A nation of sheep will beget a government of wolves.”
Edward R. Murrow

The blogmaster continues to listen to the fury in the feedback by Barbadians triggered by government’s decision to increase bus fare to $3.50.  After more than four decades has the national discussion changed about the state of public transport and the burgeoning sub culture which accompanies it changed?

On the 10 April 2019 Chairman of the Transport Authority Ian Estwick reminded the country a ‘bariffle’ of permits were issued in the last days of the last government. Minister Michael Lashley was the former minister responsible. The political partisans will need reminding that a similar event occurred when the last BLP government demitted office with Ministers Johnny Tudor and Gline Clarke wantonly approving PSV permits.

In summary, Eswick shared numbers to advise that about 53% of 735 valid permits as at 08 April 2019 issued to PSVs are concentrated on SEVEN routes (Bank Hall -38, Speightown -32, Silver Sands -99, Silver Hill -65, Redman  Village -59, Jackson -45, Fairy Valley -49).

In a nutshell the foregoing vividly supports what Barbadians should know. The mismanagement and politicization of the Transport Board by successive administrations has catapulted the country to where we are mired today.

In a nutshell the foregoing vividly supports what the Barbadians know. The mismanagement and politicization of the Transport Board by successive administrations has catapulted to where we are today. This repeat was no error.

There is more to tell about the current state of the transportation sector.

Barbadians have been complicit in the demise of the transportation system. Whether it is found in the passive response to former minister Rommell Marshall going against accepted tendering policy by approving a sweet deal with CGI insurance company. David Thompson approving a political gimmick to allow free bus ride for school children. And common to both parties, employing the most incompetent actors to manage the Transport Board. The last General Manger Sandra Forde rushes to the mind. Several other examples can be listed to support the view that the mismanagement of the Transport Board is a continuum.

It is disgusting – to put it mildly – to have to listen to the political talking heads from all sides pretending to be so concerned about the effect the fare hike will have on the travelling public. To watch the tours of the bus stands to benefit from the anti hike bus fare sentiment is most disingenuous.

The morass we have created in the transportation sector is a symptom of the bigger predicament we find ourselves, so spare us the ‘esoteric’ analysis. The poor must be protected, a non point. Continuing to conflate many issues triggered by the fare hike is an embarrassment to a 90% plus literate country fighting above its weight class country.

We are in dark place and to fix it will require the country to suffer some pain. How long the suffering will continue will be up to us. We agree that commonsense should tell us it cannot be business as usual.

Time to pick our poison!

97 responses to “Pay the $3.50 or Alternatively Drink the Poison”

1. The most important thing is that state-owned enterprises are supported by their revenues. In view of the enormous debt burden, Barbados can no longer afford to subsidize buses and other things.

So I have some suggestions to make here because, as you all know, Tron always wants to be impartial and fair. My suggestions are based on cross-subsidisation within the tariff system from the normal price to the reduced price. We must therefore increase the normal price sharply in order to be able to afford social benefits. On the other hand, there should no longer be a subsidy from the taxpayer for the tickets. The emigrants know such and similar tariff structures from their new homeland.

In detail:

(1) We need monthly and annual tickets for commuters with a discount of up to 75% on the regular ticket price.

(2) Children up to the age of 10 should be transported without charge, children between the ages of 11 and 17 receive a discount of 50%. Schoolchildren (if they have to pay at all) can buy monthly or annual tickets with a discount of 75%.

(3) Seniors pay only 50% of the regular price for single tickets.

(4) To compensate, the price for regular individual tickets (single trip) must be increased to 4 BBD for short distances and 8 BBD for long distances (normal fare). Four-way tickets are offered at a discount of 20%. Day tickets for adults cost 14 BBD ( a bit cheaper than a return ticket).

Note: The individual tickets should also remain valid when changing from bus A to bus B for a single trip, provided they are regular buses.

