Dr. DeLisle Worrell, Governor of the Central Bank

The local press carried a story this week titled Worrell advised to meet press that addressed the unbelievable occurrence of the Governor of the Central Bank DeLisle Worrell not having held a press conference since the first quarter of 2014. Instead, he has preferred an orchestrated TV event where individuals were cherrypicked to participate in a moderated Q&A session.

It does not require anyone to be overly endowed with intelligence to expect our key decision makers to be accessible to answer questions from the public during a protracted economic downturn. Surely they understand that it is important to allay concerns and infuse confidence in the citizens by articulating a message of hope – see The King’s Speech. The independent office of Governor of the Central Bank is where the font of hope should be gushing. Unfortunately what we have had to witness for the last six or seven years is a central bank whose reputation has been severely dented by several unusual decisions by Governor Worrell made worse by minister of  finance Chris Sinckler. There was the unusual appointment  of Bjerkham to the Board of the Central Bank. The dividend payout of 25 million from the Housing Credit Fund to an affiliated company of Bjerkham for construction of the GROTTO high rise apartments. And who can forget the decision by the Governor to challenge the state agency responsible for determining the unemployment statistic.

BU agrees with Dr. Clyde Mascoll when he tabled the view in his weekly column that:-

Perhaps, what is more important is the structure of the board that oversees the functioning of the bank itself. The time has truly come to reconsider the governor being the chairman of the board. Furthermore, the composition of the board ought to better recognise the specialised areas of the bank’s activities. No man is an island.

The Central Bank is too important an institution for the idiosyncrasies of an individual to take priority. As if to emphasize that his way is the right way, he disregarded the advice from former bankers Mariano Browne and Jwala Rambarran who are based in Trinidad to meet with the press. He issued another press release to the media with a foreboding message.  Eight years of economic verboseness and still more belt tightening asked of Barbadians. How long is too long …

While BU agree with those calling for the Governor to condescend to meet the local press corp, we are concerned that local ‘journalists’ selected in the past to attend Central Bank economic press briefings have been woefully short of the standard required to deliver on their mandate. Further, there is an important role to be played by financial journalists. Who will disagree that managing a small open economy is a challenging undertaking. It is important we have journalists comfortable in the financial arena to report on the issues to effectively inform citizens. Instead what we have is a dearth of talent in the area of financial reporting that politicians and others in civil society easily exploit.  Even if our media houses were to send senior journalists like a David Ellis, Stetson Babb, Roy Morris, Jewel Brathwaite, Kaymar Jordan et al -these are journalists with a general knowledge of financial reporting. The only competent financial journalist is Patrick Hoyos. Is our investment in education failing us as a nation?

Perhaps the solution is to invite journalists from Trinidad to attend the Central Bank economic review press briefings.

163 responses to “8 Years and a Mule”

1. Caesar:
    Let me have men about me that are fat,
    Sleek-headed men and such as sleep a-nights.
    Yond Cassius has a lean and hungry look,
    He thinks too much; such men are dangerous.

2. “However, Phillips told Barbados TODAY the identities of the candidates would not be released just yet in order to protect jobs, since many of them hold contracts for major Government projects.”

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/01/07/third-party-lineup/

3. Everything in its rightful context a graph of numbers does not specifically states the underlying reasons.
    What u ought to do is bring all the relevants facts that could have caused the escalating debt and its attributaries ..speckled hen.
    More than one economist have openly stated before 2008 that barbados was building a false economy on borrowed debt
    Now that the proof is in the eating all u have to show is a bunch of numbers that have reflectors like a bicycle being ridden in the dark
    Sir go back to your drawing board and produce figures derivative to facts

4. YOU are nothing more than a yardfowl.

Again the question: are you referriTo domesor foreign debt, there is a difference.

