Caribbean Court of Justice

One of the earliest formulations of the concept of the rule of law is to the effect that โ€œthe king himself ought to be subject to God and the law because the law makes him kingโ€ฆโ€ Later scholars such as Coke also asserted the supremacy of law over the pretensions of the executive, and AV Dicey, who is popularly credited as being the father of the modern concept noted that the Rule of law, in the second principle, means โ€œthe equality of law or equal subjection of all classes of people to the ordinary law of the land which is administered by the ordinary law courtsโ€. In this sense, the rule of law conveys that no man is above the law. Even the Government officials are under a duty to obey the same law.

Contrasting pronouncements during the past week by two leading regional government officials to, in one case, a ruling by the Caribbean Court of Justice and, in the second case, to some obiter dicta [observations not of crucial importance to the decision] in a number of its judgments, illustrate neatly the extent to which some administrations are prepared to abide with this aspect of concept of the rule of law.

The Caribbean Court of Justice [CCJ], a creature of the regional integration movement, has had, in its relatively short existence, to endure the peculiar ambivalence, dither and mutual mistrust of the regional states towards their own created institutions. The Federation may be justifiably cited in this connection as indeed may now the regional court.

Conceived of as encompassing both an original and an appellate jurisdiction; the latter as the regionโ€™s highest court to replace the Judicial Committee of Her Majestyโ€™s Privy Council, the court has striven over the past twelve years essentially to limp along on the good leg of its original jurisdiction only, while, to date, no more than four jurisdictions have seen it fit to exercise their discretion to accede to the appellate jurisdiction. A cynic might reasonably be minded observe that the original jurisdiction is fully subscribed only because it is an inextricable incident of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas, to which all the member states of CARICOM are signatories, and not because of any overarching desire on the part of these states to have the court arbitrate their trade disputes.

So far as concerns the appellate jurisdiction, however, the position is markedly different and here, owing to a veritable โ€œsancocheโ€ of distrust of the capacity of a regional body effectively and judiciously to resolve private legal disputes in one jurisdiction, an outright popular rejection possibly based on partisan considerations in another, the lack of enthusiasm for resolving the matter by popular referendum in yet another and by virtue of judicial decision in a fourth, the court has enjoyed less than majority support from the regional states.

I am not certain to what extent this general air of disfavour might have influenced the recently announced stance of the governing administration in Belize to subject to parliamentary debate and resolution by conscience rather than party whip, a recent ruling of the Court for that government to honour a multi-million dollar international arbitration award.

While this initiative might, on its face, smack of a clear contempt of the ruling by the CCJ, the Prime Minister has sought to justify it on the technical ground that it is not constitutionally permissible for money to be withdrawn from the Consolidated Fund without Parliamentary resolution. Although this argument may be legally sound, the absence of any enthusiasm by the governing administration for propelling the vote in a direction consistent with the ruling appears to demonstrate a reluctance to comply therewith. The consequences of this have not gone unnoticed by the private sector in that state. In a report published in the Barbados Advocate last week, the president of the Belize Chamber of Commerce warned, โ€œWhen you have a government or a country that has not paid its debtโ€ฆ the borrowing rate [on the international market] becomes a higher rateโ€ฆ the business community will pay that priceโ€ฆโ€

More in the region of fair comment and far less combative was the reaction of the Right Honourable Prime Minister, Mr Freundel Stuart, Prime Minister of Barbados, in his response to the not infrequent criticisms of the CCJ pertaining to the tardiness of the local court system and its consequence of infringing the fundamental rights of litigants. Terming these criticisms an โ€œunnecessary slanderโ€ of the Barbados judicial system, Mr Stuart sought to argue that such delays were not peculiar to Barbados but were of regional incidence and contrasted the comparatively less salacious handling of the matter by the JCPC which remains the highest tribunal for most of the regional jurisdictions.

It is indeed difficult to defend a cogent charge of judicial tardiness and the Prime Ministerโ€™s justification that it also happens elsewhere would not, as he well knows, suffice to absolve an accused from guilt of an offence or a defendant from liability for a civil wrong.

