From the time I was a boy, I have been hearing that there are no private beaches in Barbados. It never really mattered to me since I was never attracted to the beach. My mother had declared the sea off limits and the fear of her hand outweighed any desire to accompany my friends to the beach. Even now as a grandfather, I can’t swim and don’t go to the sea.

However, the incident, at Crane beach when vendors’ chairs were seized, piqued my interest. I sympathised with them and felt compelled to be part of the protest that was staged to support them. But ever cautions, I wanted to make sure that I was on good ground. So while Gabby and others protested, I opted to research the matter of beach access instead.

This is merely the outcome of my research and is not intended to be a definitive statement of the law; I am not so qualified and I would be happy for any clarification in this respect.

As I understand it, the Right Excellent Errol Barrow, when he led the Government, decreed that beaches in Barbados were public property. We must assume that he knew that private property extended to the high water mark. Nonetheless, he did not define what he meant by the term “beach” and therein lies the source of the confusion.

At section 2, the National Conservation Commission Act states:

For the purposes of this Act

“beach” includes the land adjoining the foreshore of Barbados and extending not more than 33 metres beyond the landward limit of the foreshore.

If beaches are indeed public property, this definition would therefore mean that Government acquired private property that extended roughly 33 metres landward from the high water mark, without paying compensation to the land owners involved.

To further complicate matters, Parliament again defined “beach” this time at section 2 of the 1998 Coastal Zone Management Act. It states:

“beach” means the entire area associated with the shoreline, composed of unconsolidated materials, typically sand and beachrock, that extends landward from the high water mark to the area where there is a marked change in material or natural physiographic form to a distance of 500 metres landward from the mean high water mark, whichever is the lesser distance.

A cursory reading of this definition would suggest that the beach ends where the sand or beachrock end, and that is the end of the matter. However, I have come to realise that nothing is ever this simple. Further reading led me to section 65A (2) of the Property Act which points out that the definition of “beach” in the Coastal Zone Management Act only applies to property that was conveyed after 1st May 2000. It states:

In all deeds, contracts, wills, orders, and instruments executed, made or coming into operation after 1st May, 2000, unless the context otherwise requires, any reference to the beach shall be construed as a reference to the beach as defined in the Coastal Zone Management Act, 1998 (Act 1998-39).

This suggests to me that a person, who acquires land on the coast after May 1, 2000, is not entitled to own the beach. And it begs the question, what about persons who owns property prior to that date? I found the answer at section 35 of the Limitation and Prescription Act.

If my interpretation of subsection 35. (1) is correct, there is a presumption that the public would have acquired the right to use the beach having done so for a period of 20 years without interruption. Mind you, that presumption can be defeated in court. Even so, that right becomes absolute if it had been enjoyed for 40 years, in accordance with subsection 35. (2) which states:

Where such a way or other matter has been so enjoyed for the full period of 40 years, the right thereto shall be deemed absolute and indefeasible, unless it appears that it was enjoyed by some consent or agreement expressly given or made for that purpose by deed or writing.

Since Bajans have been enjoying the beach for more than 40 years, it would appear that the beach might not be mine but I have the right to continue to enjoy it.

114 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – That Beach is NOT Mine”

1. Caswell

Unfortunately, you punted!

After all of your seemingly strong evidence supporting public ownership of public spaces..

There is something about the law which makes cowards of men.

2. Which returns to prove our point that jackasses for lawyers draft flawed laws to be legislated and not being satisfied with that they turn around and misinterpret them because of the wide open holes they then leave in those laws to be the subject of many misinterpretations..

As ususal, drafting laws the same way they think, with inconsistency.

3. PoorPeacefulandPolitePensioner Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolitePensioner

My understanding is that shoreline ownership rights were concerned chiefly with ACCESS ALONG the shoreline. Ownership carries responsibilities as well as benefits. A Right of Way (ROW) over someone’s riparian property is established by historical public use and may not be obstructed, but the actual USE of the ROW for purposes other than simple passage may be claimed exclusively by the owner and coterminously, If someone is injured while doing anything OTHER than traversing the ROW, this would constitute an abuse, and a legal claim for damage may not be made on the owner . . .

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Mr Franklyn, excellent research.

5. @ Caswell
    That NCC Act is probably the single best law ever passed in Barbados.
    All NCC needs is some sensible leadership.

