Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

The Government needs tax revenue in order that we may all benefit from Government managed health, education, road maintenance, police, fire, and other services.ย  Therefore, we should all pay our taxes.ย  If we do not pay our taxes, then the Government must unfairly burden another group with additional taxes to make up the difference โ€“ this group is normally the middle-class.ย  The alternative is to restrict the provision of these services.

Those who refuse to pay taxes compete unfairly in Barbadosโ€™ economy, since they can offer their products at a lower cost than their tax-paying competitors.ย  In an attempt to reduce the unfairness in the system, the Government has insisted that tax-clearance certificates, which prove that all taxes have been paid, must be obtained in order to participate in certain sectors of Barbadosโ€™ economy.

The Minister of Finance must be commended for this attempt to ensure fairness in Barbadosโ€™ economy, because a fair economy facilitates economic growth, which can help to solve our now dire economic problems.ย  Since we can all benefit from a growing economy, I hope that the Ministry of Finance will seriously consider this improvement to his initiative.

Those who owe the Government taxes fall into one of two categories: those who have the money to pay, and those who do not.ย  The tax-clearance requirement is an appropriate response to those who have the capacity to pay, but choose not to.ย  However, this requirement can harm the national economy by closing highly competent and competitive businesses, who do not have the capacity to pay. The obvious question is: if they are so competent and competitive, why canโ€™t they pay their taxes?ย  Let me try to explain.

A fair economy is one where everyone has an equal opportunity to participate.ย  This means that Government contracts are open to all Barbadian companies, and the winner is selected by competitive tender.ย  The national economy becomes corrupted when Government contracts are given to persons and companies who fund political campaigns.

There has always been a sub-set of Barbadosโ€™ economy called the โ€˜political economyโ€™, which is reserved for persons who fund political campaigns and expect Government contracts in return.ย  It is generally understood by all experienced persons in the market-place, that a few โ€˜berriesโ€™ must be reserved for โ€˜the boysโ€™. Once this corrupt political economy remains small, then its impact on the national economy is negligible.ย  However, there is a tipping point when the size of the political economy grows to negatively affect the national economy.

Barbados passed that tipping point decades ago.ย  The likely time was identified by Moodyโ€™s 2009 downgrade report as 20 years ago.ย  To be charitable, politicians may be oblivious to the damage that distributing these โ€˜berriesโ€™ has on the national economy.ย  Ironically, the damage that they are inflicting on the national economy today, will result in a future Government being unable to pay their lucrative lifetime pensions later.

Those who are given no-bid Government contracts do not need to attend to their professional development, unlike their competitors who must compete in the market-place.ย  Those shielded from competition tend to become the least competent, and the least likely to successfully compete in Barbadosโ€™ economy.ย  The damage to Barbadosโ€™ economy is measureable when these less competent companies provide substandard products (goods and services), which require unnecessarily frequent maintenance and premature replacement.

When the replacement work is given to another politically favoured company that is protected from competition, then the public may pay many times over for the same product.ย  Taxpayers generally hope to be unburdened from this inefficient wastage when the political party is finally voted out of Government.ย  However, such hopes are normally dashed when the incoming political party interprets their win as simply their turn at the trough.ย  Be assured that a Solutions Barbados administration will definitely not continue this practise.

When Government decides who wins in Barbadosโ€™ economy, it automatically decides who loses.ย  By repeatedly choosing the most incompetent companies as winners, and the most competent as losers, the Government does significant damage to the national economy that can take over a decade to repair.ย  For those entrusted to carefully manage our national economy, to treat it with such damaging recklessness is highly irresponsible.

Since Barbadosโ€™ economy is not fair and has become corrupted, it is entirely reasonable for the Government to demand tax-clearance certificates from those whom it has sheltered from competitors and given no-bid contracts.ย  However, many companies that the Government has declared to be losers simply cannot afford to pay the taxes owed, for the simple reason that the Government has limited their participation in the national economy.ย  It is unconscionable that the Government would now demand tax-clearance certificates from them.
The Government needs tax revenues, but it has corrupted Barbadosโ€™ economy to the point where it has been structurally damaged for the past 20 years.ย  Fortunately, the Government can easily make things right.

