John Annel

The news that Police Superintendent John Annel appeared in magistrates court today charged in connection with 650 bullets between August 3 and September 20 is another ‘black-eye’ delivered to the Bajan brand in recent weeks. About one month ago a gunman sprayed bullets on a crowded Spring Garden Highway just as Kadooment rivalry was about to end. It resulted in 20 people shot!

A couple years ago if the average Barbadian was asked if such a brazen act was possible there would have been a resounding no. It does not matter how the Attorney General will spin this latest sorry John Annel episode, the general public will NOT be fooled.

Many are curious why the arrest at this time. When you factor the murder of a Caucasian Englishman to the mix allegedly involved in illegal activity, you have an island that is just like the rest.

202 responses to “John Annel|Barbados Receives another Blackeye”

1. @Alien September 26, 2017 at 6:26 PM “http://www.barbadosport.com/board-directors”

Not good enough. All we are given is a list of names and photos.

Surely the Port has the manpower and the expertise to tell us something about those who are paid with our money to run our port. What is their experience, what is their level of education etc.

And we don’t care if you have an MBE since we know that such “honours” go to political “friends” of both parties

2. SS

I will answer your questions by saying to you:

Caves of Barbados is also a private company that is why it can be so easily looted. If it were a government department, the Solicitor General would be the legal representative who cannot charge government for legal representation.

These structures facilitate corruption. That is why politicians love them.

3. @Tron September 26, 2017 at 4:41 PM “I would not wonder if a certain minister postpones the next election, declares a state of emergency and arms the drug soldiers in St. Michael North West with military weapons from the Garrison to intimidate the judges and police officers.”

If that happens people will leave in droves, and Barbados won’t recover for a few generations.

4. Caswell Franklyn September 26, 2017 at 6:39 PM

You just broke my heart.

5. Sorry SS, it was not intended.

6. For the first time in my three score and more I am hearing talk about people doing all they can to avoid paying taxes, because they do not trust that their tax money will be used for proper purposes.

If the politicians are not careful they will kill the tax paying goose which lays the golden tax eggs.

7. @SS
    you need to ‘look around’ websites
    http://www.barbadosport.com/management-team

the sweetness is another Government agency with outdated financial reporting. 2014 is the last shown. And one piss load of debt? Another public body who buys GoB Commercial paper en mass.

8. @SS
    btw…in 2013 the directors were paid $111,000, so they get paid too.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Caswell Franklyn September 26, 2017 at 5:49 PM
    “This range should be closed as there is now enough evidence that the officers, who are responsible for policing the ammunition, are at least negligent. The range should be close as it has now become a security threat.”

And a blatant waste of scarce foreign exchange. Barbados does not produce guns and bullets to be expended at mock targets so wastefully.

But the time is fast approaching when it will have to choose between guns and bullets and food and medicine.

But as a former soldier yourself (a trained assassin of the rebellious innocent) you might not agree with such a ‘shoot-from-the-hip’ proposal.

10. NorthernObserver

Recently, the vehicle of a minister was involved in an accident. It was sold and when the new owner went to the Licensing Authority to licence it, he was told that there is no record of the car ever entering Barbados. I was going to make a big stink about it but the new owner decided otherwise when Nassco offered to fix it and it was fixed. This happened no more than three months ago.

As a result, I am now wondering if legitimately gun sellers are not also getting into the illicit trade in firearms as well. This is Barbados; anything can happen especially since politicians have manoeuvred their minions into positions of responsibility.

11. CASWELL

DO YOU THEN THINK THAT THE NEXT ELECTION WILL NOT BE FAIR AND ABOVE BOARD

DO YOU THIN THAT THE DEMS MIGHT TRY TO TAKE OVER FULLY BY FORCE OF ARMS?
    ARE THEY POSSIBLY THAT WELL ORGANIZED?

12. Miller

Maybe, you did not read my proposal to disband the Barbados Defence Force. It is also a waste of foreign exchange and totally unnecessary. There are several countries that don’t have armies. Those resources could be better allocated to police so that they could catch some more senior superintendents or even an assistant commissioner.

13. Georgie

I was fearful of that from the time of Jones’ crack heads and shoot people speech. I thought then and still do now that it was Government policy, since none of the others, like talk-ass-bird Inniss came out and said nothing about it.

14. and still do now think

15. Sandals Barbados ad on CNN right now.

16. Red Plastic Bag.

“Rover P”

Rover pee, pee on a doctor, pee on a lawyer, pee on a teacher, pee on a big, big customs officer, on policeman, on politicians, rover did his dirtiness on the back wheels of a Mercedes, [or a BMW or a Land Rover]

Good dog Rover.

