Submitted by DAVID  COMISSIONG, Citizen of Barbados

CAUSES

Barbados owes a great debt of gratitude to Ms Cheryl Willoughby, Director of the Criminal Justice Research and Planning Unit (CJRPU), Ms Sabrina Roach, Research Officer at the CJRPU, and to Mr Sanka Price, Nation Newspaper reporter, for so clearly outlining the fundamental causes of our country’s crime problem in two articles published in the Nation Newspaper of Tuesday 26th February 2019!

The critical points made in the articles are as follows:-

1. National crime statistics reveal that a majority of criminal law offenders are alumni of a group of some seven (7) newer secondary schools – schools that are allocated the lowest achieving academic performers in the Common Entrance examination.
  2. Many low academic achievers are lumped together in these schools, but are not given any assistance or resources over and above those that are given to more academically gifted students, and are subjected to the same academic programme and pace as their more academically gifted peers.
  3. Many of the low academic achievers who are lumped together have additional issues pertaining to behavioural problems, poor anger management capacity, and poverty, hunger and other “family risk factors” in the home environment, but are not given any special assistance to address these issues.
  4. Classes at these newer secondary schools typically contain 30 academically challenged students and are so problematical that the teacher is often faced with addressing the myriad of deficiencies the students are afflicted with and is therefore unable to spend adequate time on teaching his or her subject.
  5. Some of the outcomes of this state of affairs are as follows:-

a) Many of these students never even complete their secondary education – some are expelled; some leave of their own volition; and others are asked by the school authorities to leave when they reach 16 years of age, even though they might not yet have even entered the 5th

b) A great majority of those who manage to make it to 5th form and to graduate leave school without any academic qualifications.

c) Many of these students leave school without having acquired basic skills of reading and writing, thereby making it difficult for them to pursue post-secondary school skills-based vocational training.

6)   One consequence of these students’ failure to achieve basic levels of literacy and numeracy is feelings of shame and related manifestations of violent and aggressive behaviour.

7)      A national study of 200 criminal offenders has revealed as follows:-

a) 59 percent of them had not completed their secondary education;

b) 54 out of the 200 had been expelled from school; 52 left of their own volition; and several others were asked to leave once they reached 16 years of age.

8)      Many of the young criminal offenders that this dysfunctional education system produces are imbued with the following ideas and values:-

a) Owning a gun – an illegal one at that – is now considered to be the “in thing” – a prized component of “a fashion trend and culture”.

b) For some, however, owning a gun is also an indispensable instrument of “protection” and/or “self-defence”, since they are engaged in criminal activity or are otherwise a target of violence because of their association with particular individuals or because they live in certain communities.

Surely, the foregoing must, and will be, treated as a “wake up call” by our Government in general, and by our Ministry of Education in particular !

SOLUTIONS

On at least two occasions in the recent past, I have produced newspaper articles which admonished our authorities to recognize that the sad reality is that too many of our children and adolescents are not being sufficiently nurtured, cared for, and prepared for life in our Barbadian schools.

I also recommended that we establish a programme to examine all of our schools, with a view to determining where we need smaller classes, more individual attention for students, a greater teacher to student ratio, remedial education teachers, an expanded curriculum, more technical, vocational and artistic training and certification, the assistance of psychologists and/or guidance counsellors, organized interventions in the deficient home environments of “at risk” students, and the list goes on.

And since we will be doing so against a background of our Government being cash-strapped and hard pressed to find additional resources to put into our schools, we should then enlist the assistance of all relevant civil society organizations – our Parent/Teacher Associations, Old Scholar Associations, service clubs (the many chapters of the Lions, Kiwanis, Rotary, and Optimist clubs), philanthropic organizations, private sector businesses, trade unions, churches, relevant professional organizations, the Barbados Association of Retired Persons, retired educators, Barbadian diaspora organizations – to act urgently on the results of such an examination and to give the necessary assistance to our schools.

Surely we can imagine an Emergency Programme in which Boards of Management of schools and their new supportive partners construct new classrooms utilizing inexpensive plywood material in order to accommodate smaller classes, and bringing on board retired teachers who are prepared to donate perhaps a couple of half days a week to teaching struggling students, and such like remedial or rescue measures.

