Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

Last week, the first part of this column treated the submission by Sir Hilary Beckles, Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies, that the statue of Lord Admiral Horatio Nelson had outlived its incongruous presence in Heroes Square and that its continued presence there makes Barbados a deviant and a pariah in the community of progressive nations that oppose publicly revering persons (such as Nelson) known to have committed โ€œcrimes against humanityโ€.

In that first part, I also bemoaned the absence of a popular discourse on the Vice Chancellorโ€™s proposal, an absence that I found mystifying. In the past week, however, there has been some public reaction to the proposal, most of it predictably defensive of preservation of the status quo rather than of its alteration by one jot or tittle.

For example, in last Fridayโ€™s edition of the Barbados Advocate, a correspondent, Mr Michael Rudder, chose to pray in aid the undeniable reality of the criminally forcible mix of the races present in most if not all slave societies and to wonder โ€œif any of my African ancestors were responsible for selling any of their โ€œbrothersโ€ to those who carried on the slave tradeโ€ while he admits knowledge that the family of one Caucasian ancestor did have slaves.

He then proceeds to make the amazing rhetorical point that since we are all mixed, โ€œwhat does it matter that some ancestor was a so-called white supremacist? And he continues still rhetorically, โ€œDid your ancestor see him/herself as such? Do we see ourselves as black supremacists?

Essentially, he makes the point that we should acknowledge our history and move on and not โ€œkeep holding up the rear mirror of our pastโ€.

It is tempting to read this opinion in a sense clearly not intended by the author and to treat it as an agreement with Sir Hilaryโ€™s thesis that officially to maintain the statue of Lord Nelson in its current location is to hold up the rear view mirror of 1813 Barbados when Nelson was a hero to the existing societal structure, the identical structure that was to be the target of a slave rebellion a mere three years later, officially recognized by the elevation of one of its reputed leaders to the highest national status. Indeed, there is a bit of a paradox in having both of these men elevated to this lofty status, even if that status of one of them is now merely situational.

It is a conundrum that seems to pervade Barbadian society, where the general attitude appears to be โ€œI do not really care what they do about Lord Nelson, but he is part of our historyโ€ OR the more extreme and silly, โ€œif we move Nelson then we should remove all traces of English influence, including place names, titles and perhaps surnamesโ€ฆโ€

Veteran columnist Patrick Hoyos in his column last Sunday required โ€œsome sort of consistent rationale if Nelson should be movedโ€ although he did not spell out what would constitute such consistency or who would be the ultimate arbiter of it.

Mr Hoyos also appears to have interpreted Sir Hilaryโ€™s letter in a way different to me. He construes the following passages from the Beckles letter as indicating that Sir Hilary would not have minded Nelson remaining standing so long as he was overlooking Carlisle Bay contemplating his exploits beyond the horizonโ€ฆโ€

โ€œ The Democratic Labour Party turned it around and deepened its roots when it had the opportunity to move it to a marine park on the pier.

โ€ข The Barbados Labour Party did not wish the Right Excellent Errol Barrow at the centre of Parliament Square and placed him out of sight of the Assembly in what was a public car park. Nelson remained in the more prominent placeโ€.

Perhaps owing to my professional training, I prefer to base the gist of an opinion on the interpretation that what is stated later should generally overrule an earlier statute or decision that is inconsistent with it through the doctrine of implied repeal. I prefer to ascertain Sir Hilaryโ€™s sentiments from his final paragraphs-

โ€œThe assumption is growing, I have been informed, that the Government might rather citizens, in an act of moral civil disobedience, to take matters in their own hands, and remove the offending obstacle to democracy. This has been the case in the United States and South Africa.

Quietly, state officials could slip away and say that the people have spoken. Such alliances of active citizens and passive state have moved many societies. Barbados must move on.โ€

This most assuredly does not read as a paean to a mere relocation of the statue to me.

O Dominica!

I should wish to express my sincere best wishes for the full renaissance and recovery of the island of Dominica after its devastation by Hurricane Maria during last week. Owing to my occupation, I have come into contact with many of the people of that island whether as teachers, classmates, or most latterly students, and they have been without exception, some of the most gracious and warmest people you will ever encounter. Dominica was also the first country that I slept in outside of Barbados when as a member of the Animation Choir under the leadership of Mr Harold Rock, I sailed there by the Federal Palm, I believe, in 1968. I do not remember much of it now; except partaking of the sweet lime fruit and hazarding a taste of stewed mountain chicken.

My more recent visits unfortunately have been severely limited in duration and in free time, but I have seem the photographs of the recent destruction wrought and I weep for the country I remember.

O Dominica, the land of beauty

The land of verdant and glorious sunshineโ€ฆ

499 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – “…The Ball that Shot Nelson” (2)”

1. @ John September 26, 2017 at 3:04 PM โ€œLuckily, the slaves were seasoned in their first years that is to say they were not given any hard work to do and allowed to acclimatise!!”

Really?

Employers permitted their slaves to lime for a few years? You really believe that nonsense. And why would enslaved people need to acclimatise since they were coming from a climate that is very similar to Barbados’

2. Comprehension skills are sadly missing from contributors e.g. Gazer does not understand the purpose for showing an article for one part of it but he is in good company with WC as neither research things….such gullible fools.

Then we have a lack of understanding sarcastic or tongue in cheek quotes…..a bunch of phillistines if ever.

3. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Vincent…we will resist your lies, you are not getting away with rewriting a history that does not belong to you, just because the nonsense in ya head sounds good to you…..that is better suited to st. martin or curacao, whichever one ya from…lay off, or be embarrassed.

