Ian Carrington, Director of the NIS

On Sunday, September 3, 2017 the front page of the Sunday Sun carried an item in which the Director of the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) is reported to have said that workers took an inordinate amount of sick leave only to find on retirement that their pension payments had taken a hit. He is then quoted as having said:

I always encourage people not to take sick leave unless they are actually sick. It impacts on the amount of pension you will get later.

The following day I called the Nation to ascertain if anybody from NIS had called to correct those statements. Since no one has done so, I cannot sit idly by and allow such dangerous misinformation to go unchallenged. Not only is it incorrect; it is irresponsible and has potential for devastating consequences.

A person who is sick could believe this report and decide that he does not want to jeopardise his pension. As a result, he might go to work while being ill and become a danger to himself, his fellow workmen and the public. Just imagine a situation where the driver of a public service vehicle goes to work when he is sick because he does not want to lose out on part of his pension and crashes with a full load of passengers.

From my experience, having worked at NIS, I make bold as to say that a person’s pension would only be negatively impacted if he/she refused or neglected to submit claims for sickness, maternity or unemployment benefits.

Any person who is ill, for a period Monday to Saturday and submits a sickness claim, would be entitled to receive monetary compensation, in addition to a credited contribution. Credited contributions count towards a person’s pension entitlement, even though no actual money is paid into the NIS fund. Section 57.(1) and (2) of the National Insurance and Social Security (Benefit) Regulations, 1967 state:

57.(1) For every contribution week for the whole of which an insured person

(a) received, or would but for regulation 4(1) have received sickness benefit; or

(b) received maternity benefit; or

(c) received, or would but for regulation 46(1) have received, unemployment benefit

a contribution shall be credited to that person without actual payment thereof.

(2) A credited contribution shall, subject to the provisions of these Regulations, be valid for sickness, maternity, unemployment benefit and invalidity benefit and for old age contributory grant or pension and shall be equal to the value of the average weekly earnings on which the rate of sickness, unemployment or maternity benefit was based.

In order to qualify for an NIS pension, a person must have 500 contributions. If someone refused to submit their sickness claim, in the mistaken belief that his/her pension would be affected, that person would lose out on some money to tide him/her over a period when not in receipt of income. But worse yet, that person could fall short in the number of contributions needed to qualify for a pension, since no credits would be available to make up the shortfall.

Regulation 31of the NIS Benefit Regulations demonstrate why it is vital to submit sickness benefit claims and accumulate your credits. It provides that of the 500 contributions needed to qualify for a pension, only 150 must be actually paid; the remaining 350 could be credited contributions.

Some enlightened employers pay their workers the full salary and take the benefit when it is paid. If workers qualify for credits in these circumstance, both the employer and employee are entitled to a refund of the contributions paid. This appears to be a carefully guarded secret, the refund is not automatic, you must apply for it.

The National Insurance Fund is primarily intended to pay benefits to people who are insured under the NIS scheme. It is not intended to provide budgetary support to the Government. If they cannot manage this economy without relying on NIS funds, they are in the wrong jobs.

117 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – National Insurance Director Misled the Public About Pensions”

1. Anyhow, this goes back to my surprise at the connection versus how the environment is portrayed by the unions. All of the fuss must only be for show and working conditions must be a lot better than portrayed by the unions for senior union officials to encourage their children to be part of it.

2. Bro Cas no need for me to elaborate -you are absolutely correct and Mr Carrington should have been taken to task by his Board or the Minister if they fully knowledgeable of the NIS Act and Regulations and the medical profession as well for implying that Doctors dish out sick certificates willy nilly .

3. Bush Tea,
    Making one of his usual intellectual contributions to the discussion. The man is not only risible, but incurable. @Bush Tea, the discussion about pensions, contributions and eligibility. What do you think?

