The three-ring circus currently playing in Washington to nominate an individual to replace the retiring Justice Kennedy appears to be less about the jurisprudential acuity or judicial temperament pf the candidate and to be more about their politic and degree of opposition to liberal values such as those expressed in the Roe v Wade decision. This confirmed the female’s autonomy over her body by finding a right to individual privacy in the Constitution. It is tantamount to what the conservative jurist Robert Bork once termed the “political seduction of the law” at a time when the boot of Congressional power was firmly placed on the other foot.

The decisions of the US Supreme Court (hereafter the SCOTUS) are not merely exercises in legal reasoning, Essentially, they are, rather, expressions of political philosophy, wrapped in the legalese of constitutional interpretation. In such a context, a President in office seeks to nominate for approval candidates who are partial to his politics and thus likely to concretize his governance agenda for the foreseeable future. Thus a court is not assessed so much for its forensic skills but as to whether it is majority conservative or liberal. It is an issue that is fought over with as dogged a determination as the political elections themselves. Recall the legally baseless, though politically successful, insistence of the Republicans that the outgoing President Obama should not be permitted to nominate a justice to the SCOTUS.

History records though that sometimes the expectations of the nominator are dashed when the nominee turns out to be other than the conservative or liberal he or she was assumed to be. Justice David Souter disappointed the conservatives as did Justice Byron White the liberals, appointed by President Kennedy and yet a dissentient in Roe v Wade. It appears that one tends naturally to assert his independence when granted a guarantee of lifetime tenure.

This rather lengthy prologue might well serve to explain the recent decision of the SCOTUS, in which by a 5-4 majority, it upheld until full argument from both sides in October the legitimacy of what has come to be known as the Trump travel ban. While I do not claim any special expertise in US Constitutional law and I accept that there might have been a partisan political element to the decision, I am still able to assess the decision for the cogency of its legal reasoning and the respective allures of the competing arguments.

The travel ban involved a proclamation by the President of a restriction on the entry of foreigners from the predominantly Muslim states of Libya, Somalia, Syria and Yemen.

The arguments of the claimants/respondents in this matter, the state of Hawaii, three individuals and the Muslim Association of Hawaii, challenged the legality of the Proclamation, principally on the ground that it violated the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment, because it was motivated not by concerns pertaining to national security but by animus toward the Islam religion.

In response, the Government argued that the matter was not justiciable or subject to judicial review because aliens have no “claim of right” to enter the United States, and, because exclusion of aliens is “a fundamental act of sovereignty” by the political branches, review of an exclusion decision “is not within the province of any court, unless expressly authorized by law.”

Chief Justice Roberts in his written majority judgment was prepared to assume without deciding that the ban was reviewable, notwithstanding consular non-reviewability or any other statutory non-reviewability issue and proceeded on that basis.

As to the substantive arguments that the Proclamation was not a valid exercise of the President’s power since the relevant provision of the law conferred only a residual power to temporarily halt the entry of a discrete group of aliens engaged in harmful conduct and that it was in further violation because it discriminated on the basis of nationality in the issuance of immigrant visas, he was of the opinion that the President possessed the power to restrict the entry of foreigners to the United States based on national security concerns. The Chief Justice held that the text of the relevant provision granted the President a broad discretion to suspend the entry of aliens into the United States and found that The President had lawfully exercised that discretion based on his findings—following a worldwide, multi-agency review—that entry of the covered aliens would be detrimental to the national interest.

He quoted the relevant provision-

“Whenever the President finds that the entry of any aliens or of any class of aliens into the United States would be detrimental to the interests of the United States, he may by proclamation, and for such period as he shall deem necessary, suspend the entry of all aliens or any class of aliens as immigrants or nonimmigrants, or impose on the entry of aliens any restrictions he may deem to be appropriate.”

And he reasoned as follows, “By its terms, it exudes deference to the President in every clause. It entrusts to the President the decisions whether and when to suspend entry (“[w]henever [he] finds that the entry” of aliens “would be detrimental” to the national interest); whose entry to suspend (“all aliens or any class of aliens”); for how long (“for such period as he shall deem necessary”); and on what conditions (“any restrictions he may deem to be appropriate”). It is therefore unsurprising that we have previously observed that [it] vests the President with “ample power” to impose entry restrictions in addition to those elsewhere enumerated.”

This reasoning comes pretty close to arguing that the discretion of the President in this regard is absolute,  although it seems that he may not discriminate on grounds of religion. Indeed, this limitation was the basis of Justice Sotomayor’s dissent. She referred to the President’s anti-Muslim sentiments as expressed in various communications and dismissed the majority’s opinion that the ban was a matter of national security. According to her judgment,

“The United States of America is a Nation built upon the promise of religious liberty. Our Founders honored that core promise by embedding the principle of religious neutrality in the First Amendment. The Court’s decision today fails to safeguard that fundamental principle. It leaves undisturbed a policy first advertised openly and unequivocally as a “total and complete shutdown of Muslims entering the United States” because the policy now masquerades behind a façade of national-security con cerns. But this repackaging does little to cleanse Presidential Proclamation No. 9645 of the appearance of dis crimination that the President’s words have created. Based on the evidence in the record, a reasonable observer would conclude that the Proclamation was motivated by anti-Muslim animus.

