Safe drinking water and adequate sanitation are crucial for poverty reduction, crucial for sustainable development and crucial for achieving any and every one of the Millennium Development Goals. – UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon

Jeff Cumberbatch - Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill
Jeff Cumberbatch – Chairman of the FTC and Deputy Dean, Law Faculty, UWI, Cave Hill

It should be easy for most Barbadians to sympathize, or perhaps even empathize, with the plight of the residents of those local districts who have had to endure a regrettable lack of piped water to their homes in recent months. It certainly is no laughing matter when one is forced to endure the discomfort and displeasure of not being able to flush a toilet by a mere press of the plunger or unable to take a shower at the end of a long hot day. The โ€œbathe-upโ€ or standpipe baths and gatherings of bygone Barbados ought not to be an imperative for the contemporary taxpayer. To add insult to injury, it has been reported that bills, more than nominal in some cases, continue to be issued to these long-suffering individuals for water usage by the Barbados Water Authority.

It is equally easy, if one is so inclined, to use this unfortunate circumstance as an opportunity to bash the hapless administration in office and to classify its occurrence, as has been done by more than a few, as an example of poor governance, of poor leadership, an abdication of ministerial responsibility or a heady cocktail of all the above.

At one level, the state does bear ultimate responsibility if this โ€œessential serviceโ€ should not be supplied to all citizens without discrimination. According to several of the international conventions that we have ratified, ensuring the national supply of safe, potable water is an express state obligation. For example, under Article 24 (2)(c) of the Convention of the Rights of the Child (CRC), States parties are required to pursue full implementation of this right and, in particular, shall take appropriate measures: โ€ฆ (c) To combat disease and malnutrition, including within the framework of primary health care, through, inter alia, the provision of adequate nutritious foods and clean drinking water [Emphasis added].

And Article 14 (2) of the Convention for the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW) mandates states parties to โ€œtake all appropriate measures to eliminate discrimination against women in rural areas to ensureโ€ฆto women the right: โ€ฆ [h] To enjoy adequate living conditions, particularly in relation to housing, sanitation, electricity and water supply, transport and communications.โ€ [Emphasis added]

Other conventions such as the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities and the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights also recognize the right to water as an international human right, obligating the state to ensure to its citizens the supply of sufficient, safe, acceptable, physically accessible and affordable water for personal and domestic uses.

At another level, however, the state may lawfully claim exemption from this obligation where the failure in supply is owed to circumstances such as an Act of God or nature (drought or endemic water scarcity); act or default of another for whom the state assumes no responsibility; or where the failure is otherwise exempted by law so that the claim to an absolute entitlement in any circumstance whatsoever does not arise.

So far as the first is concerned, it may very well be that this condition currently subsists, although the people from the affected districts would not be acting unreasonably to query why the onus of this drought should fall on them unequally.

Nor can the state fairly place the blame on the Barbados Water Authority that, although not constitutionally part of the Crown, bears practically a sufficiently subordinate role thereto as to be considered integrated into the state machinery.

It bears mention in this regard nevertheless, that much of the blame for the recent happenings has been placed on the inherently defective and ancient mains that are currently undergoing replacement. To the extent that this is an ongoing process stretching across the change of governing administrations, it would be clearly inequitable to place all the blame for the delayed achievement of this initiative on the current administration. The partisan ascription of blame, though perhaps electorally beneficial in future, does little to relieve the current insecurity of the affected citizens.

I accept that the figurative horse is well and truly out of the stable, and that from now until the elections bell is rung by the Prime Minister, most civic failings will be seen in a partisan light against the party that comprises the current administration. This is par for the course and, I suppose, those concerned who are far more knowledgeable than I am in these matters will seek to apply and to resist this onslaught as forcefully as may be practicable.

โ€œIt is clear that the solutions to the delivery of water and sanitation for all are fundamentally political in nature and not just technical. The need for opening the โ€œWater Tapโ€ for transparency, accountability and participation is vital as we face the rapid increase of urbanization and the frightening implications of climate change for our scarce water resources”-George, Nhlapo and Waldorf- โ€œThe politics of achieving the Right to waterโ€ (2011)

262 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Politics of Water Security”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…..ACs, ah heard there is discontent within DLP party, is that true…, things looking bad.

