Dr. De Lisle Worrell continues to be a controversial figure in Barbados. He suffered the embarrassment of being sacked by former Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler. The blogmaster will remember him for the fact he presided as Governor of the Central Bank during a period popularly labelled the Lost Decade. He continues to be controversial in his current role sitting on the other side of the negotiating table by epresenting some of the external creditors.

The following text is posted to caribbeansignal.com  and makes for interesting reading given his  (Worrell) role as lead negotiator for external creditors and the current state of the Barbados economy.

Discuss for 10 marks.

-David, Blogmaster

Reproduced with permission, the full text of Dr. Delisle Worrell – former Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados – June 2019 newsletter:

The Time Has Come to Permanently Retire All Our Caribbean Currencies Caribbean currencies served a crucial purpose when they were first introduced, but they have now become a nuisance in today’s digitised world.

The world of commerce and finance today bears no resemblance to the world for which Caribbean currencies were devised. Up until the 1960s in most Caribbean countries, all retail transactions and many wholesale transactions were settled with notes and coins. The means of payment were always scarce in those days, because our countries are so distant from the European capitals that issued the world’s major currencies.

In the first half of the 20th century it became commonplace in countries of the British Empire to issue local currency notes and coins, with values fixed to Sterling (for the most part; the Bahamas and Bermuda were exceptions). These currencies were issued by special Government departments, termed Currency Boards. The Currency Board held an amount of Sterling with the Bank of England or with the British Crown Agents, and issued an equivalent amount of local currency. In this way the amount of the local currency issue could be more easily tailored to local needs.

This system worked well, so long as currencies were anchored on a single universally used reference, the US dollar price of an ounce of gold. However, the whole system of currency values fell apart when the US effectively moved off the Gold Standard at the time of the Smithsonian Agreement in December 1971.

Nowadays, currency notes and coin, mostly of uncertain value in terms of purchasing power of the everyday goods and services we need to source abroad, are little used domestically. Mostly we use electronic transfers, cheques and credit cards. Since these are all computer records, it is immaterial how they are denominated, so long as both ends of every transaction match. There is no reason to link the denomination of the electronic transactions to the value of notes and coins.

Replacing the Barbados dollar with the US dollar for all transactions, domestic and foreign, enhances the range of choice open to the country and its residents, in all international commerce. International transactions are conducted in US dollars or in currencies that are convertible to US dollars. In contrast, with Barbados dollars you cannot buy or sell anything outside of Barbados, not even in nearby St Lucia, much less in the rest of the world. The GDP of Barbados in 2018 was about US$5 billion, but the country had access to less than US$3 billion of international goods and services, because that was the total availability of US dollars and other foreign exchange from exports, tourism and other services, and foreign financial inflows. Once the economy is fully converted to US dollars and the local currency fully retired, the entire US$5 billion may be used to obtain the best value for money, in transactions anywhere in the world.

This is an executive summary of my Working Paper of the same title, issued at DeLisleWorrell.com.

271 responses to “Dr. DeLisle Worrell Says Time to Jettison Caribbean Currencies”

1. I didn’t know they were capable of telling even half of the truth. I think more of Hillary than I did before.

2. @Sunshine Sunny June 7, 2019 9:59 AM

As William Wordsworth said, ” the boy is father of the man” …. the residue all of that Sunday school stuff even a skeptic like me finds it difficult to totally eradicate. You can also put it down to live and let live : life is too short for one to wish bad for others.

3. @Donna
    The thing is that the Anglo-American oligarchs, their politicians and their media get their money’s worth out of the so-called ‘Islamic terrorists’. Externally, they use them as cannon fodder for their regime change wars in the Middle East, while their special troops and spies maintian command and control.

Domestically they are just as useful. Drawing on centuries long traditions of western racism, the ‘Islamist terrorist’ is presented to the population as the savage ‘other’ who presents a constant threat to their very physical safety. This presentation is reinforced by well timed ‘terrorist outrages’ which take the lives of many people. In this climate of fear, its organisers call on the people to give up their rights so that the government ‘can keep them safe’. Today people accept the overbearing spying on their private lives, humiliating searches each time they board a plane and so on. And as their icing on the cake, the propaganda about the ‘fanatical Islamist terrorist’ serves to direct people’s anger away from the government and ruling elites who are actually messing up their lives and instead place it on the ‘evil Muslim’ outsiders. We’ve been here before in history. Hitler and his followers used this technique very effectively.

4. Tee White,

True. The people are so stupid they don’t even know who the real enemy is.