First, it can demand taxes from all of those whom it declared to be winners in Barbadosโ€™ economy.ย  Second, it can abolish the practice of handing no-bid contracts (or berries) to political supporters.ย  Third, it can declare a general forgiveness of all taxes owed to Government for those it has automatically declared to be losers.ย  Only then can the Minister of Finance reasonably demand tax-clearance certificates from everyone.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

107 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Berries for the Boys”

1. Bajan Free Party/CUP/.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Bajan Free Party/CUP/.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

First thing need to be done is to go after all the near 400 million government Ministers loan to self, friends, and family,
    Next, find out who stole 140 homes from NHC and claim them from the Fraud,
    3rd find out if the 500 million missing from NHC is part of the housing or is it extra cash also gone missing,
    4th Go
    after the other loans, business and others who have not paid back which is also a few 100$ Millions
    5th, Audit All government departments to see who thief what.
    Audit the land records and to make sure all the land taken over the years from rightful land owners are paid,
    Make sure that People have Clear Land Titles and deal with the crook ass lawyers
    6th. this time around we must have a lawyer free government , more lawyer more problems.
    7th, DLP and BLP must be removed,
    8th Audit all banks and Ministers who sign fraud papers and Cahill , Sam Lords, 4 seasons and the rest,
    9th look out for Back up parties for the DBLP fraud and spies like SB.

2. โ€œOnce this corrupt political economy remains small, then its impact on the national economy is negligible. However, there is a tipping point when the size of the political economy grows to negatively affect the national economy.โ€

โ€œBarbados passed that tipping point decades ago. The LIKELY TIME was IDENTIFIED by Moodyโ€™s 2009 downgrade report AS 20 YEARS AGO.โ€

@ SB

Twenty-years (20) ago would put us in the year 1997 and, as we are aware, this is within the 14 year time period (1994 โ€“ 2008) of the former BLP administration.

Is Solutions Barbados suggesting that the awarding of government contracts โ€œto persons and companies who fund political campaignsโ€ became prevalent and widespread specifically in 1997?

Solutions Barbados presents itself as an alternative political party, independent of the BLP & DLP. However, it appears as though SB has a specific agenda, especially when, in its last two articles, the leader sought to apportion the blame for the islandโ€™s precarious economic situation and corruption on a particular political party.

This agenda became clearer last night during VOBโ€™s after budget discussion, when the moderator, David Ellis, asked Grenville Phillips to share his thoughts on the just concluded Budget presentation. I was appalled when Phillips told Ellis that he did not have a chance to listen to the Budget speech and he then proceeded to cast blame on a particular political party.

Bearing in mind that the Budget date was announced weeks ago, Phillips or someone acting on SBโ€™s behalf should have listened to the Budget, prepare themselves to participate in any discussion to advance the partyโ€™s perspective on issues arising from the Budget and offer alternative solutions.

This is unacceptable and indicative of a political party and its leader that are not at all serious, but involved in the political process to advance a specific agenda.

3. โ€œBarbados passed that tipping point decades ago. The likely time was identified by Moodyโ€™s 2009 downgrade report as 20 years ago.โ€

@ SB

I read two 2009 Moodyโ€™s reports:

Moodyโ€™s places Barbadosโ€™ Ratings on Review for Possible Downgrade [May 14, 2009]
    Moodyโ€™s Downgrades Barbadosโ€™ Ratings [October 13, 2009]

Could you please indicate in which of the above reports Moodyโ€™s relates to your above comments?

4. Artax

Dont bother yourself with SB……..he has only swan song………attack the BLP, every ill befalling Barbados is the BLP’s fault…..has nothing to do with nine years of mismanagement by a group of wild boys who knew how to win elections but not how to govern.

The dems took the national debt from 5.9 billion in 2007 to 13 billion in 2017………..yet everything is the BLP’s fault.

5. Artax:

I blame both parties. However it was the BLP who took us past the 40% GDP debt limit that the IMF said that we should not cross to a reckless 90% of GDP. The DLP then took us to the current 144.7% GDP.

The 13 Oct 2009 Moodyโ€™ report states.

“Barbados’ key debt indicators have been on a deteriorating path over the past decade, and are now at levels that compare poorly with other countries in the same rating category,” said Moody’s Vice President โ€“ Senior Analyst Alessandra Alecci. “While the global crisis has clearly exacerbated this trend, the worsening of debt indicators over a long period of time suggests that structural issues are at play.”

โ€œThese include a steady increase in expenditures, including off-budget, as revenues have remained at roughly the same level in terms of GDP.โ€

To my knowledge, Clyde Mascoll was the only person in Barbados who was warning us of these โ€œoff budgetโ€ no-bid contracts being awarded. I believe that he deserves hero status for his brave warnings. Unfortunately no one seemed to take him seriously โ€“ except the Prime Minister. Why, because the Prime Minister appeared to be simply borrowing and spending money, as if there were no tomorrow when we would be required to repay these debts.

