Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup
Andre Hinds shot dead by robbers

The economy appears to have turned the corner with activity picking up. Real GDP grew by 0.8 percent in 2015—underpinned by a surge in tourism arrivals—relative to 0.2 percent in 2014 and an average of -0.3 percent in 2008–14, while employment increased by 2 percent and unemployment fell. Inflation is low – Press Release: IMF Staff Completes 2016 Article IV Mission to Barbados

There has been a heavy dose of political palaver generate this week as the political supporters on either side discussed the recent IMF report about the economy.  Has the economy turned the corner? What about the sinking foreign reserves and the printing of money.

The news item on Thursday this week that 47 year old Andre Hinds was murdered by two robbers in the quiet village of Northumberland, St. Lucy continues to resonate more with the BU household. It is another indicator that our society is failing. Although Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite and Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith have been repetitive with reports that crime is down and the police has a high solve rate of murders. The worrying statistic is that violent crime is on the increase. It is a worry because violent crime (gun crime) has become the norm in Barbados.  Barbados is an island that has built its reputation and quality of life on law and order post Independence.

What does it matter to boast about 0.2% or 0.8% growth if rising crime now threatens to compromise the quality of life Barbadians have enjoyed. We are not blessed with natural resources, we are suppose to possess is a highly literate society as a result of significant national resources allocated to education year in year out since Independence. There must be greater focus by government, NGO leaders and citizens alike on how we can improve the quality of individuals living on the island.

There is the challenge of open borders and the influence on a small island.

We need a plan.

How can we improve the support we give our children at the primary, secondary and tertiary levels.

How can we identify and address parental delinquency.

We have become part of a global society which subscribes to a philosophy ‘’what happens in your house is your business’’ and less of “it takes a village to raise a child’’. We are a small island and this should translate to our citizens knowing what is happening in all four corners of of our different communities. This is where we need to improve.

94 responses to “Violent Crime a Worry”

1. 0.2 % or 0.8 %. That is no growth, that is just within the fluctuation margin of statistics. BREXIT plus the new import tax will pull down the economy next year. Take it for granted. The British expats are already on their knees.

2. ” but she pleaded with them not to shoot, telling them that she was seven months pregnant.”

An example of depraved indifference to fellow human beings.

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/08/27/horror-at-home/

3. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

The government cut, remove many services and there is to be funds, this is called a reverse tax when the people take it back from those who seem to have, The DBLP fraud elected by buying votes and no law was applied to those with the cash, This can never be a safe places to be when so many crooks in the government ,
    Lets just say , that we hope they go after the crooks at the top, and leave the little man,

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“How can we improve the support we give our children at the primary, secondary and tertiary levels?”

We can make Internet access free across the island. A WiFi network that costs the user nothing will democratize access to the most important education tool of my lifetime.

There are lots of Bajans who will consider this cure worse that the disease… who consider this one more “challenge of open borders” that is polluting Bajan society. I won’t bother to point out that espousing that view through this medium that we are using would be either ironic or hypocritical :-).

Others will object that that it would cost the government too much, or that LIME & DIGICEL will never allow it, or that all the children and young people that would benefit don’t have computers…

No problem… a bunch of Bajans have already started to do it without waiting for permission from the DBLP, the telecom giants, or anyone else.

https://www.facebook.com/SiliconIslandBarbados/photos/a.1642139312741494.1073741828.1642125636076195/1745107142444710/?type=3&theater

Here is a list of over a hundred FREE Wi-Fi Hotspots where anyone can stay connected in Barbados.

The UN has declared the internet a basic human right and it is one of Silicon Island’s goals to have Barbados be the first country to declare it as such.

Silicon Island are a group of Bajans who have partnered up with businesses to offer everyone access. You can recognize a partners WiFi signal by the suffix ‘siliconisland’ or ‘Silicon Island’ in their Network Name. The suffix ‘siliconisland’ is also an indication that those partners with a secured Wi-Fi Network allow you to connect successfully with the password: ‘siliconisland’.