5. @ Tee White:
    The New AUMF (Authorization for the Use of Military Force) Will Allow The President To Wage War Anywhere In The World Using ISIS As The Excuse

6. Freedom Crier Avatar

BARBADOS, WOULD YOU WANT TO BE RESCUED FROM TYRANNY @ THE HANDS OF A MILITANT INSURRECTION LIKE ISIS? WHO WOULD COME TO OUR RESCUE BARBADOS? DO YOU REMEMBER WHAT HAPPENED IN GRENADA ON THE 25 OCTOBER 1983? WHO CAME TO THEIR RESCUE?

TRINIDAD HAS MORE ISIS FIGHTERS PROPORTIONATE TO THEIR POPULATION THAN ANY COUNTRY IN THE WORLD.

READ MORE @ http://www.middleeasteye.net/essays/caribbean-caliphate-trail-trinidadians-fighting-808370626

https://www.middleeasteye.net/sites/default/files/styles/article_page/public/essay-image/trinidad.fighters.jpg?itok=J6nh_E2-

A chilling confession from a captured ISIS fighter from Trinidad has shed light on how the terrorist group intended to exploit the vulnerabilities of the U.S. border with Mexico, using English speakers and westerners to take advantage of smuggling routes and target financial institutions.

Seized ISIS fighter Abu Henricki, a Canadian citizen with dual citizenship with Trinidad, last month said that he was sought out by the violent insurgency’s leadership to attack the U.S. from a route starting in Central America, according to a study by the International Center for the Study of Violent Extremism (ICSVE) and published in Homeland Security Today.

“ISIS has organized plots in Europe with returnees so it seems entirely plausible that they wanted to send guys out to attack. The issue that makes a North American attack harder is the travel is more difficult from Syria,” Anne Speckhard, who co-conducted the study as the director of ICSVE and Adjunct Associate Professor of Psychiatry at Georgetown University, said “So the idea that they would instead use people who were not known to their own governments as having joined ISIS might make it possible for them to board airplanes.”

Henricki allegedly traveled to Syria with the intention of serving as an ISIS fighter, but was later told he could not take on soldier duties due to a chronic illness. At the end of 2016, he claimed to have been “invited” by the ISIS intelligence wing – known as the emni – to join other Trinidadians and launch financial attacks on the U.S.

The attacks were described to Henricki as designed to “cripple the U.S. economy,” and he was said to have been informed that he would be issued false identification and passports and would be maneuvered from Puerto Rico to Mexico and then to the United States.

“The plan came from someone from the New Jersey state of America. I was going to take the boat from Puerto Rico into Mexico. He was going to smuggle me in,” the ISIS cadre continued.

He further elaborated that he believed the scheme was aimed at New York financial targets.

“They wanted to use these people (to attack inside the U.S.) because they were from these areas,” Henricki told the scholars, indicating that they were either from North America or were English speakers.

He underscored that other Trinidadians, many of whom have been killed in the protracted mayhem over the past several years, were also approached to “do the same thing.”

THERE WERE CREDIBLE REPORTS THAT VENEZUELA MAINTAINED A PERMISSIVE ENVIRONMENT THAT ALLOWED FOR SUPPORT OF ACTIVITIES THAT BENEFITED KNOWN TERRORIST GROUPS…

WHAT SAY YOU BARBADOS?

https://media.breitbart.com/media/2015/12/Hezbollah-Getty-640×480.jpg

7. Gazzerts the resident BU pimp and lightweight bandwagon hopper my last comment seemed to have mashed your toes getting you very angry.I wonder why?Are you Dr Worrell or a relative?Let me restate my position just for you and the other Worrell apologist Mr Skinner.Dr Worrell was a key person in the last government economic policy which resulted in 24 downgrades and helping destroy the country causing bsjans now to have to go through painful measures today.As stated by simple simon Dr Worrell had the option to resign but even after being fired went to court to save his job.Then to add insult to injury takes on and advisory role with the creditors against Barbados with his inside knowledge of the situation,is in MY VIEW UNETHICAL.These are facts which you two cannot dispute.Therefore Gazzerts i know comprehension is not your strong point but deal with those facts.You know nothing about me ,you are not the blogmaster , and cannot stop me from posting here.Therefore the same way,you and the tag team can disrespect the PM daily which is your right,you all will be under attack as well.Put that in your pipe and smoke it j/a
    .I done with you.

8. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Unlike the current Mia government who thinks corruption is fun and games, only good for playing at pretend.