Gazer…Vincent did not read his own article properly…lol…so full of crap, deceit and dishonesty is he…

and John is full of shit as usual.

4. WC

Chuckle……go tek yuh meds…..ah too love yuh ignorance and that of your sycophants……it will allow others to understand the benefits of research.

5. Employers permitted their slaves to lime for a few years? You really believe that nonsense. And why would enslaved people need to acclimatise since they were coming from a climate that is very similar to Barbadosโ€™

Go read Bondsmen and Bishops and come back and tell us what you found before you shoot your mouth off and make a fool of yourself!!

It uses the records from the Codrington Plantations to build a narrative of the experience of slavery on an actual plantation in Barbados from 1710 to 1838.

The acclimatization period accounted for many deaths, strange as it may sound and it was necessary to allow a three year period before slaves were put to work.

You have to realise that these were not employers, they were owners … and Christians, with a vested interest in the well being of their property.

You will also realise that it was many years before the slave population became to all intents and purposes, Creole, Barbadian if you like.

Try reading for a change and inform your imagination before running bout wild.

Your basic premise is once more flawed.

Bondsmen and Bishops. Slavery and Apprenticeship on the Codrington Plantations of Barbados, 1710-1838. By Bennett J. Harry Jr. , [University of California Publications in History, Volume LXII.] (Berkeley and Los Angeles: University of California Press, 1958. Pp. xii, 176. $3.50.)

6. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ vincent haynesw September 26, 2017 at 7:41 PM

If Sir John was to come clean and admit that slavery in Bim was no bed of roses but a nasty, brutish and short life of hellish longevity perpetuated by his hypocritical Quaker family of colluders, then the likes of WW&C, Bushie and PLT might just be able to shake the monkey off their backs and not even demand peanuts for reparations but only a confessional show of contriteness.

Canโ€™t you see how the scars of slavery are still seared in the psyche of the black Bajan to the extent there are unable to distant themselves from their English, Irish, and Scottish origins?

Why do you think Lord Fumble is proud to wear the title the Right Honourable King Freundel from the House of Stuart & the Jewish Quarter of Deutschland?

Maybe, just maybe, if the likes of Sir John and Benedict Cumberbatch should atone for their ancestorsโ€™ sins and accept the biblical injunction of the sins of their fathers visiting unto the third and fourth generation things might get a bit easier for the blacks to get to understand that Jesus their saviour or messiah is not a white man but a pure figment of a European imagination conceptualized to rob blacks and other vulnerable innocent groups of their true solar birthright and indeed their land and the resources contained therein.

Maybe the blacks themselves are feeling the punishment for the sins of their ancestors who were sold into slavery by their own brothers as so instructively told in the fable of Joseph and his coat of many colours.

Karma is a never ending bitch of cosmic justice. If she doesnโ€™t bite you in the backside, she spits right in your face next time around.

โ€œThe LORD is slow to anger, abounding in love and forgiving sin and rebellion. Yet he does not leave the guilty unpunished; he punishes the children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation.โ€

7. Try the UWI library!!

8. Karma is a never ending bitch of cosmic justice. If she doesnโ€™t bite you in the backside, she spits right in your face next time around.
    โ€œThe LORD is slow to anger, abounding in love and forgiving sin and rebellion. Yet he does not leave the guilty unpunished; he punishes the children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation.โ€

This is a quote from Numbers but it originates in the Second Commandment.

If you look at the Second Commandment you will see in part:

” ….. for I the Lord thy God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the children unto the third and fourth generation of them that hate me;”

Only people who hate the Lord concern themselves with karma and cosmic justice.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John September 26, 2017 at 8:59 PM

Are you implying the miller hates your johnny-come-lately god called Yahweh?

Not at all! For in the millerโ€™s eyes he is just another idol in the pantheon of idols overloading the imagination of man.

There is a God alright. The source of life on this orb called Gaia. The same source you want to blame for global cooling and warming that all religions recognize through their halo symbols.

Why can’t you see the miller in the Light of a Zoroastrian or even a Hindu or a Buddhist?
    After all your God is Light and in which there is no darkness; except during a full Solar eclipse.

โ€œThe LORD bless you and keep you;
    The LORD make His face shine upon you,
    And be gracious to you;
    The LORD lift up His countenance upon you,
    And give you peace.โ€

10. @John September 26, 2017 at 8:45 PM “You have to realise that these were not employers, they were ownersโ€ฆ and Christians”

It is not possible to be a slave owner and a Christian.

Never was.

You can only be one or the other.

All those Quaker so called Christians that you have been going on about all these weeks, they are all burning in hell all like now for what they did to God’s children, made in his own image.

HELL is full of them.

11. Simple Simon September 26, 2017 at 10:06 PM #
    @John September 26, 2017 at 8:45 PM โ€œYou have to realise that these were not employers, they were ownersโ€ฆ and Christiansโ€
    It is not possible to be a slave owner and a Christian.

I agree 100%!!

…. history shows that’s why they got together and abolished it!!

Abolition not only freed the enslaved, it also freed the enslaver!!

12. That’s why every square inch of Barbados is a World Heritage Site!!

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Dumb as rocks John and Vincent.

An article clearly states the time period between 1667 and……when 3 million slaves were transported by force out of Africa to the west….

…… it never said that was the first ever shipment…it just stated a time period and an amount…

…,,..yet they complain about comprehension and clearly their own lack of comprehension skills.

14. Go and read Marcus Garvey

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Like you can send me to go do something, you go read it, ya might learn something.

