Submitted by DAVID  COMISSIONG, Citizen of Barbados

CAUSES

Barbados owes a great debt of gratitude to Ms Cheryl Willoughby, Director of the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit (CJRPU), Ms Sabrina Roach, Research Officer at the CJRPU, and to Mr Sanka Price, Nation Newspaper reporter, for so clearly outlining the fundamental causes of our country’s crime problem in two articles published in the Nation Newspaper of Tuesday 26th February 2019!

The critical points made in the articles are as follows:-

1. National crime statistics reveal that a majority of criminal law offenders are alumni of a group of some seven (7) newer secondary schools – schools that are allocated the lowest achieving academic performers in the Common Entrance examination.
  2. Many low academic achievers are lumped together in these schools, but are not given any assistance or resources over and above those that are given to more academically gifted students, and are subjected to the same academic programme and pace as their more academically gifted peers.
  3. Many of the low academic achievers who are lumped together have additional issues pertaining to behavioural problems, poor anger management capacity, and poverty, hunger and other “family risk factors” in the home environment, but are not given any special assistance to address these issues.
  4. Classes at these newer secondary schools typically contain 30 academically challenged students and are so problematical that the teacher is often faced with addressing the myriad of deficiencies the students are afflicted with and is therefore unable to spend adequate time on teaching his or her subject.
  5. Some of the outcomes of this state of affairs are as follows:-

a) Many of these students never even complete their secondary education – some are expelled; some leave of their own volition; and others are asked by the school authorities to leave when they reach 16 years of age, even though they might not yet have even entered the 5th

b) A great majority of those who manage to make it to 5th form and to graduate leave school without any academic qualifications.

c) Many of these students leave school without having acquired basic skills of reading and writing, thereby making it difficult for them to pursue post-secondary school skills-based vocational training.

6)   One consequence of these students’ failure to achieve basic levels of literacy and numeracy is feelings of shame and related manifestations of violent and aggressive behaviour.

7)      A national study of 200 criminal offenders has revealed as follows:-

a) 59 percent of them had not completed their secondary education;

b) 54 out of the 200 had been expelled from school; 52 left of their own volition; and several others were asked to leave once they reached 16 years of age.

8)      Many of the young criminal offenders that this dysfunctional education system produces are imbued with the following ideas and values:-

a) Owning a gun – an illegal one at that – is now considered to be the “in thing” – a prized component of “a fashion trend and culture”.

b) For some, however, owning a gun is also an indispensable instrument of “protection” and/or “self-defence”, since they are engaged in criminal activity or are otherwise a target of violence because of their association with particular individuals or because they live in certain communities.

Surely, the foregoing must, and will be, treated as a “wake up call” by our Government in general, and by our Ministry of Education in particular !

SOLUTIONS

On at least two occasions in the recent past, I have produced newspaper articles which admonished our authorities to recognize that the sad reality is that too many of our children and adolescents are not being sufficiently nurtured, cared for, and prepared for life in our Barbadian schools.

I also recommended that we establish a programme to examine all of our schools, with a view to determining where we need smaller classes, more individual attention for students, a greater teacher to student ratio, remedial education teachers, an expanded curriculum, more technical, vocational and artistic training and certification, the assistance of psychologists and/or guidance counsellors, organized interventions in the deficient home environments of “at risk” students, and the list goes on.

And since we will be doing so against a background of our Government being cash-strapped and hard pressed to find additional resources to put into our schools, we should then enlist the assistance of all relevant civil society organizations – our Parent/Teacher Associations, Old Scholar Associations, service clubs (the many chapters of the Lions, Kiwanis, Rotary, and Optimist clubs), philanthropic organizations, private sector businesses, trade unions, churches, relevant professional organizations, the Barbados Association of Retired Persons, retired educators, Barbadian diaspora organizations – to act urgently on the results of such an examination and to give the necessary assistance to our schools.

Surely we can imagine an Emergency Programme in which Boards of Management of schools and their new supportive partners construct new classrooms utilizing inexpensive plywood material in order to accommodate smaller classes, and bringing on board retired teachers who are prepared to donate perhaps a couple of half days a week to teaching struggling students, and such like remedial or rescue measures.

Let us also determine how we can so restructure the content of our educational programme that we do a much better job of instilling in our students an acceptance and appreciation of themselves as sacred beings; a deep respect and regard for humanity/other human beings; a sense of personal responsibility; and a notion of duty to family, community, nation, humanity.