Mascoll is now claiming that the BLP debts were good debts. The only good debts are those below the safety of 40% GDP. Now Artax and Prodigal, please answer the following question:

Who do you think should be blamed for spiralling the Barbados economy out of sustainable control?

Best regards,
    Grenville

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

If Mia is really serious aboutinvestigating and lockingbup these cirrupt ministers, sge is wirth a listen to, she owes the people and country that much, getting rid of the corruption…stopping permanently, the Maloneys, Cow, Bizzys, Del Mastros, Bjerkham’s Tempos etc from bottom feeding off the blood and lives of the people….she owes the people that much..

“Dirty hands
    Mottley claims PMโ€™s hands not clean in Cahill affair

Added by Emmanuel Joseph on June 1, 2017.
    Saved under Budget, Politics
    The controversial Cahill waste-to-energy project was thrust back into the limelight Wednesday afternoon when Opposition Leader Mia Mottley charged that Prime Minister Freundel Stuartโ€™s hands were not clean in this matter, after all.

In fact, in presenting a scathing three-hour response to the equally lengthy 2017 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals presented Tuesday by Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, Mottley placed corruption back on the front burner as a potential campaign issue as the country heads into a general election campaign.

In seeking to wrap the messy Cahill cloak around Stuart, the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) leader produced documents purportedly showing that the Prime Minister had been an integral part of the failed $700 million project from the very beginning, contrary to earlier perception.

Mottley noted that a number of Cabinet ministers, specifically Sinckler, Minister of the Environment Dr Denis Lowe, Minister of Housing Denis Kellman and Minister of Energy Senator Darcy Boyce, had been in the spotlight as having signed the agreement with the Guernsey-based Cahill Energy for the plasma gasification plant in Vaucluse, St Thomas, apparently without the Prime Ministerโ€™s knowledge.

However, she said she had proof that Stuart was actually the first person to approve the agreement dating back to September 13, 2013.

In May last year, the BLP leader had told Parliament during the Opposition-instigated no confidence motion, that if the Prime Minister had signed the agreement, he had an obligation to clarify the matter because it committed the people of Barbados to a long term debt, amounting to as much as $4 billion.

Tonight she was certain he had been involved in the project, which came to a screeching halt last year in the wake of protest by Barbadians, uncertainty over its funding, and developments in London, the United Kingdom and other places, which had revealed that waste to energy operations and plasma gasification projects had shown up significant flaws.

โ€œTo this date, the ministers and Cabinet of Barbados will not share with the country the contracts that were signed in their names,โ€ Mottley said.

โ€œThose who commit this country to multi-year liabilities like this [Cahill deal] $4.7 billion in liabilities . . . and if you think that Cahill is gone, asked them about the company that wants to buy Cahill and bring another form of waste to energy to Barbados for which the Government of Barbados is still obligated under this power purchase agreement signed by those four ministers to buy the power at kilowatt hour that they have agreed to,โ€ the Opposition Leader told Parliament.”

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Grenville…bottom line, this current government was handed a mandate by the people, teice, 2008 and 2013, they promised to undo the damage done by BLP.., they had nearly 10 years to do so and failed, they promised all types of things to be elected, never delivered, they made the economy worse, many of the ministers obviouly engaged in corruption and massive thefts…MIA needs to expose it all to be even considered as the next PM, because you obviously cannot.

The government is very obviously the problem and not the solution.

Try thinking critically.

8. I agree that we should pay our taxes. But the Government must also be held accountable for spending taxpayersโ€™ money wisely, e.g. it must provide prompt, clear and comprehensive answers to the questions or issues raised in the Auditor Generalโ€™s Reports (AGR). And a Government Minister (GM) should be banned from holding any Ministry if the GM does not respond to AGR; or their answers are unsatisfactory.

9. “Grenville

Do we need t go pass evaluating based on ratios handed to us (40%) and as a sovereign country create a model for ourselves to establish what is the carry capacity of debt based on KPIs? We can do this cant we? This becomes constructive if done with the participation of the social partnership.

10. @ Solutions Barbados

I blame BOTH political parties.

Mentioning: โ€œThe only good debts are those below the safety of 40% GDP,โ€ is very simplistic and clearly indicative of an individual who is not au fait with economic issues. Yet you want to challenge Dr. Mascoll who has a PhD in economics. Similarly, Dr. Mascoll challenging you in matters of engineering would be a futile attempt.

You must first ascertain the reasons why the debt was incurred. If it is debt for productive purposes, which would SPUR economic growth in the long-run and yield sufficient income to pay the principal amount and the interest on the debt. Or if for unproductive purposes, such as financing welfare programmes.