On this basis, a commuter would continue to pay 2 BBD per trip for long distances, a senior citizen 2 or 4 BBD. Those who do not purchase monthly or annual tickets pay a higher price up to 8 BBD. That is, of course, just a suggestion. In reality, the figures would still have to be adjusted so that the state-owned transport company would no longer incur losses.

I look forward to your contributions to the discussion.

2. David

It is disgusting – to put it mildly – to have to listen to the political talking heads from all sides pretending to be so concerned about the effect the fare hike will have on the travelling public. To watch the tours of the bus stands to benefit from the anti hike bus fare sentiment is most disingenuous.

Why does it digust u when people speak of the high increase in bus fare
    Have u heard anyone spoke against govt implementing an increase
    If you listen carefully to the many voices who.opposed the increase
    Many reasons against the increase holds fast to households finances which are now being weighed down and diminished by austerity measures which includes unemployment
    Do u understand what a raise of that magnitude does when an individual has no job but needs the service of a bus to go looking for a job
    Next the service its self is poor and is not deserving
    Next what about wage earners whose pockets are bone dry where would they find the money to make up for the increase
    David the policies of this govt seems to be far removed and disconnected from the realities of the economics and social restraints of the barbadian household after years of rubbing shoulders amongst them

3. bajanfreeparty Avatar

Western Union money sent to Barbados was over 100 Million USD,?What if this Money Stop? Where is co$t of Living, how can the People Afford taxes on All things base on 6$.25c per hour and people are being sent home,

You allow this Crime Government to pick apart the people limb by limb until we have to arms and no legs now on the ground and can’t move, The Economy is dead, People are in fear to move and spend what will they have when you have to spend more to go and come VS what you went to buy, its better not to move until your belly hurts,

I see grown men who are working all they are buying is Cheese and Bread to make the energy just to work, If you want something too sweet to drink bet thing is sugar and water no lime,
    Each issue is a post but the whole Picture needs to be looked at on a wall and see the balance, It’s not like only Buses went up, its everything you touch prices was added and then more vat was added to the price, that is more money PEOPLE more money, and who has to pay is , is the poorest among us and the greed and greedy level keeps moving up and the people on the TOP pay their self more and more for charging the people more and more and paying them less and less and the Real estate market going up and up, leaving people stuck in over price UNC and NHC housing for life , NO Way out had these poor people living in a voting block set up by the governments Crime Minister and S/HE BBLP,

The UNion leaders ALL of them are bought and paid for, just like David Come sing a song wearing African wear and forget his Mission, Bloodsuckers none not needed,
    The Union Members need to Vote for new leadership NOW, to many conflicts of Intrest,$$$
    As We keep and will keep saying More pain to come,, Soon the Pain maybe around the necks of their own rope of laws set up to make People back down , Not a chance , the ropes they set up will and shall be for them,, If you think Trump is Bad you better recheck Mia,
    Bajan Free Party Will never Join Anyone or anything Dealing with Bs or Ds Bajan Need a Clean start away from these Crooks, Liars, and Scumbags, All of them in this government needs Hanging with their own rope and laws, taking Oath of Office for Money, NO Rule of Law! Facts,

4. There is nothing more complicated than to follow the logic of my countrymen.
    His proposal must be read from the bottom up…

“Note: The individual tickets should also remain valid when changing from bus A to bus B for a single trip, provided they are regular buses.”
    It has been established that there is an inadequate supply of ‘regular buses’. A second fare, most likely, will have to be paid when transferring from bus A to B.

“(4) To compensate, the price for regular individual tickets (single trip) must be increased to $4 BBD for short distances and $8 BBD for long distances (normal fare). Four-way tickets are offered at a discount of 20%. Day tickets for adults cost 1$4 BBD ( a bit cheaper than a return ticket).”
    Insufficient information on 4-way tickets. Are we talking of 20% of $32.00 when a passenger has four long distance commute. If people are complaining of $3.50, I doubt an $8.00 (reduced by 20%) fare or $14 for a two-way ticket would be welcomed.