And since we have already acknowledged that our Government is currently in a condition in which it will find it difficult to come up with additional financial resources, I would like to propose that all Barbadian citizens who are in a financial position that enables them to make charitable donations should not only be encouraged to do so, but should be further encouraged to adopt a Barbadian school as their charity of choice!

Indeed, I would wish to urge our local banks and credit unions and our Ministry of Education to collaborate on putting a mechanism in place that makes such philanthropic giving easy and convenient. The mechanism I have in mind is a system in which individual schools are permitted to open accounts at the various banks and credit unions, and citizens who are the holders of accounts at the said banks and credit unions are provided with forms which they can sign authorizing their bank or credit union to make automatic monthly deductions from the citizen’s account and pay it into the school’s account.

I envisage citizens who can afford it giving a standard monthly donation that they can accommodate without any undue distress.

If we all put our hands to the plough I am certain that we can intervene decisively in this growing problem of criminal delinquency and transform Barbados into the wholesome, inclusive, nurturing and humane society that it deserves to be.

233 responses to “Causes and Solutions of Our Crime Problem”

1. @ Sargeant,

Maybe the Press Secretary will be assigned the job of monitoring the blogs and Facebook to identify the ” enemies “.

2. ” Bullet holes dotted some of the houses as evidence of what had happened.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/238815/injured-st-philip-shooting

3. Solutions to decrease level of Crime.

Long Term…eradicate poverty,improve primary school education and increase jobs by growing the economy.

Medium Term…improve primary school education and create employment for youth who will not be going to University.

Short Term…Raid the locations of the Gangs and Drug dealers using BDF soldiers when needed.

THE SHOOTINGS MUST STOP before more innocent bystanders are killed.

4. Easier said than done, Hants. Perhaps the first thing we need to do is stamp out corruption in high places that drains the economy and the government resources we need to do what you suggested.

“There lies the rub.”

5. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

“Maybe the Press Secretary will be assigned the job of monitoring the blogs and Facebook to identify the ” enemies “.

Big mistake…those they preceive as enemies…are not, that is how they will destroy themselves.

6. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I have posted twice on this NUPW article but, mindful of the fact that daddy is off duty I know the items are going be held, AFTER BEING SENT TO THE MUGABE CREW.

Also let them know that ghd multiple attempts th compromise the new gmail account failed because of the dual authentication method

7. De ole man loves white people

Look how white people do financial investigations

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-47454328

It down matter who you is dem going investigate your chvunt

Look again at how white people does deal with inappropriate contracts by government officers to your muddah chvunt

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-birmingham-47497707

Wanna eval see dat happen bout heah?

But Mia just waiting for a few tings to happen and den she gone start wit de small fry dat Leif $$ while de DLP was in powah

8. Who is the person with political aspirations ?

9. An wunna want we diasporeans to invest in Babadus ?

Fortunately fuh me I brek so I have to stay in de freezer.

Nuh Vision 2020 We Gatherin, fuh me.

10. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Cuh dear Hants. I am sure that you can afford to pay a little visit now and then. Look up the old folks in the village.

When we add up your CPP+OAS+GIS+employer pension+your very sensible investments, we get a very, very nice sum.

The kids are raised. Your parents are gone?

Ya can’t take it with ya, so have some fun before you go.

Let we gather in 20/20.

11. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John March 9, 2019 11:42 AM “Only one person on BU sounds like they got any kind of sense approaching the “blacks” who were slaveowners in 1817. Simple Simon!”

Don’t put me in that.

I have never said anything to make anybody believe that i was in favour of enslaving any of God’s children then nor now.

Don’t forget that my grandmother was born in 1879, only 41 years since slavery was abolished. She died when I was almost an adult. I had many. many conversations with her. She was NOT in favour of her own oppression, nor the oppression of her parents, nor the enslavement of her grandparents. She herself worked well past the age of 80, and yet lived in abject dirt floor poverty all the days of her life. So who benefited from her lifetime of hard labour? The people at Mongrove, St. Peter plantation. That’s who.

She was a very intelligent woman. NOBODY could fool her. She knew that life on the plantation was brutal for black people like her. And soft as silk for the white people of Barbados.

So don’t even attempt to put me in nutten.

12. So now dat we have learnt bout people muddah during the advertising break de ole man will continue

The proposal will bring a new ethos and initiative to bear on community self help.