Mr Stuart is, understandably, clearly nettled by the CCJโ€™s adverse comments concerning the nationโ€™s court system. Given that a significant part of that delay is owed to adjournments caused by the unavailability of counsel in the matter, Mr Stuart and his learned Attorney General may thus find some assistance in a recent decision of the High Court in England.

In Bates v Post Office, when a date for the first case management conference was ordered, the clerks to leading counsel for the claimants advised that they could not attend on that date. The judge then informed the parties that a formal application to move the date would be required but this was not done and the judge consequently refused to change the date. At the conference, a substantive hearing was scheduled for a date in November 2018. This time, leading counsel for the defendant advised that he was unable to make that date because of a prior commitment in the Chancery Division, and both parties requested that the date be moved into 2019. Fraser J refused the application observing, โ€œFixing hearings around the diaries of busy counsel, rather than their fixing their diaries around this case, is in my judgment fundamentally the wrong approach.โ€ He further remarked wryly that fixing hearings around the availability of counsel โ€œhas all the disadvantages of doing an intricate jigsaw puzzle, with none of the fun associated with that activityโ€ฆโ€

Indeed, a reading of the entire decision would repay study.

115 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Rule of Law and the CCJ”

1. I think if you look at what happened in America with Trump’s victory that Social Media is not as powerful as some would have us believe,

Think of all the reasons advanced to explain away his win … it was the Russians, it was the Men forcing the women to vote …. and many other totally ridiculous reasons.

It is like little children crying when they are disappointed.

The simple explanation was, the majority did not follow Social Media and thought completely different!!!

People voted for Trump because they were tired of the rubbish that had existed, same thing with Crazy Bernie.

Clinton was never going to win, she is a criminal and incredibly stupid. Just watch her position on change ….. Sanders and Trump existed because people wanted change … she offered more of the same …. monumentally stupid.

But Social Media completely screwed up the heads of those who rely on it.

If you watch the totally crestfallen faces of those who Social Media told that Hilary Clinton would win the election you realise they were living in a totally abstract reality … cuckoo land if you like.

Social Media makes people feel important even if they adopt positions which are rubbish!! BU is a perfect example!!

The failures of Social Media in predicting outcomes makes you realise it is not as powerful as people who use it think it is.

Self importance, lets say self love, just doesn’t trump reality.

But people will always be impressed by their own importance, it will never change, but life goes on regardless

2. @Pacha

On another note you have read about the impact of bitcoin on Wall Street?

3. William, your BdosToday assertion is wildly unique to you. I don’t know the profits metrics of that business but based oh the development, growth and failure of myriad publications here in Bdos and across the general media market there is absolutely no reason that a product like BdosToday could not have been successful if properly targeted.

The fact that it WAS online is a key reason for success. And 10 years ago – give or take five plus – is well past the time that such a venture should have been successful.

So what exactly are you asserting on that base point??

After all, the explosion in cell phones usage started in the early 2000s in the region and as bandwidth improved and costs dropped more and more folks were glued to their phones to get instant news there.

Your remark seems absolutely counter intuitive.

On the general point, there is NO media house that does not take the entire social media and web explosion seriously…all aspects of it. To suggest otherwise is to be oblivious to the tremendous upheaval in media closures, mergers and redevelopment that has been afoot for now almost 20 years.

@John, your phishing and fishing has lost its appeal. Only someone who won a rote memory academic award and not one that measured actual intelligence of thought could issue your ridiculos fallacy offered above with a straight face of seriousness.

Your like stats so maybe you can temper your right wing diet with the site Fivethirtyeight. Solid data analysis.

They too called the election wrong but boy did they parse the data well. That coupled with the LA Times online continuous call for Trump vjctory and the never wrong Prof Lichtman were great sources during the campaign….thus it was pellucid that Trump was likely going to win.

Anyhow, later with your folly.

4. http://biblehub.com/kjv/2_timothy/3.htm

I came across this passage when I was looking at self love.

