Jeff Cumberbatch – Columnist, Deputy Dean of UWI, Law Faculty, Chairman of the FTC

There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio, 

Than are dreamt of in your philosophy – Hamlet, Act 1, Scene 5

While money can’t buy happiness,

it certainly lets you choose your own form of misery … –Groucho Marx

While the title of today’s column should be an undisputed datum, especially given the provisions of sections 6 and 7 of the Elections Offences and Controversies Act, Cap.3 of the Laws of Barbados that criminalize bribery and treating respectively as corrupt practices and the periodical fulminations against these practices by politicians of various stripe and other well-meaning citizens, I am nevertheless willing to wager that there are very few who would be willing to swear that the title accurately portrays the reality in modern day Barbados.

Now, as the blast of war rings in the ears (in the words of the Prime Minister) before the electoral battle is fully and officially joined, the relation between the statutory provisions and the cultural practice has been brought once more into sharp focus.

The law itself is clear. So far as bribery is concerned, section 6(2) provides-

A person is guilty of bribery who, directly or indirectly, by himself or by any other person on his behalf

(a) gives any money or procures any office to or for any elector or to or for any other person on behalf of any elector or to or for any other person in order to induce any elector to vote or refrain from voting; or

(b) corruptly makes any gift or procurement as is specified in paragraph (a) on account of any elector having voted or refrained from voting; or

(c) makes any gift or procurement as is specified in paragraph (a) to or for any person in order to induce that person to procure, or endeavour to procure, the return of any person at an election or the vote of any elector, or if upon or in consequence of any such gift or procurement he procures or engages, promises or endeavours to procure the return of any person at an election or the vote of any elector.”

And, as for treating, section 7 stipulates-

“A person is guilty of a corrupt practice who is guilty of treating.

(2) A person is guilty of treating who corruptly, by himself, either before, during or after an election, directly or indirectly gives or provides or pays wholly or in part the expense of giving or providing any food, drink, entertainment or provision to or for any person

(a) for the purpose of corruptly influencing that person or any other person to vote or refrain from voting at such election; or

(b) on account of that person or any other person having voted or refrained from voting or being about to vote or refrain from voting at such election.

Every elector who corruptly accepts or takes any such food, drink, entertainment or provision is also guilty of treating.”

That the latter section criminalizes the practice seemingly endemic in the region whereby the politician buys the elector a drink and something to eat [rum and roti in Trinidad & Tobago; rum and corned beef in Barbados] should entail our recognition that as M. Jourdan in Molière’s “Le Bourgeois Gentilhomme” who one day realized that he had been speaking prose all his life “without knowing it”, this traditional treating by politicians may have been against the law all along without any complaint.

Of course, the law insists that for one to be convicted of a criminal offence, not only must such guilt be established beyond reasonable doubt but also the relevant law, in the case of doubt, must be construed in the way most favourable to the accused person. That the traditional rum and corned beef is now been rumoured to have given way to the flat screen or Curve television and the I-phone, pad, or pod does not change the law, which seeks to penalize the transaction itself rather than the nature of the consideration, one jot or tittle.

However, the effective enforcement of the relevant provisions would seem to be akin to an impracticability, given that the most cogent evidence against the politician or his or her agent is likely to come from the accomplice to the criminality, the beneficiary of the bribe or treatment, who would be incriminating himself. As quoted above – “Every elector who corruptly accepts or takes any such food, drink, entertainment or provision is also guilty of treating”. It is the same with the offence of bribery-“A person is guilty of bribery who, after an election, directly or indirectly by himself or by any other person on his behalf, receives any money or valuable consideration on account of any person having voted or refrained from voting or having induced any other person to vote or refrain from voting”.

Thus it is that despite the dissuasiveness of the penalties for those guilty of these offences, including the avoidance of the election of a candidate who is found personally or vicariously guilty of any corrupt or illegal practice (section 54) and the striking off of a candidate’s votes from those persons who were bribed or treated, the general impracticability of enforcement lends to a circumstance that the franchise may indeed be treated locally as a commodity for a long time to come.