Lol

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Caswell Franklyn September 26, 2017 at 6:53 PM
    Recently, the vehicle of a minister was involved in an accident. It was sold and when the new owner went to the Licensing Authority to licence it, he was told that there is no record of the car ever entering Barbados. I was going to make a big stink about it but the new owner decided otherwise when Nassco offered to fix it and it was fixed. This happened no more than three months ago.

All this is implying is that the minister was driving around a vehicle which was not kosher or legit.

Sounds like the edikasun man who would use some of those illegal guns and bullets to crack heads and shoot people like you and Bushie to set examples to those demon-possessed school “chilren” as to how to obey the law and their political masters.

What did Nassco fix? The car or to perpetuate the fraud?

How can the Licensing Authority accept fraudulent documentation?

Since Barbados does not manufacture vehicles other than donkey carts was the Customs Dept. informed of this duty and tax evasion scam?

But a Toyota is as good as a stolen Range Rover for the Bajan roads made for donkey carts.

18. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Who was the duty judge? And why should this matter engage the Chief Justice for bail? Was the duty judge sick or otherwise incapacitated? Was there a recusal? And if so why? What is so special about Annel that his application for bail should become an urgent matter? How is it that a person could languish in jail for one round of ammunition?….

that tells us something else is going on…only the CJ has the power to do certain thing quickly….from my experience with certain proceedings.

…..Jean-Marie.

Not Bajan names.

Not Bajan names at all….

Jean Marie is St. Lucian raised in Barbados…cawmere
    Kutappa-Harris in Mumbai, India raised in Barbados….cawmere

@Caswell Franklyn September 26, 2017 at 6:12 PM “The Port Authority is a private company owned by Government and under the control of a minister of government.”

which minister holds that portfolio Caswell….

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

And of course your vicious ministers are too busy enriching themselves at your expense to be psying into the regional development fund, so with those actions, the are stagnating development, but Fiendel can find money to fete tourists and fir every kind of celebration….yall are screwed….no development….have they been paying in to the catastrophe and disaster fund.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/09/26/barbados-owes-over-14m-to-regional-development-
    fund/

“Barbados owes over $14M to regional development fund
    Added by Marlon Madden on September 26, 2017.
    Saved under Business, Local News
    Barbados owes in excess of US$7 million (Bds$14 million) to the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) Development Fund, making it the second most indebted to the regional facility, which was established by CARICOM governments to provide financial or technical assistance to disadvantaged countries.”

The CDF’s financial statement also indicates that the largest culprits are the so-called more developed countries (MDCs), namely Trinidad & Tobago, Barbados ($7.4 million), Jamaica ($945,534) and Suriname ($4.4 million).

Guyana is the only MDC to have paid its entire pledged contribution of US$7.3 million.

The so-called less developed countries (LDCS) of Antigua and Barbuda, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia and St Vincent and the Grenadines owe US$4.3 million, with Kingstown’s total debt amounting to all of US$166.

CDF officials fear that the fund is approaching a “critical” stage as more member countries are expected to request assistance.”

20. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

This only confirms what I have been saying about the Annel case, only under special circumstances will the CJ move that quickly to give bail, he is the only one who can, lawyers are viewing it with suspicion, obviously he had critical information.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/09/26/skewed-justice/

“Skewed justice
    Added by Colville Mounsey on September 26, 2017.
    Saved under Crime, Local News
    Local attorneys are viewing with suspicion the speed at which a senior police officer facing ammunition charges was able to secure bail.

Mere hours after a magistrate remanded Acting Senior Superintendent of Police John Mark Annel to HMP Dodds until October 23, his lawyers Sir Richard Cheltenham and Shelly-Ann Seecharan were able to secure a bail hearing and convince Chief Justice Sir Marston Gibson to release their client on $150,000 bail.

Today, President of the Barbados Bar Association Liesel Weekes said it was not the norm for someone facing charges to receive a bail hearing this quickly.

Weekes told Barbados TODAY the normal waiting time in recent years has been two to three weeks, insisting that the court must be seen as impartial in the manner in which it grants access to the judicial system.”

21. So clearly the U.S. Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA) would be real, real interested in finding out wha’ gine on, and those DEA guys don’t play. They lock up their own when they get out of line.

Unless that is, it is another CIA directed drug smuggling op. Even the DEA top guns know that while they might “lock up their own”, it is strictly verboten for them to interfere with any CIA drug operation they might stumble across in the course of their work – not to imply that I would have any information to suggest one way or another that the recent drug seizures are from another CIA op.