Go to their website; sign their petition.
    http://www.siliconisland.com/takeaction/

5. Gut wrenching and it brought tears to my eyes on hearing of this death at the hands of these wicked ugly miscreants. Its hoped, that the RBPF spares no resources in bringing these perps to justice in the shortest possible time. Where is the sympathy from Amnesty International and Inter-American Court of Human Rights?

Now some mother will say ” Oh he was a good child.”
    A well paid lawyer practising his craft perhaps may offer up such a defence as ” the accused did not mean to kill Mr Hinds.” Every robber or burglar is a potential killer in securing his escape.

Perhaps, someday we will realize the whole country is to blame for me are failing our youths in proving good role models and opportunities. High unemployment rate and its accompaning high crime rate lies at the hands of the oblivious politicians in Barbados as well as those persons who refuse to inform the police of the illegal guns, who will be next

Finally, the radio stations DJ`s who offer up the filthy gutter thug promoting music ought to hold their heads in shame. The religious will tell you the love of money over genuine love of each other have the whole country in a big mess, #ANewWay #YouthsNeedHope.

6. We seem happy to be washed along in the current of relativism. Will our real leaders please stand up!

7. The Acting Commissioner needs to go after the people who bring guns into the island.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

What real leaders..

9. The problem of crime is not just about enforcement. It is about the type/quality of citizen we are producing.

10. Did the Prime Minister not devoted a day, or a few hours ,recently ,bringing a think tank to together on the question of increasing serious crime? Job done.

11. As a region,the Americas has the highest murders compared to Africa,Asia,Oceana and Europe with the lowest.It will be a surprise to learn that the UN places St Kitts as having the highest per capita homicide rate in the world.Is it that guns are too readily available not only to Americans but it’s neighbours?Border must be a priority of the Ministry of Defence and Security and if the CoP thinks that border protection should not be left to john citizen in the person of Customs,detection equipment must be part and parcel of the arsenal provided to the Ministry for oversight at ALL our ports of entry,which based on the CoP’s comments are porous.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/uknews/crime/12037479/Mapped-Which-countries-have-the-highest-murder-rates.html

12. What message is the government sending to its citizenry to have the promotions of senior police stuck in a black hold we know as the judiciary.

13. No one knows the facts of the case..however what we know is startling and frightening to say the least and brings home a reality that they are evil people living amongst this population who are brazen and would commit heinous act of violence without fear of reprisal. All citizens of barbados must be mindful of such facts and not take for granted that such criminal activity is only associated with certain elements in the country, Barbadians have taken an attitude that these kind of social problems are far removed from their way of life a sure way of looking the other way until the unexpected brazenness of these criminals inch closer to their doorsteps an example recently revealed in the day time drive by shoot out which left a ST Peter neighborhood in shock and awe a few weeks ago.
    The time has come for barbadians to take a more active and responsible role in protecting themselves from the lawless shoot out of gun toting gunslingers who have no fear or worry who they next victim would be

14. Hants @3.02p

“An example of depraved indifference to fellow human beings”

Your new Prime Minister the youthful Justin Trudeau needs to stop the talk and fix the problem with these unfortunate First Nationers.Its a mix of indifference by the politicians and the average Canadian citizen and corruption among the First Nation leaders themselves who withhold funds destined to the people.

http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-37135507

15. Folks it is going to get worse. There is a lot of hungry and frustrated people in Barbados. Only could set of people happy in Barbados are politicians, Indians and whites.

16. the negative influences that are wide open and accessible to all young and old are not easy to control. These negativity are controller by a few who have the means and resources to inundated society at its roots while the consequences delivered are felt with deadly force

17. What else can we expect from the younsters. No work and hungry as well as feeling no self worth. They see and read of white collar criminals like Sir Leroy Parris embraced as a hero by the DLP. You have Rodney Wilkinson and GEMS money stolen under the BLP….oh and the dirty Hardwood theft.

Selling of Licenses and permits by the Ministers Of Transport & Work and some of the employyes of the of MTW and Transport Authority.

You have Customs taking bribes.

Immigration Officers selling cituzenship and passports.