‘(1) We need monthly and annual tickets for commuters with a discount of up to 75% on the regular ticket price.
    This is what has me confused. If you have $8.00 fares discounted by 75%, I suspect the travelling public would put themselves in debt to get an annual or monthly ticket. Paying 25% on the monthly/annual ticket would lower the bus fare. The problem you are trying to solve would be magnified.

25% of 8=2

I am hoping that he can correct my erroneous statements.

5. @Bajanfreepaty
    “Each issue is a post but the whole Picture needs to be looked at on a wall and see the balance, It’s not like only Buses went up, its everything you touch prices was added and then more vat was added to the price, that is more money PEOPLE more money”

You are right in pointing out that what the average person faces are increases on several fronts, a multi-headed beast

6. William Skinner Avatar

Yes David: Let the poor drink the poison……….
    Not a failed state but…………..

7. TheOGazerts April 21, 2019 9:59 AM@
    Thank You!

8. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

A great article, I am being tossed left and right as to who is the author of these really hard hitting pieces.

An aside to the author though

When the piece started reference was made to sheep.

The author should be advised that the Director of the Barbados Royal Society for The Prevention of Cruelty to Animals is now on Barbados Underground

Henceforth anyone using the word sheep or sheeple shall invoke the wrath of this person.

Indeed the law says and I quote

“…Furthermore, from this day henceforth, The abusive style of beating up on the “sheeple” is distasteful to the Government of this Blog and I, the Director, now Direct that all readers MUST SKIM THESE SHEEP/sheeple blogs or face the consequences of my wrath

Signed
    Donna
    Director & Representative for all Sheep & Sheeple “

9. PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION CRISIS. ONLY 42 BUSES WORKING.

Mechanics should be working in 8 hour shifts 24 / 7 repairing buses.

10. Wunna can cut the political bullspit. The Transport Board was allowed to fail because PSV’s became profit centres for some SPECIAL individuals.

Time for the spin doctors to take a break and Government Ministers earn a living.Surely 3 Ministers and the Prime Minister can come up with a plan that includes Fedex.

11. @David

You had to remind us of the Sandra Forde debacle, yuh think that Estwick will be an improvement? What is it about former Bankers running the TB, yuh almost want to make me “Laff it off”.

Remember the song “Too late shall be your cry”, its too late to save the TB, when successive Gov’ts underfunded the TB and outsourced public transportation to the private sector (read PSV’s) that signaled the death knell for the TB. The recent announcement of private/public partnership is a last minute attempt to redress the problems of public transportation but we will be here in 5/10/20 years speaking of the same issues.

It is no surprise that certain routes attract the most PSV applications if I owned a PSV I would want to ply my trade on highly populated areas where I could generate the most income, but public transportation should exist to serve all the people efficiently at a reasonable cost, if you stray away from that model it will be fraught with problems.

Remember the days of “private” high schools? If you were “bright” enough and you managed to “pass” the two step exam you scored a coveted place at one of the Gov’t aided Secondary schools, if you didn’t succeed in obtaining placement your parents had to dole out school fees in the form of cash for you to attend Federal, Modern etc. some families managed to send the first or last born, the rest had to go on to seventh standard and make their way into the world. Gov’t changed all that and streamed students into new schools at little cost beyond uniforms and books. It should have adopted the same approach vis a vis public transportation, in a small island that should have been possible.

As I said before its too late.

12. Y’all can’t even differentiate between the Transport Board and the Transport Authority. #nocomment

13. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Sargeant at 3:00 PM

Excellent. A clinical analysis. When the buses were first nationalized they operated at the optimal. It was the introduction of the PSVs that marked the deterioration of the system. The mixed system was a time bomb waiting to explode.

14. The inhabitants of the island must finally realise that tourism alone cannot finance a welfare state and not the current overpopulation. The public transport system is a relic from times long past. Given the monstrous level of debt, the government can no longer pump money into a bottomless pit. The time has come to completely privatise passenger transport. If I see it right, we only need 42 drivers for 42 operational buses. All others should be dismissed immediately.