16. John is just managing to get black people in Barbados to resent and hate whites.

He cannot be so stupid as to think that his idiotic rantings about the set of shiite-hounds called ‘quakers’ impresses anyone but Vincent. Clearly, the fact that he goes on and on and on with his rantings in the face of overwhelming evidence that it is crap, …points to an ulterior motive – especially if we are to take PLT’s word that John was once intelligent.

Bushie suspects (only a hunch) that John, in trying to gain favour with the albino-centrics-with-money in Bim, have launched into this shiite hypothesis about ‘white superiority’ and the need for us to get back to an arrangement where the black people revert to the ‘good old’ yard-boy and ‘maid-girl’ status that he so reveres.

He expected to be loudly hailed as a ‘messiah’ …and that black Bajans would – in typical form – bow to any shiite coming from a red man who went to HC.

…BUT NOT STINKING BUSHIE….. and not on BU.

What we are seeing instead, is a rising AWARENESS of the shiite that has been perpetrated against our grandparents; …about the WICKEDNESS that allows the white people to inherit the wealth that was generated by the blood of black ancestors;… about a system that have systematically culled the genetic traits of assertiveness and self-confidence among blacks,- resulting in a generation of black brass bowl bajans of the Vincent variety….

Far from demonstrating an inferiority complex, John is systematically creating a level of resentment and self-awareness among blacks, that Sir Cave Hillary failed to achieve….; that David Denny messed up; …and that had been languishing in Barbados before John’s misguided intervention.

Sir Cave refused to do his calling, it appears that BBE has found other ways to send the message to his people…

17. millertheanunnaki September 26, 2017 at 8:46 PM #

Good points,deserving of discussion.

My base from which I will enter into a dispassionate discussion on slavery is as follows:

“The heinous,brutal,etc transatlantic slave trade was an economic exercise undertaken between the Niger delta kingdoms and European Kingdoms aided and abetted by their religion to enrich each other”

You and John need to have a dispassionate conversation as I an agnostic am having with him on slavery in Bim and the broader Caribbean…..nowhere else.

His knowledge of events cobbled together from Hughes,Goddard,Watson etc are interesting especially his Quaker link to Bim and possibly responsible for it being acknowledged at one time as the Jewel in the crown.

We have a hodge podge of information about our past that was brutal and brutish for all and rewarding to some from all pigments.

This is what I am striving to put together in my brainbox….how this small island surpassed St.Kitts the first british colony in the Caribbean and against the odds established a very liberal and progressive society which in many cases preceeded the rest of the world in the mixing and conmingling of tribes to produce a Pelau society that even today despite its ratings is still above others.

The wrongs of human bondage,despite its continued practice today,has long been acknowledged as wrong.

Each to their own belief system or none at all.

I see todays mental slavery as a recent construct that many have bought into especially on here that serves only to inhibit our progress.

18. John September 26, 2017 at 8:45 PM #
    Employers permitted their slaves to lime for a few years? You really believe that nonsense. And why would enslaved people need to acclimatise since they were coming from a climate that is very similar to Barbadosโ€™

If you do get to read the book I recommended you will also realise that between 1710 when the SPG took over and 17?? (can’t remember the year) for every slave alive on the Codrington Plantations six had died.

This should have meant that the slave population was mostly African born but this did not happen.

The Plantations and Slaves found ways to reduce the death rate which required less and lees replacement with slaves from Africa.

In 1817 there were about ~5000 Africans out of the ~77,000 slaves registered in the entire population of slaves registered in Barbados.

But …. on the Codrington Estates in 1817, there were only 2 African born slaves out of a population of over 300 slaves.

https://www.ancestry.com/interactive/1129/CSUK1817_133761-00363/3114856?backurl=http%3a%2f%2fsearch.ancestry.com%2fcgi-bin%2fsse.dll%3fdb%3dBritishSlaves%26gss%3dsfs28_ms_db%26new%3d1%26rank%3d1%26msT%3d1%26gskw%3dsociety%26MSAV%3d1%26uidh%3dud5&backlabel=ReturnSearchResults#?imageId=CSUK1817_133761-00360

The two African slaves were both males, aged 34 and named Hood and Nelson.

The oldest slave on the two plantations was Mary Luanda, she was 85.

Infant mortality, disease and other causes of death were tackled and reduced.

What no doubt helped was that there is a spring and clean water was always available.

BWA takes water from it even today.

19. https://www.ancestry.com/interactive/1129/CSUK1817_133764-00412/2654254?backurl=http%3a%2f%2fsearch.ancestry.com%2fcgi-bin%2fsse.dll%3fdb%3dBritishSlaves%26gss%3dsfs28_ms_db%26new%3d1%26rank%3d1%26msT%3d1%26gskw%3dsociety%26MSAV%3d1%26uidh%3dud5&backlabel=ReturnSearchResults#?imageId=CSUK1817_133764-00411

If you look at the returns 3 years later in 1820, you will see there were 17 deaths and 31 births in that period, so the population was a growing one on the Codrington plantations.

The final return in 1834 shows there had been 32 births and 19 deaths from the last return in 1832.

The population of slaves had risen to 401 in 1834.

https://www.ancestry.com/interactive/1129/RD_115436-00393/63015?backurl=http%3a%2f%2fsearch.ancestry.com%2fcgi-bin%2fsse.dll%3fdb%3dBritishSlaves%26gss%3dsfs28_ms_r_db%26new%3d1%26rank%3d1%26gskw%3dsociety%25201832%26gskw_x%3d1%26MSAV%3d1%26uidh%3dud5&backlabel=ReturnSearchResults

The Codrington will of 1710 had stipulated that the Society should keep the plantations stocked with 300 slaves and provide them with religious instruction.

20. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lol…I was not going to say a word..lol

“What we are seeing instead, is a rising AWARENESS of the shiite that has been perpetrated against our grandparents; โ€ฆabout the WICKEDNESS that allows the white people to inherit the wealth that was generated by the blood of black ancestors;โ€ฆ about a system that have systematically culled the genetic traits of assertiveness and self-confidence among blacks,- resulting in a generation of black brass bowl bajans of the Vincent varietyโ€ฆ.

Far from demonstrating an inferiority complex, John is systematically creating a level of resentment and self-awareness among blacks, that Sir Cave Hillary failed to achieveโ€ฆ.; that David Denny messed up; โ€ฆand that had been languishing in Barbados before Johnโ€™s misguided intervention.

Sir Cave refused to do his calling, it appears that BBE has found other ways to send the message to his peopleโ€ฆ”

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

The powers of Black.

“Oduduwa comes from Upper Kemet (Southern Egypt) at a time when it was still controlled by a pure Black race. He migrated to West Africa long before Islam and Christianity even existed. He was brave and ran from nobody, much less an Arab. He came to Ife to establish a military that would protect it from the developing invaders from Asia and Europe. Before Oduduwa, the Yoruba had never experienced war but lived in “paradise” of peace under a council for Obatala. This is because Ife was considered by the Egyptians to be the holiest place on Earth. It is because Oduduwa established a formidable army and government in Ife that the Yoruba defeated Islamic forces for centuries. This is why the Yoruba were not Islamicized early like the Hausa. Oduduwa was not an Arab. Not only was he pure Afrikan, but very Black in color like the King of the Egyptian gods, Amen. Oduduwa’s name evokes his deep Blackness. Oduduwa=Olu Dudu Iwa. This means “Black Lord of (good) Character.” This is because he embodied Iwa Pele. Stop trying to connect the Yoruba with races outside of Afrika. The Yoruba are a pure Afrikan people as is Oduduwa/Olu Dudu Iwa.”

BY: Kushite-Kermitic spiritual science

22. how this small island surpassed St.Kitts the first british colony in the Caribbean

Look at St. Kitts on Google Earth and you will see much of the island is taken up by a volcano and deep ravines.

Then look at Barbados …. flat as a bake!!

Good for farming and self sufficiency in food attainable.

Close to Martiniqe/Guadeloupe so French and English were always fighting over St. Kitts.

Harder to defend.

Smaller, 67 square miles vs 166 square miles

Why was it settled before Barbados?

I think because it was nearer to New England and could act as a victualing station for ships following the currents and wind from England.

Barbados probably settled for same reason, to be a point through which English ships could pass to get to New England and the Puritans.

Reckon both were first settled by Puritans

Population today, ~35,000.

Tiny by comparison with Barbados.

23. Yes,Bim was an island that could be readily secured with look outs and coastal ships due to its location away from the island chain.

They secured it against all comers…..yet drugs and guns are presently coming in via the sea….interesting.

24. Indeed, we need to REMOVE Lord Nelson.

We need gallows, St. Andrewยดs cross and iron maiden instead.

25. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

โ€œRacismโ€ฆis a universal operating system of white supremacy and domination in which the majority of the worldโ€™s white people participate.โ€

-pg3, โ€œThe Cress Theory of Color-Confrontation and Racismโ€

โ€œWhite skin is a form of albinism. There is no difference, microscopically speaking, between the white skin of a white person and the skin of a person designated as an albino.โ€

-pg 23, โ€œAlienation, Anxiety and Narcissismโ€

โ€œHistorically, white males worldwide have suffered the deep sense of male inferiority and inadequacy because they represent a mutant, genetically recessive, minority population that can be genetically annihilated by all non-white people.โ€

-pg 46, โ€œUnified Field Theory Psychiatryโ€

โ€œConstantine l, the Roman Emperor..made Christian worship lawful in the beginnings of the white supremacy system, had the following words placed on the cross, โ€œIn Hoc Signo, Vincesโ€ (meaning, โ€œIn this sign you will conquerโ€). โ€ฆCurrently, the majority membership of Christian churches is non-white, and all are held in control under the sign of the cross.โ€

-pg 67, โ€œSymbolism of Christ

โ€œOnce we become aware of the deep humilation that is apparently felt by whites because of their skin whiteness (due to the genetic mutation to albinism) and because of their genetic vulnerability when compared to non-whites, it is possible to understand the historically degraded status of sex in the white supremacy system/culture.โ€

-pg 104, โ€œGuns as Symbolsโ€

โ€œThe gun as a symbol in the white supremacy system/cultureโ€ฆcannot be banned because it is the symbolic phallus substitute for the white male. The white maleโ€™s penis and testicles genetically cannot annihilate Black and other non-white males, but his gun can. Therefore to ban the gun for the white male is to castrate him symbolically, to remove his defense mechanism for the ever present threat of white genetic annihilation.โ€

-pg 151, โ€œThe Symbolism of Smoking Objectsโ€

โ€œ(Melanin is the black pigment which permits skins to appear other than white)โ€ฆMelanin is a superior absorber of all energy. The fact that the whites lack melanin may also help to explain why they have quite a different concept and understanding of Godโ€ฆand why, in the view of many non-white peoples, they (whites) lack โ€œspiritualityโ€ and the capacity to tune in to, and thereby establish harmony and justice in the universe. Because they lack the melanin sensory system, they cannot intuit that ALL is ONE.โ€