Let us also determine how we can so restructure the content of our educational programme that we do a much better job of instilling in our students an acceptance and appreciation of themselves as sacred beings; a deep respect and regard for humanity/other human beings; a sense of personal responsibility; and a notion of duty to family, community, nation, humanity.

And since we have already acknowledged that our Government is currently in a condition in which it will find it difficult to come up with additional financial resources, I would like to propose that all Barbadian citizens who are in a financial position that enables them to make charitable donations should not only be encouraged to do so, but should be further encouraged to adopt a Barbadian school as their charity of choice!

Indeed, I would wish to urge our local banks and credit unions and our Ministry of Education to collaborate on putting a mechanism in place that makes such philanthropic giving easy and convenient. The mechanism I have in mind is a system in which individual schools are permitted to open accounts at the various banks and credit unions, and citizens who are the holders of accounts at the said banks and credit unions are provided with forms which they can sign authorizing their bank or credit union to make automatic monthly deductions from the citizen’s account and pay it into the school’s account.

I envisage citizens who can afford it giving a standard monthly donation that they can accommodate without any undue distress.

If we all put our hands to the plough I am certain that we can intervene decisively in this growing problem of criminal delinquency and transform Barbados into the wholesome, inclusive, nurturing and humane society that it deserves to be.

233 responses to “Causes and Solutions of Our Crime Problem”

1. Just a few months ago the causal reason for ‘crime and violence’ in Barbados was the DLP. Now we see that once the thorny, pesky problem of the DLP has been dispense with, it is now time to look elsewhere.

‘Oh what a tangled web we weave, when once we practice to deceive’.

That the ‘accident’ of going to certain schools may have correlated with crime statistics, that factoid alone does not go to causality.

Such reasoning is political, not scientific.

Those who seek to protect this administration from blame, in the same ways that they take credit for any good they would have inherited, should avoid using politics to explain statistics. Not that we support the statistical methodologies used. Our experience suggests that there is an uncomfortable coincidence.

2. SOCIAL EDUCATION NOW CHARITY EDUCATION.

Author notes Barbados Government is BROKE, glad to here that the general populace, charities, business, NPO’s are apparently flush with donateable CASH. Author is implying that all non government populace in Barbados are better financial managers than the government, tell us sometime NEW author.

3. Gladys Shepherd Avatar
    Gladys Shepherd

It’s been known for years that the educational system was failing a large group of vulnerable children. Instead of listening to teachers, parents & published articles Government choose to favor the few & to spend money on establishing 6 forms at select schools.
    At this stage talking is irrelevant
    What can be done for those who’ve exited the educational system. Perhaps the use of technology can help where they can tune into music that teaches with feedback encouraged & assessments made
    Why wait until 2020. St. George Secondary has a good profile re agriculture. Promote that more there.
    Audits will help but fast track the process with Focus Groups. Use UWI students to assess critical educational areas
    Stop the bullying- Contract work doesn’t ensure good management & leadership. Introduce a corrective program for this category of worker
    In summary think outside the box using the technologies, students with the aim of introducing change at the start of the next academic year and of course the strategic fix mentioned by Government

4. WARU, Crazy & Unstable, Hogging the Blog Avatar

They actually think they are getting away with this when we know as dies EVERYONE ELSE ON THE ISLAND…that it’s the criminals in parliament and in the bar association have the island in its present state due to neglect and corruption….they robbed generations of young vulnerable people their futures …and are now assigning blame…they should assign blame to themselves.

As long as they know the only people they are fooling…..are themselves..

5. I thought govt gave assurances to the people that they had all the answers

gimmemedevotewatchmuhnow

6. Why does the dysfunctional education system work for some but not for all?

It can’t be dysfunctional if it turns out perfectly good students (scholars too!!)

It is amazing no study seems to have done on the families of the offenders which is where the problem originates.

7. The problem is the individuals are dysfunctional, not the education system.

To solve the problem somebody needs to look at the individuals’ upbringing.

8. Comissiong’s song and dance is merely a rehash of the same old-time failed solutions. Meaning that we are to rely on charity, churches and public understanding. All failed institutional frameworks. This is what slaves were told 400 years ago.