It would also be time to privatize the school system and other parts of the state bureaucracy in order to improve their efficiency, raise quality and improve lousy work morale.

Barbados is a premium holiday island for the rich, not a socialist model village. Those who cannot afford Barbados have the choice of emigrating to North America or Great Britain. Soon Guyana will also be a sensible option.

Instead of always complaining, people should be happy about the great sandy beaches, the sun and the rum. It’s a privilege to live in Barbados. All inhabitants must thank the government for this, which has so far succeeded in keeping the island out of all other difficult international entanglements.

15. @Enuff

I know who is ultimately responsible for the TB and I was commenting on the fate of public transportation in Barbados, if that’s all you can find to critique I’ve made my point.

16. ” Provide between 120 to 180 electric buses within 12 to 18 months on the signing of the contract and solely on the basis of the requirements stated above and in conformity with the technical requirements as defined in the specification sheet.”

https://www.transportboard.com/invitation-for-bids-supply-of-electric-buses/

17. So we privatize the transport board
    I hope u realize that in so doing govt creates bigger problems like more employees being put on the breadline
    Increase in bus fares
    Govt cannot have a role on how private companies managed their bottom line

18. Dumpster diving in The Transport website.

” The arrangement to be put in place will require that: –

The Barbados Transport Board breaks even and budget transfers from Central Government be phased out.

The cost and risk of the acquisition the electric buses be borne solely by the bidder.

The bidder has adequate equity and resources to absorb shocks to revenue or increased cost without defaulting on the arrangement”

19. And to besides I thought my reference to “Laff it off” was funny

Could you explain the joke?

20. Hants,

As a precaution, I would like to point out that batteries in Barbados discharge much faster than in the north due to the tropical climate. Thus, after five years, the buses will be ready for the scrap heap. If you additionally consider that the natives are not able to deal with technical things (I only say “sick building syndrome”), the buses will probably fail even faster.

21. @Sargeant

You must admit that Estwick is no actor but has been a successful product of Laff it off. The point is that PSVs have been given the most profitable routes. The obvious must follow.

If you had mismanagement and corruption to the mix. In a year we should be in a good position if this government means business.

22. “13% of the world’s bus fleet is already electric

Over 99% of the world’s electric buses are in China

Sales of electric buses increased by 40% between 2016 and 2017

By 2030, an electric bus will be the same price as a diesel bus, while also saving hundreds of thousands on fuel costs over the bus’s lifetime, according to Bloomberg New Energy Finance.

There are four electric bus manufacturers in Canada: GreenPower Motor Company, The Lion Electric Company, New Flyer Industries, and Nova Bus.

23. A hashtag moment
    #nocomment
    ✋🛑\
    Have a great rest of the weekend.
    Will leave in a few, before I become underwhelmed.by a display of brilliance.

24. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

I would suggest that we operate a fare that is tied to distance travelled. We had a stage system for some time, that gave away to a flat rate for the entire island. The issue would be an efficient collection method as the bus enters and leaves the different zones etc.
    I know there is a solution if we move towards cashless or card based transport system tied to a GPS location. However that can only come about if the private and public service providers work towards a uniform method of payment/collection of fares etc.

Meanwhile we should be willing to trial a zonal transport system. A systems that as you embark on your journey closer to the end of the route the fares paid is lower. As i see it for example let us consider the Silver Sands to Bridgetown. If a person starts his journey in the River or FCS Terminal you will pay $3.50 as you can potentially travel the entire length of the route.

IN my scenario the Bridgetown to Silver Sands route is broken up into four segments. I have chosen well known and established landmark as demarcation points between zones.

Segment A: Bridgetown to Garrison Savannah(St Anne’s Fort).
    Segment B: Garrison Savannah to Top Rock Round-about
    Segment C: Top-Rock Round-about to Oistins Town(Public Library)
    Segment D: Oistins Public library to Silver Sands -end of route.

