HarlequinBarbadosRecent developments in St. Vincent with Harlequin Property SVG filing insolvency proceedings will lead to heavy loses for investors to be sure. This matter should be a concern for Barbadians because of the stalled properties owned by Harlequin in Barbados. As is the norm Barbadians will NOT be updated on this matter until the local authorities are forced to do so but what can they say? Yet another bogus project that will not realise foreign exchange promised by the local authority.

What has become obvious is that the race by Caribbean islands – including Barbados – to attract foreign investment appears to have local authorities compromising on performing robust due diligence. A simple Google search about Harlequin and or David Ames, Chairman of Harlequin would have alerted regional authorities to tango with caution.

We expect this matter will engage lawyers, accountants and the court system for the next many months, in the meantime the unfinished properties scattered across the region will continue to be an eyesore in our resorts.

Read the following the links for the latest:

98 responses to “Harlequin Property Goes Bust!”

1. Harlequin: Who is Accountable?

David Ames (Harlequin) r, Mark Maloney (Preconco) r

Harlequin Hotels & Resorts has halted operations here owing employees two months’ salary, the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) about $80 000 and several local businesses and contractors in excess of $3 million – Nation Newspaper (07 April 2012)

The Harlequin matter continues to hog the media space in Barbados and in the United Kingdom.. The blogs have been harping on this issue for months and if what is carried in today’s press is to be believed, it has been with good reason. It seems that today’s business environment can easily be described as toxic, Ponzi, greedy, lacking governance and other similar unflattering descriptions. David Ames and his cohorts, the owners of the Harlequin operation, have been able to ‘persuade’ investors mainly from the UK to fund their questionable project.

https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2013/04/07/harlequin-who-is-accountable/

2. All that glitters is not gold. Who gave these people planning permission?

3. When Harlequin first stepped into the country – meaning Barbados – one little internet search gave the answer as to why this island should have said money first – and certain silly little people who use google already questioned their presence in the country before the foreigners could even buy a cutter for they were having problems already but no…our government love the world ‘invest in’ without looking into ‘wey de money’ turning the whole building and then employment issue into a national pride waiving flag until we get burned and are left with an eyesore and many go home with wages earned, not paid. We live in a dreamworld, so-called ponzi investors smell this from a mile away and just manage to bamboozle our money-hungry and ready-to-start ‘pompasetting’ governments who lay out the red carpet – one wonders who really are the foolish poppets around here and who really need to be the ones held accountable for being just plain dumb. And here we go again, another one bites the dust leaving us to be the laughing stock of the world, again and again and again. Knock that eyesore down and give the people a window to the sea. Do. We all know there will be no recourse.

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Once again the titled slaves in parliament g6it fooled fi6r their eye popping greed.

That Hyatt will be another dud, am sure the liar and crook Maloney is waiting to demand taxpayer’s money be used to prop up his coming failure.

5. Wasn’t the esteemed DeLisle Worrell, Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados one of the local officials touting the Harlequin Projects as investments that would lead to growth in the Barbados economy?

6. @Nostradamus

Good point and one made by BU from time to time. There is a sub committee of Cabinet allegedly reponsible for the investments/projects pipeline. With the failure to bring online several projects how will/has this affected government’s plan to boost/invigourate the Barbados economy. Will we hear from those in the know.

7. I would like to know about the sale of Four seasons as stated by the MOF in the last budget speech……who bought it,for how much,what will it be utilised for,how many locals will be employed to build&operate it and the time line start to finish with the cost.

8. @Vincent

Did he not also bellow that it will be debated in parliament soon? Isn’t the parliament still on recess?

#lazybuggers #nerofiddling

9. Yes David,we have heard of the Summer Recess of Parliament.Now we have Autumn Recess.The LOO seem satisfied.

10. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

It was a saying among owners of chattel houses that when the neighbour’s house is afire you must wet your own. St. Vincent learned nothing from the Barbados experience and sadly Barbados has learnt nothing from its past history on foreign direct Investors.

11. David,
    The Harlequin Investment group was not formed yesterday. The plans were not submitted and approved yesterday. Their investments were not obtained yesterday. As advises check out Google and you will see how long ago the whole thing started.Check and report the truth to BU readers and contributors

12. @Alvin

What is your point? We all accept you wear a defaul DLP lense.

13. Alvin Cummins October 17, 2016 at 12:08 PM #

Now that you are here………Could you answer my 4 seasons question above.

14. Alvin

Can you give us a status report on the Pure Beach Resort – promoted by the Canadian/Korean (Toronto) promoters and endorsed by the Attorney General.