Moreover, in our culture, generosity of some kind from the political representative or from a candidate for the constituency is expected. If that generosity is made either expressly or, more likely, impliedly conditional on its future repayment by the exercise of the franchise in that person’s favour, whence the telling evidence of a corrupt practice?

The keener reader will observe that I do not have the space today to tackle an even more insidious form of bribery where the franchise itself is not treated as the commodity but rather the politician himself… or at least his influence. Electoral campaigns are patently expensive undertakings, after all.

May you have a blessed and bountiful 2018, dear reader.

78 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Franchise is NOT a Commodity”

1. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

……”to tackle an even more insidious form of bribery where the franchise itself is not treated as the commodity but rather the politician himself… or at least his influence.”

Would love to see the laws related to this so that the bought and paid for politicians, as well as the bought and paid for government ministers and their known bribers in the minority business community. ..like the self-proclaimed briber of government ministers in the pay-to-play scam Bizzy Williams can see it themselves.

2. when a politician dies….he lies still

3. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol…good one Lawson.

4. What Bushie would like to hear Jeff’s learned opinion on, is how it is possible for our DPP, COP, AG and CJ to have so COMPLETELY ignored the MANY cases where we have heard well known persons in Barbados go on TV (and in the written press) to brag about how much money they have GIVEN to politicians of both parties..
    Shiite … some even cried.

As to section 7 …
    That is a TOTAL JOKE.
    The general RULE is that politicians HAVE to buy drinks, pay bills, find work (or rather find pay) for voters …and to SYSTEMATICALLY violate this section both BEFORE and AFTER elections…

What then is the purpose of shiite laws that mean NOTHING?

Careful analysis will show that this ‘law’ speaks of the bribe being ‘corruptly’ given in section ‘b’. This is OBVIOUSLY put there to negate EVERYTHING in the section – since the motive of ‘corruptly giving’ is virtually unprovable – or at least provides ground for our monkey lawyers to run on…

EVERYTHING about our shiite Laws in Barbados is TAINTED….
    Our asses will continue to swim in shit as a consequence.

5. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

People should be made aware that the politicians have no way of finding out how an elector voted. Therefore you can still vote against him and go home and watch the results on your new flat-screen.

People should not really expect that a politician, who openly breaks the law in order to be elected, would be honest thereafter. That is why the only discernible growth in this country is openly seen among the politicians.

6. Caswell
    People should be made aware that the politicians have no way of finding out how an elector voted.
    You mean no way that YOU know of….

Bushie has been explaining for YEARS now, that the shiite system which we use, where the ballot has a tear off section with your NID on it, while the ACTUAL Ballot has your ‘X” on it … means that someone merely has to bring the two pieces together afterwards in order to have a record of how each person voted.

How hard is it to search box 25 from your constituency for ballot slip 025467 which matches torn off slip 025467 with Caswell’s NID on it?

Such a search may only be needed if Caswell is being considered for a job, or a contract, or if he has a case pending….

THIS SHOULD NOT EVEN BE POSSIBLE.
    …only in a shiite (literally) country.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The ballot are stored in a vault at the Registration Department while the counterfoil of the ballot papers are stored in the Electoral Office. They can only be brought together by an order of the High Court, and that would be done publicly. Don’t mislead if you do not know Bushie.

8. Caswell says politicians have no way of finding out how an elector voted.How so,when in the room where votes are cast sit yardfowls of either party and the election officer tells you when you exit the voting booth show the docket on which you placed your X to those officials there pointing to the yardfowls.I don’t show them one ass because they have no right in there and a vote is a personal thing not to be shared with anybody other than the voter.

9. That is how a candidate knows how he is faring as the process goes on during the day.Your name is called boldly.Those 2 yardfowls have the list of voters.They know on the docket that candidate DLP is listed first,candidate BLP is listed next etc.They can see where you placed your X when you hold up the docket in their direction,so Tyrone Estwick knew he was losing long before he lost.I saw him working the cell phone feverishly on that day.Similarly Donville knew he was losing by that same method and called the Stink man for help

10. @ Caswell
    You have faith in politicians
    You have faith in the Public service
    You have faith that Credit Unions can legally act like banks
    You have faith that the Justice system will keep the ballots separate..

