Recently we had occasion to review the series “House of Cards” and with the much heralded first Q&A sessions between Clinton and Trump being primed for profit, we now consider how art mimics reality, or is more realistic than reality. The differences, if any, between fiction and fact in politics. The centrality of war and peace in this election, if any of this could be serious, for a minute.

As we write both Clinton and Trump are going through their rehearsals in order to present what has been determined should be their best image/s. It’s all about perception management, not fact necessarily. Not truth either, if lies have more purchase. They are politicians playing ‘actors’ attempting to win an Oscar or two.

In the ‘House of Cards’ the president of the USA was portrayed in a more realistic manner than the current one or the wannabes are on the networks. President Underwood was seen as a serial murderer; a manipulator; the son of a man with ties to the KKK; a man surrounded by henchmen, bag men, wet workers, dry workers, willing to break any law in the protection of Underwood and in the finale – willing to go to war to avoid negative news reports about his own sins.

The activities this weekend at the UN suggest that an imminent Clinton presidency would mean a declaration of war on Russia. Clinton is obviously head of the war party in wait. Russia has had to asked ‘who was in charge in the USA’. Obama is clearly not, as the Pentagon has openly disobeyed his orders and bombed Syrian soldiers to show defiance to him. He is now the little boy sitting at the kiddie’s table.

And the CIA continues to arm terrorist groups in Syria in contravention of direct orders from Obama. It is clear Clinton, Samantha Powers and ilk are intent on a humanitarian nuclear war to further the interests of the one-percenters. Russia phobia has gone mad in the USA. And Trump may be our worst best hope, imagine that. For Hilary Clinton is a very, very, wicked bitch.

These are not the images we will see in the reality show which will dominate network coverage over the coming weeks. Any realities would require more than a soundbite, be too complicated for a dumb-down public, be absent of the zingers which Ronald Reagan made popular, fail to deliver the killer blow which both candidates will strive for but a draw could be satisfactory for both candidates and is the most likely outcome.

What we will certainly not see are the political infrastructures before, during and after these Q&A sessions to influence perceived outcomes. It is imminently possible to, by objectives measures, win the debates but loose the perception game. And this has happened before. So the showmanship around these sessions are more important than what actually happens during the Q&As themselves. Is this not then mere political theater?

The same will be true for the actual presidential elections. It is very possible to win the elections and loose the presidency. These days, the best way of achieve the ‘dark arts’ of the political game is to make the false claim of voter fraud by non-White population segmentations unlikely to support you while plotting with the internet experts to rob the electronic vote train as it conveys tallies to the central counting center.

This was the type of voter robbery Romney and Carl Rove attempted in 2012 to deny Obama a second term. Had it not been for the hacker group ‘Anonymous’ we would have had a flipping of tallies as happened in Florida 2000. In the fictional account, President Underwood had developed a more profound method for the total influencing of public perceptions by manipulation the news voters read – from jump street, making sure that only information supportive of him occupied the first items on most search engines, influencing other mainstream media houses, like only a sitting president could.

We know that the Clintons have not been dissimilar to President Underwood. Indeed, all US presidents have employed violence to achieve stated aims, at home and abroad. Clinton is particularly troubling and represent an existential threat to all mankind with her intent to escalate aggression against Russia, her willingness to deploy nuclear weapons, her blind support for the Zionist regime in Palestine, as ultimate war hawk. Now that the Clintons family has married into Jewry we should expect Benjamin Netanyahu in the White House, on steroid, should she win.

As far as violence is concerned, Trump represents a somewhat unknown quantity. Clinton loyalists have been trying to influence perceptions by arguing that he is a friend of the Russians. A country Clinton sees as her primary enemy, a la Ukraine. In this their acolytes in the media have been helpful in painting Putin as a dictator. But Clinton herself, is not unknown for her love affairs with the worst of dictators. They say Trump cuddles Putin. We are unsure what his orientation is likely to be about war and peace but expect that Trump may very well end up in the children’s room, left out of the loop, when the adults, the war party, discuss these matters.

However, given his history, his mental disposition, a 14-year-old boy trapped in a man’s body, his innate dislike for people of colour. We would also contend that no remarkably dissimilar policy positions from those of Clinton or President Underwood should be expected. We will also argue that Trump’s inability to show empathy and his spoilt-child orientation makes him particular dangerous in possession of nuclear weapons should he get a look-in.

