As a consulting Engineer, I always provide my clients with my best professional advice, which they have options of accepting or rejecting.  Unless it is an imminent safety concern, I try not to get emotionally involved in any advice that I give.

There are real consequences to providing sub-standard engineering advice.  For example, it can be fatal to the persons occupying the engineered structures.  Also, Engineers are personally liable for any quantifiable damage that results from people following their advice, whether they are paying Clients or the non-paying public.  It is principally for these reasons why most professionals tend to limit their advice to their paying clients.

We were told that we had to enter a time of severe austerity, and we were invited to make sacrifices for the good of the nation.  However, to my knowledge, no one received an invitation.  The Government sent home public workers without notification, defaulted on loans to foreign creditors without negotiation, and confiscated money owed to pensioners and investors while passing a law to make the confiscation legal.

We are being told by the media to give the BLP administration a chance, since desperate times call for desperate measures.  However, no one is: calling for early elections or organising a march – all of which occurred under the last DLP administration.  Everyone seems to be trying to play their part and adjust their lives to the demanded sacrifices.  But something seems wrong, and we should be free to express our feelings without persecution.

We were led to believe that the Government had to confiscate part of our pensions and retirement savings, and send home public workers, because the Government had no money.  If that is true, then what are they using to pay the 5% increase in salaries that they gave themselves and public workers?  What are they using to pay the salaries of their advisors and supporters who sit on ineffective Boards and in the Senate?  Bitcoins?  No.  They are being paid real money, our money – sacrificially taken.

During this period of severe austerity, serving on a board should be a volunteer position.  The same for the Senate.  Past politicians receiving their lucrative life-time pensions should not be paid for their advice, when there are so many senior public workers who can provide the same or better advice.  How can a person spend 30 years in the public service and still be deemed not good enough to offer competent advice?

I have been offering my best advice freely to the public for the past 2 decades, under both political administrations.  I have sat on advisory committees and it was all volunteer, both as a member, vice chairman and chairman.  There was never any expectation of being paid, not even a stipend, but we gave our best advice.  I still sit on a technical committee in the current administration, and there is no expectation of being paid.  When did we start selectively paying advisors?

Let me clarify that if someone is not working, then I have no concerns about such persons receiving a stipend.  But it is unconscionable for salaried persons, or past-politicians receiving their lucrative pensions, to be paid our confiscated pensions and retirement savings in exchange for their advice, while they demand that others share in the sacrifice.  Why don’t they also share during these desperate times?

If salaried senators, board-members and advisors were unpaid, then would they still serve?  If the answer is yes, then stop paying them the money taken from our pensions, and the salaries saved from laying-off public workers, immediately.  They should be ashamed to receive that money.  If they are not willing to volunteer to serve as part of their shared sacrifice, then dismiss them and find others with far more integrity.

We were told that almost all Members of Parliament had to work full-time because there was simply too much work to be done, and all hands needed to be on-deck.  We are not naive.  We understand that most of the BLP politicians are new and inexperienced, and expect a full-time salary.  Therefore, by all means, let them work and pay them the normal salary.

However, since they are demanding a full day’s pay after passing laws to take part of my pension and retirement savings to pay themselves and their friends, then at least give me a full day’s work.

Why are MP’s, who are being paid a full-time salary to work for us, doing work for their private clients on our time?  Why are they not ‘on-deck’?  Now, if there side-work was not harming us, then they could do whatever they wished with our time.  However, it is our pensions and our retirement savings that they have confiscated, so they better get back to work and start performing.

If their excuse is that our work does not demand all of their time during normal working hours, then give me back my money.  If they want to keep it, then they should at least pretend to be working and stop reminding us that our confiscated money is being wasted.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

66 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Get Back to Work”

1. Going to give Grenville a 10 on this article, no mention of I SO and what he’s written rings TRUE. The question is will this government that is legislation HAPPY pass new laws to legislate his ideas, NOT A HOPE IN HELL.

2. Sir,
    You hammered the nail home. Fantastic!

Think they would work if not salaried? Huh. Let the first one step forward for love of Barbados.
    Don’t despair MAM will get it together; if she cannot or will not, SHAME will make some of them do the right thing. The question is -when is enough enough?

Glad to know you have been doing your part without financial reward. Keep it up Barbados need concerned dedicated people. Thank you.

3. Grenvile

My man yuh keep getting beter and better.

I saved the reading of this article for when I could read it without being rushed.Lemme tell yuh – yuh hitting real hard – tek 6 straight in de stands .

Good one Grenville and everything you say is factual.

Walk Good my friend !

4. Don’t worry about how much people comment.Nuff,Nuff people reading.

5. Grenville

Sorry, I meant to ask you do you send these articles to Barbados Today,The Nation newspaper,the Advocate,VOB, Caribbean News Now ,other social media sites etc ?

