castlegrantA good indication of quality management of any entity is to examine the physical infrastructure (as one example) for which said management is charged. The state of the condition of the entity in this case should raise an alarm when the infrastructure under scrutiny is the national water generation and distributions read Castle Grant reservoir.

It gives Barbados Underground little comfort to publicize this matter BUT there comes a time when obvious years of neglect give the civic minded little choice.

This is the condition of a reservoir managed by the Barbados Water Authority.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

122 responses to “The State of Castle Grant Reservoir”

1. Nice contrast between the Palace in the Pine and the lowly pumping station.

2. @Colonel Buggy

Referring to your last comment, isn’t Cattlewash fed from one of the non problem reservoirs?

3. Is water safe to drink being pumped from that nasty looking hut?

4. Of course it is Roy. Like everything else in Barbados, it is rested to the lowest possible international standards, on the rare occasions anything is actually tested at all……

5. That should be ‘tested’. The word is so rarely used…..

6. millertheannunaki Avatar

And that is the state of a reservoir ‘allegedly’ commissioned to supply potable water to Barbadians in the 21st century!

That Castle Grant reservoir looks like a real outhouse that has not been cleaned for the last 64 years. It would be frightening to see what would be found on the underground walls camouflaged with human body waste and the residue from household and industrial chemicals pesticides and artificial fertilizers.

What a laugh after stealing in true reverse Robin Hood style 60 % more in water rates from the people.
    How can this administration feel proud about this large scale robbery while top BWA management reside in their lavish palace on the Hill with its en suite bathroom?

Does anyone know if that palace of wet dreams is fitted with solar panels to supply alternative energy to help reduce its massive energy costs that must be involved to cool and maintain such a massively palatial structure of wasted resources while Castle Grant and other operational locations look like something found in the Australian outback in the 19th Century or in the many shanty towns dotted around some West African cities?

What a total disgrace and abject failure of the so-called educated black people of Barbados!
    Could as well close down the university if that is the quality of managers and quack professionals it is producing.

7. It would be useful if there was pictures of the other reservoirs to see their state and the potential danger to humans who utilise the water being pumped.

8. True Miller, but I am sure it did not get this way in the last eight years. If it was like this eight years ago wha happen before that?

9. And now we will sing hymn number 1
    1) It happened under the BLP too
    2) It happened elsewhere
    3) Compare Barbados to the US

The AC hymnal needs more songs and verses

10. I repeat for the information of Bookworm.The then Prime Minister of the late 80’s LE Sandiford ran the economy into trouble soon after taking over from dipper who perished from too much exertion or anxiety while riding one of his hobby horses at Kampala at lunch time on a day in ’87.Now the GM of the Waterworks as it was then known was a professional engineer Nickie Sealy,one highly respected by his associates and staff.Nicky in those lean days was collecting enough revenue and controlling expenditure so well that he was able to build up a nest egg of several million dollars for the specific purpose of replacing those old mains to which you referred.Along comes Sandiford and award big shot DLP civil servants a massive increase in emoluments,the domino effect was such that it put tremendous stress on the Consol Fund.A DLP mole in the Waterworks ratted on Nickie and Sandy used the authority vested in him to order the transfer of those millions into the CF and the rest is history.That decision took its toll on Nickie’s health and as karma is a beech,is now taking its toll on Sandy’s health,the stubborn Summabeech.

11. David, Miller and those critics of the BWA and its building.

The so called “palatial structure” you refer to is a building to house the very people you criticize daily…the workers. Don’t the people you expect to serve you to have decent buildings in which to work? Should they continue to work in the buildings that they have been working from for over sixty years? When the Education Department was housed in some of the buildings in that compound, it was in 1953 when I went to work there.
    Should the workers continue to work under those conditions? Why are you so quick to criticize, and then complain about the quality of the work and the workers. In addition, the use of modern equipment, up to date technology and other requirements to have an up to date technologically compatible building has to be up to date and requires an unto date building. See what I talk about being petty.
    And Roy,
    The water is pumped from hundreds of feet underground. It would seem to me that this is a building housing the Pump, snd NOT the reservoir. Do not continue to mislead over this sensitive subject. It is not as you say…the national water generation and distributions read Castle Grant reservoir. Any sensible person would know that that could not possibly be a reservoir designed to hold hundreds of thousands of gallons which would be the requirement for a reservoir to service the people in St. Joseph St. Andrew, and part of St. Lucy, fed by this reservoir. I am not making excuses for the condition of the building and its surroundings for even the building the pump should not look like that, but the maintenance persons should not allow the place to reach this stage, but Bajans do not take pride in places that do not affect them directly, and even in some of those cases.