It pretty much encapsulates what we are seeing today.

I want to know what is going on in America because I reckon it is serious stuff and I need to know the facts.

That’s why I listen to Rush Limbaugh.

He is also a good comedian who makes me laugh, added benefit!

Social media has its uses but it is not as powerful as some think it is!!

… and the reason is that while there are people who believe everything they see on it, the majority don’t, although they do use it.

I use a hammer to drive in a nail but if I miss, it is my nail that gets hit.

I am not going to stop using the hammer just because I can do injury to myself!!

I like Rush Limbaugh but I am not so totally smitten that I won’t do my own due diligence.

5. LOL

LISTEN TO THIS MORON THE PEDANTIC PUNK THIS EARLY MAWNING

Only someone who won a rote memory academic award and not one that measured actual intelligence of thought could issue your ridiculos fallacy offered above with a straight face of seriousness.

A DUMMY AND WAST TO BE INTELLECTUAL TRYING TO DISMISS A BARBADOS SCHOLAR
    BU CERTAINLY ALLOWS EVERYONE TO BRAY HERE
    NOW WE ARE TOLD YOU WIN ISLAND SCHOLARSHIPS BY ROTE MEMORY

JOHN KEEP RUNNING THEM RAGGED DO IT BY ROTE TOO LOL

BY THE WAY, A MEMBER OF WHAT SHITBAMA ONCE CALLED THE JV TEAM TRIED TO BLOW UP THE NY PORT AUTHORITY THIS MAWNING

6. @ de pedantic Dribbler

I don’t know who in Barbados would have seen the viability of an exclusively online paper ten years ago. If so, it is rather strange that id did not happen .
    I never stated that the traditional media do not take the new media seriously. I said that they crticise it and then use it for their stories. To prove my point I referenced a recent Nation newspaper editorial that quoted something from social media.

Here is my exact post:
    “It is quite interesting that while the
    traditional media crticise the new media, they are constantly utilizing new/ social
    media as sources. Quite recently a Nation
    newspaper editorial quoted a social media
    post and itโ€™s author to strengthen its
    position. So like everything else it is the
    power of the consumer that matters. Once
    people follow the new media, the traditional
    would fall in line. The longevity of BU proves
    this point.’

7. William Skinner December 11, 2017 at 11:01 AM #

I find it difficult to understand stand the situation with Barbados Today. . . Roy came up with the idea for what eventually became Barbados Today while sitting in his university dormitory in the US. He returned to Barbados and Harris of CGI decided to fund it.
    After this I am lost. Did Roy take a share in the company, or just accepted a job? If so, did he get proper legal and financial advice? What we do know is that he returned to the Nation as editor in chief, b efore later leaving. Is he still a shareholder in the project?

8. @ Hal

I don’t know at thing about its formation. I am very impressed with its coverage of entertainment and cultural events and its attractiveness to the under thirty demographic. It also seems to be quite open to different opinions and seems to display a bit more editorial freedom than the Advocate and Nation.

9. On the general point, there is NO media house that does not take the entire social media and web explosion seriouslyโ€ฆall aspects of it. To suggest otherwise is to be oblivious to the tremendous upheaval in media closures, mergers and redevelopment that has been afoot for now almost 20 years.

You got this from Rush!!!!

That’s exactly what he said.

But, he adds, Social Media makes up its narrative …. it is fake.

So when the Media Houses read it and extract their stories they end up with fake news!!

Which is also what Trump is saying!!!

Should the Media Houses stop relying on Social Media?

Of course not, it is like a hammer, able to inflict a lot of injury but still, with a use.

I think what will happen over time is that as the journalists in the Media Houses are outed one by one, their reliance will wane and Social Media, while continuing to exist and thrive, will probably start to self censor to avoid losing its relevance.