What I propose i very simple

We bajans invest in ourselves and our communities

https://i.imgur.com/tbHAc3o.png

So enrolees, all of whom will come from the areas of concern that are well enumerated by the US Travel Advisory, will be able to code mobile apps IN 3 MONTHS

But then again, that is is wunna people really want change in truth or are jes here talking cause wunna got mouf.

That is a bajan ting doah, talkie talkie talkie and de effing time and when de bullets start flying dem does get down pun dem knees and crawl away screaming like de beatches dem is

ALL HAIL MUGABE!!!

13. So who benefited from her lifetime of hard labour? The people at Mongrove, St. Peter plantation. That’s who.

Who were these indefinite “people at Mangrove”?

Did you know that many plantation owners as the 1900’s progressed were “black” as in not white?!!

Also, you had four grandparents, eight great grandparents and 16 great great grandparents.

Were all or some of your 16 great great grandparents slaves or slave owners?

My bet is you ain’t got a clue!!

14. Did you know that across the gully separating them, Four hills was/is owned by the Panama Friendly Society … the result of Bajans who went to Panama and invested in Barbados!!

15. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I guess wunna all realize where de ole man mind set is nowadays

Dat I dun wid all de lotta long talk and am in the JUST DO IT PHASE!!

We can rehash all these issues here in the rumshop all day long.

But, until we start to actualized anything serious, all the weekend of prayers, and the symposia on crime and the island wide hand linking palaver ARE MEANINGLESS PUFF OF AIR UP OUR BOTTOMS!!

A feller tell de ole man recently “piece, you know something? You would have hundreds of people supporting you if you would only stop cussing people and calling some of dem sheeple..”

“Why you font stop that doah…?”

And I paused and I responded

“…you want me go bd civil right?

And keep calm right?

And keep my voice in a certain decibel range right?

But here is de gong.

People in Barbados suffering right…

And people hungry right…and getting fired right and everybody quiet right?

And people is deading every week in Barbados right and every man Jack quiet right?

I gots to keep noise my man, I got to holler out and cuss and vet on like I mek meself SO THAT THD REST UH WUNNA START TO HET PASSIONATE BOUT THINGS and ultimately it becomes a loud a.ss voice of WE WILL CHANGD DIS SHYTE…”

http://imgur.com/pQowj7I

16. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for consideration as an alternative in this crime issue

17. The Common Entrance Exam brings discrimination into the Barbados schooling system, labeling those kids who do not make it into the “good schools” as failures, and sending them to the “newer schools”. Get rid of the CEE, and step into the 21st Century.

I fully agree with the need for the Barbados Schools to be more egalitarian in their approach to funding and distribution of resources. One recommendation that I put forward, which could be an immediate and effective way to address some of the above described inequality in secondary school education, would be to scrap homework, or work exercises that are expected to be completed at home. The French Education Ministry put forward such a plan, due to the unfair disadvantage this puts on those who do not have a safe or stable home to complete homework. Pupils would be expected to complete the homework in after-school clubs, monitored by volunteers/retired teachers (which lines up with the community involvement mentioned in the article), who provide an environment where the work can be completed, inside the school: https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/french-children-are-promised-an-end-to-homework-25wbcjwzp

18. I thought white people had high IQs.

19. ” Young, a father of three, migrated to the United States, where he lived for 24 years before returning to Barbados.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/03/13/gruesome-death/

Condolences to the family.

20. Rush Limbaugh on the scam practiced on the universities by white leftist Hollywood liberals.

https://www.rushlimbaugh.com/daily/2019/03/12/white-hollywood-leftists-run-giant-scam-on-major-universities/

My bet is serious money laundering involved!!

The way it was done also allowed for tax avoidance/evasion.

21. Georgie Porgie Avatar

IT IS PROBABLY GOING ON IN FINANCING EDUCATION AT THE BOGUS OFFSHORE AMERICAN MEDICAL SCHOOLS INCLUDING ROSS

22. Good idea BJR! Many children are at a disadvantage because of their home environment,

23. Tax avoidance is legal. Tax evasion is illegal. There is a difference.

24. Exorcism or criminal assault of a mentally challenged girl?

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/238855/-worst-exorcism-seen

25. Exorcism or criminal assault of a mentally challenged girl?

I hope the Police investigate,

26. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hants March 13, 2019 11:17 PM “Exorcism or criminal assault of a mentally challenged girl?”

Who says that the girl is mentally challenged?

The same people who are grossly abusing her?

And if she is mentally challenged, should she not as a vulnerable person be treated with even greater care?

