The Debt Holder Bill is currently being debated in Parliament.  It is an attempt to make the Government’s plan to restructure some of our national debts legal.  What is this restructuring all about?

The Government normally spends more money than it receives in taxes.  One method of making up the short-fall is to invite persons and institutions to lend the Government money for a fixed period.  In exchange for this loan, the Government promised to pay investors a fixed amount of interest every year.

To give investors sufficient confidence that they would get their money back with interest, the Government guaranteed that the loan and interest payments would be paid from the same fund that pays parliamentarians, namely, the Consolidated Fund.  Should that fund become insolvent, then Government assets were promised to secure the loan.

With these ultra-low-risk terms, individuals and institutions were encouraged to enter into binding contracts to lend the Government money, and the Government agreed to repay the loans, with interest, under the specified terms.

The Government now wants to change the terms of repayment.  That is not unusual since borrowers typically want to renegotiate repayment terms if they encounter adverse economic circumstances.  However, rather than negotiate with the other party to the contract, the Government is planning to pass a law, to allow a vote, to make the repayment terms less favourable to investors.

The Bill notes that if at least 50% of eligible voters participate in the vote, and 75% of the participants agree to the new terms, then the vote will be binding on all loan contracts – both of those who agree to less favourable terms and of those who do not.

Our Parliamentarians are using a very crude method of getting their way.  There are far more elegant solutions that they could have considered.  However, they seem too terrified of their economic advisors to consider any other solution.  Let me identify three principal concerns with this approach.

First, to justify their planned actions, the Government declared that it did not have the ability to repay the loan as agreed.  This declaration of insolvency causes investors to lose confidence in the Government.

Tragically, the declaration was unnecessary.  The Consolidated Fund reportedly has severe leaks, including the mismanagement of public services, excessive wastage and gross corruption.  Why not patch those leaks before declaring an inability to pay.

Further, since the Government claims that it cannot pay investors from the Consolidated Fund, then why did our Members of Parliament vote to increase public worker’s salaries (including their own) by 5%, if they knew that the Consolidated Fund was insolvent?  Does this mean that our Parliamentarians were not paid last month?  If they were, then clearly the Fund is not insolvent, and we were misled.

Secondly, the Bill appears to give power to the majority of voters.  However, a voter is defined in terms of the size of the investment.  So, it is not the number of voters, but the size of the voter.  Therefore, one large voter can have more weight than 1,000 individual voters.  Let me explain.

Approximately 85% of the National Insurance investment fund comprises approximately $3.5B lent to the Government in Treasury Bills, Treasury Notes and Debentures.  It is unlikely that 1,000 pensioners’ individual investments are anywhere close to this amount.

The votes of the NIS, banks and insurance companies exceed the 75% limit for the measure to pass.  If the NIS is excluded from the vote, votes of the banks and insurance companies still exceed the 75% limit.  Since these entities are all-aboard, it makes the vote farcical – but it is good public relations.

Thirdly, and most importantly, the idea of crudely legalising changes to a contract between two parties, is concerning.  If the Government wants to change the terms of an existing contract, then they should simply renegotiate, which is a normal business action – not dictatorially pass a law to unilaterally make it so.

The Constitution of Barbados recognises contracts.  In my opinion, the Government’s intended action is unlikely to survive a constitutional challenge.  However, who will bell the cat now that the former cat-beller appears to have been offered spillage?

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and the founder of Solutions Barbados.  He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

161 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – The Way of the Dictator”

1. All goes back to Intellectual Corruption thickly embedded in the smoke and mirror plans of this administration
    Not having a plan so resort to the kind of corruption widely used in dictatorships
    Watch nuh now Mia would be remembered as the carribbean first PM con artist

2. Vincent Codrington Avatar

One of Grenville II better pieces . Very tightly argued.

3. I like where you’re going with this Grenville.

Mia does not care and she is not listening to the people.That is what a 30 -0 victory will do.

For some leaders an overwhelming victory like 30 -0 will make them humble and cause them to try their earnest best to be fair,honest and transparent to the people who put them there.

