Mia Mottley Refuses to Dance the “Sandals Shuffle”

Afra Raymond unpacks the Sandals matter in his recent blogpost , Property Matters – Sandals Shuffle, AGAIN – David, Afra Raymond

“…we are running a Country, not a Company…”
—Mia Mottley QC MP, Barbados PM – from her inaugural budget Wednesday, 20 March 2019

This title occurred to me due to the quiet backsliding of the main supporters of the Tobago Sandals project. This is the kind of situation where people thought they were operating safely in the dark, until someone suddenly opens the door and turns on the lights. The emergence of Sandals’ recent skirmishes have also reminded me of a shuffle.

Those shameless promoters told the public repeatedly about how satisfactory the existing arrangements were for State-owned hotels and went on to explain the special benefits of Sandals and so on and so forth. The steady exposure of the rickety arrangements for the existing hotels and the publication of the Tobago Sandals MoU have combined to end the scheme. Sunlight is really the best disinfectant.

The decisive point here, in terms of the important issue of Caribbean Leadership Standards, is that our current political administration agreed to make tax/duty/work permit concessions to Sandals for that Tobago project which the State was funding. In all the other Sandals projects and their various issues about concessions, about which we are hearing so much, those hotels were built by Sandals. In Tobago, our Treasury was going to fund the entire resort and yet our politicians were intending to grant concessions, facilitate transfer-pricing and allow Sandals free choice in respect of goods and services. No wonder those Sandals officials were smiling the whole time. I tell you.

Please note that this kind of deal is not found anywhere else on the planet. That is for those supporters who want to chat about how Sandals transformed here or there. Here is the only country in which we were going to pay for the entire resort. Under the terms of that MoU Sandals was putting no money at risk. None.

None of the former defenders of Tobago Sandals seem ready, willing or able to defend their proposals, now that the actual agreed intentions have been disclosed. We are yet to hear any T&T leader even hint at repudiating any of the detrimental terms agreed in that Tobago Sandals MoU.

That position is quite different from that of the Barbados PM Mia Mottley QC who in delivering her first budget on Wednesday 20th March 2019 spoke strongly against Sandals proposals to obtain certain guarantees which would have prevented them from being taxed any differently for a term of 40 years. PM Mottley was clear in rejecting the Sandals proposals as being inimical to the stability of their country, and diluting the role of Parliament in establishing taxes. ‘…we are running a country, not a company‘ was a striking phrase used by PM Mottley, one for us to remember.

https://videopress.com/embed/uODmNqeW?hd=0&autoPlay=0&permalink=0&loop=0

Read full blog post –

Property Matters – Sandals Shuffle

Graphic credit: Afra Raymond

125 thoughts on “Mia Mottley Refuses to Dance the “Sandals Shuffle”

1. Pure crookery, let Butch take that scam to Europe or North America and he will see.

2. Bare political buffoonery on Mia part
    I would belived her sincerity if Mia did not use the barbados treasury like an ATM card to waived millions of dollars in taxes to friends and business associates all which are accumulation of barbados debt which has been handed to the poor and vulnerable in the form of taxes
    It seeems that Sandals has become the new political football for govts who in all respect has no plans for building or creating growth for an economy except by being beggars at the IMF doorsteps or throwing a tax noose around the citizens necks.

• What your narrow political interest prevents you from seeing is that the push for transparency is being experienced by governments everywhere. This has nothing to do with Mottley.

What the blogmaster will ask and perhaps merits a separate blog is for her government to release the Cost-U-Less agreement.

We do not charge membership fees and believe we can offer low prices to Barbados shoppers, just as we have in our most recent store opening in the Cayman Islands, which was also a partnership with local business people NorthWest Company trading as Cost-U-Less July 2008 It has been almost five years from the time of the announcement Cost U Less

https://barbadosunderground.net/2013/04/27/who-are-the-local-partners-in-cost-u-less/

Over the years, I have been complaining that the system of governance practiced in Barbados is merely a parody of the Westminster System that obtains in England. In a previous article, I wrote that we have all the trappings of a Westminster type democracy but they do not work as designed.

https://barbadosunderground.net/2016/01/24/the-caswell-franklyn-column-concessions-to-cost-u-less-should-raise-hair/

3. This signals a departure from doing things because the DLP did the same. A justification that is often made by fellow Mugab*tes

Let’s hope that the Barbados PM always put the interest of the nation first.

Good job, Mia. We want you to do a great job for the nation.

TheOGazerts
    Mugabyte (or is that Mugabite)

4. The push for transparency was shelved by the many unilateral decision Mia made during her 10 mth tenure in office all out of the glaring eyes of the public
    Her sincerity in this gameof political upmanship stinks as her actions towards Sandals are opposite to the politics where she made decisions without transparency
    Now if Mia wants to show that she is sincere in her actions going about doing what is in the best interest of the people she should place a list of all names of individuals corporations with in view of the public domain who generously benefitted from tax waivers
    Place the spotlight on Sandals is not sufficient to say that Mia best interst serves country and people.

#######notgoingtofoolme

5. Jesus Christ, David!

You are soooooooooo right as shiiite. So is MAM and her Government.

We wonder where are the people who come on here and talk about the evils of socialism, communism. Is this not those systems for Sandals and the other corporations.

Socialism for the rich!

Communism for the corporations.

These BU scribes never seem to have a problem with those kinds of ownership patterns.

The underlying truism has always been that capitalism could only want to exist in those circumstances. That has always been the central intention of its founders, developers and proponents.

Why do you think we’ve had chattel slavery!

Why is it that after 300 years of capitalism we have growing poverty, un godly disparity, the worst distribution of wealth in all of human history?

We trust that Mottley possesses the scrotum to hold her sacred ground.

6. Same kinda shit that Jeff Besos, the richest man in the world, wanted in New York. This is how they become the richest in the world. They do not pay their fair share.

Capitalism at its absolute best. No taxes for the rich. Transfer of wealth from poor to rich. They suck the life blood out of the world. They are killing the whole world.

Leeches!

7. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

“…What your narrow political interest prevents you from seeing is that the push for transparency is being experienced by governments everywhere.

This has nothing to do with Mottley…”

You are wrong.

This has everything to do with Mugabe Mottley

AND Jose & Jose

AND Veco

AND Crab Hill Police Ctation

AND the Syrup Contract

You are separating things and seem to be suggesting that the devil Mephistopheles themselves must be cleared of any wrongdoing and is exempt because it is a bigger matter being discussed?

Her faults are too numerous and like David of the old testament, she has too much blood on her hands to build the synagogue

• @PUDRYR

You are free to opine as you please. There is a systemic issue and constantly railing about the systems does nothing to build awareness about the underlying (causal) factors.

8. Where is the sacredness in pushing one political issue out of political expediency and then selling public land without citizens input via parliamentary debate
    Mia only a few months ago sold of a piece of real estate parcelled out for low income people
    All done out of public view and no transparency attached
    Give me a f.king break Steupse what sacredness

9. I get yuh point, Piece. It is very difficult to change a corrupt system that you have been so much a part of. She could agree to let bygones be bygones and commit to a new way going forward. She can make it plain to all that the slates are wiped clean. But what then can she do to those who still insist on transgressing if bringing them down would mean bringing herself down for past misdeeds?

The person who builds the new system would have to be a person with clean hands!