A country can borrow from the international market only if it has the capacity to repay. To be fair to the BLP, between 1997 and 2006, for example, the then administration borrowed to purchase a total of 305 omnibuses for the Transport Board and for infrastructural development.

As it relates to the excerpt from Moodyโ€™s report, you are essentially implying Moodyโ€™s report said the corrupt political economyโ€ led to the increase in debt to GDP levels.

Perhaps you may want to help me identify where in the excerpt suggests the โ€œcorrupt political economyโ€ (which you described as being โ€œreserved for persons who fund political campaigns and expect Government contracts in return),โ€ grew to โ€œnegatively affect the national economy?โ€

This is an disingenuous attempt whereby you sought to use an official report to justify your personal opinion.

Rather than assuming the role of principal spokesperson on all matters for Solutions Barbados, you should solicit the assistance of individuals who are versed in the areas you want to discuss.

11. Armando Rodriguez Avatar
    Armando Rodriguez

Grenville

We are not hearing or seeing your candidates, have they withdrawn?

12. William Skinner Avatar

“Do we need t go pass evaluating based on ratios handed to us (40%) and as a sovereign country create a model for ourselves to establish what is the carry capacity of debt based on KPIs? We can do this cant we? This becomes constructive if done with the participation of the social partnership.”

So if you are saying : “as a sovereign country create a model for ourselves……’ Why are you always using the Moody Reports/Standard and Poor downgrades as being so vitally important?

Just asking

Not defending anybody’s economic policies be they BLP DLP Or SB.

By now you and others should realise that following foreign ideas and solutions has brought us here.

Good to know that you are finally seeing the light !!!

13. Who is the Solutions Barbados economic spokesperson? The idea of a 40% debt to GDP ratio as the only acceptable ratio is so simple it is silly. ‘Good’ debt, such as infrastructural debt, across generations is good debt. We have known that for about 70 years, ie the Marshall Plan. It was only under Gordon Brown that Britain cleared its Marshall Plan debt to the US.
    It is because of the naivety of the narrative surrounding the economy, and Sinckler’s economic illiteracy that the debate is not worth the time.
    But Solutions Barbados also has other questions to answer: would a future SB government reduce the age of majority to 16? Would it clear the slums of Bridgetown and build decent homes? Would it reform our educational system, and if so how? Would it reform the court system, criminal and civil? Wold it reform the Senate?
    We can go on for ages on this, but this will do for nothing.

14. @William

It is for the same reason the question was posed. In the absence of a workable repected indigenous model what else is there to go with but Moody’s and S&P?

15. How about simple common sense ?

Barbados is in trouble because of continuous gross mismanagement of the country over the last 20 years.

Continuous borrowing and spending to mimic a North American lifestyle is not “management”.

16. Hants

Correction: For all of our 50 years of independence we have been in debt – under both governments.
    Give you a simple, but current example: all our trade unions have been calling for pay increases. Has any ever presented an economic case for a pay rise? Where are our labour economists? Sentiment is one thing, evidence-based proposals are another.

17. Grenville is wasting his time dealing with these technical matters such as debt to GDP ratio, specific responses to legal issues etc….

It is obvious that such matters are best left to technocrats who have the expertise and time to bounce the various options around and to derive a best possible position.
    This is an OPERATIONAL process, not one of national policy.

Mia has upstaged the new political parties by grabbing the OBVIOUS agenda (which thieving David Thompson also grabbed) of Integrity and transparency. That she has committed the BLP to serious independent investigation of fraud ON ALL SIDES OF THE POLITICAL DIVIDE – AT HIGH AND LOW LEVELS – takes her to the top of the class in one fell swoop.

Having missed this boat (that Bushie had recommended for him from day one), Grenville could now best relax and get back to his money-making engineering pursuits…..

Mia is no saint (probably almost to the extent that stinking Bushie is not), but NONE OF US BRASS BOWLS ARE…. so for her to take such a bold, public, RIGHTEOUS, political position is even more impressive than if it had been done by a ‘goody-two-shoes’ like Grenville.

Her bold call for our dishonest and clearly incompetent PM to go away comes 4 years late, but is refreshing none the less…. She also needed to be equally stringent about his sanction after the Speaker of the House turned out to be a court-determined crook….

Had she taken such a stand immediately after the last elections, she would have saved this country millions of dollars in DLP idiocy, and cemented (pun intended) herself as the natural successor of the Dipper…..

18. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

I had never given up on you my brother….I knew commonsense would prevail….up and on.

19. @ Vincent
    There may indeed be a subset of positions where you and Bushie may intersect.
    Rest assured however, that this is the exception, rather than any rule.

