@David, There is not much to disagree with there, but I am of the view that the failure was owed to crass politicking.See be;ow-
Notably, the Constitution also now provides for the convicted person himself to make a submission to the Privy Council – see section 78 (5).
It would thus have been in the nation’s best interest for the Senate to accede to the Boyce amendment that, in our view, does not fundamentally alter the intendment of the legislation under debate.
Unfortunately, thereafter, according to one report, the matter appears to have descended into partisan politics, with the Leader of Government Business objecting to the amendment proposed by Senator Boyce on the ground that the impugned provision in the Bill had also been proposed by the previous DLP administration.
The Constitution remains unchanged
There has been a lot of understandable debate about the death penalty bill that was before our Parliament and I want to take a moment to explain what the bill is and is not.
The bill is NOT a move to remove the sentence of death from the books of Barbados. The sentence of death as a penalty REMAINS on our books.
It is a move to comply with the rulings of the Inter- American Commission on Human Rights and the CCJ that in cases of murder, the fact that the law ONLY allows for a sentence of death is unconstitutional.
What does it do?
If you are involved in ANY kind of incident resulting in death, the law as it stands does not allow for our TV cases we all love to watch to be applied. So there is no 1st, 2nd degree or manslaughter provision by which different sentences can be applied. The death penalty is the only sentence. Think about that for a moment… Its not right and the courts have said so.
The role of Parliament is to serve as the legislature so it makes and changes laws in the interest of our nation. This bill moved to change the law to fix the problems I identified in oversimplified manner and the rulings of the appellate courts that we must comply with.
Imagine that just a few months ago during our election many were up in arms that the Electoral commission and the then govt REFUSED to comply with four court rulings instructing them that the law allowed for commonwealth voters to be registered in Barbados. We could not imagine how the Govt refused to uphold the ruling of the court.
So here we are, in effect, refusing to uphold the ruling of two courts which have said we need to make this change.
The effect?
The assizes have opened and no murder cases can be called. They cannot be called because there can be no sentencing. Not as long as the death penalty remains mandatory. The key here is the word mandatory. Mandatory simply means there is no alternative to the sentence of death. Whatever the circumstances.
So there is nothing to celebrate here. The accused killers of the breadman this week if caught will sit in prison and lime away their days in perpetuity if they fail to make bail and chill at the tax payers expense. Their cases cannot be called. There is no sentence available to them. Not even the death penalty that people may want simply, because it is still mandatory and as long as that is the case, Barbados is not in compliance with the rulings made by the higher courts.
Think about the families, including maybe yours, who will have persons accused of a crime resulting in death of their loved ones who cannot find closure because this Bill did not allow us to change the laws and give judges the option of other sentences after trial.
Think about the possibility that with the length of time the system will take to deal with this issue will result in many people leaving prison having already served their time while on remand – because they’ve been chilling in prison so long before their case was called – that they could get a sentence equal to time served. Where is the justice in that?
I understand that many people simply hear the words ‘Death penalty’ and think that the govt is removing it from our books and growing soft on criminal behaviour. That is not what this is about. In simple terms the death penalty remains on our books BUT judges now would have the discretion to sentence to death for the most egregious offences and hand down a lesser sentence for offences with mitigating factors. That is not just the right thing to do, it is what the IACHR and CCJ have ruled that we have to do.
Even before these rulings the privy Council weighed in and ruled that the length of time a person sentenced to death is on death row matters. It constitutes, according to the Privy Council, ‘cruel and inhumane punishment’ to have persons sitting on death row for eons. So time spent in prison matters after sentencing. If we are not careful we will also find ourselves being challenged about the length of time being spent in prison before sentencing and without even a trial. also think about that angle.
I’ve also seen some comments on absent Senators. Barbados lives in the world. Our professionals travel on business all the time. Three of us have been traveling and still are. That’s the reality of doing business – we have to engage in the conduct of international relations and the national business at home and abroad must continue. So that point is moot.
What took place last Wednesday in the Senate, in all its parts, was unfortunate. It was unfortunate for our justice system and for families with both lost loved ones and those with persons accused of crimes. It was unfortunate period.
But what it shows is that there is a great deal of public education required about the workings of the government and its respective arms. Many people simply just don’t understand and in the vacuum the discussion is vocal but limited. It’s the same as the unfortunate case of two nations voting this week in small numbers against accepting the CCJ. What people dont understand they fear and social media often fills the gap with distorted information by persons who also dont know but at least have a platform to share misguided views.
Public civic education needs to be an urgent priority so that we leverage an engaged population into an engaged knowledgeable population. In this death penalty discussion there is too much hype and it needs to be dialed back and replaced with a solid, simple conversation.
Let’s see where we go from here in the peoples interest…
End Quote
Related links:
Every senator present during the last sitting of the Senate agreed that the mandatory sentence of death for murder should be abolished and allow judges the flexibility to impose the death penalty or some other sentence depending on the circumstances of the case.