See: https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2013/09/07/pure-beach-resort-the-second-coming-of-harlequin/

“With the embarrassment of Four Seasons, Harlequin/Merricks and other similar “investment opportunities”; Barbados can ill-afford another tarnish on its reputation as a place to invest and own a vacation home. Perhaps, if presented with these findings, Government will take whatever action required to stop the madness, prevent any further investment by unsuspecting and unsophisticated “investors”, and spare Barbados the further embarrassment of another major financial scandal should (when) the PURE house of cards comes tumbling down.

Due Diligence hopes the Central Bank Governor’s projection of private capital inflows of $600 million in 2013 is not counting on PURE Beach to make a contribution to that figure.”

Interestingly; Central Bank Governor’s projection of major projects to be started in 2016/2017 includes Pure Beach Resort to be started Q4 2016 – value $300 million.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…ah hope you are not expecting a truthful answer from Alvin.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Due Diligence October 17, 2016 at 3:45 PM
    “Interestingly; Central Bank Governor’s projection of major projects to be started in 2016/2017 includes Pure Beach Resort to be started Q4 2016 – value $300 million.”

There goes that magical figure of $300 million (again)! A real ‘reiteration’ of statistical fudging of the cooked foreign reserves books.

The old yard bird called Alvin the Chi(c)nkmonkey should also tell us if the same Guv will be including the Hyatt Erection which is scheduled to start construction within two months according to motor-mouth minister Donville and included in the forex inflows for 2016 as announced in August by the chief liar.

DD, do you know if the money for the Hyatt Tower of Babbling is foreign money (FDI) or is it NIS raided funds aka locally wasted investment?

One thing about you DD, the MoF and his sidekick the Guv of the CB could fool the naïve stupid Bajans (including the Opposition) with their massaged statistics but clearly not you, my erudite friend.

17. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Many of the land fraud businesses are coming to an end, More will show to be also fraud just now, People love to love people with money and land that have no roots,
    Suckers are made and some are born, Crooks are made up to fools others, All thing have owners , The right owner must be known before business and move ahead,
    CLICO, 4 seasons and here come HYATT, We already seen The Oval and the High Court fraud,

People must seek truth before looking to do business in Barbados , Minister and Most lawyers are crooks, Do your home work or you will loose your savings, Avoid First Caribbean

18. David and DD, as well as Well Well and Miller,
    Do the research yourself and report.

19. @Alvin

If you have doneresearch why would you not share?

Then again we all recall your contribution to. Cahill.

20. Well Well, DD, David et al,
    Ames, Townsend, Pemberton, Harlequin, Four Seasons,Allard. All Scam artists, U.K. lost investments.Irish investors and Irish Court, Scam artists. all ingredients in the same pot of stew. As I said long ago. You know the truth. Don’t blame this government. And it has nothing to do with chicken stew, whether yard fowl, or yard duck. Do your research and report truthfully.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin….it always comes out in the wash.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin..here…ya need to stop ya fraudulent ways..not everyone has a short memory.

Well Well & Consequences October 17, 2016 at 5:47 PM #
    Alvin just admitted on another thread that the 4 seasons was a scam with Pemberton, Bizzy and Cow scam artists leading…so ehy did that jackass David Thompson and all the other idiots in parliament take up taxpayer’s 60 million dollars US to use as collateral to pay those crooks who were also vendors and others. ..knowing 4 seasons was a scam…

Eh Alvin…they knew it was a scam, you said it was a scam…but you dont want the government to take blame…idiot, that was the taxpayer’s money, how will they get it back now when Bizzy, Cow and all the other crooks dissolved the scam company in London this year.

23. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

ttps://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RZKo-AIOBDA

24. Note Alvin avoided Pickering. #cluckingtime

25. So Alvin why did DLP government deal with the Pemberton’s for example?

26. Troubled Harlequin Property Declared Insolvent

By

Lisa Smith

October 17, 2016

An overseas property company promising 10% returns to investors in return for pension cash to build luxury holiday accommodation has been declared insolvent.

Harlequin Property SVG, a company based on the Caribbean islands of St Vincent and the Grenadines has announced a professional trustee has been appointed but denies the firm is bankrupt.

The company maintains the move gives breathing space for six months for ‘sorting out business affairs’.

Meanwhile, an estimated 6,000 investors who pumped £400 million of cash from their retirement savings into the property scheme are watching to find out if they will see any money back.

Harlequin Property SVG owns the land where the planned resorts were going to be built.

Disgruntled investors

Instead of the thousands of completed villas and apartments promised to investors, only a fraction of were finished and many investors have seen no return for their money.

