127 responses to “Proposed Public Sector Expenditure Reduction Programme Document”

1. Notice how David hangs his hat once again on the usual intent to distract
    Hence Toppin and the parking
    What a dumb nitwitted flock of sheep following David for the exercise

2. Watchman what is going through my head should be questions you should be asking instead of relying on BERT as a panacea to solve barbados debt problem
    The fact being that BERT is simply a band aid ploy to hoodwinked the masses that govt has a home made plan to pay debt when in fact the debt which is being paid is borrowed money which must be repaid with most likelihood resulting in a revolving plan of borrowing to sustain the economy for years to come
    A vicious cycle which would continue to burden the populace with more taxation
    A cycle which for all intents and purposes past govt tried avoiding

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

Glad to see you thinking today.
    BERT is the flip side of the last administration’s IDEA (Increase Debt Every Annus). Neither address any kind of growth strategy beyond lip service. The CG’s job is to provide essential services, while providing an “environment” in which people can grow. Which includes not taxing them into the ground. The growth must come from the people.
    I know this is not a popular theory, because the prevailing feeling seems to be the ‘guvment muss provide fah we’. It is that provision which causes debt.

4. PUDRYR

What has the Pan African Commission done so far, other than organize the “Emancipation walk” to the “Bussa” statue on the morning of “Emancipation Day?”

Ohhhhh………..on February 21, 2018, the Commission for Pan-African Affairs and the Cultural Policy and Research Section of the Ministry of Culture, Sports and Youth hosted a private screening of the “Black Panther”movie at the Olympus Theatres.

5. Mariposa

Take my advice – if you have a comment to make you should not be the least concerned if others are responding to your topic.Just post your comment.

That post about Toppin might seem like a distraction to you – but to thinking persons it is a mirror to the soul of them man and others like him in the Mottley administration.

100 days have just passed and already this government ministers and prime minister are giving the people the middle finger .

6. T. Inniss i have been on BU long enough to know the rule book and how the game is played
    Have made enough comments to understand that some or many would be ignored
    But nothing has deter me from speaking my piece
    What is so alarming and should be more significant to warant an attention of grave concern about a middle finger digusting and as revolting it must be this type of behavior is nothing new to barbados politics and now only serves as a distraction to detour the masses away from the fallout of the newly retrenched workers and all the other pressing economic problems facing the country
    Mottley has a minister by the name of George Payne whose name is pestered and tied to allege illegalties .
    Therefore if George Payne with all that is being heard and said about him is still sitting as a minister of the crown
    Yuh tink Mottley would give two wukups about a minister Middle finger pointed in the air
    So why waste my time on a topic that in the long run seemingly would give govt a day off from the barrage of crticism having to do with the econony

7. Good news for Barbados, oi; price is dropping. Hope our next forward contract is due about now!

8. Prime Minister just delivered a good listen to the students at UWI, Cave Hill.

https://www.facebook.com/gisbarbados/videos/255509068445411/

9. “What is so alarming and should be more significant to warrant an attention of grave concern about a middle finger disgusting and as revolting it must be this TYPE of BEHAVIOR is NOTHING NEW to Barbados POLITICS……..”

Hmmmmmmm………

Yard-fowls never cease to amaze me, especially when “the shoe is on the other foot” and they suddenly develop a conscience and display a sense of morality.

But….if their comments are “honest and genuine”……… I do not have any choice but to conclude their actions are “refreshing.”

It’s good to know those who were previously agreeing with and defending former PM Stuart’s leadership style, which as “pregnant with arrogance”……….

…………..have finally come to the realization that he and his Cabinet’s refusal to communicate with Barbadians and using constituency branch meetings to cuss their perceived enemies and those who they believed were not “singing in their choir,” could be likewise interpreted as “giving people the middle finger.”

However, I’m disappointed they were not prevailed upon to be CONSISTENT……..and the level of scrutiny now being given to “George Payne whose name is pestered and tied to alleged illegalities,”……. and “with all that is being heard and said about him is still sitting as a minister of the crown”……..

………was not similarly given to Michael Carrington who faced two civil suits arising from him with-holding the funds of a wheel-chair bond senior citizen and Ajax Construction.

Instead, he was allowed to remain as Speaker of the House of Assembly, advised by the PM “to get a lawyer” and “overwhelmingly” defended by these same individuals that are condemning Payne.

But……. it seems as though when your “friend” does wrong….it’s right……..but woe to your “enemy,” when he commits a similar wrong doing.