However, the independent senators and the opposition senators objected to another amendment to the Constitution that would abolish the automatic referral, to the Governor-General, of ever case where a person had been sentenced to death. As it stands now, every person who is sentenced to death would have his case reviewed by the local Privy Council automatically. The amendment to section 78 would force the convicted person to apply for clemency, whether he has the wherewithal to do so or not. And if he is a poor person who cannot continue to pay legal fees, he dies. The Leader of Government Business refused to entertain any other view and decided to force a vote. You cannot pass half a bill.
@Caswell
Therefore you disagree with the posit by your colleague Senator Cummins and the learned Jeff?
Let me throw in this comment…
Having to sit in jail for the rest of your life is called ‘life imprisonment’. I prefer this to any form of death penalty.
Perhaps the solution is slowly evolving.
Traveling and on a phone…..will clean up my mess later
If he is a poor person…..if,if,if,the GG had appointed Independent senators instead of DLP supporters…if,if,if,
In light of Caswell’c comment, I may have appeared to callous diregard for the plight of the poor. This is far from the case.
I hold the view that the state should not be in the business of killing it citizens. The Khasoggi episode is a good example of what happens when the powers that be believe that they have the power of life and death. One may argue that this was not the norm and has nothing to do with the death penalty. I would counter with the argument that the Saudi government will be more circumspect in the future. They will drag the victim back to Saudi Arabia, put on a show trial and the sentence will be the death penalty.
We need to remove this blunt instrument from the reach of government. Consider life imprisonment without parole.
Of course torture, assassinations and false imprisonment will continue. It is an imperfect world.
In light of Caswell’s comment, I may have appeared to have a callous disregard for the plight of the poor.
@David,
It seems to me that Caswell is in substantial agreement with Jeff: the government should have accepted the amendment offered by s Senator Boyce.
Every accused deserves to be represented but why is the Speaker of the House donning his other robes in representation of murder suspects? Aren’t they enough lawyers in Barbados who are willing to assist those charged? Is being Speaker a part-time job that must be replenished by other revenue streams?
If I am reading correctly the Speaker is one of the lawyers who is trying to take advantage of the Senate’s rejection of the Constitutional amendment pertaining to the mandatory death penalty. He is seeking to apply for bail for murder suspects due to the uncertainty occasioned by Senate’s action. In other words, the Speaker of one Branch of parliament is using the actions of another Branch of parliament to benefit his clients.
Maybe Hal is right.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/11/12/return-to-sender/
@ Sargeant re ” Is being Speaker a part-time job ”
Yes it is….for a Lawyer.
Senator Cummins’ Post is riddled with the same nonsense being spewed by the Attorney General. Her piece is essentially BLP propaganda designed to make the BLP look good rather than speak to the real issue. She has carefully blended fact with fiction to achieve the BLP’s aim of defaming Senators Boyce and Taitt because their fathers were DLP ministers.
This is not a political issue. The BLP wants to frame it as such to cover their ineptitude and certainly their intolerance of the views of others.
I have sat in the Senate and listened to the professional interventions of these two senators. So far, I have found that they have bent over backward to show their independence. The Senate is richer for their presence. They have shown no sign of partisan political leaning and deal with legislation before the Senate on the merits.
To some extent those two senators have been instrumental in causing embarrassment to the Government since they have been able to point out several flaws in the legislation that has been rushed through the House of Assembly. On several occasions legislation had to be sent back to the House because of their intervention and that is hurting the Government’s image. So rather than deal with its ineptitude, the BLP’s propaganda machinery is puking up a lot of untruths blended with half truths to smear people. It is now Senator Boyce’s turn.
@Senator
To be fair to Senator Cummins, is it not the role of the government appointed Senator to argue government’s position?
TheoGezerts
“I hold the view that the government shouldn’t be in the business of killing its citizens”
Tell that to the family members whose daughter or son has been raped and murdered by a repeat offender… life in prison is too good for these sort of individuals, so that is why the death penalty was set in place to address this kind of evil …
Now listen…I don’t necessarily agree with state sanctioned execution … but there are those instances where it is must be applied … especially with regards to those persons who commit heinous acts of murder…
What about miscarriages of justice?
“There is no 1st or 2nd manslaughter provision by which different sentences can be applied … the death penalty is the only sentence”
So how does one determine vehicular homicide … if a child walk in front of a car and is struck and killed? There is no premeditation in this scenario… so why would it be considered murder… ? I don’t get …
Senator Cummins is simply wrong in this case. People are convicted of man slaughter all the time.
@ Senator Caswell Franklyn
Yesterday and today are jam packed days.
Thankfully such did not allow de ole man to make a Stoopid Cartoon featuring said Lisa Cummins as championing this very important cause.
Please clarify Senator cause I doubt if either of those independents will come to BU to speak Truth to Power.