Cataloguing a number of circumstances where the President’s communications had exhibited animus towards Muslims, she concluded-

“…the issue before us is not whether to denounce” these offensive statements. Ante, at 29. Rather, the dispositive and narrow question here is whether a reasonable observer, presented with all “openly available data,” the text and “historical context” of the Proclamation, and the “specific sequence of events” leading to it, would conclude that the primary purpose of the Proclamation is to disfavor Islam and its adherents by excluding them from the country… The answer is unquestionably yes…”

Ironically, in the same judgment the majority overruled its earlier  decision in which it had upheld the forcible relocation of US citizens to concentration camps, based solely and explicitly on race. However, CJ Roberts considered it “wholly inapt to liken that morally repugnant order to a facially neutral (sic) policy denying certain foreign nationals the privilege of admission…”

There exists in law the concept of indirect discrimination. According to the Australian Human rights Commission,indirect discrimination occurs when there is an unreasonable rule or policy that is the same for everyone but has an unfair effect on people who share a particular attribute,…for example: It could be indirect disability discrimination if the only way to enter a public building is by a set of stairs because people with disabilities who use wheelchairs would be unable to enter the building.

Indirect discrimination is unlawful if the discrimination is based on certain attributes protected by law, such as a person’s race, sex, pregnancy, marital or relationship status, breastfeeding, age, disability, sexual orientation, gender identity or intersex status. Some limited exceptions and exemptions apply.

To my mind, while the proclamation did not fit neatly into this category, as it was not the same for everyone, it nevertheless constituted a kind of reverse indirect discrimination, if you will,  whereby on the ostensible basis of national security, an exclusion had an unfair effect on people who shared a particular attribute-the Islamic faith.

407 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch – A Hostile Environment”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…sometome ya just ignore these scholars who are so perfect they make no errors.

2. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Most of the scholars I know would have written LOSS!

DID I NOT SAY I WAS MYOPIC?
    WHEN I TYPE ON BU I ACTUALLY DONT CARE TO BE SCHOLARLY
    BU IS NOT NIFCA
    HOW I APPEAR ON BU IS OF NO CONSEQUENCE TO ME
    YOU MAY HAVE TO SHOW YOU ARE A SCHOLAR BUT I DONT HAVE TO SHOW ANYTHING
    I KNOW WHO I AM….WHERE I CAME FROM …AND WHERE I AM…..AND HOW I GOT HERE

AND IT IS MANY YEARS SINCE BARBADOS SCOLARSHIP DAYS SO YOU CAN CHOU MA MOH AND CHOU MAMA MA MOH

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

IN A FEW WEEKS TIME I WILL LECTURE ON HIS VINDICATIVE ASCENSION AND HIS VITAL SESSION IN A SERIES ON CHRISTOLOGY.

YOU CAN BE ASSURED THAT THE WORDS ON BOTH OF MY POWERPOINT

PRESENTATIONS ARE PROPERLY AND PROPERLY SPELT,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,BECAUSE I RESPECT AND CARE FOR THE AUDIENCE

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Even though both myopic and a scholar, I am at a lost to understand how the voluminous verbiage in the daily drivel delivered on BU is a “ body of work (that ) is there to be scrutinized.

IT IS AMAZING THAT THIS DUMMY DEAN AND SO CALLED LUMINARY OR BETTER “LUMENARY” DID NOT SEE THE PUNCH LINE IN WHAT I SAID ABOVE

READ IT BELOW FRIENDS ENOUGH NOT ONLY TO MAKE YOU AT A LOSS………BUT LOST TOO. LOST FOR WORDS

Even though both myopic and a scholar, I am at a lost to understand how the voluminous verbiage in the daily drivel delivered on BU is a “ body of work (that ) is there to be scrutinized.

This is called delusions of grandeur!

IT IS ONE THING TO BE A MYOPIC IN SIGHT BUT TO ALSO HAVE A MYOPIC BRAIN AND NOT TO BE ABLE TO DISCERN A PUN PUTS ME AT A LOST………LOST FOR WORDS
    YA LUMEN-ARY

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

With regard to your 12.59 am statement where you did and I quote “…Unless you have evidence to support your claims about the blogmaster or the sale of BU please desist…” I will say the following.

It is noticeable that the timbre of your moderation of the website has changed considerably.

People note that the characteristics of fair and level moderation that normally was associated with your management of the blog put you over the crease every single day, to use the words of another regular blogger.

Take for example my thread about sale of BU

Artaxerxes the Archiver can attest that on 2 previous occasions when I have made reference to the import and impact of that action YOU – THE REAL DAVID have been gentle in your reassurances to us bloggers to share your protocol in these matters without hesitation.

When there has been an issue as it relates to people who blog being apprised of blogging protocol and steps each of us can take to protect our anonymice identities IT HAS BEEN THE DAVID OF OLD WHO HAS LED THST CHALLENGE and facilitated blogs where persons can come and give other users WHO ARE IT CHALLENGED some simple strategies on how to manage their contributions

Today I will blog on a topic and if the David OF OLD did not agree with my submission or I with his, he or I would dissent, and like all menses Do, we cuss a feller AND WE MORE TO SHITE ON.

The BU BORG THAT HAS REPLACED THE DAVID OF OLD is super aggressive and can be technologically vindictive.