4. Hal Austin
    Bush Tea, the discussion about pensions, contributions and eligibility. What do you think?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Bushie thinks that what is risible is a man who handed over more than a $1000 to a stranger in an obvious scam scheme in Barbados …and then comes on BU -using his known slave name, to admit his idiocy… shaming his poor wife in the process.

The discussion is really about the poor quality of our NIS administrators. The pension, contribution, and eligibility issues are actually quite clear …and Caswell made his point quite sharply- up front….

If you were a bit sharper, you would get the point about angela… but we know that you are not that sharp … we know that from the $1000 business… ๐Ÿ™‚

Did you ever get your wife’s money back…?

Carrington will no doubt apologise during the week…. and continue smartly….(like you probably did to the wife…)

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Lol..hahaha.

6. Simple Simon September 10, 2017 at 9:38 PM #
    Let us say that both A and B were born on June 30, 1951. They both went to work on their 18th birthday, June 30, 1969 at the same place and received equal wages throughout their working lives.
    The will both retire on December 31, 2017 when they turn 66 1/2
    A has never taken any sick leave.
    B has taken 2 weeks sick leave for each of the 48 years he was employed and for good measure will take one week sick leave next week, for a total of 96 weeks sick leave.
    Will their pensions be the same amount?
    Can Caswell, Mr. Carrington or Walter or the Nation answer this hypothetical question?

Caswell Franklyn September 10, 2017 at 9:49 PM #
    Simple Simon
    The pensions would be the same, unless B did not make a sickness benefit claim. If B made a sickness claim, he would be entitled to a credit for each week and that credit would be recorded as though a contribution had been paid.

Simple Simon,
    Since A and B were born on June 30, 1951, both of them would be 51 ยฝ years old at December 31, 2002. Their ages at December 31, 2002 fall within the range of 47 -56 so their NIS old age pensions would be calculated at 50% of the old basis, plus 50% of the new basis.

Under the old basis, as Caswell pointed out by his reference to 57(1)(c) and 57(2)of the regulations, participant B would receive a contribution credit, although no contribution has been actually paid. One can therefore conclude that the contribution credits received by B would enable him/her to receive the same amount of pension as A, under the old basis.

Whereas under the old basis, participant Bโ€™s contribution had to only satisfy one condition (i.e. contributions can be either paid OR credited), another possible interpretation of the regulations related to the new basis is that they call for two conditions to be satisfied (i.e. contributions must be Paid AND credited).

If this is the correct interpretation of the law and regulations, and it has become administrative practice at the NIS, then B will receive a lower pension than A under the new basis because no contributions were paid during sick leave.

My objective here is simply to make readers aware that issues do arise in the private and social pension arenas. Some of these issues have to be resolved by the courts. As the population ages and more and more people apply for their NIS pensions, more and more issues will arise.

Caswellโ€™s article presents a case based on his (and some readersโ€™) interpretation of the law. I have played the role of the devilโ€™s advocate.

I strongly believe that the NIS department should communicate with the people of Barbados and let them know how it handles this issue in their calculations.

7. @Walter

The sentence in your comment reconciles with BU’s earlier comment, given Caswell’s assertion it should have been clarified with haste. The NIS has a communications arm if memory serves.

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Walter Blackman September 11, 2017 at 12:11 PM
    โ€œI strongly believe that the NIS department should communicate with the people of Barbados and let them know how it handles this issue in their calculations.โ€

Welcome back Walter. It seems your recent foray in the double-dealing underworld world of elective politics has been a reality check for you, again.

But now you are back let us not let the crisis facing the NIS go to waste by dwelling on the minutiae of pensions calculation; a simple event which can be fixed by a minor amendment to the rules/regulations with the appropriate adjustment to the IT programme which has cost the scheme more that a financially broken arm and a truncated leg.

What we like to hear from you is your most valued opinion on the financial long-term viability and integrity of the Pension fund as a result of it being owed in excess of $ 500 million in a chronically depressed economic environment and in particular the chances of recovering that loan of $120 million advanced to the principals of Four Seasons restart project.