From what you are saying de ole man understands that
1.it is the independent Boyce who led the matter
2.while some of what the Senator said is true the most critical part about what transpired was left out which you now clarify as
“… The amendment to section 78 would force the convicted person to apply for clemency, whether he has the wherewithal to do so or not.
And if he is a poor person who cannot continue to pay legal fees, he dies…”
Wow.
Senator Franklyn thank you.
I will send this to the grandson and see what he can do…
Wow…you see why Barbados Underground is important?
Those Mottleyian swine out here fooling the masses that they are championing de poor man BUT THEY ARE KILLING US
WOW!
I tell you this woman Lisa Cummins is a dressed up ’empty barrel.
Always looking for attention – and always pontificating and talking down to people as though she is some authority on every thing.
This is who the Nation newspaper subjected us to every Sunday as an independent columnist BUT YUH NOTICE THEY REMOVE ALBERT BRANDFORD WHO HAD STARTED SHOWING UP THE CLOWNISH BEHAVIOUR OF MIA.
Right now the Nation has no dissenting voices as Columnists.They have no Independent voices writing as well – Need I say more – fish wrap.
Note well what Caswell says: ” Lisa Cummins piece is spewed with the same nonsense spewed by the AG dale Marshall.
He describes it (correctly ) as pure BLP Propoganda. I am sure however it will tickle the fancy of the BLP devotees and the naïve and gullible who are prepared to swallow anything someone says – once they can throw around a few words.
@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here for Senator Franklyn thank you
Therefore you disagree with the posit by your colleague Senator Cummins and the learned Jeff?
Au contraire, David. We are in agreement.
“It would thus have been in the nation’s best interest for the Senate to accede to the Boyce amendment that, in our view, does not fundamentally alter the intendment of the legislation under debate. Unfortunately, thereafter, according to one report, the matter appears to have descended into partisan politics, with the Leader of Government Business objecting to the amendment proposed by Senator Boyce on the ground that the impugned provision in the Bill had also been proposed by the previous DLP administration.”
In fact, no one seemed to be aware that the current Constitution covers both positions. The automatic in section 78(3)
*Where any person has been sentenced to death for an offence against the law of Barbados, the Governor-General shall cause a written report of the case from the trial judge, together with such other information derived from the record of the case or elsewhere as the Governor-General may require, to be forwarded to the Privy Council so that the Privy Council may advise him on the exercise of the powers conferred on him by subsection (1) in relation to that person.^
And the one by the convicted man in section 78 (5)
A person has a right to submit directly or through a legal or other representative written representation in relation to the exercise by the Governor-General or the Privy Council of any of their respec- tive functions under this section, but is not entitled to an oral hearing.
@Jeff
It is sad that a country and parliament crowded with legal minds this where we find ourselves.
SEEMS THESE CREDENTIALED FOLK IN PARLIAMENT ARE AS LOUSY AS THE HIGHLY CRENTIALED COMMENTERS ON BU THAT ARE UNABLE TO HELP THE BLOGMASTER SOLVE ALL THE PROBLEMS IN THE COUNTRY AND THE WORLD.
HOW SAD
“…Hang 5…”
@ Dr. GP
27 more minutes and then goodbye till ? Tonight
You know how Americans tell you “…Give me 5?…”
De ole man will answer in part your question about crime in Barbados
Let me tell you now WHAT MY LORD HAS TOLD ME
“Go to every single Lumber Company in Barbados.
Have every single one donate the materials for 1 SINGLE GALLOWS & BUILD ONE GALLOWS BY CHRISTMAS AT DODDS!
SHOW IT BEING BUILT IN A HIDDEN AREA AT DODDS AND PUBLISH IT ON THE FIRST PAGE OF EVERY SINGLE NEWSPAPER.
SIMULTANEOUSLY SEND GHE NSMES OF THE 10 MOST EGGREGIOUS MURDERS TO THE GOVERNOR GENERAL…”
Show the pictures as a footnote on the front page for 3 months
My God has told me that the killings will stop completely for 2 months.
Try to hang one person by March 2019.
And pop two necks by June
Leak a video to social media of one fellow screaming and fighting not to ascend the gallows
and we will see a drop in all the murders
For those whom de ole man has offended know this…de ole man dnt really give one badword
We are slowly becoming prisoners in our so called free country…
What do you think Dr. GP? DOES IT COINCIDE WITH ANY VERSES THAT YOU KNOW ABOUT MANSLAYERS?
That is the way I read it. The problem was with the automatic referral being removed. I do not agree with that either. It should be automatic. The State should not take a life without every avenue being explored. As I said on the other thread about the CCJ poor people have their costs taken care of and this should indeed be so. If this is not done it further denies justice to the poor. That would be EGREGIOUS!
PS. What was so hard about that for Senator Cummins to understand. Did she even read the bill?
Piece,
You need to do a stupid cartoon for Senator Cummins to understand.
