Of course the proof of the pudding will ultimately lie in the eating, but the Integrity in Public Life is not short on provisions designed to ensure the reduction of opportunities for specified persons in public life to profit from corruption.

In addition to mandating the declaration of particulars by these individuals that we treated at length in the last installment of this piece two weeks ago, the Bill also requires that every Member of Parliament must also file with the Commission a statement of registrable interests that must be kept by the Commission in a Register of Interests. The content of this statement is catalogued at Clause 38 of the Bill and appears calculated to disclose the trading and commercial interests of the member and of his or her spouse and children. Oddly enough, it also includes at sub-sub-clause g-

“…particulars of any political, trade or professional association to which the person belongs…”

Since, as has been observed before, the legislation does not attempt to engage with an eminently possible source of political corruption; that of the electoral campaign financing of political parties, this particular appears anomalous in a group comprised of existing directorships, beneficial interests in land, and investments in corporate entities, among others. Even odder still is the provision in Clause 38 (2) that appears at first blush to defeat the purpose of the inquiry itself –

Nothing in this section shall be taken to require disclosure of the actual amount or extent of any financial benefit, contribution or interests.

Thus the statement alone of the interest suffices for the purpose, although it is not immediately clear, at least to this writer, how a determination of corruption might be made in the absence of an increase in the value of a particular interest.

One possible explanation for this might be the provision in Cl. 39(2) that permits the Register to be inspected by any member of the public. The need to preserve the privacy of the member, it would appear, clearly outweighs the detection of an increase in the unexplained value commercial holdings by the MP.

As it is with the declaration of assets, the Commission is empowered to request further information on the statement, although this must be read subject to Clause 38 (2) cited above, and may conduct an inquiry to ascertain whether there has been a full disclosure as stipulated.

As a matter of drafting style, the Bill introduces the notion of a prohibited interest almost by stealth in Clause 40 (2) without prior warning or definition until it does so belatedly in Clause 42.

According to the former clause,

Without prejudice to the generality of subsection (1), where the Commission is of the opinion that there are reasonable grounds to believe that a member of the House of Assembly or the Senate has failed to comply with the requirements for the registration of interests under this Part or that such member has acquired a prohibited interest… [Emphasis added]

Clause 42 later defines a prohibited interest as one where-

1. (a)  the member has notified the Commission of the interest as required by this Act; and

(b)  the Commission is of the opinion that the interest

(i)  is unlikely to affect the member’s obligations under the Code of Conduct; or

(ii)  is likely to affect the member’s obligations under the Code of Conduct but that the member, his spouse or child, as the case may be, has divested himself of the interest or has placed it in a blind trust on such terms and conditions as the Commission considers appropriate.

The Bill additionally creates a number of offences in connection with the failure to file the statement; filing a knowingly incomplete statement or one that is materially false in any particular; a failure to comply with a request of the Commission and a failure without reasonable cause to attend an inquiry called by the Commission and to furnish any requested information or knowingly giving any false or incomplete information in response at the inquiry –Clause 43 (1).

Once again, it bears remarking that the primary monetary fine for these offences on summary conviction is a scarcely dissuasive $ 15 000; a sum worth significantly less in today’s coinage than the fine under the 1929 Prevention of Corruption Act.

However it is possible for this penalty to be enlarged upon by the flouting of the magistrate’s order to make a full disclosure of the property. By clause 43-

Where an offence referred to in subsection (1)(a) or (b) involves the non- disclosure, by a member of the House of Assembly or the Senate, of property which should have been disclosed in a statement of registrable interests, the magistrate shall order the member to make full disclosure of the property within a specified period.

Where a member of the House of Assembly or the Senate fails to comply with an order made pursuant to subsection (2) within the specified period, the offence referred to in subsection (1) shall be deemed to be a continuing offence and the member shall be liable to a further fine of $3 000 for each day on which the offence continues.

Arguably, even more dissuasive still is the punishment prescribed by Clause 44-

A member of the House of Assembly or the Senate who is convicted of an offence under section 36 or 43 is liable, in addition to any other penalty prescribed by law, to be disqualified from holding any public office for a period of 5 years from the date of conviction for the offence.

I propose to conclude this series next week with an examination of the treatment of gifts, the definition of acts of corruption, and analyses of the Code of Conduct and of the Bill’s protection afforded to whistleblowers.

109 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – On the Prevention of Corruption 5”

1. “Since, as has been observed before, the legislation does not attempt to engage with an eminently possible source of political corruption; that of the electoral campaign financing of political parties, this particular appears anomalous in a group comprised of existing directorships, beneficial interests in land, and investments in corporate entities, among others. Even odder still is the provision in Clause 38 (2) that appears at first blush to defeat the purpose of the inquiry itself –

Nothing in this section shall be taken to require disclosure of the actual amount or extent of any financial benefit, contribution or interests.”