10. Artax

………was not similarly given to Michael Carrington who faced two civil suits arising from him with-holding the funds of a wheel-chair bond senior citizen and Ajax Construction.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

and didnt you blp yardfowls hoot and hollered and cuss govt stink stink and promised to exercise proper judgement in matters pertaining to illegalities concerning the blp minister if elected
    so now yuh telling me that present govt brek another promise and it is alright
    boy dont mek me laugh do with the kind a dribble yuh posting to mek yuh asinine point
    how ridiculous can you get

11. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

Good news oil price is down. Hopes i goes even lower. 🙂

12. Mariposa

It is a known fact comprehension is a skill that eludes your consortium.

Likewise, “Dont mek me laugh do with the kind a dribble yuh posting to mek yuh asinine point how ridiculous can you get”……….

…………where in my contribution did I mentioned (directly or indirectly) anything pertaining to “present govt brek another promise and it is alright?”

How do you know George Payne is guilty or have you arrived at his guilt based primarily on the “mouthings” of those women on social media?

Has there been a court case in which George Payne was found guilty of “illegalities?” Do you know if the present administration is conducting an investigation into the matter?

However, since you decided to “go down that line”………….

…………I’ll refer you to pages 46 to 48 of your 2008 manifesto, in which it was articulated how your former inept administration planned to deal with ministers…….and it is obvious, in the case of Carrington………they broke their promise as well.

Under these circumstances, it’s clear you are biased and hypocritical……. But that what yard-fowls are made of.

Which brings me to my point……..as much as you may want to deny…… the evidence proves there aren’t any ideological and philosophical differences between the BLP and DLP.

SMH!!!!

13. But past govt made mistakes and present govt lambast them for some of the very mistakes they are now making
    Everbody knows that when blp was in opposition they had made integrity a rallying cry against past govt and promised to do better even assuring the people that when elected they would make integrity a priority since past govt had failed not to produce the integrity legislation as they had promised
    Not here you come reminding all about past govt failures on integrity legislation but fails to participate or show any interest in the fact that present govt has been hypocritical by not exemplifying what they preach hence G Payne illegalities should be ignored

14. “Not here you come reminding all about past govt failures on integrity legislation but fails to participate or show any interest in the fact that present govt has been hypocritical by not exemplifying what they preach hence G Payne illegalities should be ignored…”

Hmmmmmm..

I do not find it necessary to “participate or show any interest” in anything. I leave that for political yard-fowls such as you, who would ignorantly and blindly follow a political party, irrespective of the consequences.

According to “Gryner,” I learned my lesson well, (they) can’t trick me again.”

The mantra of the David Thompson led DLP administration was corruption of the former Owen Arthur led BLP administration…evidenced by Thompson going the length and breadth of the island to spread his message.

I was impressed when I read pages 46 to 48 of the DEMS 2008 manifesto in which “Good Governance” was articulated. I was equally impressed when, after winning the 2008 elections, Thompson publicly mentioned the corrupt practices allegedly undertaken by the former BLP administration.

Although I was a bit disappointed, I was not surprised that all of Thompson’s talk about “locking up BLP ministers,” was nothing more than political diatribe, “engineered” to give the electorate the impression he was about to do something.

While the DEMS purposely and conveniently forgot their promise of “good governance,” for 10 years the status quo remained the same, giving DEM the chance to be equally as corrupt as their predecessors.

As such…..I’m not surprised similar is occurring under this current BLP administration, where the wicked deeds of the DLP are being highlighted……..but the “tough talk” of dealing with the corruption has come to naught.

Yours is not a GENUINE CONCERN…….you are essentially using these events to score political points for the DLP.

It’s your job.

What is more hypocritical than that?

15. William Skinner Avatar

Some years ago the DLP had the privileged pump. Now the BLP wants
    privileged parking.
    Same old same old; pot calling kettle black.
    Then they are both known to fight for the salt meat bone during lunch in Parliament. Lol.
    Not a failed state yet but……………

16. Skinner

I luv that one – they both fight for the salt meat bone – a true bajanism if there ever was one .Sweet.