Again…both DBLP governments over the years rush. to sign to these various agreements, these world precedents, have no clue what they signed on to, in the end when these same charters they are signatory to do not fit into their little corrupt games at the supreme court…they blatantly ignore them and want to cuss the CCJ for upholding the law..
There must be a middle ground for this death penalty cockup that not one lawyer or minister can analyze and solve…since there is NO BRIBE to be had from that…these halfassed newbies rushing out to yap, yap, yap…are themselves quite clueless and should be watched very carefully, but duly ignored.
Case in point…Barbados is signatory to the San Jose Charter on the Rights of the ELDERLY in Latin America and the Caribbean ….. which specifically states that the RIGHTS OF THE ELDERLY SHOULD NEVE BE VIOLATED…that the elderly should not be dragged through their filthy, corrupt court system, all cases of the elderly should be EXPEDITED…promptly…from they each age 60….but do the lawyer, judges, dirty ministers of government even acknowledge that these rights off the elderly exists…no they don’t, they violate their rights even more, steal their estates, their personal injury compensations and drag them through the pit of vipers for a supreme court even more…until they die of grief and stress.
Piece…Trinidad hung 9 of them in one shot..the Dole Chaddee gang in the 00s, many of them were his relatives, hung for killing a whole family, but leaving the little girl alive, she fingered them, the only one who escaped the death penalty was Dole’s brother Ramesh I think his name was………there is a killing every few seconds in Trinidad since then…it’s now 2018.
Case in point…Barbados is signatory to the San Jose Charter on the Rights of the ELDERLY in Latin America and the Caribbean ….. which specifically states that the RIGHTS OF THE ELDERLY SHOULD NEVE BE VIOLATED…that the elderly should not be dragged through their filthy, corrupt court system, all cases of the elderly should be EXPEDITED…promptly…from they EACH age 60….but do the lawyers, judges, dirty ministers of government even acknowledge that these rights off the elderly exists…no they don’t, they violate their rights even more, steal their estates, their personal injury compensations and drag them through the pit of vipers for a supreme court even more…until they die of grief and stress.
And the main reason why hanging will never be a deterrent to the many killings found in the small islands can be found in Dole Chadee’s confession….if ya think the same players in the form of a new generation are NOT the real reason most of these killings occur and will continue to occur…think again.
“soc.culture.caribbean ›
DOLE CHADEE’S CONFESSION
1 post by 1 author
dole…@my-deja.com
6/12/99
DOLE CHADEE SAYS
I am condemned to die. I would like to confess my sins to the public, so
that the world would know, what went wrong. I have asked certain Lawyers
to at least delay my execution until arrangements could be made for my
last wish, that is a TV and Radio interview of about one hour. So far
the Government has refused me Permission to do so. My only hope now is
the International Court in The Hague. I am no afraid to die, but my
secrets must be released. Here are some of them, Ramesh Lawrence Maraj
the A.G. was horning his wife Lynette with a very young and beautiful
Indian girl from Chaguanas. Her husband is in prison for rape and
robbery. He is doing life time in prison and Ramesh the A.G. promised
the girl that he would do the case for her husband in exchange for sex,
so Ramesh used to borrow a friend old car and take the girl to lonely
night spots to have sex, when she demanded that Ramesh use his influence
to set her husband free Ramesh started to panic and he called me in. I
did not charge Ramesh Maraj, but my boys kidnapped her killed her left
her in a car trunk outside Gulf City Complex, the body was found a few
days later, no one has since been charged for her murder. There are
other murders of state witnesses that we did for Ramesh Maraj. He has
now betrayed us, if our gang in prison is allowed to talk for one hour,
Trinidad will sink, Customs and the Police Service may cease to exist.
We had top ranking Customs and Police Officers eating out of our hands.
Officers used to transport Coke in Police Jeeps to avoid road blocks and
detection.
In so coke was transported by police to certain customs officers who
would allow the shipments to go through, Ex Commissioner of police Kenny
Mohammed transported drugs in his official police car many times for us.
Jules Bernard Ex Commissioner of police used to provide the cover up for
the drugs to flow through Trinidad & Tobago, Ex A.C.P’s Dennis Taylor
and Franklyn assisted the drug trade greatly in this country. Former
Director of Public Prosecution Uldric Benjamin received one hundred
thousand dollars to tamper with Court files. Former Chief Justice
Clinton Bernard and Kenneth Lalla of the Judicial and Legal Service
Commission and other members received hefty pay off from us, this was to
allow certain people to be made Judges and Magistrates to try coke
related Cases. I spoke directly to anyone of them through coded
messages, the Judicial and legal service commission and the chief
Justice used to ask me if I was satisfied with certain persons as
Judges. If I said no, it was no, then why does the Drug Enforcement
Agency not interview us on death row now? Because we supplied a lot of
DEA Agents with pay off money, so they refused to listen to us. Mark
Mohammed the new D.P.P. also received pay off from us. He knows fully
well the extent of corruption in the Judiciary. He threatened to reveal
all if he was not made D.P.D. there are a number of people especially
Lawyers who are made Judges acted on our behalf, Stanley John and Alice
Soo Hon. I would like the people of Trinidad & Tobago to know that
Corruption is rampant in the Judiciary starting from Michael De La
Bastide, Carlton Best, Kenny Persad, Uldric Benjamin (Dead), Kenneth
Lalla of the J.L.S.C. Former police officers Kenny Mohammed, Jules
Bernard, Dennis Taylor, Ishmael Franklyn, oadir Mohammed and Dyo
Mohammed and many more. If given the opportunity to speak, over one
thousand business places will close immediately, people like Patrick
Manning (PNM) and Nizam Mohammed will flee this country and more
Politicians together with Prison Officers who sell drugs in Prison. In
Prison we are not allowed to write any thing.”