12. David September 15, 2016 at 3:07 PM
    Deliberately so? Straight from Newcastle.

13. Alvin Cummins September 15, 2016 at 4:35 PM
    And how old is the Barbados Light and Power Company main offices at the Garrison?
    http://i.imgur.com/5sdEbKn.jpg?1

14. @The Gazer,
    “It happened under the BLP”, that is not a lie. Its the absolute truth. Cannot be denied. Why don’t you want to be reminded of what the BLP did or did not do when they held the reins of power? You are always referring to what took place during slavery and blaming it for the negative attitudes of Black people.

And Gabriel: You say…”Along comes Sandiford and award big shot DLP civil servants a massive increase in emoluments.” Wasn’t this the result of NEGOTIATIONS that took place between the Unions and Government?Employer and Employees’ representatives? There was nothing sinister or underhand. Be truthful and honest. And what happened when the same Sanford imposed an 8% cut, didn’t the same Civil Servants, the Unions, and even the Private sector “march to the tune of the Duke of York, not only to the top of the hill, but all over Bridgetown, subject the government to a massive defeat at the polls, and even deprived Sandiford of a job?
    Unfortunately for you my memory is too good, and I will always remind you of your past indiscretions.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“What a total disgrace and abject failure of the so-called educated black people of Barbados!
    Could as well close down the university if that is the quality of managers and quack professionals it is producing.”

Miller…exactly, the way things are going at the university, that may soon close as well.

Alvin….have you no shame, if the government could find millions of taxpayers dollars in the last few years to build a modernized water authority office building for workers who do not do their jobs competently….why was that money not used to upgrade antiquated leaking mains, ugly rusted reservoirs and all the necessary work taxpayers pay ministers to do to keep the people in quality of life environments.

What’s the use of having decent office space, if you do not haave a healthy and consistent WATER SUPPLY.

The government ministers do not take pride in anything that has no bribe or kickback…..bottomline.

16. Colonel Buggy,
    It is older than me, because as a boy I used to pass there going to races at the garrison. Is this the only building? East about buildings at Spring Garden? Why have they built new structures all over the island? At that time it was the only electricity generating plant in the island. You would also remember when the generating cooling water used to cascade down the structure behind this same building. Compare the building shown with what was used at the Pine.
    Are you saying this is good enough for the workers at the Pine? Of course you would be loath to admit that the “palatial structure” is what the workers deserve. As I say you people are petty and small minded. Why can’t the workers have a Palatial structure? They would have help pay for it they pay taxes too.

17. @Alvin

Are you saying the pump is disconnected from the reservoir?

Are you also saying that because Castle Grant and others were neglected for years that it gives the DLP’s eight years a pass?

18. And Roy,
    The water is pumped from hundreds of feet underground. It would seem to me that this is a building housing the Pump, snd NOT the reservoir. Do not continue to mislead over this sensitive subject. It is not as you say…the national water generation and distributions read Castle Grant reservoir. Any sensible person would know that that could not possibly be a reservoir designed to hold hundreds of thousands of gallons which would be the requirement for a reservoir to service the people in St. Joseph St. Andrew, and part of St. Lucy, fed by this reservoir. I am not making excuses for the condition of the building and its surroundings for even the building the pump should not look like that, but the maintenance persons should not allow the place to reach this stage, but Bajans do not take pride in places that do not affect them directly, and even in some of those cases.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    You sir have got to be joking. The photo shows Castle Grant Reservoir. This in no pumping station. There are no pumps at this location. From here its gravity fed to all communities. This building shown is only part of the reservoir, in facts it is set directly above the open end of the elongated holding tank.