9. @Guest September 10, 2017 at 10:04 PM “Should the employer rehire the temp because the tempโ€™s mommy or daddy is a big shot unionist?

NO.

Hiring and rehiring should be done strictly on merit. And we have been told that the young man is a good teacher.

Unlike you I am not a yardie.

I am not a BLP yardie

I am not a DLP yardie.

10. @charles skeete September 11, 2017 at 6:17 AM “Mr Carrington should have been taken to task by his Board or the Minister…for implying that Doctors dish out sick certificates willy nilly.”

But doctors do dish out sick certificates willy nilly.

This is well know in the community, but no official wants to say it publicly because everybody is afraid of offending the doctors.

Bajans=malingerers.

Fake sicknesses.

11. There is even one doctor and people make jokes about his name as it rhymes with the what malingerers need most.

People say I am going to Dr. X because I need some sick time.

You and Caswell need to climb down from your high falutin’ perches.

It we ain’t careful we will bankrupt the NIS.

Fortunately I will be dead by then.

12. Thanks Caswell.

Thanks Walter.

If you two reasonable, well educated men differ, you will understand that Simple is EVEN MOR CONFUSED.

But thanks anyway.

If Caswell’s interpretation is correct I can only say that I am sorry that I only took four weeks sick leave in my 43 year career. If I had know I would have taken the 86 weeks to which it seems that I was entitled.

Getting paid for 86 weeks for doing no work, and still receiving the same pension seems like a great deal to me.

13. Miller

Don’t allow Walter to confuse you. He has succeeded in confusing himself by pretending that he knows something about statutory interpretation, while declaring that he is not a lawyer.

As long as a person has 150 paid contributions, it does not matter if all the other contributions are paid or credited. As a matter of fact credited contributions take precedence over paid contributions.

14. Especially if i could have spent that 86 weeks at home in bed with my beloved.

That certainly beats working.

But too late now.

15. @Caswell Franklyn September 11, 2017 at 1:49 PM “credited contributions take precedence over paid contributions.”

Why is this?

Wouldn’t this have the effect of encouraging non-sick people to take sick time?

And why would NIS do that to itself?

16. Simple

Nothing I wrote in this article and in the comments is my interpretation. I am only relaying to you what is the accepted interpretation of those at NIS who do the actual work of calculating pensions. Unfortunately, Mr. Carrington started his career at NIS at the top, and apparently, he did not familiarise himself with the rules. As a result, he went before a crowd unprepared to speak on the subject of NIS pensions but that did not stop him from talking.

17. millertheanunnaki September 11, 2017 at 12:47 PM #
    โ€œWelcome back Walter. It seems your recent foray in the double-dealing underworld world of elective politics has been a reality check for you, again.”

Millertheanunnaki
    Definition of foray: a sudden attack or incursion into enemy territory, especially to obtain something; a raid.

Your welcome back greeting is a thinly veiled attempt to conceal your side-splitting laughter. As far as you are concerned, I am just a modern day Don Quixote returning home half-dead and fuzzed out as a result of fighting heroically against windmills. Please allow me to join you in your mirth by laughing at myself. As Bush Tea would say: โ€œHa ha ha. Oh shirt!โ€

Not surprisingly, I have come back from my foray and found you in the same condition in which I left you โ€“ sitting disconsolately on your flaccid anunnaki during the night, and spouting hairy-fairy ejaculatory fluff on BU during the day. I dare not laugh at a man who literally holds โ€œthe worldโ€ in the palm of his hand, so I will offer sincere congratulations to you.
    Given the above, should I encourage you in your errant, unproductive ways by saying โ€œup and onโ€?