What it essentially does is to treat the beaches (33m inland from the high water mark) EXACTLY like the road reserve is done in the situation where PUBLIC ROADS exists on private property.
    There is no need for compensation, since the property remains vested in the private owner, but its CONTROL AND USE is appropriated in the PUBLIC interest (including the owner’s)

As far as Bushie is concerned, this means that ANY and ALL properties within 33m of the high water mark MUST be configured in such a manner as to be available for reasonable public access and use – and this should include hotel plant, private buildings etc – unless special exemptions are sought by the owners.

The fees associated with such exemptions should be such as to encourage owners to relocate…. to the inland side of the road.

Intentional or not, this would be one of the most progressive laws EVER passed in this shiite place.

6. @Bush Tea

And the citizens must be the watchdogs? The guardians of our heritage?

7. @PoorPeacefulandPolitePensioner

You have located your comment in which law (s)?

8. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@ Caswell, my confusion in the matter stems from trying to determine to what does a beach being public entitle the individual Barbadian beyond the rights of access and to enjoy the facilities. It certainly does not include the right to exclude anyone else.

I doubt too whether Barrow had the power to issue a decree as opposed to express a preference as to ownership of the beach, but since the Coastal Management Act was passed 11 years after his death, he could have been referring to the definition in the NCC Act only

9. @ Jeff
    Would not the absolute intent of it being made ‘public’ be the INABILITY to exclude anyone (at all) from enjoying the facilities?

It has always been amazing to Bushie how a small country could sell the rights tto its single greatest asset, (that tropical beach line) to private individuals…. AT ANY PRICE.

Just like the public roads are there for the benefit, use and enjoyment of EVERYONE – local and visitor, …so should the beach and shoreline of Barbados be, for every inch of its 360 degrees…… and just like MTW is responsible for ensuring that Bushie CANNOT put a fence in the road in front of his property that is public roadway, or in any way restrict its usage, so should NCC ensure that ALL facilities within that 33m boundary be EQUALLY available for public usage.

This is so straightforward that even ac must understand.

10. @ David
    Hope you enjoyed your much deserved Easter break…..

11. From the time I was a boy, I have been hearing that there are no private beaches in Barbados. It never really mattered to me since I was never attracted to the beach. My mother had declared the sea off limits and the fear of her hand outweighed any desire to accompany my friends to the beach. Even now as a grandfather, I can’t swim and don’t go to the sea.

Standard Barbadian culture and practice!!

So, have Barbadians been enjoying the beach for 40 years or more?

Few have, but not many …. I, like you have a dread of the sea … at least anywhere I can’t touch bottom!!

You don’t swim in the beach, you swim in the sea!!

The beach is for enjoyment, not swimming!!

We can remove swimming in the sea from Bajans’ past enjoyment of the beach.

We can also remove tanning!!!!

So what’s left, how did Bajans enjoy the beach in the past?

Excursions, beach picnics, cricket ….. fun and frolic, procreation etc etc etc, not much swimming in the sea.

Excursions rarely if ever happen today, cricket belongs to a bygone era, people don’t have time for picnics, fun and frolic and the birth rate has fallen suggesting procreation is not a key consideration for Bajans.

It is tourists who dominate the use of the beaches in Barbados, and for tanning.

They also enjoy swimming in the sea, few Bajans do.

I for one am not going to waste my time intruding in their area where they are tanning just to say I want a tan too!!

It has nothing to do with law and everything to do with simple common sense!!

12. Even before the first DLP government, there was controversy about pubic access to the beaches. I remember Combermere used to hold its annual Aquatic Sports at the appropriately named Aquatic Club, and there were strict limits as to where the boys were allowed to venture. We ere certainly not entitled to go anywhere near the Yacht Club premises. Even then ordinary people were up in arms about access to the beaches. But, a central part of the deification of Barrow and his myth-making is that he was first to make the pronouncement. He did say the public had free access to the beaches, but he was not the first senior person to say so. However, part of the confusion, and I believe I am right, is that while officials tell the public one thing, they say something else to foreign investors.

13. @Bushie

Yes it was thank you. Hope you and yours had a good one as well.

14. Theophilius Gazerts 443 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 443

@John Goebbels
    Enlighten me on which side is the ox..

15. Nobody complains that Cattlewash or Foul Bay or Long Beach where the Canadian visitor was murdered are private.

Anyone can use them as they please.

Anyone can park on the East Coast Road, walk across “PRIVATE PROPERTY” and reach the 33 metres beyond the foreshore controlled by the NCC … and if the current crop of legal eales are right … proscribed by law!!!!!