Or the most skillful or the luckiest person around.

10. Governments in the Caribbean are not Practicing Free Market Enterprise in Barbados (Capitalism).

Decisions are made as if Government is a Charity, the Business of Government is to provide a framework to maximize the Freedom of People and to ensure NO FRAUD and to have a Security and Protection of the People.

What we have in the Caribbean not counting Cuba are Socialist Governments and we Prosper and fail to the Degree that Socialism is Implemented.

The more we Implement Socialism the Worse off the people become.

What we see passing for Capitalism in the Caribbean is Not Free Market Enterprise.

Capitalism is a made up word by Communist to describe “Free Enterprise and the use of Capital”. Free Enterprise, for it to be Free, must be Free of all encumbrances that will control it. Crony Capitalism, uses the word Capitalism in an effort to change the language from the word Free-remembering Capitalism = Free Enterprise. What we have pre-existing in the world is not Free Enterprise; Crony Capitalism is an attempt to label the System of Free Enterprise by regulating it until it is no longer Free. Free Enterprise (Capitalism) = Free Markets

Cronyism is where big business and governments collude to give special favours to those entities to the exclusion of the ordinary person. Crony Capitalism is an attempt to label the System of Free Enterprise by regulating it until it is no longer Free.

https://www.facebook.com/turningpointusa/photos/a.376802782368444.77256.376776419037747/1376414702407242/?type=3&theater

11. How is Free Enterprise “Capitalism” better than Socialism?

Contrary to widely held beliefs, capitalism is not a system which exploits a large portion of society for the sake of a small minority of wealthy capitalists. Ironically, it is actually socialism that causes the systematic exploitation of labor. Since the socialist state holds a universal monopoly on labor and production, no economic incentive exists for the socialist state to provide anything more than minimum physical subsistence for the workers except to perhaps prevent riots or revolutions. Exploitation is inherent to the nature of socialism because individuals cannot live for their own sake, rather, they exist merely as means to whatever ends the socialist rulers—the self-proclaimed spokesman of “society,” may have in mind.”

The essential nature of Free Enterprise Capitalism is social harmony through the pursuit of self-interest. Under Capitalism, the individual’s pursuit of his own economic self-interest simultaneously benefits the economic self-interests of all others. In allowing each individual to act unhampered by government regulations, Capitalism causes wealth to be created in the most efficient manner possible which ultimately raises the standard of living, increases the economic opportunities, and makes available an ever growing supply of products for everyone.

The free-market operates in such a way so that as one man creates more wealth for himself, he simultaneously creates more wealth and opportunities for everyone else, which means that as the rich become richer, the poor become richer. It must be understood that Capitalism serves the economic self-interests of all, including the Non-Capitalists. “And even if we were all magically made equal in wealth tonight, we’d be unequal in the morning because some of us would spend it and some of us would save it”. Lawrence Reed.

http://voroszoltan.hu/wp-content/uploads/2018/07/siker_eredmeny_kitartas_onismeret_%C3%B6nfejlesztes.jpg

12. Freedom Crier March 28, 2019 10:13 AM
    Governments in the Caribbean are not Practicing Free Market Enterprise (Capitalism) including Barbados.

13. Experience ,ours and those of other jurisdictions, is the best teacher. I hope we continue to analyse the New Capitalism that is evolving. There is no template.

14. RE We trust that Mottley possesses the scrotum to hold her sacred ground.
    WHAT A LOAD OF BULL SHIT!
    MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY THE PRIMWICKER AND DICTATOR MAY DISPLAY THE EFFECTS OF HIGH TESTOSTERONE LEVELS, BUT SHE HAS NO SCROTUM LITERALLY OR FIGURATIVELY

AND SHE HAS NO SACRED GROUND

WATCH NOW WATCH

15. EXCELLENT ILLUSTRATION OF SUCESS FREEDOM CRIER
    MANY FOLK IN BARBADOS ARE POOR OR UNSUCESSFUL BECAUSE THEY DO NOT AND WILL NOT DEMONSTRATE THE CHARACTERISTICS YOU HIGHLIGHT

I THINK OF A TRADESMAN TO WHOSE ONE ROOM HOUSE I WENT ONE SATURDAY MORNING, THEN THE SUNDAY MORNING THEN THE MONDAY MORNING TO DO SOME WORK FOR ME,
    HIS WIFE TOLD ME EACH MORNING HE HAS NOT COME HOME YET!

HE WAS IN THE HANDS OF HIS GREAT LOVE………..ALCOHOL!
    EVENTUALLY, ONE NIGHT IN A DRUNKEN STATE HE WALKED OR STUMBLED OVER A BRIDGE TO HIS DEATH IN A RAVINE IN ST ANDREW

THERE ARE MANY LIKE HIM IN BARBADOS

16. TO DR GEORGIE WHOSECOMMENTS IREAD WITH INTEREST AND VALUE BUT DO YOUTHINK THEGOVERNMENT SHOULD OR SHOULD NOT ACCEPT THE TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT PROPOSALS OFFERED BY SANDALS.

17. I look at the deal this way
    A neighbour house is in total collapse i made an offer to fix the house asking to use the land where the house is situated to secure the loan
    Attached in the ageement i told him i would rent the house but would not pay the rent since i am paying for the loan in refurbushing of the house and other commitments to the house
    The loan is a thirty year loan but i need to use the house and land as collertal to secure the loan
    The neighbour tells ne No.

18. The capitalist free market theory sounds real pretty and would work in a fair world or in heaven.. But we all know that this world is not fair and is more hell on earth than heaven.

This a theory that looks good on paper. But we don’t live on paper.

19. @ Donna at 1:40 PM

No where on this planet since the beginning of Time. The division of output has always been decided politically. One got what one bargained for or acquire it legally or by stealth.

20. What is a Capitalist?

From a purely economic point of view, a capitalist is a person who buys in order to sell for profit. However, the productive role that capitalists and businessman serve cannot be overstated.

Far from being exploiters, the true function of capitalists and businessmen “… is to raise the productivity of manual labor by means of creating, coordinating, and improving the efficiency of the division of labor.”

By continuously improving the efficiency of labor, Capitalists and businessmen are responsible for creating employment which serve to raise the standard of living of everyone. Furthermore, by funding research and capital investments, corporations and capitalists make possible all of the modern day conveniences, from laser surgery to orchestra halls that most people take for granted every day. In fact, since capitalists make available so much life-saving and labor-saving technology to so many people, they should be regarded as some of mankind’s greatest benefactors.

A few capitalists and businessmen have done more to help mankind live a more enjoyable life in a more fundamental sense, a capitalist is anyone (from a janitor to a millionaire) who lives solely by his own effort and who respects the rights of others. The best symbol of a capitalist is the trader. That is, the man or woman who only deals with other people on a voluntary basis. A capitalist is neither an “exploiter” nor necessarily a “greedy” individual.

https://babalublog.com/wpr/wp-content/uploads/2016/02/escaping-capitalism.jpg

21. We must be able to have a System of Governance that allows Free Market Enterprise without all the Burdensome Regulations and Heavy Taxation’s.