5. To make it plain i am referencing debt on loans to help stimulate the economy debt that was borrowed and financed high interest rate.
    Debt that now has hog tied this economy with negative revibrations.
    Not going to deal with this sh.it any more my financial house is in order and do not have to worry about any man jack calling in any loans on any thing i haml

6. @ ac January 7, 2017 at 7:33 AM #

charles skeete January 7, 2017 at 7:23 AM #

With the foreign reserves at an all time high when the DLP assumed office I have to ask the question first posed by former PM Erskine Sandiford – how did we get in this position?

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    Answer

Accumulation of the massive debt left behind by the Blp

””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””’
    AC

I tend not to respond to the utter tripe that you post but this one galls me.

Did your handlers not inform you that your party has borrowed more money in 8 years than the BLP did in 14 years.

The thing is the BLP left a legacy behind and what they borrowed the money for can be seen. You losers have borrowed more and yet there is nothing to show for it because the few buildings built were built out of NIS funds not from external funds.

You all are so ignorant that you borrowed and mismanaged the economy so badly that our economy is at junk status and you cannot borrow a cent on the world market at a reasonable rate.

What idiots!

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“More than one economist have openly stated before 2008 that barbados was building a false economy on borrowed debt”

ACs…and since 2008, the government did nothing to reverse that trend, they continued to “build a false economy on borrowed debt”…….doubling GNP….cause none of the emptyheaded ministers including Fruendel knew any better…thereby.doubling the debt ratio.

Ya said it yaself.

Someone left yall a 2 billion dollar reserve surplus and in 8 years, instead of improving on it and quadrupling it, yall turned it into a deficit with ya wild spending and idiocy…..lol, hahalo.

8. I just saw a photo of outgoing Opposition Leader Portia Simpson and PM Andrew Holness holding hands at 12th annual gathering of “Heal the Family” in Jamaica.

I’m kicking off a petition to get Freundel and Mia to hold hands at any gathering

9. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

10. “Everything in its rightful context a graph of numbers does not specifically states the underlying reasons.
    What u ought to do is bring all the relevants facts that could have caused the escalating debt and its attributaries ..speckled hen.
    More than one economist have openly stated before 2008 that Barbados was building a false economy on borrowed debt
    Now that the proof is in the eating all u have to show is a bunch of numbers that have reflectors like a bicycle being ridden in the dark
    Sir go back to your drawing board and produce figures derivative to facts”

For the doubting Thomases like AC. I refer you to the Slide of the Barbados economy by Ryan Straughan.

Public Finances of the Grantley Adams administration from 1955 to 1962. Note that in every year, current revenue exceeded current expenditure.

Public Finances of the Errol Barrow Administration. Note that there was a deficit on current account in only two of the fourteen years and for relatively small amounts.

Public Finances of the Adams/St John administration. Note that current revenue exceeded current expenditure in each year except 1977/78 and then for a nominal amount

Public Finances of the Barrow/Sandiford administration. Note that current expenditure exceeded current revenue in two years only and for relatively small amounts

Public Finances of the Arthur adminintratioin. Note that current revenue exceeded current expenditure in each of its fourteen years.

Then along comes the Thompson/Stuart administration and this is what happens

2008/2009. The government spends $256 million more than it receives in revenue.
    2009/2010. The government spends $557 million more than it receives in revenue.
    2010/2011. The government spends $647 million more than it receives in revenue.
    2011/2012. The government spends $284 million more than it receives in revenue.
    2012/2013. The government spends $260 million more than it receives in revenue.

That is a total deficit of $2.004 billion, excluding the appropriation of $100 million of NIS funds. The facts speak for themselves. What would you say about any housewife who kept overspending her income by massive amounts. What would such spending do to the family’s bank account, provided it had a banker stupid enough to let her continue to do it.
    Can this be considered prudent management of the country’s finances?
    Can we continue to blame the world recession for Barbados’ financial woes? Or put the blame on the profligate spending of the Government.

Also note. Maximum revenue of the Arthur administration was $2.3billion in 2007/2008
    Revenue of the DLP administration as per graph was as follows:
    2008/2009 – $2.6 billion approx
    2009/2010 – $2.3 billion approx
    2010/2011 – $2.3 billion approx
    2011/2012 – $2.5 billion
    2012/2013 – $1.8 billion approx

Ask yourself. Where was the money spent and was it spent wisely? Clearly it was not spent on capital works, as the graphs show.

