wayne-cadogan
Submitted by Wayne Cadogan, Retired Garment Manufacturer, Trainer, Consultant

It is very difficult for me and many others to grapple every day with the fact the DLP is referred to as the opposition party when nine others parties contested the elections and not one of them won a single seat with the BLP winning with a clean sweep of the thirty seats contested. 

Why is it that former members of the DLP are speaking out on issues as the opposition when there are eight other parties that are in the same boat as the DLP without a single representative in the house that can consider themselves as opposition members too? 

The  most pressing issue that is currently hurting the country severely is the spate of murders and which has become a very troublesome issue for the government, people and international reputation.

The former Attorney General Mr Adriel Brathwaithe has some nerve to tell the present Attorney General to resign over the current gun violence that is currently bringing this country to one of fear and despair when all of this started under his watch during his spineless reign as Attorney General.

It is about time that the politicians in this country get serious about what is really happening to this country before it gets to a point that it cannot be reverse. This tit for tat tactics that both parties use against each other is not politics but a bunch of immature politicians whose behaviour is similar to that of kids growing up. 

This country is facing serious problems and sailing in dangerous waters that it has never traversed and we all need to put our heads together to turn this ugly situation around before it completely destroys our fragile tourist industry we have to depend on for the only source of foreign exchange.

The politicians in this country need to act more mature and businesslike and realize that running a country is not child’s play, it is serious business to run a country and it needs competent people.  

It would be in the best interest if the members of the DLP if the party is to rise from the grave as a political party in this country again, to stop being so negative and criticizing everything that the government does, praise them occasionally for some of its efforts in trying to get the country back on track that they helped to destroy. 

162 responses to “STOP Playing Tit for Tat Politics”

1. William Skinner Avatar

I have never seen anybody plant okra and reap corn. This is the political culture that these two parties have chosen to encourage. It will not go away as long as they control the political space. Like it or not the other opposition parties combined percentage of votes did not come near the percentage the DLP got. That is a statistical fact.
    You cannot create a feeling of nationalism overnight and that is why the BLPDLP cannot now expect all of these sudden calls for nationalism and unity to magically succeed. When the gun crimes were surfacing under the last administration, the opposition called on the then Attorney General to resign. Unfortunately Ms. Depeiza is keeping that tradition alive. When the economy was sinking under Sinckler, we marched almost weekly. Now the pressure is on under Mottley it is expected that the Dems will now become the tormentors.
    By the way, don’t believe that the 30 love deserved trashing was only achieved by BLP voters; many Dems helped elect this government even in St. John. The Dems therefore cut their wayward children ass properly !

Duopoly Rules

2. The article in itself reeks of tic for tac politics when it prefers to spend time focusing on the blame game from one side but closes eyes to the political back and forth from the govt side when they were in opposition
    As for who own the rights of being called opposition it is well known that the party who got the second most votes owns that right

3. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Come on brother, you can’t be that naive. That’s the nature of the beast. The political space is adversal by default. That’s what Opposition political parties in democratic tradition the world over do.
    Panday itoned some years ago that politics comes with its own morality. And I might add it also comes with its own set of logic and rationality.

4. @fortyacresandamule

So true. What Wayne is trying to say is that with the proliferation of so-called third parties they need to be more active and strident outside of the election period. It is part of a process if the third party movement is to gain traction.

5. This writer has never had any deep reserves of respect for this staunch DLP acolyte, Wayne Cadogan.

However, he must be complimented for his courage in trying to tell the truth about the causation of the country’s current state. and so on.

Given his ilk, we would not be surprised to find him, as dyed-in-the-wool as ever, inveterate, next time around.

His analysis though is based on a misnomer.

That Barbados is a genuine multi-party state. That 8 parties participated in the last elections.

Maybe Cadogan could count to 8. We have not been able to get pass 1.

Neither has the majority of Bajans.