From the video which i saw the girl was the only person behaving rationally. Resisting physical abuse IS A RATIONAL RESPONSE to the abuse.

If this child was being treated like this is a public place in the presence of multiple adult witnesses, I shudder to think how she has been treated behind closed doors.

But what can we expect when just a year or two ago we had an idiotic cabinet Minister talking about school children with demons in them.

The rot starts at the top.

27. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John March 13, 2019 1:47 PM “Rush Limbaugh on the scam practiced on the universities by white leftist Hollywood liberals.”

Who says they are all leftists?

Do you think that leftists are the only ones with duncy, lazy, entitled children?

THINK again.

28. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Rock33 March 12, 2019 9:41 PM “I thought white people had high IQs.”

Some do.

Some don’t.

Some like to pretend that they are intelligent.

And some are willing to pay good money to pervert the system.

White people behaving very, very badly.

29. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@BJR at 3:21 p.m. “scrap homework, or work exercises that are expected to be completed at home. The French Education Ministry put forward such a plan, due to the unfair disadvantage this puts on those who do not have a safe or stable home to complete homework. Pupils would be expected to complete the homework in after-school clubs, monitored by volunteers/retired teachers.”

Good idea. But there is always a but.

At present some children need to leave home at 6;30 a.m. in order to get to school on time because the bus service is so poor.

At present, even though school closes at 3:00 some children do not get home until after sunset, because the bus service is so poor.

And unlike in France where today the sun will set at 6;54 pm., today in Barbados the sun will set at 6:09 p.m. And in October the sun sets as early at 5:32. Also the most disadvantages children are those most likely to be entirely dependent on the poor bus service. The parents being too poor to afford a car.

We have a lot to do.

30. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Donna March 13, 2019 2:40 PM “Tax avoidance is legal. Tax evasion is illegal. There is a difference.”

Well if you claim to have donated $100,000 to charity, when you know damn well that the “charitable donation” was intended for and used to secure a place for your child in a good school, and if you then wrote off that money on your tax return,,then expect the IRS to come knocking.

And the IRS are not wussies. Their tax collectors have the right to bear arms…and know how to use such arms.

As we can see Bajans are not the only ones foolish behind “good schools.”

31. Here is a classic example of an abuse of sentencing policy. Look at the recommendation for counselling, shows he knows what the problem is.

An 18-month suspended sentence imposed only last year by a magistrates’ court came back to haunt a 45-year-old woman today.
    The three-month sentence attached to that order was triggered today after Maria Magaly Medford, of Hinkson Gap, Black Rock, St Michael was convicted, reprimanded and discharged on the offence that she stole a box of toothpaste and a packet of Dettol soap belonging to No. 1 Beauty Supply on March 11.
    The accused was seen by a security guard removing the items from the shelve and concealing them in her handbag after she entered the store around 12:30 p.m.
    When she appeared before Magistrate Douglas Frederick, Medford, who had previously appeared in another court on a similar offence, apologised for the crime and asked for help.
    The magistrate ordered that she receive counseling at HMP as she served the three-month sentence.
    A restitution ordered was also granted for the items to be returned to the establishment.

32. Exorcism or criminal assault ?????

://www.youtube.com/watch?list=PLf0Sp7jJwZzstE5lDjRolktq_VmGZsAvK&v=VPBWxy3t9tk

33. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Hants,

Let us give this old lady the benefit of the doubt. She is white and a “professional”; and is therefore probably in the right. Her skin colour alone would normally give her a free pass on the island. That counts for a lot in Barbados.

34. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife
    March 14, 2019 2:23 AM

@John March 13, 2019 1:47 PM “Rush Limbaugh on the scam practiced on the universities by white leftist Hollywood liberals.”
    Who says they are all leftists?
    Do you think that leftists are the only ones with duncy, lazy, entitled children?
    THINK again.

++++++++++++++++++

Hollywood crowd!!

Name the non leftists in Hollywood!!

Tell me if you can name more than 5.

It is not to do with duncy or lazy … all to do with entitled.

The left has made universities institute affirmative action admissions.

An African American needs a score far less than an Asian … these are the smartest and most discriminated against!!

Affirmative action admissions fill the places at these Ivy league colleges.

So the leftists who caused the situation … entitled persons … need to get their children into these ivy league colleges because these colleges are the recruiting places for the Washington establishment.

They need to bypass the Asians and the affirmative action admissions.

Can you think of a more elegant way of draining the swamp than by screwing with the source of people who are the cause of the swamp?