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

@TI
    it is already in Barbados Today

7. Northern

Thanks.I know they used to carry his columns,but these days I don’t open the e-paper just read a few of the articles.

The Nation should also give him a column in the Sunday Sun.

8. HELL WILL SOON BREK LOOSE IN BUHBADOS
    CHICKENS COMING TO ROOST……..AND TO ROAST TOO
    MIA BITING ! SHE EVEN BITING THE MENS IN DEM BALLS!

ARTHUR WARN WUNNAH DAT WUNNAH DEALING WID A TWAT BITING TWIT.
    BUT WUNNAH WONT HEAR
    NOW DE WOMENS GETTING BITE AS SOME LAY DOWN TO GET UP.
    AND DE MENS GETTING BITE IN THEIR BALLS

THIS IS NOW BITEBADUS

9. @T.Innss

Are there any policies implemented by government you are happy?

10. Not one so far that I can think of.

Tell me fuh trute david – yuh really tink Mia know what she doing ?

Bare hodge podge nonsense.

Everything she did so far she had to come back and reverse or tinker with

The announcement about the road tax relief and the gas tax

The announcement that the laid off workers going home with a package

The announcement that Dominica is ok with Ross University coming here after she spoke to Skerritt

The announcement that the tuition free University education would be available – Then the Ministry of Education and UWI tell the students – No funds have been paid in – so you pay upfont and then wait for a refund lol.

The promise to deal with the sewage on the South Coast by shutting down the food businesses in the affected areas – she promised to pay the workers their wages,- and she would cordon off the areas with restricted acess only and get rid of the stench and the raw sewage – we now know they are pumping it in the swamp and sea – and the place still smelling real stink;

She said she would stop the printing of money – and then turn around and print money

Steupes – Need I say more ?

11. Georgie, Georgie, Georgie – Wuhloss

12. @ Solutions Barbados

A marked improvement in your style and your content.

You are taking the advice that you are being given

De ole man will give you an insight as you continue to rebrand your party’s image

Create some podcasts.

Usa a similar format to the one I have done below for you

https://youtu.be/WkORxNysxHM

Short and concise ones

I have some other things for you but you will only be able to get them once My Special Ladies in the UK get them so keep taking the advice

Note carefully that everyone here thus far has commended you on your submission AND THAT IS A RARITY.

You ent cuss a feller like some of we do, NOT INCLUDING ME OF COURSE, heheheheheh but you have hit at the core of the issues (albeit after de big guns heah dun said what you now saying)

So two more points to observe.

Lead the subject matter

Before a feller even says a ting be out there saying it.

And “come back to your vomit more regularly” once you become accustomed to your submissions being called that not a feller is going to be able to get you vex

13. Who are the MPs doing private work on their clients’ behalf on on our time? Are MPs prevented from working or only MINISTERS? #idun!

14. Many hands make light work – BUT NO WORK MAKE HANDS LIGHT !

15. T INNISS

MIA NOT ONLY Bare hodge podge
    SHE ALSO SLAP DASH
    AND WILLY NILLY TOO.

I HEAR THAT SHE ALSO BITEY BITEY

RE NO WORK MAKE HANDS LIGHT

ARE YOU SAYING THAT THEY WILL BECOME TIEFING HANDS?

FELLAS I AM A NATIONALISTIC PATRIOTIC IN EXILE!

I ROCKING AND I MOCKING.

16. Piece

Only 4 people commended.
    TI and GP make more than half the comments.

The wise ones remained silenced.

17. @ Dr. GP,

Can i join you momentarily?

T. Inniss seemed to want to know about people working on government time and seemed to have said that this was a wicked lie and that Mugabe’s ministers were not moonshining but going to the Court when they were convened outside of the 8.30 to 3.30 usual hours.

He has suggested that many hands make light work so de ole man sending this to him to jog his usually good memory

heheheheheheh

T. Inniss here you is for your reading edification

https://i.imgur.com/rIlPVvJ.png

18. Ooops T. Inniss sorry de ole man thought it was you but I mek a mistake my apologies

19. @Enuff

Is the Speaker of the House an ordinary MP?

20. MP not Minister though

21. Piece

Not a problem.

22. Excellent….

Barbadians cannot be fooled by the smoke and mirror tactics of Mia. First she gave them a scalping that left the elderly writhing in pain. In today’s Nation she attempts to perform restorative surgery so as to remedy that scalping.

Yesterday’s headline is “Mia eases squeeze”
    Will tomorrow’s be “Mia squeezes ease”?

With a stream of conflicting policies, it is almost as if the BLP is both the administration and the opposition. Running against a leader/party which has a split personality will be an uphill battle. When you point at what they broke, they will reply “but then we fix it”.

Excellent…

23. Yesterday’s headline is “Mia eases squeeze”
    Will tomorrow’s be “Mia squeezes ease”?

Excellent….THEO
    GO TO THE HEAD OF THE CLASS!

