David Comissiong

Dear Members of the News Media,

At mid-day today, Tuesday 21st March 2017, I hand delivered a letter to the office of the Attorney General, putting the AG on notice that I will be challenging the permission granted by Mr Freundel Stuart, the Minister responsible for Town and Country Planning to Mr Mark Maloney’s company, Vision Developments Inc, to construct a 15 storey hotel on the beachfront at Bay Street, St. Michael.

A copy of the said letter is attached hereto:

I intend to file the Fixed Date Claim form and the supporting Affidavit at the Registry of the Supreme Court at 1PM tomorrow, Wednesday 22nd March 2017, and to hold a Press Conference immediately thereafter at the Clement Payne Cultural Centre in order to shed light on the content of the Claim and to further explain the reason for taking this action.

The News Media is invited to cover both the filing of the Court documents and the following Press Conference.

DAVID  ANDRE  COMISSIONG

121 responses to “Hyatt Hotel Law Suit to be Filed TOMORROW”

1. David Comissiong

These kinds of political work, in the absence of direct interventions at the centre, are more befitting a man of your stature, in the minds of all fair thinking Bajans, than that which others would have you do.

That other work, in the context of a small island state, is inevitably mired in nepotism, the betrayal of your higher consciousness, the elevation of a political game theorizing which is self abusive, and so on.

With your permission, we will be contacting you to see how we can best help in these pursuits.

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Good.

Pachca, very good.

3. I would like to see the legal arguments advanced by DAVID C.

4. Chupse, foolishness.

5. Kevin

That was a very intellectual contribution, did it take you long to articulate and fashion that?

6. @ Own, Nope, didnt take long. Straight to the point. Bringing that law-suit is foolishness. I hope this project goes full stream ahead. Those old dilapidated buildings in lwr Bay Street needs to go too. Thanks Frenduel.

7. Kevin

So the ends justifies the means? You could actually condone granting permission for 15 story hotel in the densely populated environs of Bridgetown with either an environmental or social impact assessment study?
    This shite started with the illegally erected DLP campaign signs in 2008. Lawlessness.

8. We need streamlined and more efficient laws in Barbados allowing decisions like Hyatt within a month without judicial interference. The situation is so desparate here in Bim – the new Haiti of the West Indies – that statutes, courts and administration must switch to war mode settings. A bit quick and dirty, but very effective for the dark days we face in Bim.

However, I do NOT endorse any kick-backs. That is a case for the DDP.

9. @Own, yes, I whole heartedly support it. Bridgetown & our tourism product needs some new life. I welcome the investment as well. We as a country need it. Big newly constructed hotels building and opening all about, look at St. Lucia, the Bahamas etc. This will be great for Barbados. I feel it. So much jobs and spin-off economic activity will be provided.

10. Tron – you drunk or just foolish?

Kevin – you want fully capitalist state where all things are secondary thereto? Here I was thinking the DLP when they said Barbados is more than an economy, it’s a society.

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Tron…what DPP, Barbados does not have a real one, not one that locks up criminals who have money anyway.

12. Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI Avatar
    Violet Beckles CUP Plantation Deeds from 1926-2017 land tax bills and no Deeds,BLPand DLP Massive land Fruad and PONZI

The level of some thinking so call People on BU,None ask the real Questions, Sell out just to build a Buiding for elections votes. Well did anyone ask the Crook PM for a deed? Seem like the DBLP government own more land than COW as the World turns, No freedom of information here, Just do as i say, Build it i need 5 more years in office as a Minister, Trespass..There will come a time We All will see what a pile of shit this PM and others are, Owen and Mia did the same .They now can print all the money they want to have it built.
    As we can see 50 million a month was not good , we move to 155 milion , next month it maybe more 255 million what ever it takes but the worker agreement could not be met,

Where in the hell Kevin came from must be the back pocket of the PM , and another crook fool on BU looking to goat this on ,

Old buildings, did you ever check to see how things work and who maybe be blocking, Maybe the leases ran out and the history changed to fit a Massive Land fraud, Maybe the Hyatt need to be built in your back yard , if you own any land, I will believe it when i see it, and true will show a fraud, Living on the top 4 floors might give a great view for the trespass. Investors beware,
    We can get Kevin some corn beef from Brazil for a good price,

13. To this day, this government does not think it is accountable to the people of Barbados to answer the question of the land on which this hotel is to be built which is owned by us the taxpayers.

They refused to answer the question posed by the opposition…..have they sold the land to Mark Maloney or is the land leased or is the land the taxpayers’ equity in the project.These morons think that they can do as they like……………but I have news for them………a man can do as he likes but not for ever.

