have to pay a bitter price for the mistakes of the past.”

But who was it who “made mistakes of the past?” Were the mistakes made by the poor, or by the Trons and other policy makers?

And why should the poor pay for Tron’s the “mistakes?” For the mistakes of the political, policy making, and economic classes?

20. Barbadians are being invited to nominate fellow citizens for the 2019 National Independence Honours and Decorations.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/07/13/nominations-for-the-barbados-national-honours-and-decorations-2019/

21. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

My question is why hasn’t the long time central banker [I worked with him way back in the mid to late 70’s] so he has been around a long, long, long time. Why hasn’t he suggested this before? And even more important why hasn’t he been able to implemented it?

And i don’t want to hear anything about central bank governors being the creatures of anybody.

None of us is a creature of anybody else.

If the politicians don’t take the best professional advice, why continue working for them?

What is wrong with quitting a job where you get little or no respect?

22. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

The Barbados economy was not phucked up by $300 a week clerks and gas station attendants. None of those folks make or implement policy.

So the highly politicians and their highly paid advisers have screwed up things, and the solutions offered by the BU intelligentsia is to cut off the heads of the poor?

You guys have no shame.

23. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hal Austin at 10:44 a.m.”Although Dr Worrell’s suggestion merits serious debate, in reality it has no merits.”

So why should we waste time debating a suggestion that has no merits?

Is it that we have nothing productive to do with our time except to spend it debating about how many angels can dance on the head of a pin.

How about using our spare times to work out fields or to raise our children?

Two areas which desperately need productive attention.

24. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron July 13, 2019 10:20 AM “Barbados could just as well turn to the USA and subordinate itself to the USA as a banana colony.”

have you asked the U.S. if they need or want a banana colony…which does not even grow bananas?

Lolll!!!

25. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John A July 13, 2019 3:10 PM “Yes in an ideal world that would be a excellent idea but we couldn’t even get all the islands to participate in LIAT even though it was delivering passengers to their doorstep. What chance you think we will ever have of one currency and central bank in the region?”

Have we forgotten that Barbados was until 1973? a part of the Eastern Caribbean Currency Authority (ECCA)?

And that the move to the Barbados dollar was not an economic, but a purely political move?

26. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John A July 13, 2019 3:27 PM “We can’t print USD and as a result we would not have to safe guard any ratio.”

You realise that there are some people in the world [Syria, Peru] who print such good U.S. dollars that thinking about it gives the Federal Reserve nightmares, and keeps U.S. police services busy, busy.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/post-nation/wp/2016/11/22/they-make-fake-money-worth-more-than-cocaine-the-u-s-just-recovered-30-million-of-it/?utm_term=.ebeed7a1919c

Maybe we can stop arguing about how many angels can dance on the head of a pin, and just print our very own U.S. dollars.

Problem solved.

Lolll!!!

27. William Skinner Avatar

SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife July 13, 2019 11:23 PM

“The Barbados economy was not phucked up by $300 a week clerks and gas station attendants. None of those folks make or implement policy.

So the highly politicians and their highly paid advisers have screwed up things, and the solutions offered by the BU intelligentsia is to cut off the heads of the poor?

You guys have no shame.”

Once in a while somebody cuts through the mumbo jumbo and tells it as it is.

28. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John July 13, 2019 7:43 PM “You are describing the benefits our slave ancestors derived on the socialist utopias of the plantations!!”

The plantations were not socialists utopias.

they were capitalists hells.

29. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@simplesimon. There is a saying that a country deserves the leadership it gets. It is the same poor people who continue to elect these visionless politicians time and time again and then expect different result. Are they not a bunch of suckers? Are they not equally culpable in their own miserble existence?

30. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife
    July 14, 2019 12:05 AM

@John July 13, 2019 7:43 PM “You are describing the benefits our slave ancestors derived on the socialist utopias of the plantations!!”
    The plantations were not socialists utopias.
    they were capitalists hells.

Nope,

They were socialist utopias (hells if you like) which could not survive under capitalism!!

Capitalism thrives on individual effort and individual reward which a socialist utopia (hell if you like) prevents from happening.

Karl Marx I reckon based his theories of communism on the plantation!!

I reckon he saw the power over the masses such a system could give an elite in a socialist society!!

31. William Skinner
    July 13, 2019 11:58 PM

SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife July 13, 2019 11:23 PM
    “The Barbados economy was not phucked up by $300 a week clerks and gas station attendants. None of those folks make or implement policy.
    You guys have no shame.”
    Once in a while somebody cuts through the mumbo jumbo and tells it as it is.