24. john2 November 14, 2018 7:29 PM

Piece

Only 4 people commended.
    TI and GP make more than half the comments.

The wise ones remained silenced.
    MAN WHY YOU DONT LEARN TO SPELL BEFORE YOU START TO EFFLUX BOVINE EXCREMENT YA BENTZPAENIC MORON

25. Will the real Mia please stand up?

Is Mia reacting to secret polling. It is almost as if she is sticking her hand in the air, sensing how the wind is blowing and then attempting to fix whatever she broke.

I have already commented that the “ac” consortium were more vigorous in the defense of DLP flawed policies than the defenders of the present administration. The Enuffs may be willing to defend but they are waiting for Mia to stand firmly behind her policies before speaking up.

Can you imagine a political party being in the wilderness for ten years, and the first thing a member (John King) does is a perfect Marie Antoinette “Let them eat cake” impression.

Heartless
    Incompetent and
    Vacillating

26. GP
    TU MADRE was one before me.

27. In all the discussions about technology and Fintech applications e.g. Blockchain, Ecurrency,Mmoney etc. one person conspicuous by her absence is the Minister of Innovation, Science and Smart Technology (Kay S McConney). Sightings of her may be possible if one follows debates in the Senate other- wise she may as well be on the missing persons list.

I supported the PM’s decision to invite expatriates of her choice to assist the Gov’t in moving forward but I am left to believe that the Minister has adopted the characteristics of the proverbial beaver (from her adopted home) and is busy at work while engrossed in learning the do’s and don’ts of Bajan public life which preclude her from commenting on any public issue even when it affects her portfolio.

Kay if you aren’t too busy could you supply GIS with a passport picture so they can update the stock profile on the GIS website.

28. @ Sargeant

heheheheheheh.

Kay is busy working pun “deliverables”

heheheheheheheh

We going wait and see how these “deliverables” going look

heheheheheheheh

Dat is all de ole man going say bout dat

Notwithstanding, this is where Mugabe is putting her marbles or parking her pudenda figuratively speaking (you did say “beaver” didnt you? so I was using that hairy rodent as an example with my own ammmmm imagery)

because this area of Kays expertise is going to be the only place where actual diversification of a meaningful type can occur.

You see all the millions of the InterAmerican Development Bank that is being drawn down as National Indicative Programme Funding?

The fortunate corollary for this is that the IDB doan play dat shy&$ dat Mai and she peoples does play wid Intellectual Property so we going see how “she got dis” heheheheheheh

29. RE john2 November 14, 2018 10:29 PM

NO MY MOM PRODUCED TWO EXCELLENT PROFESSIONALS AND CAN IN NO WAY BE BETZPAENIC. SHE WAS EXCELLENT IN BUSYNESS HAVING BEEN BORN INTO A FAMILY WITH WEALTH IN ONE OF THE ISLANDS.

EVEN IN HER OLD AGE HER BRAIN IS WORKING FINE AND SO ARE ALL OF HER BETZ CELLS

SO YOU CAN GO CHO MA MOW AND CHO MAMA MAMOW, YA BETZPAENIC TWIT

30. john2

BTW AT 89 YEARS OLD SHE SPELLS BETTER THAN YOU DO TOO
    TRY SPRAYING YOUR ADDLED BRAIN WITH WD 40 BEFORE YOU TALK ABOUT SOME BODY MUDDA THAT YOU HAVE NEVER MET!
    GO CHO MA MOW AND CHO MAMA MAMOW TOO

31. You REALLY need to do something about those fruit of yours though GP….
    Else your tree will be cut down and cast into the fire….

Tek it easy Boss…
    …dat is according to Jesus – not stinking Bushie
    Murduh!!!

32. GP

Seems like I must spell it out for u.

She was a moron and a twit before me

The evidence is you

33. St. Lucia…all that badgee, dashene, casava, bluggo…ah, island life.

34. John2 – November 15, 2018 1:20 AM

LOL – about time someone gave this asshole a dose of his own medicine.

35. calm bush tea john 2
    GO CHO MA MOW AND CHO MAMA MAMOW TOO

36. I sit here in my den or lie on my bed laughing my head off as you betzpaenic morons spew your hate, thinking that you are affecting me.

You all cant hate as well or as consistently as I can mock wunnah lol

37. Georgie Porgie
    November 14, 2018 11:28 PM

RE john2 November 14, 2018 10:29 PM
    NO MY MOM PRODUCED TWO EXCELLENT PROFESSIONALS AND CAN IN NO WAY BE BETZPAENIC. SHE WAS EXCELLENT IN “BUSYNESS” HAVING BEEN BORN INTO A FAMILY WITH WEALTH IN ONE OF THE ISLANDS.
    EVEN IN HER OLD AGE HER BRAIN IS WORKING FINE AND SO ARE ALL OF HER BETZ CELLS
    SO YOU CAN GO CHO MA MOW AND CHO MAMA MAMOW, YA BETZPAENIC TWIT

Read your article and tell me about my spelling You POS

38. HATE ON HATE ON YA BETZPAENIC TWIT

GO CHO MA MOW AND CHO MAMA MAMOW, YA BETZPAENIC TWIT

39. Sargeant

Is the Speaker prevented from working?