Perhaps that is why Barclays Bank gave us Barclays Park, to provide a “PUBLIC ACCESS” to Cattlewash!!!

Most of the “Beach Houses” down there were built long ago and the land which I understand was privately owned by Springfield Plantation was acquired through squatters rights after many years!!

The East Coast Road was once no more than a cart track which for a brief moment in time, 1885-1935, became a railway track before reverting to its original state, a cart track.

Once the East Coast Road was built my bet is that EWB then made his pronouncement about beaches in Barbados.

Prior to the East Coast Road, access to the “Beach Houses” was by foot … or truck.

All Bajans including those with “Beach Houses” at Cattlewash enjoyed free access to the Beach without owning a square inch of land!!

“Beach Houses” started life as crates assembled and weatherproofed built in back yards, transported down by truck.

… early chattel houses placed rent free or perhaps with permission from Springfield Plantation!!

The early “Beach Houses” were used as a means for privacy in changing and to shelter from the rain if it fell.

Crates worked fine, cheap and easily available back then before the advent of shipping containers and barrels!!

I suspect you will find one of them named “Box by Box” started life that way.

There is all about common sense which, sad to say many modern day Bajans just ent got!!

16. Bushie

Lawyers, and maybe those who so aspire, are essentially officers of the court.

That being true, their primary job is not to be on the side of the ‘client’ or public but to uphold the rule of law.

They are in essence part of the court.

In Barbados, it was once said that some lawyers, who presented as defending clients, were even working with the police. LOL

We had to learn that there are legal defenses/arguments, not available to the public/client, once a lawyer is so retained.

17. I have a friend who has had beachfront property in their family for decades and they are well aware where their ownership rights begin and END in relation to the beach itself.

… signs need to be erected so the foreigners who buy beach FRONT properties clearly understands their boundaries regarding the beach and the public’s rights and stop getting it in their heads when their arrogance takes them over, that they can stop the public from enjoying the beaches..

18. Land adjoining the beach on the West Coast was at one time worthless because its value for agriculture was small.

Mostly poor people lived there.

The change in value arose at tourism grew and wealthy people wanted a “Beach House”!!

19. The problem for the “poor people” is that once they sold their interest to “rich people” they were left with a lot of money and as we have discussed before, money dissipates.

They traded wealth for riches.

20. signs need to be erected so the foreigners who buy beach FRONT properties clearly understands their boundaries

… and how are we going to make the sea understand its boundaries?

21. Maybe climate change will soon have something to say about these matters.

Pachamama, shall be the final arbiter,

22. @John

We have read your position on this matter many times over- the beach belongs to the sea. We get it. The discussion here is about what the law says as it relates to access rights when there is a beach locals will want to access. Is it possible for you to address the discussion as presented by Caswell and the others?

By the way, interesting comment of yours:

Nobody complains that Cattlewash or Foul Bay or Long Beach where the Canadian visitor was murdered are private.

23. The beaches are for enjoyment.

At the two vendors at the Crane there for enjoyment … or business?

How does the GOB control other business premises and work environments?

Do they need to be unionized?

24. Are, not at!!!

25. @John

The NCC is the agency responsible for how our beaches can be used not you. This artcile should assist you in aligning to a more accurate view of the situation:

NCC Head: Barbados Has No Private Beaches
    JULIA RAWLINS-BENTHAM MARCH 29, 2018 BANNER, TOP STORIES

There are no private beaches in Barbados.

General Manager of the National Conservation Commission (NCC), Keith Neblett, made this clear today, and emphasised that the Barbadian public still had total access to the beaches across the island.

He made these comments against the backdrop of an ongoing dispute between the management of the Crane Beach Hotel and beach vendors.

Speaking during an interview with the Barbados Government Information Service, Mr. Neblett said: “Under the NCC Act Cap 393, beach is defined as the land adjoining the foreshore of Barbados and extending not beyond 33 meters beyond the landward limit of the foreshore.”

However, he said, from “time to time” beaches got bigger and smaller based on the weather, resulting in changes to the high water mark. The General Manager explained that once the high water mark was established, the NCC Act defined 100 feet from the high water mark as beach.

However, he noted that over the years, some beaches, including the Crane, which was once recognised for being one of the widest beaches in the world, had narrowed, making them smaller. As a result, Mr. Neblett indicated, the NCC was currently in the process of re-establishing what was a public beach.