17. George Payne was not charged or found guilty of any thing

The former was

18. Former speaker

19. Artax you keep regurtiating the same ole sh.it .
    Well i aint got time for that shit will leave it for u and the the blp yardies to clean up.
    What nerve to be making finger pointing an excuse

20. John2 in the public forum George Payne was found guilty as charged as shown by the overwhelming evidence produce by the Stewarts
    But just a friendly reminder daylight runs till nite catches it
    George Payne is sitting high in parliament hiding under the status of parliamentary privilege but one day coming soon his butt would be fully exposed in the court of law

21. Loop market
    BREAKING NEWS |

POLL: What You Said: Bajans not happy with Health Service Levy ZAZEANNAH WALKER CREATED : 23 OCTOBER 2018 COMMUNITY Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Ryan Straughn, during today’s sitting of Parliament.
    Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Ryan Straughn, during today’s sitting of Parliament.

A policy described as for “for the national good” is not sitting well with some Barbadians.

In fact, many are questioning just how good the nation can be when their finances continue to be depleted.

During this morning’s sitting of Parliament, Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Ryan Straughn, kicked off discussion on the National Insurance and Social Security (Amendment and Validation) Bill.

A Bill that once approved, will allow the government to make a 2.5 per cent deduction through the National Insurance Scheme (NIS), which is to help subsidize the cost of healthcare in the island through the Health Service Contribution.

A point reinforced by the Minister during his presentation:

“We would have analyzed what would have been provided by the previous administration and we felt that the QEH specifically needed to have clarity with respect to their financing, such that the people of this country can assess the quality of healthcare that they’ve grown accustomed to.

“And so this Bill seeks not just to bring a measure of financial certainty to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, but certainly, it demonstrates the importance healthcare plays in the development of a country.”

Speaking to the added financial responsibility the levy placed on Barbadians, Minister Straughn urged persons to consider the overall benefits to the nation:

“This particular measure will take a little more out of people’s paychecks, we acknowledge that, but fundamentally it is the provision of the services for the national good that is important.”

Should government implement the Health Service Levy?
    Choices
    YES. GOVERNMENT NEEDS THE REVENUE TO IMPROVE OUR HEALTHCARE SERVICE.NO. THIS IS JUST TOO MUCH TO BEAR.I’M NOT SURE.
    Consideration was given, but not met with similar sentiments by many who took to Loop News’ Facebook page to comment on this development.

“No more taxes please,” “Like I should have stick to NSRL only,” were some of the shorter posts which showed persons concern about the Contribution.

Many people took the time to express much more detailed unease however:

“Wasn’t this the same group of people who were telling the former administration that you can’t tax your way out of a recession?”

“Barbados needs a 21 1st new hospital be4 you talk about a firing new tax.”

Some persons had a few questions for the Minister:

“… Would this new levy be an addition to the already burden some taxes that are not reaching the QEH?

“You now set thinking Barbadians to query what is the need for this new levy when all that is necessary is an amendment to the previous statutory instruments, making the adjustment that those taxes be collected through the NIS,” one person said.

“What about making healthy foods more reasonable and accessible? What about making clean water available in all neighbourhoods? What about providing services to make sure that health is generally improved and therefore reduce the impact on the QEH and polyclinics?”

While these views were the overwhelming sentiments among the comments, some persons backed the move:

“I’m in agreement cuz a lot of people abuse this luxury for years.”

“Just give her a chance please let’s see where she is going.”

22. Mariposa

Let’s be fair and reasonable.

How do you know George Payne is guilty only after hearing one side of the story? Did you come to that conclusion based on a court decision………or was it based on the fact that it is politically expedient for you to do so?

Out of all the contributors to BU, you’re the only one that keeps regurgitating the same ole shit.

Prior to May 24……your response to every article posted to BU for discussion was Mottley and the LEC.

After May 24, you have been consistent with Mottley, smoke and mirrors, lies…..the same shiite over and over and over……ad infinitum.

However, in this instance I must commend you for your honesty……..you definitely left the shit for the BLP yardies to clean up……resulting in the presence of the IMF……..and you’re now complaining?????

Have a good night’s sleep and pleasant dreams.

23. In the public forum all member of the DLP
    Are guilty as charged and should all be locked up

Guh sleep!

24. Convict him in the court of law them Mia will do what she has to do

Until then found guilty by a court of law Donville is still a member of your DLP
    According to its president
    He is charged but not yet found guilty in court
    But is guilty in the public forum and every inch of this 166 sq miles rock

25. If you saw a fellow walking around with a hole in his pocket where money was falling out, how would you feel about being asked to contribute a monthly amount to a fund designed to keep him at a basic level of funding to maintain himself?