“TRINIDAD GUARDIAN) — The T&T Po­lice Ser­vice (TTPS) will im­port spe­cial­ist pros­e­cu­tors from the Unit­ed King­dom and form an elite unit trained to tack­le mon­ey laun­der­ing, cor­rup­tion and fraud.

The an­nounce­ment was made yes­ter­day by At­tor­ney Gen­er­al Faris Al-Rawi in the Sen­ate, as he re­spond­ed to sub­mis­sions made by Op­po­si­tion Sen­a­tors on the Ad­min­is­tra­tion of Jus­tice (In­dictable Pro­ceed­ings) Bill.”

9. Here is the last paragraph of Dr. Worrell’s paper. The blogmaster is 100% sure most who have posted nonsense to this blog did not read it.

Are the currencies of all small economies doomed to extinction?

The currencies which will have the longest life are those whose governments have consistently observed the Golden Rule: the government’s expenditure on current operations and debt service should at all times be less than the revenues from taxation. In this way there is always a small surplus available to contribute to the replacement and modernization of equipment, property and infrastructure, and the entire amount of government borrowing is devoted to investment projects.

Governments whichobserve the Golden Rule borrow from their central banks only to even out
    their cash flow, and amounts borrowed in advance of periodic tax returns are fully paid off with the receipt of the anticipated taxes. Central bank credit to government does not increase over time, and there is no pressure on foreign reserves, which can be maintained at a level sufficient to protect the exchange rate against a loss of value over the long term. For such governments the fact that their currency retains its value against
    the US dollar and other international trading currencies, and the adequacy of their foreign reserves, are easily identifiable markers of good financial management by government. A country with this reputation earns a high credit rating in international financial markets. The only remaining value of having your own currency,
    10 therefore,is as a signal that government is committed to sound financial management.
    When that is no longer the case, the currency will depreciate, and the process of replacing it with US dollars
    will accelerate, beginning with the wealthiest in society. It then makes sense to retire the
    domestic currency in a quick and orderly process, rather than engage in a long and fruitless
    struggle to maintain its value.

10. Note that Worrell makes the same point about printing of money pressuring the foreign reserves.

11. I know this Saturday morning but could we have Bugs Bunny instead?

Looney Tunes the point Green Monkey and Tee White have been making is that the nefarious actions of the US of A are the root cause of much of the terrorism.

We who are not looney knew that for quite a while.

i am afraid of you. It is possible that you are so devoid of reason that you could easily be persuaded to do the very same acts you condemn others for doing. Such blind, zealous adherence to ideology is what makes us susceptible to manipulation.

12. William Skinner Avatar

Do you honestly think any Governor of a Central Bank would tell any Finance Minister that printing money and trying to consistently pay wages out of NIS is good economic policy?
    When the economy really started to statter, Dr. Worrell publicly stated that it needed and I quote “ a swift “ and radical adjustment. That was never done because it would have entailed the almost immediate task of sending home 5000 civil servants.
    Previous to that Owen Arthur was once advised by Dr Courtney Blackman(honestly I don’t think that Blackman was Central bank Governor then but he did tell Arthur to do so) to send home 10 000 public servants over a period of time. Arthur never did it !
    Blackman constantly warned that the public service needed to be restructured.
    You can then see that Ministers of Finance are not obligated to follow or accept the advice of Governors of Central Banks.
    The failure to restructure the economy is the direct fault of the collective duopoly.
    Erskine Sandiford tries to fool people that he had in someway corrected the problems. He has to be kidding. When he asks how did we get back here I ask: Did we ever leave?
    If every time a Governor of the Central Bank resigns when his or her advice is not followed; not one would last three weeks !
    While I will wish Mottley and company good luck I still believe that operations performed by the IMF are declared successful although the patient dies. They are claiming success in Jamaica. Just take a look at where the Jamaica currency is right now. Go and check wages in Jamaica.
    It was Courtney Blackman who declared that Central bank governors are creatures of the minister of finance.
    Serious debate/ discussion about the economy should exclude the drinkers of cool aid from the decadent duopoly. They need to keep their collective garbage in Roebuck and George Streets.

Duopoly Rules

13. @William

We need to move to a place where a Governor or anyone holding a high office must stay true to principle. Worrell was Chairman of the Economic Council. He was at the wheel of policy direction. If he tried and was unsuccessful he needed to step aside.

14. William Skinner Avatar

Contrary to the opinion on BU I am no defender of Dr. Worrell . I would have never defended sending home 5000 civil servants ! The same way I cannot and would not defend the recent retrenchments.

15. @ David

You know what is unfortunate is that out of the 114 comments i doubt 25 focused on the comments made by Worrell with regard to the acceptance of the USD as a working option.