That is David Simmons, Leslie Haynes and all the corrupt drafters of this piece of garbage…at their corrupt best.

2. These fines are pocket change. In order for fines to be effective one must stand to lose more than one gains. I’m going to go back to properly peruse all of these articles This time I shall not be distracted. This is SERIOUS BUSINESS. This is OUR business.

3. I much regret having to agree with a demented feminazi racist, but like a stopped clock Wot A Rabid Udder is finally right about something.
    Laws, rules, pleas, threats will all be ignored by those inclined to sticky-fingeredness, and only good hard and inevitable jail time together with an ill-gotten gains recovery plan that is truly draconian might work.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the LUMINARY Jeff Cumberbatch

De ole man missed you last week and was wondering….

It is Sunday morning so you dun know the drill for the transportation to ***

First pass.

“…

Clause 42 later defines a prohibited interest as one where-

(a).the member has notified the Commission of the interest as required by this Act; and

(b).the Commission is of the opinion that the interest

(i).is unlikely to affect the member’s obligations under the Code of Conduct; or

(ii).is likely to affect the member’s obligations under the Code of Conduct but that the member, his spouse or child, as the case may be, has divested himself of the interest or has placed it in a blind trust on such terms and conditions as the Commission considers appropriate…”

The Commission is of the opinion that the interest is unlikely to…

So you mean that the very me hanism that it creating the rules and regulations to monitor themselves AND IS THEREAFTER ALSO appointing the people to monitor them IS SAYING THAT the very people who are appointed to monitor them may determine that THERE IS NO REASON FOR THEM TO CONSTRUE ANY INTERPRETATION THAT WOULD REQUIRE THEM TO EXAMINE THE SAID PERSONS TO BE MONITORED…

like I said this is de ole mans first read and I ent tek breakfast yet so I liable to be talking my accustomed ingrunce

Unless dem stake me out again I going be gone for a while but I going read this two more times cause I slow…

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item for the Luminary Mr Jeff Cumberbatch thank you

6. The point was made to the joint committee hearing the matter , including Sir David, the Integrity Bill will be effective only if it is implemented as part of a suite of legislation.

7. Don’t for one minute believe that Simmons, Haynes, Marshall and the other drafters of this joke legislation…do not know what they have done and are attempting…to keep the corruption in place for as long as Mia is elected….and for as long as they can get away with corruption.

Any one who can read a legal document…even if you are not versed in legalese can clearly see this for what it really is…even lowIQ45.

8. @Jeff

Can you confirm which country Barbados has lifted our integrity bill?

9. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Jeff,
    We have a major court case here in the UK which will be of interest to you and the BU family.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2018/oct/03/bankers-wife-may-lose-property-worth-millions-after-uk-court-ruling

10. RE These fines are pocket change. In order for fines to be effective one must stand to lose more than one gains. I’m going to go back to properly peruse all of these articles This time I shall not be distracted.

ARE YOU SAYING THAT YOU WILL BY PASS THE CHAFF AND NOT YOURSELF THROW ANY CHAFF IN THE AIR WITH YOUR WINNOWING FORK?.

11. “For 14 years, Mr A was the chairman of a state-owned bank in a non-EEA country. He resigned in 2015 and was later accused of “misappropriation, abuse of office, large-scale fraud and embezzlement”, according to the judgment. He denied the charges but was convicted at trial and jailed.

The UWO was issued against Mrs A in Februarythis year, freezing the property and requiring her to explain how she had obtained the funds used to procure it. Failure to explain how the property was acquired could potentially result in civil proceedings being initiated to seize it.”

And therein lies the rub.

12. Looking for the ignore button. Ahhhhhhhh! Here it is!

13. Finished Columns 1 and 2. Pause.

14. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

*@Jeff

Can you confirm which country Barbados has lifted our integrity bill?

@ David, to appears to be a hybrid of most of the other legislations including those of UK, Australia, Jamaica, Trinidad & Tobago, Nigeria and Turks and Caicos,

15. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ Jeff,
    We have a major court case here in the UK which will be of interest to you and the BU family.

This appears to address the notion of civil forfeiture that I adverted to in an earlier part pf the current series.

It might perhaps be more advisable here to have the specified person in public life report his or her financial affairs to the Commission after retirement for a period of five years or other sufficiently lengthy period or until death. Of course, what might give such a provision even more teeth is the enactment of civil forfeiture legislation, but that is purely a matter of legislative policy.

16. An Unexplained Wealth Order under the 2017 Criminal Finances Act. Like all good UK legislation, first used against foreigners. Now here is a subject for a PhD: why is it that nearly all controversial criminal legislation in England and Wales are first used against ethnic minorities.