18. millertheanunnaki September 11, 2017 at 12:47 PM #
    โ€œWhat we like to hear from you is your most valued opinion on the financial long-term viability and integrity of the Pension fund as a result of it being owed in excess of $ 500 million in a chronically depressed economic environment and in particular the chances of recovering that loan of $120 million advanced to the principals of Four Seasons restart projectโ€

Millertheanunnaki,
    We have not seen the 15th actuarial review of the NIS, but I have heard that the NIS fund is around $5 billion. Successive administrations have borrowed heavily from the fund, and government paper reportedly now represents 75% of that amount. 75% of $5 billion = $3.75 billion.

That $3.75 billion is the number you need to keep pushing in the face of BU readers. That is the amount that future governments will have to extort from the population again, if the debt is to be repaid.

The $120 million loan to the Four Seasons project which you mentioned was ill-advised and unfortunate. If you pass near Paradise, you will see the shell that is left, and you will recognize that there is little chance of recovering that money.

Similar to the ghost of Xmas Past manhandling Scrooge, as I take you back in time (kicking and screaming), you will discover that there are other NIS loans taken out by various administrations which are greater, but just as ill-advised, unfortunate, and ill-fated as the Four Seasons loan.

Our NIS contributions have been meticulously and consistently raided. The unions and the employer confederation, all having representatives sitting on the NIS Board, sat back and never issued a public word of protest. Now that most of our cash has been scooped out of the fund, we find a few nitwits, nincompoops, and “mealy-mouthed mendicants” trying to suck some essence out of this unavoidable tragedy on behalf of one political party or another.

19. Caswell Franklyn September 11, 2017 at 1:49 PM #
    “Miller
    Donโ€™t allow Walter to confuse you. He has succeeded in confusing himself by pretending that he knows something about statutory interpretation, while declaring that he is not a lawyer.”

Caswell Franklyn September 10, 2017 at 9:33 AM #
    โ€œBushie
    โ€ฆ.The problem is that Carrington started at National Insurance at the top and probably didnโ€™t think that he should familiarise himself with the basics. Now an opportunity comes along for him to speak to an audience and he tells them what he knows- Nothingโ€

Caswell Franklyn September 11, 2017 at 2:04 PM #
    โ€œSimple
    Nothing I wrote in this article and in the comments is my interpretation. I am only relaying to you what is the accepted interpretation of those at NIS who do the actual work of calculating pensions. Unfortunately, Mr. Carrington started his career at NIS at the top, and apparently, he did not familiarise himself with the rules. As a result, he went before a crowd unprepared to speak on the subject of NIS pensions but that did not stop him from talking.โ€

Caswell,
    Here is another excerpt from the front page of the Nation of September 3, 2017:
    โ€˜In explaining why it was unwise to abuse the social security system, NIS director Ian Carrington said some workers took an inordinate amount of sick days only to find on retirement that their pension payments had taken a hitโ€ฆ
    โ€œSome people donโ€™t seem to ever appreciate that until they reach retirement age and then they make a big hullabaloo,โ€ he added.โ€™

If the Director of NIS is not lying, do you think that he is the one who calculates the NIS pensions and causes the retirees to make a big hullabaloo? Or is it more reasonable to assume that the cause of such hullabaloo was originated by โ€œthose at NIS who do the actual work of calculating pensionsโ€?

I am not pretending at anything. I actually said that I am not a lawyer. I actually said that I am playing the devil’s advocate on this issue. I actually said that I don’t know what the administrative practice of the NIS is on this issue. I actually wondered aloud if the phrase “paid or credited” used under the old basis, is substantially different from “paid and credited” under the new basis. I actually tried to see if there is any way, however remote, that the NIS Director’s comments could possibly make sense. I actually steered clear of maligning or ridiculing any person, their character, or their reputation.

Carry on smartly.

20. Bushie

Humphrey Walcott and Tosh Gittens started at the top too. The only difference is that they did the reverse of what the current Director is being led to do by his political bosses.

The NIS employer/employee contribution or premium is made up of several elements – for sickness benefit, injury benefit, maternity benefit, long term disability benefit and so on.