The rest focused on the messenger, DLP vs BLP and the fact Worrell is a traitor, which was by far one of the more assanine comments made. Why we even managed to deviate as far as ISIS and of course the USA haters got a chance to have their say too.

So much for focusing and discussing the message the ex governor put forward. No wonder politicians can deflect issues we question like leading sheep to green grass.

16. @John A

Your observation is symptomatic of a societal problem. As a people we are unable to prioritize. More importantly we lack intelligence about governance and financial matters. We are ignorant about civics.

17. @ David you are so right and that’s why the politicians say we are a 7 day wonder, hence they can do us as they like and in 7 days we will be distracted by some other issue and they will get yet another free pass.

Truth is I don’t blame them either I blame us for lacking focus and being easily distracted by any and everything. The fact that they use this to their advantage is therefore our problem and not theirs.

18. William Skinner Avatar

I would make a bet that should Haynes, the current Governor, ever “fly in Mottley’s face , he would find himself out the door as well. He may or may not try to get back his job via the courts but the result would be the same.
    Have you ever heard a Central Bank Governor start a press conference with: “ last week or earlier today I advise the Minister of finance to do so and so but he did not take my advice.”
    All of these licks in Worrell and yet not one of us on this blog ain’t really know what advice Hayes giving Mottley!
    Do you or anyone else think Haynes could ask Mottley why she is going to pay consultants thirty million dollars or ask why she paying White Oaks fifty four million and $170 000 per month as a retainer.
    Being the director of policy and the director of advice are two different things. Central Banks main purpose is regulation of the system.
    Dr Worrell communicated and continues to communicate more with the public than any previous Governor. However the inferior journalists began to put a political slant on his presentations. Almost every week the Nation had to retract and apologise. He got fed up and say he dun wid inviting them to The conferences.
    Hal Austin has made the point time and time again that we need proper financial experts in the media. No wonder then that Worrell could no longer put up with the nonsense and told them to carry their foolishness elsewhere.
    And by the way the same public servants that we cuss every day produced at least one career public servant who became Governor of the Central Bank.
    Do any of you know why Dr. Worrell was overlooked when it was highly expected that he would have been Governor long before he eventually was given the job? Did any of you follow his career regionally and internationally? Do you honestly believe he became an advisor to international outfits because he was or is incompetent?
    Why don’t you ask yourselves why Dr. Persaud who failed on everything he ever promised to do and was paid out of the taxpayers money , still get a pick as a chief consultant to the current regime?
    More to come .
    Duopoly Rules.

19. Sir William

There is no need to play hopscotch with the matter of whether you like and have always supported Worrell.

We too, led by your every statements, especially when he was under pressure, are persuaded that you do and did.

To be honest wid yuh, we too have been a long time admirer of Worrell. But if a man do some shiiiite, continue to do more shiiite, we have to be man enough to say so, and to his face too! And that shouldn’t mean we now hate he or will never be supportive again!

We all have at some time supported people, even family, who did shiiiite too.

Nobody expects you to be perfect and make the right judgement all the time. Not accept any shiiiite doers at all.

20. William Skinner Avatar

@ those who do not drink the BLPDLP cool aid

Imagine we have people taking about Worrell’s integrity when we have a leader of the Opposition, who went the length and breath of this country preaching on platforms and promoting a party to win the government. The party wins and just so do the man left the party and became the Opposition leader.
    Imagine another wun carried a party into a general election and cuss the other party’s economic policy for twenty years. Stood on the floor of parliament and say that the then prime minister and minister of finance was the worst in the country’s history and then end up in the same prime minister/ minister of finance cabinet.
    And these cool aid drinkers of the duopoly come here on BU talking about integrity?

More to come.

Duopoly Rules

21. William that may be true but unless our system is changed to where the central bank becomes a truly independent entity and by extension the governor is no longer an ” animal of the MOF” ,nothing will change.

That is why in an earlier comment I supported Worrells move to adopt the USD. If that was done no MOF could ever dictate the printing of money be done ever again. Money supply would be a case of supply and demand of USD and the destruction sinkler did could never be repeated in our lifetime.

We would then have no choice to spend only what we have, the IMF would not be at our door now, nor would we be facing hardship to 2025. All this has occurred because one man could dictate to the central bank to ” print till I tell wunna stop.”

22. Quite frankly I am not interested in participating in any discussion re tinkering with the engine. You guys can talk about the temporary fixes. I am interested in building a new engine from scratch. Those are the ideas I am interested in discussing.