10. RE William Skinner December 11, 2017 at 11:01 AM #
    @ de pedantic Dribbler

PLEASE EXCUSE THE FOOL
    HE IS TRYING TO IMPRESS
    BU ALLOWS HIM THE OPPORTUNITY TO MINGLE WITH THOSE WITH BRAINS SO HE THINK HE BELONGS IN THAT QUEUE
    HILARIOUS

BU HAS LASTED THIS LONG BECAUSE MORONS HAVE A VOICE HERE
    I COME AS A RELIEF FROM BOREDOM ESPECIALLY WHEN THERE IS NO CRICKET TO WATCH
    WHY CONTINUE TO CAST PEARLS BEFORE SWINE

11. Once people realise that the numbers who blindly follow social media do not make up a majority, sanity will sink in for those people.

If I were an owner of a media house and daily I saw the poll numbers showing that fewer and fewer of my viewership/listenership/readership did not trust the product my business supplied, I would start making wholesale changes and try to get people who can restore credibility.

The problem I would face is how would I do it without calling my product into disrepute!!!

The sexual harassment angle is one way of shedding the people who can’t perform and are pulling my product down without ever saying they are incompetent liars and bringing the owners’ product into disrepute!!

Watch what is happening … these top guns face the guilty verdict with no chance of being proven innocent.

That’s why the top tiers are being shed, to set an example!!

The lower tiers can do the math and will up their game!!!

Think about what we are seeing, top guns who have got away with it for years, accusers who have accepted it for years, the presumption of innocence until guilt is proved, … the judgement is swift and all those niceties are disregarded.

Do you think Rush Libaugh’s success is lost on the owners of the media houses?

What drives his success?

Answer, he is right 99.7% of the time!!

Many people are weak but they instinctively know true from false, right from wrong.

That’s how God made them.

The Media bosses may not believe in God but they know human nature and they want to make a buck!!

Can Hollywood recover from Weinstein and the rest …. sure it can, but its product will change.

Can a media house recover from a scandal like Matt Lauer …. sure it can, it just has to change and adapt its product to the new reality.

The simplest way to do it is throw the offenders under the bus and keep strict control of their replacements!!

12. So, as the media houses adapt to the new reality what happens to social media?

Social media thrives on self importance, self love.

What happens when the media houses adapt to the new reality?

They no longer can give an individual that sense of importance that comes when a media house adopts a story an employee sees on social media!!!

So, watch what happens with the established media houses, not what happens with social media!!

Things will change without anyone even noticing!!

13. The media and the democrats are the same!!!

So, watch what is happening in the Democrat Party with Franken and Conyers!!!

No chance to protest, no innocent until proven guilty, out goes you.

Like the media, the democrats face the same dilemma.

The bosses of the Democrat Party cannot avoid the conclusion that what they thought was a majority of voters isn’t really!!

Trump won!!!!!

So the Democrat Party now has to change its product to suit what it perceives as what the people want.

Conyers and Franken are not being thrown under the bus because of some sudden moral conversion.

It is a calculation!!

But people are not foolish and will spot it a mile away.

It won’t apply to Trump or Moore because the people who will try to make it apply are not doing it for the right reasons!!

That’s not to say that due process will not be followed and Trump and Moore can’t be removed.

What will happen I think is that the same people who are trying to get the two removed will suddenly twig that they are losing even more voters for the Democrat party and themselves.

Tomorrow, my gut is that Moore will not only win but he will win by a landslide.

He will take his seat in the senate and not a soul will question his right!!

… at least not a soul who can do anything about it!!

Just a minority on social media!!

14. COULD THIS BE TRUE JOHN
    Is Jeff Sessions about to Drop the Hammer on the FBI?

Since the mainstream media now functions as the full-time press office for the Democrat Party, it might surprise most people to learn that the Department of Justice has been conducting a full-scale investigation of the FBI for the past eleven months. When you think about all of the leaks that have come out this year from the White House and from Special Counsel Robert Mueller’s sham Russiagate investigation, it’s amazing to consider the tight ship that Attorney General Jeff Sessions must be running. Nobody saw this investigation coming!