Harlequin says declaring insolvency is aimed at protecting the interests of thousands of investors and employees.

The move also pre-empted a bid by lawyers in Britain to wind up the company.

Waterside Legal acts for around a thousand disgruntled Harlequin investors who were mostly advised to switch their pension cash into the troubled company by IFAs.

Because the Harlequin scheme was not regulated in the UK, the worst case scenario is they will lose all their money if the company goes bust without any claim on compensation through the Financial Services Compensation Scheme.

Watchdog warning

Harlequin Group chairman David Ames is said to be facing a police investigation in St Vincent relating to alleged theft and tax evasion amounting to £2.3 million.

British consumer watchdog the Financial Conduct Authority first warned IFAs not to recommend investing with Harlequin Property in January 2013.

Then the FCA said: “We urge financial advisers considering recommending consumers paying monies or further monies over to any of the companies in the Harlequin group at this time to proceed with caution.

“You should ensure that consumers fully understand the risks involved with the investment. You should also advise consumers to obtain legal advice from lawyers in the country where the property is located before proceeding with any investment in a company in the Harlequin group.”

27. millertheanunnaki October 17, 2016 at 4:25 PM #

Thank you for your kind comments.

You said “DD, do you know if the money for the Hyatt Tower of Babbling is foreign money (FDI) or is it NIS raided funds aka locally wasted investment?”

DD says – Money? Wha money?

It’s all a bunch of baloney – or is that Maloney?

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin cares so little for his own people in Barbados that he does not care that the clowns in parliament he pimps for took up National Insurance pension fund, social security money for the senior citizens and put in the scam they knew 4 seasons was., that is how callous and uncaring they all are with the people’s money, pick it up and give it away to whomever approaches them with a scam.

Alvin..when will NIS pensioners get back their money.

I told you, most people on the island have short memores but not everyone living outside have short attention spans.

29. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Well Well & Consequences October 17, 2016 at 8:18 PM #
    “Alvin..when will NIS pensioners get back their money.”

In the comforting words of Stinkliar to the Bajan fools: “Shortly” or as soon as the cheque in the mail arrives on his desk.

That man has been promising the resolution of that “All Seasons” fiasco since September 2012.

Isn’t it time the real Four Seasons sue the Barbados government for the ‘illegal’ use of its brand name and logo?

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins October 17, 2016 at 5:37 PM

It’s a pity your Canadian friend Clare the Con-woman was unable to learn from those male scammers. You might be sitting today on your kickback share of the Cahill nest egg, right Alvin the go-between?

Where is that money (US$ 270 million) the Japanese ‘allegedly’ lent the Barbados government to build a brand new state-of-the-art cane sugar factory at Andrews which was earmarked for January 2016 to begin producing all sorts of fancy sugars for export and to generate 25 megawatts of electricity?
    Now you go and do your research and “report truthfully” or else we will expose not both you and Stinkliar to be nothing but genuine strangers to the Truth.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

While the Barbados government does have a track record of getting involved in certain projects, I am unsure this is one of them. Finding investment money isn’t easy. We may ask why several of the larger locally based business are investing largely in projects not in Bim.
    Barbados is expensive, and the world is discovering many places have sun and sand, less costly labour and land, and are closer to major markets.
    Even in NA, government at all levels are giving away plenty to just KEEP jobs. After throwing 7+ trillion at the economy America’s growth is less than 2%. Take away that money and growth is negative. Hence you cannot expect to attract AAA+ credit risk investors. You need dreamers, those who are willing to take risks and that includes several marginal types.

32. Just what Barbados requires: another 45 recently qualified and surplus to requirement lawyers.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/10/17/when-our-market-seems-saturated-with-lawyers/

33. Miller;
    You ask “Alvin..when will NIS pensioners get back their money.” Are you speaking about money that your government’s approVAL OF THE $ SEASONS project (fiasco) left office with investors in that scam with a similar situation as Harlequin? They were the same or similar investors (all from Britain) who were left holding the bag? Note both of these scams were PRIVATE SECTOR driven. The invitation from Harlequin was an offer of 10% RETURN ON INVESTMENT..SOUNDS LIKE TRADE CONFIRMERS, CLICO, VILLA NOVA, AND ALSO PICKERING, WERE SIMILAR TO SO MANY OTHER SCHEMES WITH their genesis outside of the island. David should also publish his findings on these schemes. I already knew these things but I wanted someone other than me to produce the evidence.There is more, so those findings should also be published.

34. Exclaimer,
    Everyone has the right to study whatever one wants. It is a personal choice. You cannot determine what the island’s needs are.