19. @ Alvin Cummins

Are you an idiot? Does the pump in the dilapidated shed pump air or water? If it is used to pump water we can surmise that what is being churned out has to be of questionable quality,

Also would it take 8 years to repair or replace the dilapidated shed?

JA

20. Well Well,

You ask:”…why was that money not used to upgrade antiquated leaking mains, ugly rusted reservoirs and all the necessary work taxpayers pay ministers to do to keep the people in quality of life environments.”
    Ask Gabriel and the Gazer and Miller and Artax that question, because it is only now that the DLP has gotten into power that it is being answered. If you had watched the series on television, by the GIS, on what is being done, you would have seen the hundreds of meters of light green plastic mains that are being laid to replace the same rusted mains you refer to. You would have seen what had to be done in Roebuck Street, and in St. Andrew and St. Joseph. Of course if you are one of those who do not watch GIS, then you would be able to claim that nothing is being done. Isn’t that being disingenious?

21. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins September 15, 2016 at 4:19 PM
    “True Miller, but I am sure it did not get this way in the last eight years. If it was like this eight years ago wha happen before that?”

Alvin, here you go again in true ac (asinine cretin) style of playing the blame game while looking back to find an imaginary scapegoat for the current administration’s endemic incompetence and pathetic mismanagement of the country’s scarce resources which has lead to a woeful litany of errors in governance and the financial blacklisting (downgrades and junk bond status) of a once proud nation which used to punch above its weight in all international arenas.

The previous administration did not approach the people of Barbados and asked for a massive increase in water rates with the quid pro promise of improvements which would result from the investment in the management of the country’s water resources leading to sustained economic and social development.

Neither did it transfer to the gravy train called the Consolidated Fund the millions accumulated in a sinking fund under Mr. Nicky Sealy and earmarked for mains replacement and other major capital projects to improve the country’s water management system.

22. Google+ Calendar Web more Sent Mail [Barbados Underground] Comment: “The State of Castle Grant Reservoir” Bin David to comment+zra06rg-ykkg974lwj7xz0s9a9e@comment.wordpress.com 2 minutes ago Details

@Alvin

Are you even able to distil simple arguments?

Some are saying how does one prioritise a building of sixty million plus and at the same time it’s management oversees a decaying infrastructure that has led to worsening the generation and distribution of water in Barbados. Any sensible management would have taken decisions to ensure a more practical approach to NOT compromise the mandate of the BWA to deliver potable water to ALL.

Please note the BU household has NOT forgotten the Auditor General’s note about the questionable financing arrangement of the edifice on St.Barnabas Hill.

23. @David and Roy,
    Roy, first of all, The pump is a CLOSED system leading to the reservoir. If I am not mistaken that (the reservoir) is underground. If you pass by Government Hill, next to Springer School,and between that building and the offices of the Visual Aids Department, is a large open space. Under that is the Government Hill reservoir, it is underground. The Belle Pumping station pumps water from the underground aquifers to the reservoirs, all underground. That photo of the “so called tank” could not hold enough water for a herd of cattle. Don’t try to fool people.In addition Roy, for your information, water is tested from various sources, weekly at the Winston Scott Laboratory, and there is a separate division responsible for water testing, and specific procedures for this testing.In addition there is a laboratory at the Belle; it may have now moved into the “palatial structure” that does specific testing for inorganic substances that may have entered the water being pumped. LEARN before you speak. Go to the Polyclinic and find out.Go to the BWA and find out for yourself instead of guessing and swiping wild.

24. @Alvin

BU will go with Colonel Buggy who has obviously put in the work and is familiar with the area unlike you who is spouting shit from the partisan ahole.

25. Alvin
    You are wrong on two points.First Sleepy was the minister in the 70’s when Waterworks moved into new accommodation in the Pine,at which time he upped the water rates considerably,so do not give the impression of a 1953 when you went to work somewhere else,you fibber.Secondly,Sandy awarded top civil and public servants big increases and the unions kicked up a big fuss because they argued maids,drivers,messengers were left out while the top brass like the Commissioner of Police,PS’s etc got hefty pay increases.Sandy did this before the election of ’91 and fooled the electorate that the economy was batting like Garry Sobers when Henry was saying 3000 public servants going home.The latter came to pass and rather than the economy firing on all cylinders Sandy had to bring the IMF to administer the economy of Barbados from an office in Govt Headquarters in Bay St.The 8% cut,the amendment to the Severance Pay Act,a special consolidation tax all arose out of the ignorance and stubbornness of Sandy and you stupid Dems.Wunna did goats Eva since Adam did a lad.

