stpn-i-weir-blp
Indar Weir, Minister of Agriculture and Food Security

The Ministry of Agriculture under the leadership of David Estwick in the former government became an invisible ministry. While we accept that a lack of resources would have impacted how government carried out its business, a nation that relegates food security to the back burner should expect to be haunted by the decision in a volatile global sphere.

How difficult is it to cultivate linkages between locally produced agriculture, tourism, government (Barbados School Meals, Queen Elizabeth Hospital) and the wider community to guarantee sufficient demand? What is the scorecard of the Barbados Agriculture Society (BAS)? The output from the agriculture sector based on the central bank reports tracking GDP by Sector and Acticity has not shown any appreciable increase in the last decade.

A few weeks ago BU family member Bentley Norville shared the following document to poke those currently responsible to prioritized matters pertaining to agriculture. We hope current minister of agriculture and FOOD SECURITY Indar Weir takes heed.

278 responses to “Is Agriculture and Food Security Important?”

1. David Estwick should repay the taxpayers of this country for every month’s salary that he drew under false pretenses………….he never gave honest labour during the years he was assigned to that ministry.

…………..Andrews factory debacle……….late start to sugar crop every year and farmers owed millions…….water crisis and he couldn’t give a damn.

It is shameful!

2. Will the BLP make the Dr. Brathwaite agriculture study commissioned by the last administration public?

3. Is agriculture and food security important?

Yes.

Unless we think that we will always have enough foreign exchange to continue importing 40 foot containers of food from Miami.

The Ministry of Agriculture was invisible indeed. Small farmers who were willing and able to pay cash for cultivation services had to wait weeks at the time for such services, and had to trek to Fairy Valley to order and pay for such services. Why can’t we order and pay for the services on line? We can order from Amazon, but not from the Ministry of Agriculture? Why?

In farming efficiency is critical. If farmers are made to wait weeks before ploughing, before planting it means that the optimum time to plant the crop has passed. Farmers are not like civil servants or politicians who can afford to operate in a “tomorrow will do” fashion.

In the village in which I grew up dozens of families grew sugar cane but also ground provisions, herbs, kept livestock. Now just 6 families continue, and all but one of those people are over 55.

Not good.

Not good at all.

Maybe we will discover oil, or gold and can then afford to import all of our food, to abandon agriculture.

But maybe not.

Barbadians have forgotten what hunger means. I cannot forget. One of my siblings who is not yet 80 almost starved to death in this place during world war 2. The coffin was built and ready. Barbados was growing plenty of sugar for export, but not enough good quality food to nourish a toddler. The coffin was built and ready.

In an emergency the rich will survive. They always do. The political class will survive. They always do. But the infant mortality rate will rise…other people’s dead toddlers.

4. Is agriculture and food security important?

I think the answer is obvious. Unless you are a true visitor or don’t have Barbados at heart.

Take a good look at the USA or EU. With their grain and butter mountains. FOR ALL INTENTS AND PURPOSES YOU CANNOT BE A FOOD EXPORTER IF YOUR ARE NOT A GROWER OF FOOD! They pay farmers to produce food in order to maintain their economies. Food is essential for economic development. I guess we only follow certain parts of the economic models that are not healthy for the Barbados economy.

China’s biggest weakness is their known inability to effectively feed its huge population. Thus its hard push into development for food rights that it has across the world in countries stretching from Brazil-south America to African nations. China is on a resource mobilisation quest to secure mineral and food rights etc all over the world.

We need to remove our economic blinders; stop swallowing the economic theory/model kool-aid that says; its cheaper to import all your food rather than grow as much as you can that will help cushion any unforeseen events in the food-supply-chain.

jmt

5. June 24, 2018 9:42 PM “We need to…stop swallowing the economic theory/model kool-aid that says; its cheaper to import all your food rather than grow as much as you can.”

Thankfully somebody agrees with me. i was beginning to think that only poor simpletons believe that food is important.

And yet within living memory children in Barbados have died from hunger/marasmus.

How soon we forget.

And people have forgotten the “culture” part of agriculture.