Even if you personally were friends with a fellow and a remark was made about your friend THE DAVID OF OLD would ask for an insight as to why such a remark was made e.g. Stephen W or Walter B and once you saw the premise and genesis of such commentary AS BLOGMASTER THE DAVID OF OLD would realise that a comment was not a spiteful vengeful remark as others might be inclined to make, but one made based on history and fact.

The Persona that is being presented OF LATE dilutes THE DAVID OF OLD who was indeed a an in the trenches who when you were right or wrong took your licks and gave them back with gusto.

The recent Blogmaster while one understands the absolute necessity to relegate the duties of running this Website for 11 years, needs to understand what her and she are doing and walk in the big footsteps that you have created.

Where else is there a Barbados Underground in Barbados?

Where else do the economic advisors of 3 embassies come to test the pulse of socio-economic issues in Barbados?

You sir have that responsibility and they need to be told that and that threatening a feller to “cease and desist” is inconsistent with you being told that one is you, one is too emotional, one makes dufus submissions like Mariposa…

But then again it is your blog (said to the David OF OLD) and you can nurture a legacy that lives on after you demit this scene, be it by going on to manage the digital print aspect, at retirement or emigration or sale, or let it die like the Democratic Labour Party has died

I dun with my “punishing reading” a la Mariposa

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your help please with an item which seek to clarify my take on the changing BU thank you

7. @ 555dickhead

“Slavery Colonialism White Supremacy Racism Warmongering are evils committed by Devils”. Mugabe your hero, moron?

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THIS IS AN ARTICLE THAT IS NOT WRITTEN BY A LUMENARY DEAN OF LAW…..WHICH I FIND INTERESTING

ENJOY

Planned Parenthood Dares Make Demands About Supreme Court Pick
    BY CILLIAN ZEAL

Planned Parenthood isn’t particularly known for its close relationship with the Republican Party, something I think most Republicans are comfortable with. After all, they currently control both houses of Congress and the White House in spite of a constant fusillade of hyperbolic attacks from America’s foremost industrial abortion supplier.

So, given that the next Supreme Court nominee will be picked without any real input or interference from the Democrats (hey, thanks, Harry Reid!), the last group that probably should be giving diktats on the matter is Planned Parenthood.

At a Thursday news conference, Dawn Laguens — the executive vice president of the Planned Parenthood Action Fund and the new face of the organization after Cecile Richards left to spend more time with Mephistopheles — said that the president’s replacement for the retiring Justice Anthony Kennedy needs to meet a “personal liberty standard” in order to be nominated.

If you’re not a watcher of Supreme Court nominations, let me note that there’s not actually a precedent for this standard. Planned Parenthood is just fabricating it, because why not? Surely the Trump administration will listen to a woman who, in an op-ed, openly admitted in February that “Planned Parenthood supporters and women across the country have been marching and organizing to resist Donald Trump’s vision for the world.”

“Clearly, saying ‘precedent’ alone can no longer be an acceptable answer or standard by which senators can accurately judge,” Laguens said at the news conference.

“That’s why today, Planned Parenthood and our colleagues at this press conference are calling for a higher standard. We are calling for a ‘personal liberty standard,’ that the Senate must only confirm a justice who affirmatively declares that they believe the Constitution protects individual liberty and the right of all people to make personal decisions about their bodies and their personal relationships, including the right to use contraception, the right to have an abortion, and the freedom to marry who you choose.”

Good luck with that, Ms. Laguens. Good luck with that.

The group also issued a news release about its “personal liberty standard,” which was equally untethered to any realistic assessment of the political realities in 2018.

Completing this poll entitles you to Conservative Tribune news updates free of charge. You may opt out at anytime. You also agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.
    According to the news release, “President Trump promised to appoint only biased justices who will overturn Roe v. Wade and strike down the Affordable Care Act. Trump has made it clear that the only justices he will put forward are nominees who would ‘automatically’ overturn Roe v. Wade, creating a world where abortion is illegal and health care is inaccessible.

“By demanding that all nominees affirm the personal liberty standard, the next Supreme Court justice will ensure that the right to safe, legal abortion is protected.

“During past Senate hearings, nominees have answered questions about Roe v. Wade by saying they will ‘respect precedent,’ but then went on to rule in ways that ignored precedent and would’ve eviscerated our fundamental rights had those justices been in the majority. With the balance of the court at stake, and with Trump making clear his ideological standard, simply referencing precedent or sidestepping questions on abortion and fundamental rights is no longer an option.”

So many things. First, obstructing whomever the president picks “is no longer an option” for the Democrats or their allies. We no longer have the filibuster on judicial nominees, which means that Judge Judy, if the Trump administration and the Republicans want her, is a shoo-in for the bench. (Please don’t take this as an actual suggestion, just an illustration of what the political realities of the moment are. I reiterate, please.)

As for Roe v. Wade, we don’t know whether justices will “respect precedent” because it hasn’t actually been challenged whole cloth with a state ban on abortions. The most recent precedent set by the court, the 5-3 decision on Whole Woman’s Health v. Hellerstedt in 2016, could indeed be overturned since it took place after Justice Scalia’s death and soon-to-be-former Justice Anthony Kennedy was the swing vote. But that case only dealt with a law regarding the application of a state law involving admitting privileges for abortionists and surgical standards, not the right to an abortion.