There is something fundamentally wrong with our thinking and that of the world. Somehow I think the world is ready for radical changes. Everybody knows that what the world is doing now is not sustainable.

23. Seize the moment!

24. @William

Suggestions have come from many that we need to enact legislation to ring-fence how the NIS and Central Bank operate.

25. You also have to be fair and understand this PM had no choice but to do the local debt restructuring along with other measures, to try and rebalance the issue of too many bajan dollars chasing too few USD.

If this was not done by cutting interest rates to Bajans and in so doing cutting their supply of local dollars, even with the IMF help the imbalance of over supply of bajan $$ would of put us back here in 18 months.

Not only did this printing of money cripple the NIS fund in terms of it now holding worthless paper, but it will take years for the balance between local currency to USD is restored.

That is why Worrell suggestion was a worthwhile one as it would fix this problem while ensuring it wouldn’t happen again .

Of course instead of discussing his point it deteriorated into stoning the messenger, DLP vs BLP and a host of other irrelevant crap.

26. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

My main point is that we seem to forget that Worrell was never finance minister. I maintain that wherever we are today is the direct result of Sinckler and all the ministers of finance who went before him.
    My main point is that I can’t find one budget statement ever made by Worrell.
    Blaming Worrell is a dangerous red herring.
    I will bet if the economy collapses tomorrow they will blame Haynes.
    You or nobody on this blog has ever heard me say that the central bank should print money or pay the civil servants out of NIS funds.
    Bring the proof that Worrell or any Governor can make such policy decisions on their own accord.
    Worrell was fired by Sinckler. Worrell believed his firing was unfair and he went to the law courts.
    Why was Worrell fired? And why did he seek to legally protest his dismissal?
    Don’t you know that Sandiford fired a Central Bank Governor and Richie Haynes then Minister of Finance was not told by Sandiford what he intended to do?
    That resulted in Richie Haynes leaving the party.

27. William they are only 2 ways to ensure this never happens again.

Adopt the USD thereby ensuring the currency is untouchable going forward by any local government.
    As David said passing laws to ring fence the NIS and central bank.

I have no faith in option 2 as the same way the laws can be implemented they can be revisited and changed.

28. William Skinner Avatar

@ John A

I go with Pacha that the current world wide monetary system collapse is imminent.
    Your points are well taken.
    I really think that that as our discussions get more serious that the DLPBLP cool aid drinkers would retreat.

29. Remember we had laws in the last government regarding the overdraft government could run and they sailed through it.

They were laws governing how much paper commercial banks had to hold and when Sinkler printed paper was un saleable, he changed those laws too to make them hold more.

Forget that let’s go green and be done with all the fidelling and red tape from a dam central bank that in today’s world is no more than another nuisance to business.

30. I am a believer in using what we have today. If or when the financial system collapses is a matter of speculation. I don’t see that as any threat in the medium term, as we still have several strong currencies out there. Yes the pound and euro will move around but that’s volatility not collapse.

You notice how the euro for a while now has been hovering around a value of 1 to 1 on the USD? Do you think that’s coincidence or do you think it has found a currency it can unofficially peg to, or stay with close proximity to for purpose of value and trade?

William as for keeping the party faithfuls from bringing that approach to any serious discussion, good luck with that sadly!

I usually just remove myself from the blog and come back when the clouds have passed .

31. @William

Some who walked the hallowed halls of power may tell you that Justin Robinson and DeLisle Worrell use to run things.

32. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    I should have said that Sandiford appointed a governor of the Central Bank and Riche Haynes then Minister of Finance was not consulted. I think at the time somebody was acting. However Sandi went ahead and appointed , I think Winston Cox as Governor.

33. Sir William Skinner

Under this system of government and its institutional frameworks, if the MoF asks the GoCB (Worrell) to print money and the best judgement of the governor, and the bank itself, is that such an action is deleterious to the economy, resignation is the appropriate action by the governor.

Certainly, that Worrell continued in his post long after it was a good idea to have resigned is at least supportive of the MoF and government’s misguided policies more generally. And if Sinclair and Stuart are to be blamed primarily, Worrell must come a close second, at least!

34. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Robert Lucas,

I have never head of Wynter Crawford. Thanks for the lead.

@ Hal Austin,

Could you please explain to the BU family the death of political and social intellectuals within the Caribbean region.

Dr Worrell is a fraud and should refrain from offering any advice to Mia or Barbadians. The dog would not bark under the DLP reign and now he is no longer in a position of influence he decides to play the guard dog!