40. @Enuff

I believe the Speakers remuneration is the same as a Cabinet level officer and I also think it is unbecoming for the Speaker of the H of A to be running around the local Courts as a criminal defense lawyer. It also reflects poorly on the Office of the Speaker when he uses a loophole effected by the failure of the Senate to pass legislation relating to the disposition of murder cases to try to spring some of his clients from jail.

BTW whatever happened to that Integrity in public life bill?

41. Agree with you Sargeant.

42. Sargeant

It is far less than a Cabinet Minister and less than even a Parl Sec and LAW is about finding “loopholes”. I am ambivalent about it to be honest, but one should not give the public the impression the man is doing something previous Speakers didn’t do or that he’s breaking any rule as far as I know. BTW the IL wasn’t just before a select Committee, where GP appeared and bumbled all over the Bill did not even understand the content? The last I heard was that it was being amended based on the public consultation. You should learn to keep up like I do, by reading the newspaper.

43. @enuff

Didn’t Mia promise to follow a new path? A more enlightened and transparent path?

44. David

You better say that again : ‘A more enlightened and transparent path ?

I can’t recall any Speaker of the House of Assembly here in Barbados – and none comes to mind in the English speaking Caribbean who is acting so disgracefully like this fella – Arthur Holder.

He represents persons who have been charged with some of the most heinous crimes ( which is their right to seek legal representation ) – but goodness gracious me – what message are we sending to the druggies, the shottas and their bosses out there – when today he presiding over laws to reign in crime and then by the evening time he takes off the speakers robes and he down in the Orleans or Red Sea with these miscreants.

We can’t really look to Mia for any guidance or example – because she invited 5 of the most notorious Drug lords to sit in the hallowed chambers of Parliament – with their official invitations.

Satan certainly cannot correct sin.

45. Arthur Holder must be told to cease and desist.

You cannot run with the hares and hunt with the hounds.

Choose ye this day which God you will serve Arthur Holder.

If close to $170,000.00 is not enough for you – give up the Speakers Chair and sit on the back bench where you will still get some warm dollars and you can pursue your craft and run after every murder case or drug case.

46. The post by Piece on November 14th at 10:51 p.m. as well as sergeant post @10:33 p.m. – caused me to ponder what were those special qualities that Mia saw in the lady Kay Mcconney that she brought home – changed the constitution for her – made her a senator – made her a Minister as well – and waited on her until she could return and take up the position. All of this is causing me to ask :’what are these special qualities that Kay Mcconney possesses.

As was said earlier – this Minister of Innovation and Smart Business – at this time of the Country seeking to stir economic growth – should be telling us a lot about smart businesses and what we could expect in the area of Innovation etc.

However listening to her speak in the senate on the mandatory death penalty – her presentation sounded so slight – that I was taken aback because I was expecting someone who had more substance to her – especially after all the ‘hullaballoo to get her here.

I don’t know maybe she is one of Mia’s former school days friend like Avinash Persaud or one of her special friends like Selma,Carol or Lucille.- because I haven’t yet seen what all this changing of the constitution – got us.

Jobs for the ‘boys’ and ‘girls’.

Arthur described the last government as poor rakey – but I wonder how he would describe this set here.

As for the term ‘wild boys’ that he used for the last set as well – what does he have to say about Arthur Holder,Dale Marshall and George Payne ?

47. TInniss

Have you seen the newspaper with the tracking devices on license plates? Have you seen persons from the Finance ministry being able to access key data on their phones while appearing before the media? Did the Green Paper on planning not include a move to a paperless process as much as possible? Maybe McConney is not about talk but action. But what your people weren’t able to achieve in 10 years, you want this government to do in 6 months.

I warned you about being a hypocrite. What qualifications/experience Sandra Forde had to run the Transport Board apart from Treasurer of the DLP? What the Napoleon lady that headed NHC knew about housing or government administration, wasn’t she working with a tour guide company prior to her appointment? What were their qualifications, experience or transferable skills? What were their achievements after 10 years? Sick leave to avoid the PAC meetings? If I were you, I would wait before I passed judgement.#staymad4.5moreyearsatleast

48. David

Should Caswell have to leave Unity Workers?

49. @enuff

If he was made a member of the Cabinet?

50. Enuff

Do you believe Arthur Holder should do the correct thing and resign as Speaker of the House?