“Free-market Capitalism is a network of free and voluntary exchanges in which producers work, produce, and exchange their products for the products of others through prices voluntarily arrived at….
    Man has rights because they are natural rights. They are grounded in the nature of man: the individual’s capacity for conscious choice, the necessity for him to use his mind and energy to adopt goals and values, to find out about the world, to pursue his ends in order to survive and prosper, his capacity and need to communicate and interact with other human beings and to participate in the division of labor”…

To prefer #socialism is to prefer something that has proven disastrous and harmful everywhere it has been implemented–but equally so!

To prefer #capitalism is to prefer the only system that has ever lifted humans out of poverty–even if unequally. –

https://pics.me.me/chile-free-market-capitalism-turning-point-usa-economic-freedom-rank-tth-31688943.png

22. What is the Solution?

Free Enterprise (Capitalism) leads to Prosperity and Freedom while Socialism leads to Poverty and Bondage! Capitalism doesn’t come with a warranty or “money back” guarantee. Yet, it encourages individuality, creativity, opportunity, risk taking, ambition, pride, dignity, and a sense of accomplishment, promotion, and provision. As much as Socialist professes their disdain for capitalism, they’ve yet to offer a better system. The reason is simple; it doesn’t exist.

Myths, Lies and Capitalism – https://youtu.be/7_7Jv2oh9s4

What is Crony Capitalism? – https://youtu.be/4DxXHh-p-O4

23. Mottley did a song and a dance a foot shuffle and a back peddling trying to reach out to Sandals while yet using Sandals as a political football in Parliament
    Mottley knows what time it is.Bankers are telling govt to go take a hike we will no longer be lending govt or local businesses money look else where.
    Sandals need a guarantee provided from past govt agreements to secure a loan to build the resort
    Now if Mottley wants to play hard ball with investors she does it at her own peril with bankers on one side and investors on the other both telling govt to take a long walk on a short pier

24. Bankers are furious at this govt. Govt restructing of its debt is giving them the shitty end of the stick and in response Banks are saying No more loans to govt
    So at this point outside of taxing citizens to death to require funding to pay debt
    How will govt go forward with an alternative to fund its debt
    Barbadians can expect to be shitting brickd for a long time

25. Now if Mia wants to show that she is sincere in her actions going about doing what is in the best interest of the people she should place a list of all names of individuals corporations with in view of the public domain who generously benefitted from tax waivers (quote)

@ Mariposa

I believe you meant “WRITE-OFFS,” not tax waivers.”

Anyhow, I agree with you that a list of those people and businesses that benefited from the tax write offs should be published. I would suggest for the period 1980 to 2000.

However, as was implied by another contributor, I hope of the list is made available to the public, you don’t have a stroke If there are several business men who are closely affiliated to the DLP are on the said list.

For example, like the DEM who owns Blakie’s in Worthings, who used to cater for parliament at $300 per plate of food and given a lease to operate on the boardwalk without the appropriate approval.

If that is so, what would you day?

26. Robert Goren

I think you meant to say

” what would you (day) say”

I would say that was a step in the right direction

27. Free Enterprise (Capitalism) leads to Prosperity and Freedom while Socialism leads to Poverty and Bondage! Capitalism doesn’t come with a warranty or “money back” guarantee. Yet, it encourages individuality, creativity, opportunity, risk taking, ambition, pride, dignity, and a sense of accomplishment, promotion, and provision. (Quote)

Sometimes among the fog of hysteria that passes for discussion, we allow gems to pass us by. We are regularly told we need ‘small government’, by this is meant no ‘big government’ interference. However, about ten years ago the world had a major financial crisis that led to a global recession.
    Policy makers decided that the best way of dealing with this private sector (banking) created problem was to transfer the debt to the public balance sheet, through quantitative easing; further, to then reduce that debt a policy of so-called austerity was introduced, a policy of inflicting more economic pain on taxpayers.
    In the meantime, banks continued to operate as if nothing had happened; bankers continued to get their massive bonuses; and private enterprise continued to make profits and raise tax-free loans as if there was no tomorrow.
    Then people in some of the hardest hit countries tried to escape from the military repression and undemocratic and authoritarian governments that controlled their lives and they were barred, both in Europe (which led to Brexit) and Latin America (build the wall), and were described as murderers, rapists, gangsters, drug dealers.
    And people on BU, a black-focused blog, came on (and still come on) singing the praises of the new Hitler, rubbishing so-called big government, and walk away comfortable with themselves that they have done the right thing – and that this is the Christian thing to do.
    How enlightening.

28. ASSTIN, THOU OF PORCINE FACIES WHO CONTINUALLY SPEWS PORCINE FACIES

THE REASON DAT SOME FOLK ARE described as murderers, rapists, gangsters, drug dealers.IS BECAUSE THEY ARE murderers, rapists, gangsters, drug dealers. THE RECORD ABOUT THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED

BY THE WAY MUSCLE BRAIN THE WALL IS BEING BUILT A LONG BEUTIFUL WALL
    AS YOU SAY ITS ENLIGHTENING ——-THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED

WHO IS THE NEW HITLER? ARE YOU REFERRING TO MIA MAO MUGABE MUTTLEY THE PRIMEWICKER AND DICTATOR OF BARBADOS ……..THIS CAN NOT BE REFUTED

NOW YOU CAN STEW IN YOUR DYSPLASIA
    THE SON OF THE DOMINICAN WHO CAME TO BIM ON HER DADDY’S BOAT HAS SPOKEN LOL

29. ASSTIN

YOU SAY YOU ARE A JOURNALIST AND SEEK TO QUESTION THE FREEDOM CRIER
    HER POSTS MAKE MORE SENSE AND CONTAIN MORE TRUTH THAN THE PORCINE FAECES THAT YOU SEEK TO DISTRIBUTE VIA YOUR PORCINE FACIES UH LIE?

ONE WONDERS ARE YOU JUST A CLOWN? OR ARE YOU A WHOLE CIRCUS?

30. Farmers sent a loud message of raising there prices to meet the newest barrage of water taxes
    Yes the handwriting on the wall says that barbadian households are in for the worst economic times and an economy spiralling at brek neck speed into depression
    High taxation contributes to people low or no spending power
    Slow or no spending power by the people creates a fiscal vaccum and depletes the local economy of growth and sufficient revenue
    But then again with all these economic advisors one would have belived govt would be given the economic or fiscal information necessary by way of preventive measures to stop barbados economy from spiralling into a dark and deadly path of depression

31. When you are anonymous, you can fabricate any story. When you identify yourself you have to tell the truth because dozens, if not hundreds, of people know you. What was the name of the schooner?

32. The Financial Crisis was caused by Government Interference and Greed and the Genesis of it was Caused by Government Interference. It was caused by the Democrat Policies by pushing Banks to give people loans that they would not qualify for in the name of Social Equity. Bill Clinton passed the Laws to allow that, and the Greed was caused by the Issuance of Derivatives being passed off as good investments.

When the housing market crashed that the Derivatives were based on, the cards came tumbling down. They are more houses as a percentage under water in Barbados than they were at the height of the financial problem but because we do not have a Secondary Derivatives Market our homes are not sold out from under us as fast.