26. Barbados Water Authority – Reasons for Reduced Water Supply

Over the last couple of months, the Barbados Water Authority has been experiencing problems providing a continuous supply of water to several communities on the island. Areas that have been impacted for long durations are generally those in the parishes of St John, St Joseph, St Andrew and St Thomas that depend on the Golden Ridge and Castle Grant Reservoirs and the Spring System on the east coast.
    These systems get their water from the stream-water wells located at Applewaites, St. Thomas, Sweetvale 1 and 2, and Bowmanston, St. John and the two springs at Newcastle and Codrington College, St. John. Other areas include Rock Hall, St Andrew which is served by Rock Hall Reservoir, St. Andrew and Warleigh Reservoir, St. Peter.
    Investigations by the Authority have revealed that these problems have been aggravated by three (3) major factors

There has been a noted reduction in production from the wells feeding Golden Ridge and Castle Grant reservoirs due to falling water tables which has been evidenced by pumping air.

a. a 30 % reduction at Bowmanston;b. a 50 % reduction at Sweetvale 1; and c. a 50 % reduction at Sweetvale 2.
    This has resulted in total loss in production from these three sources amounting to one (1) million gallons per day (MGD) from a normal production figure of two and half million gallons per day (2.5) MGD.
    2. There has been more frequent disruptions in supply due to an increase in the number of burst mains per day. The number of burst mains experienced has increased from an average of 3 per day to about 6 per day over the last three years. This makes it very difficult to maintain a continuous supply.
    The rainy season normally starts in June and by August 2015 replenishment of the groundwater starts with the major part of groundwater replenishment occurring between September and November. However, this has not been the case this year as evidenced by the poor rainfall in August that has contributed to falling water tables and reduction in production as pumps started to suck air and some west coast wells salinity levels have risen to objectionable levels resulting in the need to shut down or reduce production at these wells.
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    rather sticks to facts than a whole lot of political hogwash and innuendo, Most of what is stated in the above article has continued but it seems as if the blp operatives take much delight in being obstructionist at their own peril

27. Alvin Cummins September 15, 2016 at 4:59 PM
    Alvin these palatial structures that we see going up all over the place , like the other SSA one in the pipe line, has very little to do with the rank and file workers. Our politicians have seen what angry people have done to the statues of such despots as Colonel Ghadafi and Sadam Hussain, so they are opting for another type of monument that their ardent followers would always remember them by. Like who built the Deep Water Harbour ,the ABC Highway, QEH, or the monstrocity across the road near CBC.

28. millertheannunaki Avatar

@ Alvin Cummins September 15, 2016 at 4:35 PM
    “Should the workers continue to work under those conditions? Why are you so quick to criticize, and then complain about the quality of the work and the workers. In addition, the use of modern equipment, up to date technology and other requirements to have an up to date technologically compatible building has to be up to date and requires an unto date building. See what I talk about being petty.”

You still have not answered a rather pertinent question. Is the “palatial structure” which you claim uses ‘modern equipment, up to date technology and other requirements’ designed and fitted with solar panels to reflect your administration’s much heralded policy of alternative energy expansion?

Does the concrete King Kong called BWA HQ use solar power to help meet its daily gargantuan energy requirements?
    If it so, then let the BU followers know so that they could feel satisfied that their 60 % hike in water rates is not going towards the profit greed of Emera, a now fully–owned and controlled foreign entity thanks to the sale of the NIS shares.

29. It was interesting to hear Corey Layne state on the talk show today that the BWA engineers appeared when asked not to have considered damming spring water to assist with harvesting water. This is interesting when one considers that Cow Williams has been doing a good job trapping water in Apes Hill. Something else he stated the BU family should take heart and that is the public pressure being placed on the BU management has been long in coming and we need to keep the pressure up. It is called holding manages and those responsible accountable.