Now that revenue has fallen dramatically, despite desperate tax grabs, the government recognizes (or somebody has told it) that the spending spree has to come to an end. 2012/2013 expenditure shows considerable contraction, but more cuts must be made as revenue continues to plummet. The pigs at the trough are being brought to a fine market.

11. Charlie,

He gone can’t sleep after you put that in his stomach man.

12. every time the blp yardfowls throw up their little graphs and news reels on economic matters ac chuckles and say next

13. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the Cunt AC

You won’t be chuckling for too long.

14. ac January 7, 2017 at 3:53 PM #

“To make it plain I am referencing debt on loans to help stimulate the economy debt that was borrowed and financed high interest rate.”

@ ac

By your above comments, you have once again proven you do not “have any expertise in financial matters but, (unfortunately), it never stop (you) from opening up (your) faucets and spewing all the political garbage.”

You mentioned: “I am referencing debt on loans to help stimulate the economy.”

Firstly, it is ludicrous (for even you) to suggest Barbados’ debt increased during the DLP’s tenure because of debt incurred by the former BLP administration.

You are essentially implying the DLP progressively increased debt on an annual basis to repay debt previously incurred. Perhaps you may care to share with BU how this is possible.

Secondly, public debt is classified as “productive when it borrowed for productive purposes and is used to add to the productive capacity of the economy thereby providing a continuous flow of revenue to the government.” In other words, “stimulate the economy.”

Thirdly, the statement “debt that was borrowed and financed high interest rate” is utter nonsense. The principal and interest are usually paid from the income earned from investments in projects.

Additionally, Barbados’ capacity to repay debt was not previously affected by multiple credit rating downgrades. Therefore, loans at that time would not have attracted high repayment interest rates. Productive loans are self liquidating and do not cause “undue hardship” on the economy.

You must bear in mind that Barbados’ consecutive downgrades resulted in a lack of investor confidence; a decrease in the value of the island’s assets because of a reduced demand to buy government debt (i.e. bonds, etc); an increase in inflation which ultimately increased the cost of living and high interest rates.

AC, “I know enough to understand gibberish (you constantly write) from expert advice.”

15. …….”There was the unusual appointment of Bjerkham to the Board of the Central Bank. The dividend payout of 25 million from the Housing Credit Fund to an affiliated company of Bjerkham for construction of the GROTTO high rise apartments.”….

oops….Isn’t this insider trading?…reminds me of Hillary and the Clinton Foundation

Fronts and forerunners. What qualifies Bj to be on that board?

16. Barbados, the time is now.
    Real Leaderrship for Barbados.
    Time for change.
    Making Barbados Great Again.
    A New Barbados, a new beginning.
    Vote for a Better Barbados.
    Take Back Barbados.
    Let’s Save Barbados.
    Accountability and Transparency must not be optional.

Details to be announced at a place and time in coming months of the launch of a Non Aligned Movement. #ANewWay #ANewAgenda

17. Yes ac would be chuckling for long because on the other side those in waiting to hold reigns and wrestle the high debt have already stated that there new plans would be selling off Barbados to the highest bidder
    So yes ac would not only be laughing but getting a huge belly laugh .

18. ac

If the Opposition is willing to sell of Barbados to the highest bidder that is still BETTER than what Stuart and Sinckler did when the sold the Barbados National Terminal Company Limited to Simpson Oil Limited (SOL) without a formal and transparent bidding procedure. Your boys got together and over drinks Barbados was sold for 50% less than its valuation. For the sale Barbados received the meagre sum of Bds$40M after the debt was paid. CLOWNS

19. In his budget speech last June, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler said the long-talked-about sale of the Barbados National Terminal Co. Ltd. (BNTCL), which is a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Government-owned Barbados National Oil Co. Ltd, would soon take place. But he did not say to whom.