As the pitbull told them, time longer than twine.

By the way does anyone know what hold Mark Maloney has on these morons we have as leaders?

How is it possible that a black group of so called ministers can give one white man a total of $500 million worth of work in 8 short years?

14. @Own Area

I am neither pro nor contra Hyatt. However, decisions take too long in Barbados. You wait ages for a credit, for a permission, for a service. There are many examples. For international investors, Barbados is not competitive. Investors can choose between many islands in the Caribbean. In my opinion, you can do an environmental check etc within a week, if there is the political will to speed up.

@WWC

DDP: Just joking. We all know there is no enforcement of law 😉

15. Tron
    You do not know what you are talking about obviously. A professionally and well undertaken environmental and social impact assessment for a project such the proposed Hyatt could not be done in less than about 4 – 6 months.

16. William Skinner Avatar

Comrade Comissiong, as any other citizen, has a right to do what he is doing. I see no problem here at all. Let the courts decide !

17. Own Area,

In Barbados decisions take many YEARS. This is killing Barbados. Services and decisions indicate a low efficiency of approx. 5-10% of developed countries, whereas the BBD-peg indicates 50%. If I accept your reasoning, the peg must go down to 1:10. You cannot have the liming way of the Deep South and expect at the same time consumption on the level of Norway, Switzerland or Germany.

However, I accept your concerns re Hyatt. My point is more abstract.

18. There is a TIA and HIA. The big thing here is that a government of the people for the people would trivialize their participation in the process.

19. In and Out aka waiting Avatar
    In and Out aka waiting

It is the wish of poor job seekers in Wellington Street, London Bourne, Nelson Street, Vine Street, Combermere St et al for Commissiong frivolous law suit to be thrown out as quick as that by lawyer in the news Gregory Nicholls for Dr. Worrell. Both cases waste the court’s time.

We were appalled Dr. Worrell not only went to court but retained three time loser Nicholls. The affable Dr. Worrell lost many friends because of a foolish decision. The court’s dismissal of Nicholls gives hope to those who hold the country’s best interests that Commisiong’s arrogant move of idiocy gets the Nicholls/ Worrell treatment.

A US$100 million project which can provide thousands of jobs for the black urban poor is to be stopped by a washed up communist. Its difficult to swallow in modern Barbados. Not only that the commie has the blessings of unpatriotic BU yard fowls. The BU household as in 2013 are on the wrong side.

Hyatt if blocked will shift to another Caribbean island obtain permission from authorities with a phone call and begin construction immediately. No protest. Their gain our lost. Meanwhile we point fingers playing the blame game for Barbados poor rank in the ease of doing business . Lord have your mercy on the little Rock!

20. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

National progress didn’t come about by people holding hands and singing kumbaya, but rather, by dragging those kicking and screaming into the light. They are always on the wrong side of history.

21. Unlike William Skinner

We have no particular faith in the court system

We are not interested in their determinations, per se

Our interests are to confront the system at all points possible, as in von Clausewitz’s total war

The courts in Barbados have reliably sided with vested interests

Therefore for us, a reliance on these courts is no different than a misguided dependence on the rest of the regime in Bridgetown.

22. @fortyacresandamule

You are suggesting the people should adopt a passive stance if they are concerns? This is important in the context of transparency.

23. If he cannot sustain his arguments in the court, let someone else entertain a new suit, and on, and on, and on. You could conceivably tie this up in the court for years. The election is just around the corner, let it become an election issue and see what happens. At least someone is taking the bull by the horns, and not even an opposition candidate from the sold called other 3 parties.

24. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Those cockroaches are just waiting in the wings to see which way the wind blows so they too can enable Maloney and the minorities in their decades old run of scamming the treasury, robbing taxpayers and stealing from the NIS pension fund, instead of honestly working for the people and country….plenty kickbacks to be had, so no, none of the second and third parties will say a word.

25. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Neither will any of the second or third parties help Commissiong.