It seems not to bother him that a modern-day slave economy, as represented by Dodds, is the society’s failsafe. We have a school to prison pipeline, he says. Where is his discourse on the eradication of prisons? For they have always been unworkable and antihuman.

If he insist on keeping Dodds, he may want to distribute it more equitably. Let there be some lawyers, who we consider as the primary law breakers, in Dodds. Maybe with this, his class formation will come to see how anachronistic the new prison built by his leader really has been.

By locking up the last regime, increased confidence in currently bankrupted social systems may inspire the youth to see that new social norms are to be then respected.

He obviously does not consider that his church is now as corrupt as the gangs. Only that they are not using guns as yet, but they did before.

He talks about charity when end-stage neo-liberal capitalism extracts, by fowl means, increasing levels of the surplus and his government is passing legislation to maximize such extractive practices. Where is this charity going to come from? We submit that in this respect he is insincere.

For Bajans don’t like begging anyhow!

When will Comissiong suggest a radical land reform overdue since 1838. And if he really agrees that a population of struggling youths generally come from poor or broken families, is it not time to radically ‘redress the historical imbalances’ and direct resource ownership to such families?

As we look around the world – Sudan, Algeria, France, and elsewhere – we witness peoples’ arising. And as their righteous anger descends on Barbados we trust that it will wipe away the decaying structures represented by Comissiong and his ilk.

9. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    You are absolutely correct. They have been politicizing the problems in education and now pretending that all the vandalism and crime has been miraculously narrowed down to seven schools.
    The bogus argument now is that crime is somehow a problem only to be found in the economically struggling socio economic groups.

10. Commie Sing Song the Communist Ambassador is like a Crab always climbing on the backs of others to Rise to the Top… As in the Article he introduced before his Flowery Diatribe of how much more we should contribute in a Collective manner that he would orchestrate. And what a better ploy to draw you in, than with a tale of “Disadvantage” youth of Barbados… without having the youth accept any responsibilities for their action.

Commie has now made the responsibility of all the youth on the shoulders of the Barbadian public as if the people that are going around shooting people and committing other crimes are not adults but mere twelve year olds. And if crime continues, all of Barbados would be to Blame because we did not do our give or do enough, not the criminals who the ones are doing the crime. It is his Style to get you Sympathetic to buy his Snake Oil.

BTW Commie, the Responsibility of “instilling in our students an acceptance and appreciation of themselves as sacred beings; a deep respect and regard for humanity/other human beings; a sense of personal responsibility; and a notion of duty to family, community, nation, humanity”…Is NOT THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE STATE, that Is Communist Dogma. Those teaching come from the family and the church.… One of the problems is that the Scriptures are no longer taught in schools.

Commie inserts of the word “Sacred beings” is to persuade people to buy his Pravda…there is nothing about “Sacred beings” in Communist doctrine… Socialism/Communist is Atheism Masquerading as a Political Philosophy.

Here is the Solution Commie…

REDUCE THE SIZE OF GOVERNMENT…PRACTICE MORE FREE MARKET PRINCIPLES WITH LESS BURDENSOME REGULATIONS…The People are already Taxed to the Hilt and when they would like to be charitable the Government has left them little to exist on after Taxation.

Oversized Government with its Ideology that is rooted Socialism, has been such a stealthy culprit, that we have come to accept it without questioning.

The more laws and restrictions there are,
    The poorer people become.
    The sharper men’s weapons,
    The more trouble in the land.
    The more ingenious and clever men are,
    The more strange things happen.
    The more rules and regulations,
    The more thieves and robbers.

Do the above by Tao Te Ching lead you to believe that what we are witnessing now with the intrusion of Big Government in our lives is in any way well meaning?

This Island can Heal from those Wounds Inflicted if we each First Recognize that Socialism is Worse than Cancer…it is The Counterfeit of Freedom!!

It Is Said That, We Need To Learn From History Otherwise We Are Doomed to Repeat It!

https://www.facebook.com/turningpointusa/photos/a.521023127946408.1073741828.376776419037747/1654780357904007/?type=3&theater

11. Many of the low academic achievers who are lumped together have additional issues pertaining to behavioural problems, poor anger management capacity, and poverty, hunger and other “family risk factors” in the home environment, but are not given any special assistance to address these issues.