6. The duopoly is history. There is a state party and many small splinter parties, including one called DLP.

If Inniss is convicted in NY, the chairman of the DLP can request her release papers anyway. She has spoken out strongly in favor of rehabilitating the indictee.

As long as the DLP exists, foreigners will laugh at Barbados. As long as Barrow stands on his pedestal and grins cheekily on the banknote, Barbados will remain backward.

Our progressive Prime Minister must finally free the people from the Barrow curse and the rule of old, lazy men. So that the sun can shine again and people can laugh. In Barbados we need fewer male braggers and more capable women in leadership positions.

7. Here is a govt that when ten years in opposition told the country that past govt was useless
    Here is a govt that when in opposition for ten long years told the country they had all the plans for solving crime
    Now when crticized on the increased criminal activity a foot soldier takes pen to paper and bemoaned on who should be allowed to crticize this govt
    Give me a f.king break
    What Wayne ought to be sending his salvo is to the attorney general asking govt to produces these campagain solutions for the public to see
    The country is going to hell in a hand basket and political operatives are intent on standing vanguard and pushing the country further in to the bowels of hell

8. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

Barbados is actually a one party state. We have an opposition leader whose party won the government; a former opposition leader became a cabinet member and is now a consultant; Hamilton Lashley crossed the floor twice, I think ,and at least one current cabinet member was once a candidate for the former government. It’s one big happy family. So what the writer is actually saying is : let’s stay together, loving you forever/ whether times are good or bad…….. you should know the song.
    There were two people identified as future PMs after Thompson. They were Mia Mottley and Reginald Farley. Arthur wanted Farley. The corporate sector wanted Mottley.
    Notice that after being in the wilderness, Farley has risen from the ashes to be an ambassador.
    Please note that this pecking order was determined even before Thompson became PM.
    Once Thompson had his chance and Farley was sidelined Mottley was the next choice.
    Stuart and Sinckler were not in the equation at all. That changed with Thompson’s early departure.
    I recall that Dr. Hilary Beckles, while addressing a credit union event said that the NDP was an aberration that was attempting to dislodge the two greatest political parties in the Caribbean.And it will virtually mess up the preferred order of things.
    Serious observers know that Arthur was imposed on the BLP by Tom Adams. Henry Forde did not want to be PM. They never thought Bree would be effective and Cheltenham and David Simmons did not have what it takes or so they , the power brokers , thought.
    These are the ties that bind and my friend they are not as weak as some of us try to pretend.
    And in case ,those who lap up the cool aid forget, Mia’s daddy, while a member of the BLP , accepted an overseas posting by the DLP.
    accepted an overseas posting by Barrow.
    It’s a real love fest ,that’s why nobody ain’t get lock up yet and all the corruption talk fading.

More to come

Duopoly Rules

9. Mariposa,

You’re absolutely right that the government must do more against crime.

In the event that Donville Inniss is convicted, I suggest we first take ten former DLP ministers and their supporters in the police and administration into protective custody. In the case of DLP, the presumption of innocence no longer applies.

10. seriously what was the purpose of that piece of crap?

11. Tit for Tat – you do something to me, I do it back to you.

The former AG clearly stated that the present AG should resign because of his calling for the former AG to resign when thing were going bad during his time.

The former AG then continue to say

“I have always said that it is not an Attorney General’s problem to solve the crime in this country.
    “It is not his alone. The problem actually begins at inception… These youths who are often fleeing abuse, are condemned as criminals before an attempt is made to help them.
    “Unless we have a holistic approach to crime and criminal behaviour in this country, then pointing to criminal statistics does not help. So, we focus on the ones that commit crime, but we do not focus on the other challenges within society. We need to go back to basics”.

If the former AG believes that then his calling for the present AG to resign can been seen as TIT for TAT POLITICS

12. pointing out hypocrisy is as tit for tat as labelling anyone who disagrees with the BLP a disgruntled DEM.