However, the deal had not yet closed by April of this year, as the Central Bank of Barbados reported in its economic press release for the first three months of 2016 that “A special dividend related to the sale of BNTCL was included in the Government’s projected Estimates figures; however this sale is yet to be completed and the dividends declared.”

The difference between the Estimates and the actual out-turn was $85.1 million, suggesting this was the amount which the Government expected from the sale of BNCTL.

Read more: http://www.caribbean360.com/business/rubis-pull-one-main-caribbean-markets#ixzz4VAGI2Z7u

20. ac

Can you point us to the pubic notice of the bidding for BNTCL? I didn’t think so.

21. Read also Steve Stoute’s comment in today’s Sun that a proposed tax on the lottery was not implemented and for that the Barbados Olympic Association is grateful. There is not clarity of purpose to borrow Arthur’s term.

22. Snusmas January 8, 2017 at 6:28 AM #

Can you point us to the pubic notice of the bidding for BNTCL? I didn’t think so.

there are rules of governance which validated the formalities and the legality by which Tenders can be officially advertise and by which order of process govt does not have to advertise ,

23. According to a June 2016 report the government rejected a bid from Rubis.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82636/rubis-plea

Of interest is that in Governor Worrell’s January report he said said while Government was on course to achieving its 2015/2016 financial year target of reducing the fiscal deficit to about four per cent of GDP, it depended on completion of the sale of the BNTCL.

So where are we today?

24. ac

You could only be a clown too. Your crafted response above is and means NOTHING jackrabbit.

How can a government sell state assets without a formal and transparent process? Not a advertisement was placed in the news papers in Barbados or even on GIS website.

The boyz did a deal an a man get a whole gas station of of it. He hit a six out of the park and over the roads.

25. ac did not write the law it is what is go read the rules that govern the tendering process

26. The are no rules that govern the sale of state assets, there are rules for the public procurement of services and products, buying and selling are two different things but the DLP and their knuckleheads would not know the difference.

27. Anonymouse -TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse -TheGazer

That cannot be law.
    You have ti advertise or you do not have to advertise.
    I may be a fool or I may not be a fool..

28. Anonymouse -TheGazer

ac is trying justify it by reference to Rule 239 which allows ‘special circumstances’ for public procurement such as urgency or where the service or product is easily obtained locally.

ac is actually trying to justify why a major monopoly asset of the GOB, one which is highly profitable, was sold without even a advertisement in the Newspapers or GIS notifying the public and inviting participation.

What the hell does that have to do to selling state assets? A BIG FAT NOTHING.

29. General Provisions

The Public Procurement Regulatory Commission provides the rules for organizing and conducting the sale of asset disposals by Contracting Authorities.

1.2 The sale of assets must be conducted by adhering to strict procedures foreseen under these rules and must be managed by the Procurement Department of the Contracting Authority.

1.3 All public disposal activities shall be conducted in a manner which promotes transparency, accountability and fairness.

1.4 Detailed operational guidelines and standard forms for Disposal processes shall be produced and made accessible to the public by the Public Procurement Regulatory Commission.

1.5 If, without any intent to discriminate against or in favour of any person or undertaking, a Contracting Authority determines that:
    the solicited asset disposal can only be performed by a person or undertaking having adequate technical or professional qualifications; or
    there are predetermined conditions of sale e.g. used for citizens sale, or particular organisations sale, end-user restrictions (such as restricted sale of military / police equipment, and certain items that may have export restrictions), and
    Such Contracting Authority will only accept offers from persons or undertakings possessing certain minimum qualifications, the contracting authority shall establish such qualification requirements in a manner that is clear, objective and non-discriminatory and publish all such requirements in the asset disposal notice.

30. ac

Where is the Notice and when was it published?

David can you look for the video(s) of David Estwick on the platform in 2013 stating that only a crazy party would sell a strategic assets such as BNTCL?