In Barbados we have individual mortgages, in the US at the time they grouped thousands of these individual mortgages together and sold it as one loan so when individual house loans started to go belly up, the grouping of all the individual mortgages was now considered a bad loan. Under American Law at the time the Banks had to sell their Bad loans within three months, and so thousands of people’s homes were sold for cents on the Dollar, whither they were making their payments or not! I do not doubt that it was Engineered but its Genesis was from the Corrupt Laws that were passed, that they were warned that it was not good to do that and it had its Genesis in the Leftist Philosophy of ‘if you can afford it or not you should still be able to buy a house.’ That was a Sure Recipe for Disaster.

Before all the Bundles of Mortgages were sold, the number of individual mortgage failures is lower than what they are in Barbados as a Percentage. Hal called this “the Biggest failure of the Financial System,” This was caused by Leftist Philosophy of Equality in Outcome and the System of CRONYISM took advantage of this as they always do in Leftist Regulations.

We have always said that one of the Functions of Government is to prevent fraud. Although this was Rampant Fraud NOT ONE PERSON WENT TO JAIL but they choose a Scapegoat, the Lehman Brothers to take the fall, but this was just the Rivalries between the Banks and the Lehman Brothers did not have the ear of the Government at the time.

All of this Occurred by One Democrat Government hiding the Sins of another Democrat Government and the world suffered. Leftist/Socialist Corruption Kills!! So many people lost their jobs because the economy crashed and whole families Committed Suicide.

So Hal what has this got to Do with the Colour of who writes on BU? When we continue to look through the Prism of Racism our Vision becomes much Distorted and we make the wrong Judgements and Choices. Sadly Racism is Divisive Fodder for those who feed off such!

https://thelibertarianrepublic.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/Housing-Bubble.jpg

33. MAN YOU HAVE IDENTIFIED YOURSELF AND YOU DONT TELL THE TRUTH

THIS WEEK YOU WERE EXPOSED ABOUT TELLING UNTRUTHS ABOUT SICKLE CELL RESEARCH AT MONA. DAVID BROUGHT BACK YOUR SILLY ARTICLE THAT I DESTROYED BACK THEN, WHICH INDICATED YOU ARE A NASTY STINKING LIAR

I AM NOT A JOURNALIST OR A WRITER SO I HAVE NO NEED TO FABRICATE FABLES

What was the name of the schooner? HOW DOES MUSCLE BRAIN SOUND? OR DYSPLASTIC BRAIN?

I AM SUPPOSED TO KNOW DETAILED INFO ABOUT STUFF THAT HAPPENED YEARS BEFORE MY TIME, JACK ASS?
    WHAT A PETTY PITHY PISSY PUTRID PURULENT PUNK YOU ARE!

IS THIS AN EXAMPLE OF HOW YOU CARRIED ON AS A JOURNALIST?

MAKING UP STORIES ABOUT FOLK YOU DONT KNOW AND SEEKING TO DEGRADE PERSON’S PARENTS BECAUSE THEY TELL THE TRUTH ABOUT YOUR MUSCLE BRAIN?

HERE YOU
    AND THERE WAS A CERTAIN WOMAN WHO CAME TO BARBADOS AS A WAIF AMIDST THE MANGOES FIGS AND OTHER PRODUCE THAT BARBADOS DID NOT PRODUCE TO BECOME A DOMESTIC LIVING IN NELSON STREET………….AND SHE BORE A SON WHOM SHE TAUGHT FRENCH PATOIS, WHICH HE USED TO GAIN ENTRANCE TO THE BEST SCHOOLS IN BARBADOS, FROM WHENCE HE GAINED PROFESSIONAL TRAINING BEFORE BEING PUT OUT TO PASTURE AT AN EARLY AGE. NOW HE DOTH EAT OAT MEAL BECAUSE IT IS WRITTEN “OAT MEAL IS BETTER THAN NO MEAL”

ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE TRACKS WAS HAL ASSTIN WHO HAD ALL THE PRIVILGES OF BEING A FULL BRED BAJAN BUT HAD TO FLEE TO THE ONCE, BUT NO LONGER GREAT BRITAIN FOR SUSTENANCE, CAUSE HE WAS MUCH TOO DUMB TO ADVANCE IN BIMSHIRE, DESPITE THE BEST PRIMARY SCHOOL TEACHING AT ST GILES, BEING WASTED UPON HIM…..AND WHERE HIS STUPID UNDER DEVELOPED BRAIN BECAME SO DYSPLASTIC THAT HIS ALREADY BETZPAENIC CELLS BECAME RECTAL SMOOTH MUSCLE TISSUE.

CONSEQUENTIAL HE THINKS AND TALKS SHIT

34. Hal Austin,

Your last substantive contribution explained things perfectly. The bailout of the banking and financial sector by the taxpayers who already paid for their services. Banks continuing on unscathed. You have also made some good submissions on crime that you need to get back to.

Why waste time with nonsense insults that are untrue?

Nobody cares if you came from the Ivy. Some human beings come from the Ivy.

And nobody cares that GP’s mother was a Dominican. If she married a Barbadian she was also a Barbadian.

Here it is that I am being told that I need a man in my life……..

Reason why I gave them up – you are, most of you, too egotistical. There is no reasoning with you.

#happiestdaysofmylife

35. Where did it say I discussed research on sickle cell at Mona? I mentioned sickle cell twice: once, that the Caribbean should be a centre for research on the disease, for the simple reason that Caribbean sufferers are among the leading sufferers; and in mentioning that a young relative had embarked on research on the disease.
    Post for everyone to read anything I said about research at Mona on the disease (I won’t bore people any more than they already have by re-posting the contributions). Also, name the schooner.

36. asstin

david put back up your silly post and exposed your lying and ignorance of the subject

you are both a clown and a whole circus
    go read your stupid article again and recall how i smashed the shit you wrote then

37. Today there will be plenty hand wringing between govt and Unions as Liat fate now hangs in the hands of employees and unions
    Employees now being asked to take a six percent pay cut to save the dying airline
    The out come is all but obvious since having to live in hard econmic times and having no job becomes a no win for the employees
    Having said the above it is apparently clear that at some point and time the brakes would be put on this airline
    No if s or buts it just a matter of when

38. Everybody salary being cut and poor people heads being put on the econmic chopping board
    Makes for wonder when will Mia do or ask the same from her bloated cabinet and expensive consultants
    Or do they have a special exemption from ” staying the course”

39. Wait bozie.you don’t read that Liat employees had a big salary cut
    And the Transport board cut employees today
    And that govt still plan on keeping its bloated cabinet in tack and have no plans of cutting them salaries

40. Just another update food prices are in the up and up category as farmers protest the water hikes by stating the new tax rate (would) all but account for price hike in foods
    Have you not noticed that today BU had diverted attention from this BAD News by posting an article call Chocolate
    How sweet! Wuhloss muh belly

41. Oh before i forget
    Bankers are furious at Mottley for giving them the shitty end of the stick of the stick in its restructing of debt
    Vowing not to lend govt any money

• What the banker said is that banks will not lend to governments with debt to gdp of greattthan 60%. At 160% of Godwin’s was unsustainable. What would you have done? Continue to print 50 million monthly to pay civil servants salaries?

42. One veteran banker has likened Government domestic debt restructuring plan to that of “an axe in the heart of banks”, while giving a strong indication that commercial banks will no longer be willing to take on Government debt, other than what they are mandated to by law. Chairman of Republic Financial Holdings Limited Ronald Harford […ald Harford suggested that banks would be even more skeptical about investing in Government paper, following the deal reached with them last year.