You have faith that some yardfowl will not just open a box in the Registration Department and check…

IT SHOULD NOT EVEN BE POSSIBLE
    There should be nothing on a ballot but the X

Thank God for your balls, and for your focus on justice…
    But..
    No wonder you are poor.
    Blind faith is so pathetic…

11. @agabriel

Are you sure? The ballot is declared before the x is affixed not so?

12. @ Caswell
    “The ballot are stored in a vault at the Registration Department while the counterfoil of the ballot papers are stored in the Electoral Office. They can only be brought together by an order of the High Court,”

But Caswell, they don’t need to be brought together physically… yardfowl A can record images of one on his mobile phone while yardfowl B records images of the other for later comparison. What means are in place to prevent this knowing that both the Registration Department and Electoral Office are well stocked with yardfowls of every variety?

13. David
    What I said is undisputed.I have experienced it at my polling station.I have written on it before.It is an iniquitous deed.They have no right sitting in that room.
    The procedure is as you enter the station and show your credentials,your name is called loud enough for a minibus passing with music blaring to hear your name.Everybody in at room check their record.You are given a slip of paper and pointed to the booth and told by the official of the Electoral Office to go to that booth,place your X,and on exiting the booth,hold up and SHOW the slip to that location,pointing to the 2 representatives of the Dees and the Bees,then drop it in the receptacle.Knowing that the vote is secret,I asked who were these 2 people.I was told.Since then I don’t show them anything.They have no right in there.Nobody should be told to show your vote to anybody,not even the electoral official.

14. Many Barbadians will be very happy about new iPhones, corned beef, cement etc next year …

Voting – a constant income for many Barbadians.

15. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Dean Jeff, I look forward to your ‘treating the follow on subject re the politician him/her-self.

There were some judgements in US which appear to give politicians free reign to be ‘insidious. When the former Chicago governor was convicted following his attempts to convert the appointment of a replacement for then pres-elect Obama into beneficial gain to him that was interesting.

Frankly I thought his actions were standard political horse trading, so to speak.

And then after another governor (Mass. as memory serves) was acquitted on appeal after receiving Rolex watches, vacations for he n wife etc from persons seeking his influence towards their contract submissions it was no longer interesting.

Just seemed that the entire thing is truly a farce.

As you clearly suggest, unless there is actual unimpeachable physical evidence ideally in the politician’s own words of his crime a conviction is UNLIKELY.

Prosperous new year to you and family. The same David to you, your BU household and the entire BU fam.

16. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Jeff,

On my last visit to Barbados. I visited a bar owned by the infamous, Dr David Estwick, the minister best known for allegedly brandishing his pistol in the presence of an opposition member of parliament (MP).

In a conversation with my uncle and his wife whilst waiting for our meal, i remarked: how was it possible for a politician to own a bar within his constituency? Such a “business” is likely to have an extremely negative impact on the state of our politics both at a local and a national level.

I would like to know the level of intimacy shared by the local population who patronise Dr Estwick’s bar. Is it possible that an open and a democratic society should allow their MP’s to open such a business which many may interpret as a garrison – prone to favouring those who may patronise the venue as oppose to those whom do not.

http://www.caribflame.com/2016/10/barbados-opposition-leader-slams-members-of-cabinet-who-run-businesses/

Here is another indicator that should have you worried and is further proof that Barbados has become hideously corrupt.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/property/house-prices/revealed-least-affordable-places-live-world/

17. So what if they know who you voted for? stupse!!

18. Peter

The average yardfowl would not have access to the vault at the Registration Department. As far a I know, the vault is only accessible to select members of staff. And in any event, the marked ballot papers are not strewn all over the floor over the floor; they are contained in locked boxes. You can only take a picture of the box if you, as a yardfowl, gained access to the vault.