The BLP campaigned up and down the breath of this country that taxes were too high under the DLP, that that caused bajans to have little spending power and that the economy was worse than the public believed.

yet when the BLP got into power with practised sincerity they declared quite startlingly that the economy was worse than what the public believed and proceeded to raise taxes higher than it was under the DLP.

should such things not be pointed out?

13. Sir William Skinner

People tend to forget that you, as political consultant, came within a whisker of defeating Cheltenham, in what would have arguably been the biggest upset in a ‘modern’ Barbados political history. This at a time when Cheltenham was a lion within the duopoly and fighting for its leadership.

More generally, separately

Duopoly is an organic term not at all limited to describing the presence of a few static political forces. For like any other organism it evolves over time. Recently, we have noticed an LGBTQ current within the duopoly, for example.

We would tend to assume that there would be more DLP elements within that flank than BLP’s, under Mugabe’s leadership. This is what duopoly means. Of course, this definition could be broadened.

That definition is much different than the apparent one-party statism, as in China, for example, in spite of the recent lopsided electoral results.

14. @Pacha

Care to comment whether there is a philosophy demarcation to be found between the two major parties?

15. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

Point taken.

While many believe that the duopoly has been weakened by the 30 love defeat, I think to a large extent, it has been strengthened.
    One notes that Atherley’s party launching was barely an issue.
    We have credible information, that the sacrificial lambs , within the current regime, have already been identified. In other words the trading in seats for the next election , is already on the way. It is not being discussed how much the Dems would win but actually how much they will be given.

Duopoly Rules

16. William Skinner Avatar

The only difference is the addresses. Note they live within comfortable walking distance of each other.

17. David

There are no fundamental differences, at the philosophical level. Remember Barrow said that is how it should be,

Only the perception of differences, in the minds of the sheeple, on both sides

We would however concede that from time to time there may emerge some personality differences, though.

Mugabe, for example, is much more courageous than her colleagues in the last duopoly regime.

18. @Greene, June 20, 2019 7:53 AM

You are absolutely right that the taxes are much too high, especially for the import of luxury cars and the property tax. I know many tourists who don’t come to Barbados anymore because of the excessively high prices. Anyone who denies that the current tax burden is acceptable is lying or is insane.

The few top performers in Barbados have to feed the masses who can’t take care of themselves. The welfare state is junk and a lie. It only costs and damages the country.

We must therefore sack civil servants, lower wages, cut pensions and increase working hours. We must also restrict workers’ rights, weaken labour protection and encourage investment through low taxes.

Our leader and her cabinet ministers have already taken a number of right measures here. We must encourage them to move forward courageously and to remain deaf to the cries of the masses.

19. Politics has always been tic for tac
    Only a Neanderthal would lose sight of that observation
    The problem of crime goes deeper than a political spin but lends itself to a people and country who has no morals or ethical footing
    One can observe a country whose only beliefs are centered on selfishness
    This govt started out by giving the best of what was left of the bony calf to the rich
    In the meanwhile the rest of society is asked to pull the overladen debt wagon
    Yes tic for tac now lends itself to those on the ground who feel marginalised and abandon and by any means necessary would resort to violent actions which revibrates and causes people to pay attention

20. How the calf get boney? When the DLP came to power it was the FATTED calf.

“Yes tic for tac now lends itself to those on the ground who feel marginalised and abandon and by any means necessary would resort to violent actions which revibrates and causes people to pay attention”.

You need to stop using that excuse for the justification of the killing that are going on!
    The killing did not start on may 24th 2018.

Go back and read what your former AG said about the causes of the spike in crime!

Are you disagree with him?

21. Also. Dont forget the blp said they had all the answers
    Now the AG cannot be found i guess he has found a hiding place from where he cant not be seen or bothered
    Hell yes this govt should at least be called upon to deliver on the promises made whether the operatives like it or not

22. @ William

Your claim of a duopoly is largely right, but it is not just political activists. Also look at the family names and connections. New people may be admitted occasionally, but five or six families rule Barbados.