Policemen selling marijuana and taking bribes

So if everybody else stealing and robbing to survive what wunna think the boys on the block gine think. “If them could rob and get away with as big officials why cannot hungry ass me not do the same to eat”

Only difference is that some use guns while others use their official office and trusted position.

18. If the Government cannot protect its ownself, what chance do we the public have? Recently we saw a Bobcat disappearing from an MTW depot, followed by lots of cassava stolen from Graeme Hall Agriculture station. But the most shameful of all , is the break- in which took place a few days ago at Parliament Building. And the lame excuse was given that security at the building was recently discussed, but the implementation of security measures had not taken place. Truly an Arsenal Government . We gunnah do this, and we gunnah do that, but never get around to doing sod all.

19. A story in todays Nation is of a man out on three separate Bails,and asking for a fourth.
    ……………………………………………………….
    If the court had asked him if he was making sport, his reply should have been ,’ You started it first!
    And in any case he needs four Bails to play in a cricket match against the Prime Minister,who he can hit for Six.

20. Crime is going to get worse. Sad to say, men are in jail for non-payment of child support but Murderers are out on bail. Years ago an ad on TV paid for by the then BLP made fun at crime. One thing is sure, those who have been targeted or whose lives have been affected to them it is not funny. This little country is decaying right from within just like ancient Rome. When a nation has forgotten God the only thing left is judgment. Leroy Parris should be at Dodds BUT he is a free man. Can anyone expect that low life criminals are bothered. These politicians are only concerned about what they can achieved financially. No one is concerned… One of these days these folks who are in the corridors of power might just have to feel the pain and effects of crime in their own personal lives..then they will realise that it is serious business.But as my grandmothers used to say. THE LONGEST DAY HAS AN END.

21. The proliferation of guns on our island should come as no surprise. There are a minority of domestic and international stakeholders who are determined to push the gun culture, the drug culture and a gang culture into the heart of our Afro-Bajan community in order to generate extraordinary sums of money and or to establish a foothold on our island.

Take the example of the smoking industry in the developed word from the fifties to the eighties where vast sums of monies were generated for their shareholders and their directors. Not only did this industry wreck the lives of individuals; it also left the burden of treating those individuals to their respective country’s medical services which were all supported by the general taxpayer in which they traded their poison.

The introduction of government legislation in Europe and America has encouraged the smoking industry to ply their trade in other parts of the world where smoking is less popular and where legislation is minimal. The continent of Africa is currently being targeted by the smoking industry.

That this industry has begun to establish roots in the Africa continent should be an indication that corruption is being practised on a grand scale. The rulers of these countries are being encouraged to accept bribe monies. They are, well, aware that such actions will have a detrimental effect on their countrymen and women.

Below is a comment from Colonel Buggy August 24, 2016 at 9:40 PM in response to my comment in another thread:

Exclaimer August 24, 2016 at 2:17 PM #
    It will take the introduction of car-jacking’s, muggings, armed robbery, kidnapping and other heinous crimes for us to demand a seismic change in how our society is governed.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Even these things will not spur our Bostick arse governors into action. Just a few weeks ago when bullets were flying about Barbados like Egrets, our illustrious leaders held a couple -of-hours round table meeting, on the subject of increasing violence, only to reach the conclusion the Guns do not fly, or Guns do not swim. And that was the end of the story,and since then we have had a number of gun related killings, without any reaction from the same leaders. The message, I believe, that they are sending to us, is that we better get used to it as the Jamaicans, Guyanese , Trinidadians and Kittians has done.

22. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

white people build and move guns around the world and the nigger blacks in the DBLP will not lock up their slave masters, they will wait until the guns are paid for by young black poor men then to send police to show they doing some thing, Same as America. uncles toms,,, its always been a set up.