19. @ Enuff
    It facilitates yardfowlism, nepotism, mediocrity and brass bowlery…
    …apart from other failings…

Personally, Bushie could not care two hoots – cause he don’t rice at ANY shiite politician.
    But Bushmen are a rare stinking breed.

No doubt you will photograph your ballot as a sign of your dedication. Is this your passport to a board appointment?

@ Caswell
    ….and you hold the keys to the locked boxes right?

20. @ Talking Loud Saying Nothing,

Politicians own rum shops / bars.

Politicians own Law firms.

What is the difference ?

21. Jeff has committed a journalistic faux pas, he has “buried the lede” as they say in the periodicals. The most important paragraph has been relegated to the end of the opinion piece and has been overlooked if the tenor of the observations is to be believed. I am more worried about who has the politicians in their pockets than who the politician tries to coerce into voting for them as while both are invidious the former is more corrosive to the State than he latter.

22. @Sargeant

The system of government (Westminster) encourages the political class to pander to those who contribute to political campaigns. The difference between Barbados and the developed democracies is the more rigorous checks and balances read functioning oversight bodies.

23. Theophilius Gazerts 239 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 239

Would be interesting to know why they keep this information and for how long. After the government is installed, all ballot information should be destroyed. To keep it any longer than that must serve some (nefarious) purpose, Yes/NO?

24. The system of government (Westminster) encourages the political class to pander to those who contribute to political campaigns. The difference between Barbados and the developed democracies is the more rigorous checks and balances read functioning oversight bodies. (Quote)

Ignorance of the so-called Westminster Model. Total nonsense.

25. For example, Caswell has written about flouting of the rules which the Electoral Boundaries Commission has oversight yet no action. In fact Caswell posted on BU the documents that listed monies spent by Sinckler which exceeded what is stipulated by law, and nothing. It even goes back to when billboards were erected and nothing.

26. Theophilius Gazerts 239 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 239

And don’t tell me about the US or UK. Keep it relevant to Barbados.

27. Cell phones, cameras, ACTION.

We can expect you honest BU bloggers to record and report evidence of vote buying.

I will do the same….in spirit . lol

28. The sooner we deal with the reality of elections the better. What we have now are mammoth parties and carnival/kadooment like gatherings that seldom enlighten anybody. The entrenched political class has turned elections into an extension of Crop Over. Meeting starts at 6:00 PM; entertainment until 9:00 PM; cuss each other until they get tired and that’s it.
    In this kind of circus: free drinks, free music, free dollar bills flying and other freebies. How do we expect the people to respond?
    The development from rum and corned beef to flat screen TV’s and ipads should therefore be seen as natural within the system that has been created. We either have some very blind people writing on this post or they are pretending that they don’t know the truth. And fear not because the diehards will be out there delivering the gifts for their respective candidates.

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

‘If the law supposes that, the law is a ass, a idiot’ or in Bajan parlance as told by Dr.R.Forde in the HC production in the early 70’s…”the law barely like um”

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

“The difference between Barbados and the developed democracies is the more rigorous checks and balances read functioning oversight bodies.”
    I gather ‘functioning’ is a matter of opinion. Methinks the court of public opinion, functions as well in Barbados, as in any other jurisdiction.

31. And are we satisfied that Bajan public opinion translate to concrete acceptable outcomes? When we discuss oversight bodies do we mean public opinion or agencies established to represent the people.

32. A lot of votes were bought and sold at Christmas.

A lot of votes will be bought and sold tonight and tomorrow.

Doan have to read an spell fuh wunna.

33. We miss Eric ‘Fly’Sealy and his soap box style politics.As in Hyde Park on Sunday afternoons one looked forward to the unvarnished bordering on the unlawful contribution of this natural repository of grapevine information.Whether it was the Indians,the whites or the nasty lowlife Dems,if you offend the people you offend Fly.If he was alive,Stuart and Lowdown would either straighten up and fly right or be hounded out off office because Fly would set up his box by your house or by your office anytime the law allowed it.You would not be left in peace.Its people like Fly and Burton Hinds that kept the lid on extravagances in politics.Their contributions to Barbados cannot or should not be overlooked by our historians.