Bushie is no Mia fan, … the bushman is a fan of TRUTH, righteousness and Godliness. Where your philosophy, or lack thereof, may occasionally intersect with this, we can ‘gree like two peas in a pod….

On all other occasions, it will be the whacker in your old donkey.
    …so you you could as well leave out the sweet talk….. ๐Ÿ™‚

20. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Chuckle……wuh wrong wid yuh now…..ah gi yuh a pat pon de back fuh dis one…..dah doan mean yuh ain still a misogynist…lol.

21. Let Grenville know that not listening to the Budget speech is one thing but not being in a position to offer his analysis of the content of the speech is another,Grenville has been caught asleep on the job.A boy attempting to do a man’s job.You won’t get my endorsement.Further I agree with Hal Austin’s assessment that not all debt is bad.Debt incurred in building my home which took 25 years to be repaid whilst maintaining the plant has provided the asset I now call mine and as ordained by Barrow,her ladyship’s claim of 50% without contributing one blind cent eithertowards the construction or the maintenance these many years.

22. Bajan Free Party/CUP/.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Bajan Free Party/CUP/.Violet Beckles Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

54 Comments on โ€œDraft Estimates 2014-2015โ€

PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad March 12, 2014 at 12:45 AM #

http://epaper.barbadostoday.bb/ page 8 BARBADOS TODAY.
    Is the MOF now getting PLANTATION DEEDS , MESSAGE THE NON LAWYER? PAGE 8 , TOO LARGE. Did he now say no CLEAR TITLES?
    No CLEAR TITLES for CATS CASTLE,GREENFIELD, GARDEN LANDS,THE CITY,ALLEN VIEW, Well, Well, we can clear them and then they can spend 60Million,We can clear FOUR SEASONS A, HIGH COURT ALSO, From Beatrice Henry, to Violet Beckles , to Plantation Deeds .
    Lets clear title all deeds and put Barbados to work

23. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ William skinner at 7:43 AM

David saw the light ever since Adam was a lad. He and Vincent like to play Devil’s advocate ; as if the Devil needs any help..

24. angela Skeete Avatar

Really Really when the economy serking solutions the blp talking about corruption. Bring it on fools.

25. Artax:

So you blame both parties. Well, please explain, in detail, what you blame the BLP for.

Best regards,
    Grenville

26. David June 1, 2017 at 6:36 AM #

โ€œDo we need t go pass evaluating based on ratios handed to us (40%) and as a sovereign country create a model for ourselves to establish what is the carry capacity of debt based on KPIs?โ€

An excellent question.

The Caribbean comprise of islands whose economies have similar characteristics and sustain similar adverse effects as a result of extra-regional recessions.

Similarly to how European Union or the USA, for example, develop economic policies that are compatible with their economies, CARICOM should have used the inter-regional experiences of the recent global recession to analyse these economic similarities and develop policies compatible with our socio-economic environment as one economic community rather than individualistically.

For example, we could develop a Caribbean threshold for debt to GDP ratio; a Caribbean Central Bank or the Caribbean Development Bank could be restructured to become the Caribbeanโ€™s version of the IMF.

Rather than operating on the basis of โ€œevery island breking for itself, as Caribbean Union we could force the international rating and financial agencies to negotiate and compromise based on our terms, instead of terms developed for the European Union, for example.

These are the types of issues CARICOM should be addressing instead of emphasizing free movement within the Caribbean, without considering that policyโ€™s social and economic implications.

We would need to move away from the individualistic and insular approach of Caribbean islands as is currently undertaken with LIAT and West Indies cricket.

27. angela Skeete Avatar

But Mia cant fool nobody .it is obvious to a blind man on a trotting horse that Mia has no answers to the high debt that started under the blp and has balloned because of revolving interest rates and other mitigating factors alligned to the economy
    Yesterday i query as to how Mia would bob annd weave in avoidance to tackling and bringing meaningful solutions
    Needless to say i am not surprise that having nothing of worthiness she uses the floors of parliament to grandstand and gamble on an issue that never made the light of day but hoping against hope that the Cahill issue would be enough to generate anger and outrage against govt.which will never happen given that the Cahill issue did not help or make a difference in giving a win to the blp
    The blp should now be aware that repeating the same mistake over again is a reflection of a party that has lost its way and demonstrated by a leader having no guts no intestinal fortitude and having no winning strategy

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ GrenvilleJune 1, 2017 at 10:32 AM

Why don’t you heed Bushie’s advice and keep doing what you are ‘technically good’ at?

Owen Arthur has already cried โ€˜mea culpaโ€™ and has accepted total responsibility for all the things that went wrong under his 14 year administration.

