The expression of a person’s gender identity forms a fundamental part of their right to dignity. Recognition of this gender identity must be given constitutional protection

–Per Saunders PCCJ in McEwan et ors. v The AG of Guyana [2018] CCJ 30

It is essential to human progress that contrary ideas and opinions peacefully contend. Tolerance, an appreciation of difference, must be cultivated, not only for the sake of those who convey a meaning, but also for the sake of those to whom it is conveyed

Irwin Toy Ltd v Quebec (AG) [1989] 1 SCR 927.

In this, the penultimate part of this extended essay analyzing the recent decision of the Caribbean Court of Justice [CCJ] on the constitutionality of section 153 (1)(xlvii) of the Summary Jurisdiction (Offences) Act of Guyana, we examine the disposal of the first two of the claims made by the appellants. Readers will recall that this section criminalizes cross-dressing by men or women for an improper purpose not further specified. Last week, we treated the applicability of the savings law clause that the respondent prosecution had prayed in aid to justify the constitutionality of the provision.

It will be recalled that the leading judgment of President Saunders gave short shrift to this argument, principally on the basis that the clause was “corrosive” of the concept of constitutional supremacy and at odds with the constitutionally given power of judicial review. More commentators than one on the column queried the validity of this holding in light of the clarity of the provision. I suppose that that inquiry should have been made in 1966, in the case of Barbados, but so many anomalous matters in what was to become our Constitution appeared to have gone unquestioned then. In the judgment, the President averred,

even if one were to apply the clause fully and literally, because of its potentially devastating consequences for the enjoyment of human rights, the savings clause must be construed narrowly, that is to say, restrictively...[Original emphasis]

In the view of Saunders, there were essentially four issues that arose for determination by the Court. These were, namely, whether the section violated the appellants’ rights to equality and non-discrimination guaranteed to them by the Guyana Constitution; whether it violated their identically guaranteed right to freedom of expression; whether it offended the principles of the rule of law in light of the vagueness of the provision, especially with regard to the terms “improper purpose”, “male attire” and “female attire”; and whether the reproving remarks of the Magistrate were appropriate and, if not, their consequence.

Equality and non-discrimination

The argument of the appellants here was that the cross-dressing law infringed their fundamental rights in these regards because it is rooted in gender stereotypes of how women and men should dress. They averred that the section treats transgendered and gender-non-conforming persons unfavourably by criminalising their gender expression and gender identity in violation of Article 149D of the Constitution. That Article focuses squarely on inequality before the law and is distinct from, albeit complementary to, Article 149(1) that prohibits discrimination on specified grounds..

The leading judgment accepted this argument, finding that-

At the heart of the right to equality and non-discrimination lies a recognition that a fundamental goal of any constitutional democracy is to develop a society in which all citizens are respected and regarded as equal… Article 149 signifies a commitment to recognising each person’s dignity and equal worth as a human being despite individual differences.

and that-

The constitutional promise of equality prohibits the State from prescribing legislative distinctions or other measures that treat a group of persons as second-class citizens or in any way that otherwise offends their dignity as human beings.

While the Barbados Constitution does not expressly guarantee persons equality before the law, there is nevertheless section 23 that seeks to protect persons from discrimination on certain specified grounds. In any event, President Saunders made reference to the observation of the Committee on the Convention to Eliminate Discrimination Against Women, to which Barbados is a state party, to the effect that-

Inherent to the principle of equality between men and women, or gender equality, is the concept that all human beings, regardless of sex, are free to develop their personal abilities, pursue their professional careers and make choices without the limitations set by stereotypes, rigid gender roles and prejudices…

It was held ultimately that the section could not be reasonably justified in a democratic society such as Guyana because the section conduces to the stigmatization of those who do not conform to traditional gendered clothing and, mostly, because it criminalizes aspects of their way of life, thus enabling the State to unleash its full might against them… therefore section 153(1)(xlvii) violates Articles 149(1) and 149D of the Constitution.