“We are going to get the Chief Surveyor from the Ministry of Housing and Lands in a week’s time to establish that clear area of what is beach. After that is established, there would be no doubt for any person who wants to use the beach at the Crane or any other beach….as to what the public has access to,” he stated.

He further noted that the NCC’s function was to control, maintain and develop the public parks, public gardens and beaches of Barbados. In doing so, the General Manager explained, the NCC also issued licences to vendors for a range of activities, such as clothing, jewellery, hair braiding, handicraft, water sports, arts and craft, souvenirs, wire craft, beach chair rentals and umbrellas.

“Over the years, the Commission has identified specific areas on the beach where the vendors can ply their trade…. You will find instances where there is clothing and hair braiding, we have had vendors placed directly in front of hotels,” Mr. Neblett said.

He noted that several hotels had also built kiosks at their establishments and at their own expense for the betterment of vendors plying their trade.

Emphasising that the NCC took the granting of licences to beach vendors “very seriously”, the General Manager pointed out that the documents were not transferrable, and that persons desirous of plying their trade on beaches or in parks had to first fill out a form, produce a Police Certificate of Character and references.

In addition, he said, the NCC also conducted its own checks on the proposed venture before a licence is granted. “The NCC has never issued a licence to operate on anybody’s private property,” he stressed.

With regard to the rental of beach chairs, Mr. Neblett stated that the NCC has always allowed businesses and hotels with beach front properties the opportunity to have chairs to complement the services offered to their clients.

However, he stressed those chairs would be for guests and not for rental. Any transactions related to the cost for the use of the chair, he stated, must be done on the hotel’s property. “On the other hand, the licence granted to vendors are issued with the [understanding] that they can rent the chairs,” he said.

There are currently 256 registered vendors across the island, of which 90 are active and operating from 35 locations.

julia.rawlins-bentham@barbados.gov.bb

26. On the matter of law and lawyers

We remember an occasion when Don Blackman shouted at a judge

He just said ‘your honour’ (sic) real, real, loud,

A hush fell over de arena

That judge threatened to cite him for contempt, put him in jail

Blackman then asked, ‘and where would you be when I return?’ LOL

Proving, these matters are not without a degree of levity, that real persons have a reserve of rights which have some value in and of themselves, that Bajans must make claim to their beaches putting their lives on the line if necessary, regardless of what igrunt laws may say.

27. I am just asking a question …. is the Crane Beach a place of business and if so does it need to be regulated as such?!!

I see Mr. Neblett takes the granting of licenses to conduct business very seriously.

If the Crane Beach is now a place of business then Mr. Neblett may have to share his turf with other GOB agencies … Unions too maybe!!

28. Simple point … the vendors are not on the beach for their enjoyment.

…. the hotel neither … how does a hotel enjoy itself anyway?

The only people on the beach for enjoyment are the tourists … and a few locals!!

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Yes John the beaches are for enjoyment…on that we can all agree. So too are public parks are other places designated for citizen access.

All places operated by Govt or private corps are managed by our laws and regulstions and so too shall our beaches …as so well researched above and again noted by the Blogmaster.

You should have no problems with that.

30. In the same way that the Ministry of Transport CAN (…or CAN DECIDE NOT TO) … issues licenses for vendors on the PUBLIC ROADS, so can NCC decide (or decide not to) issue licenses for vending on the beaches.

It is NOT a complicated matter.
    The FACT is that COMMUNITY assets, such as the beaches, roads, airspace and sea CANNOT be privately controlled by one set of individuals to the detriment of others, even if they ‘own’ them. …not without some kind of FAIR licensing system.

WEALTH cannot be the determining factor….. otherwise a tipping point will come when ‘power’ becomes the determining factor and that usually is not a pleasant process…. as Gabby explained so succinctly.

@ Pacha
    The lawyers have lost out in this particular case – since this law is patently clear; consistent with existing laws addressing public assets; and it deals with an issue that GABBY has placed in the hearts of otherwise brass bowlic Bajans….. with ‘Jack’..

It is not the usual hodgepodge of nonsense that uses lots of shiite words to say nothing.
    All we need now is leadership with the balls to implement…

….which is why Bushie had earlier asked PLT if, in his research on the public nature of our beaches, he had consulted with the Gabberts….
    🙂

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Further @John, I remain absolutely amazed how you create a base line argument sprinkled with valid sounding historical references and then proceed to build these amazing fallacies. There are entire books of logic written about people like you, good heaveans!