35. John

Keep quiet because the kid from Ghana a few again shocked the world with his SAT scores …undermined that bullshit written in the book called the Bell Curve which seek to denigrated Black Intellect …

36. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife
    March 14, 2019 2:44 AM

@Donna March 13, 2019 2:40 PM “Tax avoidance is legal. Tax evasion is illegal. There is a difference.”
    Well if you claim to have donated $100,000 to charity, when you know damn well that the “charitable donation” was intended for and used to secure a place for your child in a good school, and if you then wrote off that money on your tax return,,then expect the IRS to come knocking.
    And the IRS are not wussies. Their tax collectors have the right to bear arms…and know how to use such arms.
    As we can see Bajans are not the only ones foolish behind “good schools.”

Wow SS

You got the tax angle good!!

Donna just ain’t up to it.

Whenever you see a rich person giving to charity, stop and think!!

A wealthy person shares his/her wealth with no strings attached.

37. John

Did the black kid from Ghana used Affirmative Action to score excellent on his SATs? The following year a girl from Nigeria did better than the guy from Ghana

38. One individual regardless of colour makes no difference.

I understand the reasoning behind affirmative action but I think it just takes away a place from a more capable individual.

I saw boys at HC get to second form and stick in 2-4.

They became big able men in short pants.

2-4 was eventually abolished.

The reason I reckon was their parents got them there through influence,

I know one well who had to leave and go to Mapps!!

He/they just took a place away from someone else who could have used it better.

Using influence and paying bribes in an organized scam at some of the highest universities is completely different.

It is being referred to as racketeering.

https://www.brookings.edu/research/race-gaps-in-sat-scores-highlight-inequality-and-hinder-upward-mobility/

“The mean score on the math section of the SAT for all test-takers is 511 out of 800, the average scores for blacks (428) and Latinos (457) are significantly below those of whites (534) and Asians (598).”

39. With a lack of parenting being seen as a contributing factor to a violent wave of crime among young people, a pastor has recommended parenting classes, suggesting mothers and fathers haven’t a clue on how to raise the nation’s children.
    The recommendation has come from Reverend Anderson Kellman, who believes parents need to be properly educated on how to raise their children.
    He made the comments during a panel discussion held last night on Accessing Alternatives to Violence in Today’s Communities at the Bonnetts’ Resource Centre.
    Reverend Kellman, who is chairman of the National HIV/AIDS Commission, told the gathering: “I believe that a lot of parents do not know how to parent. We are getting in these forums and talking about parenting as a major issue but there are some parents who don’t have a clue on how to parent.
    “I believe that if a child’s physical is critical for entering into school, then the child’s psychological must also be important.
    “I want to suggest that when their children enter school, parents must take some kind of formal parenting classes as the child moves up different grades of school, because it is a societal issue and there has to be a societal response.”
    Kellman also called for the implementation of a national mentorship programme.
    He said such a programme would allow “families, service clubs and groups to be able to have some kind of platform for engaging persons”.
    Another panellist, Inspector Stephen Griffith in his role as officer responsible for the Police Juvenile Liaison Department, said he was amazed at some of the challenges parents were encountering with their children at very young ages.
    He recalled that in one instance a parent came to the department asking for assistance with her eight-year-old son.
    Inspector Griffith contended: “That is a serious indictment on our country, when an eight-year-old can give his mother the kind of problems that she needs to come to a department at the police force for assistance and that is a serious problem. We have to let the cat out of the bag, we are not doing the right things.”
    As a result, the senior officer said the department had added a parenting programme to its activities.
    But a programme officer at the Barbados Youth Service, Fabian Sargeant, shared the view that there was a disconnect between ‘the boys on the block’ and the general public.
    He said it was necessary for a line of communication to be open to them.
    Sargeant said: “I listened very cautiously to my two other panelists and I listened to the language and we have to be very, very careful in even the language that we speak and when we speak of things like ‘parents don’t have a clue’.
    “We all are in it together. It cannot be you and me. When we are looking at solutions to tackle violence within these communities, we have to connect first with the same said people that we are trying to implement programmes for. We have to find the core issues and I believe a lot of them start in the home.”
    The panel discussion was a collaborative effort involving the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs, the Bureau of Gender Affairs and the International Men’s Day Planning Committee.(Quote)

Another expert on crime speaking. What role has the church played?