We would hardly think that actuaries for fifty years have been unable to properly distinguish between these, properly apportion funds and/or contributions

If what the Director is purported to have said is correct it would indeed be a misstatement, an imprecision. For somebody would have to be sick for a very long time and in which case the Scheme would change the benefit being received from sickness to long term disability, or …….

21. @ Pacha
    We would hardly think that actuaries for fifty years have been unable to properly distinguish between these
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss, NOTHING is beyond Bajan brass bowls.
    Think about it for a moment….

The Government takes away money from brass bowls and use it to create the NIS fund.

The SAME Government then BORROWS money from this ‘fund’ … mainly to give to their white bribers in exchange for personal favours and political patronage.

In exchange, the GOVERNMENT provides fake money in the form of ‘bonds’ (like cut plate money) to the fund.

When the shit hits the fan, the GOVERNMENT raises taxes ON THE BRASS BOWLS, in order to pay back the ‘loans borrowed to hand over to white people’

….so that the Brass bowls can get a measly little shiite pension to live like a slave …..

….a pension that he ONLY needs …BECAUSE the shiite government took away all his money in taxes, levies and NIS payments …AT LEAST TWICE… to hand over to Bizzy, COW, Jerkham and baloney…..

Only in BBBBados….

NOTHING better DEFINES a brass bowl,,,,,,

22. Bush Tea September 11, 2017 at 7:53 PM #

A very rare thing, is a square cut for six. But what you wrote was either that, or a straight drive for six, of the Clive Lloyd variety.

Powerful, clean and sure.

23. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Bush Tea at 7:53 PM

You are really something else. You have cut to the chase and pointed out the numerous times that the citizens are paying for an inadequate pension.

But that is the nature of a financial system is it not? A glorified legalised Ponzi scheme?

24. @Walter
    It was good to see you here…
    Some of us can ignore the politics and still like ya..
    Don’t be a stranger

25. Bushie

You are not a merciful task master at all

You mean yuh wan’t give us some time to contemplate the dire possibility that the compromise of the viability of the NIS could be more than a rumour, a reality to be confronted.

There was a time when the voice of the people was said to be that of The Great Ancestor

That argument would be difficult to so maintain. We are all brassbowls, then

26. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Pachamama at 10 : 09 PM

The answer to your last question is “YES”.

27. @Walter Blackman September 11, 2017 at 4:52 PM #

Why 3.75 billion new taxes? And how? 20% National Plantation Irresponsibility Tax and 10% fees to exchange Mickey-Mouse-dollars, and the island completely breaks down. Another solution is to cut the pensions and other social benefits, dividing the losses between the taxpayer and the pensioners.

28. TheGazer September 11, 2017 at 9:27 PM #
    “@Walter
    It was good to see you hereโ€ฆ
    Some of us can ignore the politics and still like ya..
    Donโ€™t be a stranger”

TheGazer,
    Thank you.
    The feeling is mutual and the equation is balanced: I can ignore all of the politics and still like some of โ€œwunnaโ€.

Tron September 12, 2017 at 6:49 PM #
    “@Walter Blackman September 11, 2017 at 4:52 PM #
    Why 3.75 billion new taxes? And how?”

Tron,
    You should start paying serious attention to the debt government owes. Whist you are doing that, keep one thing in mind โ€“ the โ€œgovernment โ€œdoesnโ€™t work anywhere. It doesnโ€™t earn anything. That debt can only be repaid one way โ€“ through the imposition of new levels of taxation on you and me.

The funny thing is that the international credit rating agencies have recognized, long before the government did, that you and I are unable to handle any further increases in taxation. Thus, we have witnessed the multiplicity of downgrades which were designed to serve as alarm bells to warn the international financial community that the government did not have the taxing ability to repay its debts.