That being said, Roe v. Wade is a terrible decision, one in a number of cases in which a liberal court used the Fourteenth Amendment as a utilitarian escape clause its framers never intended in order to essentially enact federally binding legislation from the bench. (If, for instance, the Fourteenth Amendment gave individuals a prima facie right to terminate a pregnancy, why did numerous state laws outlawing abortion exist at the time of its passage and for over a century afterwards?)

Nevertheless, there’s no indication conservative nominees won’t “respect precedent” if a challenge to Roe in toto appears before the Supreme Court, and even if it were overturned, this would merely return the decision to the states. (A federal law would be an impossibility at present, given that the filibuster still exists on pretty much everything that doesn’t involve budgetary reconciliation and/or a judicial nomination.)

As for the Affordable Care Act, let me first stop my eyes from rolling as if my extraocular muscles had suddenly become inoperative over the concept that a bill designed to force consumers to buy a product represents the apex of “personal liberty.” My vision being duly refocused, Planned Parenthood probably oughtn’t worry about this; King v. Burwell, the 2015 decision that upheld Obamacare as constitutional, was 6-3. Assuming Chief Justice John Roberts stands by his opinion and the court’s four liberals stay put for a while, the decision isn’t going anywhere.

Beyond all of that, I’m wondering why I’m actually dedicating this much thought to Ms. Laguens’ demands, given that her organization is in the same position to demand certain criteria of judicial nominees as I am, at least at the moment.

I have no doubt Planned Parenthood certainly can and will work to make that change. However, to quote the late film critic Roger Ebert in a different context, this is akin to “that mouse floating down the Chicago River on its back, signaling for the drawbridge to be raised.” Have fun with that bridge operator, Ms. Laguens, and thanks for the laughs.

9. Thanks for your comment, the blogmaster’s caution about leveling unsubstantiated claims stands.

10. @John July 8, 2018 11:29 PM “You obviously don’t move in circles where there are many, if any religious women!! …and you don’t know much Bajan history!! Did you know that most Quaker widows were usually married shortly after their husband’s deaths? True true fact, and the second, or sometimes third husband treated the widow’s children as his own.”

In church every Sunday (Anglican) most every Sunday for almost 70 years. But I also live in the real world. And I know female things that men, especially deeply religious men never ever hear about. Do you really believe that if a religious woman has an abortion in her teens, or has a child which she gives for adoption and subsequently marries a deeply religious man that she tells him these things? And I am not talking about Quaker widows and their children who have been dead for hundreds of years. I am talking about right here, right now.

Do you know that in deeply religious cultures that women from monied and religious families have re-virgination surgery done out of country? And also have adoptions done out of country? Why do you think that there is such a trade (some might call it trafficking) in international adoptions. There is a myth that these children are orphans, but in fact most are not orphans at all. They are principally the children of religious unmarried women who are under tremendous pressure to present themselves for marriage as virginal and childless.

11. Georgie Porgie Avatar

SS
    ARE YOU SAYING THAT ALL YOU HAVE SAID ABOVE MAKE ABORTIONS RIGHT? OR THAT ABORTIONS ARE NOT ESSENTIALLY MURDER OF THE UNBORN?
    JUST ASKING, AS A MYOPE, AND BEING VERY SIMPLISTIC

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

TALKING ABOUT UNSUBSTANTIATED CLAIMS
    THE DEVIL ONCE SAID ABOUT ME HERE ON BU THAT I “SNUCK” INTO HARRISON COLLEGE………THIS WAS A VERY UNSUBSTANTIATED CLAIM ah lie?
    how i love to mek sport in de rum shop and add to de body of its work!

13. @Well Well & Cut N’ Paste At Your Service July 9, 2018 12:36 AM “Simple…dont let them fool you with the way they divvied up the land…it is one land.”

I know.

I am not easily fooled. Although I can easily pretend that I have been fooled.

Here are the Canadians in 2018 trying to force an indigenous woman out of her traditional home. Telling her that she is a foreigner in the land where her people have lived for tens of thousands of years.

“A First Nations woman working to revive a threatened language in her traditional territory of northern British Columbia says she’s being forced to leave the country on Canada Day. Mique’l Dangeli belongs to the Tsimshian First Nation, whose territory straddles the border between Alaska and British Columbia. She says Canada won’t recognize her right to live and work in B.C. because she was born on the American side on Annette Island Indian Reserve. https://www.thestar.com/vancouver/2018/06/30/indigenous-woman-being-forced-to-leave-country-on-canada-day-fights-to-stay.html

14. @Georgie Porgie July 9, 2018 11:05 AM “SS ARE YOU SAYING THAT ALL YOU HAVE SAID ABOVE MAKE ABORTIONS RIGHT? ”

What I am saying is that abortions are caused by religious pressure. As to whether they are right or wrong I have never had a abortion so why are you asking me?

However I have said “no” to nuff, nuff fast fellas, probably including you, Lolll!!! which is probably why I have never had an abortion.

Lolll!!!

Bare sport in the rumshop this morning.

15. Georgie Porgie Avatar

tHIS IT MUST BE SED even wid pour spelling of a myopic scholar is a nice video

http://trumptrainnews.com/articles/trump-calls-out-media-with-incredible-video

16. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ss
    one did not have to have an abortion to have an opinion on whether it is right or wrong or murder
    i have 2 sons
    had no abortions done nor did I do any

17. @John July 8, 2018 11:29 PM “ Did you know that most Quaker widows were usually married shortly after their husband’s deaths? True true fact, and the second, or sometimes third husband treated the widow’s children as his own.”