The minimum cost of any segment will $2.00. So this is how i see this working on a trip from Bridgetown to Silver Sands

Embarking the bus in the River or Fairchild Street terminal or at the START of the route fare = $3.50

Embarking the bus in Segment A fare is $3.50 when destination is Silver Sands. Fare is $2.00 when Destination is Bridgetown

Embarking the bus in Segment B fare is $3.00 when destination is Silver Sands. Fare is $2.50 when Destination is Bridgetown

Embarking the bus in Segment C fare is $2.50 when destination is Silver Sands. Fare is $3.00 when Destination is Bridgetown

Embarking the bus in Segment D fare is $2.00 when destination is Silver Sands. Fare is $3.50 when Destination is Bridgetown

The transport authority can trial this on a few selected routes. The designation of well known land marks will be required but will becomes less import as the use of Mobile phones and GPS coordinates would be tied into the automatic determination of fares if a cashless fare payment system is designed and introduced.

Just my thoughts,

25. SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) Avatar
    SirFuzzy (Former Sheep)

All school children should be issued with a school identification card that will double as a transport card. This will allow Transport authorities and PSV operators to track the school children on the entire public system . This should assist the Min Of Ed to audit the transport of these children and also reimburse the private operators for the “free rides” that they provide.

In a fully integrated subsystem the “Transport card” will be usable on all PSV vehicles. The card is well designed will be have many features

a) The card can be activated or deactivated remotely, Thus stopping abuse if accidental or intentional.
    b) The card can be loaded with value if we move towards a time when school student are paying a portion of their fares
    c) The card can have a set period of duration, a set period of daily duration and on days when the specific school is in sessions etc. Thus no joy riding if the student is home on some disciplinary matter.

Just thinking

26. William Skinner Avatar

We need a rural transport authority to determine how we are going to improve public transportation both privately and publicly owned in our rural communities.
    We can then project how best to profitably integrate the two systems.
    Failure to clinically analyse our public transportation system is the major reason why we have reached this sorry state of affairs.
    Once more we are witnessing the results of the pure incompetence of the BLPDLP.

27. The GM of Transport Board (formerly Sandra Forde) and the Chairman of the Transport Authority (currently Ian Estwick) are two completely different roles at two completely different organisations, with completely different mandates. Period! #nocomment

28. @enuff

You need to make contact with a flawed system in which both positions operate.

29. David
    The arguments here are flawed too. If you doubt me, read the same IADB Country Strategy 2019-2023 on public transport.

30. @enuff

What matters is that successive governments have allowed public transport to deteriorate to the extent it has to be imploded and rebuilt. Tom Adams imposed unimaginable taxes back then and it was downhill ever since.

31. William Skinner Avatar

You are absolutely correct!
    The Transport Board has like everything else been the victim of political skullduggery(BLPDLP).It’s the same with PSVs and the corrupt licensing system, where permits and so on were issued via political connections in both parties.
    You will note that those appointed to Boards/ Authorities , have no knowledge or track records in the areas they are supposed to supervise.Both parties practice this nonsense.
    We are merely spinning top in mud .

32. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

But David, to pay the $3.50 IS to drink the poison. Hobson’s choice man.
    Had to take public transport last week with one of the grands and the short journey cost the two of us $14.00. Some might say that I coulda walk, but when the temperature is 32 degrees Celsius, and the humidity is above 90%, and a small child can only do small steps, and the grocery bags are heavy, what choice you taking ’bout?

iImean i voted for the Bees, but this hurt man.

I live on two routes which are supposed to be serviced by 2 big blue Transport Board buses..but where de buses man?

33. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

And now the gossip I hearing is that big black garbage bags of cash used to pass through the Transport Board “back door” for decades and decades, and decades.

But that can’t be true nuh? Becausin’ the transport Board had to have excellent cash handling and accounting procedures in place, right???

So the ZR men, and the yellow bus men were getting ‘rich” while the Transport Board’s rolling stock was becoming skinnier, and skinnier and skinnier.