For others – it only causes their dictatorial tendencies to flourish even more – since the normal checks and balances are absent and the main private media houses who should step in and provide that role of checks and balances – are instead acting as the government gate keepers and public relations arm of the party..

4. GP
    You want run barbados
    Why don’t you bell the cat instead of flying your mouth?

5. The usual BS from a RH pretender politician who refuses to take advice and stick to his profession.

6. 30-0 and all wunna blp yardfowls can produce is cussing people.
    Listen up yardfowls the koolaid is beginning to wear off
    Time wunna do diligence and start flying on the right side of law
    Mia has exposed the raw side of her politics and people not going to sit with mouth closed and say nothing
    Wunna have a 30-0 win now deal with the after effects
    Wuhloss 30-0 win and dont kniw how to appreciate it
    Maybe it is time to refill the koolaid tankers and head caravan style down the east coast duffuses

7. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Gabriel
    You are mistaken.

Grenville has made an important point about the conflict between this BLP policy and the Barbados constitution. He has pointed out that the constitution recognizes contracts, specifically section:
    “(2) Nothing contained in or done under the authority of any law shall be held to be inconsistent with or in contravention of this section-
    (a) to the extent that the law in question makes provision for the taking of possession or acquisition of any property-[…]
    (iii) as an incident of a lease, tenancy , mortgage, charge, bill of sale, pledge, contract, grant, permission or licence ;”

It seems to me that the change in interest rates for Treasury Bills, Treasury Notes & Debentures amounts to “… the taking of possession or acquisition of […] property…” by using the law to unilaterally alter a contract. This put the proposed legislation in contravention of the constitution.

I’m reasonably sure that the BLP will have bought legal opinions which try to square this circle… in the final analysis they have the legislative power to alter the constitution to remove the conflict. However the point is political rather than legal because it would be a long drawn out court case that is extensively reported in all the media and Solutions Barbados has the chance to get millions in free publicity on the side of sweet old lady pensioners, not to mention moral principle.

I have suggested that Solutions Barbados crowdfund to allow an individual holder of Treasury Bills, Treasury Notes or Debentures to mount a court challenge, but Grenville does not favour this course of action.

I would be very grateful if @Jeff Cumberbatch would either confirm or disabuse me of my perception that this is “… inconsistent with or in contravention of this section…” of the constitution.

8. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

Grenville very well written.

@ Peter very very good suggestion to Solutions Barbados that Grenville should pursue.

9. Crowd funding is borrowing money

10. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Grenville Phillips

This is the only piece that you have written on Barbados Underground that makes sense.

De ole man will give you a preliminary analysis of this submission which over the next week I want you to watch to see its accuracy.

1.Expect that BU is going to post some competing articles immediately.

2.Expect that your article is going go be positioned extremely low in the list of blogs on BU.

3.Expect this article to get some serious commentary from nuff people.

4.Expect even more if you get off your lazy ass and engage with your constituents instead of frigging your accustomed spiders

5.Expect even more bloggers IF THE LUMINARY MR JEFF CUMBERBATCH ADDRESSES THE LEGALITY OF CHAIRMAN MIA MAO MOTTLEY changing the constitution again.

(Note to grandson . Make Stoopid Cartoon titled “Mia Mottley Mugabe changing Barbados Constitution Once a Month…”)

6.Exoect that in addition to Enuff of Lorenzo duo and Lorenzo you had Enuff? that a few new shit covered faces of the sick pooch brigade will be added go the “discredit Grenville’s Post”

That word “Dictator and Mugabe” does get dem angry and Mia does tell dem to go immediately and out de fires of dissent.

Looka Mugabe Mottley fighting her demons real hard but she is what she is and a leopard cannot change its spots.

Grenville.

Even if it is one comment an hour, you have to nurse this topic yourself and stop playing possum.

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John2
    The type of crowd funding that I refer to is getting small donations from a large number of people.