He was speaking while taking part in a panel discussion at the 10th Domestic Financial Institutions Conference at the Central Bank on Thursday under the theme Repositioning Barbados’ Financial Sector.

“Banks have to revisit their thinking about lending to Government. I think the goal that the Government has, of having a debt to GDP of 60 per cent is going to visit them [banks] in their needs to access capital from today . . . [and] the banks are going to take a view that if they are going to lend to Government the debt to GDP must not exceed 60 per cent,” said Harford.

“So the vast majority of the islands will not be able to access capital from the banking system, they will have to go to the CDB [Caribbean Development Bank], IMF [and others] to finance their debt, and that is a lesson that came home very clearly and has sunk into the psyche of the banks in the region,” he said, as he pointed out that the banks lost heavily on a number of Government securities in the region.

In its 2018 annual report published last December, Republic Financial said that increased provisions resulting from the impact of the Government default and subsequent restructuring of its debt had resulted in a $22 million decrease in the profit of its Barbados operation after tax.

As at September 30, 2018, the bank’s commercial banking subsidiary had made a total provision of TT$727 million for its exposure to the Barbados Government.

“When in negotiating the restructuring of the debt, the Barbados Government could say to the banks if you lend to a country whose debt to GDP exceeds 140 per cent, you can’t be serious about getting back all of your money, that was like an axe that went into the heart of the banks. We will need to be [wiser] about how we go forward, it is a very strong and brutal lesson that we have learned,” said Harford.

As at December 2017, commercial banks were required by law to hold 20 per cent of their deposits in stipulated Government securities and at September last year, commercial banks had a total of $180.7 million in Government debt.

Back in September, Government had announced that it had reached a debt restructuring deal for domestic holders of Government debt, while promising that a similar deal for external creditors would be announced in the not-too-distant future.

Under that deal, which was finalized for domestic debt holders in last October, the majority of loans were swapped for new debt instruments, with lower interest rates and a longer period over which they would be repaid.]

43. The facts being that barbados has a long way to go for such an economic reality of lowering GDP to satisfy bankers appetitite for loaning govt debt
    As of now govt would have to continue on a plan of borrowing and using barbadian households as collateral by way of austerity policies and initiatives directed by the IMF
    NO not printing money but after ten years in the wilderness it is mind boggling that outside of harsh criticisms govt does not have the vision or wherewithal of creating a productive growth plan for the economy
    The Bad news being dolled out today is sufficient to tell that govt would be relying heavily on the IMf for further funding
    If what barbadian households are feeling in the firm of economic pain the reality of mire to come is very much real

44. So liat is everybody?

So what if the banks don’t want to lend? Were you not on that crying down borrowing by government?

45. “the Barbados Government could say to the banks if you lend to a country whose debt to GDP exceeds 140 per cent, you can’t be serious about getting back all of your money,”
    Sweet. Calling a spade a spade.
    The Banks are at fault to a degree, for their choice was to avoid political involvement. The SECURITY of SOVEREIGN DEBT is the ability of a government to TAX its people. The loans to a Sovereign have NO COLLATERAL, and when the citizens are already taxed to the bawla, and we are still several hundred thousand away from Fiscal Balance, it was up to the Banks to say NO MORE.
    When we read the exposure of the Banks, I shudder to think of the exposure of the NIS. A topic on which the GoB has been largely silent.

• @Northern Observer

True, also you might add the financial institutions were forced to buy government securities.

46. John2 . are you simply being dumb
    Cant you see the reality of all thatvis happening because of present govt policies backed by the IMF
    Dont you understand that going forward when govt can no longer use taxation as a plan to pay debt and the local economy starts to feel the pain of loss revenue the either or plan as was demonstrated by Liat to its employees would go into full swing
    This is no joke becasuse more barbadian households would be feeling the effects as well as local business who struggle to keep their businesses afloat
    Tourist spend down unemployment going through the roof
    The question then remains where would govt get necessary funding to pay debt and keep the economy in good standing
    As for her cabinet the strain of wanting to please her and their constituients would be too much to handle
    Mia constrain mechanism might be in place to keep her ministers under control but for how long

47. Another story being reported is that banks are not lending startup business funding but if one read tge article where it is stated that banks are furious with govt
    The article also indicates because of govt inability to pay the banks debt banks would become tougher in their lending practices to local business
    In todays new the head of BES was speaking about the hardened lending practices which banks continue to holdfast
    Mia long arm of unilateralism has closed many financial oppirtunties for local business and those having ideas of starting their own business
    The economic news continues to get dire for the local economy

48. Another story which BU would not highlight would be that of increase rents expected because of the tax increases on property which include office space.
    Another blow to households renting and the local economy thus business renting spaces in malls and other industrial sites
    It took past govt ten years to make decision that were harsh
    In ten months prsent govt has taken upon itself to use a sharpened axe and destroy the lives of many barbadians while asking them to stay the course
    Well Well

49. Govt policies are presenting an ever present danger of two paths one of expanding social welfare for the poor and vulnerable
    The other of inviting nefarious guest to peddle their illegal wares in barbados
    When people are hungry and bills to be paid and there are no alternatives people look to what best service there needs
    So far govt policies are hurting people without having a remdy whereby those being hurt can seek meaningful resolution like having jobs while bajan households are getting closer to the poverty line
    Where are the voices that were calling for change now that change has arrived in the most devastating manner
    Where is the voice of DavidBU who thought of himself as a voice to be one of transparency but see it now fit to say nothing on behalf of barbadians whose lives are being completly torn apart because of govt policies

50. Yardfowl status notwithstanding, Mariposa has posed some questions that need discussion. One should not dismiss her valid questions with cryptic comments. We are well aware that this administration is walking a tightrope. The management of any economy is a balancing act but at least we should debate how balance can be achieved.

If we seek to be credible we must discuss her concerns with an open mind even though we know that her beloved DLP was totally incompetent to say the least and tipped the balance so far that drastic measures may now have to be taken to stop a fall into the abyss.

At least Mariposa poses some substance rather than cockadoodledos! We should just answer her points and refute them if we have another view.

Just saying.

• @Donna

What is your point? The blogmaster has had to defend against yardfowls from both sides of the political fence since 2007.

The poor will always be with us.

Under the Dees we highlighted.

Under the Bees it will be highlighted.

The struggle will be to ensure the government establishes a strong safety net.

However, we are aware pre May 24, 2018 general election what was the situation.

Sewage spewing in the streets, garbage blowing across our roads, roads with the deepest potholes, government printing 50 million monthly to pay salaries, foreign exchange reserves at 300 million, credit rating down grades, zero confidence etc etc etc…

The government has had to take tough decisions to arrest the situation- we have discuss this ad nauseam. When austerity measures are implemented it will not be a happy time for obvious reasons.

The blogmaster has posted his position on the bus fare matter, the waiver of tax penalties and awarding a knighthood to her father and other issues. The blogmaster has allowed others to post dissenting positions as well.

Now pray tell what more would you want this blogmaster to say? The blogmaster does not have to respond to every comment on the blog especially if the philosophy and perspective on most matters are known.

Some of us love to nitpick. We have a blog where there are multiple items critical of government, yet we have some who feel comfortable throwing criticisms the way of the blogmaster for being partisan. The idiocy!

Hope this is not too cryptic for you.