Why don’t you shout out the ministers and tell them to do their jobs, am sure at the end of the month they will all rush to collect their paycheckss. …they will not be saying “da check ain’t mine”.

2. Sunshine Sunny Shine September 18, 2016 at 9:43 PM #

“@ Chad999999&blind: I got me a wee wee in me nickers just thinking about all the crap you tend to write under the guise of intelligence.โ€

@ SSS

I could not agree with you more.

3. @ Artax & SSS
    Why wunna don’t give Chad999 a chance nuh…?
    He does go over the limit on occasion, …but Chad has a way of seeing past shiite that impedes many of us as we analyze issues. His perspectives are often enlightening…
    Why does he need to be perfect?

He also happens to have a point about women/men relationships – although he is yet to realize that men are to blame for THAT issue too… but he is young …and bright, and will eventually figure it out…

4. David ammm ok. In any event the level of community outreach has recently reached its highest level. The fact being that social media and other media outlets namely Vob has been very immerised in politicizing the water crisis rather than being forcefully proactive in delivering a message to the public borne on a humanatarian level.just think if such calls to action was address by media on a humantarian cause for the people of St. Joseph over the long period the end result would have been less stressful and more beneficial for the people of St.Joseph
    Now you want to tell me how much community work was being done by one organisation kudos to their efforts and sacrifice.however it is evident that there activism required more community support ..support lacking due in fact to the dismal response of some in social media and other media outlets taking upon themsleves to wage a political war instead of a humanitarian battle
    However it is good to see that Vob has found that vital connect of humanity in helping to provide a good service to the people of St.Joseph.kudos to vob also

5. Really peeps, do you honestly expect a government to deliver water to its citizens when it is unable to provide traffic wardens with books of tickets for over three months?

6. @ The Idiot who it concerns

You do not find CBC Reporting Lies or VOB involved in reporting the names of the Golden Text or the Hymns for the Peoples Cathedral.

This social media platform is utilized like how one deploys different horses for different courses.

It would be an absolute waste of resources to have Barbados Underground detail the water support campaign and schedule.

When You go on the website for the Barbados Water Authority, the substantive agency for the delivery of water, do these clowns have a schedule for delivery of water for the communities that are without water??

Whu aftah all if dem is lax in what is their mandate, why should it fall to BU, not only to discuss what wunna effing up doing but then to become wunna media dissemination mechanism.

Steupseeeeee.

[[Bush Tea, I got a private question for you, ergo the square brackets.

When you was did had dat slip and carry out that ram goat with her alpine characteristics did it “perform”??

De reason I wants to know as an enquiring mind is that I really want to know whu cuntribution them is capable of at all in this world causing my man, dem surely is not no Edison though, now de ole man do tink bout it, dat udder Edison feller, de PS feller he silly like a ram sheep heself]]

PS please remember to reply to de ole man wid square brackets

7. ‘Anonymouse – TheGazer September 18, 2016 at 7:18 PM #
    @Bajans,
    I like your answer..
    You donโ€™t really care if it is true or not or about the welfare of a single Barbadian. You want the bearer of the news. How come you give Shirley a pass. Go after her also.”

I am perplexed by your statements. Where did you get the idea that I do not care about the welfare of a single Barbadian. Am I not Barbadian, am I not from St. Joseph, do I not have a 98 year old great aunt, aunts, uncles, cousins etc., still living in St. Joseph? Are they not suffering from lack of water? Have I not sent down plastic barrels so they can catch and store water?

Not everything has to be written on these blogs. I don’t believe repeating what others have already said adds value to the discussions.

It is just that I think Trudeau should start at home. I contribute $$$ to the party and expect him to look after our issues first and foremost.

Why would I go after Shirley? That is not my style. You confusing me with the ACs.

8. @Colonel Buggy

You forgot to mention that all those upscale houses with the stolen water had swimming pools. The pictures were in the paper! But no poor black people live up there. So they get a “get out of jail free” card.

9. If the BWA with 2 very bright ministers in the persons of Lowe and Walters could not get the flow of water to every household in little Barbados,how do you expect a minister whose substantive portfolio is Minister of Agriculture,a burdensome ministry in itself, to perform satisfactorily in either one or the other.He ‘bound to fail twice’.It is so ironic that the chairman of the board of BWA is an octogenarian whose specialty is Agri Econ and he worked in Africa and should get along well with the African tasked with managing the water supply.What a tangled web.Meanwhile the Josephine continue to have water problems and they have lost the voice of one of their ardent supporters in the Rev Massiah whose fatted calf membership has affectively shut him up for the last year.The Anglican Church has lost its influence in Barbados.Once upon a time Harold the Dane,Drexel the litigator and Hatch the prayer warrior of Parliament who Barrow fired up,have all sung …Through all the changing scenes of life.