James Corbett of corbettreportDOTcom on The CIA and the drug trade:

https://youtu.be/vcp9bcypZo4

See link below to an interview with investigative journalist Douglas Valentine, author of THE CIA AS ORGANIZED CRIME – How Illegal Operations Corrupt America and the World

Excerpt:

Lars Schall: 70 years ago, on September 18, 1947, the National Security Act created the Central Intelligence Agency, CIA. Douglas, you refer to the CIA as “the organized crime branch of the U.S. government.” Why so? 

Douglas Valentine: Everything the CIA does is illegal, which is why the government provides it with an impenetrable cloak of secrecy. While mythographers in the information industry portray America as a bastion of peace and democracy, CIA officers manage criminal organizations around the world. For example, the CIA hired one of America’s premier drug trafficker in the 1950s and 1960s, Santo Trafficante, to murder Fidel Castro. In exchange, the CIA allowed Trafficante to import tons of narcotics into America. The CIA sets up proprietary arms, shipping, and banking companies to facilitate the criminal drug trafficking organizations that do its dirty work. Mafia money gets mixed up in offshore banks with CIA money, until the two are indistinguishable.

Drug trafficking is just one example.

Full interview at:
    blacklistednews(DOT)com/The_CIA%3A_70_Years_of_Organized_Crime/60959/0/38/38/Y/M.html

More info on other research and books about the CIA and the war on drugs by Douglas Valentine at DouglasValentine(DOT)com

22. Firstly an apology to the families of the gentlemen I am about to mention, for hashing / rehashing this, but I think that it is important.

Due to recent events, the nature of the work of both gentlemen and the relative proximity of their deaths to recent events, would it not be wise to re-open the investigations of the deaths of Kenrick Hutson and Sean Reece?

Especially Reece, being an investigations expert, the proximity of his death to these events makes one ponder.

23. In terms of bail. Recently we have seen murder accused get bail. I see no reason why a senior officer, with a respectable background of service, should not get bail.

Stupse.

24. Greenmonkey.

Yes, the CIA has done crap before. Interfering in countries operations, things go south and then all heck breaks loose.

Just as the British with Burnham. Their poodle turned into a Rottweiler (Burnham).

25. Weekes told Barbados TODAY the normal waiting time in recent years has been two to three weeks, insisting that the court must be seen as impartial in the manner in which it grants access to the judicial system.”
    All lawyers are the scum of the Earth….. but there is nothing worse than women lawyers…
    Careful analysis and research would very likely demonstrate that the term “Devil’s Advocate” is feminine in gender.

Instead of congratulating the local shiite court for acting swiftly FOR A CHANGE, and calling for this kind of response to be the NORM, …. this shiite woman is complaining that the usual inefficiencies may have been dispensed with in this case….

What a place…
    What a brass bowl…

26. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Bush….it’s obvious Weekes is not to bright and has very little to no experirnce in the ways of the real world….

Securing quick bail for Annel was a real world move on several different fronts.

27. @Bush Tea

There is nothing wrong with Weekes making the observation, she just needed to go a bit further. Some more analysis?

28. @ David
    One does not make ‘observations’ in the absence of objective analysis …unless one is a jackass….. or angela Skeete.

ANY kind of analysis would have shown up a SYSTEMIC malady WITHIN the shiite profession that she represents …and currently speaks for…

Of ALL the people that need to think BEFORE speaking – she MUST be numero uno…..

29. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Bar Association heads dont care to make observations when their member lawyers are stealing from their clients, selling out their clients or selling their client’s cases to insurance companies…..

….why should this other Weekes more than dirty lawyers.

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

….why should this bother Weekes more than dirty lawyers.

31. Bush Tea September 27, 2017 at 7:41 AM #
    One does not make ‘observations’ in the absence of objective analysis …unless one is a jackass….. or angela Skeete.

Off the back foot, sent for four!

32. @Bush
    All lawyers are the scum of the Earth….. but there is nothing worse than women lawyers…
    Careful analysis and research would very likely demonstrate that the term “Devil’s Advocate” is feminine in gender
    ++++++++
    It is hard to rid oneself of the Cro-Magnom DNA and despite your professed longing for “islandgal” one can “observe” that you don’t really like women.; as to “objective analysis” your past comments will buttress that conclusion.

The President of the Bar Assoc. is doing what she was elected to do for her members, she is representing their interests and saying loudly what they have been complaining about for years i.e. we have clients who have to spend an inordinate amount of time at Dodds before they can get bail and tout de suite this accused get to spend time in his warm bed. She is to use the analogy “planting a flea” in the ear of those in charge of the justice system that next time we want equal treatment for our clients.