51. Not expecting any response since the blp yardfowls seem to have taken the same posture as the dlp one of hibernation
    Never thought that a 30- 0 victory would have given silence to the many blp operatives who invaded BU for ten years ( with the exception of 2)
    In any case i will pin point and highlight the Policies of govt which have a cascading diwnward spiral of negativity to the nations economy
    I might be the lone voice but one that is necessary

52. Mariposa March 30, 2019 7:45 AM

What can Help any Country including Barbados is to Apply More Free Market Capitalism Principles that when Applied Brings Prosperity to All, at Every Level in Society…

Do you have a Problem with Prosperity for All?

Employment is NOT Servitude, Employment is when Employers pay Employees for their Labour..

Socialism is when We Are All Employees and HAVE TO PAY OUR EMPLOYER THE STATE.

We Cannot Trust A System That Is Feeding Off The People.

In Barbados we have no Natural resources to prop up our Economy

Bringing this reality of full Blown Socialism close to home are our neighbors in Venezuela and the ills they are suffering with corruption on every level by their elected officials. The Government controls the largest known oil reserves in the world, yet the Country is Broke. They also control through compulsory means the food distribution system, yet there is little food and people scavenge to survive. There is diminutive water and energy shortages, not even to speak about basic commodities and medical supplies and needed medications! Yet they blame America for all their tribulations, it is never their fault! Want to guess who the richest person in Venezuela is! None other than Hugo Chavez’s daughter.

Any country on earth is capable of creating the like, watch the trend or patterns evolving you only need to follow the path to Venezuela. Attack property rights and Trade, Pillage the Rich, abolish the Price System, Jail Dissenters, crush the opposition, and dismantle the System of National Liberty. This is Socialism; it is a path to Hell on Earth. How many steps are we in Barbados away from this Peril? We sure are on a downward slope.

http://i.imgur.com/4MUfF0h.jpg

53. There is Only One Way Out of Poverty

What’s the best way to help people stuck in poverty get out of poverty?

Listen I like you could never envision our country in this situation…but from where I am standing we are in some deep sewage and some choose to bury their heads in the sand

Choose to make Barbados great, if you want change be the change!

RECOGNIZE THAT SOCIALISM IS A SLOW PROCESS OF ROT AND DECAY.
    Where is Our Presence System of Governance under Socialism Leading with Unrestrained Taxation?

Capitalism (Free Market System) versus Socialism which Encourages Cronyism and Theft through Taxation!!

We are on a Very Slippery Slope…

Free Markets Create Prosperity.

Socialism Creates Poverty.

https://nicomaque.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/35f04-539569_10150927547660778_1014556084_n.jpg?w=640&h=400

54. When Freedom stated that In Barbados we have no Natural resources to prop up our Economy…meaning compared to the once Rich Venezuela with one of the Largest Oil Reserves and Gold… And look at that country now…

You can’t solve a problem without knowing the root cause…that is like taking panadol for a headache when you have a busted blood vessel in the brain! and you feel you fixing things!

Modern medicine treats the symptoms not the cause. because if they get you to take a pill a day for your life they make money, if they cure you they won’t get any money tomorrow…

If you ask what we should do, you cannot treat the symptoms only you have to use the symptoms to lead you to the root cause… then you can fix the problem…i have been speaking about the cause of our ills for a long time and some still don’t get it… especially lefties!!

What socialist governments advocate is more government to solve problems that government caused in the first place!!

One vicious circle that goes round and round and we end up in a socialist mayhem of sewage!!

We need desperately to reduce the size of government leaching off the people…we exist to feed their edits…how long can a parasitical entity live off of we the people… will depends on how much it feeds!

Why have a parasite at all…i am not anti government…i am anti biggggggg government!

Small government is by the people for the people…big government is for big government…

They are no longer servants of the people they have become the masters of the people!!

Oversized Government with its Ideology that is Rooted Socialism, has been such a Stealthy Culprit, that we have come to accept it without questioning. We need to understand that it’s all about Control, Control, Control with Endless Rules and Regulation that are incumbent upon the people.

THERE IS ONLY ONE WAY OUT!

https://pics.me.me/ce-venezuela-has-failed-not-because-socialism-has-been-badly-27833178.png

55. Donna
    Mariposa and her doom and gloom will soon be proven wrong with the 1st quarter GDP report..

Remember this

In any case i will pin point and highlight the Policies of govt which have a cascading diwnward spiral of negativity to the nations economy.

56. 🙂
    Read and reread Donna’s statement and did not see it as directed to a specific individual.
    🙂

57. @NO
    The Banks are at fault to a degree, for their choice was to avoid political involvement. The SECURITY of SOVEREIGN DEBT is the ability of a government to TAX its people. The loans to a Sovereign have NO COLLATERAL, and when the citizens are already taxed to the bawla, and we are still several hundred thousand away from Fiscal Balance, it was up to the Banks to say NO MORE.
    +++++++++++++++
    Easier said than done, the Banks owe their operating licenses to he Gov’t and the Gov’t of the day could make things very difficult for the Banks not that they would actually withdraw or cancel the licenses but it could put the screws to the Banks in many ways. These decisions were not made at the local level but in some boardrooms like TO and you are savvy enough to know this. The HO’s are aware of the political machinations and fall out that it would suffer if it said “NO” to the Gov’t, the Banks will do anything to protect their investment until they believe they believe it is not worth protecting anymore.

BTW you should know that Banks (even in Canada) are not immune to political pressure, remember several years ago when CIBC and TD announced their intention to merge and the Federal Min of Finance objected? The still operate as independent entities today.

58. Theo,

The message was received by the one for who it was intended.

What I am trying to say to you is that persons visiting the blog for the first time would be of an opinion that you are biased. It was your cryptic dismissive tone that did it. I am thinking about those who are not ole timers, who have not seen your previous submissions. It does no good for them to put you in the same boat as Mariposa and Lorenzo..

No need to get sarcastic and acid.

Just a suggestion from a well-wisher.

• @Donna

The blogmaster tends to be dismissive of yardfowl comments, Your feedback is noted.

On Sat, Mar 30, 2019 at 1:40 PM Barbados Underground wrote:

59. It is not a matter of the ” poor always being with us” but what matters are govt ungoing measures that will create more poverty where there was none
    David if u cant see that govt measures would have a drastic slowing of spend creating high inflation as local businesses tries to make up for lost revenue which will lead to depression all of which works against the betterment of creating a healthy economy
    The banks might have plenty of money but when an economy is ailing the banks would hold back on lending money taking into effect high unemployment as one of many reasons
    An econmomy can be likened to a boomerang where when tossed it comes back to the direction from where it was thrown
    So far all econmic indicators reflect an econmomy having steriod taxation with no creation of growth to balance negative effects

60. Oh
    Now I have to re-calibrate all of my BU meters..
    I thought the blogmaster was a bit sensitive but I was wrong…
    His meters are working fine

61. It would be interesting to know the data of high inflation in barbados present time
    One can bet that such statictics would be hidden from the eyes and ears of the people
    What is refecting from the smoke and mirror policies of govt is a govt on a mad dash to repay the measly 29million loan from the IMF by any means necessary

62. WE IN THE CARIBBEAN WE HAVE THE TOPMOST EXAMPLES OF THE FAILURE OF SOCIALISM/COMMUNISM BEING CUBA & VENEZUELA…YET WE TURN A BLIND EYE!!