10. The Pentecostals have replaced the Anglican.

Let us not forget Estwick threatened to resign when Thompson from his deathbed relegated him to the ministry of agriculture and Water. The plan was for Estwick by now to have demonstrated his acumen to make these two ministries more relevant in the national scheme of things.

11. The lower the elevation at which you live the better the water supply …. gravity!!

East Coast perhaps excepted ….. landslips cause burst pipes and Bowmanston is often shut down for mud in the water after heavy rainfall.

I understand Sweet Vale pumped dry this year.

Another well was sunk at Grove, … or perhaps it was the one in existence already … that pumped dry!!

I am hearing a well was sunk somewhere in the St. John Valley where there is so much water all problems will be solved.

Well … looks like they still persist!!

I suspect after a glance at the geological map of Barbados the basal contours would suggest the sensible place would be close to Tappy Pond, not far from Sweet Vale but I haven’t gone and looked.

This won’t solve the problem either!!

All this approach would do is to locate the well closer to the lowest point of the basal contours under the valley.

The fundamental problem is there hasn’t been sufficient rain to keep water levels above the basal contours high enough to be pumped.

In layman language, we tekking out more than goes in!!

This was never a problem before because St. Joseph was sparsely populated and many people relied on standpipes …. but since we have moved up to the deluxe apartments in the sky …. well … reality sets in.

During the blitz of London during WWII, Londoners became famous for the saying” we can take it”

But that was because they knew they would overcome the problem and it too would pass.

This isn’t going to happen in St. Joseph!!

The best we can do is to share the problem.

Where I live I am yet to experience any water outage except if there is a burst pipe in the area.

I could not or would not complain if I had to experience some water outages if it would help the folks in St. Joseph …. but again, the problem is gravity!!

I am at about 300 feet, it takes a lot of energy to take water from 300 to 1100 feet …. a great deal.

The best solution is to pump up from the level below and cascade the problem downwards.

But then, if everybody suffered the outages, the politicians would get burnt at the stake … which should have happened a long long time ago!!

So I doubt that will happen, getting water from these politicians is like getting blood from a stone.

The St. Joseph folk need to make sure they catch the rain and/or revert to the words of the old time song, “Country girls never bathe their skin till the rain come down”!!

12. A way to predict if you will see solutions to the water supply in St. Joseph is to keep an eye on the water level in the pond at Claybury.

If that fills it is because the rainfall is high enough to overcome what is lost by evapotranspiration and produce a net flow to the pond … aka run off!!.

Once there is sufficient run off the majority will go underground through the karst limestone of the St. John Valley to fill the gigantic “pond” many many feet under the miniature one at Claybury …

…. so the St. Joseph folk can get their water.

There is a trickle down effect, the Applewaithes Basin will then get the overflow from the pond under the St. John Valley.

The sensible thing would have been long ago to declare a moratorium on housing development above a certain elevation but that will never happen because all sorts of people get all sorts of money from kickbacks and whatever involved in construction.

Screw Barbados!!

13. @ John

And there e ole man was thinking bout sophisticated mapping and run-off planning and all sorta technological gobbledock and you come in two posts and say what we gots to do simple so.

Since you seem to have your finger on the pulse of this matter John answer de ole man someting.

Was there ever a UWI underwritten research project which (a) focused on the desalination of water by alternative economic means (b) sea rather wave powered pumps to assist in overcoming the gravity issues per pumping water to higher reservoirs (or any other renewable energy sources or (c) pilots that focused on the storage of rainwater at various points where the water problems was/are greatest??

I is a slow man so please forgive my ingrunt simplistic questions ok? but i was jes wondering if we Cave Hill braniacs is any where in de solution to dis ting.

You went to Cave Hill? Please dont cus de ole man effing you did ok?

14. So if John got his geology right there should be water in Mose Bottom in St Andrew and Thyme Bottom in Ch Ch.Any other bottoms other than the many one gleefully observes any weekday and Saturdays on Broad Street? Can Coffee Gully,Russia Gully,Condemn Gully,Belle Gully and the host of gullies in Barbados be dammed?

