Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

After reading reports of the Prime Minister’s recent press conference, I am convinced that he somehow thought that he was speaking to a gathering of his party faithful. He appeared as though he was doling out propaganda for them to disseminate.

His position on the the 10% increase in pay for parliamentarians betrayed a level of selfishness, and an uncaring attitude that is inconsistent with what is expected from a leader, whose people are suffering untold privation. The Daily Nation of Monday, June 6, 2016 reported the PM as having said:

I don’t think that this is any increase for parliamentarians. I asked members of Cabinet, I asked parliamentary secretaries, in fact I didn’t ask them, I ordered them, to give up…that ten percent of their salaries. The time has come for the restoration and for me it is no longer an issue of dollars and cents, it is a moral issue.

I can agree that it is a moral issue but not one that would bring any credit to him.

Government is claiming that the economy is starting to show some signs of recover. Presumably, it is on that basis that they are seeking to increase their own salaries. Why must they be the first ones to benefit from this alleged recovery? They were not the first ones to have suffered any loss.

The salaries of ministers and parliamentary secretaries are set out in the schedule to the Ministers and Parliamentary Secretaries (Remuneration and Allowances) Act. The minister with responsibility for finance, consistent with section 5. (1), made an order setting new salaries for that category that was published as S.I. 2014 No. 9 in the Official Gazette on March 6, 2014. Section 5. (1) states:

The Minister responsible for Finance may, by order, amend the Schedule by increasing or decreasing any of the emoluments specified therein.

Nothing in that order even remotely suggested that it was for a limited duration. If that were the case the order should have said so. It did not. More importantly, as far as I can recall no such mention was made in the parliamentary debate.

The PM went on to liken dropping the Consolidation Tax and the credit union tax to restoring MPs salaries. That is a bit disingenuous since from inception those two impositions were implemented for specific periods.

In the case of the credit unions the tax was implemented retrospectively making it an illegal imposition. Didn’t Mr. Stuart think that having taken money out of credit unions illegally, he should first act morally by restoring it since Government had no right to it? Also, wouldn’t it have been moral to return the tax that is being taken out of the travel allowance of court marshals on a continuing basis since 2011.

Normally, public officers who have to travel in the performance of their duties are reimbursed for such travelling. Officers like postmen and court marshals have potential do almost unlimited travelling in the performance of their duty. In the case of marshals, government pays them a monthly travel allowance of $553.85 rather than allowing them to claim commuted travel.

In 2011 Government made travel allowance that was paid as a perk taxable. Marshals must travel to carry out their duty of serving court documents and their allowance should therefore not have been subject to tax. Section 3. (b) of the Income Tax (Amendment) Act 2011-11, states, in part:

…where an officer is entitled to be reimbursed for any amount of travel in the performance of the duties of his office or employment, that amount is not taxable.

Initially, that tax was applied to both postmen and marshals. When the error was discovered, they ceased taxing the allowance of postmen. To this day, five years later, the Government continues to illegally tax marshals. Wouldn’t it also be a moral issue to return the money to marshals?

It is not illegal for Government to take care of themselves first but it is certainly immoral.

70 responses to “The Caswell Franklyn Column – Prime Minister’s Money and Morals”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Fruendel and his ministers are selfish and self-serving, they created the economic mess by ignoring the signs and any advice that was given for years.

They helped create the parasites who suck the island leaving the economy in tatters, the people to struggle unnecessarily and are now unable to get rid of those monsters they created. Too many young men are out of work on the island and it’s creating a toxic environment. ..but Fruendel is more concerned about a measly 10% raise to his salary to secure a bigger pension.

The leaders are failures.

2. In reading this post, I am confused, because the author tells us that (1) government pays some of its employees a travel “allowance”, (2) the allowance was originally tax free, but then the government may have decided to tax it, but (3) this must be illegal because the tax law says travel “reimbursements” are not taxable.
    So why am I confused? In tax accounting, a travel “allowance”, which does not depend (exactly) on actual travel costs incurred, is not the same as a “reimbursement”, which does. Reimbursements are never taxable, but allowances may or may not be, depending on the way the tax law is written.
    The author may be factually correct in the claim he is making, but he hasn’t supported it with conclusive evidence.

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Caswell

This Prime Minister accepts immorality concerning perceived out of place acts as ones of real moral persuasion and right standing. Thus, it comes as no surprise that Freundel Stuart would support a restoration of Parliamentarians’ 10% salary increase before he acknowledges or give consideration to the plights of those bemoaning their current difficulties under a prescribe austerity plan of his making.

His immorality is blatant as is his bold, shameless face. For him, there is nothing immoral about supporting a cabinet colleague who bamboozled an elderly man from receiving monies owed to him.

He also sees nothing immoral about addressing the nation through branch meetings or other special occasions involving persons of high standing or familiar statuses.

He sees no immorality in calling a press conference after six years in slumber Ville only to do so two years short of the next general election, which is of course the start of his political campaigning.