@Gabriel

You are referring to the famous regrading exercise that preceded Sandiford’s 8% cut.

30. In the last photo ,what we are looking at is the concrete top of the elongated underground tank. The black piece sticking out, near the hut, is one of many exposed and unfenced air vents.

31. @ Alvin Cummins

That new building $60 million + was used to launder a % to the Minister and cronies not for the comfort of the workers. The DLP that you support blindly has failed. I have never voted for anyone so I will continue to call a spade a spade. Increased water rates of 60% and external infrastructure could look like pictures posted the whole BWA should be sacked. This is a NATIONAL DISGRACE. They must be hiding and sleeping on their jobs. Barbados is indeed a Banana Republic.

32. the reason why the bees are mad as hell is because they have seen govt efforts being made to repair the 120 year old pipe lines .. .but when all is said than done history would report the end result as a project worth making the sacrifice in the mean while the bees would continue to do a song and a dance hoping to deflect and annoy the people of ST. Joseph pretending to be a champion of their cause
    In the end game the winners would be the St, Joseph people whose daily sacrifice contributed to making live easier long term for their children and grand children ,The bees in the meanwhile would be remembered as authoritarians of doom and gloom in a fight against what is right for the Josephines

33. http://www.birminghammail.co.uk/news/weird-news/water-divining-finds-club-leak-7512323
    And its ironic that one of the few practicing Water Dowers in Barbados lives in the St Joseph area and has been very successful in locating springs for some prospective home owners/farmers who need an extra supply of water,or are construction a home off the beaten path.
    But of course in Barbados he will be seen by the authorities and many others as a half-a obeah man.

34. A reminder:-

David Davis

11 hrs ·

WATERDRIVE246! LETS DO OUR PART..Forget the Politics

On Sunday my team and i will once again Load our truck with as much water as possible and head to St.Joseph to distribute our cargo. Water is a necessity, to be without water for extended periods can threaten our very existence by contributing to the spreading of diseases. We must reach beyond ourselves and our immediate spaces to assist those amongst us that are in need so i am appealing to the kind heart and patriotic to join us at Renaissance Designs Inc, Building #1 Newton Industrial Estate at 9am on Sunday as we assemble and prepare to take the cargo of water in the name of love! Please bring a case of water or a gallon bottle!

This country is not ours! We are borrowing from our children..So let us return it in a better state than when we received it from our parents! D2.5 Stokely Murray Anderson Armstrong Sim Simma Sherwin Straker Christine Hinds Davis Trudi Yarde Yolan Palin Charles A EdwardsShirley Stewart we will miss you bro!

35. There are several areas in St. John which are also experiencing severe water shortages because we are also served by Castle Grant. We have not seen or heard the representative for St. John in this matter. I guess because it is a safe seat. We are the forgotten people of Barbados. Shame on Mara Thompson!!!!

36. Did Prime Minister Thompson not collected Millions from the taxpayers, quickly after becoming PM, to renew all the pipes in the system?

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Ask Gabriel and the Gazer and Miller and Artax that question, because it is only now that the DLP has gotten into power that it is being answered.”

Alvin…I do not need to ask them anything, you and the equally stupid government ministers act as theough they do not have a responsibility to do their jobs because there was a previous government. ..it’s their responsibility after being elected to do what previous governments did not do…that is what they promised in those lying manifestos, that is what they owe the PEOPLE…it’s not the previous government, their friends, they are spiting, it’s the people being hurt, while the dumb and greedy ministers enjoy their perks and salaries at the people’s expense.

To date…the present government has done nothing…to be reelected….but waste taxpayer’s money on crap.

Yall are the most foolish people I have ever met who try to justify a government who has done nothing positive to be remembered by…nothing.

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Mary…it’s the people in St. John now responsible for throwing Mara out on her fraudulent, pretensive ass…unless they prefer remain victims and slaves to continually vote for ministers who care nothing about them…who keep them backward, ignorant and poor…just to get that vote.

39. Roy September 15, 2016 at 5:43 PM #
    Barbados is indeed a Banana Republic
    ……………………………………………………………………
    Skippa most of our bananas now are imported. Make that a Myomosity (wild river tamarind) Republic.