I can spend $10,000 per year at my supermarket, yet the “wealthy” owners NEVER ever offer me a free overripe banana, or a free 250 ml of dish washing liquid.

But on any day of the week I can look around my kitchen and see lots of free food given to me by other “poor” small farmers. Food growers have a culture of giving each other free stuff.

An entirely different culture.

Like the well that always gives free water, we won’t miss agriCULTURE until it is gone.

6. You are aware this is the economic doctrine practiced by governments Chief economic adviser read it is cheaper to import our food?

7. Barbados will become food secure but not until there is no money to import food.

When things get really bad ask the Cubans to show you how to be self sufficient.

Just remember golf courses can become vegetable gardens.

8. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Is agriculture and food security important?

There can be no doubt that it is. When Barbados had a number of strongly performing engines of growth such as Tourism, the Offshore and Financial Sector, etc. it could have been argued that some measure of food security could have been tied to the ability of those sectors to provide the necessary foreign exchange to purchase all the food necessary from overseas for our population. Therefore at that time we could argue that full food security for Barbados was being partially provided by our ability to fund adequate food supplies for our total population out of FX inflows plus the actual food supplied by our local Agricultural subsectors. At present food security, using that yardstick, has declined. We are becoming more and more food insecure. Food insecurity is very bad.

There is every likelihood that a significant dose of economic restructuring is heading our way. The new Government will have to take measures that will ultimately mean that ordinary Bajans must engage more fully and directly in Agriculture than has been the case for the last 3 or so decades. Bajans who have land will have to get it back into production as the cost of living rises. Bajans who have other resources that can be used in food production will have to go back into such production. Farming is one sector of the economy that must and will thrive.

Agriculture is likely to be an important engine of growth for a time. The countries which trod this path before us have all discovered that there is no other way. True, unvarnished Food Security, and thereby local Agricultural production, will take on greater importance in the Barbados of 2019 than the one of 2000. The kitchen gardens will flourish again as will the chicken and rabbit coops and the black belly sheep and the big farmers will have to bring down their prices to capture the business of the poor and other non-farmers,

9. @David June 24, 2018 10:09 PM “You are aware this is the economic doctrine practiced by governments Chief economic adviser read it is cheaper to import our food?”

Yes David. We are aware. Lovely man. But on this matter we do not share his views. It is alright for him to talk. He is an adult of the political/economic class. Such adults rarely suffer. It is about good food for the children. The economic adviser should ask George Payne how his parents managed to raise 17 children to adulthood.

The answer: Virtually no imported food.

Besides food that is eaten close to where it is grown, like 10 feet away is so much sweeter.

I think that we have already forgotten why the schools meals program was introduced first to Bridgetown and its suburbs. Hunger among those children whose parents did not have the room to grow even a bunch of seasoning.

Please note that those who support “the economic theory/model kool-aid that says; its cheaper to import all your food” are often child-less [or child-free] people; or people whose children have already grown up and are in well paid professions and can afford to buy and consume imported food.

Show me the imported food that can be produced quicker, easier, cheaper and sweeter that a good breadfruit cou-cou with home grown spinach, and some locally caught fish.

Why would we exchange that for hamburgers and fries, fried in imported beef fat?

10. Steamed sweet potatopudding: Peel, wash and grate several pounds of locally grown sweet potatoes, add locally grown herbs, marjoram, thyme, hot pepper, chives, etc. Put into a lightly greased bowl and steam until done.

Breadfruit: Slice a breadfruit into eight sections, peel, core, and boil until tender.

Souse: In the meanwhile boil half a local pig’s head and a couple of chops and trotters in lightly salted water until tender and falling off the bone. Plunge into ice cold water. Once it is cool cut into bite sized pieces and place in a bowl. Dress some local cucumbers, with salt, locally grown limes and onions (and parsley if liked) and scotch bonnet pepper. Pour the dressing over the pork.

Enough for 10 or 12 people. Share with extended family, friends, neighbours etc. Those with an aversion to pork, can pass up on the pork and have the some of the cucumber pickle with the breadfruit and the steamed pudding. More souse for the pork lovers to enjoy.