Now that the very existence of the investigation is known, the usual suspects are circling the wagons and preemptively tweeting to try to shape public perception, but it looks like it’s too late for them. There’s a very real possibility that Jeff Sessions is about to drop the hammer on the FBI. This could shake Washington to its core, but that is exactly what needs to happen. In fact, it’s about time!

Sponsor

1 Odd Method ‘Restores’ Your 20/20 Vision. Try This Tonight

If you or someone you know wears glasses then STOP everything you’re doing…

And watch this…

=> The TRUTH About Glasses (90% of people wearing glasses are making this mistake)

End sponsored content

Here is everything we know about AG Sessions’ swamp-draining investigation so far.

First, the Office of the Inspector General at the Department of Justice has been leading the review of the FBI at Sessions’ request. Inspector General Michael Horowitz says the OIG is very close to announcing its findings. That’s what has people like Loretta Lynch and James Comey suddenly tweeting about how the FBI was a pillar of virtue while they were running the place for Obama and Hillary.

The OIG was instructed to investigate James Comey’s July 5, 2016 public announcement that Crooked Hillary would not be indicted for her illegal server and for potentially leaking Top Secret classified information to foreign governments. The OIG is also looking into whether “improper considerations” went into not only Comey’s announcement, but also into the letters that Comey sent to Congress in October and November of 2016. We already know of course that the outcome of the investigation was decided months before Comey announced that he was letting Hillary get away scot-free.

The OIG is also examining whether Comey should have recused himself from the Clinton investigation. As we have reported previously and as confirmed by Breitbart News, James Comey is a multimillionaire because of his private sector work previous to being appointed FBI Director by Obama. Comey worked for Lockheed Martin and negotiated weapons contracts worth billions of dollars with the Clinton-run State Department. Oh, and Lockheed Martin was donating cash to the Clinton Foundation while Comey was negotiating those contracts. Comey should never have been allowed within a thousand feet of the Clinton investigation, but he did not recuse himself and ultimately let Hillary go without filing charges.

Bombshell Item: The OIG is investigating whether the former Assistant Attorney General for Legislative Affairs, an Obama appointee named Peter J. Kadzik, leaked non-public information to the Clinton campaign during the investigation.

Holy cow! That’s the kind of allegation that should have US Attorneys salivating. That’s handcuff time, folks. Kadzik is not accused of leaking information to the press or to Hillary herself, but to her campaign. With an actual free press that was interested in reporting the facts to the American people, that would be the lead item on every newscast every single night for a week straight. But have you heard this information before this? Neither had we.

It’s time to drain the swamp and not a moment too soon. This is exactly the type of swamp-draining action the American people have been waiting for. The Obama administration did tremendous damage to the FBI and it may take years to restore public confidence in the bureau. But it needs to happen.

Just look at the information that’s come out recently about Special Agent Peter Strzok. This is the guy who was sending anti-Trump texts to his FBI mistress. The allegations against Strzok are so bad that Robert Mueller had to kick him off of the fake Russiagate investigation.

Strzok was the guy who oversaw the FBI interview of Hillary Clinton at the tail end of Comey’s fake investigation of the illegal server. You know, the interview that the FBI failed to record and which was done off-the-record and in which Clinton was not placed under oath. Strzok also watered down the FBI findings in the entire sham.

Extracurricular, adulterous affairs are against FBI regulations, but rather than firing him, current FBI Director Christopher Wray reassigned Strzok. Add Director Wray to the list of people who may be in serious trouble when the OIG findings are released.

What does it say about Robert Mueller’s investigation that Strzok was selected as part of the Russiagate team?

Mueller’s investigation was supposed to be looking into Russian election interference in 2016. Mueller, Strzok and company indicted Lieutenant General Mike Flynn over his misstatements during an FBI interview in January of 2017. When was the election again? February?

So Mike Flynn gets indicted because he was naive enough to be interviewed by the FBI without an attorney present and he gets indicted. But Strzok lets Hillary Clinton, Huma Abedin and their entire cartel off the hook for possibly leaking classified intelligence to North Korea, Iran, the Muslim Brotherhood, Harvey Weinstein and who knows who else. Way to go, FBI! You’re not looking politicized at all!