17. 😉 Let me put on my legal hat and attempt to answer that question.

1) There are obvious reasons which do not need repeating

2) Your question does not contain the word wrongfully….

3) Given the knowns, ethnic minorities should expect be a target of the law.

ipso facto significado

Wow, with use of Latin, I am feeling like a real lawyer

Absoluta sententia expositore non indiget

(I need to start an offshore law school). 🙂

18. The banker’s wife referred to by TLSN is of course black, because they are the most prolific and remorseless thieves on the planet, specialising in impoverishing their own, and wear their corruption like a badge. The spending pattern tells you all you need to know, a la Disgrace Mugabe.
    Anyone offer odds we are dealing with a Nigerian here? 🙁

19. Ran into this latin phrase and it remind me of a skit where one word is spoken and is translated tob50 words or 100 words are spoken and is translated by a single word..’

Accessorius sequitur – One who is an accessory to the crime cannot be guilty of a more serious crime than the principal offender.

20. 45Govt,

As a young man I worked in the criminal justice system in the UK and the overwhelming majority of the criminals I had to deal with were white and English. What was the significance of that?

21. From the time the then Opposition put out that first draft of what they told themselves sounded like brilliant legislation fo thei fight on corruption scam to be elected…., all la basura Simmons copied from his stint in Turks and Caicos …plus the tweaks and twists him and Haynes, Marshall et al added to ensure the corruption remains embedded, I said back then, maybe one year or two yeas ago…the document was riddled with rubbish, unnecessary blather and jargon meant to confuse.

es basura.

22. Hal, when I grew up in the UK it was the same. NOT NOW HAL, Europe has been “enriched “ as they call it since then, Londonistan is Third World. When are you talking about?

23. You got me there. My under standing of English is not good. What do you mean?

24. I asked when it was you were there as a young man. It is rather pertinent.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ 45govt October 7, 2018 12:32 PM
    “The banker’s wife referred to by TLSN is of course black, because they are the most prolific and remorseless thieves on the planet, specialising in impoverishing their own, and wear their corruption like a badge. The spending pattern tells you all you need to know, a la Disgrace Mugabe.
    Anyone offer odds we are dealing with a Nigerian here? “
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Now what’s so de rigueur about that?

Now who should we dub the ‘black’ Marie Antoinette or Imelda Marcos?

Some of the biggest most sophisticated stylish kleptomaniacs (glorified shoplifters) in the history of Harrods were filthy rich white ‘common’ petty thieves.

Even some outstandingly beautiful members of the harems of filthy rich sultans in the oil-rich ME (like Kuwait) have been caught trying to withdraw (undercover) their thieving dirty hands from the shopping cookie jars of a few high-end haute couture establishments; merely for the ‘buzz’ of it.

Material wealth does not confer ‘class’ or decorum on a person.

Why not ask the last set of crooks to have ‘graced’ your local HoA; with the one speaking from the Chair its ‘primate’ inter pares of perpetrators?

26. WILL YOU ALL PLEASE KINDLY STOP PUTTING CHAFF ON THIS SUBMISSION PLEASE!

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@The Blogmaster and Dean Jeff, as far as topical references go it seems the quote about the breadth of legislative Acts likely considered for our proposed Integrity Act can be termed an “All County Legal Supply & Maintenance” operational markup!

Anyone following the news (POTUS family taxes) knows that such an operation was used perfectly to befuddle the people and enrich the operators.

The link here is too incredulously tenous to imagine the same would apply here when years after we have a chance to look carefully of what ACTUALLY evolved from this Act…or it is!

An all country legal befuddlement of the people…😂

28. I have lived in the UK for over 50 years

29. Then you will know how it has been ruined.

30. All third worlders Miller.
    What is the HoA?

31. DPD

THE SO CALLED LUMINARY DOES NOT LIKE “CHAFF” ON HIS “SUBMISSIONS” AND YOU COME WITH YOUR BETZPAENIC, BOVINE EXCREMENT ABOUT THE POTUS–THE MAGNIFICENT TRUMP? YA MORON!.

I GOT A LOT OF CHAFF ON CORRUPTION THAT I CAN POST HERE THAT YOU, OR “The Blogmaster and Dean Jeff, ” WILL NOT LIKE

DID YOU NOT SEE MY TANK-ESQUE INJUNCTION ABOVE & REPEATED BELOW………………………………..

“WILL YOU ALL PLEASE KINDLY STOP PUTTING CHAFF ON THIS SUBMISSION PLEASE!”

OR IS IT, AS I CAN CLEARLY SEE, THAT THE HIPPOS HAVE LEFT YOUR CAMPUS IN YOUR ALREADY MINISCULE BRAIN.