DO YOU KNOW HOW ABSURD FREEDOM MUST SOUND TO THOSE WHO ARE COMFORTABLE IN SLAVERY AND FIGHT HARD TO RETAIN IT?

THINK ABOUT IT…“YOU MAY CHOOSE TO LOOK THE OTHER WAY BUT YOU CANNOT SAY THIS TIME THAT YOU NEVER KNEW” William Wilberforce

What is the Opposite of Capitalism?

Statism, in any form!

Statism is the concentration of power in the state at the expense of individual freedom. Capitalism is the only system which protects individual rights and freedom, but the variety of political systems which violate individual freedom are numerous: Socialism, Communism, Fascism, Nazism, absolute Monarchies, Military Dictatorships, Theocracies, or the Welfare State are all systems which infringe upon individual rights, which means they institutionalize the initiation of force against their citizens.

It must be realized that there are only two fundamental political philosophies: those who are for freedom and individual rights and those who are against them. The types of political systems who are against freedom and individual rights are numerous, for there are many ways to violate the rights of man, but there is only one political-economic philosophy which upholds that the rights of man are absolute and immutable—Capitalism.

http://btl.ticadine.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Screen-Shot-2018-02-02-at-12.36.48-PM-768×430.png

63. “Yardfowl status notwithstanding, Mariposa has posed some questions that need discussion. One should not dismiss her valid questions with cryptic comments.”

Donna

I believe many of us who contribute to BU knows and understand the role Mariposa has to play in this forum…… but at times she can ask one or two pertinent questions that deserves answers and further discussion.

However, her comments re: “The facts being that barbados has a long way to go for such an ECONOMIC REALITY of LOWERING GDP to satisfy bankers appetitite for loaning govt debt…”

…………negates those “few and far between” moments of inspiration and causes any reasonable and rational thinking individual not to read any further comments and opt to remain silent.

Are you aware of the harsh repercussions if David BU or I had written that comment?

That’s why I always “say,” it’s not about WHAT is written…….. it’s about WHO wrote it.

64. First and not last My comments are a reality to what is happening and will continue to this economy
    The media seems to be waking up to such facts and can no longer hid the negative factors that would be a drag on the economy hence the economic stories which media now see reasons to highlight( which soon might lead to the parting of a love nest between them and govt)
    As for u Artax let me remind you as David stated recently
    Dont make Mariposa the story but rather deal with govt policies that are taking the country into a tailspin of high unemployment decrease wages high inflation poverty and expanded social programs

65. Would be very much surprised if the blp operatives who frequented BU say anything about the suffering and pain like the bombastic attacks which were levelled at past govt policies
    Cant imagine how any of them can sleep at night knowning that they input of calling for change for better has turned into bitter medicine implented by present govt for an entire population
    When one take a read at today’s articles it makes one wept for what has taken place within 10 mths
    No Artax it is not about Mariposa but the barrage of harsh policies which the present govt is using to reconstruct an ailing economy

66. Free Enterprise Capitalism which is what Donald Trump’s Policies are All About that is why America has the Strongest Economy right now . Free Enterprise Capitalism is not to be CONFUSED with Crony Capitalism which Socialist Governments Practice where Big Business Collude with Government for Kick Backs as in Hillary’s Play to Pay!!

You need to Understand that There is a Difference between Free Market (Capitalism) and Socialism… There is a Stark Difference…

How is Free Enterprise “Capitalism” better than Socialism?

All of the big cities in America have democratic mayors and are cities that have the highest unemployment rate, the highest poverty rate, the most crime, the most homelessness, the most crooked politicians, most lawlessness… and they have the highest government pension liabilities that they can never repay…and since they cannot repay they are reducing the cities liabilities by 50%-100%….

How is that for being the caring gang they claim to be? Everything they do pretending to be caring creates misery, including the deserted and abandoned neighbourhoods as in Detroit…while California has now become the homeless capital of America. It is also the state with the most people leaving.

Freedom Crier Celebrates the Spirit of Freedom and tries to live in accordance with that of individual Sovereignty, which Independence has been given to each individual by a wise and loving God. I am truly grateful for ability to make Correct Choices even when faced with Gut Wrenching Oppression that threaten the very fabric our existence, through the Tragedy of Government-Overreach, Whither B Or D!

https://pics.me.me/your-house-on-socialisim-ap-your-politicians-house-on-socialism-35959192.png

67. Skip to main content
    Barbados Advocate

A GUY’S VIEW: POOR PEOPLE DEAD
    Sun, 03/31/2019 – 1:12am
    BY:
    R. E. GUYSON MAYERS
    “And you tell me that the world progress
    You tell me to look ahead
    But all I see is dread
    All I see is poor people dead
    Poor people dead…
    So how the world progress
    When the rich don’t care ‘bout the rest
    And got the world in a mess
    All I see is poor people dead.”

Poor People Dead – Poem by Aja.

The gullible may regard it as a stroke of genius. A Government elected less than one year has embarked on an election style campaign to rally its base to continue suffering in support of its programmes which are devastating the poor in the land. This is unheard of in these parts, but it speaks to the reality which this country now faces and elaborate attempts to obfuscate this reality.

Taxes are cut for the rich, the famous and the infamous, but a heavier burden is placed on the backs of those who are least able to bear it. And those poor people who are treated like beasts of burden are given T-shirts to sloganize their suffering. Stay the course.
    It is often necessary in capitalist states for the masses to be persuaded to act in ways that are contrary to their interests. This is usually achieved through sophistry and persuasive speech. But even then, it works because the people hope for what they do not see. In the current Barbados case, the people who are asked to commit suicide see the sword that is hanging over them and are still willing to put their necks on the block. This is exceptional behaviour that demands psychiatric evaluation.

Contemplating what our poor people are now facing brought to my mind an old Charles Johnson hymn called Rough Side of the Mountain. When you know the words you would recognise that only black people sing this.

“Oh lord I’m striving
    trying to make it through this barren land
    but as I go from day to day
    I can hear my savior say
    trust me child
    come home
    I’ll hold your hand

I’m coming up
    On the rough side
    Of the mountain.
    Of the mountain …
    and I’m doing my best to make it in

I’m coming up lord
    I’m coming up lord yes
    although my burdens
    sometime press me down
    if I could only keep the faith
    I would have strength
    just to run this race
    lord I’m lookin lookin for my stary crown….”

Poor people in Barbados are being put to the sword unnecessarily, and almost all of the media bases in the country have been mobilized to tell them to stay the course. Suffer for no good reason and wait for your pie in the sky – your starry crown. Damn them.
    Meanwhile, those who wield the whip sit pretty like demigods. And the armchair experts sit and discuss why our young people are determined to chart another course for themselves, even if we call it criminal. Our labels no longer phase them.

God did not place the rich man in his castle and the poor man at his gate. Unfortunately, someone has been able to persuade our poor that they belong as beggars at the gate or in Queen’s Park receiving handouts. Our people need to stop imbibing whatever Kool Aid is fed to them and think.

Bus fares are about to be raised to a level that many unemployed and under employed persons will struggle to pay. The hue and cry went up to heaven. The solution was not one of compassion. Here came the solution: you can’t afford $3.50 per ride, so find $84 to buy tickets in bulk. The depths of the lack of care and respect for poor people are unplumbed.