23. I had a burglary 5 months ago and the feeling thereafter is that of many restless nights of fear. Very often I am vilified by many for my blunt unpalatable commentary but my conscience is clear. Double standards are pervasive in our little Barbados. and I will cite two examples of this hypocisy at Crop Over events. First the imitation sex parades we see as revelllers masquerading lewdness in the name of culture. Then the same society boisterouslty condemns the young impressionable minds when they act out on social media what we hard back adults teach by our actions. Secondly, persons are encouraged to throw not only their waist at Crop Over but waste to the ground then we sheepishly wonder why the country`s obsession with littering.
    Where is the collection grabbing churches and the big greedy corporate giants who spends million in sports and fete sponsorships but never on programmes that seek to gainfully employ the minds and hands of the youth. Sport and entertainment are still being used as distractions for thinking persons are usually emancipated and progressive persons able to discern fact from fiction.
    Its not rocket science the youth is crying out for engagement but the answer seems to be bigger jails, longer prison sentences and weed wackers. Why in 2016 so many IDC buildings are empty and the UWI getting millions but not one smart Village or Software Writing Hubs exist where the youths can hone their software writing skills 24x7x366 days. .All we have in our year of Jubilee is Incubator Blocks where ganga smoking and crime planning takes place.
    With any fear or favor the blame lies squarely with the voters who vote for political candidates who dont any track records of even raising a cat or sowing a patch of corn. #ANewWay #HypocrisyDestroyingBarbados

24. The question begs who are the persons benefitting from the proliferation of illegal guns on our streets? Do guns walk into Barbdos? Why cannot some of the equipment from World Cup be better employed with the continued help of the Israelis to improve intelligence gathering.

Come on RBPF we know you have the expertise with the help of a judge in chambers and aggressive questionning of suspects to uncover sources. Wikileaks dont lie!

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Why cannot some of the equipment from World Cup be better employed with the continued help of the Israelis to improve intelligence gathering.”

You can bet your last dollar that the equipment is either being misused or rotting/rusting away in some corner from lack of maintenance.

26. We keep talking/writing as our Nation spirals out of control and this on our 50th……interesting.

Vagrants on the increase
    http://www.nationnews.com · THE NUMBER OF homeless people in Barbados is continuing to rise at an alarming rate. Bridgetown has become home to many of them who flock to the island’s capital… · Yesterday

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84853/vagrants-increase

27. outsiders are expressing their views via media outlets that bajans have become a nation of complainers , So sad but true .
    When Barbadians find meaningful and valuable solutions to their nations problem they would be taken seriously. A billion dollar corporation like Hyatt does not need the multiple frustrations that have become a milestone to be hanged around its neck by a debited nation, For what it is worth the time and energy Hyatt would have fighting a few dissenters Hyatt would benefit better going to another country within the carribbean region that understand the value of their financial contribution to an economy
    Hyatt brand is well known world over and built along coastal lines world wide without being or known to have violated any of the named objections that have been mentioned in the planning of the Barbados Hyatt
    Barbadians wanting to flex their muscles must bring solutions by having revitalization plans for the bay street area as the presence of brownes beach alone cannot do so.

28. Justice Piitso, of the South African Communist Party, aligned to the ANC, said: “A severe storm is coming if the elite does not further black economic empowerment.

“Whites still own the mines, tourism, our livestock, the land, the air, the sea. If they don’t reform the economy this country will explode.”

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/africa/andile-mngxitama-black-south-african-politician-calls-for-mugabe-style-land-grab-a7212856.html

29. @Exclaimer

We have reached a point in our development where our leaders must exert more importance on social justice issues. Address fairness in the society as far as wealth distribution and blurring the lines between the different types of citizens. This is a need we see rising to the fore all over the world if we start at the Spring, Occupation campaigns etc. It is most satisfying to see Barbadians just starting to agitate and advocate for the type of society we want to mould and not surrender those decisions to the political class that is manipulated by those with money.

#letustakebackoursociety #weelectthegovernmenttoserveUS

30. AC
    Patriotic Bajans don’t object to any brand name hotel setting up here.However it will not be at any price.Respect and adherence to our laws and norms are not for sale like you sold to that pot bellied,abrasive red man butch Stewart of Sandals.Why even the IMF warned you asses that giving away tax concessions is not a recommended solution and simply put,it doesn’t add to revenue gained.A few low level jobs will not sway patriots.Go to the ant thou sluggard.Consider his ways and learn wisdom.