Freedom of expression

In this context, the President first reiterated the significance of free expression to the democratic way of life-

Because it underpins and reinforces many of the other fundamental rights, freedom of expression is rightly regarded as the cornerstone of any democracy. A regime that unduly constrains free speech produces harm, not just to the individual whose expression is denied, but also to society as a whole. On the one hand, the human spirit is stultified. On the other, social progress is retarded. The fates of brilliant persons like Galileo, and Darwin, and countless others, sung and unsung, betray a familiar pattern in the history of humankind. Today’s heresy may easily become tomorrow’s gratefully embraced orthodoxy.

He also acknowledged that a person’s mode of dress might be regarded as a legitimate form of his or her expression-

A person’s choice of attire is inextricably bound up with the expression of his or her gender identity, autonomy and individual liberty. How individuals choose to dress and present themselves is integral to their right to freedom of expression. This choice, in our view, is an expressive statement protected under the right to freedom of expression.

And even though this freedom was subject , as in Barbados to reasonable limitations, these had to be demonstrably justified in a free and democratic society-

No one should have to live under the constant threat that, at any moment, for an unconventional form of expression that poses no risk to society, s/he may suffer such treatment. But that is the threat that exists in section 153(1)(xlvii). It is a threat particularly aimed at persons of the LGBTI community. The section is easily utilised as a convenient tool to justify the harassment of such persons. Such harassment encourages the humiliation; hate crimes, and other forms of violence persons of the LGBTI community experience. This is at complete variance with the aspirations and values laid out in the Guyana Constitution…

This latter issue implicates the criminalization of the wearing of any form of camouflage clothing in Barbados. This has not been challenged to my best knowledge, but it would be of interest to debate whether it is reasonably required in all cases in the public interest.

Next week- The rule of law and the magisterial reproof.

110 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Criminalizing Attire and the Rule of Law (iii)”

1. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

The accent is on camouflage.
    If the design and colours are incapable of projecting an optic of the surrounding landscape ,seascape or desertscape then it cannot be described as camouflage. The design represents various intensities of light and shadow.Are soldiers likely to be in a situation with a pink background? Do you know of any army in this world where camouflage wear is pink?

2. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr. Vincent Codrington

The army of Gays Lesbians and in Betweeners perhaps?

Peekaboo I see you…lolol

Now one thinks about it, maybe it is better that pink camouflage is banned because it would be hard to find a cli*oris to bite it out in pink camouflage

3. @Vincent

You should email your comment to the authorities. Now you understand why we should be railing against the irrelevance of the law.

4. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ PUDRYR

@ David BU

Points grasped.

@ PUDRYR

You are something else. LOL!!!

5. @Vincent Codrington December 3, 2018 8:05 PM “Are soldiers likely to be in a situation with a pink background?”

There are a number of pink sand beaches in the Caribbean and worldwide. Google and see for yourself. Soldiers tend to land on beaches, do they not? In order to ensure that the invasion goes well, soldiers, gay, straight, trans and otherwise, landing on those beaches would be well advised to wear pink camouflage.

Lolll!!!

6. Artax,

Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn about camouflage but I do think that laws, no matter how trivial should make sense.

7. You guys seem fixated on the sexual habits of Ms. Mottley. Why am I not surprised?!

8. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Blogmaster, shame on you 🤣… how can you say we should rail against “the irrelevance of the law”.

I am also surprised by @Artax’s remark re “Why do Barbadians always want to be difficult?”….it is not a matter simply of wearing a camouflage shirt or outfit …rather as cited by @Donna its the overzealous and nonsensical acts by law enforcement related to ANY and ALL garments with the so called disruptive pattern.

That’s not being difficult…just asking the authorities to enforce laws rationally…I also accept the basic tenents kreasoning) of the law but some enforcements actions are simply nonsensical.

My reaction to the pink camouflage was EXACTLY that of @Vincent… pink AND camouflage in the context of law enforcement or the military are irrational, incongruous, don’t go together, make no sense etc etc.

For authorities to prevent folks wearing a pink camouflage outfit or anyone – five years or 35 years- from swimming on Bajan beaches because they have disruptive pattererned swim wear is obviously stupid….Will underwear be banned too!