15. AC September 19, 2016 at 8:43am
    “just think if such calls to action was address by media on a humantarian cause for the people of St. Joseph over the long period the end result would have been less stressful and more beneficial for the people of St.Joseph”

And if the BWA had a daily service organised throughout the area refilling tanks and offering a ‘stop and serve’ system, the end result would have been EVEN LESS STRESSFUL and EVEN MORE BENEFICIAL for the people of St. Joseph.

No evidence of one single water tank while volunteers were rising to the challenge faced by the people of St. joseph. What is wrong? Are the water tanks out of service like the buses and the garbage trucks?

In a real country, the ministers for garbage, water and transport would have resigned (before they were sacked) months, years ago. We have every right to blame them. It is all due to the poor, nay, non-existent management of the ministries they head and for which THEY ARE RESPONSIBLE.

If they are so useless that they cannot manage their ministries, then they should have long since gone and someone found to do the job properly.

And if no-one here is capable, which seems ever more likely by the day, then get well established and experienced consultants in from overseas who are not the cousins of the ministers, and do not have criminal records or shell companies based in the Channel Islands.

16. And I don’t give a flying jobby who did or did not do this or that 9 years ago. I want to know why SFA has been done in the last nine years that has us in the situation we are in NOW

17. Mitchlans
    Some people blame Grantley for introducing Adult Suffrage in ’51.I don’t agree for the simple reason(to quote the retard from St Lucy)that 31% of the electorate voted for the Dems.Those Dems are like the catolics who believe anything the papal bull write is fact,so one must conclude that 69% are far more intelligent but disorganized to the extent that 40% think there was no need to follow Grantley’s advice and vote,come hell or high water.Failing which you tend to get the government you deserve.There will be no progress in Barbados until the majority vote like never before and throw Froon ass under the bus, never to come back ever!Gaulblimmuh!

18. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ John September 19, 2016 at 3:54 PM

John, you song like a Bajan white man not overly afflicted with the genetic curse of in-breeding but is fortunately able to think outside the proverbial box in order to see the light of commonsense which fails to shine on your nigger-yard counterparts currently โ€˜monkeyingโ€™ around with the management of your countryโ€™s affairs.

You demonstrate an insightful appreciation of both the geological and hydrological makeup of your country Little England.
    Of course you know the reason why white people have always found Barbados to be most habitable to their requirements if not only because of the surplus of black servants to satisfy their every want but also because of the presence of potable water stored in underground clay-lined catchments which do not permit the vast breeding of mosquitoes and thus providing a sustainable habitat for dangerous reptiles like snakes and alligators.

So here is a stupid question to you: Are the underground streams found in the Harrison Cave still flowing in abundance; and if so where does that water end up?

Now that we are in the four seasons of blaming and not one of naming and shaming we must castigate you and your slightly โ€˜off-colouredโ€™ lot of white shadows for so easily ceding the management of the country to this โ€˜blackenedโ€™ lot of indiscipline incompetent liars and thieves.

First thing you should do is to take back your stolen fake religion from the black masses. They have taken this opiate thing damn to literally and definitely too seriously. Let them go back to their โ€˜duppyโ€™ and ancestral spirit worship thing that saw them through their long period of physical bondage.

Why donโ€™t you and ilk stage a reversed Bussa-type rebellion and overthrow through your dwindling financial clout the present lot of black jokers before your former paradise of apartheid turns into a towering hellhole of a Danteโ€™s inferno scenario. Take a stance, man; just like General Cluster to remove the present lot of idiots.

Maybe Brother Maloney can lead the charge since he is quite au fait with their moral weaknesses and crass incompetence.

19. John September 19, 2016 at 4:06 PM #
    A way to predict if you will see solutions to the water supply in St. Joseph is to keep an eye on the water level in the pond at Claybury.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………….
    This ties in with what a local practicing Water Diviner has observed during the course of his findings.
    @ Gabriel
    In former times when we were blessed with lots of rain, many of these ‘bottom” gullies would naturally act as dams ,to a certain extent, before allowing water to escape.

20. Along with leaking from very old mains there is the problem of runoff given the shift to building a concrete jungle.

On Mon, Sep 19, 2016 at 9:45 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

21. Miller
    Barbados got some black brothers with lots of legally gained big money.Many of them prefer to stay out of the spotlight and do not drive benzes nor beamers.