He sees nothing immoral about ignoring the contents of a forensic report but moral satisfaction in announcing to the whole of Barbados that he has a list of possible persons who were recipients of illegitimate real estate property, while stating, emphatically, that two crooks be given their dues as outstanding sons of the soil.

It is, thus, evident that he would not see any issue of immorality when he says to his friend Leroy Parris you may place your money in the Central Bank if the other banks refuse to keep it. After all, I trust you more than I trust the opposition leader, Mia Mottley.

To him and his ilk, layoffs and cutbacks were a necessary right that is not wrong. Likewise, the need to restore the 10% lost in earnings to Parliamentarians is a must act and one to be considered justifiable under certain inverted moral persuasions.

It is evident that he refuses to see or does not see this action as a slap in the face of all those told point blank that salary increases and back pay money are now on an indefinite halt until decided by economy’s turn to good fortune.

He continues to show minuscule respect for the people who trusted him to take care of country affairs and remains articulately incoherent as he seeks to persuade all that he is in control and on top of all that affects Barbados.

He is nothing short of haughty and Machiavellianish.

4. You know what is going to choke the Blp operatives going into the next election all that have been said against govt has not been proven and the people would once again reject PERCEPTION as a reason to remove the govt
    i keep saying that economic matters would be on the mind of the people and all this high drama and theater by the blp would not be sufficient to give them a win in the next election operative Word is SOLUTIONS however the Blp keeps playing a Character card which in no means would help them but place them in the line of fire as a reminder of those nefarious and uncharacteristic doings past and present,

5. @chad999999

It is obvious you are not located in Barbados. No doubt Caswell will explain. When the government made the change to the travel allowance it bundled those who genuinely travel as part of their job and others who received a travel allowance for ‘salary’ support.

6. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

AC…I am quite sure that BLP ministers will be quite capable of doing the same thing the DLP is now doing…, FAILING…it’s not rocket science.

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I thought that point was clear. I am sorry if I was not clear enough for Chad to understand. That may be my failing or a failing of the education system wherever he was educated.

8. Can we focus on discussing a serious topic for a change? If not BU will close it. Tired if the BLP DLP shiiite.

9. David,
    Your point is BS because most people who live in Barbados are not acquainted with the details of tax law we are discussing.

Caswell,
    You have confused and conflated the concept of allowance with the concept of reimbursement, but you don’t want to acknowledge the error in the argument you have presented. Don’t try to compare my education with yours. You will lose that one.

10. “Chad99999

They do not have to be acquainted with tax law to know they are paying a higher tax after the MoF’s intervention. If you do not understand the nuance of the tax regime in Barbados then say so.

11. The rhetorical statement, “bring solutions,” seems to be the DLP’s campaign slogan. However, we all know that since being elected to office in 2008, this piss poor DLP administration has REFUSED to ACCEPT “solutions” from anyone. The numerous credit rating downgrades is EVIDENCE of this fact.

For example, on Tuesday, May 24, 2016 President of the Barbados Private Sector Association [BPSA], Alex McDonald, “revealed that he would NOT be OFFERING any further ADVICE to Sinckler as the budget loomed.”

He said: “I DARE NOT OFFER ANY ADVICE to the Minister of Finance because the advice that we would have given now, would be advice that we would have given four years ago, three years ago, two years ago and a year ago,”
    “We’re consistent in that the fundamental elements of the economy that need to be reformed have still yet to reformed,” he added. (Source: Nation News, May 25, 2016]

Obviously, by the above comments, McDonald seems to be suggesting that the BPSA’s advice is not being accepted by government.

1) The BPSA is the umbrella agency of private sector organisations in Barbados and represents that sector in the tripartite mechanism – the SOCIAL PARTNERSHIP – which is comprised of the Government of Barbados, the Congress of Trade Unions and Staff Associations of Barbados (CTUSAB) and the BPSA.

2) Mr. McDonald has a honours degree in Public Sector Management and was Vice President of Fujitsu Technology Company’s Government and Public Sector Business offering and assisted the company in defining its role in DEVELOPING RELEVANT SOLUTIONS for Caribbean governments, in education and GOVERNANCE.

Additionally, the government has also refused to accept “solutions” from the Barbados Economic Society (BES), (while labeling the current president as a member of the BLP); the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados (ICAB) and numerous other organisations in Barbados, which they accuse of “spreading doom and gloom” and being BLP supporters.

Shiite, if Freundel and DEM would NOT accept SOLUTIONS from the BPSA and McDonald, especially taking their “credentials” into consideration, and has REFUSED to ACCEPT advice from every individual, special interest group and organisation, ACCUSING them of being BLP supporters, why on earth would they want the BLP to “bring solutions?”

It makes no sense to me, but perhaps it makes more sense to the resident yard-fowl.