But back to the irrelevance thing…Caswell explained this well in his piece (thanks @Hants) …. he said …

“To my mind the statute is clear. It is an offence to wear clothing made from the type of camouflage material used by the Barbados Defence Force (BDF) or any material that closely resembles BDF issue. It is therefore inconceivable that the police would charge someone for wearing pink camouflage”….BECAUSE NEITHER THE BDF NOR POLICE would ever go on a mission in pink camouflage…so how can a citizen be resembling them!

Overzealous folly…not simply irrelevance Mr Blogmaster.!

9. Again wunna missing the point.

While it is true that the law leads to ridiculous cases of its application, it MUST be known that in Barbados
    if you give a brass bowl an inch … he takes a foot
    Give him a foot …he wants a yard..
    Give him a yard …and he expects a breadfruit tree in it…

Who EXACTLY is going to decide ‘how closely’ a piece of camouflage clothing resembles that used by the army…?
    Let the pink pass..
    Up comes some jackass with a “pinkish greenish blueish” one… then greenish-brownish..
    Next Lexi turns up at the airport with a bullet proof vest and a whole lotta shiite words that the customs man cannot understand (Lexi neither…) …and he gone clear to unplug hospital equipment bout here…

The Bajan authorities DONE KNOW that they lack the capability to enforce ANY kind of law that requires the use of sensible JUDGMENT…. shiite – it is hard enough for them ….just to figure out what is camouflage ….

Why wunna don’t leave the brass bowl people alone nuh…?
    The alternative will see all the various block bad-boys dressing up in their various camouflage gear and playing gang thugs…
    Bad enough that they cannot even come up with local badboy area names …wunna now sending them to copy the various fringe idiots in the USA now….dressed like idiots….

10. I believe this is “much ado about nothing.” In MY opinion, it’s “trivial nonsense” that I won’t lose any sleep over. I’m just not bothered by it.

If it’s against the law to wear disruptive patterned material, whether it is pink, yellow, pea green or red…..don’t wear it……..it’s that simple. What is the sense in wearing a yellow disruptive patterned shirt, be arrested and charged by the police, then go to Court to argue the “BDF doan wear yellow camouflage”…..when you could have saved all that trouble by simply not wearing it?

Is this issue taking center stage because a BU favourite, Caswell Franklyn, wrote about it? In BU Franklyn’s Kool-Aid is well received and digested.

There are so many other laws that need revisiting, such as using insulting language to a policeman or using language to the extent that the officer becomes offended.

Barbadian police officers are known to curse people….. this is a fact. A policeman, for example, approaches an individual and during the course of the conversation, he calls the individual “a effing idiot.” The individual, who is offended by the “characterisation,” responds by telling the officer, “you is a effing idiot, too.”

The individual is arrested and charged for using insulting language to a policeman…. ..in Court, his/her version of what transpired is dismissed by the magistrate in favour of the policeman’s statement… and he/she is fined.

What about JPs signing search warrants?

Or how about addressing issues such as police brutality or torturing suspects while they are in custody.

Just my take.

11. “Next Lexi turns up at the airport with a bullet proof vest and a whole lotta shiite words that the customs man cannot understand (Lexi neither…) …”

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!

Wuh loss……

Bushie…..you is something else, yuh.

12. Artax,

Sometimes one must take a break from more serious and therefore more heated and contentious discussions. Why don’t you post a submission on these matters that concern you, though? We have, led by Piece had serious discussions on the issues of police unfairness and brutality but it is probably time for a repeat.

13. Bushie,

I am well aware of what you speak and I was expecting that argument from you but I still do think discretion should prevail in prosecuting and giving a fella a criminal record.

14. @Bush Tea

You are critical of the ‘brassbowls on one hand for not being more strident about issues that concern them and on the other had you want them to follow a law which does not make sense because…?

15. I can see the headlines now…..drunk tourist with parkinsons arrested while eating two all dressed hotdogs outside harbour lights. Mistakenly thought to be wearing camo.

16. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Bush Tea has made a valued point (sic) … who give the general public the right to wear uniform designed for the armed forces?

Has he really? What is the armed forces uniform? Does color matter? I Are there Defense Force camouflage skirts and shorts and… handkerchiefs?

17. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

If it’s against the law to wear disruptive patterned material, whether it is pink, yellow, pea green or red…..don’t wear it……..it’s that simple. What is the sense in wearing a yellow disruptive patterned shirt, be arrested and charged by the police, then go to Court to argue the “BDF doan wear yellow camouflage”…..when you could have saved all that trouble by simply not wearing it?

In a sane world, that officer would be sued for false imprisonment and malicious prosecution! But then, this is Brassbowland! Sorry, Barbados. Damn autocorrect!

18. How many people remember a few years ago a young lad, aged about 11, visiting from Britain and wearing a pair of camouflage trousers was forced to change in to something more acceptable.
    In most European countries, there are stores that sell old military uniform; they are sold at give-away prices and are popular with students (or used to be) and low-income people.,
    Are there exemptions in Barbados for the theatre, school plays, television drama, etc? The law is an ass.

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the LUMINARY Jeff Cumberbatch

Last night de ole man argued over an hour with a young man who attended some Christaan gathering at Sherbourne this Sunday.

He was saying that they, the youth, have agreed to continue praying against the Spiritual Wickedness in the World.

I told him that all of this was all well and good but WE as so called Christians we missing one thing , BALLS!

FOR there he was in Barbados talking bout Praying yet not one of them had the balls to come on stage to talk bout the wuflessness that the BlP was doing.

He then proceeded to talk about how Sandra Wives was among them and therefore they had a Christian among the BLP people

Well let me tell you something

I cussed him left and right when he talked about that pretend child of God.

The problem here is this, Luminary Cumberbatch.

We have lost people who have balls, who believe in the things that we like to announce rather type about as keyboard warriors

Let me ask you something.

Let one suppose that a person was prepared to wear a camouflage garb Mr Cumberbatch, would you defend them?

Let us get to the meat of this matter kind sir.

Tell de ole man how something like this will play out.

Say one does wear said item in your streets, and one does say that one wears said garb because one feels entitled to said garb, WILL YOU DEFEND THEM?

Else I say to you the same thing I say to that young man, you are lukewarm and we as bajans deserve these inferior superiors, bungling nitwits, whi claim to run this country.

I await your response with eager ears

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

A few weeks ago a blogger made remarks to the effect that if Civil Rights protestors got arrested for breaking the law by sitting at lunch counters against racism or marching on the Pettus bridge then they aptly deserved it because the LAW said it was wrong…that illicited a WTF…what the French.

So here we have another blogger using the same logic base to affirm the govt’s right to impose another ‘unjust or unreasonable’ rule tho of course much less corrosive to basic human rights and divinity.

How does that work, exactly!

After all these years of the oft repeated dictum from the German pastor Father Niemoller we can still so glibly look pass the slow creep of ‘care-less’, intrusive, “annoyingly/poorly” executed laws and not see the danger that can lead to a ‘care-free’, callous government imposing more offensive laws.

Of course laws are intended to regulate a just society but had our foreparents NOT protested against ‘bad’ laws -some very small (like this one) – would we all be able to sing so sweetly today about telling our kids not to get involved in protests …

The Dean said it bluntly…and to paraphrase more bluntly …if a police officer is an assho** and unjustly arrests you then he or she should be sanctioned accordingly and the matter dismissed…but HOW will that ever happen UNLESS a case is strongly tested in court action… how do some POs in US do GET convicted for bad actions without vociferous protests of folks like BLM which of course is todays Cvil Rights protestors … who then of course were justly echoing the dictum according to Father Niemoller: I must speak out for all wrongheads indiscretions – related or unrelated to me.

First they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out—
    Because I was not a socialist.
    Then they came for [camouflage wearers] , and I did not speak out—
    Because I [would never wear camouflage].
    Then they came for the [doctors and lawyers] and I did not speak out—
    Because I was [not one of them].
    Then they came for me—and there was no one left to speak for me.

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

22. David
    You are critical of the ‘brassbowls on one hand for not being more strident about issues that concern them and on the other had you want them to follow a law which does not make sense because…?
    In a world full of jobby, it is asinine to spend a lot of time trying to sort out farts.