A president Clinton will provide more material for writers on the ‘’House of Cards’’. Her administration will be characterized by so many investigations that it will make the Bill Clinton presidency look like a cake walk. Those investigations will be centered on the Clinton Foundation et al which has devolved into a hundreds of billions of dollars in money laundering, a trans-national, criminal enterprise, operating under the cloak of a 5O1C3 and not properly registered in various jurisdictions nor properly reporting.

A Trump presidency is no less likely to be characterized by criminal investigations. He too has issues with the usage of Trump Foundation money, tax code violations etc. The viability of these proceeding may very well depend upon the relative numbers of Republicans and Democrats ‘selected’ in the Senate and the House of Representatives. But a Democratic presidency and a Republican congress will be more eager to go for the impeachment of Clinton, from day one.

It certainly is not helpful to the people of the world that Clinton has already suggested her husband to be the employment czar. In the ‘House of Cards’, President Underwood moved heaven and earth to have his wife, the first lady, in an open marriage, to be the vice-presidential candidate. How life mimics art!

This political theater is manufactured to be unfair. For Jill Stein and Rocky Anderson will not be there, neither would the other up to 100 candidates who are on some ballots. The corporation, run by Republicans and Democrats who own this project is less interested in fairness than the League of Women Voters who ran the debates up to the 1980s.

President Underwood would have been glad to locate this set of moderators willing to keep fictions alive. Moderators refusing to do any fact checking. Moderators who have said that even obvious misstatements made will not be highlighted. Moderators prepared to have candidates disobey rules of truth without sanction.

The elections in the USA should be about the survival of the planet, the avoidance of war, the extent to which the one-percenters are seeking to gain more control over us all. What is certain is that a Clinton victory will insure all the above. It is difficult for us to contemplate circumstances where a Trump presidency could avoid these sets of outcomes given the diffusion of the war party forces and the acceptance of the PNAC agenda by all mainstream political forces.

Maybe the election will be a watershed. A time when the ‘House of Cards’ collapses. But we seriously doubt. However, these dog and pony shows should not properly qualify as debates. They are more Q & A sessions, billed like fights between Ali & Fraser, with the winner known ahead of time, depending on who spends the most money in advertising on the networks sponsoring same.

597 responses to “Clinton Versus Trump – Fiction Versus Fact”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I dont know why anyone would listen to Trump or Clinton debate…. .it would be like listening to a bad script…, wasted time that will never return.

2. Don’t know why Donald is so hard on China, he wants to build a wall and they have the know how.

3. Why is there not such a debate in BB before next election?

Would be funny.

4. An aside, Lester Holt’s maternal grandparents immigrated from Jamaica dem is the kind of immigrants that Donald would keep out.

5. He is now the little boy sitting at the kiddie’s table?

HE WAS ALWAYS THE LIKKLE BLACK BOY PUPPET doing his masters bidding

6. Sargeant September 26, 2016 at 9:52 PM #
    An aside, Lester Holt’s maternal grandparents immigrated from Jamaica dem is the kind of immigrants that Donald would keep out.

HOW DO YOU KNOW DAT?
    WUH TRUMP DO YOU? LOL

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

My daughter just told emergency rooms are filled with people who over drank since the debate started….lol

8. Trump to the surpise of many is having a good debate with minutes to go.

9. WELL ALCOHOLICS DRINK AND GET DRUNK THAT IS WHAT THEY DO

I WATCHING TOO BUT I HAVE NOT EVEN HAD A DRINK OF WATER

10. RE Trump to the surpise of many is having a good debate with minutes to go.

AFTER ALL HE IS NOT THE ASS THAT FOOLS THINK HE IS

HOW CAN A MAN HAVE THE SORT OF CHILDREN HE HAS AND NOT BE A GOOD MAN

11. Like many commentators in the Caribbean, Pacha overestimates the power of the United States. America is the world’s pre-eminent military power but it is deeply in debt and has many formidable enemies and critics. Radical Islam, plus China, Russia, North Korea and Iran, have all checked American influence.
    The POTUS may have life or death power over the careers of many ambitious judges and politicians in America, and over the lives of some of the foreign leaders that are confronting US imperialism, but killing a leader ( e.g. Saddam) and overthrowing his government is a lot easier than imposing America’s will. Most Asian countries have shown that they can tolerate only small doses of American values, and they will not take orders from Washington.
    Neither Clinton of Trump can use nuclear weapons except in the most unlikely scenarios, so neither is to be feared for having a finger on the nuclear button. There are so many countries that have mastered the technology of nuclear weapons that we can all sleep soundly every night in the knowledge that total war is virtually impossible. Wipe me out today, and you will suffer the same fate tomorrow, even if you are an American.