I don’t understand how the rolling stock went from 200+ to less than 50.

34. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Vincent Codrington April 21, 2019 3:27 PM “It was the introduction of the PSVs that marked the deterioration of the system. The mixed system was a time bomb waiting to explode.”

In economics it is called ‘rent seeking”

Barbados has been by a whole class of economists for decades and decades. I can’t believe that by doing what they did not understand that they were inviting the most aggressive of rent seeking behaviours.

According to Wikipedia “In public choice theory and in economics, rent-seeking involves seeking to increase one’s share of existing wealth without creating new wealth. Rent-seeking results in reduced economic efficiency through poor allocation of resources, reduced actual wealth-creation, lost government revenue, increased income inequality, and (potentially) national decline.”

Yup we reach.

35. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Tron April 21, 2019 ?:43 PM “Barbados is a premium holiday island for the rich…”

But Tron “the rich” moved their money to London and other pats North, then they had to move North too in order to keep their money warm.

36. @SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife who wrote ” I mean i voted for the Bees, but this hurt man.”

No pain no gain. #miacares

37. You are the first to have pieced together the meaning of the topic of this blog.

38. General elections in Barbados were held on September 2, 1976.

On May 2, 1976, it was reported in the press that PM Errol Barrow announced “a 25¢ standardized bus fare would be introduced in Barbados towards the end of” May.

I believe this was also a political gimmick from which the Transport Board never recovered.

39. Could you please explain how privatizing the Transport Board would “create bigger problems like more employees being put on the breadline and an increase in bus fares,” especially when one considers………
    ………….UCAL, for example, was established as a result of government privatizing Transport Board’s workshop and additional jobs were created in the process.

…………..bus fare is REGULATED by government.

Did you express similar concerns of employees being put on the breadline” when the previous administration was planning to sell the Barbados National Terminal Company Limited (BNTCL) to SOL for $100M?

I recall you supported those plans.

40. Amm how many employees does the oil terminal have in comparison to the many ranges and dept where there are employees working in the transport board system

41. You clearly do not read with comprehension. Under both governments they allowed the transport sector to sink into a cesspool. There will be pain, it cannot be business as usual. The transport board is an embarrassment. We the people have been complicit it its demise. We are reaping the whirlwind because of the lazy and feckless approach to how we have managed our affairs.

42. As was anticipated, you purposely avoided answering the questions, but instead preferred to ask a silly question.

What you need to do, is inform BU as to “how many ranges and departments where there are employees working in the Transport Board system.”

I previously mentioned, the privatization of TB’s workshop initiated the establishment of UCAL, which created employment opportunities for several people, in areas such as personnel, accounting, clerical, secretary, storeroom and other support staff.

UCAL also extended its scope of repairs from specifically mechanical, to include “bodywork,” painting, servicing, electrical and transmission repairs to TB buses, which also resulted additional employment.

Additionally, bus fare is legislated by government.

Bearing this information in mind, could you please inform BU, how would the privatization of TB lead to “more employees being put on the breadline and an increase in bus fares?”

This is a simple question.

43. Methodology….. but we all know this could never involve Barbados. Just beyond your imagination.

“Sauriol said Dessau knew a handful of companies (including Rapid Check and Commerce Al-Shark) that were willing to issue invoices for work that was never ordered or completed. When Dessau wrote a cheque, the company would cash it, take a 10-per-cent “cut,” and hand the rest of the money back to the engineering firm. Over five years starting in 2004, the witness said Dessau used the trick to obtain about $2 million — all of it destined for political coffers.”

http://www.montrealgazette.com/news/false+invoices+lead+cash+political+coffers/8120867/story.html

44. How many Transport Board buses will be repaired in the next 2 weeks ? 1? 2 ? or more.

How many Transport Board buses will be repaired in the next 6 weeks ? 1? 2 ? or more.

What do the mechanics who repair the buses do for 8 hours per day ?

45. @Hants

The issues plaguing the transport board subsumes repairing buses.