22. John September 19, 2016 at 4:06 PM #
    104 Years ago this device on top of Castle Grant reservoir, an Inverted U Tube, or venturi was fitted to the main line in from Golden Ridge , to allow Golden Ride to pump water through Castle Grant Reservoir to any location or building at an elevation 36 feet above Castle Grant. With all the technology since then , can’t we do better. Mind you some are still trying to get to grips with Horse and buggy technology.
    http://i.imgur.com/uK2Xd7T.jpg?1

23. millertheannunaki September 19, 2016 at 5:45 PM #
    @ John September 19, 2016 at 3:54 PM

Maybe Brother Maloney can lead the charge since he is quite au fait with their moral weaknesses and crass incompetence.

The Charge of the White Brigade , will never come about.

24. All along the west and east coast given the topography of the island,when it rains aplenty the various roads from the central areas act as conduits and the water finds its way to the sea.It would add to the water supply to trench these roads to conduct the flow into these wells as was done when the ABC highway was built.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The “black brothers with lots of legally gained money” know to stay the hell away, as far as they can, from the slaves in parliament, or get sold out to those slaves’ masters and mistresses of the 5% parastic minorities.

26. Gabriel September 19, 2016 at 5:03 PM #

So if John got his geology right there should be water in Mose Bottom in St Andrew and Thyme Bottom in Ch Ch.Any other bottoms other than the many one gleefully observes any weekday and Saturdays on Broad Street? Can Coffee Gully,Russia Gully,Condemn Gully,Belle Gully and the host of gullies in Barbados be dammed?

If you go down in Back River from Mose Bottom you will find water … not much but there will be some.

In high rainfall events it will be a river and will flow to the sea via Haggatts and Long Pond.

You will also find “Green Tar” which Bajans used as a medicine for generations, some still do.

The difference between Mose Bottom and Back River and the other gullies you mention, is that the two of them are in the Scotland District and there is no coral limestone.

Can Coffe Gully, Russia Gully, etc. be damned?

Sure, in fact there is an old wall across Coffee Gully close to Castle Grant/Little Island and if you step into the gully by Baobab Towers leading down to the Belle you will see a dam and a well.

The gully is cracked and fissured so the damming that occurred in the past was not about creating a reservoir, but about slowing the speed of water during a down pour and enticing it to go underground through the well.

But since the Gully is cracked and fissured in the limestone area the well is kinda superfluous!!

I once walked through Russia Gully and turned to follow the water flow going into Proutes Gully …. actually it is really Prideaux Gully.

In no time I found myself up to my neck in water.

I got through the accumulation of water and found the water barely covered the soles of my shoes.

A geologist friend of mine told me I was mad to have done what I did as the water was disappearing underground into a cave and I could have been sucked in.

So damming gullies to try to collect water in the limestone area … sheer lunacy and a complete waste of resources!!

27. End the Slavery NEXT Elections

28. So here is a stupid question to you: Are the underground streams found in the Harrison Cave still flowing in abundance; and if so where does that water end up?

Why would they stop?

They are supplied by rainfall that occurs upstream …. Bloomsbury, Sturges Area and unless the rain up there stops or somebody contrives to extract the water from a well for irrigation (there are no BWA extractions up there) then they will continue to flow.

…. and, where does the water end up?

…. why in the sea, where else.

But only after passing through the Applewhaites Basin where some of it is extracted by BWA at Bibby’s Lane and the Belle and Codrington ….. and Spring Garden where the “desal” plant gets it cut.

29. @ John & Colonel Buggy

What is this black layer of gum to the sides of my bucket test?

It has a smell like when, as children, we used to pound the lead our grandfather had taken from the jalousies, it is not overly pungent but just noticeable.

30. Everyone believe it or not is a water diviner, even a monkey can find water, probably easier than most man.

Some humans listen more intently to that inner natural part of themselves while others prefer to remain ignorant.

Here is a most interesting video on how a man got a monkey to show him where there was a source of water which just goes to show that sometimes Man can learn from Monkey.

31. The drop of water evaporates and leaves what ever is dissolved in it behind.

Looks like you got some ferrous/ferric (too long since I did Chemistry with Fanny) compounds dissolved from the galvanized pipe (reddish brown so probably ferric) but I have no idea what else would be left …. but if you did the experiment like how I think you did it, whatever it was had to come from the water!!