12. I’m always surprised at Hillary’s confidence. If I were a fat old lady with a third rate mind and a history of personal corruption, I would be embarrassed to ask voters for the keys to the most important job in the world.

13. TRUMP IS FAR SMARTER THAN ALL THE MORONS WHO COME ON BU TO CRITICIZE HIM

14. Hilary is kicking his ass he is clueless

15. chad99999 September 26, 2016 at 10:30 PM #

HILARY IS BRIMBLING

TRUMP HAS ACHIEVED WHAT HE WAS SUPPOSED TO DO IN THIS DEBATE–THAT IS KEEP HIS COOL

16. Chad

We now know with certainty that nuclear devices were used on 9/11, by Americans on American soil.

We now know with certainty that battlefield nuclear weapons were use in Fullujah’

We know that the Zionists used battlefield nukes against Hezbollah in the July 2006 war.

We have a woman constantly threatening Russia, China

And a man asking why have nuclear weapons if they can be never used.

You decide if a dying empire will not do all that it can to keep this wicked system going.

17. @ Chad

We tend to hate it when people like you suppose that these writers are some where in Barbados.

Come on you can’t suppose that being over-in-away still has any purchase

18. @David
    Trump to the surpise of many is having a good debate with minutes to go
    +++++++++
    That’s the gift of low expectations, it’s the same formula he used in the Republican debates no facts or specifics, just generalities and shouting over everyone else in the room.

19. RE Hilary is kicking his ass he is clueless

NO PIECE NOT AT ALL

HE HAS DONE WHAT HE WAS SUPPOSED TO DO TONITE ACCORDING TO THE SURVEY

SHE ATTACKED AND ATTACKED BUT HE KEPT HIS COOL

20. RE it’s the same formula he used in the Republican debates no facts or specifics, just generalities and shouting over everyone else in the room.

BUT HE WON THE NOMINATION WITH RECORD NUMBERS AND THE LEAST AMOUNT OF MONEY

HE CONTROLLED HIMSELF TONIGHT

21. Not sure CNN commentators watched the same debate as the BU household.

22. @ Dr. GP

I tend to disagree

He was not prepared as it related to the geopolitical matters

He made some really stupid responses and kept the debate about himself as opposed to the country.

Weak Crime Management and race related responses

Here was my list that i can expand on in time

Holts questions were not Donald Trump friendly

His responses regarding the following are abysmal

23. @Trump

We will find out soon how the American public graded the debate BUT Trump doesn’t project his brand to be one of being a politician.

24. He was obnoxious in his brekking up her responses then someone signalled him and he desisted in that strategy

25. And, just in case you dont notice Trump almost left the stage without shaking the hand that was offered by the nigger Holt.

Faux Pas number ker zillion

26. Lester Holt used to carry himself with the swagger of a thuggish Marine (which is what he once was) when he was the news anchor at WBBM (Chicago) in the 1990s. Since he moved to the NBC national news team in New York, he has been feminized, and now, increasingly enfeebled by age, he looks like a fumbling, near-sighted college professor.

27. piece
    all trump had to do tonight is to show that he was not a mad man like hilary said he is

AND HE DID THAT…………HE EXHIBITED SELF CONTROL

TRUMP IS UP AGAINST
    A WOMAN WHO BROKE THE LAW AND GOT AWAY WITH IT
    THE POLITICAL ESTABLISHMENT OF THE USA
    THE IGNORANT NIGGERS IN THE USA THAT VOTE DEMOCRATIC FOR 6 0 YEARS AND KEEP THEM IN SLUMS

I ADMIRE HIM FOR STANDING UP NEXT TO THAT PIECE OF SCUM

BUT I AM LOOKING FOR MY HERO TO TURN UP

WHO EVER WINS THE ELECTION………….JESUS IS COMING SOON

28. Trump is a racist, but he could be our racist if he wins: Trump needs to hide his assets. The Caribbean island could help him …

29. Jesus may come today
    Glad day, glad day!
    And I would see my friend;
    Dangers and troubles would end
    If Jesus should come today.