Only complete jackasses for leaders will ALWAYS seek to solve the funding issue by grabbing at MORE money – while their pockets are leaking like the BWA mains….
    – People stealing the money
    – People getting paid – and not doing one shiite
    – People making STUPID multi-million dollar decisions – over and over and over – with ZERO consequences…
    – People INCAPABLE of solving simple problems like running a bus service, picking up garbage …getting a court to work.

All these jackasses can do is BORROW money …. and increase taxes – to compensate for the thieving, wastage and incompetence.
    …and now beat up on the poor brass bowls at the BOTTOM who neither have the opportunity to STEAL serious amounts, ..to make major decisions, or to address major problems…. and who work for peanuts…

While more fat, incompetent, jokers are promoted to Deputy PS..and to other big picks…
    What a place….

Grass is our ONLY hope….

26. SSA in $40m hole

TRE GREAVES, tregreaves@nationnews.com

Added 23 October 2018

http://www.nationnews.com/IMG/645/85645/private-waste-hauler-1024184355-450×303.gif

A private waste hauler collecting garbage in Benthams, St Lucy, on Tuesday. (Picture by Ricardo Leacock.)

The Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) is in the dumps. It owes private waste haulers and Sustainable Barbados Recycling Centre (SBRC) more than $40 million.

To compound the situation, the SSA only has 13 trucks to collect waste islandwide. These revelations came from Minister of the Environment Trevor Prescod, who said he has been looking for solutions.

One was that employees pool their resources, purchase trucks and help the cash-strapped institution.

Prescod was addressing the Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP) St George North annual general meeting at St George Secondary school on Sunday. Member of Parliament Gline Clarke had relayed complaints of constituents about irregular garbage collection. (TG)

27. Whatever happened to purchasing all those “new” trucks???

Just observing

28. What no new trucks?!! Say it ain’t so. Maybe the drivers got retrenchment letters.

29. Where is Prescod “looking for solutions”? … in the various shiite speeches of his political colleagues?

Only when it was easy to borrow, beg and steal were these political jokers able to spend like madmen.
    Now that the money is all gone, like the prodigal son, they will need to return to the charity of the very people whose trust they previously (and arrogantly) abused for assistance.
    Anybody can get up and talk shiite about buying new trucks, fixing sewerage problems, correcting economic imbalances and solving social problems.

BUT…
    Those who can ACTUALLY solve these issues are of a completely different breed…..

30. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

Correct me if i am wrong. The previous administration had ordered new trucks, due to arrive in November but late in the year.. Where are these trucks? MAM has mentioned the order but had said it would take a bit of time to get them so she wanted to get a faster delivery by purchasing used trucks also.

Do i have my facts mixed up?

31. Prescod got to be mad with his suggestion that people pool their hard worked earnings to buy dilapidated buses
    Once again i contend that when in opposition this govt had all the answers
    There ongoing mantra to say govt has increased the debt is an exercise in futility
    After all wasnt it under the OSA reign that he saddled the taxpayers with a continual debt when he passed legislation not to cut civil servants wages
    This govt is out of its league having so far to show any meaningful policies which would release the ballooning effect of more pain and suffering on its people
    God help us all

32. If the Gov’t wants new trucks it can always send home another 1000 public servants. That should just about do it. Public servants=the new crypto currency! However just like dollars and cents, even that will be soon depleted.

33. Bush Tea

I especially like the 2nd line in your post @ 7:09 a.m.

@ Sir Fuzzy

No sir – you don’t have your facts mixed up .Those were the promises Mia sold to the said people that voted for her – who she is now sending home.

On the campaign trail she promised:

. New garbage trucks in 3 months

New buses in 3 months

To immediately bring the sewage problem to an end – and to pay the businesses and workers who were negatively impacted by the fall out.

Pay the tuition fees of UWI Students

Man look – I am not sorry for these persons who refused to be guided by common sense – they always heard ‘a promise is a comfort to a fool’. Steupse

Mia on the Campaign trail and even before – was in the Parliament saying the DLP administration was broke – yet during the campaign she made all sort of outrageous promises – and yet the people swallow that? Steupes again..

34. During the days of plenty this country had time and plenty financial resources to build a better economy
    Cant help but remember the long speeches by the blp yardfowls to validated what a bright and prosperous economy barbados was enjoying under the OSA reign
    However now the realities of debt is now being uncovered going way back into the OSA reign most can realize that a process of vodoo economics was a policy pursued to make barbadians belive that all was well.

35. @ T Inniss
    The SAD part is that even if Bajans KNEW IN ADVANCE that the BLP would continue like this, the result would STILL have been 30-0
    The DLP shiitehounds were THAT bad…..