Demographic considerations (related to increasing numbers of retiring baby boomers under NIS, and unfunded escalating civil service pensions) and other factors (massive debt repayments scheduled for 2021-2022) are tightening the noose around the governmentโ€™s neck. Something has to give. If you manage to survive a few years more, you will be one of the lucky ones to smell the โ€œsweetโ€ aroma emanating from Barbadosโ€™ first world status which Owen Arthur promised us.

Successive governments โ€œborrowedโ€ and spent $3.75 billion dollars of our hard-earned cash that we were forced to pay as social security taxes. In return, they gave us paper that cannot be spent anywhere in the universe. They know the paper is worthless. We know the paper is worthless. How do they replace this worthless paper with cash? You guessed it. They have to tax us, again.

How will they do it?
    Try peeping into the imagination and creativity of the Minister of Finance.
    Try peeping into our empty pockets.

Hopefully, you have peeped into the nature of the problem and its rapidly fading solution.

29. Walter, Thank you for your honest response!

NSRL and exchange fee are already in place, waiting for (another) increase. It will be a funny thing to watch the next government to try to cut the Gordian knot. I do not know any Alexander on this island.

30. Walter Blackman

Why don’t you address the real alternatives to higher taxation in the future — such as sales of public infrastructure assets and an expanded Citizen-by-Investment program — instead of irresponsibly stoking the fears and resentments of voters with your exaggerated warnings about unfunded civil service pensions and rising public debt.

The financial problems facing Barbados are problems widely shared among countries in the Western world that have built social welfare programs. Even the United States and Canada have these problems.

31. Chad99999 September 13, 2017 at 3:47 AM #
    “Walter Blackman

Why donโ€™t you address the real alternatives to higher taxation in the future โ€” such as sales of public infrastructure assets and an expanded Citizen-by-Investment program โ€” instead of irresponsibly stoking the fears and resentments of voters with your exaggerated warnings about unfunded civil service pensions and rising public debt”

Chad99999,
    “Shuh” fly, don’t bother me.

Bah! Humbug!

Next.

32. Walter Blackman

is another useless politician-activist masquerading as a technocrat with specialized expertise.

33. A caller to brasstacks hinted at a further amalgamation involving Cable & Wireless and another telecommunications company that would return us to a near monopoly. Mr. Robinson the NIS investment in Cable & Wireless may be even more valuable than estimated before this revelation if you fight for it.

34. @Chad,
    He is an actuary, why the personal abuse? Respect his professionalism.

35. Hal

Puh-lease. WB is not a dispassionate professional. He is a demagogue.

36. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lol….Chadster, ya got chased away like the insect ya are.

37. For a substantial part of my career, I’ve worked with actuaries in North America. All were white men. None conducted themselves like Walter Blackman. Financial professionals work under codes of ethics that emphasize OBJECTIVITY and INTEGRITY. If you understand the meaning of the OBJECTIVITY principle, you would realize how disappointing Walter’s comments are.

He reminds me of many Africans I’ve come across. They grow up in a Third World village, win a scholarship to study abroad, attend a university in the UK or the USA. They pass their exams and earn membership in an elite profession. They learn how to present themselves by observing sober, sophisticated white men.

But when they return home to the Third World, they quickly begin to feel they are entitled to lead because of their high intellect and mastery of a specialized body of knowledge. As their political ambitions grow, they lose the dignified manner they had briefly achieved by living in the Metropolis. They become snarling politicians hungry for power and capable of anything.

38. @WB
    very well outlined. “Try peeping into the imagination and creativity of the Minister of Finance”, he and/or his advisers, have been exceedingly creative. Unsure it is in Bim’s better interest, but he keeps finding a way to stay afloat.

39. @Chad99999 September 13, 2017 at 6:00 AM “WB is not a dispassionate professional. He is a demagogue.”

Looka who calling somebody a demagogue.

Chadx5 the biggest nastyess demagogue on BU.