Refrain

Glad day, glad day!
    Is it the crowning day?
    I’ll live for today, nor anxious be;
    Jesus, my Lord I soon shall see.
    Glad day, glad day!
    Is it the crowning day?

I may go home today
    Glad day, glad day!
    Seemeth I hear their song;
    Hail to the radiant throng!
    If I should go home today.

Refrain

Why should I anxious be?
    Glad day, glad day!
    Lights appear on the shore,
    Storms will affright nevermore,
    For He is at hand today.

Refrain

Faithful I’ll be today,
    Glad day, glad day!
    And I will freely tell
    Why I should love Him so well,
    For He is my all today.

Refrain

30. Trump let Lester Holt help Hillary win the debate. As Breitbart points out, Holt did not ask Hillary pointed questions about her reckless handling of government secrets on the email server or the criminal corruption of the Clinton Foundation, and Trump failed to pivot to those issues when he had the mike.

31. CHAD
    TRUMP DID AS SET OUT ON THE SURVEY
    THATS ALL I WILL SAY

32. HE DIDNT REITERATE COLIN POWELL’S ASSERTION THAT BILL WAS STILL BANGING BIMBOS IN THEIR BEDROOM OR TELL THE MILLEMMIALS THAT MONICA LOWENSKI BROUGHT FORTH THE DRESS WITH BILL’S SEMEN

33. “The activities this weekend at the UN suggest that an imminent Clinton presidency would mean a declaration of war on Russia. Clinton is obviously head of the war party in wait. Russia has had to asked ‘who was in charge in the USA’. Obama is clearly not, as the Pentagon has openly disobeyed his orders and bombed Syrian soldiers to show defiance to him. He is now the little boy sitting at the kiddie’s table.”

I suppose too the chiefs of the CIA and Pentagon put a gun to Mr Obama’s head and forced him to give the order to assassinate Mr Bin Laden in vigilante style rather than bringing him to justice. In an effort to give Mr Obama a pass for his according to Mrs Clinton obvious lack of experience in foreign policy or in my words naivety we introduce fiction into the equation. Though I might not agree with all the Great Satan does to achieve its ends from which we benefit I might add I would prefer to lie in bed with the Great Satan than with repressive countries like Russia, China and Cuba where the people have little freedom of choice. America needs to reassert itself as leader of the free world which has been lost under Mr Obama’s presidency.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

I did not waste my time and energy watching a staged debate by 2 frauds..but, if Trump behaved himself…he had no choice.

Last time Killary debated in NY fpr the senate seat, Rick Lazio paid a steep price for appearing to bully Killary…the public was not impressed and punished Lazio, he would have won, except for that.

Trump is all types of distasteful, repugnant things…but he knows when to muzzle himself.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And here are the results..

http://ow.ly/f8dH304Brsm

Lol

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/JmqE304BrJr

The president.

Ha-ha, ha hahaha. .

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/N60V304BrQC

And the fraud. .

Haha. .lol…lol

38. Clitory was certainly more knowledgeable but trump for the most part kept his cool. He missed opportunities like when she was talking about cyber attacks and would tell china,russia etc not to do it. He should have said don’t tell them just put it in a private email to one of your aides. The next debate will be better trump is not going to miss the chances now they have a template What an ugly bunch of people, I would take either vice presidential nominee over them.

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/vG5o304BsFJ

Lol..hahaha. .lol

I…can’t. .breathe.

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Wow, @ David September 26, 2016 at 10:17 PM “Trump to the surprise of many is having a good debate with minutes to go” SERIOUSLY!

@Pieces, I saw the debate as you did but at the end of the day that is not surprising as others here who always supported Trump (not you David) saw the same thing we both did and yet awarded Trump victory.

That says it all about the likely change in polling: those who support will not change. The question is all about those who were undecided. Not sure this ‘awesome’ , par-for-course Trump performance moves them to Clinton.

And as @Sargeant says “That’s the gift of low expectations”. How can the people of the supposedly ‘greatest country of the free world’ have propelled a man who is so outwardly crass, racist and temperamentally unfit to the cusp of the Presidency.

Because one assumes that a majority of them are crass, racist and temperamentally unfit @ life.

Ms Clinton may be duplicitous and traffics in political lies endlessly (like her rebuttal of the TPP) but good gawd Donald Trump has been again shown to so easily prevaricate to the tune of “one falsehood every three minutes and 15 seconds over nearly five hours of remarks”. That was what one news site said of him BEFORE the debate. The only difference last night was that he did that over 1.5 hours.