So John answer a question for me.

During the period 1627 to 1838 did the masters in the plantation house treat their pickneys in the nigger yard as their own children too?

I know Transatlantic history as well as you do. But unlike you I don’t pick and choose only the “pretty” parts.

18. @Georgie Porgie July 9, 2018 11:23 AM “one did not have to have an abortion to have an opinion on whether it is right or wrong or murder”

Under Barbados law abortion is NOT murder.

I didn’t make the law. Wunna Harrison College Barbados Scholarship and Exhibition MEN make the law.

So why you asking a simpleton like me?

19. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Your post of 9.31 a.m is also seen.

And I will respectfully ask the question because it is in my interest to do so.

Has the ownership of Barbados Underground changed?

Is David BU THE ORIGINAL DAVID still with you?

Will the asking of the question be seen as a crossing of your cease?

Can a blogger periodically ask as to the status of of ownership of BU?

Can the ole man continue to rely on David OF OLD to deep six the *** with the coming of the Mugabe brigade as has occurred with the poster CAMPAIGN?

Can you at least say “we got this” as some implicit assurance to some of those bloggers who ARE AWARE OF *** PLANS?

20. Freedom Crier Avatar

Now that we have Established that The Democrats Objective by Obstructing the incoming Justice on grounds of Roe Vs Wade law is to continue to Practice Eugenics with Leftist like Bill Gates leading the way who followed in his Father’s Footsteps who was the head of Planned Parenthood, especially targeting the poor in society and the Black Race targeting the African Nation Sterilizing their people and in America Aborting their Babies…

We understand the Democrats Paltry Evil Reason that to save the Children we must ban Guns while they murder Children in the Millions since Roe Vs Wade in the 70’s to date over 61 Million Plus, while using the unlawful and Illegal immigration as an Excuse to cover their Dark deeds of ripping the Innocent from their mothers wombs and selling their parts piece by piece for Filthy Lucre.

On the same vein the Democrat party created laws for taxes money to fund the organization, but they intentionally over fund it. Then the organization donates it back to the Democrat’s. As do All their other Non Profit Organizations a Dirty legal way to make money, they are neither Pro-life nor Pro Choice…

Draw your own conclusion, but how I see is:
    THE SOCIOPATHIC DEMOCRATS HAVE NO PROBLEM SACRIFICING HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS OF BABIES IN RETURN FOR FUNDING THEIR RE-ELECTIONS!

And when you do Reach that Feeling and Understanding you can’t but hold your Head and Cry-out as if to Stop your head from Exploding to See the EVIL being Fostered on the People to Create a Political End to Begin the Process to Disarm the Law Abiding Citizens to Foster the Advent Tyranny and to Uphold the Barbarous Law that Kill Children in the name of Planned Parenthood.

By the way Simple Simon, Christian Women do not Kill their Children that has Always been a Pagan Practice.

ISN’T THIS BLATANT EVIL?

http://thefederalistpapers.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/10/Hypocrite.jpg

21. Freedom Crier Avatar

@ Dean Cumberbatch… My Observation is that I have Never Seen on any of your Articles where you Refrained from Commenting as with this one?

We Want to Hear from you on these Particular Issues

(1) Are the Laws that are Passed in Parliament written by those in Cave Hill?….

That is a Very Worry thing because as I see it Cave Hill is Plagued with Communist Professors it is a Den of Communist.

(2) Are these Communist Professor the Ones who are writing the Laws?

As Quoted Previously “History is being Rewritten not only in the US but here in Barbados. Freedoms that we have taken for granted are being turned against us. That the Burden of Proof was taken away to one of Accusation that the accused have to prove their innocence…. Remember the Controversial “The Police Act” and Now the Questionable “Integrity in Public Life Bill 2018…

(3) Do these Laws that are being written is Ever Measured that it may fit within the Constitution of Barbados?

Barbados is on the Road of turning upside-down from Innocent until proven guilty to guilty until Proven Innocent. It seems that the Ferocity of the pace of Trying to Change, Innocent until proven guilty to guilty until Proven Innocent is Accelerating. This Ploy Seems Communist Structured with the Intent to Turn Barbados into a Tyrannical State?”

(4) Do you Agree with the PM Assertion that there should be Free Travel through the Caribbean without Restrictions?

Trinidad has more ISIS Fighters Proportionate to their Population than any Country in the World. Should PM MAM Still Encourage the Free Movement of CARICOM People Knowing this?

(5) Do you Not See a Linkage between Laws being written by Communist Inspired Professors at Cave Hill, Commie Sing Song as Ambassador to CARICOM and Not Knowing the Citizenship of “Chop Sticks” who is Communication Director for the BLP and the Complete Free Movement of Peoples in CARICOM including Cuba?

With the Implementation of Commie Sing Song as CARICOM Ambassador to CARICOM and as Advisor to the PM on CARICOM Matters and Chop Sticks in Charge of Communications it Seems that Connecting the RED Dots are Not that Farfetched!!

The Globalist will use the Islamist by way of Pursuing the Open Boarders to Conquer Nations. They share the same Ideology ‘to take away the Free Agency of man’. That is their Ideology of Communism/Marxism/Socialism and Radical Islamism. The First Rule of the Left and Radical Islam is that of Submission to bring about their Elitist Purposes…A sure process of Deceit and Decay bringing all that would listen and obey into Slavery and Bondage.

http://www.middleeasteye.net/essays/caribbean-caliphate-trail-trinidadians-fighting-808370626

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Under Barbados law abortion is NOT murder.
    WHAT ABOUT GOD’S LAW?