40. Big Head,

I was only correcting your use of tax evasion and avoidance as being interchangeable. I did Revenue Law at UWI. I think it was either with Marston Gibson the Chief Justice or Justice Andrew Burgess who just joined the CCJ. One taught me the introductory first year Law course and the other Revenue Law in second year. I think it was Burgess who taught the Revenue Law. So you see, you do not have a clue what I am “UP TO”, do you?

The terms are not interchangeable. One is allowed to arrange one’s affairs in such a way as to avoid taxes. That is different from evasion in which one falsifies records or simply refuses to file or pay the tax as assessed.

https://www.investopedia.com/terms/t/tax_avoidance.asp

I was not expressing an opinion on this particular scheme. This was obviously bribery and not charity with unspoken strings attached. Donald Trump and his father both did that apparently, with the same purpose in mind and the same result.

And since you know so much about it why not admit that it is not just the Hollywood crowd that did it.

https://www.usatoday.com/story/money/2019/03/12/college-admissions-scam-lori-loughlin-and-list-who-involved/3145854002/

I see only two Hollywood actresses so far. More CEOs, executives., investors, business owners. As usual you are being disingenuous.

Enough of you for the day! I can stomach no more.

41. “The mean score on the math section of the SAT for all test-takers is 511 out of 800, the average scores for blacks (428) and Latinos (457) are significantly below those of whites (534) and Asians (598).”

Did I not see you say earlier that there could be other factors leading to failures in Barbados and we should look to fix those first rather than abolish the Common Entrance Examination?

Those stats could mean a whole lot of things that have nothing to do with intelligence.
    N’est-ce pas?

42. SS is right.

To appreciate the misuse of claim of tax avoidance by the parents of the children who bribed the Ivy League Universities one has to appreciate the difference between right and wrong.

You can’t be caught in bribery and claim you are avoiding tax legally!!

Ask Marston and Andy about this concept!!

Let them consult SS if they need an help!!

43. Pig Head,

Of course you can’t! I never said you could. I never said they were avoiding tax legally. AS I SAID BEFORE I WAS NOT REFERRING TO THIS SITUATION. I WAS JUST CORRECTING YOU USE OF TAX EVASION AND AVOIDANCE AS THOUGH THEY ARE INTERCHANGEABLE. I was correcting your LEGAL VOCABULARY OR TERMINOLOGY.

Must you be right about everything? Read what you wrote. Read what I wrote. Then comprehend!

John March 13, 2019 1:47 PM

Rush Limbaugh on the scam practiced on the universities by white leftist Hollywood liberals.

https://www.rushlimbaugh.com/daily/2019/03/12/white-hollywood-leftists-run-giant-scam-on-major-universities/

My bet is serious money laundering involved!!

The way it was done also allowed for tax avoidance/evasion.

Donna March 13, 2019 2:40 PM

Tax avoidance is legal. Tax evasion is illegal. There is a difference.

See the forward slash between tax evasion and avoidance? That signifies that they are the same. They are not. That was my point. nothing more.

You are arguing against a point I never made .

Now since you claim you are so smart, it has to be something else. A need to deny my intelligence? Why is that, I wonder?

No, I don’t. I have your number. I say you are a sick person.

Prove you aren’t!

Relax, take a deep breath. And admit you were wrong. Just try it. It is freeing! Just think – no more contortions! Just the truth!

Ahhhhhhhhhhh…..

Now very slowly…… check out the list of people arrested. Two Hollywood actresses. And the rest? Capitalists most of them. I’d bet more of them swing right than left. because the Right gives them tax cuts and the Left always try to tax them.

Is that too much truth for you?

Nah. There can never be too much truth. At least not for me.

PS. Remember that everybody else can read what we both wrote and I’m pretty sure they will see that you were wrong.. You will be fooling no-one but yourself.

Good luck!

44. Before you make much ado about nothing – correction- YOUR USE

45. It is just like our own Donville.

He got caught in bribery.

He can’t say he is avoiding tax on the funds because the funds are proceeds of crime.

You need to go to SS for lessons too!!

46. See the forward slash between tax evasion and avoidance? That signifies that they are the same.

Who told you so?

Go and get lessons with SS

47. @ John,

Under the old tax law in England and Wales, tax evasion was illegal and tax avoidance legal. That is why big companies and the wealthy employ expensive accountants and lawyers to minimise their taxes. But, David Cameron introduced something called aggressive tax avoidance, which is also treated as illegal.
    I remember the debate well. I wrote extensively on the subject at the time.