31. Here is a transcript of what David Estwick was saying in 2013 on the political platform.

Steady as she goes Captain Stuart. Stay the course Captain Stuart

He is back again with this ‘Owen Model’: In November 2012, he is on record saying that the way forward for the Barbados economy is to put more investment in the Tourism sector. The man is not learning

On November 4th 2012, while speaking at St Christopher’s Primary school, he told Barbadians that “privatization is the way forward.” Sell the statutory corporations owned by you and me to investors and let the workers have shares in them. He said let them own them and run them. He means the Trinidadians and the rick business class!

He is not talking about diversifying the economy and making it more competitive by reducing the cost of energy to businesses and the transport sector, while saving foreign exchange. He is not talking about reducing the cost of telecommunications to businesses. He is not talking about improving the trade facilitation capacity of the Bridgetown Port to make it more efficient. He is talking about selling the Bridgetown Port. What a foolish man!

While we in the DLP are talking about ensuring that when cruise ships are in the Bridgetown Port that cargo ships do not have to bypass Barbados. Owen is talking about selling the port.

While we in the DLP are talking about creating a new cargo terminal, and a new central container handling facility to increase the efficiency of the new cargo port, Owen is talking about selling the port!

While we in the DLP are talking about starting construction on a completely new cruise facilities in partnership with Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines, boasting modern home porting facilities, shopping facilities, hotels, vending facilities, a facility that will make our cruise facilities world class. Owen is talking about selling the port!

The BLP had 14 years in office, and I want you tell me what changes were made to the facilities of the Bridgetown Port to enhance the efficiency and the esthetics. You tell me! I am calling on all workers in the cruise Industry and workers at the Bridgetown Port to stay with us and allow us to complete these projects in the interest of Barbados. Owen had 14 years to create new cruise facilities and separate cruise business from cargo activity and all he wants to do if he is returned to office, is to sell the port and cruise facility to put your job at risk.

Remember he said in November 2012, that he was going to take privatization to its greatest extent. You read between the lines.

Before Owen comes to you, and tells you how he is going to enhance public sector efficiency at the Town and Country Planning Office, the Environmental Protection Department, and the Solicitor General’s Offices so that we can better facilitate business formation, and improve the country’s rating as a place to do business. He is telling you about selling the airport, the sea port, BNOCL, BNTCL, transport Board, CBC and so on. This is not the answer.

This privatization strategy to reduce government expenditure by reducing expenditure in the category of transfers and subsidies will reduce the size of government but it will lead to very high unemployment and further cost to you for services from these companies.

32. It is a game for all of these clowns in the DLP. Say one thing to get elected and do something different.

In 2013 the DLP said they were different that the BLP as they would not sells assets at by 2017 we have yardfowl idiots like ac not only justifying the sale but exposing why the didn’t even have to advertise that sale. Jackasses the bunch of them.

33. While Barbados does deserve an opposition in Parliament, by rights the entire DLP, every single MP, deserves to be voted out of office.

34. @Snusmas

There are several vids featuring Estwick. Like this one from 11 November 2012. He deals with what is required in austere conditions. do you have a date the vid was posted?

35. David

Check out minute 34 and listen to the DLP rail against selling BNTCL and the implication of such a sale. Ask ac and Danville and Sinckler and Stuart and Estwick if the cabinet has not already been told about a 21% increase in cost of fuel from the sale of BNTCL to SOL??

36. @Snusmas

Estwick positions all seem to line up with the majority of the BU community yet he stayed in a cabinet that did not execute.

37. David

He didn’t stand up when courage called out.

38. At 54 min of the video is a summary of his vid -very interesting reminder.

39. The DLP has not more for the white and non-black business class of Barbados than all previous administrations combined. Put that in your pipe ac and smoke it.

A bunch of sellouts and louts.

40. The DLP has Done* more for the white and non-black business class of Barbados than all previous administrations combined. Put that in your pipe ac and smoke it.

A bunch of sellouts and louts.

41. @ Kammie Holder hahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!

42. @enuff

Ask Kammie to confirm or deny whether Mark Maloney is the man financing Grenville Philips and Solutions Barbados. Then again poor Kammie might not even know himself.