40. @Alvin

The diagram is for your benefit, note where the pumping house is located.

]St. Elizabeth Village Reservoir feeding Cattlewash - Image Credit: Colonel Buggy St. Elizabeth Village Reservoir feeding Cattlewash

#JA

41. @ David

That diagram may be too difficult for Alvin Cummins to comprehend.

42. What kind of security is in place at reservoirs and pumping stations in Barbados?

43. Well well & Consequences, as you know the people of St. John are politically backward as we have allowed the representatives for the parish to get away with doing absolutely nothing for us. I do hope that the younger people will change this situation. In the meantime, we are suffering from the lack of water and no assistance from Mara Thompson. She is getting money under false pretense. May God help us !!!!

44. look you can keep all the pressure up if you wish ,the fact being that this is an extensive project that requires lot of planning and funding plus an adequate amount of rainfall it seems that public awareness has conceded to those and other facts , reasons why many in society have put plans in order to provide water for the people living in the water stricken areas
    You David and the BLP yardfowls still continue to measure the seriousness by a political yardstick while the rest of society oves forward placing emphasis on a need of urgency via solutions

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ old Baje.

If there is no security at Parliament what security you anticipate at these reservoirs?

Barring a piece uh fence

But I dun tell wunna not one effing seat…

46. Alvin Cummins is talking shit about the previous government. Under the previous government, the infrastructure may not have been up graded, but Jesus Christ man, we always had water. And, yes, I am from St. Joseph.

47. Did anyone read Roy Morris’ column yesterday? Food for thought!

48. Well Well,

Nice thing to say to the people you pretend to give comfort to.Are you saying that the people who vote for DLP members are” backWARD IGNORANT AND POOR? Kept that way by ministers? NICE.
    ‘…it’s their responsibility after being elected to do what previous governments did not do…that is what they promised in those lying manifestos, that is what they owe the PEOPLE…”
    ISN’T THIS WHAT IS BEING DONE even as we speak? Do you think things are done overnight? It takes time, so one has to learn to exercise patience. If you amputate a leg to assist a diabetic he has to learn patience beforee he can walk, even with prosthetics. Makes no sense to curse the doctors. The healing has to take time to render the cure, and even then he has to ensure he follows the instructions of the doctor and nutritionist.

Roy,
    if Barbados [is] indeed a Banana Republic, you would not be able to say what you are saying. Give thanks that it is not, giving the lie to your statement.

Colonel Buggy,
    “…Did Prime Minister Thompson not collected Millions from the taxpayers, quickly after becoming PM, to renew all the pipes in the system?”

I would advise you to read what you wrote again. Does this make sense to you? How much money was the estimated (or do you estimate) it would cost to purchase the pipes needed? How many kilometres of Pipe would have to be ordered? How long would it take to place the order with the factory, have them manufactured, and shipped etc? What about shipping?It is alright to spout rhetoric, but when you have to get down to the nitty gritty it is a different story. What is involved in obtaining the necessary funds? You think this is going to the shop and ordering a case of Banks?
    Would you have needed additional machinery for this project? What about Staff? ANy additional staff needed? Would additional funds be needed to pay this staff? Would there be difficulties with the terrain? What sorts of contingencies should there be provision for? how much would be needed? And the list goes on.

Gabriel
    I was not here in the 70s, but there were a series of offices there, apart from the e
    Education Department, where I worked, the offices of Public Works, as it was called at the time, and the Water Works, after they moved from Coleridge street. But in any case, if The BWA were moved there in the 70s, then the offices are over FORTY years old. Should the workers not have better accommodation? Petty! Petty!! Small Minded.
    And these are the people you want to represent? Is this how you look at them? Why do people move from one bedrooms to three bedrooms, or larger? You tell me.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Mary….St. John is a community, the people can come together as one and get rid of Mara….share information with each other and get that parasite gone, they do not have to put up with ministers who do not do their jobs but are famous for cashing their pay checks every month and enjoying the perks that their jobs, which they refuse to do…. provides…it’s time to stop with the party membership shit.., that’s how the people are being used and have been for 50 years.

Either do something about Mara the fraud…or remain paupers.