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

So in Canada, we have a huge number of these so-called oversight bodies.
    We had a Senator (Duffy) who after a lengthy trial, was cleared on all 31 charges, and while the judge slammed the elected and senior appointed members who “gave him advice”, not a single case has ever been brought against any other connected person.
    We had a former Ontario premier, where a whole tranche of his electronic messages (e-mails) were deleted post election and prior to retirement. Two of his former staffers were charged, the former PM was not. The trial continues, and the judge has disallowed the significant charges.
    We have a sitting PM who took a Christmas vacation on a Bahamian island owned by H.H. The Aga Khan, a registered lobbier in Canada. The Ethics Commissioner finds the PM guilty, the penalty? Nothing. Ditto for the MoF.
    We had a 3 year Inquiry into the awarding and management of public contracts in Quebec. Of the 3 Commisioners, one was so sick he never attended a single session. Of the remaining 2, one (Charbonneau) wrote the decision and conducted the inquiry, the other was the political mole who made sure no damming statements were entered about any provincially elected member. A whole host of city elected officials resigned. Not a single provincial politician or private citizen has been charged post commission.
    My point is, you can provide additional employment for an untold number in these oversight bodies. Yet, if their end game is to preserve the status quo, the only opinion which matters is the court of public opinion. And that ultimately determines the fate of any politician. As noted, getting elected is not inexpensive.

35. @Northern O

How could you leave out Mulroney and the Airbus affair? He won a libel suit remember? How about the money stuffed in a Safety Deposit Box?

These folks are just amateurs.

36. They all feel they are entitled, even good people can turn just like cops when they get sick and tired of the criminal revolving door and may look the other way for some gift. They all must be charged no exceptions especially the high profile ones to prove to the average guy no-one is above the law. Mulrooney getting money in a paper bag taking it and nothing happens …total bullshit trudeau taking trips at our expense phuck him putz

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    I thought I had covered both major parties federally, and two significant provincial issues.
    Even b4 Airbus, there was the party convention and the stuffed briefcase? You think any of them sweet? Do what ya gotta do and worry about any fallout, later.

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

Wait Lawson you get into the sauce early? -18 here, mussee close to to -25 in the capital?

39. How the hell wunna fellows does manage that weather? …MINUS 18 degrees C
    Shiite man!!! Wunna fellows gotta like the $$$$ REAL bad yuh.
    Umm was PLUS 18 bout here and Bushie almost freeze to death….

That would mash up de whacker…..
    …not to mention other whacking instruments…
    MURDAH!!!

40. Bushtea

Boss I am after nothing, and if I were it wouldn’t be for $120 a month on a Board to get accused of tiefin by the likes of you.

41. Awwww come on Enuff
    Do you REALLY think that Bushie would question your integrity on a Board…?

….more like make your life a living Hell…
    ….Unless of course you repent of your CSME sins… and keep on the straight and narrow….

42. @ Bushie,

It is minus 18c outstide. Plus 24c in my house.

If I go out, inside the car is heated to plus 24c and it has heated seats.

Not rich like you so have to stay in Canada and “climatize” lol

43. It is not too cold today. Just minus 22c, but the wind is low. Yesterday I had to pick up veggies and it was COLD!! I start the car while still in the house and have heated seats and I wear layers and a down parka. this way I am warm as toast. I keep the house at 70F but for the last four days I moved it up to 72F, this way I don’t need socks in the house or a sweater. It should be warmer starting tomorrow.

44. Keep warm, bajans……..my family is in Edmonton and Calgary and it is minus 40 there. I feel for them!

45. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

This from a known corrupt, disgusting, racist businesswoman also well known for for never paying workers decent salaries, not wanting workers to unionize and doling out bribes to politicians, ministers civil servants and customs officers in brown paperbacks. ….and bribing politicans during elections.

…….she should have been in prison years ago for her musty, fire hazard business places as well…instead she is given a voice to continue acting as though she owns the island and the people who live on it.