Right after the Justice Department announced the existence of the OIG investigation, President Trump tweeted that the FBI is in tatters. This prompted James Comey, former Attorney General Eric Holder and five-second Acting Attorney General Sally Yates (who held the office for mere moments before Trump fired her in spectacular, much-needed fashion) all began furiously tweeting about how strong and independent the FBI is. Looks like the swamp is getting nervous!

Prediction: When the OIG findings are released, as they will be shortly, the news will be so big that the media will be forced to cover it. We can’t wait!

15. I always reckoned that when Trump fired Comey he was going after Clinton.

I reckoned the Mueller probe would get there.

After all, it is supposed to be investigating wrong doing so it has to end up at Clinton and the Democrats.

But it makes far more sense to go after the FBI.

Clinton is a has been, a creature of the swamp, a symptom but not a root cause of the rot.

The FBI is about the future and it has to operate above reproach.

So maybe you are right, major shake ups are coming, maybe not only in the FBI but directed at the rot/swamp.

People put Trump down as a fool but I keep seeing him out thinking, out maneuvering and out gunning his supposedly highly superior opponents so I know he isn’t a fool.

… and he doesn’t show any malice and vindictiveness … but he cuts straight to the core and leaves his opponents in tatters.

Pocahantas was Trump at his glorious best!!

Whatever may happen in the future that was a crowning moment and for me difficult to beat for pure enjoyment.

This guy is out of the ordinary, not saying any paragon of virtue, but just something very, very different.

So I pay attention and enjoy!!

16. @David
    Trumpโ€™s firing of Comey is directly responsible for the Mueller investigation, Trump is probably shaking in his boots at what Flynn will/has disclose(d) ( as they say in Bim โ€œcome out thingsโ€)

17. According to GP if you are a former Bโ€™dos scholar no one should find fault with your reasoning or analysis, yet GP is constantly critical of D Boyce wasnโ€™t he some kinda scholar too?

18. To go after Russia collusion, ie deal with any wrong doing!!

As it turns out it is the Democrats and Clinton who have provably colluded with the Russians so logic dictates Mueller will end up here …. once he really is after Russia collusion/wrong doing!!

Simple!!

If there is another investigation on going then Mueller is a smoke screen whether he knows it, likes it or not.

Remember, Trump can pardon anyone he likes or can fire Mueller as he pleases … that goes with the job.

Politically it might not be a good idea, but he can do it if he wants!!

19. According to GP if you are a former Bโ€™dos scholar no one should find fault with your reasoning or analysis, yet GP is constantly critical of D Boyce wasnโ€™t he some kinda scholar too?

WHERE AND WHEN DID GP SAY THAT
    YES DARCY DID WELL AT SCHOOL, BUT ON HIS WAY TO SAMARIA THE POOR ST ANDREW BOY FELL AMONG THIEVES

20. … they have Flynn on a process crime, a crime committed as a result of the investigation.

They don’t have him on collusion with the Russians which is what Mueller is investigating!!

21. WHEREAS BOYCE HAS DESCENDED TO THE DUMP E WAS INDEED A BRIGHT BOY LAYNE AND JOHN BOYCE WERE ALWAYS DUMMIES

22. @John

How do you know the seriousness of the crime Flyn has been caught out by the FBi? How do you know where Mueller’s probe has and will lead? Do you appreciate that Mueller’s brief means he can investigate any matter that might arise? Say what you will but you are wrong to ringfence the Mueller probe. Perhaps this is a good time to remind that Mueller was not appointed by the Democrats ๐Ÿ™‚

23. john

mueller unfortunately never sat in any of FANNY FIELDS CLASSES

OR HE WOULD THIS SIMPLE AXIOM
    IF IT IS THERE………IT WILL REACT
    IF IT AINT THERE ……..IT CANT REACT

NOW WILL BU MORONS EXTRAPOLATE AND DISCERN THE MEANING HERE

24. The morons on BU are in good company, they have a soul mate at 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. (Donโ€™t worry we confirmed that with Tillerson)