WARU
I am quite sure he isn’t afraid to die … but I will bet you anything that he is afraid of the pain associated with dying …? Now I would agree that state sanctioned execution is always an effective deterrent … because penalty does not deter a man when his conscience has been aroused … but this you ought to understand: state sanctioned execution derived its essence from the eye for an eye; and a tooth for a tooth law of the Bible … so it can’t be wrong…
Trinidad actually thought they had stopped the killings after the Chadee hangings, but guess what….the murders are now a hundred times worse 19 years later…..some insight into what causes these murders outside of the random killings.
Barbados had it’s own turf murder with the Weare killing among others…of course not one of the lawyers/ministers will want to acknowledge the root causes of many of the killings cause then, how will the bribes continue to flow..
https://youtu.be/K6VrLASZ8gM?t=227
WARU
My goodness woman – yuh smoking hot ! GO TO THE TOP OF THE CLASS WOMAN! HA HA
Yuh remember I kept telling wunna that Mia’s decision to invite 5 of the biggest Drug Lord in Barbados – to the official opening of Parliament – was not only unprecedented but it was also a dangerous signal to the drug lords that : I GOT YUH BACK FELLAS !.
Not one of our prime ministers since post independence went so far.Not Barrow, not Tom, not Bree st John, not Sandie,,not Owen, not Thompson nor for sure not Freundel.
Did you see what happen when – surprise, surprise a top man in the white business community was held with coke and marijuana ?
All of a sudden the coke was no more and the value of the drugs went down.
Then we see in the newspapers the Speaker of the house peeping bout at the police station in Oistins as he waited for his client – one of the accused.However,it was also said that Herbert called Mia and asked her to get down to the Holding Cell in Oistins/Central Police station – with haste.
However, because Barbados Today had already exposed the matter – while slimy VOB and the Nation put it on blackout – Mia knew the whole island eyes were on her – so she sent Dale – the A.G.
Notice too – how within weeks of them Drug lord fellas walking up the steps of the hallowed chambers of Parliament – that Barbados turned into a wild,wild, west – with shooting and killing all over Barbados – and with one of her close druggie bossman – walking the streets of a rural parish with he gun openly and shooting up the place like nobody business and now every day that God mek – we hearing of incidents of wounding by shooting or killing by shooting.
WHERE IS MIA’S VOICE IN ALL THIS.YUH HEAR HER TALKING ABOUT SHE WILL ADDRESS THIS?
WUH YUH EXPECT – SATAN CAN NOT CORRECT SIN.
Read WARU piece again – and get some insight into what is going on.
THEN THINK ABOUT A COUNTRY WHERE
THE MEDIA IS IN THE LEADER’S BACK POCKET AND THEY HAVE SOLD THEIR SOULS TO THE HIGHEST BIDDER SO THEY REFUSE TO CRITICISE THE PIPER WHO IS PAYING THEM
THE LEADER HAS CLOSE ‘FRIENSHIP’ WITH KNOWN DRUG LORDS
THE LEADER HAS NEUTERED THE UNIONS AND HAS BEEN BOUGHT WITH CAMPAIGN FINANCE BY THE BUSINESS CLASS
THE GOVERNMENT HAS ALL THE SEATS AND CAN DO AS THEY LIKE IN PARLIAMENT
MOST OF THE JUDGES HAVE BEEN HANDPICKED BY HER PREDECESSOR OWEN ARTHUR
AND THE PEOPLE ARE SLOWLY ARISING FROM THEIR DRUNKEN STUPOR FROM THE KOOL AID THEY GOBBLED UP. – BUT THEIE EYES ARE SLOWLY OPENING – BUT THEY ARE STILL VERY WEAK FROM THE KOOLAID – AND UNSURE WHAT TO DO BECAUSE OF THE LIES BEING PEDDLED EVERY DAY ON RADIO AND NEWSPAPER.
MAY I ONCE AGAIN REFER YOU TO THE WORDS IN THAT WONDERFUL POEM
Turning and turning in the widening gyre;
The falcon can not hear the falconer;
Things fall apart;the center cannot hold;
Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world;
The blood-dimmed tide is loosed,and everywhere
The ceremony of innocence is drowned;
The best lack all conviction,while the worst
Are filled with passionate intensity
This what we are witnessing is not a case of a simple transition from one political party to the next.