These “additional issues” are in my view the reason for low academic performance.

Why not see if addressing these first helps!!

12. The findings of this primary research present a perfect case for government to restructure the educational system in those 7 schools. It has not been working for decades. Knowing where the problem lies puts the Ministry of Education in a stellar position to prevent the school to prison pipeline from occurring not only because of the violence but young adults who should be a source of taxation are using up government’s revenue. It is not beneficial for the state in Barbados to have a large prison population.

13. William Skinner Avatar

A whole can of worms will be opened if the education debate gathers steam. For example: Many people do not know that some students go in that exam room and cannot even recognize the number where they are supposed to sit.
    Personalities change overnight when some students realize they are not going to one of the top schools.
    Many students turn up at secondary schools and are in a trance from day one.Many will never recover.
    I know of people who failed that exam and within eight years got first class honors degrees
    I know some who apparently passed; went to the top schools and ten years later they are complete drop outs.
    They were pressured to pass and were so burnt out that they could not find themselves in secondary school.
    Let a real debate begin and all hell gine break out!!!!!

14. Two boys who went to HC with me ended up literally on the streets.

Drugs.

One guy in the form above me .. same thing.

A real bad boy who got left down in 5th form ended up as I understand it, going to the USA and becoming a corrections officer!!

To get into law enforcement in the US your record needs to be … as pure as the driven snow!!

15. Commissiong your credibility is not worth what patty shot at
    You have demonstrated your actions to be those of self serving
    Your long diatribe of what you called solutions are simply a reaction to helping your cousin avoid further embarassment as this 166sqmiles continues to find its social environment decay into an immoral cesspool of death and gore
    Yes the young people were given many reassurances by Mia as she wine and dine them onto a false sense of security that she had all the answers
    In any case what you need to do is find an answer to the deplorable conditions surrounding the bay street environs a stake which you helped drive into the hearts of the people including the youth

16. Which school(s) did Donville Innis and Michael Carrington attend?

17. But looka at me crosses doah?

De ole man jes come heah and ask people to give a $5 the http://www.gofundme.org/justiceforallbarbados campaign and heah comes Come Sing a Song with a similar hant!!

What de badword!!

Here is a thing dat i gine do doah

I gine brek down de proposal for de E Plaform and I gine watch and see whu wunn effers going do.

De same effers at de same ministry of Education dat de ole man send de proposals to and dem Waste Foops sit down on and fvckup now wunna doing de same shyte again

Wunna ent got no effing money BUT WUNNA GOT 28 effing Ministers and $21 effing million Dollars to give to cuntsultants

And you heah begging for money for Crime Reduction/Education Harmonizing programs

Wunna feel we scvunt foolish right?

https://i.imgur.com/IaM61Ym.png

Let de ole man show wunna how dis programme gine work

I gine tek two Communities de PINE FAVELLA and Deacons and de ole man gine give wunna bajans who really keen bout dis crime ting results

But den again, de body count of people killed by guns going gots to go up fuh wunna to really get scared enough to do a ting

The US Travel Advisory Report IS NOT ENOUGH wunna going need a more poignant incident to move off wunna asses and get somthing working.

I should be obvious by this article that Come Sing a Song is declaring how he, Ambassador for CARICOM is scared as as.s and that should indicate how frightened Mugabe is, TO ALLOW David to mek a plea for charity Education following the PUDRYR MODEL.

Watch carefully that THe Nameless Ones #1 and #2 WILL NOT COME HERE AND MAKE ANY SNIDE REMARKS ABOUT CHARITABLE GIFTING because Mia Cousin begging too.

And if this does not push wunna scvunt to do something now, well the month is yet young and the guns that arrive earlier this week at de airport ent get cleared yet, so enjoy the lull

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

I don’t like it Piece. The man in the English looking suit, standing above, and looking down upon the housewifely looking woman. I mean this is Barbados and it hot as hell. Why he wearing a suit for? Stupssseee!!! If wunna third partiers come to we as “suits” we may not vote for wunna.