You speak of “It has nothing to do with law and everything to do with simple common sense!!”…. yet you offer some perplexing non-common sense to the issue.

Beaches are created as a result of the sea currents and thus as u simply state belong to the sea. But is that not valid for all natural phenomena!

Fertile lands are a function of rain fall, nutrients from other organic sources whether that be volcanic materials , animals droppings or other and they occur like beaches where they will at nature’s whims.

It must always therefore fall to society (laws) to manage and carefully govern the riches of the earth for all citizens…that sir is the COMMON SENSE.

Your historical references are interesting and presuming they are accurate quite informative, but your disingenuous fallacious argumentation is totally distressing.

32. Is the NCC the one responsible for restricting beach access to a few (2) beach vendors?

Anyone can go on Crane Beach and enjoy it …. no one can dispute that.

The protestors all traipsed on to the beach and clearly demonstrated that fact!!

Public beach access to the Crane Beach was never an issue!!

33. I spent the first 20 years of my life near the “beach” and learned to swim and fish from about 5 or 6 years old.

I have relatives who earned a living fishing and building fishing boats.

Over the years rich home owners have tried various methods of deterring people from
    walking on their “beach”.

One of my homies once counter-attacked a canine with a big rock. The owner was thusly “dissuaded” from allowing his dogs to attack black people.

I understand that the use of the beaches have changed because of Tourism but 280000 Bajans plus we in the Diaspora should not be denied the normal reasonable opportunity to share the beach and the sea.

34. @John

Until Peter arrives here is an extract from the GIS press release as a reminder:

With regard to the rental of beach chairs, Mr. Neblett stated that the NCC has always allowed businesses and hotels with beach front properties the opportunity to have chairs to complement the services offered to their clients.

However, he stressed those chairs would be for guests and not for rental. Any transactions related to the cost for the use of the chair, he stated, must be done on the hotel’s property. “On the other hand, the licence granted to vendors are issued with the [understanding] that they can rent the chairs,” he said.

There are currently 256 registered vendors across the island, of which 90 are active and operating from 35 locations.

35. Liesalot….the sea does not need to understand boundaries…the sea put the beaches there and can take them back whenever it wishes, as is her right, It is MAN needs to understand THEIR boundaries with regards to what they did not put there.

Your disrespect for the sea is noted as is your disrespect for the majority population on the island, you need to learn respect for Mother Nature and the earth’s population.

The ones who own paper and believes that paper automatically gives them the right to own and dictate, they need boundaries, it is that time.

36. There are currently 256 registered vendors across the island, of which 90 are active and operating from 35 locations.

++++++++++++++++++++++

Two of whom operate on the Crane Beach, restricted by …. the NCC!!

37. Public access to the Crane Beach was never an issue despite all the effort expended to make it one!!

38. @John
    Until Peter arrives here is an extract from the GIS press release as a reminder:

++++++++++++++++++

… of “I am not a lawyer” fame!!

39. @David April 8, 2018 10:04 AM

“However, he noted that over the years, some beaches, including the Crane, which was once recognised for being one of the widest beaches in the world, had narrowed, making them smaller. As a result, Mr. Neblett indicated, the NCC was currently in the process of re-establishing what was a public beach.

“We are going to get the Chief Surveyor from the Ministry of Housing and Lands in a week’s time to establish that clear area of what is beach. After that is established, there would be no doubt for any person who wants to use the beach at the Crane or any other beach….as to what the public has access to,” he stated.”

The manager of NCC has recognized the “beach” is a changing entity and is suggesting it requires a survey to establish, question, how frequently are these surveys required, registered and demarcated. Now another BIG QUESTION, what if this new survey shows the beach as moving onto privately owned land, does this now mean the government must compuslary aquire this land and pay the landowner ?

This is the result poorly written legislation prepared by jackass’s. Another example of Barbados out of control civil servants being influenced by unknowlegable bunch of beach bunnies.

40. @John

What triggered the issue is when the Crane management locked the property (chairs) owned by the NCC licensed vendors.

41. I have relatives who earned a living fishing and building fishing boats.

Crane Beach is not necessary for launching fishing boats although I seem to remember fishing boats by the sea grape trees which the sea has claimed …. or reclaimed.

In fact, I suspect it would be almost impossible to launch a fishing boat at the Crane given the current level of beach erosion.

280,000 Bajans never used the beaches in Barbados for enjoyment!!!

A tiny minority, those engaged in excursions on a Bank Holiday, making a living, who loved the sea or whatever used to enjoy it.