We have a tradition that many of us eat fish on what we call Good Friday. Flying fish is a part of our national dish. I recently saw a price list for fish and a ten pack of flying fish was listed at $28. Poor persons with large families use flying fish because every member of the family could have a fish and it worked out cheaper than pound fish.

Flying fish used to be a cheap source of protein, but no more. Ten boned flying fish cannot take a family very far in terms of satisfying their nutritional or satiation requirements. The National Social Responsibility Levy (NSRL) has been removed, but this was not a direct tax on consumers and supermarket prices have not changed. In fact, many items are more expensive now than they were before the removal of that levy. One difference is that now, thousands of Barbadians no longer have jobs and many who received salary increases take home less money. So what are poor people to do in this current environment of punishment? Poor people dead.

If you bought a piece of land when things were better and you have since been sent home from your job or because of uncertainty you cannot afford to build anything on it, you will now be punished by higher taxes for having the temerity to try to acquire something more than a car. And if you cannot pay the increased taxes, it may not be long before the Government confiscates your land and sells it to those with ready cash. In recent years, this has been one avenue of land transfer from those poor people who struggled to own a piece of the rock to others who have been busy taking it at a discounted price.

Poor people dead.

68. The whole of barbados would slowly awaken to the fact that Mottley interest was one of selserving driven by an insatiable appetite to be Prime Minster
    Now having received that title she has nothing to offer the poor and vulnerable but found herself caught up in a lethal tide of appeasement while rewarding the rich in many hidden ways unknown to the unsuspecting eye
    The taxes will bear fruit for the haves will the have nots would be the burden carriers
    God help them all

69. How did Guyson Mayers work the price of flying fish into the equation? Even moi who is a slouch at economics know that there is the principle of “supply and demand” and everyone knows that the price of fish increases when Easter is around the corner.

Last time I saw them they were selling at 10 for $20.00 but Easter was still a few weeks away, and when I was out on a boat I saw some “flying” just above the surface of the water I should have brought along my net or a gutta perk.

70. R. E. Guyson Mayers……….

……. a former DLP candidate who, under the previous administration was paid $300,000 for fifteen months work to prepare a nondescript report supported by technical tools costing $224,000……. which should have been undertaken by someone working in the Financial Intelligence Unit………

………. is NOW concerned about poor people……. the same poor people for whom he showed little or no concern during the tenure of his political party.

And we’re now being asked to consider the “fake sympathy” being exhibited by this political goon and yard-fowl.

71. Was expecting your blp yardfowl response
    Nothing moves you as to what is happening presently to many barbadian households
    As to what happen under the past govt nothing of what was done can be compared to the harsh and bruttal economic punushment levelled on the barbadian household by this givt within 10 months
    Your attacks on past govt are beginning to ring hallow as more barbadians realised that the smoke and mirror policies of this govt have them shi..ting bricks
    As if to make matters worse and rub the bajan nose 👃 in more sh.it the mitigated gall of printing Tee shirts stating ” stay the Course”

72. David flip what script
    This is an IMF script that present govt has handed to the people using the people as collerateral to pay back barbados debt
    No body in their right mind and having a presence or a morsel of moral attitude can sit with closed mouth and endorse these harsh and literally unrealistic measures on a population of mostly elderly and underpaid income earners
    Nobody unless your mind ia virtually closed to what is right or wrong
    What most sticks out in Guyson comments is govt trying to make fools out of the most vulnerable asking them to stay the course of pain and suffering

73. Oh Mr. Transparency one

The one who stood on a BU platform and called for Transparency
    Where are u now that govt has used the left hand of unilateralism to deceived the people
    How about telling us if the sh.ite in the worthing beach has stopped flowing from the South coast Sewer system and all is enviromentally sound in the wetlands
    Boy u tell me that i have no credibility to which i respond you are a bold faced HYPOCRITE

74. Good question Donna maybe u should get get a hold of the Auditors general report as far back as 2003 and upwards and see how the money was dollied up between the haves and have nots

75. Yes, the script has definitely been flipped.

When people were questioning policies such as the increase in taxes, the implementation of additional taxes and retrenchment of public sector employees under the previous Freundel Stuart led inept DLP administration, this same shameless, deceitful DLP yard-fowl, using the monikers ac/Angela Skeete/Angela Cox/Coxable, continually came to this forum accusing people of being unpatriotic, putting their self-interest first and not that of the country and they should “wrap themselves in the flag.”

Now old taxed are being increased, new taxes implemented and civil servants are to be retrenched under this current BLP administration…….. she is now presenting criticisms similar to those proffered by critics of the previous administration.

Donna, I suggest you not only read the 2003 Auditor General Report, but read ALL the reports compiled thereafter…… 2004-2005 to 2016-2017.

I suspect the 2017-2018 report will be VERY interesting.

76. Blp yard fowl but wunna promise better and now giving better and expect people to close mouth and say nutting
    U got to be betwiched or down right flooish
    The bell was rang the people spoke and the mandate to deliver is a bitter pill stamped Stay the course
    Yuh got to be mad as sh.it to endorse such madness

77. Ole man yuh 11 mths late there is a new govt and the dlp not in power
    Not interested in telling me wuh happen ten years ago
    Interested in knowning wuh happening now
    Just a reminder where the dlp failed
    Mia promised to do better
    So yuh cartoons only serve purpose fuh nuttin

78. No dufus, the cartoons are still on target because it shows the hypocrite that you are and that 10 months ago your government of hypocrites were doing the same shy$e

I am always ond to promote alternative perspectives but YOU ARE NOT ENTITLED TO EVEN SAY ONE EFFING WORD.

Because you and your government of incompetent crooks are responsible for the GoB fvckery the cuntry is in

And all uh wunna asses should be locked up.

Like Pornville is right now

http://imgur.com/u1k8rPn

79. Lol.fart in de eye of de ole man
    Yuh gots to be crazier than a fox
    How de f.u can call my name as accessory to any wrong doings allegedly as you stated govt had done
    Where are your facts or evidence to support such slander enough and sufficient to have me put in jail
    You got to be crazeee
    Oops time to take yuh meds ole man
    Just because i would not take favour tonyour TURD PARTY you unleash a viciuos attack on me

80. I see “piece’ is drawing fires from at least 4 sources.

Mariposa throwing blows at him. Looks as if her orders weer coming through even a few weeks after the elections, but now she is all over the place.

The nameless 1’s throwing blows at him,

SirSimple looking for his/herpound of flesh and

Mr Goering ready to put some licks in him

Grenville ready to eat him with pepper

Hold the fort comrade……..

81. Yes ManyPussy

And you know who else f. Up?

http://imgur.com/WmCuLH2

Wunna really hate de ole man Doan.

Whu I do wunna?

All I does do is mek Stoopid Cartoons yet all uh wunna vex bad!!

Did I jilted you ManyPussy? Woman you too bugly for de ole man to approach!

Was I supposed to give you a referral or something?

Did I write Chvunt on your CV?

Whuloss girl I sorry but if I had write RH de interviewers would had you lock up.

And bout de medication, I tekking de sand anti retroviral pills as blacklips Downlowe …

You are so easy to wind up doah

Leave a comment, join the discussion.