Owen Arthur tried to warn us – But hard ears yuh won’t hear ………
piece
What do you think Dr. GP? DOES IT COINCIDE WITH ANY VERSES THAT YOU KNOW ABOUT MANSLAYERS?
I DEFINITELY WOULD HAVE TO LOOK THAT UP IN STRONG’S
BUT I THINK YOUR METHODOLOGY IS QUITE NOVEL AND UNIQUE.
Inniss..it will get that much worse..look at this, the court system is already crap, apparently Mia and her gang are making it so that it no longer exists…but a lot of them want dragging off for human rights abuses, why don’t she cut the frigging useless cabinet in half..and stop wasting hundreds of thousands of dollars in taxpayer’s salaries per month…on idiots who do not even know what they are doing and do not know that their days of corruption and crimes against the people came to an abrupt and sudden end.
I don’t know who they thought they were speaking to lying about what was found on the Goddard’s yacht…everyone and they mama knows that the packages wrapped in masking tape was cocaine…they are fooling themselves only.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/11/12/more-court-workers-to-go/
“However, an official close to the development, warned that operations in the already stretched court service could be even further retarded with any further down-sizing.
Barbados TODAY understands that it was just before midday today that workers were informed that they must attend an “emergency meeting”, at Manor Lodge with Cooke-Alleyne, at 3 p.m.
The Registrar is reported to have told the workers that the department was preparing to send home more staff over the next few days. One worker explained that Cooke-Alleyne did not confirm numbers at the meeting.
When approached, Cooke-Alleyne, declined to provide any details on the meeting.
Late last month, the first batch of Court Registry workers received their termination letters.
The official noted “If they send home more workers, it is going to have a significant effect on the court system which is already struggling. Since October liquor licences got approved, but it is only last week that they received them and that is because there was nobody to write them up.
“People were at the Court quarreling about not getting their liquor licence. Then down at the Magistrate Court is in a mess. There is hardly any staff down there,” the official said.
The official who opted for anonymity for fear of victimisation also informed Barbados TODAY that the system is already short on court marshals and explained that if any additional marshals are sent home in this latest batch of workers identified, there would be a lot of vacant districts in the marshals department.”
This is what I know too so I don’t know what games these useless people in the parliament sucking up taxpayer’s money are playing…they are full of crap and don’t think anyone knows or are noticing….they can play as much games as they want and fool who they can but when those human rights people have had enough of their small island, backward stupidity…they will know.
“CARSON C, CADOGAN
The Barbados Labour Party Govt. sign onto THE INTER-AMERICAN COMMISSION On Human Rights (IACHR) giving it compulsory jurisdiction in Barbados on June 4, 2000. Barbados has no choice to follow its rulings.
The IACHR has ordered the Barbados Govt. to abolish not only the Mandatory Death penalty but also the Death penalty as a whole.
The European Union has called for the abolition of the Death penalty in Barbados and is disgusted that up to this day it has not been abolished.
Barbados is in breach of International law by hanging onto the Death penalty.
The Govt. must abolish the Death penalty. It has no other choice.”
Makes us wonder why useless Fruendel and his gang of CROOKS did not abolish the death penalty when they had the chance…for 10 whole years instead of trying to ABOLISH the CCJ when they saw those Justices who mean real business had no plans to enable Barbados’ corrupt game playing…
WARU
It is not only the Court workers that they are making a mess of,but the CUSTOM WORKERS,THE CLERICAL WORKERS IN THE POLICE SERVICE,THE GUYS WHO HAVE TO GIVE THE SUMMONS, AND ON AND ON.
What was the big rush ?
Why couldn’t Mia sit down with the permanent secretaries and other Heads of Departments and go through with them first and then sit with the Union and carefully decided the factor or factors being decided for this lay off and see the implications of their action – not only in the workplace,but the impact on their families etc.
But Mia don’t think through nuffin – not even to ensure that she had the cheques ready when the people had to be sent home.She is a hot and sweaty kind of decision maker it seems.
Yet every day one of her ‘girl-friends’ getting a pick.
Selma Husbands – Deputy Permanent Secretary
Analese Babb – Tsar (technology)
Lucille Moe – Minister of Information
and now
Carol Roberts – CEO -NCF.
I wonder who is next ?
What in the dark will soon come out in the light.
T.Inniss November 13, 2018 5:51 PM
ITS VERY SIMPLE BOY CANT YOU SEE
IF YOU LET ME BITE YOU
I WILL GIVE YOU A BITE OF THE BIG JOB PIE
WUK FOR WUK OR BITE FOR BITE LOLLL.
And yuh know we paying for that !
Another drug case almost identical right up to a ‘blue and white’ boat. Was this cocaine too? Sounds like the same brown taped packages @plt shared a photo of.