Jeff
    What is the armed forces uniform? Does color matter? I Are there Defense Force camouflage skirts and shorts and… handkerchiefs?
    ++++++++++++++++
    That is precisely the problem.
    You CANNOT get you highly paid judges and courts to sort out simple matters like murder, rape, robbery and arson… but you expect customs officers and policemen ON THE SPOT, to sort out the above HIGHLY SUBJECTIVE questions…?

You know better than any other here that once a line is drawn, that line will be moved nearer and near to the red zone until the law means nothing.

The ACTION of our enforcement staff to interpret the law as BROADLY as possible is therefore the most effective option, and the price to be paid is minimal – except for jackasses who insist on wearing the stupid looking shiite clothes.

In MANY countries if you enter with ANY kind of drug (including some prescription medications) it will be confiscated and you can be charged… How can there be NO rules?

Just wear normal damn clothes…
    If we are stupid enough to sell all our national assets to foreigners …
    what the hell is this urgency of wearing disruptive patters clothes
    -to hide our shame?
    Steupsss

23. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr BushT, but is there not legal wrangling on what’s ‘normal clothes’ too…

If you wear a normal shirt … let’s call it a blouse and pants…lets call that some dibby, dibby hot pants…will YOU mister man not get arrested for said normal clothes…well at least if you were visiting Kaiteur Falls! 🤣🤣

Bro, police officers or custom officials use their DISCRETION every day so it’s alarmist and over blown to cite the examples you did….yes those happen…so you must ensure you have a properly approved medical waiver if you are travelling to some countries with prescription medication.

Mothers with breast milk in bottles had grave problems even in recent years since the 9-11 travel bank on liquids…proper discretion prevailed eventually to allow the pumped mother’s milk; even women breast feeding their kids in public tho well covered have had legal issues….your line is crossed and recrossed EVERY FREAKING day…but commonsense DOES prevail…

..tho sometimes it takes over sized damages judgements to get the commonsense clarified…alas not in Bim!

24. Impersonating a soldier or a policeman should be an offence. Wearing a camouflage cap should not. We are not wasting time sorting out farts. We are thinking and arguing about a principle that could have ramifications for other areas of life. And we are taking a break from screaming insults at each other. Well almost.

25. Good points, DPD.

26. Why wunna people so like to argue with bushie nuh…?

If the shiite law says that it is illegal to wear or to have disruptive pattern clothing – and the intent is to ensure that persons do not dress in a manner so as to cause confusion in the minds of citizens as to if they are members of the armed forces, what the Hell wunna want the police to do?
    What discretion what?
    Policeman A says a shirt os OK
    Policemen B makes you take it off
    Customs officer C allows a certain trousers
    and the policemen at the car park makes you take it off…?
    Steupsss…
    SIMPLE RULE FOR BRASS BOWLS – allow NONE!!
    …even pink.
    Bushie would not be surprised to see Bajan soldiers wearing pink Camouflage

Don’t they wear whatever the hell they are given as leftovers by their benefactors?
    First it was the British style, then Canadian, US and now Chinese looking….
    How the hell can the Law and customs officers keep up?
    Next the French may give them some camouflage left over from the Pink Panther legion…..

Man ban EVERY SHIITE!!! – BEST law on the books – probably the ONLY law that actually works.
    What camouflage what??!!

How is that ANY kind of an issue when we have a jackass running the BWA who needs to be fired URGENTLY
    yet still in the news every damn day looking dumb as shiite…?

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item for the LUMINARY Jeff Cumberbatch thank you

28. @BT
    Man ban EVERY SHIITE!!! – BEST law on the books – probably the ONLY law that actually works.
    What camouflage what??!!
    Yuh know BT I agree with you , one time I went to the Registry to collect a Birth Certificate and a fashion policeman at the gate (security guard) took a long look at my short khakis before he deemed them respectable to be allowed entry. Since it was the Registry I started thinking what about banning names? Let’s do like some countries and prevent people from giving babies names that are “contrary to the best interest of the child”. In Barbados it is now de rigueur to give unsuspecting infants some made up names which become head scratchers as they grow older. The Gov’t should have a list of names that conform to our African/Colonial heritage and if you don’t conform when you go to register baby BT they cant turn you away but you can call him/her “pudding n’tane” until you get it sorted out.