Socialism and the creation of elites with power over the masses …. a la Marx

32. If we look back at the “Xerox Era” led by the last MOF I think we could of done more to educate our people of the fallout that this would of causes, no doubt there. Having said that the messenger for government that kept his job to elections, wasn’t overly concerned where the money came from to pay him once come month end he was paid.

What that incident showed us is that we have no controls in place to stop a MOF from doing as he wants. So my question is going forward what will we do to stop this happening again?

Will we ring fence the central bank and make such decisions only possible at board level? If so who was it again that appoints the boards? What about the Governor who will we make him answerable to in the future to avoid manipulation by a MOF?

Finally let us all agree what happened was a disaster, so stop and ask yourself this question. What has this government done since elections to ensure no MOF can do this again? My point is all are politicians and all want to be poppet masters in the end.

To avoid it the solution is simple, go To a currency they can’t play with. Will they ever do it and give up their power over this tool, I hardly doubt it.

33. It was free Labour versus the enslaved.

34. David
    July 14, 2019 7:50 AM

It was free Labour versus the enslaved.

Nope

Each slave was purchased … nothing free.

Then each slave had to fed, watered, housed and clothed … and have health insurance.

… from cradle to grave!!

In exchange, the slave provided labour to the state (plantation)

.Socialist utopia!!

35. Nonsense.

You may have the last word.

36. @ Curley16

You are the first old Lodge boy/girl to admit that Leroy Harewood had vision. Thank you.

37. David
    July 14, 2019 8:05 AM

Nonsense.
    You may have the last word.

++++++++++++++++++

Fact!!

38. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Hal Austin at 8:16 AM

When this curley 16 is de-masked ,he will be retroactively expelled.

39. @Vincent

No we will put both you all old tail in the coffin and let it go down High School Hill.

After of course Ronnie Hall bless it in Latin prose! Lol

40. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at 9:12 PM yesterday

(1)There are some exercises that I avoid because they do not achieve the desired objectives.
    (2) In my upbringing we were advised to pursue solidarity and loyalty. These are values in our culture that we should seek to retain. It is what make us Barbadians.

41. So many of the sages who peep at BU’s pages.

42. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

I am reasonably sure that the author is a member of the BU Household.

43. @Vincent

Now now now, give the Sage his privacy.

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

David Bu
    I have not disclosed who I think he is? I recognise a lot of the produce of your Blog all over the place ,including editorials ,and public speeches.

45. @Vincent

Not bad for a buffoon heh?

46. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A at 8 :53 AM

And I thought you had my back. I am going to postpone the completion of my calypso until I find proper back up singers.

47. @Vincent.

I got you back don’t worry and I practicing for the performance. Still waiting for you to forward the lyrics though!

I know you got so much to write bout this year you don’t know where to start.

48. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at10:00 AM

Not bad at all.!!

49. @ John A July 13, 2019 10:40 AM

What happens to the excessive import duties in the event of a currency exchange or a fluctuating exchange rate? Will these trade barriers be removed to stimulate local manufacturing?

@ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife July 13, 2019 11:01 PM

Your civil servants, whom you want to protect, are not victims, but perpetrators. For more than 50 years they have abused the public service as a place to sleep and are to blame for the fact that the Sinckler administration had to print so much money. The civil servants complain that in 10 years they have only received 5 percent wage increases. If we were to pay civil servants according to productivity, their salaries would have to fall by at least 50 percent. In addition, you ignore the taxpayers who pay the many civil servants.

@ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife July 13, 2019 11:08 PM

In the past, voters chose socialism and made an idiotic mistake. Mercy is completely out of place.

We can turn it around any way we want. In Barbados, import taxes and energy prices are far too high for the manufacturing industry to recover. Nor is it foreseeable that the offshore financial industry will recover. Barbados will remain a banana republic in the long run, with only one industry functioning, namely tourism. However, because tourism only creates low-paid jobs, all investment in higher education has been in vain. Either these graduates go into the public service and become a heavy burden for the taxpayer or they emigrate.

So I sit back and relax and wait for the fifth IMF programme.

50. @ Tron.

The landed cost of items would in fact fall. The problem now is that all duties and vat are calculated on the landed cost of items after they are converted to Barbados dollars, inclusive of the buying rate for the USD and the 2 % Fx fee. So let’s say we take the USD At $1.98 bds dollars, customs would take it at the buying rate which with the fx fee is around $2.06bds. All taxes are then added to that, so the compound factor takes it from there.

The local manufactures would also benefit from the above, as their input cost on imported items would fall once bought in USD and when they export it would be in USD also,so again all input cost would be recovered in the same hard currency.