Possible to get lead sometimes because there are lead fittings used often in older water installations.

If I was 40 years younger I would tell you what reagent to use to test for lead, and what to look for.

Are there any lead fittings attaching your source of water to the BWA mains?

You need a student from 5th or 6th form Chemistry to help you, too long ago for me.

You could also google and see what the Flint people are doing to test for lead.

http://edition.cnn.com/2016/01/21/health/lead-testing-home-drinking-water/

32. If you do find lead is present, don’t get frightened!!

If you don’t exhibit the symptoms of lead poisoning the levels are probably too low to bother about.

But if you want to get a concentration, you need a lab to do the work unless you know an able sixth form student in chemistry …. or the teacher!!.

33. Thank You John for the insights. That is reasonable.

As per solving the matter conclusively de ole man fraid to call de BWA causing

(a) Mwansa may find out an put a vodoo pu me
    (b) Pitbull may find out am mek dem double de ole man bill and
    (c) all dem DLP crooks dem wud know who de ole man is (again) especially when dem see de orange bucket from de pictures dat de ole man post (causing I too stupid to change de bucket)

I was going call de BNSI de national standards place but a feller tell me dat dem does only test concrete heheheheheh.

Quick joke.

During a recent ceremony Mugabe was mekking a joke bout dem Zimbabweans putting a hibby jibby spirit pun you just by getting a sample of your hair from a comb.

De President say dat dem witch doctors so strong dat all dem got to do is to tek you hair, say a few words, and cause the house uh de hair owner to bun down!!

And he den continue

“Dat is why recently why de favellas in Brazil burning down, WITHOUT EXPLANATIONS, and a few hair manufacturing shops in China exploding, inexplicably!!!

Google it pun de BBC ef you tink I lying!!

Dat is why my man Estwick does keep de hair pun he head low, dem fellers ent foolish and dem doan want to offend Mywansa..

34. I remember seeing waterworks people using something called ‘red lead’ to seal joints when working on pipes when I was a likkle girl. It was orange in colour, what was this substance?

35. @John

To your earlier reference about the sinking of wells at Sweet Bottom, the PRO confirmed today the one of the wells failed and another had to be sunk. Testing phase is estimated to be about 2 weeks and if all goes well the second well should be added to production.

On Mon, Sep 19, 2016 at 11:39 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

36. With the amount of shooting going on in Barbados these days ,Barbadians real fear of lead is not ingesting it in their drinking water, but it, penetrating their bodies.

37. bajans September 19, 2016 at 7:54 PM #
    I remember this red lead stuff, but I am not sure what it consisted of. There were a couple of Water Works jointers from the Sugar Hill area, and as a boy,we would have observed them sealing joints on new water mains. They used dirt from around the area to make a paste embedded in a strip of crocus bag, and this was wrapped around the joint to form a mould. Then from the very top they would pour in hot boiling lead, which would wrap around the pipe and quickly seal it.
    Red Lead could have been the patent stuff , instead of the dirt, and most likely used when the main was being laid through “cut rock.”

38. Or it could be the residue from rusty pipes.

39. John September 19, 2016 at 6:57 PM #

Sure, in fact there is an old wall across Coffee Gully close to Castle Grant/Little Island.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Castle Grant gully from Lil Island to Suriname, was a busy thoroughfare used by residents in the surrounding communities as a short cut to the many municipal concerns located in Horse Hill. Ie- St Joseph Parish Church, St Joseph Boy’s and Girl’s Schools, the Dispensary, Dr Johnson, the Almshouse,the Mortuary, The Post Office and the Parochial Treasury.
    The wall across Castle Grant Gully was an attempt by the then owner of Castle Plantation to deter people from using the gully road. This was reinforced later with the planting of cactus, or as is known locally, Flat Hand Dilda .

40. John September 19, 2016 at 7:16 PM #
    Everyone believe it or not is a water diviner, even a monkey can find water, probably easier than most man.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    But John,joking aside, you have a good point here. St Joseph is awash with monkeys, and l ‘ve yet to hear of one raiding the community tanks or harassing the water tanker.