40. @ Chad
    For a substantial part of my career, Iโ€™ve worked with actuaries in North America. All were white men. None conducted themselves like Walter Blackman….
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    You are giving us too much information…

It makes it far to easy to grasp your albino centric disposition and why you think that the world revolves around what white men think and do…
    …and BTW … IT DOES – which is why we are all collectively on our way to Hell in a dung basket.

That Walter Blackman conducts himself OTHERWISE, is the thing that attracted him to Bushie as a possible LEADER of a movement of people who were seeking an ALTERNATIVE route in life besides your albino-centric path to certain damnation and death…

Lo and behold, WB listens to one BB BU Sage called ‘Enuff’ …and falls into an even WORSE trap than your ‘white-man centred’ world of wickedness…. namely, the Bunch of Black Bajan Brass Bowl Bums called the BDLP Political Parties…

…all Walter needed to do was to wake-up Caswell….BUP…… ๐Ÿ™‚

41. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Chadster can’t help but show his true ghetto rat colors, no matter how many white asses he licked or tried to emulate.

42. Chad99999

Obviously, you do not know Walter Blackman, youโ€™re probably jealous of his achievements and his intelligence makes you aware of your short comings.

For you to suggest that Walter learned how to present himself โ€œby observing sober, sophisticated white men,โ€ is not only insulting, but indicative of a character that is going through an โ€œidentity crisis.โ€

You are essentially implying that for black people to make any significant achievements in life, they must emulate โ€œsober, sophisticated white men.โ€

Your comment โ€œharrows me with such fear and wonderโ€ to the extent that I donโ€™t know how to respond appropriately.

Walter Blackman and Dr. Don Marshall, in my opinion, are role modelsโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. men to be emulated.

However, I am disappointed they have become associated with political parties.

43. Art

I’m not envious of anyone. Certainly not Walter Blackman.

You will accuse me of boasting, but when it comes to academic work, I’ve never come across more than one or two West Indians with higher aptitude test scores than me. I’m sure there are more than that out there but they are few and far between.

God bless. LOL.

44. Not supporting Chad’s insensitive remarks but Walter deserves some lashes for abandoning the masses in their now darkest hour and pandering to the political class.

45. @ Chad
    …. Iโ€™ve never come across more than one or two West Indians with higher aptitude test scores than me…
    You may need to get out some more…. ๐Ÿ™‚

BTW…
    Who is the other possible one one…..???

46. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Chadster got daddy issues….men like Jeff and Walter threatens his fantasy about himself , one or both of them resembles his daddy,, what aptitute what.

47. charles skeete September 15, 2017 at 5:56 AM #
    “Walter deserves some lashes for abandoning the masses in their now darkest hour …….”

charles skeete,
    I am going to use your comments to highlight an attitudinal deficiency that we, as Bajans, must pay serious attention to, if we are going to make progress as a people. I will do so in question form.

Since your brain or your conscience seems to be telling you that Walter Blackman was championing the cause of the masses at some point before he abandoned them, can you cite one example, just one, where you wrote anything on BU like: “Walter deserves some credit for representing the interests of the masses”?

Please remember that it is a simple question, requiring a “yes” or “no” answer. There is no need to get angry or to use slavery as an excuse.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Walter Blackman September 15, 2017 at 7:33 AM

Mc Milton, forget about the โ€˜niggardlyโ€™ niggling irritation of intellectual inconvenience from both Chad the mixed-up maverick and charles skeete formerly “balance”.

However, you cannot escape or purposely evade the most poignant question raised on this blog by the same Chad the 9×5 the bane of many on BU.

How else can the government of Barbados meet its statutory obligations to the NIS other than by way of taxing of an already overtaxed population?

As a student of economics yourself, albeit inchoate in advancement, you must be aware of the potential of the socio-economic impact of the Laws of Diminishing Returns on which the must recently debated and dismissed Laffer Curve hypothesis is based.

Clearly, Chadโ€™s suggestion of liquidating State-owned and managed commercial assets does have some merit worthy of further discussion instead of your off-handed dismissal of โ€˜Shoo fly, donโ€™t bother Brโ€™er Walterโ€™ in true Uncle Remus style.