“TIS SO SWEET TO TRUST IN JESUS” IS A HYMN WITH A SWEET TUNE

USING THE TUNE I NOW SING ……………………………………TIS SO SWEET TO MOCK ON BU

32. I have said on a number of occasions that London has changed, and not for the better. There are districts that have changed almost unrecognisably. The post-war (post-modernist) multi-cultural experiment has failed. Liberal democracy contains the very seeds of its own destruction.
    If that is what you have been trying to say I fully agree. It is what I have been trying to warn BU about for ages, but David BU thinks it is jingoistic, racist and buffoonery. I call it Bajan stubbornness. But the New Barbadians will prove me right.

33. By the way, even so, I do not think London has been ruined. It is the world’s leading City-state, despite those changes..

34. BUT HAL, WHAT DOES YOUR CHAFF HAVE TO DO WID DE LUMENARY’S) SUBMISSION?

35. Hal, when the murder rate of the capital city exceeds that of New York the mayor is a moron and jihadis roam at will like the drug dealers, and no decent person is safe, now that is ruined.

36. @45govt,

There are lots of things wrong with London and I am not a fan of the Mayor, but the picture is not one I recognise. I spent too long working in the press to believe press reports unquestionably. London is one of the most civilised places in the world. When I am away, even visiting Barbados, I suffer withdrawal symptoms. By the way, London is not Britain. We believe in the EU project.

37. I agree Londonistan is not Britain but thank heavens we will be leaving the corrupt anti-democratic neo-fascist EUSSR in March. The bastards have shown their true colours, and despite being bribed by our own govt, lied to by the bought and paid for Biased Bullshit C***s, and utter failure of your colleagues in the Fourth Estate to report objectively, we have seen through it all and voted for independence
    Freedom in March!!

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Hal, care to dissect ur remark that the “… New Barbadians will prove me right”* or maybe the one “There are districts that have changed almost unrecognisably”.

The residents of the UK who were there when u made ur trek 50 years said the very same thing about you and those like you…the lament was how their country was changing district by district. Not so!

Obviously the same was said in US and Canada.

When we emigrate invariably our hosts often despise us and some just tolerate us…some of us are never accepted.

So yes some mouthings from folk do appear as “jingoistic, racist and buffoonery”.

So do we DEMAND that our immigrants act as want , legislate it or simply not accept them to Bim?

Communities change … Life changes…we adapt , move on or in the words of Roddenberry we become part of the collective as ‘resistance is futile’!

39. DPD – it is the immigrants children and more especially the Muslims that are destroying their host nations, the originals were well behaved and extremely badly treated by ignorant indigenes. The benefit system allowing a lifestyle choice of parasitism is the catalyst for the breakup of society.

40. @45Govt,

Are you a Barbadian? An Englishman living in Barbados? Or an Englishman living in the UK?

41. WAAAAAAAAAAAAAIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIITT!
    WHAT DOES THE CHAFF DE TREE OF WUNNAH WINNOWING GOT TO WITH BIG LUMEN CONCEPTS LIKE “As it is with the declaration of assets, the Commission is empowered to request further information on the statement, although this must be read subject to Clause 38 (2) cited above, and may conduct an inquiry to ascertain whether there has been a full disclosure as stipulated.”?

42. Too heavy for me to read, but I like the sentence

“Nothing in this section shall be taken to require disclosure of the actual amount or extent of any financial benefit, contribution or interests.”

Students should be assigned to read all the bills passed in Barbados since 1966 so as to find the clauses that make a mockery of the proposed legislation. These guys are writing escape clauses into law.

Some of the best comedy writers in the world are playing at being lawyers in Barbados.
    Alice in Wonderland
    Animal Farm
    groundhog day

43. “These guys are writing escape clauses into law.”

The intent by the above mentioned is to embed the corruption INTO the legislation and make it law…in your face.

44. Did not know this was possible.

” Businessman Charles Herbert who is on $400 000 bail in relation to drug trafficking charges, has been allowed to travel overseas. Permission was given a few days ago. “

45. @Hants
    Now you know, you forgot that Bjerkham was allowed to go to Miami when he was facing charges? I thought that surrendering of passport etc. was part of the usual deal, don’t let the guy in London who keeps asking if people monitoring the police station visits know.

BTW is the 3rd accused still in the hoosegow?

46. Hal, all three at one time or another.

47. The question is what is the reason he gave the court. He is obviously not considered a flight risk and or the court is privy to information not in the public domain.

48. David – of COURSE, he is not a flight risk, nor is he a drug smuggler.

49. Has the police figured out if it was COCAINE or marijuana on the boat yet?

Not a drug smuggler my ass.

50. You keep your ugly wrinkly old ass to yourself.