12. SO if all agreed including self that what you have stated is True , Then all looking for change giving that there are only two parties in the running ,,,i suspect that the other party would have to show or relaty to the fickle and unsure public what SOLUTIONS they have in mind and speak vocally about them am i wrong ?
    i also suspect that the BLP is very nervous on having to enter a debate or having to answer any questions that would open them to giving clear and concise answers to the nations economy answers which would give the voter a better choice of who is best suited for handling the affairs of the country but prefer to stay afloat in a comfort zone defined by idle chatter and conspiracy theories
    Yes SOLUTIONS would be the order of the day
    Soft issues means nothing other than to force a political divide a divide than would make very little of a difference to the blp party hoping for a change of govt
    We have all heard it before the big issue was ClICO Corruption and govt but the public out come was rejection of the blp
    Blp needs to move the goal post in effort as to how they can make sustainable change social and economical

13. Stephanie F. Chase with Ishiaka Mcniel and 45 others.

Good Morning ‪#‎realdreamchasers‬! It is a cool wet Sunday Morning. I don’t know about you but today is one of those days that requires you be peaceful, relaxed and reflective. I’ve noticed alot of people posting their views re; Mark Maloney but I am wondering if anyone that thought about the consequences If people like the Maloneys, Bjerkmans, Simpson, or the Willians had to shut shop and leave Barbados. Wanna really feel they gin leave their wealth pon this rock? Don’t cut off your nose to spoil yuh fave hear! Here is your daily newscap.

JONES IN THE DARK – The Ministry of Education’s position on student-on-teacher violence became murkier today with Minister of Education Ronald Jones stating he was unaware of the latest reports of violence.Jones told reporters covering the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) lunchtime lecture he would not comment on the issue because he had received no official reports of attacks by students on teachers.“I am not aware of any incidents. Someone asked me about it this week as well but I haven’t had a chance to do so as yet. I will look into it so I would be able to properly respond,” Jones said.

NO GO – THE BARBADOS PORT AUTHORITY has accused Rock Hard Cement Limited (RHCL) of committing several contractual breaches, including the controversial erection of a building structure at the Flour Mill site off Spring Garden Highway.The Port Authority, owners of Lot 3 and Lot 7, being leased by the cement company, also disclosed it had received several complaints regarding the firm’s operation, including health concerns from next door ADM Barbados Mill Limited, producers of flour, and the Barbados Coast Guard, whose headquarters are just a few yards away.“The Port has never been written to by RHCL requesting prior consent to any proposed construction nor has the Port been shown approved planning and other agencies approval in order to commence work,” it said in a letter dated June 7, and sent to chairman Mark Maloney.

MALONEY BEING “TARGETED” – MARK MALONEY BELIEVES he has a bullseye on his back and the Chief Town Planner is aiming at the target.But the 46-year-old developer has launched a counter-attack in the High Court where his attorney Derrick Frederick, a trained town planner, has lodged an appeal against an enforcement order by Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins.The central argument is that Cummins has been inconsistent in applying his powers to construction and manufacturing activities on two lots next to the Flour Mill.The Chief Town Planner’s office has ordered Rock Hard Cement to stop construction of a storage facility at the Spring Garden site and to demolish the structure. It has issued two enforcement notices to this effect.

OUT OF CONTROL – The raging public battle between Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins and leading developer Mark Maloney today escalated, as officers and workmen employed by the Town & Country Planning Department, accompanied by police, swooped down on Lears, St Michael, tearing down a section of the “Preconco” roundabout. a shattered beautification project and an obviously infuriated Maloney, who bitterly cried victimization over the unexpected and unwelcomed shot across the bow.“We don’t live in a democracy at all; we live in a place where people that seem to want to progress and succeed are frowned upon. Success is not praised in this country, success is frowned upon. And people that are doing things to make a difference are frowned upon – you are getting too big, you are getting too powerful, you are getting too rich, all of those things,” charged Maloney.“The man is a law onto himself and he needs to be removed from that office. Quote me on that,” said an upset Maloney in reference to his planning namesake.Contending that he was not the only businessman in Barbados who had been made to suffer at the order of the Chief Town Planner, Maloney called on his private sector colleagues to speak up.“He has been in that office too long. He is too powerful and he needs to be removed from that office,” he insisted.‘I don’t care if I don’t ever do any more development in this country, it doesn’t matter to me. I can leave Barbados and go somewhere else. [However], he is a law onto himself and he is stopping development in this country . . . and he is victimizing me now. I am being victimized. It is clear,” a visibly frustrated and upset Maloney told Barbados TODAY.The businessman, who on Tuesday was served with court action by Cummins over his cement operation at Spring Garden, St Michael, revealed that he had also filed a legal suit against the Chief Town Planner on Monday, in another twist to the Rock Hard Cement controversy. In relation to Coverley, he also made it clear that “we have never been asked to remove any gas station or anything”.“The gas station has permission subject to conditions,” the developer insisted, pointing out that in keeping with concerns raised by the Town Planner, a number of houses which were constructed in close proximity to the Coverley petrol station were unoccupied.Yet, he said, the Town Planner was refusing to give the desired permission and demanded to know why his businesses were being targeted.“Why all of a sudden the Preconco roundabout is being pushed down today? Why all of a sudden he now stopping Coverley? Why all of a sudden all of this? Because the man is being called out and he doesn’t like being called out for his wrongs; and that is why he is doing what he is doing. So everywhere he can now probe at what I’m doing and try to stop it and push down the roundabout,” Maloney suggested.Asked to respond to concerns that he had been acting like a law unto himself in relation of the Rock Hard Cement controversy, Maloney said: “I have acted within what the law allows me to do and I will continue to do so.” “The Devil is at work and the Devil gine deal with the people that want the Devil”, Maloney said, stressing he was no villain.However, he voiced concern over an “evolutionistic approach” to dealing with things in Barbados, warning that “when investors don’t come here because I speak up, then Barbadians would suffer. The lives that Barbadians want to live, they will not get the opportunity to live.“I don’t care, they can say I’m a so and so and I’m a this and I’m a all kind of things. It doesn’t matter to me because I know who I am. I know I’m an honest, decent, hard-working person that wants the best for every person in Barbados and this here got to stop, has to stop. But it ain’t gine stop til someone takes drastic action.”In the meantime, Maloney said he would remain focused on running his business until the court suggested otherwise.