“St Peter resident Joel Delano Mings will spend the next five years in prison for importing and trafficking 43.3 kilogrammes of marijuana into the country.
The 52-year-old painter from Batteleys, Speightstown pleaded guilty on October 12 to the aforementioned charges as well as possession and possession with intent to supply on August 9.
Mings who has been on remand at HMP Dodds since August 17 was sentenced by Magistrate Kristie Cuffy-Sargeant when he appeared in the District ‘A’ Magistrate’s Court today.
In handing down the sentence the magistrate took into consideration among other things Mings’ early guilty plea and the time already spent on remand. She then imposed a three-year sentence on the trafficking charge and a two-year sentence on the importation charge to run consecutively.
The known offender was reprimanded and discharged on the other charges.
The Coast Guard and police acting on a tip intercepted a blue and white fishing vessel called Bubbles with Mings and another man on board. They were taken into custody, a search was conducted and the vegetable matter was discovered in 32 taped brown packages, hidden in a seating compartment behind the captain’s steering wheel.
Don’t you think it’s time you come out of the gutter with your degrading language?You appear to languish in filthy thoughts if I get your drift.
Our court system needs reform. Single magistrates should not have power to sentence anyone to more than six months. Longer sentences should be either by a higher court, or a three-strong bench.
T.Inniss November 13, 2018 7:13 AM
“……. a dressed up ’empty barrel.
Always looking for attention – and always pontificating and talking down to people…….”
T. Inniss,
Have you seriously considered what you would write as the opening lines of your autobiography?
Don’t you think it’s time you come out of the gutter with your degrading language?You appear to languish in filthy thoughts if I get your drift.
1- I HAVE SAID WHAT I WANTED TO SAY
2- I HAVE NOT SAID ANYTHING THAT IS NOT THE TRUTH
3- I HAVE NO APOLOGY FOR WHAT I HAVE SAID
4 AND WILL SAY IT AGAIN JUST TO OFFEND YOU
IF YOU LET ME BITE YOU
5 AND I WILL ALSO GIVE YOU T INNIS RESPONSE TOO
WUK FOR WUK OR BITE FOR BITE LOL
NOW YOU MAY GO JUMP IN A LAKE OR DE CARENAGE.
Honey site key malee pence.You poor tormented deranged sole.
GABRIEL
LET ME REPEAT MYSELF
1- I HAVE SAID WHAT I WANTED TO SAY
2- I HAVE NOT SAID ANYTHING THAT IS NOT THE TRUTH
3- I HAVE NO APOLOGY FOR WHAT I HAVE SAID
4 AND WILL SAY IT AGAIN JUST TO OFFEND YOU
IF YOU LET ME BITE YOU
5 AND I WILL ALSO GIVE YOU T INNIS RESPONSE TOO
WUK FOR WUK OR BITE FOR BITE LOL
NOW YOU MAY GO JUMP IN DE CAREENAGE.OR FAECES FILLED SWAMP
If mold and delay are such impediments to the judiciary, maybe we should keep the ability to order the death penalty out of their hands.
@ WARU
When you commented earlier on de ole man’s murder dissuading initiative you first said that and I quote
“…Trinidad actually thought they had stopped the killings after the Chadee hangings, but guess what….the murders are now a hundred times worse 19 years later…”
Let me first disavow you of the first misconception you have presented here and which no one challenged
Though T Inniss seems to have endorsed what you said for his own purposes…
I am not speaking for the sake of typing here on BU to get to clicks.
Nor is this about sharing facts or reported news paper articles
This is about solutions to a very serious problem VIOLENT, PERSISTENT MURDERS which IF NOT HALTED will destroy the economy no matter what BERT SAYS.
Do you understand me?
We, being incarcerated into our flesh, signed on to a “treaty” that is more binding than any shit€ International Human Rights treaty.
I dont think that you or T Inniss ever heard of it.
It says ” Thou Shalt Not Kill!!!” and that one overrides yours much more than 19 times.
During the month of hangings of that gang there were NO MURDERS recorded by the Police in Trinidad!!!
It was a psychological deterrent that poleaxed the criminal element and gave pause to the activity.
You and others need to understand the enormity of this problem on a 2 x 2 rock called Barbados
Most people want to live and the prospects for most of the bad boys who are into this Hollywood gangland party OF BEING TAKEN OUT BY THE LEGAL MEANS AVAILABLE TO US, is the only means that we have available to us.
This is what Special Forces personnel do, TAKE OUT THE ENEMY WHEREVER THEY ARE.
And this is how this matter needs to be viewed.
This is not a blocked sewerage pipe like you and others seem to believe.
Mugabe erred in a major way to have invited ganglords to parliament but they are no less emboldened than the drug lords who are “known but are not known”
All the pretty talk that T Inniss has about Bounty and the rest of them NOT ONCE WILL HE OR BARBADOS UNDERGROUND WHISTLEBLOWER MENTION THE NAMES OF THE OTHERS.