25. THE MAN WHO LIVES AT THAT ADDRESS IS THE ‘MOST POWRFUL’ MAN IN THE WORLD THEY TELL ME
    I HEAR HE IS QUITE RICH ALSO
    WHERE DO THE BU MORONS LIVE
    WHAT DO THY OWN
    WHAT POWER DO THEY HAVE
    THEY ARE JUST ORDINARY LOW DOWN MORONS

ALSO THE SO CALLED MORON IN THE WHITE HOUSE IS TILLERSON’S BOSS ah lie

26. @Sargeant

Is it known if an immigrant is responsible for that pipe bomb in NY! Hope not, for the sake of immigrants everywhere. Beware Commander in Tweets!!!

27. yes it was
    seems dat the so called Commander in Tweets really has a likkle sense ah lie

28. David, I am sure u recall the period when America Most Wanted was a popular Jamaican reality show.

Then to be from Jam -or Black as it became -you were a damn criminal of horrendous repute.

Unfortunately nothing new with this Muslim immigrant ‘putsch’ type behaviour to ostracize a group of folks.

Whether immigrant or not you are branded a terrorist as long as you look Muslim…thankfully our Jam brethren have been eclipsed by the Latino gangsters from Central and south America (it seems).

29. USA, a land of immigrants!

30. the most powrful man in de wurl say he dont want dem in his country of immigrants

and neither david king or the brimbling wannabe cant do one thing bout it except scoff and mock or moan and groan

australia is also a land of immigrants and they dont want de stupid muslims there either….and they have the room

just look at how they have once ‘great britain’

let us bring dem into barbados in large large numbers

31. current question for dummies

Would-be NYC terrorist Akayed Ullah is a radical Muslim from Bangladesh who immigrated here under Obama. Should Trumpโ€™s travel ban be expanded to keep us safe?

32. A short fingered vulgarian
    A headline hungry tabloid hoar
    Held in disdain by elites,intellectuals and insiders
    A conspiracy theorist
    Reality TV buffoon
    No core political views
    No grasp of policy
    No position he won’t reverse 15 mins later
    Changed party registration at least 7 times
    His central driving force….SHAME
    Hunger for revenge
    Channeled his rage and resentment to those who felt shut out and left behind
    Followed by uneducated and racist red neck whites and their followers everywhere especially in former slave holding Caribbean islands

33. Leh me pause for a moment in suppressing black voters one or two Muslim immigrants are acting up; Blacks are never out of my sight canโ€™t fuhget how I barred them from my buildings.

https://www.npr.org/2017/02/27/517558469/justice-department-reverses-position-on-texas-voter-id-law-case

34. David December 11, 2017 at 4:56 PM #
    @Sargeant
    Is it known if an immigrant is responsible for that pipe bomb in NY! Hope not, for the sake of immigrants everywhere. Beware Commander in Tweets!!!

Rush Limbaugh predicted today that we will soon hear from the media the bombing was motivated by Trump’s decision to move the US Embassy to Jerusalem!!!

He predicted it would happen by 3:00 pm today but it doesn’t seem to have happened.

So he might be proved to be wrong and his percentage will fall to 99.6999%!!!

35. but he is still thE POTUS TODAY AND NONE A WUNNAH CANT DO NUTTIN BOUT IT ah lie

36. David December 11, 2017 at 4:10 PM #
    How do you know the seriousness of the crime Flyn has been caught out by the FBi? How do you know where Muellerโ€™s probe has and will lead? Do you appreciate that Muellerโ€™s brief means he can investigate any matter that might arise? Say what you will but you are wrong to ringfence the Mueller probe. Perhaps this is a good time to remind that Mueller was not appointed by the Democrats

I never said the crime was not serious.

Martha Stuart I hear went to jail for lying to the FBI.

The Clintons benefitted from the sale of much of their country’s uranium to Russian Interests!!!

So, if you agree that Mueller has a wide purview, the Clintons are fair game … toast if you like.