SUTHERLAND’S HARD ROCK CONTRACT NOT RENEWED – St George South MP and Shadow Minister of Labour Dwight Sutherland is no longer employed by Rock Hard Cement.Today, Sutherland revealed that his consultancy contract with the embattled company had not been renewed and therefore he was no longer associated with the company.However, he refused to comment on the ongoing controversy between the developer Mark Maloney and the island’s Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins even though his political leader Mia Mottley has recently been in the forefront of criticisms of Maloney-led developments.As she led off debate in the House of Assembly on a no-confidence motion in the Freundel Stuart administration last month, Mottley questioned whether a number of projects undertaken by the developer had been approved by the Town & Country Planning Development Office (TCPDO) before they were actually allowed to get off the ground.She identified the entrance to the Villages at Coverley off the ABC Highway and the construction of the gas station in the development; Rock Hard Cement operations at the old Flour Mill site; the construction of the Valery housing units in Brittons Hill; and the Bushy Park redevelopment.In the case of the latter project in St Philip, Mottley had raised questions about a fence and ticket booth being constructed on the old railway track and the construction of the first of five planned clusters of luxury car suites. She had also asked why the gas station in the Villages of Coverley was continuing operations, in defiance of TCPDO’s instructions for the removal of houses within 50 metres of the service station.However, Sutherland has stayed clear of such controversy given his recent employment as consultant for Maloney on the cement project.

NO CONFIDENCE MOTION A FARCE – That is how Walter Maloney, the longest serving president of the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW), has described last night’s proceedings that involved a no confidence motion against his successor Akanni McDowall.Maloney, who stepped down a year ago after serving ten years as NUPW president, told Barbados TODAY that General Secretary Roslyn Smith could not escape blame for not circulating the evidence to support the charges against McDowall.He said the availability of such information could have assisted voters in making a more informed decision one way or another. The motion was defeated by a vote of 168 to 48.“I didn’t spend too much time in there [at the special general meeting] because after not issuing the evidence, I thought it became a farce actually,” Maloney said, pointing out that based on what people were saying during the meeting, it was clear that a lot of them did not understand the rules and standing orders of their own organization.Maloney, who worked with two of the union’s most revered general secretaries, Joseph Goddard and Dennis Clarke, noted that once charges were brought, all corroborating evidence ought to have been produced.“Yesterday evening when the members turned up, they should have been issued with a package, not only with the charges but also with the corroborating evidence . . ., so people could have made informed decisions as to whether anything untoward was done,’ said the former NUPW president, specifically referring to an issue involving the union’s health insurance plan.He said after that was not done, he withdrew from the proceedings because one could not have a union which fights for natural justice on one hand, then refusing to adhere to it on the other.

CUT TRIANGLE SPEED – THE BARBADOS ROAD SAFETY ASSOCIATION is calling for an advisory speed limit to be added to a specific area along the ABC Highway.For many, that area remains the most dangerous stretch of highway in Barbados, and has been the site of a number of serious accidents.As a result of the increased number of near-death crashes on the Barrow section of the ABC Highway adjacent to Rendezvous, Christ Church, known as the “Bermuda Triangle”, president of the association, Sharmaine Roland-Bowen, said the time had come for a 50 to 60 km per hour speed advisory to be added by the Ministry of Transport and Works, which would encourage drivers to automatically slow down before reaching the “Triangle”.The speed limit on most sections of the ABC Highway is 80 kilometres per hour.

AFTER DOPE OFFENDERS – THE ROYAL BARBADOS POLICE FORCE is sending a clear message that it is fighting back against the recent increase in drug importation attempts around the island’s wide open coastline. This is the message Acting Commissioner of Police Tyrone Griffith is sending to those engaged in the illegal drug trade.Griffith said police and other law enforcement agencies have increased efforts to nab drug traffickers, who continue to engage in the illegal practice.“Police have been very dynamic and aggressive in their fight against illegal narcotics, despite new cases have risen by some 40 per cent. That would also take the overall figure of crime up, even though major crime is down,” said.