That is a characteristic of good leadership. But it seems you have either not yet inculcated or are graciously endowed with similar traits.

Up to now you have refused to โ€˜recantโ€™ your position that the BLP left office with the national debt of $9 billion. You know that is misleadingly false but for your hubristic arrogance refuses to correct yourself.

You are still stubbornly persisting in true Bajan โ€˜bull-cowโ€™ manner in trying to foist your morality menu down the throats of adults about what they can do or watch in the privacy of their homes.

But here is a word of friendly advice: It will not work because the people of Barbados of which 70% are insane and perverted in your assessment will NOT be voting for you or your socially insulated colleagues.

Best regards
    J. Miller

29. Grenville June 1, 2017 at 10:32 AM #

โ€œSo you blame both parties. Well, please explain, in detail, what you blame the BLP for.โ€

@ Grenville

There you go againโ€ฆ. apportioning blame to a specific political party.

I mentioned BOTH political parties and rather than you asking me to โ€œexplain, in detail, what (I) blame the BLP (and DLP) for,โ€ you specifically asked about the BLP.

For you to come and attack one particular political party raises questions in my mind about the seriousness and authenticity of your political intensions. You hold the BLP responsible for initially placing the island on a โ€œpath to economic ruin,โ€ yet you are prepared give the DLP a pass for continuing on that same path.

In other words, you are essentially implying if the BLP did not create the path, the DLP would not have been able to follow. But is this not indicative that the DLP is equally as stupid and irresponsible, since they did not have the โ€œintellectual capacityโ€ to divert?

However, I will not engage in an economic debate with you, because you have clearly indicated your knowledge of economic issues is extremely limited and your interpretation of economic data is โ€œsimplistically self opinionated.โ€

Additionally, if you refute theory presented by Dr. Clyde Mascoll who has a PhD in economics, a man such as me who only has a BSc in the subject, will not be any match for you.

In my opinion, which is primarily based on your writings, it seems as though you have a specific political agenda, perhaps similar to that of PDCโ€™s Mark Adamson and political rejects like David Gill and Wendell Callender.

30. angela Skeete Avatar

A feveloping country cannot be run on hot air is what Mia stood up in Parliament and delvered based on proposals tied to govt expansion and further explosion of govt debt
    What Mia did not state is how she would financed many of these pork barrel proposals she eloquently spoke about.

31. Artax
    Stop wasting your time with Grenville, he epitomises someone who takes themselves too seriously. He knows very well the projects funded by the borrowing. He should tell BU if he benefited directly from some of the same projects?

32. angela Skeete Avatar

The fact that Grenville bothers the blp yardfowls so much means he is telling a truth that the blp yardfowls would rather not want to be ever heard or said during an election cyvle.
    The answers to what Grenville is stating lies in the fact that OSA and Mia Mottley answers have been both in agreement on how to solve the nation economic woes bothbstating thst Privatisation and the IMF are the best for solutions. Unfortunstely for both of them the nations appetite is not palatable to those solutions. Hence we see Mia at the eleventh hour drawing the corruption card a card like other past blpb strategies would not help the blp to win

33. Somebody said when the present state of the economy calls for solutions,Mia Mottley is talking about corruption.

Ban-ki-Moon is quoted as saying”When desperately needed development funds are stolen by corrupt individuals and institutions,poor and vulnerable people are robbed of their education,healthcare and other essential services”.

34. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Corruption destroys economies and lives, the thieves of parliament see it as a sport, and as they are tricking the people and getting away with something, if anyone dare speak out against their actions, these same thieves will scream, libel, slander and defamation to cover their tracks and crimes, but corruption is very destructive.

35. angela Skeete Avatar

Mia bombas yesterday speaks of desperation.Yesterday at the right moment and time being given an opportunity
    to demonstrate her leadership skills towards good goverance.
    Instead she choose a road driven by political immaturity and indiscipline tendencies

36. @Artax June 1, 2017 at 10:38 AM #

“For example, we could develop a Caribbean threshold for debt to GDP ratio; a Caribbean Central Bank or the Caribbean Development Bank could be restructured to become the Caribbeanโ€™s version of the IMF”.
    ……………………………………………………….

Do you know whatever became of the 30 million US dollars that this government “invested” into a development bank somewhere in Central America….cant remember if Brazil or Columbia?

This money was supposed to be the investment on which the morons said that they could borrow from after they had exhausted every other source. The constant downgrades made it impossible for them to borrow on the world market.

The minister should really explain to the taxpayers whatever became of that money which I seem to remember was guaranteed by CIBCFC.