23. Nothing has changed.

After 11 years it is a blog that has resisted the lure of being monetize.

What has changed is the arrogance by some BU commenters who give wings to the saying familiarity breeds contempt.

This blog is not about the BU household, post your comments and we will do our best to assure blog quality. Hopefully some integrity has been accrued through the years to support what the BU household stands for.

The strength of BU is the quality of contributions from the BU family. What is counterproductive is a few immature commenters with inflated egos on the blog. From 2018 we will use WordPress tools to enforce the ideals of the blogmaster.

You have the last word, no further comment from the blogmaster on this matter.

24. @Georgie Porgie July 9, 2018 12:32 PM “WHAT ABOUT GOD’S LAW?”

The Bible doesn’t talk about abortion, but it does say when a human being’s life begins. Genesis 2:7 is clearest. The first human became a “living being” (nefesh hayah, “a living breath”) when God blew into its nostrils and it started to breathe. Human life begins when you start breathing, biblical writers thought. It ends when you stop…Exodus 21:22-25 describes a case where a pregnant woman jumps into a fight between her husband and another man and suffers injuries that cause her to miscarry. Injuries to the woman prompt the normal penalties for harming another human being: an eye for an eye, a tooth for a tooth, a life for a life. Killing the woman is murder, a capital crime. The miscarriage is treated differently, however — as property loss, not murder. The assailant must pay a fine to the husband. The law of a life for a life does not apply. The fetus is important, but it’s not human life in the same way the pregnant woman is.

25. Roe Vs Wade gave women the choice in 1971
    abortion is not compulsory
    individuals can practise “religious” or “moral” views and have little baby
    women can chose to terminate and must live with their decision

it has become a single issue for right wing christian nuts who love wars and guns

26. Freedom Crier Avatar

Georgie Porgie July 9, 2018 12:32 PM

“Under Barbados law abortion is NOT murder.
    WHAT ABOUT GOD’S LAW?”

GP Do You Remember that the Dem’s Booed God in their 2012 Convention…They are Mostly Atheist…They have done whatever it takes to Erase God who is the Author of the Constitution the same as the Scriptures from Existence. That is why thy Oppose the Scriptures and the Constitution.

They want to Promote their Ideology About Godlessness where Anything Perverse goes i.e. Murder by Abortion, Same Sex Marriage,Pedophilia, Bestiality you name it is Permissible as long as you Worship the Ideology (Socialism) of the State as their Master and Not the God of Providence!!

The Bible DOES NOT support Socialism. Don’t let people trick you! By suggesting that since God commands us to care for the poor, that we must support Socialism.

https://www.facebook.com/kkaramo/videos/10155194073947245/

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE The strength of BU is the quality of contributions from the BU family. What is counterproductive is a few immature commenters with inflated egos on the blog.

OH SHITE AH FALL OFF MA CHAIR LARFING HARD…MURDAH

QUESTION: IS STRENT (AS DAREN GANGA PRONOUNCES IT, AND NOT AS PRONOUNCED OR SPELT BY SOME LUMENARY SCHOLARS) W = A LARGE NUMBER OF POSTS

QUESTION: IS STRENT also the large body of work (a.k a daily drivel) that is now to be scrutinized

QUESTION DO YOU THINK THAT HANNA & BARBERA WERE IMMATURE, OR JUST BRIGHT AS SHITE? DID THEY HAVE INFLATED EGOS OR DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR?

A CERTAIN MAN WAS CALLED A PROVACATEUR
    HE USED TO MOCK TWO BIBLE SCHOLARS AND A MATHS SCHOLAR HERE ON BU TILL BOTH OF THEM RAN FROM BU.
    HE ALSO TRIED TO MOCK THE SO CALLED RESIDENT DOCTOR

IN THOSE DAYS IT WAS SAID YOU HAD TO BE CHALLENGED

THESE DAYS TO SAY THE TRUTH, OR CHALLENGE CERTAIN FOLK IS NOT NOW BEING A PROVACATEUR ONE IS IMMATURE OR HAVE INFLATED EGOS! murdah?

28. Freedom Crier Avatar

Simple Simon July 9, 2018 12:59 PM

“@Georgie Porgie July 9, 2018 12:32 PM “WHAT ABOUT GOD’S LAW?”

SS..The Bible doesn’t talk about abortion,”

Lord Have Mercy you have given us your Commandments and Our Agency…No Wonder the Heavens weep over Such…

SS Ever Heard of THOU SHALT NOT KILL?

https://memegenerator.net/img/instances/52196627/what-part-of-thou-shalt-not-kill-dont-you-understand.jpg

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

SIMPLE SIMON
    Simple Simon July 9, 2018 12:59 PM

@Georgie Porgie July 9, 2018 12:32 PM “WHAT ABOUT GOD’S LAW?”

The Bible doesn’t talk about abortion, but it does say when a human being’s life begins. Genesis 2:7 is clearest. The first human became a “living being” (nefesh hayah, “a living breath”) when God blew into its nostrils and it started to breathe

SIMPLE SIMON REALLY GOT ME LARFING NOW
    MONKEY HANDLING MUSKET AND MESSING UP DE HEBREW

YOU CITE ONE VERSE IMPROPERLY TO PROVE YOUR POINT, REALLY?