You can have your beef with lawyers (as most of us do) but yuh gotta give “Jack e jacket” and “Jane she drawers”.

33. All lawyers are the scum of the Earth….. but there is nothing worse than women lawyers…

Careful analysis and research would very likely demonstrate that the term “Devil’s Advocate” is feminine in gender.

Be Jesus Christ, Bushie.

You gone toooo far.

While women, by they gender, may be lawyers and at the same time know more than a few things about the first profession

To equate the holders of heaven, that area somewhere midstream, with you albino-centric Devil, is beyond the pale.

It represents the very thinking you otherwise are critical of. The thinking which made a ghost of Isis, the Mother of Horus.

The origins of your three in one god system.

34. It is perfectly acceptable and proper that an accused denied bail should apply to the duty judge for bail that day. By admitting that it ‘normally’ take two to three weeks is simply normalising incompetence.
    The more serious question is why should someone on such serious charges be offered bail? That is the question, when we have young men appearing before a brutal woman magistrate accused of stealing mobile phones and being remanded for a month, then fined Bds$3000. This is not class prejudice, it is savagery.

35. @ Sargeant
    Bushie tends not to think like an NCO.
    Your protestations are therefore taken under advisement. (The proper response to someone who request or advises you to do something you have no intention of doing.) LOL

@ Pacha
    Yours and Miller’s predisposition to those things ‘of a feminine nature’ are well documented. But Bushie has a whacker – and no time for the lotta political correctness.
    Most women are Delilahs and Jezebels by nature. They are as reliable and faithful as determined by the current man with whom they are emotionally attached.

The original design is for a shiite man – (with clear limitations,) to be joined with a shiite woman – (with generally different, but equally shiitey limitations) to form a whole HUMAN entity with sensible potential.

That is the DESIGN intent.

These various male /female individuals who attempt to project themselves based on some ‘eddykashunal’ or professional achievement are only fooling themselves …and wunna BBB’s who do not own whackers.

….but NOT stinking Bushie.

As to IslandGal, were she to associate appropriately with Bushie, de two o’ we would tek over this brass bowl island in short order …and have everyone on their P’s and Q’s with the proper application of the whacker and that wicked 2X4 …..
    …But like a typical woman, she continues to play the donkey…..

36. But Bushie

You don’t have to tell everybody my business. LOL

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin September 27, 2017 at 9:15 AM

What a rare sane contribution from shallow Hal?

Well done!

You are getting there to truly fathom the abyss of ‘brass-bold balderdash’ permeating the two ‘Barbadoes’ of hypocrisy vs. the rule of law.

At least EWB’s prescient advice did not fall on deaf ears.

Now forget about turning Nelson Street and its environs into a Canary Wharf.

38. @ Hal
    What is the ‘serious charge’?

A marksman, who happens to be a senior police officer and who represented Barbados in the olympic sport of shooting for decades …having some bullets…?

Skippa, that is a crime because some shiitehounds passed some shiite act a few years ago….
    A foolish thing to do… But does THAT make it a ‘SERIOUS’ offence?

Surely they must have been some additional criminal intent with which he should be charged – if it is to be treated as ‘serious’ enough to put an officer with an otherwise spotless record (given recent promotions) in Dodds …while bigger fish continue to drive high-end cars that are now known to be of illegal status – having shafted the Ministry of Fine Ants of nuff nuff taxes… and likely facilitated the importation of illegal guns….

This place is now so wicked that it would not surprise Bushie if the damn Devils are not in the process of locking up the few decent ones among us….
    We should have NEVER planted that shiite pitchfork at the damn garrison…

Caswell you better watch yuh pooch….

39. Jethro,
    You again, the man with a limited understanding of the English language. What is the sane contribution? Spell it out in simple English.

40. Bushie

You should hold your head in shame. You are totally disrespectful of women and I suspect that the woman who gave birth to you (if it was a woman) would be shame to call you her son. That virulent attack, on the young female president of the bar, was silly and probably the most stupid thing that you have ever posted. I don’t think an apology would suffice.

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin September 27, 2017 at 10:16 AM

What you wrote as follows:
    “The more serious question is why should someone on such serious charges be offered bail? That is the question, when we have young men appearing before a brutal woman magistrate accused of stealing mobile phones and being remanded for a month, then fined Bds$3000. This is not class prejudice, it is savagery.”

Comprenez? Comprende? Capiche?

Now give yourself a tap on the back to remove that monkey of an inchoate appreciation of English literature!