37. Contributors discussing Solutions Barbados’ article and the shiite fish, DLP yard-fowl Angela (Cox AC) Skeete is misusing the forum to flog her favourite hobby horse, Mia Mottley.

You remind of the Cranberries’ song “Zombie,” just replace “zombie” with Mottley.

In your head, in your head,
    Mottley, Mottley, Mottley-ie-ie
    What’s in your head, in your head
    Mottley, Mottley, Mottley-ie-ie… oh

Shiite, if Mottley wins the next election, the yard-fowl may have to seek psychiatric help lest she commits suicide.

David BU PROVIDED a forum specifically for the Budget, use it, nuh.

38. angela Skeete Avatar

I have said before and i will say again that Mia has surrounded and allowed the blp to be taken over by self interest people people having no allegiance to country.Mia performance in Parliament yesterday was an illustration of the inflitrators lust for control while supposedly giving the people an earful of political jobby even at the risk of Mi a character ripped apart by those within her ministry
    One could have heard the loud steupse when mention of an issue Cahill which carries no political weight or gain for the country was brought up once again in parliament
    Those who are advising Mia better be ware that the path of corruption which Mia has entered can be one which she will forever wished she had not entered.
    I am most certain Grantley Admas rolled over and said WTF after yesterday campagain speech

39. Artax

AS reminds me of a man called the Taximan who called brasstacks daily to lambaste the BLP prior to 2008.

I asked Brasstacks via email if they knew what had become of him……..David Ellis reported that he had indeed seen him and he is so ashamed of the DLP that he was keeping quiet.

At least he has a conscience………….

The ac’s cannot discuss issues, they deal in personal attacks.

40. Well Well: Once you take your debt past 40% of GDP it becomes unsustainable. Why canโ€™t you admit that what the BLP did was reckless? The DLPโ€™s main failing is their unwillingness to listen to good advice. They keep accepting the worst advice to address the economy.

Tony: Yours is a useful suggestion. I believe that Government politicians should not qualify for pensions if they left the country in a worse economic position than how they found it โ€“ measured by debt to GDP.

David: Every country has a different debt carrying capacity. Some can carry debts and devalue at 90% of GDP while others can hold out to 130% of GDP. However, regardless of when the devaluation occurs in sovereign countries, all developing countries have a debt tipping point, and that is 40% of GDP. The BLP recklessly crossed that line, while arrogantly deciding that we, as a sovereign nation, were immune from international standards. The DLP embraced a similar arrogance with their proven failed home-grown solutions.

Armando: We were going to release a further 6 candidates this week to bring us up to 20. However, we will do so next week once the budget debates have ended.

Hal: Just before a country devalues, it normally claims that the IMF standards are unreasonable, silly, irrelevant, etc, just like how you are doing. Then the country devalues, the people suffer, and there is weeping and gnashing of teeth against persons like yourself, who claimed that international standards were silly. However, persons like yourself are normally far away from masses suffering from your bad advice.

On your questions. We will not reduce the age to 16; we will build decent housing for people and allow them to purchase not rent; we will reform the educational system (see our website for details); we will reform the court system (see our website for details); and the Senate will comprise non-partisan experts.

Bush: Each side has been accusing the other of corruption for decades, even waving the incontrovertible evidence to a gullible public. But they never did anything about it. If she were serious, she would carry any evidence of wrong doing to the police, or DPP so that the evidence can be evaluated and charges can be brought. Do you really believe that she will actually do anything if given the chance?

Gabriel: I am sure that you are aware that there are bank standards to specify the amount of debt you qualify for. Well, for your information, there are similar standards for developing and developed countries.

Miller: The IMF noted that the BLP left us $9B in debt. Where are you getting your figures from? Please provide evidence of PM Arthur admitting that he took Barbadosโ€™ debt to an unsustainable 90% of GDP.

Artax: I thought so. I have repeatedly stated that both the BLP and the DLP have grossly mismanaged Barbadosโ€™ economy and are both incompetent to take the required action to stabilize this economy. However, you are only critical of the DLP and praise the BLP. I wanted to give you the opportunity to show that you are non-partisan, but you just could not do it.

Who are you so afraid of Artax? What have you and your family been threatened with? Why are you so afraid to reveal your identity, especially since those whom you fear already know who you are? Donโ€™t worry. Keep on attacking those who you perceive to be critical of the BLP. I understand your predicament. Every time you insult me, you are protecting your family โ€“ so keep the insults coming.

Angela: I have noticed that you have declared your support for the DLP, whereas, Artax, Enuff, Gabriel, Miller and Vincent claim to be non-partisan, when they actually worship BLP politicians, and cannot bring themselves to be even remotely objective in their analysis.