POLICE LOOKING INTO SHOOTINGS – Police are investigating a shooting at Valery, Brittons Hill, St Michael friday morning that resulted in the death of Kadeem Joseph.Joseph, 25, of 2nd Avenue Grazettes, St Michael, was found dead around 4 a.m., at the Rear of the Brittons Hill, Resource Centre.When Barbados TODAY visited the Brittons Hill community yesterday, the majority of residents were tightlipped about the incident.However, one woman said the she was awaken by gunshots, adding that when she rushed outside, she saw the victim lying on the ground groaning before he eventually passed away.“I was sleeping, but I don’t sleep deep, so I hear the shots. After it finish and I come outside to see what happen. I see he there on the ground. He didn’t move. He was just groaning and then he dead,” the female resident explained.Meanwhile, police say investigations are continuing into the shooting death of 23-year-old Rico Reid who was shot and killed while waiting to board the Jolly Roger on Wednesday night. Lawmen are also probing a shooting incident at Forde’s Road, Christ Church, which occurred around 5.35 p.m. yesterday.The victim – 40-year-old Shawn Lorde of Brittons Hill – was shot in his right leg.Lorde and other persons were sitting under a tree when an unknown assailant fired several rounds. Lorde was injured and was transported to the state-run Queen Elizabeth Hospital. His injury is said to be not life-threatening.

CAMPUS TRENDZ ACCUSED CRIES INNOCENCE – Faced with six counts of murder, Campus Trendz accused Jamar Dewayne Bynoe yesterday claimed innocence of the capital offence.Delivering an unsworn statement in the No.2 Supreme Court this morning, Bynoe, of Headley’s Land, Bank Hall, St Michael denied being part of “any plan” to murder Shanna Griffith, Kelly-Ann Welch, Pearl Cornelius, Kellyshaw Olivierre, Nikita Belgrave and Tiffany Harding on September 3, 2010. ‘I’m innocent’Campus Trendz accused issues unsworn statementAdded by Fernella Wedderburn on June 11, 2016.Saved under CourtinShareFaced with six counts of murder, Campus Trendz accused Jamar Dewayne Bynoe yesterday claimed innocence of the capital offence.Delivering an unsworn statement in the No.2 Supreme Court this morning, Bynoe, of Headley’s Land, Bank Hall, St Michael denied being part of “any plan” to murder Shanna Griffith, Kelly-Ann Welch, Pearl Cornelius, Kellyshaw Olivierre, Nikita Belgrave and Tiffany Harding on September 3, 2010.Shanna Griffith, Pearl Cornelius, Kellyshaw Olivierre, Tiffany Harding, Nikita Belgrave and Kelly-Ann Welch“I did not in any way plan or was part of any plan to rob that store, Campus Trendz, or setting fire to anyone there. I know nothing whatsoever about these crimes different [from] being here charged . . . and that’s the gospel truth,” the murder-accused told the court, presided over by Madam Justice Michelle Weekes.Clad in a red shirt, black waistcoat, red and black tie and black pants, it took Bynoe an hour and 15 minutes to detail his activities on the tragic day, as well as the days following leading up to his arrest.The 12-member jury heard that on September 3, 2010, Bynoe was in charge of looking after a house in Lower Burney, St Michael on behalf of his uncle Richard Bynoe, who is overseas.After running some errands, Bynoe said he returned to Lower Burney around 5 p.m. and did some chores at his uncle’s house before preparing for his Sabbath.

MISSING TEEN FOUND – Police this afternoon reported that missing teenager Kalia Gaskin has returned and is safe.Lawmen first issued an appeal for the public’s assistance in finding the 16-year-old on Thursday, after she did not return home last Saturday. They issued a second appeal for help in finding her this morning.

MAN WALKS FREE – He came from HMP Dodds in handcuffs and shackles but left the District “A” Magistrates’ Court a free man.Fortunately for 24-year-old Jamal Rohan Kellman, an unlawful assault charge against him was dismissed yesterday after the virtual complainant, Shatal John, told Magistrate Douglas Frederick that she was no longer interested in pursuing the matter.Kellman, of Dash Road, Bank Hall, St Michael was on remand for unlawfully assaulting John on April 3, 2016.

FRIENDSHIP TURNS SOUR – A St Michael man was granted bail when he appeared in the District “A” Magistrates’ Court yesterday.Kelvin Browne, 35, of Connell Road, Free Hill, Black Rock, St Michael, is charged with wounding Shawn Johnson with intent to maim, disfigure or disable him.He was not required to plead to the indictable charge.Reading the facts, the police prosecutor revealed that back in April 2015, the two men, who were friends for over 20 years, decided to rent the Bird City Sports Bar located in Danesbury, Black Rock, St Michael.However, Johnson informed Browne yesterday that he was no longer interested in the partnership and wanted him the “remove his stuff from the bar”.An argument ensued which led to Browne striking Johnson “with a piece of purpleheart log” to the left side of his head.The accused left the area while the complainant was taken to a doctor. Browne was arrested later that same day.Magistrate Douglas Frederick granted Browne $5, 000 bail. He is to reappear in court on September 14, 2016.