31. ALL crime is a worry. It is my submission that crime in “high” places is the main reason why there is a never ending stream of hopeless young men believing that violent crime is their only option. These young men will tell you that a fast death is better than the slow death that is all this society tends to offer those born on the wrong side of the fence.

So that though these young men may be holding the guns the greedy corrupt “elite” are the killers.

32. @Donna

Good comment.

We never hear about ‘elites’ being arrested for importing contraband. The guys on the block are not responsible for importing the weapons. However, this is only about enforcement, there is the bigger headache of how we nurture better citizens who make better decisions.

33. I do not wonder that Europe and Japan have the lowest rate of homicide. They have seen the shores of hell twice in the 20th century. Other societies simply lack this traumatic experience in current history. Abuse of power, crime and war go hand in hand.

34. Had Andre Hinds been armed with a double barrel sawed-off shot gun and straight-up flat blast these monsters arses, Bajans would be singing a different tune this morning. If these brutes didn’t use guns they would have used nails, cutlasses, hacksaws or whatever they believe would have completed their mission. In times of plenty just like in times of scarcity people were being murdered. You cannot make excuses for beings who don not possess a conscience. When such monsters show up on your doorsteps and reign down pain on you or your loved ones then you’ll hear a different cry.

The ‘leadership’ in Barbados today is truly pathetic, but can you blame them for the bahaviour of wild, ignorant unconscionable yutes who believe that they should be allowed to run rough shod over the island?

The education system needs an overhaul. Teach the children to understand that doing for self is one of the greatest forms of economic freedom. Let them know that they ought not to sit around and depend on Government to employ them.

Let justice prevail by eradicating such perverted monsters from the society. This time next week they should be pushing up daisies. By the time the people are thru with eradicating this scum from the society the criminals that is government would be running for cover. Stop compromising and making excuses for evil.

The only virtue that can truly exalt a nation is RIGHTEOUSNESS!

35. @Hopi

You last comment is sprinkled with contradiction.

The ‘leadership’ in Barbados today is truly pathetic, but can you blame them for the bahaviour of wild, ignorant unconscionable yutes who believe that they should be allowed to run rough shod over the island?

The education system needs an overhaul. Teach the children to understand that doing for self is one of the greatest forms of economic freedom. Let them know that they ought not to sit around and depend on Government to employ them.

36. This post can best be addressed by debating the above statement….The ‘leadership’ in Barbados today is truly pathetic,……….and discussing the merits of this other statement…..The education system needs an overhaul……two very interesting points.

37. David August 28, 2016 at 11:01 AM #

I note we saw the same points but differed on application.

38. @Vincent

Yes, Hopi is prepared to give the leadership a pass in one breath then in the other label it as pathetic and inquiring why the education system is not overhauled. Who is responsible for overhauling?

39. This time next week this horrfic story would be forgotten or buried in the back page of a newspaper. .the intricate details of this mutder is so gross that any lawyer seeking to defend these criminals should be blacklisted.sending a message that tolerance of such criminal activity would not be not be accomodated. by the criminal or those who benefits financially in defense of their actions

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Some days, when ailments give you have no other choice and you are “resting”, you sit back and clearly see what is happening “right before our very eyes”.

the perspective that one has is quite informative, and sobering, while ironically disheartening.

Item A.

Forced Entry. Crowbar. Occupants in House. Kill one. Ask second one for money. Leave second one alive, notwithstanding pregnancy.

If the men were not masked, where their identities are unknown, then this murder of Andre Hinds, was not a breaking and entering, this was an execution.

But de ole man ent no policeman but Sarge say….

Item B.

This matter of Burglary at the Parliament. (Or was that Buggery – Did the police check the alibis of Jerome or WeJonesing? What was stolen, according to Colonel Buggy s flier, a pair of balls. A lineup of all of the parliamentarians is required to check the evidence……heheheheh I wonder if the presence of board doggies and wooden balls in your night table count though?)