35. Well Well,
    Please note that as David’s contribution showed, it was the European investors who were warned about investing in the Harlequin group:British consumer watchdog the Financial Conduct Authority first warned IFAs not to recommend investing with Harlequin Property in January 2013.” The dates are important for your information.
    Are you on the side of British investors? See how much money was realized? Did you think this amount came out of the NIS? See how silly you are?

36. Did you not read the article Alvin? There is a glut of lawyers on the island. The UWI should be reformed as it does not address the needs of the region. We are wasting finite resources on a limited number of students whose skill sets are not required. Surely a man of your status can understand this.

37. Yours is a very simplistic reply. Of course individuals will follow their dreams but if there is a strategy for national development many will be encouraged to follow that path. Singapore and others have been successful in this regard by implementing incentive programs. In other words leaders cannot surrender on the obligation to demonstrate leadership.

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Alvin Cummins October 17, 2016 at 5:37 PM #
    Well Well, DD, David et al,
    Ames, Townsend, Pemberton, Harlequin, Four Seasons,Allard. All Scam artists”

Alvin….when are you going to stop being a hypocrite, you always get caught in your own lies.

Four Seasons scam artists as posted by you.

Pemberton

I will add the 2 thieves.

Cow Williams
    Bizzy Williams
    And others

Mia Mottley as attorney for the 4 seasons scam artists will know who those others are….what investors in London what, you retard, the company in London was registered to the Williams crooks.

Why did the government of Barbados pick up pensioners NIS fund and invest with known scam artists from Barbados and London on the 4 seasons scams, when will the pension fund see back the 60 million US dollars from that scam., those are the questions Alvin…lying and trying to duck will not answer them.

Miller…I said on here already and I will say it again, Alvin is an extremely wicked black man.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“You need dreamers, those who are willing to take risks and that includes several marginal types.”

But those risks should not be taken on a tiny, very poor island like Barbados, not with pensioner’s money, definitely not…..and not with taxpayer’s money who always end up losing their money…

……they got big dreams those big dreamers, let them go find their own investors, venture capitalists abound worldwide, that is what entrepreneurship is all about, finding your own investirs, not mooching and leeching off poor pensioners and taxpayers, people who worked for below minimum wage and low wages all their lives and expect to receive theur small pensions nearing theur end of their lives only to hear their governments allowed thieves like Bizzy, Cow and Pemberton to burn their money in a scam..

To add insult to injury these same scam artists expect to hire the same taxpayers who the government allows them to rob, pay them slave wages on these same projects and treat them like slaves…well we seen recently that if they cant treat bajans like slaves, the government allows these scam artists to import other Caribbean people as slaves and pay them slave wages instead.

No scam project is worth any of that…the low wages are bad enough but government using taxpayer’s money and pensioner’s money to facilitate crooks in their dreams and scams is unconscionable. ..there is no comparison to North America.

40. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

I want to ask a foolish question. Do we know for sure if the money invested in four seasons in the beginning stages came from outside Barbados? What proofs do we have that that four seasons was not all local, but meant to take on the appearance of overseas investment? I would think that an arrangement was in place. How else can you support the government’s move to invest 60 million, if the warning signs that this project was on a road of doom from its initial offset? After all, all is not what it seems to be.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS…good question seeing that when Thompson made a big radio announcement about taking taxpayer’s money to prop up the 4 seasons crooks, with Mia as attorney for those crooks, while both Thompson and Leroy Psrris were raiding CLICO and stealing millions from the policyholders. ..good question indeed.

You see the collusion between government ministers/ politicians and the private sector business people to steal from the taxpayers, the treasury, the pension fund. ..it’s them against the people…the people always lose.

42. Harlequin’s David Ames is now facing a bankruptcy hearing

Home > News > Harlequin’s David Ames is now facing a bankruptcy hearing

In a fresh round of problems for the troubled Harlequin Property group, its Chairman David Ames is now facing a bankruptcy hearing brought by a group of investors.

A few days ago we brought you the news that Harlequin faced liquidation which could lead to heavy losses for thousands of investors. Today’s bankruptcy petition, due to be heard on 1 November at Southend County Court, is against Mr Ames personally, and if it succeeds it will mark his third bankruptcy. If Mr Ames is declared bankrupt, control of his assets will fall to an insolvency practitioner appointed to deal with them.

It should be noted that Ames is the sole owner of all of the companies that have land and assets within the Harlequin group – which are mainly in the Caribbean and include Harlequin’s flagship resort Buccament Bay in St. Vincent & Grenadines – and therefore they could well be included in any insolvency process.