26. Tron, and other s,
    the land was owned by a number of BLACK business who had built a number of apartments, restaurants, and other stores etc. on the spot. the desire to block the hotel is just foolishness. The whole area of Beach land from the hilton to the Pierced is now a complete tourist; cruise ship passengers primarily, hangout. there are bars restaurants etc on the beachfront, and I am sure that within a short while more hotels will be constructed. We want to have our cake and eat it too. People like David commission have to learn to accept that changes will occur and what he longs for is unattainable, its time has long passed. Browns BeaCH IS THERE FOR EVERYONE TO ENJOY. A HOTEL WILL BRING THE FOREIGN EXCHANGE WE NEED, THE ARE WILL BE ENHANCED, AND USE WILL BW MADE OF THE ENTIRE LANDSCAPE. WHAT IS THE REAL REASON FOR BLOCKING THE HOTEL CONSTRUCTION?
    David, What transparency what? The people have a right to build the hotel on their land. Money has been aid for the property, and construction should begin. If Black people do not have the vision to progress, why try to block the progress of others? I grew up there. I listened the David’s father; Reverend Commissiong, who was a preacher at Bethel church, where I grew up; in the scout troop, sunday school teacher etc. I caught Rock Hinds on the rocks behind the Harbour Police station. The Hotel should be constructed and all these obstructions only serve to delay the inevitable.
    Pacha, You say”…Our interests are to confront the system at all points possible, as in von Clausewitz’s total war…”
    Why??. Don’t you believe in progress?

27. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

@David. We must choose our battle wisely. While concept like transparency and governance is noble endeavor, building a nation (no pun intended) is a messy business. No first world countries in this world acquired their status through sainthood.

28. David Commissiong has my full support in this legal challenge. This man has become a multi-millionaire since 2008 when the DLP took office.
    I would like to know more about the 2,700 house lots at Bushy Park given to a company of Mr. Maloney just PRIOR to the general election in 2013.

29. Alvin Cummins

How did Mr. Maloney and Mr. Edghill come to own the land where the Hyatt is hoping to be built? This was crown lands which was vested in Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. How did it end up in their hands?

ALSO I WANT TO KNOW WHAT, IF ANYTHING, IS THE CONTRACTUAL AGREEMENT BWTWEEN THE GOB AND MALONEY/EDGHILL PERTAINING THE OPERATION OF THIA HOTEL.

30. I wonder if Mr. Maloney was not attached to the building of the Hyatt if Comissiong would be as relentless in destructive method to stop the construction of the Hyatt.
    In my opinion Comissiong actions are constructed by a devious attempt borne out of jealousy placed among the rabble rousers of hate and contempt for Mr. maloney.
    Hoping the court would be diligent deciphering and take a careful look at how the politics of destruction hate mongering and a double dose of halftruths has taken a foothold against the construction of the Hyatt and would not be fooled into beliving that Commisiong intervention is all related to barbados best interest.

31. Expose Barbados Criminals Destroying Island Avatar
    Expose Barbados Criminals Destroying Island

PHILADELPHIA (AP) — The city’s top prosecutor accepted more than $100,000 in luxury gifts, Caribbean trips and cash, often in exchange for official favors including help with a court case, according to a bribery and extortion indictment unsealed Tuesday.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/philadelphia-prosecutor-charged-160k-gifts-probe-163759769.html

32. Angela
    You gone wait for this man to rack up hundreds of millions of dollars in debt for unnecessary projects in the BRIDGETOWN PORT just so he can then leverage the GOB and his friends to privatize it to him in exchange for that debt?

33. As man…

Come-and-Sing-a-Song has been the ONE and ONLY person in Barbados in the last 20 years to show ANY signs of having the guts, intelligence, temerity and CONCERN for the overall good, to qualify to become the next PM of Barbados. Between himself and Caswell, Bushie would actually ask the step-father to provide them a hand….

In a more enlightened society, ALL of the ‘third’ parties would now rally to his side under an UMBRELLA PARTY (Barbados UNITY Party? – Bushie too like the BUP thing… 🙂 ) and provide a major and VIABLE challenge to the two idiotic thieving parties that have taken us to the dump.

Perhaps if David.C would articulate a new national strategic vision, with a clearly defined GOVERNANCE plan that is similar to Frustrated Businessman’s Senate empowerment (or to Bushie’s National Supervisory Committee), then he may be surprised at the level of SUPPORT that would be garnered for himself, and the new alliance.

Who knows, perhaps there exists a remnant of Bajans who can just about see beyond the party yard fence along with those who are fed up at not getting enuff scratch grain for their crowing efforts…. to elect someone who cares about PRINCIPLE more than profit.

34. David
    How nice would it be if you were to be able to post the legal arguments that Mr. Commissiong is advancing for his application the Court to suspend the decision of the PM to grant permission to the
    developers of the Hyatt project project.

35. Alvin,

Tourism including projects like Hyatt might be the remedy to prevent a default of Barbados in the sort term. However, tourism won´t make it in the long term. You do not need a university campus to become maid or greenkeeper in a hotel. Four years at school are enough to work in as hotel. With tourism alone, Barbados will never be able to transform into a developed country but will stay as it is as a single-industry banana republic with relatively low income.