12. PLT
    It would be a stretch to associate a gamble,a chance,a bet,a hedge in a future return on an investment of money as a matter protected by the constitution.There is always the caveat that invest only what you can afford to lose.Not what you might obtain as a return less than the offering but in this case a reduced sum occasioned by market conditions.The constitution does not protect gamblers.Never has,never will.Personal as opposed to real property are treated differently in so far as an interpretation of matters ‘cast in stone’ are concerned.A money market or a public offering in a money market is a gambler’s den,some say,of inequity,of unequalness.How do you make blood of stone!

13. William Skinner Avatar

Whether one agrees or not this is the kind of article expected from the hierarchy of any political party, seeking to influence public opinion.
    Of course , the little fire crackers and starlights , will not appreciate such a contribution.

14. Isn’t it strange that the same BLP pups who were constantly haranguing the govt about paying back the clico annuity investers their money – are now saying government could change the terms of the agreement with the debentures etc – because they took a risk.

Now even the agreement signed off by the last minister of finance Sinckler – to pay the Clico policy holders which also included pensioners money invested by the big head BLP man at BARP – even that – now Mia said she is not paying.

No wonder the Bahamian writer and journalist called her a con artist and a clown.

15. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Gabriel
    I don’t think it is a stretch at all… the constitution is perfectly clear. A Treasury bill that you own is your personal property. The interest due on that Treasury bill is your personal property.

The constitution states that “to the extent that the law in question makes provision for the taking of possession or acquisition of any property” then that “law shall be held to be inconsistent with or in contravention” of the constitution.

The Debt Holder Bill is a law. The Debt Holder Bill makes provision for the taking of possession or acquisition of property. Therefore the Debt Holder Bill is in contravention of the constitution and must be struck down by the court.

Are you arguing that the interest due on Treasury bills is not to be considered property?

16. PLT
    It would be a stretch to associate a gamble,a chance,a bet,a hedge in a future return on an investment of money as a matter protected by the constitution.There is always the caveat that invest only what you can afford to lose.Not what you might obtain as a return less than the offering but in this case a reduced sum occasioned by market conditions.The constitution does not protect gamblers.Never has,never will.Personal as opposed to real property are treated differently in so far as an interpretation of matters ‘cast in stone’ are concerned.A money market or a public offering in a money market is a gambler’s den,some say,of inequity,of unequalness.How do you make blood of stone!

Nonsense!! Surely even a partisan hack can do better than this.

So let me get this right. Investing in govt bonds is now “a gamble,a chance,a bet,a hedge in a future return on an investment of money”?

So the money markets represent ” gambler’s den,some say,of inequity,of unequalness”? Hahaha.

You would be taken more seriously if you just say that the govt is broke and desperate measures are necessary.

17. WE GREW UP SINGING IN NIGHT VILLAGE GAMES PRIOR TO THE ADVENT OF TV AND INDEPENDENCE “LONDON BRIDGE IS BROKEN DOWN”

THERE ARE NO LONGER NIGHT VILLAGE GAMES, SO WE SING SYMBOLLICALLY “BOTH BRIODGETOWN BRIDGES ARE BREKING DOWN!

THAT MASS OF BLUBBER MIA MAO THE DICTATOR BREKING DOWN BARBADOS ALL BY SHESELF WHILE THE OTHER 29 OCCASIONALLY BULLSHIT, WHILE PRETENDING THAT THEY HAVE IDEAS, OR THAT THEY HAVE A SAY IN OUR FALLEN STATE

the Bahamian writer and journalist WHO called MIA MAO MOTTLEY, THE DICTATOR AND BITE-ER, a con artist and a clown IS TELLING THE TRUTE FUH TRUTE.

18. PLT
    I was just doing what GP did.

How can someone with desire to leader Barbados try to fool the public by calling an investment a loan?

Not compared! called! for his political porposes!

19. Dullard
    If you think Capitalism is anything but a gambling game that benefits the top 10 families on the planet,go read done more.

20. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@PLT et al, before the lawyers square any constitutional circle this bill purports to deconstruct why wouldnt aggreived holders of Bdos paper take our govt to court for their attempts to alter a valid contract if they are so inclined!