-pq 171, โ€œThe Concept and the Color of Godโ€

โ€œBlack people are afraid, but Black people are going to have to get over their fear. Black people do not know what is happening, but Black people are going to have to learn and understand what is happening. Black people are not thinking, but Black people are going to have to begin thinking. Black people are not being quiet, but Black people are going to have to start getting quiet so that they can think. Black people are not analyzing and planning, but Black people are going to have to begin analyzing and planning. Black people do not understand deep self-respect, but Black people are going to have to learn the meaning and practice of deep self-respect. Black people are going to have to stop permitting Black children to play with parenthood. Black people are going to have to stop moaning, rocking, crying, complaining, begging. Black people are going to have to stop thinking that rhyme and rhetoric will solve problems. Black people are going to have to stop finger-popping and singing. Black people are going to have to stop dancing and clowning. Black people are going to have to stop laughing and listening to loud radios. All of these behaviors, and many more, have absolutely nothing to do with addressing the challenges and conditions of the open warfare continuously being waged against the Black collective.โ€

-pg 183, โ€œThe Symbolism, Logic and Meaning of Justifiable Homicide in the 1980sโ€

โ€œBlack females must understand that we always will be oppressed, as will our sons and daughters, unless Black men are liberated to defend themselves, Black females and Black children from any and all attacks and insultsโ€ฆ The first lessons to Black Women were harsh and cruel ones of sexual assault and abuse, taking their children away and forcing them to watch their men being lynched and castrated. But then these harsh lessons were followed by milder treatment of Black women as compared to Black men. Black women were given extra food, money, clothing and other gifts for their special favors to the [enslavers]. They were rewarded for correctly teaching their children to conform to the enslaverโ€™s wishes, as well as for telling their men to calm down and be patient so that they too could be rewarded.โ€

-pg 248 and 286 โ€œBlack Childrenโ€ and โ€œBlack Women Moving Towards the 21st Centuryโ€

โ€œAs a collective, Black males must realize that they have been fooled into believing that white females are their most loving allies. While white females are luring Black men into bed and to the altar, the white female collective is depriving Black men of their opportunity to function fully as breadwinners and not just as โ€˜sex-machinesโ€™.โ€

-pg 249, โ€œBlack Childrenโ€

Stop name-calling one another.
    Stop cursing at one another.
    Stop squabbling with one another.
    Stop gossiping about one another.
    Stop snitching on one another.
    Stop being discourteous and disrespectful towards one another.
    Stop robbing one another.
    Stop stealing from one another.
    Stop fighting one another.
    Stop killing one another.
    Stop using and selling drugs to one another.
    Stop throwing trash and dirt on the streets and in places where Black people live, work and learn.

-pg 250, โ€œBlack Childrenโ€

โ€œThe facts of our true identity are that we, as Black people, are persons whose dominant genetic and historic roots extend to Africa, โ€˜the land of the Blacksโ€™. Africa was the birth place of humankind and that for many hundreds of centuries thereafter Africans, meaning Black people, were in the forefront of all human progress. As John Henrik Clarke states, โ€˜It can be said with a strong degree of certainty that Africa had three Golden Ages. The first two reached their climax and were in decline before Europe as a functioning entity in human society was born.โ€™ BLACK WOMEN AND BLACK MEN ARE THE PARENTS OF THE ENTIRE FAMILY OF PEOPLE -black, brown, red, yellow and white varieties.โ€

-pg 284, โ€œBlack Women Moving Towards the 21st Centuryโ€

โ€œCritical in the history of white supremacy was the decision not to control Black and other women of color, but to control the men of colorโ€ฆ Thousands upon thousands of Black men in the U.S. were lynched and castrated to drive home the message that white men intended to control the โ€œballsโ€ in this world, both on and off the court! White males understood that they needed white women as well as Black women to help them achieve and maintain this power relationship. White women always have known what they stood to gain โ€“ their own survival as whites. Black women have been confused and less clear in fully understanding how they have been led to cooperate in this deadly power game of white supremacy. Further, Black women do not understand fully that they have nothing to gain and everything to lose if this deadly game continues.โ€

-pg 285, โ€œBlack Women Moving Towards the 21st Centuryโ€

26. This is what you call spin bowling and good batting
    John
    “In 1817 there were about ~5000 Africans out of the ~77,000 slaves registered in the entire population of slaves registered in Barbados”.

Let us assume that the numbers are correct. Yet John is misleading the group… The twistorian should have written

“In 1817 there were about ~5000 Africans slavesTAKEN DIRECTLY FROM AFRICA out of the ~77,000 AFRICAN slaves registered in the entire population of slaves registered in Barbados”.

27. @David
    I beseech you. I implore you. I beg you, please stop this madness

“Luckily, the slaves were seasoned in their first years that is to say they were not given any hard work to do and allowed to acclimatise!!

Those poor English people, made to suffer the voyage and then to die like flies of disease.

Better to be a slave.”

The guys is not mad, but a certifiable lying ahole.

28. if you think about it… You are seeing an example of what Barbadians consider brilliant.
    Turns out it is nothing more than a regurgitation of the shit they were taught.
    Book sense is not common sense.

29. Slavery in Barbados was so mild that it created the most docile and subservient Blacks in the Caribbean.

The masters castrated us with their kindness.

A sample of the mastersโ€™ benevolence (Bussa revolution)
    One white civilian and one black soldier were killed during the fighting. Compared to this, 50 enslaved people died in battle and 70 were executed in the field. Another 300 were taken to Bridgetown for trial, of which 144 were executed and 132 sent away to another island.

Note that twenty-four of the 300 not accounted for. The dociles…

30. People need to realise that there is a whole body of knowledge readily available to inform their thinking and they don’t have to rely on the twisted convoluted thinking of a few.

A child can access this information on the web.