11. charles skeete Avatar
    charles skeete

Not only under Mr Estwick but previous Ministers as well. I well remember under Mr Sandiford’s beleaguered stewardship that at one time they were two Ministers of Agriculture so that aberration notwithstanding I do not subscribe to the view that the administrations do not care about agriculture per se but that satisfying stakeholders personal and expansive demands for a costly to produce lowend product for a limited market has proven to be a headache.
    With all due respect to the sincere pleas coming from well meaning persons like Mrs Chandler
    I respectfully ask what are we going to grow to satisfy the demands of a market weabed since the late sixties on douggies and Jeffs snackettes hotdogs and hamburgers and milkshakes and who were taught that agriculture was slave work and with the hope that no cane blade would ever be seen across our land truly a prophecy which is near to fulfillment.

12. I have been told by my parents and their peers many a time “wait dey”.

“wait dey” and find out “whoa gine happen to you arse”. “Fore-warned” is being fore-armed.

The food-supply-chain does not care about you not having Forex to pay. No money no food.

As Gabby sang. “one day coming soon” “de people gine wake up”. I will add this. “Something happened on the way to heaven, cause the place rather hot …..”

Barbados wait dey; you too hard mouth.

13. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Charles Skeete, re. your post at 2:53 am

True in most respects!

But Barbados has not, since the 1950’s and 60’s, been in a situation that threatened starvation or near starvation for significant numbers of our home-grown population. That is the situation we face today with a negative outlook for the next few years. The post 1960’s governments operated in situations where there was little question of if we could claim overall food security here. The question up to now was how much of our food security was due to local production of food for the Island’s consumption. With declining availability of foreign exchange to feed our lessening utilization of locally produced foods, the scene is now set for harsh times especially for those youngsters who do not eat what we produce. Concerted strategic proactive measures will have to be made to change tastes and fully adopt Carmeta Fraser’s mantra of “eat what we grow and grow what we eat”. failure in this will unleash increasing social pressure in the country.

In addition, I do not share your view above “I do not subscribe to the view that the administrations do not care about agriculture per se but that satisfying stakeholders personal and expansive demands for a costly to produce lowend product for a limited market has proven to be a headache.”. All administrations, starting with Barrow, bought into the idea that the best developmental path for the Country was one which emphasized non agricultural development. They would not say so directly but that was the effect of their policies that paid lip service to Agriculture while reducing funding to it and increasing funding to other sectors competing for access to the public purse.

Dr Simple Simon has it right, imho.

14. We can grow “chicken, chips and macaroni pie wid a Busta” in Buhbadoes? Wuh is a “breadfuit”? Dat is a slice bread wid raisins?

15. We have a generation, or two, that have no taste for local products. The challenge will not be just about growing food, it will ve encouraging locals to buy it.

16. @ Are-we-there-yet June 25, 2018 7:16 AM

AWTY, it think you ave arrived at the destination. Spot on.

17. The reason Bajans have a preference for imported food is that it is available.

Just like some of us in Canada and the USA who buy yam,eddoes, sweet potatoes and breadfruit in supermarkets and West Indian grocery stores. We also buy dolphin at Costco.

18. @Ping Pong June 25, 2018 7:31 AM “We can grow “chicken, chips and macaroni pie wid a Busta” in Buhbadoes? Wuh is a “breadfuit”? Dat is a slice bread wid raisins?”

Actually yes. Even the fast food places sometimes serve sweet potato chips, and I believe that Barbados is self sufficient in chicken. And a Busta? What is that but sugar and water. Barbados still has adequate supplies of sugar and water. Although I don’t understand why people would take a perfectly good sweet potato and fry it in imported beef fat. Substitute the Busta for coconut water, mash the sweet potato, steam the chicken and you have a perfectly good meal.

19. Anybody noticed that the people who make the big money and determine policy about agriculture in Barbados don’t grow even nut grass nor raise even an eyebrow far less a pig or cow?

20. The majority of local food is grown by the cane farmers!!

Government owes them $14.5 million!!!

The mini budget in the House of Assembly offers $5 million this year and payment of the balance over the next three years.