“Ban every shite”

29. @Sargeant December 4, 2018 11:16 AM “I started thinking what about banning names? Let’s do like some countries and prevent people from giving babies names that are “contrary to the best interest of the child”.”

What is the matter with you?

Don’t you know that there are some “parents” out there happily setting up their children with names like Abcde, pronounced, Ab-See-dee. Parents want to free up. Just now some parent is going to show up at our Registry with cute little Abcde.

As in the good old U.S. of A: https://www.msn.com/en-us/lifestyle/lifestyle-buzz/people-are-shaming-the-mom-of-a-5-year-old-called-abcde-but-its-a-surprisingly-popular-name/ar-BBQj47P

30. The camouflage Law have been on the books of Barbados for more than four decades … why all thing long talk about its ineffectiveness now?

31. “In Barbados it is now de rigueur to give unsuspecting infants some made up names which become head scratchers as they grow older.”

Interesting!!!

In certain societies, names have a specific meaning and are given to children for specific reasons.

What I find amazing is Barbadian parents giving their children names such as “Akeem,” “Khalil,” “Raheem,” “Ahmed,” “Amara” or “Amir”…….. in cases where the parents are not Arabs or Muslims……..and without knowing what these names actually mean.

32. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

@Lexicon,
    A person’s choice of attire is inextricably bound up with the expression of his or her gender identity, autonomy and individual liberty. How individuals choose to dress and present themselves is integral to their right to freedom of expression. This choice, in our view, is an expressive statement protected under the right to freedom of expression

33. It is always tempting to try to save fools from themselves but there are dangers that come with that. It’s like the idea of the benevolent dictator some here like to present as the answer to our problems. But you see, the benevolent dictator being himself human, is also prone to human foibles, folly and failings and there is no guarantee that he or she will remain benevolent in a different environment. We know that power corrupts and absolute power tends to corrupt absolutely.

As far as I am concerned the law should be required to justify its existence. Otherwise it should just let people BE.

34. re What I find amazing is Barbadian parents giving their children names such as “Akeem,” “Khalil,” “Raheem,” “Ahmed,” “Amara” or “Amir”…….. in cases where the parents are not Arabs or Muslims……..and without knowing what these names actually mean.

I USED TO LIKE TO GO TO THE DOOR OF MY OFFICE OR IN THE CORRIDOR IN THE POLYCLINICS WHEN SUMMONING THEM

I WOULD WITH A LOUD VOICE CALL OUT THEIR NAMES e.g
    ANONGO BUMBALAYO WACKAWACKA HINDS

FUNNY ENOUGH, THE MOTHERS DID NOT LIKE YA TO CALL OUT THEIR PICNI DEM NAME IN PUBLIC SO-

BUT I ENJOYED DOING IT

35. @ THe Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch

Well, given the fact that you continue to show that you are no one’s little boy, WE CAN ALL BE ASSURED THAT YOU WILL NOT BE APPOINTED TO THE CZAR LORD position to amend any laws of Barbados

Because your fairness and commitment to justice and law and integrity will not sync with the Mugabe Regime which is slowly and insidiously changing the rules of the game on this playing field while we get caught up with the sensational articles about the Haigh woman at the Barbados Water Authority being fired!!!

I wsked you once before in an article that is still in suspense if you, being tasked with a matter where a person seeks to challenge this law on Camoflauge, would defend them?

You have not answered because the article has yet to be published but hopefully it will post now

In an earlier post you made a comment about men here who comment on the sexual predispositions of one “benevolent dictator” whomever that is.

De ole man just wanted to know how you would feel to suffer ex-clitorization? Does that sit well with you? sorry that probably will be ascribed to being “men here with a fixation on gender identification would it not?

Steupseee, this is why we are where we are, being rogered by this BDLP duopoly while people like you selectively waver over what is right and wrong in the sight of the god (purposely lowercase) you purport to serve

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Dr. GP

The same name stupidness happened for a nurse at the Black Rock Polyclinic similarly challenged to call the name of a child whose mother claimed that

“RA-SHÒ-LÈ ” was how one was to pronounce the name of her daughter.