What happens when our children start asking inconvenient questions based on data that does not match what they are reading in their history books?

Schomburgk: Page 146

The copy of a return which I possess of the slave population in 1817 gives the following details.

Under 1 year of age, 2,600
    From 1 to 10, 20,389
    From 11 to 20, 16,669
    From 21 to 30, 14,534
    From 31 to 40, 10,561
    From 41 to 50, 6,653
    From 51 to 60, 3,614
    From 61 to 70, 1,541
    From 71 to 80, 544
    From 81 to 90, 132
    From 91 to 100, 19
    From 100 to 114, 7
    Ages Unknown, 10
    ======

Total, 77,273
    ======
    Of these, 71,432 were Creoles or born in Barbados, – 345 were Creoles from other islands – and 5.496 were Africans.

The slave population was young in 1817, but it still possessed members who were centenarians and super centenarians.

The bulk of the work was done by about half of the population.

31. 71, 432 creoles meant the slave master was busy raping…
    Creole does not mean born in Barbados (a slick twist)

32. probably a few Bajan creoles and the rest were African slaves born in Barbados
    I can see how you confused poor Vincent with this pelau nonsense

33. reel/wheel/reele and come again
    Jethro (stole that from Hal)

34. @ TheGazer

The more we read John, the easier it is to see why Bajans (like Rihanna) tend to respond to so many people with sentences that end in “…. yuh khant”

35. People need to realise that there is a whole body of knowledge readily available to inform their thinking and they donโ€™t have to rely on the twisted convoluted thinking of a few.
    A child can access this information on the web.
    What happens when our children start asking inconvenient questions based on data that does not match what they are reading in their history books?

36. Here is what happened to the other half of Africans taken to the East, see above.

http://originalpeople.org/the-arab-muslim-slave-trade-of-africans-the-untold-story/

Marcus Garvey:

โ€œWhile most slaves who went to the Americas could marry and have families, most of the male slaves destined for the Middle East were castrated, and most of the children born to the women were killed at birth. It is estimated that possibly as many as 11 million Africans were transported across the Atlantic (95% of which went to South and Central America, mainly to Portuguese, Spanish and French possessions. Only 5% of the slaves went to the United States).

While Christian Reformers spearheaded the antislavery abolitionist movements in Europe and North America, and Great Britain mobilized her Navy, throughout most of the 19th Century, to intercept slave ships and set the captives free, there was no comparable opposition to slavery within the Muslim world..โ€

95% went to South and Central America, principally Roman Catholic.

No attempt to end it except form Quakers out of England, not even the Church of England.

We are supposed to be adults, face the facts.

Retreating into the jumble of misinformation does not change those facts.

Showing the facts are untrue however, will …. so deal with the facts, not uninformed imagination.

37. c. 1645โ€“1980 C. Codrington I, II, II & S.P.G

Here is what the profitability of the Codrington Estates look like, periods of boom and bust like any other agricultural endeavor the world over.

It is in skeletal form, Bondsmen and Bishops will probably give a more detailed story.

The Society often needed to lease the land to others to reduce financial losses.

Chancery and sale was never an option as they were with other plantations because the SPG was entrusted with a bequest from Codrington.

Society & Consetts โ€“ Henry Bennett p. 2 on
    1700โ€“10 Estates produced about 100 hogshead and rented for ยฃ2200 sterling p.a
    1710 Death of Codrington
    1713โ€“19 Boom period
    1715 Gross income ยฃ5666, expenditure ยฃ2954, profit ยฃ2712 = ยฃ2170 sterling
    Construction of college started and by 1725 nearly complete, but sharp decline in sugar and rum caused cessation.

1729 Improved conditions
    1745 College opened, after windfall as a result of dispute with Codrington heirs
    1755โ€“70 Estates cleared more than ยฃ2000 pa
    1770โ€“82 Estates losing money due to sugar cuts, Revolutionary War and 1780 hurricane
    1780 Able Barbadians โ€“ John Brathwaite, Sir Philip Gibbes and Sir John Gay Alleyne become members of Society and assume control

1783โ€“93 Brathwaite leases for ยฃ500 sterling p.a. and any profit to be had to rebuilding college. Manager, friend of Brathwaite, George Barow. Gibbes assumes care of college through his attorney Alleyne

by 1793 Brathwaite has cleared debt, accumulated reserve and rebuilt upper plantation. Average income now ยฃ2000 sterling
    After return to Societyโ€™s control profits fall to ยฃ1000 p.a.
    1813 Management put in hands of agricultural attorney and much improved
    1814โ€“23 Average income ยฃ4042
    1828โ€“41 Average income ยฃ2343 and estates adjust well to emancipation

Managers                      Attorneys

1710โ€“31 John Smalridge 1813โ€“5 Thomas Hollingsworth
    1731โ€“40 John Vaughton 1815โ€“35 Forster Clarke
    1740โ€“46 Abel Alleyne 1835โ€“42 Thomas G. King
    1746โ€“49 John Payne
    Managed by Profesors and schoolmasters
    1753โ€“70 Grant Elcock
    1770โ€“74 Robert Gibson
    1774โ€“82 Richard Downes
    1783โ€“95 George Barrow
    1795โ€“03 Edward Clarke
    1803 John B. Nurse
    1804โ€“05 William Harding
    1805โ€“7 Forster Clarke
    1807โ€“8 — Moore
    1808โ€“13 Benjamin Storey