I know that the “granson” can do better.

Ask him to fix it. I will check in the morning.

19. I like the Courts one. I done got them boycott already. Not another cent of mine!

20. These people got a nerve. Writing off VAT and begging for money at the same time??????
    Wait… lawyers collect VAT as well, don’t they??????

PS. Donville went to Harrison College.

21. Donna
    March 7, 2019 1:05 AM

PS. Donville went to Harrison College.

Looks like 8 schools are in need of urgent attention.

….. assuming HC was not in the 7 from which all these criminals come.

BTW David Commissiong went to HC too!!

22. I find t absolutely amazing that someone who poses as a radical can accept as legitimate a reactionary conservative criminological assessment of crime causation which, in reality, has no basis in fact.
    What does it say: that the majority of offenders secondary schools; that their level of academic achievements; that low academic achievements somehow are associated with behavioural problems, including anger management; that class sizes of 30, mainly problematic children, pose a threat to the teachers; and so on. I won’t go on.
    I would invite the author to re-read his submission and think about it. Crime in most liberal democracies is a class issue, the big question is why? I would suggest he reads the works of the late Jamaican Stuart Hall ( the greatest social philosopher of the English speaking Caribbean) for enlightenment.
    Academic achievements have nothing to do with crime causality; just look at the number of dishonest lawyers in Barbados; look at the fraudulent accountants and business people. Education and social statues are to do with crime opportunity; the boys on the block are unlikely to have an opportunity to be in a position to cook company books, or rob clients’ accounts.
    As to anger management, that is part of Barbadian culture, which I have mentioned on BU on numerous occasions. There is a small dividing line between aggression (just read some posts on BU) and actual violence.
    While we are on the subject – how about the white business man who killed his son by ‘accident’ and got away with it? How about the white lawyer who, with his son, beat up a poor black boy for loitering in the wrong district? Whatever happened to that case? How about the foreign wife of a local white businessman who, along with two goons as bodyguards, dumped rubbish in a poor woman’s boutique Speightstown? Whatever happened to that case? How about the magistrate who, to my mind, is seriously disturbed, who remands people for the pettiest of alleged offences? am sure readers can add numerous other examples.
    The question is that when we talk about the criminal justice system we must be specific in saying whose law, and what order? Is it the same justice for Cuban/Colombian drug dealers who the author campaigned to allow to stay in Barbados? Is it the same law that allows companies to bribe our politicians and get away with impunity? Is t a crime to change the constitution so that a childhood friend can become a senator?
    I have previously pointed out the ideological distortions in the author’s politics, from the racism of the Cuban and Venezuelan regimes (look how they treat people of African descent. CLR James pointed this out in relation to Cuba), which he so conveniently ignores, to the prioritising of the party above the needs of the people, a warped Leninist position.
    The epidemiology of crime in Barbados needs serous debate, from law-making (what is a crime? Tony Blair and Gordon Brown introduced 45 new crimes n the UK within a few years, criminalising the anti-social behaviour of working class youths. Just look at the debate now on knife crime), to policing, crime causation, to sentencing policy, to the penology, but this is not it.
    The boys on the block need serous advocates.

23. I will gladly donate to the cause if the money goes to buy a scaffold and a a cat of nine tails rather than being siphoned off in salaries by the administrators of the program.

24. Low academics achievers is a term that ought not to be applicable to those whom have not been given the necessary assistance to help them reach their full potential…

If a child fails to meet the academic grade the onus probandi is not on the child, but on the parents, and the academic institution to help that child meet its full potential …

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE If a child fails to meet the academic grade the onus probandi is not on the child, but on the parents, and the academic institution to help that child meet its full potential …

YOU CAN CARRY A HORSE TO WATER BUT YOU CANT MAKE HIM DRINK
    YOU CAN SEND A FOOL TO COLLEGE BUT YOU CANT MAKE HIM THINK
    Low academics achievers ARE Low academics achievers FOR WHAT EVER REASON!

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hal Austin March 7, 2019 5:24 AM
    VERY GOOD FOR A CHANGE HAL!
    FACT FILLED!
    WHO WROTE THAT FOR YOU SIR!