Simple logic!!

I suspect this farce will go on until Trump is ready to stop it!!

37. Mueller will react with Clinton!!

Fanny’s Axiom

… unless some inhibitor is used to prevent it!!

38. Mueller will not react with Trump

39. @Sargeant

If Moore loses tomorrow and it continues in the mid term the orange piece may turn grey with the senate margin flipped.

40. What’s your prediction if Moore wins?

Here is what Senator Flake has to say!!

“We are toast”

Do you agree?!!

41. if there was collusion it would have been found by now— there would have been a reaction
    since there is no collusion there- it has not been found–there is no raction
    fanny’s hypothesis is shown to be true

42. Looks like you have some Republicans agreeing with the BU rumshop?

43. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

John is full of crap and totally clueless to the reality of what is about to rain down on trump….

..most trumpturds are only saying what they want to happen but are not cognizant about what is actually happening in reality….that is why they are called trumpturds.

44. @David

If Moore wins Trump/Republicans will have won the battle but can lose the war as it pertains to the midterms, a Moore victory could well turn out to be a Pyrrhic victory for Trump.

45. BEHOLD THE PROPHETS ON BU ARISETH TO BUllshit as they did last year incorrectly

behold how thy mocketh the trumpet and the quaker but the fires of the lord will rain down upon them like the fires in california doth rage, and like the efflux of shite on the south coast

bare mock sport in the rum shop

46. Sergeant your 8:15 may indeed be accurate but unfortunately if you look at Trump victory itself it can be argued that the Republicans have benefited tremendously from that success and a Moore success could bring similar benefits before the eventual crash and burn

For example, if Moore is brought before the ethics committee of the Senate after his victory and evidence is accepted which causes his fellow senators to censure and vote to unseat him then there will be fire and brimstone in Alabama.

Imagine more indictments coming at the same time or any number of cracks in the other hot flashes like from DPRK or another terror incident on us soil….Trump will rally his base to defend the will of the ‘Bamans and God only knows the possible escalation level if any other issue is also bubbling.

If he loses …well I’ll be impressed and surprised.

@John, you seem to like the 90 percentile data point. So you should be reminded that the vociferous Sen Flake who bad talks Trump often ALSO has a 90% plus voting record WITH Trump proposals. In short he believes Trump is right 90% of the time on policy…but HATES the man’s character.

Ipso, isn’t it rather stupid to paint Limbaugh 99% approval among Republicans on conservative issues as anything more than a party line vote.

Your argument is an absolute FALLACY. You really need to improve your political analysis.

47. If Moore wins Trump/Republicans will have won the battle

But BU’s position is that Trump and the Republican politicians don’t see eye to eye!!!

Everybody, the world and his wife, knows that so the position is not earth shattering!!

Even the other republican elected official, Mayor Giles, with whom Flake is speaking refers to Trump as an idiot!!

It is thus not correct to lump the Trump and the Republicans together!!

So, what does the remark “We are toast” mean?

48. I thought Flake was retiring from politics … in fact Trump called his career toast!!

What did the Republicans have to do to secure his Yes vote on Tax Cuts?

49. @DPD
    For example, if Moore is brought before the ethics committee of the Senate after his victory and evidence is accepted which causes his fellow senators to censure and vote to unseat him then there will be fire and brimstone in Alabama
    ++++++++++
    Fire and brimstone? Has Bull Connor been resurrected? If Moore wins despite what the Repubs say they wonโ€™t vote to unseat him, the RNC ultimately decided to fund his campaign its Party over country and morality. Trump is the leader of that Party and he said he needs the vote to get his legislation through, plus any Republican who votes to unseat him will be subject to primary challenges where only registered members of the Party can vote. Bannon would rally those voters to support another candidate as the incumbent wouldnโ€™t want to go through a โ€œtruthโ€ test, look what happened to Flake; McCain is vocal because he isnโ€™t running again, ditto for the author of the โ€œWhite House daycare centreโ€ Bob Corker.