The budget seeks to spend $25 million on road works and de-bushing and $10 million on new equipment for MTW.

If food security and agriculture was so important, why not pay the Cane Farmers who produce the bulk of the food their money?

Encourage them to clear and plant more!!

This addresses the de-bushing issue.

The $10 million in equipment should be directed here because we all know what happens to equipment in the hands of MTW!!!.

Contract the road works,

Give the Cane Farmers the incentive to clear and plant, address de-bushing this way,

Leave the purchase of equipment to people who will care it and maximise its use and encourage employment on the 10’s of thousands of acres of lands lying idle.

Shrink Government!!

David Estwick and the past is past.

The present shows the misguided priorities in the House of Assembly.

21. I believe that Barbados is self sufficient in chicken.

Last time I checked every fertilized egg was imported!!

All the feed is imported too!!

22. Simple Simon
    Every chicken in Barbados (except the yard fowls) start off as an imported egg. Sweet potato chips, get serious big man chaaa. As for sugar, we import the refined sugar used in bottled drinks. In fact we even import the molasses used to make rum!

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

another day
    same shit
    long talk and palaver once more
    but no definition of what food security is or how it can be achieved
    lots of ignorance displayed here
    watch now

24. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

John, re. your 8:01 am post;

Excellent post if one is a large sugar cane farmer or is strongly linked to the top tiers of the traditional sugarcane plantation system or is one who does not care about the welfare of small farmers and producers, i.e the liitle man. Indeed, it is a post that, true to the Melania Trump jacket statement, shouts a lack of empathy and care for the likely swelling ranks of the downtrodden of the society that will be the fruit of the subliminal policies of the last Government.

But let’s get real. The ultimate result of such skewed policies, in the absence of ones purpose built to develop an essentially egalitarian society and produced balanced development, is the chaos and escalation of the manifestations of the societal breakdowns we now see on an almost daily basis in our newspapers.

Few know, but I think you do, that agricultural policies over several years have been aligned with the maintenance of the Plantocracy in this Island. The bailing out of several plantations by Governments in the 80’s and 90’s attest to this. Such policies would have been underpinned by attempts to also upgrade non-egalitarian development of other engines of growth but you now go much further by seeking to extend and increase such support for the traditionally advantaged in a new environment of declining revenues and foreign exchange availablility.

The locus of your undeniable patriotism shows and that locus has little to do with all of Barbados.

25. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

GP;

If you read and understood the posts by several here, eg Dr Simple Simon, you would have no need for an explicit definition of food security. But if you can’t connect the dots just google food security. You will certainly find several definitions that you can understand.

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Are-we-there-yet June 25, 2018 9:29 AM
    I TEACH ABOUT FOOD SECURITY IN NUTRITION CLASSES
    WHY DO YOU THINK THAT I CAN NOT UNDERSTAND THE BULLSHIT ABOVE OR THAT I NEED TO GOOGLE ANYTHING
    I REPEAT
    another day
    same shit
    long talk and palaver once more
    but no definition of what food security is or how it can be achieved
    lots of ignorance displayed here

27. @AWTY

Have you taken note that the BLP six month plan vaguely mentions a money injection to the sugar workers and to meet with stakeholders to draw up a viability plan for the industry? It does not give hope to any drastic change to promote food security concerns.

28. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

GP; You are truly amazing. You said at 9:18 am;
    “another day; same shit; long talk and palaver once more; but no definition of what food security is or how it can be achieved;
    lots of ignorance displayed here”

You claim that you teach concepts of food security but decline to educate us from your educational heights and cynically allow us to wallow in our presumed ignorance. Yuh do’n see yuh even wuss d’an Melania!

Why don’t you put some of your pdf’s or Presentations about Food Security on BU? Yuh worried dat dey have little relevance to the current Barbados situation?

I think that the truth is that you know less about food security than Simple Simon or even me.

You are a disgrace to H.C.

29. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

David; re your 9:50 am post.

No. I did not “note that the BLP six month plan vaguely mentions a money injection to the sugar workers and to meet with stakeholders to draw up a viability plan for the industry?”