27. Georgie Porgie

Until an acedemic institution avail a child the necessary tools to help him or her reach full potential …then the blame must be attributed to that institution …

George W. Bush certainly felt that the academic institution was at fault when he instituted the No Child Left Behind Policy…

28. Every opportunity must be created to address challenges at an early stage in children. In this context Lexicon maybe correct.

29. Georgie Porgie

If you find that a child isn’t getting it … then don’t continue teaching him or her what he or she has difficulty grasping … you have bring those resources in the class room to assist the child in his or her areas of difficulties …

And we also need to be inclusive in the teaching environment to encourage learning …this idea of segregating Children in A, B and C grades or top grade schools and lower grade schools work to the detriment of the child and it does encourage learning…

30. lexicon the only way you were getting to university was in a jar.

31. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    You nailed it sir! Very good piece. Obviously you had some friends at Bay Primary .

32. Lawson

I have been to University as well as I have been on the Dean’s List… I have also embrassed many professors with my extensive knowledge …and that is a fact … my English may not be proficient but the said little about how much I know… Lawson, I have had professors telling me stop embarrassing them in front of the class…

33. Commie-song stick to advocacy

This article is garbage: very strong (and awful) assumptions. Little fact-based reasoning; Full of conjecture; Confusing correlation and causality… I can go on.

Stupse.

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin March 7, 2019 5:24 AM
    I agree with you… and Georgie Porgie does too. These must surely be the end days; hell has just frozen over.

35. David

Boy, seems like all the stakeholders/shareholders comments might well be approaching a statistical coincidence, not unlike that cited above. Absent Bushie of course.

We wonder what the ‘master’s’ judgement might be. Whether this maybe the beginning of the end for the guvment? LOL

We ourselves, with a 100% predictive record, are not ready to call the next result as yet.

36. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

Absent Bushie of course. SHITE
    IS HE THE CHRIST?

37. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar
    GEORGIE PORGIE

SKINNER
    BAY STREET BOYS AND LATER BAY PRIMARY FROM 1958 PRODUCED EXCELLENT BOYS
    TWO EXAMPLES ARE
    SIR GARFIELD SOBERS
    GEORGIE PORGIE

ALSO MY DEARLY DEPARTED PAL RICARDO “RICKY” RICHARDS ( OR CRAIG (after he made all those runs for COMBERMERE IN I969

38. Yes He is. He is Bushie the Christ!

39. Unlike your ignorance. Christ was never anybody’s name. Is was always a title. Just like other titles – Buddha etc. All meaning the same thing.

40. GEORGIE PORGIE Avatar

RE Christ was never anybody’s name. Is was always a title.

if YOU WERE NOT AN ILITERATE ASS AND DEVIL YOU WOULD HAVE NOTICED THAT I PUT THE DEFINITE ARTICLE “THE” BEFORE THE WORD CHRIST!

ALL SIMPLE BIBLE BELIEVERS IN BIBLE TEACHING CHURCHES KNOW FROM TEENAGE DAYS THAT CHRIST IS A TITLE. IN THE BETTER TEACHING CHURCHES THEY CAN EVEN GIVE YOU THE ETYMOLOGY OF THE WORD.

I AM HAPPY TO KNOW THAT YOU LEARNED A LITTLE SOMEWHERE SOME HOW.

NOW SINCE YOU MUST KNOW THAT WHEN WE REFER TO THE LORD JESUS AS THE CHRIST WE MEAN THAT HE IS THE MESSIAH, HENCE YOU ALSO KNOW THAT YOUR FELLOW DECEITFUL DIABOLICAL DEMONIC ACCOMPLICE BUSH TEA THE SHITE IS THEREFORE NOT THE MESSIAH THAT IS TO COME.

LIKE HIM, YOU ARE A NASTY STINKING DEVIL
    YOUR IGNORANT ILLITERATE INTERUPTIONS INDUCES IMMENSE MIRTH!