It could potentially see Harlequin Property – into which thousands of mainly UK pension investors have poured £400,000,000 – broken up and the assets sold off to pay Mr Ames’ creditors. In such an event the payment of creditors is subject to strict guidelines in terms of who gets paid and in what order.

http://www.theclaimsbureau.co.uk/the-claims-bureau-blog/ames-bankruptcy-hearing/

43. @ WW&C
    I said on here already and I will say it again, Alvin is an extremely wicked black man.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    No need to go overboard.
    Alvin is simply an idiot.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ah keep forgetting….lol

45. @What- a- mess,
    You posted: “…another one bites the dust leaving us to be the laughing stock of the world, again and again and again. ”
    What laughing stock? Donald Trump, the presidential candidate of the world leader; the United States, has declared Bankruptsy Six times. He reported a loss on his businesses of over one billion dollars in 1995, which gave him a deferment of his Income Tax payment for over twenty years. Who is laughing at him? He says that is being smart, from a business perspective.Nobody is laughing at him.
    Why do we adopt such a negative attitude to ourselves?

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Donald Trump used bankruptcy as a get rich quick scheme in the US…do you understand that Alvin…do not try to wrap your mind around the complexity of chapter 11.

Yall like to copy lowlifes and dirtbags too much, particularly when they white.

What is the slaves in parliament excuse for bankrupting Barbados and giving away taxpayer’s and pensioner’s money…Alvin..explain.

47. Well Well, David, Miller,Bushie,
    By now you should all know that epithets and name calling do not affect me. I may be an idiot, although I am not wicked, as determined by Well Well. However, I always tell the truth, and David’s posting of the Harlequin is evidence of what I have been saying for a long time.
    That is why I challenged others to do the research and publish their results.

“The bankruptcy case is being brought by a group of 24 Harlequin investors known as the Davies 24, and relates to an earlier settlement agreed in 2014 in which David Ames agreed to pay them £1,300,000 to drop their case against him, in which the investors alleged Ames and his wife Carol made false claims about the risks involved in investing in Harlequin.”
    Contrary to the stories from Well Well and others, the money was taken from the NIS to invest. It must be noted that the sum of money involved was in the vicinity of 400 million Pounds (calculate the total amount based on the exchange value of the Pound, in Bajan currency of the time) do you really believe this could have been taken from the NIS or even Bajan investors? The amount invested came from UK investors putting funds from UK investors in the projects; people like Simon Cowell, Sir Andrew LLOYD WEBBER, ETC. THESE ARE HARDLY THE “poor hard working Bajan pension contributors” that she speaks about. You should also note from David’s post the Ames was the sole owner of the properties of Harlequin.
    It is time that you drop your belligerence and angst against the present government and give the facts, as they are, or as is said in Bajan parlance ;True facts. Instead of expressions of disdain for those you consider as yard fowls; as opposed to Yard ducks,you should “cool yuh passion” and contribute meaningfully to the welfare of the country.

48. Well Well,
    YOU ARE SO WRONG!!!
    You said: “Donald Trump used bankruptcy as a get rich quick scheme in the US…do you understand that Alvin…”
    BULL SHITE!! Trump did not use his bankruptcy (six times) as any get rich quick schemes. He used that method so as to avoid paying personal Income Tax, as required by law. And he had the nerve to boast when he debated Hilary Clinton, that it was being smart. And you dare to try to justify that behaviour? That is why I hold you in such contempt. You are a fraud and a hypocrite.
    There is no need to explain anything to people like you. The standard of living Bajans enjoy, their GDP, and other indicators of an advanced society can be explained by judicious use of the money taxpayers provide. If everybody was like Trump we would really be bankrupt; which we are NOT.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…did you do economics at school, I gather not, when you do not pay income tax for 20 years, you pocket those millions, get rich quick, it was being smart because he made billions, spent it just as fast, but it enriched him quickly.

When you bankruot your company and file chaoer 11, in Trumps case, he refused to pay creditors and everyone else, pocketed the money, got rich quickly.

http://ow.ly/BYUT305iLXs

Alvin…sometimes you are really too stupid to discourse with…so read, you will maybe learn something,

As for Barbados..I will let Moodys and Standard & Poors deal with you.

50. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Alvin…you lie, the IDB, just had an article on the NIS pension fund 60 million dollar money used as collateral to pay debts for 4 seasins…invest in what, they had to money to continue, owed Simon Cowell and others they robbed and owed VENDORS millions.

So what was the government taking pensioners money and invest in…debt.

Alvin…you do not have a head for business…so shut up and stop demoralizing and degradjng yaself lower than yardfowl level.