It is the ULTIMATE curse on a country that it is forced to choose between useless Bert and Ernie Stinkliar
    …to be in control of their money.
    Unfortunately, a people ALWAYS get exactly what they DESERVE….

People who continually endorse brass bowlery do NOT deserve integrity – as in Caswell,
    nor technical intelligence as with Grenville.
    Such BBs deserve plimplers…
    And these exists in plenty- in the grass where we are headed….

36. Got yuh Bush Tea !

37. Prime Minister Mia Mottley offered an emotional apology for her Administration’s actions.

38. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

I saw your submission at 3.34 am this morning

It caused me to think of real practical ways for civil actors, de average bajan, to “wrest” control from the 21 incompetents that Mia Mottley is surrounded by.

This presents the continuous game of revolving Musical Chairs that we are beseiged with every 5 years.

I decided that, given Dr. GP’s insights yesterday on another blog, it did not make much sense to keep belabouring the endemic, rampant problems of successive governments.

I said I would address realizable solutions that WE THE PEOPLE HAVE AT OUR DISPOSAL.

So under seperate cover de ole man sent you an email blog item to focus on this Sanitation Service Authority Problem

I do hope that you receive it and my inconsequential dribble is published

39.         @PUDRYR 

Received.

40. HELP FOR FISHERMEN PROMISED!

” Promising to make the plans electronically available to all concerned residents, Humphrey spoke of an intention to replace the current tiled fish-vending counter with state-of-the-art stainless-steel topping, install toilets inside the refurbished building, “and make it a modern fish market. In fact, if I could make it the model fish market, I would be very happy”.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/10/24/upgraded-facilities-and-more/

41. The Barbados Private Sector Agency gives BERT the thumbs up.

42. @Vincent

Meant to respond to this comment.

Hers was a clinical presentation based on numbers and timing of decisions taken.

What was missing in the opinion of the blogmaster is the alternatives/options the government had.

She admits the new government was in a hole.

BERT from the blogmaster’s layman assessment is that it is meant to stabilize and with it breath investor confidence back in the economy. This ALL anticipate is the jump off point for growth to take place.

43. After defaulting, begging the IMF and sacking low-hanging fruit in the public sector, has the Motley government run out of ideas after just five months? Is the St Lucy retreat meant to threaten unhappy ministers? It will all end in tears.
    Barbados is a failed state.

44. Hal

So it seems Hal.

All is not well in Mia’s Paradise it seems.

45. T. Inniss,

Be careful. They now want to regulate cryptocurrencies. Plse remind me where is Bernie Madoff? It is going to end in tears. Keep an eye on the money spent on the defence force. Any social unrest they will stampede the police to put things right. Also keep an eye on the RSS.

46. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 9 :08 AM

That is what the electorate and the GoB needs to listen to . A clinical analysis which clearly states the problem and the failings of BERT to address them. The deficits are not the problems. They are symptoms of the disease.

Another point Senator Drakes made is that economics is about man. There is no point deliberately disrupting the citizens sources of income and then offer ” soup kitchen” relief. That is like robbing the poor and then offering them back a minute part of their original property. The only beneficiary is the bully who gets his warped thrill of power over the weak.

In summary,Sen Drakes pointed out the unintended consequences of a hurriedly misconceived measure which weakens investors confidence in the economy of Barbados.

47. @Vincent

100% agree with you we are addressing the symptoms. However do you agree that the failing state of the economy required an immediate prescription; a course of antibiotics if you will, until the ‘condition’ can be fully treated?

48. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

It also has the potential to undermine trust and confidence in the Governance System in the same manner that the Justice System has been undermined. Citizens must be encouraged to believe that their government really cares for all of them.

49. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 10 :47 AM

Competent doctors do not recommend antibiotics for a virus. Antibiotics work best on bacterial infections.

The temporary disequilibrium which the Barbadian economy was experiencing would have been corrected by removing unproductive ,unnecessary expenditures, plugging the leakages in public revenue ,and reducing the public sector by attrition. Every year 1500 persons in the labour force reaches retirement age. 500 plus must be in the Public sector. The Private Sector if it is growing should be adding at least 1000 jobs per year.

The answer is growth. Those are where any meaningful stability should be made. GDP is a flow. Taking a still photograph that is blurry is what these classical and neo- classical economists are fixated upon. The running frames before and after that photograph have value economically.

50. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

You may have given the economy an immediate prescription but the patient was allergic to the injection and is in the ICU. LOL