23. “Yes tic for tac now lends itself to those on the ground who feel marginalised and abandon and by any means necessary would resort to violent actions which revibrates and causes people to pay attention.”

“What does this moronic semi-literacy mean? Either debate or shut up.”

I believe the above response is more appropriate in this situation……. than the usual “spot on” or “you are correct.”

24. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal

Correct. We also have a very elite Black upper class. These are class distinctions, we are uncomfortable discussing. You will notice that Errol Barrow is deemed the Father of Independence and Sir. Grantley Adams is considered a Nation Builder. They skillfully down play Sir. Frank Walcott’s role as a chief builder of the country. Reynold Weeks,Craig Neville Boxill and Hamilton Lashley , all grass root politicians were never given Knighthoods but the Cheltenhams Tulls St Johns Haynes and Mottleys were. I am not endorsing knighthoods but its a observation. But to Tom’s credit he did ensure that McDonald Blank got one.
    Note also they destroyed Samuel Jackman Prescod’s house but Grantley’s house is a national treasure.

25. “It should not be simply left to David Comissiong. If we are serious about environmental matters; if we serious about protecting our beaches; if we are serious about protecting the UNESCO World Heritage status that we currently have, important institutions in Barbados have to take an interest in these matters,” he said.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/06/20/comissiong-pleads-take-up-the-fight/

Any of you willing to take up the fight ?

26. @Pacha and William

It makes a mockery of the political frothing we have to endure.

We need to edit Chaulkdust White People Laughing at WE.

27. William Skinner Avatar

McDonald Blunt. My apologies

28. “In the event that Donville Inniss is convicted, I suggest we first take ten former DLP ministers and their supporters in the police and administration into protective custody. In the case of DLP, the presumption of innocence no longer applies.”

Am sure the minute that happens quite sure we will see agencies enuff swarming to corral BLP gang as well…in tit for tat…especially when the ELECTORATE…TAKES BACK EVERY ONE OF THOSE DIPLOMATIC PASSPORTS IN 2023…

…now that would be A THING.

29. I do not know about the other parties, but with the exception of social media, there is little opportunity to engage the general public. It seems that the established media only allow persons, whom their political party approves, to have a platform to engage the public.

We have only been of Brasstacks once since the general election in 2018, rarely in the print media and never on CBC. This is despite publishing 52 articles each year, generally on national topics (one each week – which we are grateful for David for allowing here) and being in our constituencies weekly.

30. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

Wayne Cadogan is known and has the right to his opinion like the rest of us.

The flak the former AG is getting is illogical, crime and violence albeit best not politicized the reality is murders and shootings under the former government was low given what obtained since May 2018.

The opposition prior to mid last year criticized the Dems for what on hindsight was a low murder rate.

During the past government’s stewardship gun violence was rising the alarming level which it has reached in 2019 was completely unexpected and has caused the nation unheard of distress.

Barbados has become a front runner in murders per capita in the region this was never the case we always ranked lowest known for safety and security.

With roles changed and the murder rate nearly three times what obtained it is our duty to take government to task whatever the source of the call. If we didn’t then we do a disservice to our country.

There is a clear and present threat to the well being of the society. Elected politicians are representatives of the people and accountable.

Government’s main task is to protect lives you cant shift guilt onto the previous government for daily murders and shootings and your are the office holders you have to confront and deal with the dire situation.

It is noticed the PM has gone silent on the out of control gun violence this doesn’t augur well because the AG has been found wanting.

Barbados needs strong decisive leadership and not from the foreign capitals frequently visited by the PM. Time to stay at home and get down to brass tacks on solutions to the carnage.

Too many lives are being lost too many young men have too many illegal firearms and prone to use them whenever they are in the mood. The country is at tipping point.

31. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Kind of like this article. Especially the part that refers to Adriel Brathwaithe as having no spine because he was searching for his lost balls. However, what separates Adriel Brathwaithe from Dale Marshall that would lead us to believe that under Marshall’s watch you can expect a drastic improvement in the crime situation? I see similiarities between the two/do in terms of keeping up appearances because while you can hide behind a lot of long talk, body language and facial expressions suggests a complete different thing. So lemma ask this: Is there a success story behind Marshall that we can shout and holla hard about? Adriel Brathwaithe showed clearly that he was over his head as attorney general hence the balls problem. Dale Marshall showed us that all he was good for was showing teeth under a fake ass smile as he posed for the cameras and enjoyed his status. You think that posing and talking does get anything done? That is the modus of Brathwaithe and Marshall so Adriel has a right to criticise Dale because the two are not worth what Patty shot at.

32. Donks Gripe and Josh Avatar
    Donks Gripe and Josh

Wayne Cadogan is known and has the right to his opinion like the rest of us.

The flak the former AG is receiving is illogical, crime and violence albeit best not politicized the reality is murders and shootings under the former government was low given what obtained since May 2018.

The then opposition criticized the Dems for what on hindsight was a low murder rate.

During the past government’s stewardship gun violence rose but the alarming level which it has reached in 2019 was completely unexpected and has caused the nation unheard of distress

With roles switched and the murder toll nearly three times what obtained it is our duty to take government to task whatever the source of the call. If we don’t we do a disservice to our country.

Elected politicians are representatives of the people and accountable.

Government’s main task is to protect lives you cant shift guilt onto past rulers for daily murders and shootings. You are the office holders obliged to confront and deal with the dire situation.

Barbados today ranks among highest in murders per capita in region this was never the case this island always ranked lowest renowned for its safety and security.

It is noticed the PM has gone silent on the out of control gun violence and murders this doesn’t augur well because the AG has been found wanting.

Barbados needs strong decisive leadership and not from the foreign capitals frequently visited by the PM. Time to stay at home and get down to brass tacks on the carnage. Society faces a clear and present danger of implosion.

Too many lives are being lost too many young men have too many illegal firearms ready to use them whenever in the mood. The country is at tipping point.

33. @ William Skinner June 20, 2019 7:30 AM

Well reasoned comments.

34. @ William Skinner June 20, 2019 9:18 AM

Why have you not included Wynter Crawford?

35. The last time i heard the PM spoke on the gun violence
    Here words were to this effect
    “Not up in here

36. William Skinner Avatar

@ Robert Lucas

An oversight. My apologies

37. William Skinner Avatar

@ nextparty246
    Do you have a microphone; a speaker box; a truck ?
    Do you know how to get police permission to keep meetings?
    Do you have a twenty dollar bill to pay some household for electricity?

Well if the answer to the above is in the affirmative. Get out there and “engage” the public.
    Stop behaving as if you can pull down a car engine without getting yuh hands dirty .
    Grow Up !!!!!

It is said that Tom Adams used to canvass past midnight to win votes. Who do you think you are?

38. @@William

There is no time like the present for a credible third party to gain momentum. The DLP is still not well received one year later. The leadership lacks the charisma and intellectual quality. This comment can be extended to all of the third parties.

39. William:

All political parties did those things during the election period – including us. Are you claiming that Tom normally canvassed past midnight outside of the General Election period?

Was Tom’s message carried in the newspapers and on radio?

Also, what part of “we are in our constituencies every week” did you not understand?

40. @ William Skinner June 20, 2019 5:36 PM
    “Stop behaving as if you can pull down a car engine without getting yuh hands dirty .
    Grow Up !!!!!”

Poor Granville, he is just an armchair politician, isn’t he?

He means well and his ISO 9001 recommendations for improving the performance the delivery of public services are highly commendable and definitely required.

Of course, Barbados at this stage of its political existence needs to have doers and not bullshitters in government and on the consultancy payroll to pull it away from the cliff of socio-economic meltdown.