Society, St. John โ€“ College โ€“ Codrington College
    c. 1645โ€“1980 C. Codrington I, II, II & S.P.G
    1710 According to Harry Bennett โ€œBondsman and Bishopsโ€ p. 2, 270 ac, โ€œUpper plantationโ€ โ€“ very fertile
    Walne (see Bishops) 151 โ€“ Extracts of Wills โ€“ 287 Misc. Mss Thorne
    1825 The Society (Society Plantation)
    WITH CODRINGTON and/or (COLLEGE)
    1842 Society 774
    1846โ€“48 C. Codrington, decโ€™d (763 in โ€™46) 774
    1850 S.P.G. 774
    SOCIETY ALONE
    1849โ€“62 C. Codrington, decโ€™d 336
    1859 Absentee
    1854โ€“65 Rented by J.D. Maycock (Mrs. Maycock in โ€™62)
    1863โ€“21 S.P.G. 336
    1870โ€“1 Rented R.H. Alleyne
    1892 Steam mill
    1927 W.I.C.C. 371. Manager, H.A. Watson goes to Westmoreland โ€“ C.M. Drayton, manager

1970 Lessee. Three Houses Factory Ltd 332

38. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

You are good, as long as I see John’s long posts, I just dont read them because you can be sure he has lies embedded in them somewhere…

….. his intent is malicious and deliberate…neither him nor Vincent can stop walking in darkness or stop lying to and about the majority Black population.

39. @BushTea & TheGazer: John cannot be dis-entangled from our Bajan ethos anymore than either of you or me or David can. His thinking permeates our society (in maybe a greater % than we desire) and the fact that he is so book-smart to use voluminous data to support his positions is the remarkable disinguenity of this our “opiate induced” religiosity.

So Mr BushTea, John quoted your adopted father’s “words” to facilitate the precepts of slavery … he used the same ease as he has done in quoting other works to support his views. Can one say GIGO, or would that be sacrilegious in the latter case… or is it that one can always find comfort in the Good Book!

I was struck but these simple quotes (considering the millions of words he has read):

“It uses the records from the Codrington Plantations to build a narrative of the experience of slavery on an actual plantation in Barbados from 1710 to 1838…You have to realise that these were not employers, they were owners โ€ฆ and Christians, with a vested interest in the well being of their property.”

He then continued to quote that, “The Plantations and Slaves found ways to reduce the death rate which required less and lees replacement with slaves from Africa.”

I can only interpret this as the ‘dispassionate’ analysis on farm animal husbandry by a detailed man of science.

As a boy we imported what we perceived as hardy chickens (bought from local traders of course) and over a period of time also found ways to reduce the death rate to require less purchases and forge our own small replacement Creole product.

I am thus suitably impressed to continue to see scholarly expositions of the slavery experience in such stark terms of the animal husbandry of one’s property. Alas!

Unequivocally, as this ‘smart man’ expounds, those who are exposed to Web investigation will also be suitably impressed to learn that “The Codrington will of 1710 had stipulated that the Society should keep the plantations STOCKED with 300 slaves and provide them with religious instruction.”

As they continue to web surf, I can anticipate that many disposed like John will be disappointed that so much has been written to deny how well the Codringtons of that world treated “their property”….afterall, they bred them carefully to improve strength and all in all used careful Christian means not to overwork them before they were acclimatized. Wonderful!

If my chickens talked to me and refused to lay eggs or destroyed them because they did not want to add their off spring to my bondage I imagine I would be as dispassionate about their existence to. REALLY. That we could explore this topic and to this day discuss sentient beings as if they were like those chickens is in itself freaking amazing.

So all hail John, his scholarship and the Codrington Plantation owners for their wondrous benign animal husbandry.

John if you had taken that job offer from Sillicon Valley or whomever you spoke about…then after making your millions maybe you could have ventilated your awesome views to a Trump like audience on a right wing blog…rather than here !

40. Always playing the man and not the ball.

John’s research makes for very interesting and stark reading by all of us who are the end product of all that he has shown us.

He has shown us the petri dish and the ingredients,we can wail and lament as much as we like but we cannot reverse the experiment thereby unmaking us.

41. Vincent, although your remarks are not directed to me directly your broad brush strokes do.

I refute your analysis at 8:03 that John’s interpretations shows us any petri dish of new findings.

He stokes the same time honoured divisiveness and hate that inflammatory historical writings on slavery always have. For him to cite some of the passages re-quoted above and pass them off in his broad screed on the Quakers as pacifits and abolitionists is insulting and demeaning.

No one denies him his interpretations of historical data.

But it’s abhorrent that you can attempt to preach to Black descendants who look very much like their enslaved fore-parents with your pelau rhetoric as if we don’t appreciate and understand our mixed ancestry.

No one seeks either to deny the facts of history but if you and John seek to white wash that era with your own convient truths then be prepared to be dismissed as apologists and racists.

It’s interesting that you the agnostic and he the righteous Christian are sharing this bed….Obviously apologists come in all different guises.

42. @ Dribbler
    John is a khant. …plain and simple.

He is clearly tormented in his old age to find himself to be nobody, and to be nowhere, …after having his ego stroked about being some kinda ‘scholar’. He has resorted to living in his fantasy world of the plantation days – where he would have been ‘highly respected’ and where his ‘Vincents’ would have been at his beck and call… lapping up his every wish and command…

BUT NOT STINKING BUSHIE …
    …nor apparently is PLT, TheGazer, yourself or the senior NCO (Sargeant).

When John looks at himself in the mirror and compares himself to PLT… it must shatter all his fantasy visions of superiority, so he resorts to records held in archives and cemeteries (all compiled by clear-headed, dispassionate, unbiased white people of course) to reinforce his fantasies….. and he longs for more Vincents to affirm his convictions…. he just came to the wrong forum.