The issue of (the lack of) security at the House of Assembly has always perplexed de ole man. especially in the presence of the Jamat people in T&T etc

I have a friend who was invited to go there one night at 8 p.m. And to their surprise the gate at the palmetto square? was open and there were no guards.

After shouting for 1/2 hour the person who did the invite came out and declared that they had not heard any calls and proceeded to indicate that there were no policemen stationed there and, much to the consternation of the invited party, the white domed cameras were not working.

ITEM C

“Why cannot some of the equipment from World Cup be better employed with the continued help of the Israelis to improve intelligence gathering?”

Mr. Kammie Holder asks that question and it is most interesting in light of Thailand s CCTV network, note that I said Thailand because it is a third world? Country with a population of 100 million? and prior to Duerte, was a murder capital of the world. And he was using just over 1,000 policemen to manage his mayorship in a city with 10 million people!!!

The issue is not that we do not have the number of policemen to manage our crime, aided by the Barbados Defence Force what is conspicuously absent is the prosecution of the authors of the crimes, NOT THE BAG BOYS.

It makes sense though, when you think about it, if you direct the CWC2007 resources against poor ignorant people in Bush Hall and Marl Hole and Blacketts family in the Pine, the likely hood of anyone (a) detecting the listening software on your phone with the costly counter technology is non existent (b) being tipped off by corrupt officials and police officers or customs officers or immigration officers is non existent since dey ent in the ballpark to have those connections and (c) to commence criminal proceedings against you would mean that you and Leaky Cock did not play golf together.

Trump while appealing to us niggers and spics for the black and Hispanic vote asks “what have you got to loose”

The yutes have started shooting at the Police and soon, the will realize that we nigger ent got no money to teif and when they apply that “what have we got to loose” mentality to their killing and burglaries, in the heights and terraces, it will be then that we start to see fear galvanized to serious action

Until then, these doufuses on the DLP and the Mugabe regime of 2017 will continue to teif and do whu dem does best.

Come leh we wuk up do…

41. @David and Vincent….We as a people give too much power to government hereby giving them the authority to do as they please with us. While I appropriate some of the guilt to the Government/Leaders, I will not replace GOOD PARENTING with the said government/leaders. Good ‘broughtupcy’ i.e manners, respect etc begins in the home and that’s where ALL the problems originate. Yes the government is partially responsible for education cirriculum but at the end of the day education in one form or another is the responsibility of the parent.

42. @Hopi

Therefore we circleback to the age old position that it takes a village to raise a child. Back in the day they were bad parents BUT society (others about) filled the void.

On Sun, Aug 28, 2016 at 8:41 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

43. Those days gone when neighbor looked out for each other times when people understood the meaning of community spirit and responsibility . today the enviroment is different society morals have taken an about turn into a abyss helplessness try looking at a child with a questioning look the parent would all but ready to give a head butt just look at all the fuss recently in the school over a piece of paper on the floor ,What discipline that word went out the door many years ago now followed by the death penalty Then what does one expect from a society that has lost its moral moorings but hell bent on a dangerous path of adventure and no one can say or do nothing to prevent the disaster .

44. @ David & Vincent
    What Hopi said that covers it ALL was that ….

“The only virtue that can truly exalt a nation is RIGHTEOUSNESS!”

Men!!!
    This is THE most profound statement that can be made on this topic…..and it FULLY explains our plight …as well as our dilemma of being saddled with Froon and his pack of JAs.

In short… ALL result from our national lack of focus on righteousness…

45. Bring in a couple of Brit Special forces to check the security of this island , and see what a big bent we will make in determining, (a) Where these guns are . (b) Who are holding them . (c) Who are importing them, and (d) Who may be facilitating the entry of these firearms.

46. Piece,

It is obvious that it was not a burglary, It did not take a Sherlock Holmes to see that.

47. @Colonel Buggy

Be aware of the consequence – good or not: Your proposal means undoing 50 years of independence. We can discuss that.

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84956/public-warned-purchase-illegal-rat-poison

This is another very violet crime, why are the people importing this poison not arrested and paraded in the media for everyone to see. They obviously know who they are….the public also have a right to know.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

……..This is another very violent crime….