Just so that we understand each other. I believe that the DLPโ€™s incompetence is mainly due to their stupid unwillingness to accept good advice. On the other hand, the BLP had three renown economists โ€“ so will Artax, Enuff, Gabriel, Miller and Vincent please explain why the BLP was so incompetent.

Enuff: Clearly you also fear the same persons that Artax fears. So, I also understand your predicament. Therefore, keep the insults coming if this is the only way that you think that you can protect your family. I can take it.

Best regards,
    Grenville

41. Grenville,
    “Once this corrupt political economy remains small, then its impact on the national economy is negligible.”
    If you propose to rectify corruption, then you cannot differentiate between “small” corruption and “big” corruption. Next thing, have you ever enquired as to who comprise “the tenders committee.” I am sure you will be surprised about its constituents.
    David;
    what should be quite clear to all and sundry, that the leader? pf the Opposition, is trying to give the impression that the Cahill, issue, is a current problem. It cannot be so. Whenever a decision is made for the commencement of the project, it will take a number of years for it to be brought on stream.As a result, to raise unnecessary fears; giving th impression that it is current. No mention has been made in any of the past few budgets or estimates of expenditure for the provision of funding for its construction. Similarly with the Sugar Point Cruise Terminal, falling under the aegis of Barbados Port Inc.

42. Did you benefit from government contracts, and yes were they funded by borrowed money?

43. “Why are you so afraid to reveal your identity, especially since those whom you fear already know who you are? Donโ€™t worry. Keep on attacking those who you perceive to be critical of the BLP. I understand your predicament. Every time you insult me, you are protecting your family โ€“ so keep the insults coming.”

Now we see that Grenville is one of those who want names on BU.
    I can imagine requesting porn access and Grenville publishing my name here.

In a nutshell, I don’t take him seriously (this is without being a D or B yardfowl)

44. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Grenville…why cant you admit that the current government is also and equally reckless and corrupt.

Again, critical thinking skills…..and not just convenient thinking.

45. Grenville June 1, 2017 at 6:02 PM #

โ€œWho are you so afraid of Artax? What have you and your family been threatened with? Why are you so afraid to reveal your identity, especially since those whom you fear already know who you are?โ€

@ Grenville Phillips

How do โ€œfear,โ€ โ€œme and my family being threatenedโ€ and my identity come into a discussion in which I asked you to indicate where in the Moodyโ€™s 2009 report mentioned was made of the โ€œcorrupt political economy?โ€

Your comments are indicative of an IMMATURE INDIVIDUAL.

If you believe people are insulting you by asking pertinent questions about your political party and its policies, then you are too CHILDISH and THIN SKINNED to become involved in politics.

46. Artax

He got me lost too! Fear and family? What fear he speaketh of? #straitjacketneededurgently

47. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger June 1, 2017 at 7:48 PM #

โ€œGrenvilleโ€ฆwhy cant you admit that the current government is also equally reckless and corrupt.โ€

@ WW&C

That is all Iโ€™m asking the BOY to ADMITโ€ฆโ€ฆ that the current administration โ€œis also equally reckless and corrupt.”

And he interpreted that as an insult, while referring to my identity and threats to me and my familyโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. in his futile, โ€œbourgeoisโ€ attempt to be sarcastic with a man grew up in the โ€œhoodโ€(ghetto).

If Phillips is unable to take the heat in BU, how could we expect him, as Prime Minister of Barbados, to take political heat from arrogant prime ministers such as Allen Chastinet, Gaston Browne, Ralph Gonsalves, Dr. Keith Rowley, Dr. Keith Mitchell or Andrew Holness?

48. @ enuff

โ€œIt harrows me with fear and wonder.โ€ [Hamlet, act 1, scene 1]

49. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Art….Grenville is being too selective in his condemnations of government incompetence, just as though the current government has information on him and he is reluctant to have that info exposed, that is self interest.

50. @ Grenville
    If she were serious, she would carry any evidence of wrong doing to the police, or DPP so that the evidence can be evaluated and charges can be brought. Do you really believe that she will actually do anything if given the chance?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    If she was ‘serious’ or if she was ‘stupid’?
    Do you mean like the evidence related to the Wilkinson man with the cars?
    …or like the murder of Joe Physic’s wife?
    ..or perhaps the CLICO daylight robbery?
    Perhaps you do not think that the police is aware of the famous $3.3M check…?

It is one thing for Hal to sit up in London and talk such shiite…. but for you down here to be saying the same is worrying….

Perhaps she will do nothing, but AT LEAST she has given us something against which we can hold her feet to the fire…
    We have had no such commitment from the DLP … or indeed from you…