The video below explains why the region did not kick on after independence and backs up your constant lament that Barbados and her neighbours will become a dead zone for those who resemble you and I.

35. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ David,
    You have blocked my latest comment.

36. Precisely. He should have resigned. That would have indicated to the public that all was not well and put pressure on the government to change course.

37. There were a number of times when I had a different opinion from the team. When put to a vote and a final decision was made I supported the decision.

Resigning in a B and D framework would have been seen as a political move. It is quite possible we would be worse off if he had resigned ,,,

38. @ Talking Loud,
    The daily assassination of political radicals in the English-speaking Caribbean does not end in bodies, but also the destruction, or the serious restriction, of careers, and broken marriages.
    Look at the way Barrow treated the late Sir John Connell, or Leroy Harewood; look at the number of people who had to jump on planes and ships and return to Britain, the US and Canada because they were isolated by the reactionary black governments.
    Have a look at former senior executives at the BNB, how their careers developed. It is not Barbados alone. I know of a very bright St Lucian, an LSE graduate and senior official at the then Commission for Racial Equality. He returned to St Lucia on holiday, was persuaded to resign his job in the UK and take a government job. He did. Six months later he was unemployed and had taken to drink.
    The attack on Walter Rodney did not start with Forbes Burnham (who in his youth was seen as a black liberation fighter), but by the reactionary Jamaican government that banned him from working at Mona in 1968.
    That was the warning, of open season on anyone who dared to speak of black power. Read about the murder of Michael Forde in Guyana, after whom the PPP’s bookshop was named. Guyana has had a long history of political murders. Walter’s book, How Europe Underdeveloped Africa, became a manifesto of his future politics. It was his ticket to Burnham’s list of future assassinations. The deal was that once Walter went off to Africa to teach, he should have used that period to cool down his politics. He did not.
    Jamaica’s political civil war really started under Bustamante with his campaign against the Federation in the early 1960s (does Holness remind you off anyone?) which culminated in the 1976 garrison murders, encouraged and funded by the CIA. Remember the Bob Marley peace concert?
    We had Rosie Douglas of Dominica, at the time a radical student in Canada at McGill and Stokeley Carmichael in the US (remember Malcolm X also had Caribbean ancestry; in Trinidad we had the oilfield workers. There is a long list, largely missing from our official history – a history which should have been taught at Cave Hill..
    We have had people such as Richard B. Moore (whatever happened to his library given to Cave Hill?), CLR James, George Padmore, John La Rose, Claudia Jones, Peter Blackman and numerous others, men and women, who paid for their radical politics. Remember, the Harlem Renaissance was a Caribbean phenomenon.

39. William Skinner Avatar

@ TheOGazerts

“There were a number of times when I had a different opinion from the team. When put to a vote and a final decision was made I supported the decision.

Resigning in a B and D framework would have been seen as a political move. It is quite possible we would be worse off if he had resigned ,,,”

There is a school of thought which suggest that a Governor or Minister of Financing resigning creates more havoc within the system than if they are fired. A Governor of the Central Bank resigning sends shock waves ; when he or she is fired it is considered more a political move occasioned perhaps by a policy difference. I know that Worrell’s well known humility instructs him to see himself as a public servant. He is extremely loyal to this country. In his own way he was obviously trying to impose a different culture on the system and I seriously think that allowing himself to be fired rather than do harm to the country by resigning was his way of thinking. In political terms he won the day because the man who fired him lost his political power in a most embarrassing manner.

@ Pacha

Whether Worrell runs a close second or last in this matter is of no concern to me. However, to blame Worrell and put him in the same category as Sinckler in destroying the economy is intellectually dishonest. To this day I don’t even understand why Worrell went to court. But that was his choice.

40. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

You can understand why Piece has become paranoid of late. I have read that Errol Barrow was openly hostile to black nationalism/pan Africanism.

It is unbelievable that Caribbeans of a certain vintage would, probably, have no knowledge of our great black intellectuals and their legacies. I had no idea that the Harlem Renaissance was influenced by those whose roots were Caribbean.

I notice that Miller keeps on pressing you to relocate to Barbados and to contribute to the country’s development. Stay put. Barbados is not a country that is welcoming to blacks especially with those who are prepared to speak out.

41. Sir William Skinner

We would like to repel from those types of determinations made by you about us, or ideas so proffered. Instead, we would like to focus your not inconsequential mind on the real world. Her is Christopher Hedges. A mind for which we happen to have more than a modicum of respect. Ignore the petty, we need you focused and courageous on a way out for our world. Obviously, this Worrell has no idea still what’s going on. Don’t be like him.