But he first has to be elected by the people to fulfill his dreams and the people’s mandate.
    And he cannot be elected based on his current armchair highfalutin trajectory of upper-middle class insularity.

He needs to get out there in the trenches and roll up his sleeves and get rid of his stupid pride and arrogance while interacting with the ordinary people working at the coalface of economic survival.

41. William Skinner Avatar

@ Grenville
    I only meant Tom got his butt out there overtime even with his natural skills.
    I have not seen one report anywhere about you guys in any constituency.
    And you certainly don’t have the luxury of hanging out until 2023.
    I can tell you right now a similar mistake was made by the NDP and we had a profile atleast a million times higher than yours.
    The DLP was not in the doldrums like now. We had a very vibrant youth arm- you don’t.
    I can’t say anymore to you. Your arrogance and failure to receive basic political instruction confounds me.
    Good luck.

42. William:

Clearly you have not been following us. When we had 10 candidates, the media said that it was not newsworthy and did not carry it. They said the same thing when we had 18, and then 28 candidates. A media house actually came to our press conference, asked several questions, and we got nothing but a hostile editorial (but no mention of the press conference or number of candidates).

You may have noticed that the new BLP, DLP, UPP, BIM, CUP, CAP, PDP, PEP, etc and independent candidates got profiled in the media before elections were called. Ours were ignored. Actually, I think that I am the only political leader never to have been profiled in the media.

I have been interviewed multiple times on our perspectives on many national concerns, but the interviews do not make it past the editors. In the rare occurrence that it does, it is classic media malpractice – which I wrote an article about.

Have you seen the media report on our Annual General Meeting? They reported on the DLP’s, BLP’s and UPP’s. But our events simply do not get covered – so you will never read about them. That is not arrogance, it is successful media blackout strategy.

We have had several public workshops, including training people how to start and grow successful small businesses for the past 4 years (including 2019). The media simply have not covered any of them.

The NDP were never banned by the media, so they never had to develop a strategy to address that challenge. I was actually told that we would never be allowed in the media, and so said so done. What part of that is arrogance William? Those are our challenges, and we have plans, well-advanced, to overcome them.

Are you not the least bit curious as to why there is a media blackout on Solutions Barbados, or are you content to make baseless accusations?

43. William Skinner Avatar

Grenville
    Let’s agree there is a media blackout . You said you have strategies to overcome it. Well, implement them!
    Here is an example of what I am saying:
    The NDP embarked on several meetings every Sunday in school halls.We discovered after a while , the same faces were showing up.
    The NDP used to have meetings every Wednesday night at our head quarters . Soon the faces became predictable. They ended up as socials.
    Time and time again, the young nationals told the party, that we needed public meetings. The party did not listen. The Young Nationals, then began to hold public meetings all over the place. New and dynamic speakers emerged. The party’s message was being heard etc.
    Now, let me give you an example:
    You are here on BU making plenty contributions about mains , water shortages etc. Who is really suffering? The people in St Joseph. Keep a political meeting in St Joseph. Tell them your solutions. Next day on Brasstacks people from St Joseph calling in saying : Phillips and Solutions were up here and they quoting you. It’s perceived you are not looking only for votes because there is no election in site. That’s when the media can’t ignore you. Media houses survive on news. My brother if the mountain don’t come to you go to the mountain.
    The perception right now is that you are aloft etc. I saw that perception of a party leader impede an entire party.
    As David implies , this is a good time to go to the people. Hope this long submission is clearer.

44. Good suggestion William. Get affected residents share experiences. Look for old water works employees who are familiar with the problem areas. Use the people to give an edge to the message. It is what the main political parties do, call it rubbing shoulders etc.

Get other SB people involved. Show the party has strength!

45. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mariposa aka ManyPussy

Before you and WAyne Cadogan forget WHY DE CUNTRY IS WHERE IT IS look at this Biopic my grandson sent you

http://imgur.com/y1Ke9ds

In ten days time the o e of you that we arrested, will be in court SEEKING AN ADJOURNMENT

You of all bloggers here SHOULD NEVER SPEAK ON ANY ISSUE PERTAINING TO BARBADOS ‘ Proper Management okay?