John’s post above seems to be well geared to form the basis for a traditional plan for the industry. I tend to think that some elements of it could be workable but I think it is essentially a manifestation of the perennial plan to support the lifestyles of a relatively few families. The diversification plans to go big into the alternative energy technologies and assisting smallish farmers to get resources to produce food and other agricultural products is more attractive to me, personally.

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I was about to say about 2 hours ago what a disgrace GP is to his African ancestrors, their memories and experiences….but held my post back because I thought it a complete waste of my energy, low and behold up comes AWTY…and posted what “a disgrace GP is to HC.”

GP…..there is a message in there somewhere, none of us are too old to learn, I am currently learning the Yoruba alphabet from scratch.

31. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

WW&C

That was just to prod GP into posting some more fodder for the rumshop.

32. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…whatever works. .

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE You claim that you teach concepts of food security

I CLAIM TO DO WHAT I ACTUALLY DO

RE but decline to educate us from your educational heights

WHY DO I HAVE TO TEACH ANYTHING ON BU SIR? EVA BODY ON BU KNOW EVA TING ah lie?

RE and cynically allow us to wallow in our presumed ignorance.

YES IT IS FUN TO MOCK WUNNAH WALLOW IN YOUR ACTUAL IGNORANCE —NOT PRESUMED IGNORANCE

RE Yuh do’n see yuh even wuss d’an Melania!

HOW IS MELANIA RELEVANT TO FOOD SECURITY IN BARBADOS? AND THIS DISCUSSION?

RE Why don’t you put some of your pdf’s or Presentations about Food Security on BU?
    WHY SHOULD I? I DONE WID DAT?

RE Yuh worried dat dey have little relevance to the current Barbados situation?

I NOT WORRIED ABOUT ANYTHING. AS A SCHOLAR WHEN I SPEAK ON A SUBJECT I AM SPOT ON. AND I STAND BY MY ORIGINAL STATEMENT

RE I think that the truth is that you know less about food security than Simple Simon or even me.

WHAT DO YOU THINK WITH SIR?
    I WAS ENGAGED IN FOOD SECURITY IN MY FAMILY SETTING ALL THE DAYS I LIVED IN BARBADOS. FROM EARLY (IN THE 5O’S) WE FED OURSELVES AND SOLD SURPLUS TO SUPERMARKETS AND HOTELS (from the 6O’s).

MY VERY AGED MOTHER STILL DOES THIS TO KEEP HER ACTIVE, for her exercise
    YOU ARE AJUDICATING WITHOUT THE FACTS, AS IS THE USUAL ON BU

RE You are a disgrace to H.C.

I DONT OWE HC ANYTHING. THERE WAS NO WHERE ELSE FOR ME TO GO SCHOOL IN BIM WITH MY ABILITY, SIR

34. @AWTY

Stay focused on the topic and allow those who prefer to bray do so.

Do some googling to see how Singapore for example is integrating technology to support agriculture production and address food security concerns.

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Stay focused on the topic and allow those who prefer to bray do so.
    I HAVE BEEN ON BU NIGH ON 10 YEARS AND I AM YET TO SEE MANY WHO ARE CAPABLE OF STAYING FOCUSSED ON ANY TOPIC

I HAVE DECIDED TO BRAY LIKE EVA BODY ELSE HERE
    ITS ON BU THAT I LEARNED TO BRAY

36. Can a Gov’t lead a people who don’t want to be lead?

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

A corrolary to your question Sarge is

HAVING LED A HORSE TO WATER……CAN ONE MAKE HIM DRINK?
    OR
    HAVING SENT A FOOL TO COLLEGE ….CAN ONE MAKE HIM THINK?

38. There’s no innovation here! We should be spending money on improving the food supply at a reasonable costs, than giving away tax incentives to build hotels that impact the environment: http://www.sundropfarms.com/

39. Based on my personal experience as a farmer in Barbados I can say with a degree of certainty that enough chickens, vegetables and fruit can be grown for local consumption on a continuing basis.