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin September 27, 2017 at 10:16 AM

And Hal, the miller forgot to tell that you since you are climbing the learning curve concerning the rule of law in ‘Buybadus’ you should see yourself twenty times ten smarter than the lowly poor English-speaking miller and thereby ask the following question:

How is it that a ‘straightforward’ matter of possession of unauthorized bullets by the country’s top marksman and senior law enforcement officer can be so swiftly placed on the road of Justice but two projects involving the future economic survival of Barbados- namely the Hyatt erection and the fire-sale disposal of the BNTCL- can end up in a judicial cul-de-sac and languishing like RIP Van Winkle sine die?

43. Jethro,
    I can play with you all day, but since you are stupid it does not give me joy. Who is the country’s top marksman, and who made that decision? I am sure people in the defence force, whose job it is to shoot, will dispute this. As to the senior law enforcement officer, the accused is an acting superintendent. I am sure the Acting Commissioner of Police will have something to say about that.
    Again, the two projects you mentioned can be laid at the door of the Registrar’s department – something I have said on numerous occasions.
    Just so you know, the Listing officer is the one who allocates cases to courts and s/he reports to the Registrar, who reports to the attorney general.
    If I were as dumb as you I would hide my face behind a nom de plume too. Sign up to the community college and improve yourself. I have just done, it is rewarding.

44. Caswell

You are quite right!

Bushie should tender a sincere apology for this massive assault on the Most Sacred

But that in itself would represent internal contradictions, on several sides

Just last week we could not encourage you so to do. in relation to Insider.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin September 27, 2017 at 11:06 AM

You just ain’t got a clue of what is going on in Bim, do you now, smartass?
    Both cases have already been assigned to jurists with hearings already taken place.
    A word of warning: Just make sure your attendance at the north London community college doesn’t result in your wife running off with an ex-convict from Brixton to relive her experience of timesharing in Barbados.

Your nemesis
    Jethro Miller, PGCE (FE).

46. Miller

It is well known that Halton Austin is an idiot.

Not a day goes passes unless he proves this to us

No amount of education or mis-education can save that idiot.

47. A marksman, who happens to be a senior police officer and who represented Barbados in the olympic sport of shooting for decades …having some bullets…?

Skippa, that is a crime because some shiitehounds passed some shiite act a few years ago….
    A foolish thing to do… But does THAT make it a ‘SERIOUS’ offence?

I WOULD RISK TO OPINE THAT THE POLICE HAVE KNOWN FOR YEARS THAT ANNELL KEEPS BULLET IN THE SAME WAY THAT IT WAS KNOWN THAT THE GODLY DANIEL PRAYED THREE TIMES DAILY TOWARDS THE EAST AND COULD EASILY BE SEEN DOING SO FROM HIS WINDOW

JUST AS A LAW WAS MADE TO SCREW DANIEL BECAUSE OF THEIR KNOWLEDGE OF HIM DOING SOMETHING THAT WAS ESSENTIALLY HARMLESS

IT SEEMS A SIMILAR THING WAS DONE IN ANNEL’S CASE

I BELIEVE ANNELL IS GUILTY OF ONE THING………….HE HAS REFUSED TO BACK DOWN ON DESTROYING BALLISTIC EVIDENCE HE HAS ABOUT A GUN OWNED BY SOME ONE HIGH UP IN OUR SOCIETY THAT IS INVOLVED IN A MURDER

ANNELL MUST BE SILENCED SO THAT THE BIG UP PERSON SHOULD NOT HAVE TO ANSWER FOR, OR ABOUT THEIR CRIME
    SIMPLE

48. Jethro,
    Are you now claiming to be a teacher? I rest my case. This explains the decline in the standard of education in Barbados, when a graduate teacher who cannot write basic English is teaching young people. I won’t ask what subject and which university.
    By the way, do you know what is a jurist? A case that has been adjourned still has to be re-allocated – usually to the same judge for continuity. That is done by the Listings officer.
    Your putrid language confirmed your are brain-dead. By the way, I have two young, dignified, intelligent teachers in my house.
    Just as I was trying to encourage them to do a sabbatical in Barbados you revealed who you are. I am sure you were educated at the North London community college.

49. remember the woman taken in adultery brought to Jesus in John 8?

same thing
    how did they catch her? those men were accustomed to rent penanny from her
    they used knowledge thy had about her against her

babylonians used Daniels know habit of prayer against him after changing the law

some envious incompetent cops use the fact that Anell has kept bullets at home against him–after they had the law changed

these envious incompetent cops who are no doubt in league with the bajan bad boys got tired of Annel refusing to do the right thing

perhaps Annel got tired of keeping quiet