43. That’s Grenville and Kammie’s business not mine.
    What I do know, is that government is not a business or a walk in the park, and the idea of a political party with not one single member having political experience or intimate knowledge of how government functions is one driven by ego not patriotism as is being promoted. We are now reaping the rewards of Thompson and his team of inexperienced Ministers. #solutionsaintready

44. enuff

Fair is fair, let it be then. They ain’t ready and soon the truth of the IMF will come out and Kammie and Grenville and Maloney & Lynette and Danny and Owen gine get left in the rearview mirror and people bout here see reality and start to panic.

45. @ Snusmas January 8, 2017 at 8:41 AM #

“David can you look for the video(s) of David Estwick on the platform in 2013 stating that only a crazy party would sell a strategic assets such as BNTCL?”

@ Snusmas

I must apologize for being presumption and going ahead of David to satisfy your request of him.

However, I assume the following is the video you alluded to:

46. @ Snusmas January 8, 2017 at 8:41 AM #

“David can you look for the video(s) of David Estwick on the platform in 2013 stating that only a crazy party would sell a strategic assets such as BNTCL?”

@ Snusmas

The following are contributions I posted to BU pertaining to the issue you raised:

Artaxerxes October 6, 2014 at 2:46 PM #

I read in today’s Daily Nation that “The Fruendel Stuart Government has decided it wants to sell the $75M Barbados National Terminal Company Limited (BNTCL) in Fairy Valley, Christ Church.”

On the evening of Saturday January 5, 2013, Dr. David Estwick addressed the gathering in attendance at the launch of the DLP’s St. Joseph’s constituency office for candidate Dennis Holder.

The following is an excerpt from what Estwick had to say in response to Owen Arthur’s suggestion of privatizing the BNTCL:

“I question then the logic of attempting to sell the BNOC and the BNTCL. The reason why I’m going to continue to hammer this is because every single country in the world, maintains what yuh call their national strategic reserves of oil…… gasoline….. diesel….. etc. It is… it is owned by the country to protect energy security for all of us. And any… AND ANY PRIME MINISTER THAT IS PREPARED TO GIVE AWAY AND SELL OFF A COMPANY THAT MAINTAINS THE NATIONAL OIL RESERVES OF BARBADOS HAS TO BE HALF A MADMAN.”

Artaxerxes October 6, 2014 at 3:53 PM #

This is what else Estwick had to say at the meeting pertaining to the BNTCL privatization issue:
    “You understand….. and what is even more ridiculous about the discussion is this……… right now….. the BNTC imports diesel, kerosene…… we sell any oil that we produce locally….. we send that oil to Petrotrin in Trinidad, and it comes back….. the BNTCL gets a rate of return on investment of 1%……. and that 1%, is so as to keep prices down.
    You tell me any business man in Barbados that is going to take over the BNTCL and get 1% rate of return on his investment. You tell me…. show me any of them…….. right. And what it means is that from the time those companies are put in private sector people hands, that they will be looking for highest returns for their shareholders, and you can rest assured that what would end up happening, is (1) diesel prices gine straight up in the air, as well as gasoline prices, as well as kerosene, etc. And it bothers me that an individual, who is supposed to be an economist, does not seem to understand how inflationary that would be in a small economy that imports majority of its inflation via oil and other products.”

These politicians think many of us do not remember anything.

47. @ Snusmas
    Boss, would you expect a parro to follow tendering rules when sneaking around trying to sell of the family silver for his fix…?

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What a mess…lol

49. So what Minstry is Dr, Estwick in charge of . i believe his robust views or opinions although merited concerns could have been challenged by the Minister in charge of energy after shown or privy to facts and situations concerning BNTCL
    DR. Estwick did put forward a plausible case during the campaign in 2013 but since then facts and other issues relevant to BNTCL in the prevention of BNTCL collapse or failure took precedence
    Such robust discussions on Dr . Estwick part would not be held against him as he believes within himself that the best interest of barbados should be first served , However reality some times makes the final call .

50. BNTCL failure? What are you smoking?