The constitutional matter as much as it may be pertinent is a LOCAL issue and certainly would have little legal bearing on a dispute at (international) law re the bond restructuring between holdouts and the govt.

There is precedent in the Argentina (and others) debt restructuring where distressed bond holders refused to accept new legislated terms and fought at court.

All that said in brief, so what is the real concern here: 1) that govt is arbitrarily changing the constitution to the detriment of average citizens or 2) that govt can more “elegantly” renegotiate these terms.

With respect to Mr Phillips the first presumption is not really the case and in the second instance he would have to be overall naive to not accept that this method (draconian tho it may appear) is perhaps the most practical way to manage THIS particular process.

No govt is above the law and only in cases of national security, real property eminent domain matters and other very special dispensations can any govt legislate “changes to a contract between” themselves and others or between two other parties.

I do not share his deep concern here as there are valid legal options to challenge if so desired.

21. “If you think Capitalism is anything but a gambling game that benefits the top 10 families on the planet…”.

So Gabriel you don’t benefit from capitalism? Since only the top 10 families benefit, what about your family?

The family of the local fintech gurus. For example, are you saying that the founding, funding and roll out of Bitt Inc is not capitalist?

22. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John 2
    All government papers are loans to the GoB. It is not equity. That is why they carry a coupon or interest rate and for a fixed period of time. Please, you are misleading the members of the BU household.

23. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@john2
    The two major forms of investment are debt (loans) and equity (ownership). Grenville is correct: Treasury Bills, Treasury Notes & Debentures are all government debt, ie loans made to the government.

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ DPD at9 :06 AM

Now I am convinced that you are one of those over- paid consultants. Argentina can only be a standard of reference if the intention is to turn us into a banana republic. Please study Argentina’s economic and financial history over the past three decades. Is this what you want for Barbados?

Shame on you.

25. G.P @ 8 :03 A.M.

Yes the Bahamian journalist & writer is speaking the truth,the whole truth and nothing but the truth.:Clown and Con Artist.

Do I like that this is being said about my leader of my Country – NO !

But after a careful reading of his Thesis – his observations are sound – you can’t fault the man there.

26. PLT@9.24am
    So are income tax refunds,vat refunds,involuntary overpayments but would be claimants do not have a say in government’s repayment schedule on these interest free liabilities.
    T Inniss
    Comparing the Clico debacle to the current government rescheduling of debt is disingenuous if not farcical but you are entitled to make your view known.Btw is Donnie due back in NY this month?

27. Vincent Codrington Avatar

A very salient point of Grenville II’s submission was a failure to explore the leakage in the GoB revenue scheme.
    Taxes have been levied and there seems not to have yielded the projected inflow. Why did this happen? Is this another consequence of no consultation with the collectors of taxes? Another administrative failure? This maybe where the reforms need to take place. Putting competent people in these positions is an imperative

Similarly the fall in the foreign reserves.

Did we get a satisfactory answer and explanation for a large sudden dip in these?

How could a ministry with responsibility for this sector not monitor the effects of the policy changes in the OECD countries wrt offshore companies; and explore replacements for this sector?

Yes we need Big Government ; but one that works.
    There is very little if any thrusts for growth coming from the Private Sector. Everybody looking to the GoB.Is this Hobson’s choice?

Just one more parting shot. GoB is about people and the employment of people not meeting asinine targets.

28. Vincent Codrington Avatar

I meant to write “Revenue Stream” NOT” Revenue Scheme “. A good example of where technology wants to take over from humans. But it serving the purpose of David BU .LOL.

29. @VC, PTL.

I see my buying of government papers as an investment for my future not as a loan to government (VC) or my buying of government debt (PTL).

Technically then all/most investments can be considered to be some sort of loan?

PTL
    Looking at this from a “loan” point of view, legally doesn’t one/government have a right to adjust the conditions of the loan if to may my loan is taking twice as much as I am making?

Loan contract can be adjusted if one cannot afford to meet previous stated agreements.
    Even with a contract if I cannot pay then the lender will have to take what I can afford.

30. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent, I wish the ‘overpaid’ was accurate 🤣

But otherwise you cannot be serious at 9:29 AM…Mr Phillips speaks to a very crucial legal matter on debt restructuring….I simply offer a precedent with another sovereign on the subject to place the issue in perspective and you accuse me of demeaning us to Banana Republic status… REALLY!

Let’s get real Vincent…discourse cannot be framed in narrow confines because we are a small island…law is law…precedent is precedent!

Do you realize that a review of how other nations handled their restructuring would be EXACTLY the extensive analysis the economic team would have done ..at day’s end the debt restructuring involves simply the
    “rescheduling, refinancing, forgiveness, conversion, and prepayment” of the debt and those SAME requirements are valid whether its Argentina, Peru, Greece or anywhere in Africa.

What do you perceive referencing those precedents are a fall on a banana peel!

31. DPD

RE Let’s get real ……law is law…precedent is precedent!
    THAT IS TRUE
    SO YOU CAN NOT HAVE EMERGENCY POST MORTEMS….LOL
    AND YOU CANT REWRITE THE PRECEDENT ABOUT THE AETIOLOGY OF CERVICAL INJURIES EITHER !

32. Vincent Codrington Avatar

DPD at 10 :42 AM

You did not fall on a banana skin. You stepped on a very ripe banana skin and got catspraddled. Since Barbados is a small island you nearly drowned in the sea.

Banana republics do not repay their debts.
    Secondly the rule of law and constitutional conventions and social practices are often suspended. But if you believe that pensioners income streams and savings should be confiscated by a government they recently elected; So be it .

We live in a democracy. You have freedom of thought and freedom of expression of those thoughts.

And so do I.

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Gabriel
    The government cannot wipe liabilities off of its books and refuse to pay your income tax or vat refunds. This would be in contravention of the constitution as well. They do not owe you interest on those sums however, so they can take as long as they wish to settle.

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@john2
    If you have a loan that you cannot afford to service you need to negotiate in good faith with the lender and if you cannot come to an agreement you get forced into bankruptcy. Then the lender gets to claim whatever assets you used to own in compensation.

For a country it is somewhat different because default is not the same as bankruptcy. The government has set up a process to “negotiate” with lenders (Treasury Bill holders), but some question whether those negotiations are in good faith with the threat of legislation which appears to contradict the constitution being used to enforce compliance.

35. Vincent Codrington October 3, 2018 10:59 AM

DPD at 10 :42 AM

You did not fall on a banana skin. You stepped on a very ripe banana skin and got catspraddled. Since Barbados is a small island you nearly drowned in the sea.

SIR YOU HAVE AT LEAST TO ADMIRE THE MAN FOR HIS CONSISTENCY IN TRYING TO SHOW THAT HE IS BRIGHT AND THAT HE CAN ARGUE WELL

SOME OF US COME HERE AND TALK SHITE FOR SPORT

BUT DPD DOES BE SERIOUS AND SINCERE AS HE SPINS HIS SHITE

THE HIPPOS HAVE LEFT HIS CAMPUS LIKE THAT MAD WOMAN WHO LIED ABOUT THE JUDGE IN THE US

DE BU RUM SHOP IS DEFINITELY ENTERTAINING EVEN AS BRIDGETOWN BRIDGES ARE BURNING DOWN UNDER MIA MOTTLEY MAO MUGABE, THE BITING DICTATOR

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ DpD

Both laws and precedents must be relevant. In the case/ country cited they are not. Barbados is not Argentina. Each time Argentina tried Financial Alchemy , it failed miserably. Do you remember when they employed dollarisation of the Argentine currency? Do you remember the result? Barbados may be a small country,but our citizens are educated. Praise God and the authentic leaders of the BLP and DLP.

37. Never thought i would be around to ever see a day when govt pass laws to rob its citizens
    Horrific as this is ! then the hear ordinary citizens applauding these actions is frightening
    But to say it serves right as a lesson to the people who expected this govt whos has past history of thievjng and deceit to be better
    A leopard cannot change its spot
    Hoping that a lawyer with a conscience would ran to these holders of govt instruments defence and file a class action law suit

38. @ Dribbler..
    Skippa,you DEFINE lukewarmness….