YOU MAY NOW RETURN TO THE ABYSS

41. TO FURTHER EXPAND THE UNDERSTANDING OF WHAT IT MEANS WE NOT TAKE THE LORDS NAME IN VEIN …

Again the repercussions of this responsibility — of having been given a portion of His Superior Spirit upon entering this world at birth — is rarely understood in its fullness. The majesty of His condescension in assigning a portion of His Purity, subjecting such Innocence and superior Wisdom to our inferior will, giving us Sovereignty and governance over His Voice within us to listen and follow His Counsel or not, is generally not appreciated within Judeo-Christianity. Specifically, this generosity is not without consequence.

He has bequeathed to us the Spirit of His Liberty and Freedom for the particular purpose to guide and teach us on how to become Like Him, all without imposition or demand by giving us the choice to obey or not. As we will now come to understand, this is the template or pattern of Sacrifice which was later ensured by the Son of God’s propitious sacrifice as the Lamb of God, whose mission was fulfilled on earth and who thus “taketh away the sins of man.” For “God so loved the world” that He provided through His Sacrifice the very individual means for our personal Salvation, so as to give and share with us the bounties of His Eternal Liberty and Freedom. Yet again, all of this was not without cost.

This Plan of Salvation would require first, the placing of a portion of His Spirit within us to be governed by our will, subjecting His Innocence and Wisdom to be used according to our authority and desires. And secondly, the additional and final sacrifice of His Eternal Life while in mortality was given to secure the promise of our redemption according to our choice of Repentance and Baptism we elect to take.

Thereby, in both “instances” of His Blessed Sacrifice, “instances” which are inseparably connected from the foundation of the world, we have been given choice to listen and obey the blessing of His Voice of Direction and Teaching, or to ignore His Counsel while subjecting His Message to ignominy and indifference.

https://ldsblogs.com/files/2013/07/Willingness-Commitment-All-AD.jpg

42. millerthe anunnaki Avatar
    millerthe anunnaki

@ Pachamama March 7, 2019 9:31 AM
    “Unlike your ignorance. Christ was never anybody’s name. Is was always a title. Just like other titles – Buddha etc. All meaning the same thing.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Why not “Bushie the Thoth”?
    The Bushman claims to have been adopted by the BBE(s) and performs the role as their ‘special messenger’ to bring warnings of pending social and economic Armageddon to Bajan black brass bowls (BBBB’s).

BTW, Pachamama, what is your take on Hal Austin’s miraculous tour de force delivered @ Hal Austin March 7, 2019 5:24 AM?

What a volte face of intellectual capacity! From the crater of sheer shallowness to the crescent of high performance.

Despite his sidewinder-type character assassination swipes at you (et al) it seems he is benefitting from antidotes administered through regular jousting with the Pachamama.

Hope springs eternal that a similar epiphany would be visited upon the BU’s Dr. Faustus commonly known as Georgie Porgie.

For wishing ‘mortal’ death on our friend Bushie, he, GP, is due his just desserts equivalent to what Icarus was served.

43. ” A United States travel advisory highlighting several of this country’s crime hotspots and which has caused quite a stir on social media, has been dismissed by Attorney General Dale Marshall, as much ado about nothing.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/03/06/ag-not-alarmed/

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

millerthe anunnaki March 7, 2019 10:23 AM
    YOU HAVE JUST DELIVERED A LOAD OF BULL SHIT LIKE YOUR FELLOW DEVIL PISSY MAMA

45. Lawson

I have been to University as well as I have been on the Dean’s List at two universities here… I have also embrassed many professors with my extensive knowledge …and that is a fact … my English may not be proficient but the said little about how much I know… Lawson, I have had professors telling me stop embarrassing them in front of the class… So carry on Sir….

46. William Skinner Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie

Agreed. A great institution. I have often said that I left Bay Primary fully prepared to take my place in my society.

47. Lawson

I did not spend my entire time in the Bridgetown and St. Peter’s reference libraries for nothing …. I have gotten more enjoyment out of discovering something new in an old book than drinking alcohol and smoking which I have never done …

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

SKINNER
    IT WAS AT BAY PRIMARY THAT THE LATE S O LORDE PREDICTED TO MY MOTHER IN 1958 WHEN I WAS AGED 6 THAT I WOULD BE A BARBADOS SCHOLAR

49. William Skinner Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie
    Seems you and I were gracing the halls at the same time.