ONE WEEK TO PAY – Thirty-five-year-old Leo Ricardo Daniel was yesterday given one week to pay two court fines.When he appeared before Magistrate Douglas Frederick in the District “A” Magistrates’ Court, it was revealed that Daniel was yet to pay a $350 fine for a previous matter.He was ordered to pay the amount by next Friday or face three months imprisonment. The ruling was handed down as Daniel faced two new charges for offences allegedly committed on May 9, 2016.The unemployed resident of Watermill Place, Bayville, St Michael, pleaded guilty to the unlawful possession of an article of clothing, namely pants, “made in a disruptive pattern material used for making the military uniform”, commonly known as camouflage. Daniel also admitted to the unlawful possession of cannabis.He was fined $750, also to be paid by next Friday, or face three months imprisonment.The matter was adjourned to June 17, 2016.

STOLEN BANGLE – Oneal Nicko John was granted $3,000 bail when he appeared in the District “A” Magistrates’ Court yesterday.The 25-year-old, of Greenfield, the City, is charged with handling stolen property.According to the facts, John dishonestly assisted with the disposal of a stolen bangle, valued at $1, 000, belonging to Monica Scantlebury.The offence was allegedly committed between June 2 and June 7, 2016.According to the police prosecutor, the complainant made a report to lawmen at Worthing Police Station that an unknown man had stolen her gold bangle while at Sargeant’s Village, Christ Church.Police later recovered the stolen property from Cash Wiz located on Parry Street, The City. Information received there led to John’s arrest.However, he told police he received the bangle from another man.John pleaded not guilty to the charge and is expected to return to court on September 14, 2016.

60 YEAR OLD ON FRAUD CHARGES – A 60-year-old woman appeared in the District ‘A’ Magistrates’ Court yesterday on fraud charges.Margaret Patricia Maynard, who resides at Apt 973, Kingsland Crescent, Christ Church, was not required to plead to the indictable charges.She is accused of stealing $31, 791 belonging to Mar-Nig Management Limited between June 9 and July 30, 2015.She is also charged with engaging in money laundering after depositing the said sum, which the police prosecutor described as proceeds of crime – theft.Maynard also faces a charge of obtaining false transaction records from Mar-Nig Management for accounting purposes.According to the facts, the 60-year-old was employed with Mar-Nig Management, trading as Warrens Eye Care at Manor Lodge, Green Hill, St Michael, when the offences were allegedly committed.She was the office manager responsible for receiving “the cash, debit and credit slips and cheques on behalf of the company”.Police investigations also revealed that Maynard was discarding reports submitted to her and creating her own report forms, “which consisted of less funds than she received”, during the period June 9 to July 2015.After hearing the facts, Magistrate Douglas Frederick granted bail in the sum of $20, 000 with one surety.Maynard returns to court on September 20, 2016.

JAMAICAN JAILED – Jamaican national Samuel Leroy Campbell has been jailed for two years after he failed to pay $15,000 in fines for drug-related offences.Campbell, who arrived at the Grantley Adams International Airport on Thursday, was interviewed by Drug Squad personnel and referred to the Queen Elizabeth Hospital. While there he passed 121 packages of cannabis weighing one kilogram.He was subsequently charged with possession of cannabis, possession with intent to supply cannabis, trafficking cannabis and importation of cannabis.When he appeared before the Magistrates Court he was fined $10,000 to be paid forthwith or spend two years in prison for the charge of possession of cannabis. He was fined an additional $5,000 for the importation of cannabis to be paid forthwith or spend two years in jail. The fines were not paid and Campbell was sent to jail. The sentences will run concurrently.He was reprimanded and discharged for the two other offences of possession with intent to supply and trafficking of cannabis.

WANTED MAN – Police are seeking the public’s assistance in identifying a person of interest who is wanted for interviewing.The man appears to be in his early 20s, is about five feet eight inches tall, of dark brown complexion, has low knotty hair, and is slim with a big chest. He has high cheek bones, full eyes, small mouth with thick lips and no facial hair.Police are asking anyone who can provide information which will assist in identifying this man to contact the police emergency number 211 or Crime Stoppers at 1-800-TIPS (1-800-8477).

FESTIVAL FEVER – IT SEEMS THAT selfies and soca are quite the mix. As the sounds of the tuk band reverberated through the streets of Bridgetown for the launch of the First Citizens Crop Over City Fest & Ceremonial Delivery of the Last Canes yesterday morning, soca artiste Mikey found the perfect opportunity to blend the two.This year’s launch was held in Independence Square and was heralded by the always popular tuk band, accompanied by Mother Sally, the Green Monkey and Shaggy Bear characters who paraded through Broad Street, drawing attention from City shoppers.Not even the few showers could cool the growing festival fever.

FAREWELL KIMBERLY – The Church of the Nazarene was packed to capacity this afternoon, as many came to pay their last respects and celebrate the life of 28-year-old Kimberly Lovell who lost her life in a suspected murder-suicide last month.The body of Lovell, a mother of two, was discovered with several wounds on May 29, in her Bayland, St Michael home, while the body of her husband, Derek, was found hanging. A small crowd was present outside the church, as family, friends, colleagues and acquaintances came to say goodbye to this once vivacious, bubbly and energetic young woman. Nurses from the Queen Elizabeth Hospital, including those from the recovery department, were present at the service. They entered the church in a single file, clad in white with a green sash marked ‘recovery room’. There was also a performance from local artiste Dwane Husbands in the service which was held to celebrate Kimberly’s life rather than mourn her tragic death.