36. Not really caring about legal arguments especially coming from Commissiong who have not held back his personand political views and attacks against Maloney.
    Although the court should placed weight on legalities that pertains to the building of the Hyatt the courts should not be deficient in its application of weighing on how much of a political intervention gives cause for Commissiong relentless approach given the fact that enviromental or legals arguments previously presented on the building site were previously approved.
    Hopefully the court would not be hoodwinked by a wolf parading in sheep clothing

37. Angela
    The permission granted is either lawful or unlawful. The Court is not a place for staging emotional dramas. Either you have good legal arguments or you don’t. There is no good legal argument for the granting of permission to Hyatt without the need carry out both an environmental and social impact assessment study.

38. Tron

For the first 2 years (construction and marketing phase) a new hotel the size of Hyatt will be a net drain on foreign exchange reserves.

39. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    If Comissiong were interested in forming a
    serious threat to cripple the BLPDLP, he would
    have done so by trying to unify all the third
    parties using his PEP. That is obviously
    not his focus. The system :BLPDLP therefore
    remains intact.

40. The people of Barbados should be asking Comissiong how many jobs in his life time has he created for barbados?
    What are his alternatives to helping barbadians find local jobs?
    Other than Comissiong now finding a destructive path to undermine the people of barbados Commisiong has done absolutely nothing of praise that would place him as an efficient and worthwhile source to barbados progess
    He basked in the limelight of self serving pronunciations which only apply to political and self serving opportunism

41. Angela
    During slavery plantations created a lot of job. The myth of job creation will be the certain ruin of this country. Mark my words.

42. @Own Area

Thank you for this information. If we follow your argument, the new hotel projects will accelerate the drain of foreign currency in the short term. And since we are low on foreign currency at the moment, the new projects could even trigger devaluation.

43. Idiot precedence was already set for building construction to proceed on the site
    Comissiong legal argument is based on what he states as the people living in that area was not given voice in decision making
    If that being his bone of contention hardly any court would see that objection as sufficient reason to stop the project unless he has substantial and sufficient reason to show that the project would interfer or do considerable harm to the people living in the area

44. @William

We all play different roles. Comissiong tried from within now he has elected to be a pressure body. Let us respect people for the flavour of advocacy they bring to the table. Comissiong has done more singlehandedly than thousand others.

45. William Skinner Avatar

Where did I write that Comissiong has not been
    an effective advocate. I merely stated that joining
    with others to cripple the BLPDLP is not his focus
    at this time. Good grief!!!

46. Barbados has never allowed most of its citizens to developed lands, as owned by them

We have countless circumstances where many Black Bajans were denied development permissions over and over again.

A most egregious case was the denial of a group to develop lands within the precinct nearby to COW’s property.

That group was forced to sell said lands to COW because the Chief Town Planner’s judgement was that those lands were to remain in agriculture.

They were marginal agricultural lands. Nothing being planted for 50 years.

The Chief Town Planner encourage COW to call

However, before the then owners could put up a far sale sign COW, himself, was calling. There was no debt pressure to sell. Only the unwillingness of the CTP and the Arthur administration to approve a large project for a Black group.

Before agreement for sale could be signed with stinking Cow Williams, this current Chief Town Planner was caught on the lands telling COW what he would approve. For us, it had to remain in ‘agriculture’.

Prior to that it was near impossible to meet this CTP.

Go figure.

COW bought the lands and all kinds of town planning followed immediately.

This how White, Baccra people continue to control Babadus.

With the help of modern day slaves like the Cumminses.

47. @William

How do you know what is his interest?

48. William Skinner Avatar

Obviously you and some misguided folks believe
    that free if or when Stuart is kicked out, as he should,
    that our socio-economic fortunes are going to
    automatically improve. This will not happen under
    the BLPDLP. History is very instructive here.
    Tom Adams castigated the the DLP and in no time
    he was off to the IMF! When are you and others
    going to stop burying your heads in the sand and
    realize the nonsense and nonsensical policies the
    BLPDLP have afflicted our country with. Name
    one progressive policy or idea that the BLPDLP
    has put forward to solve OUR present problems.
    All we have is apologists fir the BLPDLP singing
    for their supper.

49. Advocacy that best serves people and country should be appluaded. However when advocacy becomes a stumbling block which chokes hurts and distract from the country interest the people voice should give rise to that occasion
    Giving that barbados economy is placed on a raliroad track of diof bends and turns the last thing barbados needs is an advocacy of derailment

50. @William

Let us ignore your inference that BU is married to D or B. Isn’t it obvious our focus has always been on the system read governance?