The majority of Bajans always feared the sea.

I suspect today the minority is even less given all the facilities GOB has provided for the fisher folk.

The beach is really enjoyed by our guests and the numbers there in say a year far surpass any number of Bajans on the beach.

I would guess that for every Bajan you might be able to find on the beach you would find 10 or more of our guests.

One or two obstreperous property owners are hardly worth the commotion when there is so much beach area available.

42. @John

Hants was making a bigger point, you latched on to the more trivial point.

43. @John
    What triggered the issue is when the Crane management locked the property (chairs) owned by the NCC licensed vendors.

++++++++++++++++

So, what exactly was the issue … certainly not public access to the beach ….. you would have to agree!!

The NCC should have stepped in ages ago if it was as simple as that …. so I am led to conclude it was not that simple.

Even the NCC knows it can’t tell the sea what to do!!

It was all about breach erosion and the fear it created in a few people as to their livelihood …. not enjoyment on the beach!!

Super Moons and High Tides made a bad situation worser!!

If you go up there you will see the Beach is a lot larger …. until the next full moon which is at the end of this month.

https://hellogiggles.com/news/sap-moon-mean/

Next full moon is 31st March!!

44. Will we see the lunatics out then?

“Middle English: from Old French lunatique, from late Latin lunaticus, from Latin luna ‘moon’ (from the belief that changes of the moon caused intermittent insanity).”

45. With regard to the rental of beach chairs, Mr. Neblett stated that the NCC has always allowed businesses and hotels with beach front properties the opportunity to have chairs to complement the services offered to their clients.

The issue for the Hotel is not rental revenue.

It is space to locate its chairs for the enjoyment of its guests.

The only issue for the Vendors is rental revenue which falls at full moon when the beach shrinks.

So there will be another clash over space at the end of this month unless the Hotel and Vendors reach an agreement which they have.

This is about common sense, not law!!

46. … and the Hotel plans to expand increasing the number of its guests.

47. How would you write the Act Coyote?
    Everything on this earth is changing gradually- even the distance between continents. Hills erode and are uplifted; Sand dunes move with the wind; landslides happen, ..and the rain can relocate tons of topsoil from one neighbour to another.

The fact that the tides are a bit more dynamic only means that stricter timelines apply in beach issues.

Anyone owning, or choosing to buy property on a Bajan Beach, just needs to know that for a distance of 33m from the point where the high tide comes at a set period after full moon, THAT LAND (whatever amount is defined for a given time period) is reserved for public access and use – and is administered by NCC…

…just like someone buying a property in Broad Street must know that while their boundary line may be in the middle of Broad Street – they CANNOT dictate what happens on that RESERVE…. or even WHO sells there…

It is only in backward countries that permission is given for ANY KIND of building on the sea-ward side of any coastal roads ANYWAY…. and this is not only (or even mostly) about physical access….
    The AESTHETICS of the priceless ocean views; the sea breeze; the ambience of taking a drive (for those unable to walk) along a coastal front …CANNOT be valued….

How long does it take to measure 33m?
    Lotta shiite!!!!

There is not one shiite wrong with THAT Act.
    All that is needed is its enforcement.

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

You are either an intelligent man who likes to make light of every issue for comic relief or someone who thinks that his view is the only one. I can’t decide which.

You failed to appreciate the point that I was making with respect to the National Conservation Commission Act regarding the definition of “beach”. Prior to that act, landowners owned the land down to the high water mark. I was attempting to ask the question, how did NCC acquire those 33 metres? Was it compulsorily acquired? Did the Government alter the Constitution to deprive owners of beach lands?

To my mind the NCC took control of privately owned lands, without regard to the owners rights.

On the other hand the Coastal Zone Management Act acquired beach lands by stealth, by taking away an owners right to convey all the land that he/she owns.

49. To my mind the NCC took control of privately owned lands, without regard to the owners rights.
    Exactly!
    …and brilliantly so too.
    Just as is done with public roads.

So according to your 12:10 then you were NOT making a point, but asking a question …. true?
    Obviously that Act – while maintaining the ownership rights of land owners, appropriates CONTROL of any such land within the defined distance from the HWM.

…and it is NOT that the bushman thinks that Bushie’s view is the ONLY one….. just that it is the RIGHT one.
    Is that not what YOU think of YOUR views?

50. Is this true? ” which was once recognised for being one of the widest beaches in the world”.. was one of the widest in the world?