46. The out come of privitization should not only be benefical to one our two entities.As would be the case with the Transport board where entire depts would be given a red slip
    There some areas of govt that failed.
    However a recommendation of o.othrowing out the baby with the bathe tub is only a short term solution
    When in essence multiplehouseholds would feel the effect and having govt to pick up the fall out
    Say whatever you may the oil terminal does not pass the test of rigidity in that when compared to the Transport board its employees would be significant in a privatization overhaul that can be problematic for govt

47. RE IN my scenario the Bridgetown to Silver Sands route is broken up into four segments. I have chosen well known and established landmark as demarcation points between zones.

Segment A: Bridgetown to Garrison Savannah(St Anne’s Fort).
    Segment B: Garrison Savannah to Top Rock Round-about
    Segment C: Top-Rock Round-about to Oistins Town(Public Library)
    Segment D: Oistins Public library to Silver Sands -end of route.

The minimum cost of any segment will $2.00. So this is how i see this working on a trip from Bridgetown to Silver Sands

SIR FUZZY IT SEEMS THAT YOU ARE QUITE YOUNG RELATIVELY AND DONT SEEM TO RECALL THE DAYS IN THE 60’S WHEN YOUR IDEA WAS ACTUAL WHAT USED TO HAPPEN FOR ROUTE 13 SILVER SANDS!

Segment A: Bridgetown to Garrison Savannah(St Anne’s Fort). 5CENTS, PRIOR TO THAT IT WAS ROCKLEY
    Segment B: Garrison Savannah to sT LAWRENCE BY PEPPER POT WHERE THE 10CENTS POLE WAS

Segment C:sT LAWRENCE BY PEPPER POT to Oistins Town OPPOSITE THE ALMS HOUSE WHERE THE 15 CENTS POLE WAS

THOSE WERE GREAT DAYS

AS A LAD I WOULD RUN THROUGH GRAEME HALL TO ST LAWRENCE TO CATCH THE BUS AT THE TEN CENTS POLE ON SUNDAY AFTERNOONS TO SAVE 5 CENTS TO ATTEND SUNDAY SCHOOL AT CH CH PARISH CH

48. We are not discussing the oil terminal. However, your comment re “the oil terminal does not pass the test of rigidity in that when compared to the Transport board its employees would be significant in a privatization overhaul that can be problematic for govt”………

………….. is generalized nonsense.

Explain what is “the test of rigidity.”

I asked you a simple question and again you responded with your usual incoherent, generalized statements and political rhetoric.

Since you’re not prepared to answer the question, let’s move on.

Please explain to BU what are these “entire departments (at TB) that would be given a red slip” you are referring to.

How would “a privatization overhaul” of the TB “be problematic for government?”

49. Whatever, Piece! Carry on nastily! As I said, it’s all about you and your ego. Seems I have committed a cardinal sin. I would have thought your focus would be on the divinely inspired grand scheme for fixing Barbados rather than wasting your time fixing poor little me! I am insignificant, after all!

More proof for me that you are a runaway train. You may have started off on the right track but something happened along the way and you became an egomaniac. Happens all the time.

My tiny little open mind is now closed to you. I have all the information I need. Thanks!

Signed,

Director of herself and NO FOLLOWER OF THE PIECE WHO WOULD BE HER LEADER

Donna

50. RE General elections in Barbados were held on September 2, 1976.

On May 2, 1976, it was reported in the press that PM Errol Barrow announced “a 25¢ standardized bus fare would be introduced in Barbados towards the end of” May.

I believe this was also a political gimmick from which the Transport Board never recovered.

THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

THE FIRST STEP TO DESTROYING OUR TRANSPORTATION SYSTEM WAS WHEN IN 1969 THE DLP UNDER BARROW ELIMINATED THE EXISTING BUS COMPANIES TO THREE– THE ELITE ROCKLYN AND THE TRANSPORT BOARD

THE SECOND STEP WAS THE ABOVE AS POINTED OUT BY ARTAX