That’s all for today folks. Have a wonderful Sunday & remember don;t let anybody steal your joy. 🙂 Shalom <3 Steph.

14. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

No AC…it just means that the electorate will be getting rid of the ministers whose stomachs are now filled to bursting with greed and STILL they are scavenging for 10% restoration in salary while the majority on the island are starving, overtaxed and too many young people are out of work.

What does the electorate have to lose by changing governments, the treasury has already been robbed bare…, a new government will have to start from scratch….there is nothing left to steal….and as Mia brilliantly pointed out the disparity in awarding taxpayer funded contracts to the thieves and conmen posing as business people, while exposing illegal activities by those bisiness people….she can’t very well do the same thing when she is prime minister…now can she….

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artaxerxes June 12, 2016 at 9:51 AM
    “Shiite, if Freundel and DEM would NOT accept SOLUTIONS from the BPSA and McDonald, especially taking their “credentials” into consideration, and has REFUSED to ACCEPT advice from every individual, special interest group and organisation, ACCUSING them of being BLP supporters, why on earth would they want the BLP to “bring solutions?”

There is one set of ‘SOLUTIONS’ Freundel and DEM have been forced to accept. It’s all gift-wrapped in the term “PRIVATIZATION”. It has been in the delivery pipeline since 2012 and is now about to inundate the Bajan fiscal and financial landscape to the detriment of the poor and the mass of unemployed.

If only the medicine was taken earlier when the fiscal disease was not so aggressive the extremely large and bitter dose would not be required today.

Dr. Ac, the ugly weave wearing medicine woman from the Tommy Sotomayor show, are you going to write the prescription for pharmacist Fumble to fill to give to the Nurse Stinkliar of the ailing Bajan economy? Or should we wait for a second opinion from the other quack Dr. Worrell from the Church Village tower?

“Hard ears, yuh won’t hear, bye-‘n-bye yuh gine feel”. To quote a ‘true, true’ Bajan axiom; thanks to (‘Bajan Proverbs’ ~Margot Blackman)

16. I remember from my days in the civil service, Director, Chief Welfare Officer, General Manager, Commissioner of Police, etc were paid a FIXED rate of travel allowance. The fixed travel rate which was attached to certain posts, at that time, was $2,880 per annum or $240 per month.

Those individuals who were categorized as “travelling officers” were allowed to complete a “travel claim” for reimbursement based on the distanced travelled. I think they were paid $1.30 for the first 320 kilometers and $0.80 for the remainder.

BOTH the FIXED and CLAIMED travel allowances were NOT subject to the deduction of PAYE.

From income year 2011, as outlined in the Budget, it was proposed that BOTH allowances would no longer be tax-free.

17. The BU household was hit for six in response to the following because we heard about this bassasbassa last week.

JONES IN THE DARK – The Ministry of Education’s position on student-on-teacher violence became murkier today with Minister of Education Ronald Jones stating he was unaware of the latest reports of violence.Jones told reporters covering the Democratic Labour Party’s (DLP) lunchtime lecture he would not comment on the issue because he had received no official reports of attacks by students on teachers.“I am not aware of any incidents. Someone asked me about it this week as well but I haven’t had a chance to do so as yet. I will look into it so I would be able to properly respond,” Jones said.

18. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Jeez…people in North America are wondering why a principal and a teacher suffered injuries and Jones is minister of education in Barbados claiming not to know….stomach too full.

19. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@Stephanie S Chase

You are telling me that unacceptable conduct should be allowed by those with the money because if they shut shop, we would be in shite street? Well, lemme tell ya, Barbadians maybe a lot of things to a lot of people but one thing they know how to do well is survived. If the price for jobs is to sell your soul, then keep the darn jobs and your money, and pack up your shite and leave. This relationship between politics and the business class significantly places these two entities in a distinct advantage. We need jobs, yes, but we do not need to subject bajans to tyrannous environments as has been the case when doors are open up to investors. The current relationship between government and the said persons is the reason why the Maloneys feel that they are bigger than the laws of the land and any state department and leading head. The politicians have already sold their souls to the highest bidder; we can no longer stand by and let them continue to sell our birthright from right under our noses.

20. @ Miller & WW&C

I want to focus on the topic of this article, rather than turn the “discussion” into a BLP versus DLP scenario, which seems to be a role the DLP is paying the resident yard-fowl to perform. However, I’m forced to make a response.

Prior to the 2008 general elections, the DLP was also accused of NOT presenting to the electorate, any VIABLE or ALTERNATIVE social and economic solutions.

The following comments were taken from the Barbados Forum blog:

Barbados Forum: DLP – Democratic Labour Party
    Started by Bendedknees, 28 Aug 2006

stiab3 said
    Posted on 5 Sep 2006:

Davids Plan????