Why wait until the IMF puts the GAIA and its likes on the international auction block when fees and commissions would be a significant deduction from the final amount from the final proceeds accruing to the bankrupt country called โ€œBroke Buybadosโ€?

Similar recommendations of timely disinvestment were made to your administration in the early days of its fiscal crisis when indeed the hemorrhaging of tax payersโ€™ dollars by the millions was in its early stage.

But they were deftly dismissed since an easy road of a shortcut to the NIS reserves was there for the taking like a childโ€™s easily broken piggybank.

Now you can both see and feel the impact of such fiscal shortsightedness with serious ramifications for the future integrity and viability of the same NIS.

So why not immediately divest the ownership of the GAIA in order to settle the debts owed to the NIS?

Why wait until the same commercial entity is forced to sell to a foreign entity just for a mess of forex pottage as happened with the BNB, BL&P and about to happen to the BNTCL and Hilton Hotel; but not the CBC?

Clearly your administration can have no politically-based objections to such a proposal since, if memory serves well, the MoF in his 2012 (could be the 2011) budget presentation proposed to put on the market at least 30 % of the GAIA shares for โ€˜privateโ€™ take-up as a means of dealing with the ballooning fiscal challenges of that time and which have now reached a stage of having a financial impact of nuclear proportion in the coming year.

49. Walter

When you represent the masses, you do so at your own peril. Accolades or a simple thank you are few and far between. This is Barbados; don’t expect them and if they come, acknowledge them and move on. The politicians understand that and that is why they are mostly self-serving and don’t give a damn about anything but their Range Rovers and things like that.

50. millertheanunnaki September 15, 2017 at 9:06 AM #
    โ€œ@ Walter Blackman September 15, 2017 at 7:33 AM
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆClearly, Chadโ€™s suggestion of liquidating State-owned and managed commercial assets does have some merit worthy of further discussion instead of your off-handed dismissal of โ€˜Shoo fly, donโ€™t bother Brโ€™er Walterโ€™ in true Uncle Remus styleโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ…

Clearly your administration can have no politically-based objections to such a proposal โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€

Millertheanunnaki,
    I am going to humour you.

Nowhere in the universe do I hold any position in a political party or national government.

Yet, paradoxically, the Walter Blackman administration has taken a look at the various divestment proposals being bandied about at this time.

At a cabinet meeting held on Thursday, September 13th, 2017, the Blackman Administration made and documented the following observations:
    1. For many years, taxpayers whose names go on pay sheets have shouldered a disproportionately large amount of the tax burden in Barbados. Government assets were acquired with their hard-earned money, and if these assets are to be divested, these taxpayers should be the first in line to own them. However, the administration recognizes that whereas these workers have saved billions of Barbadian dollars in the local banking system, they are immediately disqualified because foreign currency, not the Barbadian dollar, is king.
    2. Institutions that create opportunities for broad based ownership, such as credit unions, pension funds, and the NIS, ought to be given priority status as buyers. However, the administration recognizes that these institutions are immediately disqualified because they have been inhibited or discouraged, for one reason or another, from accumulating foreign exchange.
    3. Wealthy nationals, who have done their utmost to avoid paying taxes to the government of Barbados, and so-called foreign investors with shady or criminal backgrounds, are the ones most likely to benefit from a divestment program.

Given these observations, the Walter Blackman administration has decided that, in the interest of Barbadians and the future of Barbados, divestment will not be considered at this point in time. Such divestment will only occur after structures have been put in place to allow Barbadians and broad based institutions to acquire national assets.

The administration also noted that national assets were divested in the early 1990โ€™s. We are faced with a more dire situation now, so clearly that divestment program did not provide a long-term solution.
    That said, alternative approaches to solving the countryโ€™s financial crisis must now be considered.
    Stay tuned for further developments.