41. ZONE 1. town planning ent playing.

“The Town and Country Planning Department yesterday flexed its muscles with a fore-arm smash when it informed the Professional Road Tennis Association (PRTA) that the location where the facility has been built with bleachers surrounding the court, is a designated Zone 1 area and such construction is prohibited. ”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/86828/tennis-valley#sthash.u1kuoKao.dpuf

42. COLONEL BUGGY
    I LOVE TO READ YOUR ACCOUNTS OF THE OLD TIMES IN BIM AND ESPECIALLY ABOUT LIFE IN ST JOSEPH

43. I always wondered about that wall everytime I passed through the gully.

It wasn’t tall enough to stop people passing and repassing and it could not have been a dam as there was no major catchment behind it.

I reckoned it was some type of line mark.

At one time I thought someone was farming in the gully and sought to deter trespass but there was not a second one further down and what small farmer would spend those resources on a wall.

People going to work at Little Island or Castle Grant or even Andrews who lived in Vaughans would have probably used that gully, come up by Castle Grant or Little Island.

To Andrews would be straight down the track from Castle Grant to St. Anns Church, cross the gully and arrive at Andrews, or follow the road around Idle Corner for a longer route.

There is a dry stone wall the length of the gully from the cart track which joins Horbington/Blackmans to Easy Hall.

This one also fascinated me because it was along the length of the gully, in the middle and not across it, like a barrier.

I always figured it was a line mark.

Most line marks in gullies are in the middle of the water course and are just irons.

Recently I began to think there may be burials under the stone,

There was a burying ground called Straghan’s Land which I reckon was in the Horbington area.

Many burials in early St. Joseph took place there rather than travelling all the way down to Frizer’s Valley where the old parish church was located until it was destroyed by a landslide in 1831.

There were two other burying grounds in the area, one at Andrews Plantation, I suspect in the field called Chapel Field, and the other at Easy Hall by the Mayers/Culpeper Vault.

Not surprisingly that field is called Vault Field.

44. I never encountered Cactus in traversing the gully but I remember there was some kind of plant that was worse than Cow Itch.

People told me it was Poison Tree.

Whatever it was, I remember having to stop and beg a house owner for a wash down under the pipe … thank God there was water!!

That was before the heavy development, drought and intense water problems in St. Joseph.

Others in the group also got hit and it wasn’t Cow Itch.

It was claimed the antidote was a plant that grew near the offending plant, whatever it was.

I never found out.

After being hit twice, I avoided the wall and crossed the gully by entering it at one of two points lower down, one was a really nice cart track in, the other you had to climb.

45. Colonel Buggy September 19, 2016 at 11:01 PM #

John September 19, 2016 at 7:16 PM #
    Everyone believe it or not is a water diviner, even a monkey can find water, probably easier than most man.
    โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ
    But John,joking aside, you have a good point here. St Joseph is awash with monkeys, and l โ€˜ve yet to hear of one raiding the community tanks or harassing the water tanker.

St. Joseph may get a new representative this time around, a large pool from which to choose!!

46. @ John , the poison tree did not normally affect anyone, unless you came in direct contact with it, breaking a branch and causing the juice emitted to render you temporarily blind. But there was a locally available remedy for it. The most recent mother was brought to the scene, and she would proceed to squeeze her natural baby milk into the victims affected eyes.

47. John , have you traveled the route from the back of Castle Grant, by Lil island, parallel to the village of Suriname, down to Frizers Bridge, or branching off to Joes River. There were two natural mini-dams along this route,usually filled with cray fish , and were often used as swimming pools.

48. To Andrews would be straight down the track from Castle Grant to St. Anns Church, cross the gully and arrive at Andrews, or follow the road around Idle Corner for a longer route.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    And I am surprised that the BWA when laying its recent much publicised main from Sweet Vale/ Andrews ,did not take the shorter route past St Annes Church up through Ginger Works. Even if they had to compensate the owner of the short stretch of cart road along this route, they could have save considerable time and money.

49. In that same Castle Grant Gully ,somewhere off mid Branch Bury, is a crack in the gully eastern wall which forms a ramp way ,which allows you to reach the top of the gully directly opposite the cart road to the entrance of Grantley Adams school. This was a welcome short cut, for persons of average size. This passage way was known as ‘The Crack”.

50. Hants September 20, 2016 at 8:51 AM #
    Probably following a complaint from another elias of Shutdown- Andrews- Factory type.