“NOT SO FAST, HERBERT
    Mon, 01/01/2018 – 1:05am Barbados1
    BY:
    JANELLE HUSBANDS
    PROMINENT businesswoman Asha Mirchandani has expressed disappointment with suggestions from president of the Barbados Private Sector Association, Charles Herbert, that a new government is needed.

In fact, Mirchandani, a past present of the Barbados Manufacturer’s Association, says the headline found in another section of the media yesterday does not represent the view of all of the private sector in Barbados and was “very degrading for a president of any association”. She also believes that such a headline demoralises the country in the eyes of the world.

It is against this backdrop that Mirchandani called for answers on the BPSA: “Who forms the private sector, who elects the committee? Is it a membership or persons chosen? What is the Constitution?”

“The private sector is not a political body and as president he has no right to talk in this manner without the consent of membership. I would like to know who authorised this. I am not taking sides and honestly believe this was said in very bad taste and is an insult to the business community who has always been fair and has worked with the choice of the people in this land. Who made you special?

“I would like an unconditional apology and also ask that the president resign with immediate effect. Every government which was elected by the people of Barbados has the right to run the country as the term given.

“Government is elected by the people of Barbados and Barbadians are very intelligent people and love their country. Please do not underestimate them.”
    She believes that it is about time the government now and future looks at the Association for being part of the economic advisory committee……….”

46. What the woman can do is take Herbert to the law courts because that is her specialty.She is fond of the courts of Barbados.Not only those listed in WW&C but she has the hierarchy of the BWU in her hip pocket also.This woman has been a supporter of the DLP from Barrow days.I took a Canadian businessman to one of her hardware outlets and his first observation was the chaotic and unsanitary condition under which this woman was allowed to sell to the public and employ staff,all this without proper oversight of the Health and Fire officials responsible for standards.

47. Dr. Simple "Riff-Raff" Simon fake Phd.and all Avatar
    Dr. Simple “Riff-Raff” Simon fake Phd.and all

@Jeff Cumberbatch “A person is guilty of treating who corruptly, by himself, either before, during or after an election, directly or indirectly gives or provides or pays wholly or in part the expense of giving or providing any food, drink, entertainment or provision to or for any person
    for the purpose of corruptly influencing that person or any other person to vote or refrain from voting at such election; or on account of that person or any other person having voted or refrained from voting or being about to vote or refrain from voting at such election. Every elector who corruptly accepts or takes any such food, drink, entertainment or provision is also guilty of treating.”

Thanks Professor.

I had no idea that the corned beef and rum thing was unlawful. I should have studied law instead of…

What is the penalty for accepting such treats?

Not that I am personally worried. The politicians–all parties– never give me or my family any treats, no corned beef, no rum, no flat screen TV, no food hamper, no “pick’ in the civil service, no contracts, no visits when we are sick, heck they do not even come to our funerals, no condolence cards or visits either, not even one in an “on service” envelope.

We are the 20% in the middle. The ones that no party can depend on.

But after the 40% “D” hardliners have voted, and after the 40% “B” hardliners have voted, we the 20% ALWAYS get to decide the result of the election.

And for that all parties hate us.

Lolll!!

48. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Dr Simple…et omnes,

The Act provides as follows-

59.(1) Subject to section 61 and to any express provisions of this Act relating to particular acts which are declared to be corrupt practices, a candidate or other person reported by an Election Court on the trial of an election petition personally guilty of a corrupt practice shall for five years from the date of the report be incapable—
    (a) of being registered as an elector or of voting at any election for the House of Assembly; and
    (b) of being elected to and sitting in the House of Assembly; and
    (c) of holding any judicial office or being appointed as a Senator;
    and if already elected to the House of Assembly or holding such office or so
    appointed shall from the said date vacate the seat or office.

I note that you are in the “deciding minority”, that 20% that most Barbadians claim membership of.

49. I note that you are in the “deciding minority”, that 20% that most Barbadians claim membership of.

Good one Jeff, hypocrisy is rife!