“Law is Law … precedent is president.”
    Why don’t you go to North Korea and explain this truism to Kim?

Wunna mind Jeff C…?
    That is just a lotta classroom baloney.

Human ‘law’ is just a lotta transient shiite rules that are enforced by the current bully.
    When the bully changes – or changes their mind, these laws reflect the reality.

How can any such wishy washy ‘laws’ be taken seriously?
    Only God can make REAL laws boss…
    the TOP bully…….

And the relevant Law here is
    DO NOT trust your money to an idiot
    NO MATTER what shiite he promises up front.

39. PLT
    I have a problem with your absolutism.I may accept the government SHOULD not but CANNOT is sounding Hitler and Trump like.The Dipper put it this way…’the lord giveth and the lord taketh away’ and Grantley put it this way….’Mr Speaker,the only thing Parliament cannot do is make a man into a woman’.

40. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Gabriel
    You have a point… I should have said that the government cannot lawfully wipe liabilities off of its books UNLESS it changes the constitution.

But at 29-1 in the House that is perfectly easy for this government to do.

41. Well carry the government to court. Simples. Stop the gums bumping!!

42. Among the many decent and appropriate measures this Mottley administration is putting in place is to have her advisers and ministers give the public of Barbados via the radio and TV media,their interpretation of the ills and recommended solutions associated with Governance Team BLP 2018-2023.Today Ambassador Dr Mascoll is fielding with utmost ease and explaining with simplicity the various viewpoints being made by Brasstacks callers and significantly this programme today so far is at a level above the usual fare.

43. Will the citizens of this country ever invest in GOB paper again? Trade Confirmers, CLICO, GOB!

44. Also doesnt these clowns think of the ramifications from this law snd the slowing down effect towards lack of confidence in govt brought about by having no interest towards investing

45. Fearplay
    The answer is blowing in the wind but when the economy is successfully turned around and opportunities for investment arise and locals are again encouraged to invest as in the regime of OSA all this pain and suffering will be a thing of the past.What must not be forgotten in the here and now is this equation:-
    Barbados Government Debt 1628-2007 $06 billion
    Barbados Government Debt. 2008-2018 $15 billion
    This should tell you something.Drastic times require drastic solutions.

46. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ De Ingrunt Word aka DpD

You have got to be kidding me right.

Bondholders, ballsless bondholders, take the Government of Barbados led by Mia Mugabe to court?

Look how de other day dem had all dem Bajans led by a lawyer whose name i cant remember right now, mount a big up campaing against LIME for dem shares/shareholdings things.

If my memory lolds it was one Garth Patherson and the matter for Minority Shareholders … Case and legal hearings joining Liberty Global and CWWI as new defendants and subpoenaing third parties and things like that.

BUT IMAGINE THIS, DE GOVERNMENT OF BARBADOS CHANGING DE CONSTITUTION EVERY DAY, WITH THE IMF AIDING AND ABETTING DEM, I LIE yet not a feller ent getting up to say nothing not even Douglas Trotman? (i teif that I lie from Dr. GP, your arch nemesis heheheheheh)

47. Oh No! here we go again with Mia minons advising the citizens by way of PR stunts induced by intellectual dishonestly known as corruption of the mind and trampled on the minds of people

48. The IMF advisors to govt is mekkng sure to lock down evrrything so govt cant steal a penny from them
    So govt in turn takes their thiefing ways to the poor snd gullible
    What a dam shame

49. After all this trickery and the fastened pace to steal from the people
    I would never ever invest not even in a gum wrapper in Barbados
    Govt instruments are protected by insurance
    Now govt us beconung like bounty hunters to pay off IMF loans
    Give me a f..king break

50. Dr. KG say……

“The Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) programme should have been implemented at least a decade ago, said the Barbados-born IMF economist attached to the Government economic recovery council.

The Government’s economic advisor Dr Kevin Greenidge, said a homegrown austerity programme should have been implemented at the height of the recession in 2008.”