COULD YOU PLEASE KINDLY BRING THE OTHER VERSES? TRY THE PSALMS….AND COME AGAIN

I KNOW THAT YOU KNOW BETTER THOUGH
    CAUSE I AM SURE THAT YOU HAVE SEEN ULTRASOUNDS OF THE ABDOMENS OF PREGNANT WOMEN
    SO I KNOW THAT YOU KNOW THAT LIFE DOES NOT BEGIN WITH THE FIRST BREATH

30. During the period 1627 to 1838 did the masters in the plantation house treat their pickneys in the nigger yard as their own children too?

++++++++++++++++

Yup!!!

My ancestor in an 1835 will left two plantations to his 10 offspring with a former slave.

Henry Peter Simmons whose grave you can see at Vaucluse left Vaucluse to his two sons from a slave on Vaucluse.

Joshua Steele left Kendal to his children from a slave in 1780.

Dunscombe ditto, Ellis

etc … etc … etc!!

31. Religious laws and beliefs are social laws but not laws of the land

32. Then there is Gunning Best, father of John Rycroft Best, who took in and died without a written will.

He told his “Friends” what he wanted for his woman of colour and her children and it was done via what is known as a noncupative will.

The “Friends” appeared and bore witness via affidavits and his will was done.

http://en.thefreedictionary.com/Non-Cupative+Wills

That example tells me that a man took the life of his child seriously in early Barbados, regardless of colour.

If you want proof of the seriousness with which the responsibility for a life was taken is to think of the Ward’s!!

Knights, Governor General Doctors etc etc. all coming from what one might describe as a village ram but one who made provision for each child.

33. “A First Nations woman working to revive a threatened language in her traditional territory of northern British Columbia says she’s being forced to leave the country on Canada Day. Mique’l Dangeli belongs to the Tsimshian First Nation, whose territory straddles the border between Alaska and British Columbia. She says Canada won’t recognize her right to live and work in B.C. because she was born on the American side on Annette Island Indian Reserve.”

That’s normal Simple…they are criminals trying to keep what them and their ancestors stole, there is a law where Natives are free to roam between US and Canada as they have for thousands of years, but the thieves will try to roll back that right of Natives.

34. The Jay Treaty, had forgotten it’s name, they are terrorizing the descendants of Natives to the Americas, these people roamed the Americas from one end of the Arctic to the other for thousands of years and these demons continue to push them out..

“After having two express entry applications for permanent residency fail, Dangeli has started a petition calling on the Canadian government to reciprocate the Jay Treaty, which was signed between the United States and Canada in 1794. The treaty allows status Indians born in Canada, who also have 50 per cent blood quantum, to live and work in the U.S.

Canada does not recognize the agreement as binding because it never codified it.”

35. @ David who wrote ” Nothing has changed.After 11 years it is a blog that has resisted the lure of being monetize.”

I respectfully suggest that you seem to have trouble with ” ownership “. ok let me phrase it differently in Bajan

This is your wrasse whole blog and you can do whatever you choose to do with it.

Thank you for providing a FREE place for me to read Jeff Cumberbatch, for me to write shiite and post videos of GG ( not the GG lol) in the Diaspora corner.

36. You are welcome Hants. One satisfied blogger helps to make it feel worth while.

37. maybe if they trying crossing the border without cases of cigarettes,alcohol, or illegal guns it might be easier for them

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Dr. George Porgie

Lololol.

Your post of 1.10 pm cause me great mirth.

Forgive me as I used this passage that you will know well “..and there arose a king that knew not Joseph…”

The problem with the BU BORG is that it is not consistent with its reasoning.

Today Jeff’s contributions are ascribed the superlative status of “the words of the Oracle of the Delphi” AND THE SUCCESSIVE BORG accord him deity status.

Now you will note that in response to many a blog said BU BORG will post a comment and in its defence say “I the BORG have the right to be provocateur ”

But let a blogger from the community who sees things differently to any one of the BORG, submit any contrary opinion and you are myopic and an egoist.

So the same diversity in opinion that is encouraged in some of the deity finds itself decried in others PARTICULARLY WHEN THE COMMENTS ARE ANTI MOTTLEY.

Whuloss or is that whulost? Heheheheh

After 11 years of managing diverse and differing opinions one would believe that the Blogmaster has become acclimatized to said non congruent opinions as part of that maturity being encouraged in us bloggers.

But Dr. GP I do encourage you to be quiet, like de ole man, and stop commenting bout tings dat “other people, like the commissioners, have been hired to do”

That way everything would be hunkie dorie here on BU

Bless your myopic soul heheheh

39. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

(1) Are the Laws that are Passed in Parliament written by those in Cave Hill?….

That is a Very Worry thing because as I see it Cave Hill is Plagued with Communist Professors it is a Den of Communist.

@ FC, the laws are drafted by the trained staff Office of the Chief Parliamentary Counsel in the Cambers of the Attorney General and, unlike you, I am not aware of the political leanings of the professors at Cave Hill

(2) Are these Communist Professor the Ones who are writing the Laws?

The laws emanate mainly from the deliberations of the Cabinet of Barbados. And see the answer to #(1)

(3) Do these Laws that are being written is Ever Measured that it may fit within the Constitution of Barbados?