A name which was written Rasshole on the attendance charts.

The girl’s father, in case you were interested, was Lexicunt pronounced Lexicon by many here

37. Jeff

The freedom of expression has its limitations … it is illegal in the US to dress in a police or fireman’s uniform… so what makes a soldier uniform any different if the government deems it illegal for the public to dress in it?
    In America for example: the Free Exercise Clause of the First Amendment gives every citizens the right to worship … but Congress still reserved the right to regulate the application of how people worship… for example: it is illegal for a satanist to use human or animal sacrifice in his or her worship … so there is no such thing as absolute rights …

38. Jeff

The framers of Constitution stated that the right to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed
    .. but Congress and state legislatures still reserved to right to regulate the use of firearms in America… so again … no right is absolute …

39. Jeff

Because one has the right to freedom of expression that does not mean he or she can walk into a cinema and shout fire when there is no fire … such expression/speech is unconstitutional … because I have the right to freedom of expression that does not give me the right to walk around town with a article of clothing which says kill all white people … such speech isn’t constitutionally protected …

40. Piece

The more you write …
    the more your dementia and cognitive insufficiency becomes apparent … but thank God that some of us here have enough patience, tolerance and equanimity, to entertain the puerility you articulate as comedy here…

41. Georgie Porgie

You are a wicked man … call out children names just to irritated their parents … and come here on BU pretending to beat people with Rod of Correction who do not adhere to your brand of religiosity … can’t you see that your very words tell us who you really are and not who you pretend to be…

42. @L|exicon,

It is not illegal in the US to dress as a law enforcement officer, since on my television I see actors dressed u in authentically looking uniforms all the time. As far as I know no one has ever been charged.

43. Hal Austin

You are correct as far as see actors wearing cop uniforms on television … but you have to have a valid film permit to wear or even buy them in the US … it is illegal Hal … and if you put one you run the risk of impersonating an office…

44. @Lexicon,

So, the illegality is conditional ie the need for a permit. Do you need a permit for the stage also? Is there an assumption that without a permit you are impersonating a police officer?

45. Hal Austin

Check out California Penal Code Section 538d … since most of the filming is done in California and you will get your answer …

46. Hal Austin

Yes … without a permit or the written approval from law enforcement it is illegal to wear a police uniform in the US …

47. @Lexicon,
    I am not having a discussion with the attorney general of California, I am with you. I have no interest in the California penal code.

48. What the Hell
    Lexicon has become the teacher …and the ‘bright’ and at the pious are the dumb students.
    In Barbados one needs to get permission to use official uniforms for any other reason too… likely most places.

@ LexiC
    Are you trying to tell GP that one does NOT identify a tree by the fertiliser that is applied….
    but rather by the FRUIT that it produces…?

Someone once put it this way…

“‘These people honor me with their lips,
    but their hearts are far from me.
    They worship me in vain;
    their teachings are merely human rules.

Jesus called the crowd to him and said, “Listen and understand.
    What goes into someone’s mouth does not defile them,
    but what comes out of their mouth, THAT is what defiles them.”

So the fact that he was fertilised at HC or that he eats NUFF fish cakes is not the issue…
    The issue is the lotta vile hatred that comes forth from his keypad…

Sorry but…
    Such trees will be uprooted and burnt at the appropriate time
    Ruptured and not Raptured…

49. My friend what don’t you understand …? It is illagal in the United States to wear a cop’s uniform without written approval or the proper permit … I do not know how conspicuous you want me to be in explaining this simply fact …? Hal, and added to that … it is also illegal in the United States to wear military attire with all the awards … it is called stolen valor…

50. @Lexicon,
    It is not illegal in the UK. In fact , one of the Xmas favourites in the UK is strip tease dancers, many of the males dress up as police officers. It is an offence to impersonate a police officer, not simply by dressing.
    As I have said, we have shops that sell military surplus clothing. Don’t universalise from specifics. The US is a strange country with strange laws and a strange president. It is not a good model for Barbados.
    An 11 yr old wearing army fatigues is no threat to the nation’s security. It is bollocks and makes sense only in a nation that all of its key institutions have failed..