42. This guy Skinner hopscotching all over the place trying his bedt to deflect criticism off Dr Worrell.Then he states he is no defender of Dr Worrell, amazing.Then he claims that Dr Worrell had a right to ban inferior journalists because they like most in Barbados saw through his Dem colours.Your logic truly escapes me.In my view after overseeing 24 downgrades the honourable thing to have done was resign.You can dress it up all you like.For my part and i believe most bajans i do not want to hear anything from Dr Worrell capiche.

43. @ Talking Loud Saying Nothing
    Thanks for the video – very informative

@ Hal 5:58
    Thanks for this – also very informative

The proposal from Delisle Worrell is basically a proposal from a colonised mind which somehow thinks that ‘massa knows best’ and will ‘save us from ourselves’ – the old ‘white man’s burden’ all over again. This is not what’s needed as we try to move ourselves forward.

There is endless criticism on the blog for Chris Sinckler and what some refer to as his money printing spree during which time the government’s debt rose from BD$6.8 billion in 2008 to BD$ 14 billion in 2018, an increase of 105%. If the aim of Delisle’s proposal is to get away from reckless management of the currency, then the US dollar is definitely not the place to go. After all in the same period, the US government’s debt rose from US $10 trillion in 2008 to US $21.5 trillion in 2018, an increase of 115%. In fact a performance worse than Chris Sinckler’s.

Ever since Reagan took the US dollar off the gold standard, the dollar has owed its global dominance to two things. First that it enjoyed a monopoly as the currency through which oil was traded, the so-called petro-dollar and secondly to US military dominance. Both of these are under severe pressure from competitors and are very unlikely to make it into the medium term, nothing mind the long term. Those who think that the current international arrangements have a long life ahead of them are not paying careful attention to global developments.

44. Sir William

More of Chris Hedges

Same lecture, questions and answers

Certainly, the time has long passed for the best ideas to revolve around the centrality of the UD dollar.

45. ” the US dollar and their military dominance is under pressure so neither may be around in the medium term.”

Pray tell who could challenge the military dominance of the USA in the medium term?

Everytime the USA and Russia or Korea raise their voices doesn’t mean a war will follow.

Secondly the next war waged will be in commerce not on a battlefield, as is now the case unfolding with China and the USA.

As for the Petro dollar disappearing in the medium term, don’t hold your breath. As long as crude is traded it will be done in USD as that is the currency the sellers wish to hold in exchange for their commodity. Crude will be around for at least another 50 years based on slower demand resulting from the rise of alternative forms of energy, not to mention the massive reserve now found off Guyana.I see crude therefore trading in USD for at least the next half a century.

Also you talk about the debt in the USA increasing nearly as much In the same period percentage wise as Barbados. Again ask yourself how much did the US economy grow during the same period as compared to Barbados. You can’t speak of debt in a vacuum and not look at the economic growth during the same period.

Like it or not no matter how you feel about the USA, their currencies
    Strength lies not only in its traded value based on market forces, but on the fact that it is the currency of choice globally. Why do you think Canadian companies and European ones chose to export and invoice in USD as opposed to their own currency?

While we are both entitled to our opinion the facts at present can not be denied.

46. Freedom Crier Avatar

AS PERTAINING TO THE VIDEO BY CHRIS HEDGES …THE MAN IS AN IDIOT!

He has taken many facts and put them together incorrectly to create a dialogue that is Totally Bull.

Most of the Ill effects he spoke about were created in the Bush and Obama years and all his talk about China’s Supremacy is not like that anymore.

As a man that is trying to project what is coming, he is very inadequate for the job.

One can Usually judge the Future by the Past unless you have a TRANSFORMATIVE SITUATION like TRUMP…As Obama Transformed America Downward, Trump Transformed America like a Rocket going Upward.

IT IS THOSE THAT WILL NOT SEE CANNOT SEE, THE DIRECTION THAT AMERICA IS HEADED.

MORE JOB OPENINGS THAN THEY HAVE PEOPLE WHO ARE UNEMPLOYED…

RECORD LOW UNEMPLOYMENT, WITH SIX MILLION NEW JOBS CREATED WITH FIVE MILLION OFF FOOD STAMPS AND A BOOMING ECONOMY.

Even Rocket man has is not sending missiles right now.

It is amazing how the Left cannot read Donald Trump but ordinary people can and they can see he is doing the Right things to Make America Better than Ever.

The Left are disappointed that America has made an Agreement with Mexico- They would prefer America to fail than to let this President Succeed or to give him Credit for his Success.