Oh, of course that same site pegged Clinton @ ‘one falsehood every twelve minutes’. Last night I pegged her on that TPP item and at most four more half-truths over 90 minutes.

So let’s go with Donald. He certainly out did her, didn’t he!

41. at least he hasn’t called you guys super predators, or made millions from being in the govt sector what an election …finding the person you hate the least

42. Steupsss
    Who gives a sh**!!
    After George Bush, anything is possible…. besides..
    A people ALWAYS get the leadership that they deserve.
    Them and WE…

You already know this, but Matt 7;20-24 is worth another look.
    It is by our FRUIT that we will be judged….. by the things that we PRODUCE.
    The bossman said quite plainly that when that day (to which you look) comes, many will find themselves heading down shit street – despite a lotta long talk on their part…. They will be told “I do not know you….’

It is therefore wise to build your house on a rock – like a wise man …. not like Hyatt.
    Sitting around ‘waiting’ with your talent hidden in the sand is not a wise strategy…

43. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Bush Tea at 7:24 AM…I absolutely don’t get your point. If it is true as you say “Who gives a sh**!!”then why should anyhow be concerned that “It is therefore wise to build your house on a rock – like a wise man ….. Sitting around ‘waiting’ with your talent hidden in the sand is not a wise strategy…”

As we all know what happens in the largest economy of the world affects even little Barbados so how can we get our house on the rocks but not pay attention to the goings-on up there when their proverbial sneeze means we got a racking cold.

Are you just screeding for screeding sake. Just saying bro. As you know you are still my #2 blogger here regardless of how you does cuss de water I does drink! LOLL.

44. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/rzug304ByIq

The analysts.

45. @ Lawson

You are soooo correct with that political call of “finding the person you hate the least”

In our case Barbadians have to choose between two tribes of monkeys where our choice is based on the experience of a group of superlatively inept ministers and a hope that the other group is going to be less inept when they get into the HoA.

I agree with you “bigly” and shall be using that word from now on to underscore the infantile vocabulary of the proposed Commander in Chief of the United States of America and his cyberspace defense strategy of his 10 year old computer expert son

Fumble ‘s nose is bigly, stinkliar’s, WeJonesing’s and Steve Blackhat’s heads are bigly.

Immortalized Stupidity.

If the undecideds can’t see patented stupidity then they do assuredly deserve the Donald as president a man with the intellect of a kindergarten youth

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/politics/stasi-presidential-debate-debacle-donald-trump-article-1.2807666

A woman’s perspective above.

I reserve the right to not vote for either scum, not even if my life and that of my family depended on it…this is one election not worth the bother. ..voting for one is very much like voting for the other.

They are BOTH too “bigly” for me..lol

“His race relations platform apparently was formed upon his building a club in Palm Beach in which he so generously let in blacks and Muslims. Welcome to 1965.

But when the birther issue was brought up for no reason, Trump caused a national cringe, doubling down on his latest claim, which made him look like the country’s top racist.”

When you have reached the point of “finding the person you hate the least”…..you have reached the end.

47. Never in the history of the USA has an American President been asked to produce his Birth Certificate but Donald Trump says he did the country a favour by getting Obama to produce his. A deviation on the notion “you’re black and you don’t belong here” a new age manifestation of Jim Crow to delegitimize the first black President and the South African “pass” laws, let me see your “identification” or ”papers” a visible nod to the majority we are keeping the “n…er” in his place. An appeal to those who cling to the notion that we are only good for “shucking and jiving” and an insult to Black people everywhere.

His rise on the political horizon was fueled by his racist rhetoric and if it walks like a duck, quacks like a duck, swims like a duck and shits all over the place It’s a duck.

48. Clinton vs. Trump and the Barbados Government vs. itself! Oil rich Saudi Arabia sees the necessity and has the backbone to reduce expenses in the face of falling oil prices yet for eight years this government is incapable of implementing any plan to deliver same. Follow this link to see how decisive leadership acts when faced with tough decisions. https://news.google.com/news/ampviewer?caurl=http%3A%2F%2Fmobile.nytimes.com%2F2016%2F09%2F27%2Fworld%2Fmiddleeast%2Fsaudi-arabia-cuts-salaries-oil.amp.html#pt0-509851