If you have never grown thousands of broilers and layers or been involved in growing thousands of pounds of vegetables and fruit you may find it difficult to understand the potential of growing food in Barbados.

Yes there are problems with crop tiefing and almost yearly periods of drought but there are solutions.

I will continue to read the opinions of the BU “experts”.

40. Are-we-there-yet
    June 25, 2018 9:22 AM

John, re. your 8:01 am post;
    Excellent post if one is a large sugar cane farmer or is strongly linked to the top tiers of the traditional sugarcane plantation system or is one who does not care about the welfare of small farmers and producers, i.e the liitle man

One of the largest landowners in Barbados is/was CLICO!!!

Take a drive through St. John and see what has become of the land.

Another of the largest landowners is of course the Government!!!

Take a look at its lands.

Sagicor is also big but at least they sink millions into keeping their lands in agriculture.

Of these three, which one do you think will benefit most if the $14.5 million is paid?

Not CLICO, not the GOB ….. they produce nothing for which money is owed.

That leaves ….. Sagicor!!

There are a couple of families still in Agriculture but the traditional plantation system is long gone.

Wake up!!!

Where you been!!

Whatever exists now is a failure.

41. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hants
    I can also say exactly what you have said above……..because unlike most of the BU “experts”, like you, I have done it .

42. @Are-we-there-yet June 25, 2018 9:51 AM “You are a disgrace to H.C.”

I don’t think that GP is concerned about HC one way or the other anymore.

GP is looking forward to the Rapture…which may or may not happen in his lifetime or ours.

43. Cleared some weeds this morning and planted some peppers, and harvested some spinach and garlic.

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

John,

In the very early days of the FUTURE CENTER TRUST I had a chance to look at some of the “books” from some of the old plantations that were kept at Edgehill before they were put out as part of a compost heap.

It is amazing what these fellas used to do to keep argriculture going. The same old plantocracy that all the blacks hate.

I wonder if there any on BU who know about the days when folk would go to a plantation in the 60’s and buy a rod of potatoes, or yams or eddoes? We used to have food for a year, lasting till the next crop season

45. @Sargeant

Why would people not want to be lead?

The leaders must exercise the qualities that define leader and people will follow.

If the leaders have a vision that is relevant then it is their job to sell it. If not what is a leader?

46. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re I don’t think that GP is concerned about HC one way or the other anymore. VERY TRUE …LEFT ALMOST 50 years ago

re GP is looking forward to the Rapture…which may or may not happen in his lifetime or ours.
    What does it matter if I am dead or alive.

Here what it says in one of the proof tests thereof in I Thessalonians 14
    For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so them also which sleep in Jesus will God bring with him.

15 For this we say unto you by the word of the Lord, that we which are alive and remain unto the coming of the Lord shall not prevent them which are asleep.

16 For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first:

17 Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.

18 Wherefore comfort one another with these words.
    NOTE AT THE RAPTURE, THE DEAD IN CHRIST SHALL RISE FIRST
    THEN THOSE WHO ARE ALIVE AT THAT TIME WILL BE CAUGHT UP TOGETHER WITH THEM IN THE CLOUDS TO MEET THE LORD IN THE AIR!
    EXCITING PROSPECT!

47. Georgie Porgie Avatar

will the “leaders” clear weeds like SS did this morning or plant some peppers, or harvest some spinach and garlic……..or will they only pontifivate from thier ivory towers or just engage in BU BULLSHITTING
    WHERE ARE THE LEADERS?
    why should the blind follow the blind?

48. Simple Simon
    June 25, 2018 2:26 PM

Cleared some weeds this morning and planted some peppers, and harvested some spinach and garlic.

Fertilised any chicken eggs while you were at it?

You realise if we run out of foreign exchange no more chicken eggs from over and away, Chefette will clos down and Bajans will starve!!

Do your civic duty!!

49. FYI… chefette also sells roti, burgers, pork, fish etc.

50. Georgie Porgie Avatar

@john
    Fertilised any chicken eggs while you were at it?
    Are you asking SS if she put eggs under a setting hen, or are you asking if she had any of her aggs fertilised. Just asking.
    122/6 at the Oval is the score