Stop judging by Appearances. Stop Judging by words and look at the Actions (“by their Fruit you shall know them”)

PRESIDENT TRUMP IS A TRANSFORMATIVE PERSON. A MAN LIKE HIM COMES ONCE IN A LIFETIME.

Freedom considers herself Privileged to be Alive to See the Transformation that he is Making and will Continue to Make.

https://www.facebook.com/IdiocracyNewsMedia/photos/a.378632849285469/607180696430682/?type=3&theater

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10217649716730068&set=gm.2563616077018507&type=3&theater

47. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha

The only currency that I will support is a common Caribbean currency. It’s a view I have held for over forty years.
    You have not read anywhere on this blog that I support jettisoning our dollar as Worrell suggests. I did not support Worrell’s advice to send home 5000 civil servants. I never supported printing money and paying wages out of the NIS. And I don’t support the current IMF measures/arrangement.
    You will note that I seldom involve myself in discussions about : Trump, May , etc
    Even in the current discussion about jettison our currency , I never gave an opinion. We are constantly framing arguments and positions within a system that has never worked for us because we don’t see ourselves as innovators.
    So let’s have a real discussion about a Caribbean Nation, Caribbean Currency and a true Caribbean approach to our problems.
    I have long ago stopped eating crumbs from the master’s table. Almost every single problem we have is fifty or more years old. Sad thing is that every single fix is fifty years old too.
    There is a reason we have made three visits to the IMF and each time the same problems return.
    No wonder then that Hal’s belief that we are a failed state has been embraced by some on BU.
    I have read all the contributions about Mueller , Brexit etc without picking my teeth.
    Like I said recently we are constantly allowing ourselves to be defined by others.

48. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ Barbados 2019

I would first wish to respond to your accusation that I have become paranoid, ONLY OF LATE.

It is note paranoia, it is an awareness of the system that delineates the haves and have nots in Barbados.

I speak out against what I see embodied in Mugabe and to a lesser degree Stinkliar.

I understand what my role is in this existence AND WHAT I HAVE BEEN TASKED TO DO.

Iwill always be Public Enemy Number 1 for this Mugabe regime because I am against the predisposition of Mugabe Amin to subjugate the nation the her dictatorship for life.

I will never be a part of the Barbados fallacy of “these fields and hills beyond recall” be part of the legacy that the sheeple WILL NEVER PARTICIPATE IN.

So what you see as paranoia is just my SENSITIZATION sessions for the people like you who have the capacity to discern the inexorable strategy of Mugabe to permanently inhabit the House of Assembly.

A few who are here understand this but others who number in the hundreds of thousands, DONT!!!

I’d like you to take a look at a recent article that thd Blogmaster put up about an employee who is in a situation with an international business

Normally the Old David of BU would have researched an article of this type and would have had a corporate response, EVEN IF THAT RESPONSE WAS TO SAY, “attempts to get feedback from ***, were futile”

So what we are seeing in this blog is one where people are fror the most part, discoursing abstracts, while the other article does not necessarily attract the same people here.

Pachamama actually provides a video on Chris Hedges which contextualized this BU blog in general AND YOUR SOECIFIC REMARK ON PARANOIA.

Hodges like Pachamama, has a CIA file on him, since he speaks against the establishment

He enunciates the path that the establishment takes against people who speak out about the system.

The ostracising, the proactive economic disenfranchisement, the bad talking to discredit your messaging, the whole 90 yards to undermine you.

You regularly question yourself as to what the ef you are doing for and easily distracted people and a sheeple who dont give a flying fvcuk.

People need a message and a cause!

Sheeple CAN ONLY BE EMOTED!! They only react to staged stimuli and fake news.

This is why Mugabe having 2020, to mek people feel evating is going fine.

If people like Hodges get too much of a following THEY GET TAKEN OUT so, like Malcolm X, and Martin Luther so you can never be too paranoid in this type of campaigning for equity.

49. Adopting the EC currency is also an option and will also protect us from any MOF deciding to print money wildly again. Circulation and supply would also be controlled by the ECCB.

I don’t think though any PM in Barbados would go for that as it would be the equivalent to a devaluation of our currency. Not to mention many bajans would say we ” trade our currency for small island money. ”

Once again politics and the vote will win over logic unfortunately.

50. Willliam Skinner Avatar
    Willliam Skinner

@ John A

It’s a conversation we should have. If we take away the insularities we will emerge with a strong currency. Pacha says the system is broken and he’s correct but why not look inward rather than just putting a coat of paint on old wood.
    We need to think seriously about dismantling what is failing us.