Like the seemingly scornful Dr. GP I will join the other myope and say to you “if you cant bring a solution to the table as a respected contributor to the BU forum, it is time to get out off Dodge ”
I am sorry if this offends you but…at the end of the day, if we are just here stroking our collective doggi€s and pudendas IN PUBLIC, all we are doing is waiting for the powers that be, or the criminals, to bite them off, and then invite them or elect them to Parliament
@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you
“It says ” Thou Shalt Not Kill!!!” and that one overrides yours much more than 19 times.”
Sorry Piece..but not a fella pays any attention to that…not even governments..so on that ya definitely wasting YOUR time on BU…
After Dole and his gang were hung, the crime rate in Trinidad fell by a 1/4 only…until everyone forgot they hung Dole and the gang and then all crimes promptly started up again, it is so bad now that I, a great lover of Trinidad is not so hot on the idea of hanging out there anymore..
So if the government in Barbados will STOP laying in bed with the Abeds/syrians who traffic drugs and guns, Indians who traffic drugs and guns, whites who traffic drugs and guns, black drug and gun lords…they would not believe themselves so emboldened to set up murders or threaten bloggers or stir up strife in the country..
…..Barbados is not a Trinidad, not by a long shot, the murders are troubling because even one murder is one too many…but we know the root cause in Barbados, the government is the one who should address, acknowledge and confront it and bring all their criminal friends and bribers to book.
That is not my job…neither is it yours, but we are free to expose the real reason Barbados is currently experiencing all these murders.
Waru
I like your 4 last sentences,namely that;
………. we know the root cause in Barbados,the govt is the one who should address,acknowledge and confront it and bring all their criminal friends and bribers to book.
THAT IS NOT MY JOB …… NEITHER IS IT YOURS,BUT WE ARE FREE TO EXPOSE THE REAL REASON BARBADOS IS CURRENTLY EXPERIENCING ALL THESE MURDERS.
Well said !
I could not have said it better !
The ills of our society are much bigger than enforcement and decisions by the political class.
“If mold and delay are such impediments to the judiciary, maybe we should keep the ability to order the death penalty out of their hands.”
exactly…if the government, AG, Chief Justice cannot handle a little mold and mildew, maintain the space in the judiciary where they work everyday…10 years later the Chief Justice CANNOT do anything about the backlogs created by corrupt lawyers, Judges, insurance companies and government ministers….they should not have the power of the death penalty in their hands PERIOD…they signed on to treaties where it MUST be abolished..I don’t know what ignorant ass games they are playing but it will not end well.
PIECE
Like the seemingly scornful Dr. GP I will join the other myope and say to you “if you cant bring a solution to the table as a respected contributor to the BU forum, it is time to get out off Dodge ”
THAT SHOULD BE THE SCORNED GP SIR
The ills of the society are MUCH BIGGER..because the two governments were/are as equally corrupt AND dangerous as any criminal that they are hoping to use the death penalty against….they are the problem and CAUSE of the many crimes they are claiming to address.
@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you kindly
I acknowledge that the issues facing us are much bigger but I respectfully put it to you that, since “the journey of 2,000 miles begins with the first step”, GIVEN THE LONG LIST IN YOUR BRIEF LIST, I just grabbed the one that I saw the answer for. (“Saw” In my spirit)
This 3 dimension is linear and in our ken, it’s impossible for either of us to write simultaneously on more than one thread at one time, if you get my drift
@ Dr GP the Theologian
“Seemingly scornful”
“Seemingly” as it would seem to some here that you and I, are “scornful “, as in “uncomplimentary” of the idiocy that many submit as truth here at BU.
Dr. GP look, the other day, when one of the BU Blogmasters was commenting on a submission I made, he said “class idiots”. I periodically echo those words
BUT I went back to that piece to see what I had said that had elicited his comment.
and I realised that, inherent in my repitition of my questions there, and my style elsewhere, I come over as arrogant and a know it all.
To readers here, it seem like if “you feel you bright” few understand my frustration and this Dr. GP, comes over as “derogatory, denigration and seemingly scornful” by fellow readers.
And our periodic cussings dont breed any love either, not that we care bout that though heheheheh
We are impatient and fail to understand the rampant protocols associated with “speaking to slower people” and this style of engagement results in what we call ” being hated”
Both sides view these “differences in our states” and, because both sides realize the difference, we either deal with it efficiently and move forward together, or we relish in combatting each other, them cussing us or vice versa.
If an alien, intelligent life form, came down to earth tomorrow, and sought to converse with us, the very same thing would happen, we would either engage with a desire to bridge our differences or we would actively seek to destroy what we dont know.
If the God in you truly sees the God in me, we would not fight.
https://www.facebook.com/CBCNews.bb/videos/2076926895953643/
What the hell is a law anyway when a constitutional majority has the power to change everything in the law books at the drop of a hat… without even a debate … Now that is power