All laws passed by Parliament in the correct from are presumed to be constitutional unless challenged successfully in a court of law.,. This is known as the presumption of constitutionality.

(4) Do you Agree with the PM Assertion that there should be Free Travel through the Caribbean without Restrictions?

You mean free movement since travel is not at all free and… ye, I agree with her. So too does the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas and the CCJ.

5) Do you Not See a Linkage between Laws being written by Communist Inspired Professors at Cave Hill, Commie Sing Song as Ambassador to CARICOM and Not Knowing the Citizenship of “Chop Sticks” who is Communication Director for the BLP and the Complete Free Movement of Peoples in CARICOM including Cuba?)

Many of tour premises are faulty or plain wrong …and my answer is no! Incidentally, CARICOM does not include Cuna

40. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

yes, Cuba, and your

41. Freedom Crier Avatar

If all men are Created Equal, why are these Children being Killed? This Video Exposes the Injustice of Abortion.

On Sunday, Netflix aired a “Salute to Abortion,” hosted by “comedian” Michelle Wolf, who closed the segment with a star-spangled, flag-waving, drum corps declaration: “God bless abortion!”

Does it really get any more disgusting than this? The only way it could would be if they did a sketch where they serve up aborted baby parts in an ice cream sundae dish, as death-loving Michelle Wolf cackles satanically as she covers the aborted baby tissue with chocolate sprinkles. Nice to know the family friendly ‘new direction‘ that Netflix is planning going forward after signing the Obamas to a $50 million dollar contract to produce Progressive indoctrination videos.

It is one thing to have impassioned debate between pro and anti abortion advocates, that’s something that most reasonable and intelligent people can pull off. But the utter mockery and complete disdain for human life presented by the Progressive Left, and applauded wholeheartedly by the Democrats, is something that should send a chill down your spine if you have a heart, or a brain. All I can say is that God is watching, and one day, wrongs like these will be eternally righted.

I find it ironically funny that the same Liberal Democrats who said that it is ‘immoral’ to separate parents from children at the border are cheering wildly at the prospect of separating children from parents permanently through abortion. Liberalism truly is a mental disorder.

Pray for Michelle Wolf, that God will allow her time and space to get saved, and repent. Because Hell is real and with a fiery hot Conscience that cannot be quenched, and even baby killers like Michelle Wolf shouldn’t go there.

“And thou shalt not let any of thy seed pass through the fire to Molech, neither shalt thou profane the name of thy God: I am the LORD.” Leviticus 18:21 (KJV)

The Break with Michelle Wolf | Salute to Abortions | Netflix

LIVE Abortion Video on Display in Washington, DC Jan. 21-22

GRAPHIC WARNING!!: This video is NOT suitable for anyone under the age of 18, and please DO NOT WATCH this video is you are squeamish. That said, click to watch what a real abortion actually looks like. I wonder if Michelle Wolf will find it funny.

42. Oh shiiiirte!

43. Lawson..yall need to get off the Native’s land, ya thieves, you have no right to any of it.

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hants July 9, 2018 2:15 PM
    WITH ALL RESPECT, and i quote YOURS IS A VERY MYOPIC AND SIMPLISTIC OPINION…..AND POSSIBLY A SELFISH ONE TOO LOL MURDAH

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Freedom Crier

I REMEMBER THE NIGHTS THE GALS WITH THE FAILED BACKYARD ABORTIONS WOULD COME, AND YOU WOULD SIT ON THAT STOOL IN THEATRE AND PASS AUVARDS SPECULUM

THIS THING HAS A BIG WEIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF A FUNNEL SHAPED OBJECT
    WHEN YOU PASS THAT THING IT WOULD STRETCH AND PART THE VAGINA SO THAT THE OS OF THE UTERUS WOULD APPEAR RIGHT IN YOUR FACE

AND YA WOULD SCRAPE TILL YA HEAR A GRATING SOUND

BUT THIS VIDEO WOULD HAVE BEEN GREAT TO HAVE TO SHOW IN THE EARLY 8O’S WHEN I USED TO BE INVITED TO TALK TO THE YOUTH BOUT ABORTIONS AND CONTRACEPTION WITHOUT QUOTING ANY BIBLE VERSES AND MESSING UP THE HEBREW…….MURDAH

46. Freedom Crier Avatar

GP you are a Compassionate man and as a Doctor I believe you had a Heart & Soul for Humanity you Cared for and took your Oath Seriously …”To First Do No Harm”…

Unfortunately Not All are the Same…

Doctors play with newly killed children (aborted)!

How far can the Cruelty of the human being go?

“This is the perfect example of the country the Democrats, and those on the Left want us to live in. They have destroyed accountability, ethics, empathy and decency through years of indoctrination and allowing a moral standard that was expected to be buried under all the manufactured hate. The day of reckoning is near and them that chose to follow blindly and participated with the dirty deeds of the Left, for them absolution will never come…Shame on “you” for doing this to the children and shame on “us” for allowing it.”

God have mercy on us all…

I’m really VERY SURPRISED that God has not Destroyed Mankind Yet- Very Surprised!

https://www.facebook.com/508817239319207/videos/881011122099815/

47. Just checking if GP is bragging and boasting like a fool

did he do abortions

that’s a roger roger 10-4 over