Poor Vincent had a little pick wielding a whip at a plantation for a few years and developed for himself some illusions of grandeur that leads his fragile ego to buy into John’s fantasy world.
    But even Vincent is beginning to awake to the REALITY that …brass bowls as we are, Black people are the closes of all humanity to possible redemption from the albino-centric world of selfishness and spite …into the community-centric world of love and unselfishness.

43. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lol.

44. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Vincent Haynes September 28, 2017 at 8:03 AM #
    “Always playing the man and not the ball.”

That is Vincent, because everything that John bowls is a no ball. John has spent dozens of posts alleging that sugar plantations were not profitable, even after I guided him to peer reviewed research conclusively proving their profitability. He then pointed out that some plantations went bankrupt as though this was a valid argument, but I blew that stupid notion out of the water by pointing out that contemporary silicon valley firms go bankrupt all the time, but silicon valley as a whole is the most profitable industrial area in the world.

So now he posts data from Codrington plantation showing that it WAS profitable. The only ball in play is to point out, yet again, that John was lying.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Vincent Haynes September 28, 2017 at 8:03 AM
    โ€œAlways playing the man and not the ball.
    Johnโ€™s research makes for very interesting and stark reading by all of us who are the end product of all that he has shown us.
    He has shown us the petri dish and the ingredients,we can wail and lament as much as we like but we cannot reverse the experiment thereby unmaking us.โ€

The Achilles heel in John’s contributions in trying to justify slavery as a good Christian act undertaken to save Africans, especially West Africans, from a worse capture and existence under the ‘infidel Muslims is that he wittingly tarnishes the truth, ad absurdum.

By arguing consistently that life was NOT nasty, brutish and short for enslaved Africans; even if not a bed of roses for the poor whites who themselves played a role in one of the most heinous crimes ever committed against humanity by Western Europeans in the name their god called Almighty Profit while praying to a mock one called Jehovah through his commercial agent nicknamed Jesus.

If he wants to be perceived as a dispassionate researcher let him present the facts and figures as recorded and leave the whitewashing of the beneficence of the slave masters towards their black-skin property and the massaging of the concocted humanitarian role played by his Quaker ancestor family and friends in the society for the propagation of the gospel according to homo King James.

For clearly, the British- who perpetrated and perpetuated the bulk of exploitation of blacks in the present-day English speaking Caribbean- had no such pangs of guilt or remorse despite being handsomely compensated for the economic decision to โ€˜privatize or outsourceโ€™ the labour and divest the oligarchic control of the waning industry of sugar production calculated to be around 20 million in British sterling pounds of the King William 1V / early Victorian times (equivalent to ยฃ16-17 billion in todayโ€™s money).

For the inheritors of that large windfall of blood money not only built stately homes to become born-again Christians of Lords of their dirty ill-gotten manors but ardent financial backers of those 19th Century privateers who sailed to Australasia and committed similar acts of genocide and exploitation against the aboriginal peoples.

We will not even mention their financial backing of commercial escapades into Eastern Africa to save the black masses from the wickedness of Islam and from the black pit of ignorance of the balm of salvation in Western Christianity while Livingstone, Rhodes and their henchmen rob them blind of their birthright of valuable resources.

Maybe the next King William to ascend the throne will make amends for such a glaring oversight in dispensing one-sided justice from Solomonโ€™s scales of morality.

46. I am flabbergasted. Would ยฃ20m in 1838 be worth ยฃ16-17bn in 2017?

47. Bush Tea September 27, 2017 at 7:37 AM #

โ€œJohn is just managing to get black people in Barbados to resent and hate whites.โ€

@ Bushie

โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ while Chad9999 is attempting to encourage black people in Barbados to resent and hate themselvesโ€ฆโ€ฆ and embrace the โ€œalbino-centricโ€ culture of whitesโ€ฆโ€ฆ.

Hahaha

48. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin September 28, 2017 at 10:09 AM #
    “I am flabbergasted. Would ยฃ20m in 1838 be worth ยฃ16-17bn in 2017?”

It depends on the methodology that you use to calculate the relative values. Among the common methodologies are:
    * the retail price index
    * the per capita GDP
    * the GDP deflator
    * the share of GDP

The current value of ยฃ20m in 1838 works out to between ยฃ1.5bn using the retail price index method and ยฃ64.7bn using the share of GDP method.

49. PLT,
    I got it. I had the numbers calculated when I chaired a reparations meeting of the UWI Foundation in London with Sir Hillary and you are roughly right: retail price index; relative to earnings; share of national income; and the percentage of income spent on food, housing, etc.
    Of those the most reliable is the RPI, which gives a figure of ยฃ1.6bn, some people even put it as high as ยฃ72bn.
    The problem is, how much do those who call for reparations expect to receive in compensation? And how ill this be distributed?
    I was curious to find out how we arrived at ยฃ16-ยฃ17bn.

50. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Barbados slaveowners were compensated ยฃ1,719,980 upon emancipation. Since this money was paid out of the public purse, the most appropriate estimates for what that was worth in today’s money will be derived using the share of GDP methodology. This means that, in addition to the theft of labour from enslaved people over 10 generations and the appropriation of all the land in Barbados with no foundation in natural law, the Barbados plantocracy extorted the equivalent ยฃ6.5bn in today’s money to bring an end to slavery.

Keep in mind that in addition the Barbados plantocracy also got permission for the theft of a further four years of Black labour under the apprenticeship system while the food rations offered apprentices remained among the most meagre in the Caribbean during a period that John’s Codrington records reveal that plantations were earning robust profits (the modern equivalent of ยฃ7.56m per year using the share of GDP methodology for Codrington plantation alone).