46. Piece the Legend Avatar

De ole man had actually started to write a variant of that community involvement on the blog about water.

The Third Party Movement needs to involve itself into Mobile Apps for Community Involvement..

When de ole MSN presented this thought months ago

http://imgur.com/EFdo48i

De ole man feels that the resl power of any Third Party Movement lies in them involving civil society in it’s own solutions.

Needless to say Mugabe Mottley going capitalize pun dis idea CAUSE SOLUTIONS BARBADOS NOR THE DAFFYDUCK PARTY going do one shy$e bout um.

Steupse

47. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

This makes perfect sense to me, one must start somewhere in acknowledging the BLACK COLLECTIVE.

“To the contrary however, Delcia Burke recalled Government specifically indicating it had no intention of placing nurses, police officers or teachers on the breadline.

“Government had always said that it will not be touching nurses, policemen or teachers in the BERT programme and they always acknowledged that they needed more nurses. They said they were trying to recruit more police and nurses,” said Burke.

In addition, the BNA president declared that with a deficit of over 500 nurses, the announcement had been well received.

“…The association relishes recruitment of nurses from overseas and especially from Africa and personally I commend the Government for the collaboration with Africa, because as a citizen, I really feel strongly that as persons in the black diaspora, the only way we are going to strengthen ourselves is to unite with Africa,” said Waterman.”

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

These are the actions of a very nasty and wicked government, but what else would one expect when scum like Haynes sits on the NIS Pension board, only suffering for the MAJORITY POPULATION…can be expected.

Yep…30-0 next election sounds just about RIGHT.

This female is suffering because of a rumor started by the same evil rats in NIS.

All human suffering caused by this vile, ignorant government and their DLP PARTNERS IN CRIME…must be EXPOSED.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/06/21/widows-right/

“Metrice Hinds, a 61-year-old fish vendor at the Bridgetown Fisheries Complex has been collecting monthly survivors’ benefits of $647 ever since June 2014, when Andrew Walcott, her husband of 31 years, passed away.

Sixty-one-year-old Metrice Hinds has been forced to sell cigarettes and homemade seasoning since her survivor’s benefits were cut six months ago.
    To her amazement, she received no money at the end of January or February this year and when she contacted the NIS to inquire about the issue, Hinds was told: “somebody called in and told us that you’ve been remarried”.

The St Vincent-born said she felt confused, hurt and disrespected, demanding to know why NIS officials never formally contacted her before cutting her benefits.”

49. The government or the NIS Board do not make decisions on whom to pay or not pay.

That decision is made by NIS personnel.

Anytime a person receiving a survivor’s benefit remarried, the benefit is discontinued.

Why on earth would a so called sensible person believe people in the NIS would start a rumour just to prevent someone from receiving a benefit?

This is grabbing at straws looking for something to post.

50. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Mr William Skinner

I see that we both take this joker Grenville Phillips to task for the same “one man” pressure group strategies that he is implementing AND THEN COMPLAINING ABOUT.

For example he says and I quote

“…nextparty246 June 20, 2019 1:19 PM

I do not know about the other parties, but with the exception of social media, there is little opportunity to engage the general public…”

Do you hear that jackassery???

What he has done in that one statement is to prove to EVERYONE HERE THAT HE IS A ONE MAN PARTY!

He wants everyone to believe that all the rum shops in Barbados and all the Corner blocks closed down in Barbados

And “he dont get no opportunity to speak…”

I like you bad Mr. William Skinner

You ent going call he out as a joker man, incapable of doing diddley squat, and without a clue about advancing a political party outside of social media and Barbados Underground with 127 view for articles that are supported by John, John A and Mr Vincent Codrington.

But as soon as you talk to him and point out these things he going jump pun you and tell yo all sorts of poop