I am at a lost to David’s CONTINUED HARPING that he will NOT HELP the BLP by ISSUING HIS PLANS AND PROPOSED POLICIES. I don’t know if this is a good idea, and I can’t help but think that it is more likely that he does not have any detail plans to address the vague emotional things that he has been harping about. I seem to remember the Richie Haynes Back-raise budget speech that over-shadow Bree’s budget delivery all the way to an election, now the same dynamics then may not be at work now, but I would think that Thompy could research this event, to see if it can be molded, massage, expanded, reinvented, or lead to the germination of an approach that can energize his leadership and the people of Barbados.

1: The people of Barbados are ready for change for many reasons but primarily because they would tend to feel that 3 terms is enough for the BLP, why is Thompy NOT building on this PERCEPTION with READY and WORKABLE PROGRAMS, SOLUTIONS, and APPROACHES, is beyond me.

However, we all know that, in the absence of “NOT HELPING the BLP by ISSUING HIS PLANS AND PROPOSED POLICIES” or identifying “READY and WORKABLE PROGRAMS, SOLUTIONS, and APPROACHES,” Thompson and the DLP were able to win the 2008 general elections with 20 seats to the BLP’s 10.

Those results were indicative of the fact that, rather than being preoccupied with the SOLUTIONS rhetoric, Barbadians were more interested in CHANGING the administration.

It is also interesting to note that the DESIRE for CHANGE, now, is much more OVERWHELMING than was the desire for change during the lead up to the 2008 general elections.

21. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

SSS….one of the misinformation and outright lie spread by the minority class to the majority blacks on the island for decades now….post slavery, that blacks have handed down from generation to generation, is that they cannot survive on their own without the minoritiesm it’s just the opposite in reality.

Black people believe this despite knowing. …it is a lie.

There is no other group of people on earth with the survival skills of blacks….yet Maloney, Bizzy and Cow with his nasty slave statement still manage to make the blacks in Barbados believe otherwise and they keep repeating this lie to their children.

That is what has worked for the business people, Maloney is just taking it to another level saying he can stop investment… because he knows there are blacks on the island dumb enough to think he can….when he knows he can’t.

As I indicated sometime ago…I am a cold-blooded kind of gal who would call his bluff and pull the rug from under him, as he deserves….for that empty threat.

That would teach him to run scams and then use the contracts to sell himself to the banks….the banks own him and he should never, ever get another taxpayer funded contract….in Barbados, let him see if he could manage to get one in North America….see how quickly he would be slapped down into his place.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art…the political parties and affiliations are an unavoidable blight forced on the people….as much as we would like to get away from it, we cant unless the system is changed to a direct democracy, ehere the people vote on every issues wisely in their own best interest…until then ya stuck with parasites.

The electorate senses when it’s time for change, no political party should serve 3 terms….too much venom and poison being allowed to spread…read the auditor general’s report.

As it now stands,,, the electorate has nothing to lose by changing governments and they are well aware of that fact….they gained nothing in those 8 years while others made millions…off their misery.

For this electorate who now find themselves on the ground…a change can only see them going up.

And if when Mia is elected she dont lock up those ministers who aided Leroy Parris money laundering in the central bank….she herself will need jail time….night can run but day catches up.

23. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Chad

Again, I am sorry that I was unable to write in a manner that you would understand. I am not comparing our level of education. I was referring not to higher education but to basic English Comprehension that was taught when I entered class 1 at primary school. You see Chad, it would appear that you, like so many others, have built your higher education on a foundation of sand with no steel.

24. @David
    Tired if the BLP DLP shiiite.

Much more of it to come apparently.

Just observing

25. @Observing

What does it say about the type of society we have built? Is our education system working failing? Have we not learned from Jamaica, Guyana, Trinidad…?

26. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

All party affiliations and political pimping did was create a bunch of people who lack useful knowledge….it will continue to be a blight on the landscape of countries until it is recognized as such…useless acronyms eg….BLP…..DLP….that serve very little purpose to the population unless the leaders are skilled in creating an even balanced society….none can be perfect, but what we are seeing in Barbados has not yet risen out of the gutter, matured or progress in 50 years of political freedom….weak leaders.

27. Fractured BLP Avatar

Does anyone know if Mia Mottley was in Orlando, Florida night club?

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82151/corruption-charges-ministers

When the system is bssed entirely on corruption…this is thr outcome.

29. BEWARE OF YARD-FOWLS!!!!! Avatar
    BEWARE OF YARD-FOWLS!!!!!

Fractured BLP June 12, 2016 at 2:48 PM #

“Does anyone know if Mia Mottley was in Orlando, Florida night club?”

I thought you were in George Street you would have asked George, Ronald, Richard or Freundel that question. Or are they missing?

BEWARE OF YARD-FOWLS!!!!!

30. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Refer teefin' to the DPP' my ass. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman aka ‘Refer teefin’ to the DPP’ my ass.

Barbados only has two problems:

The people capable of leading this country are not attracted to elective politics

The people capable of leading this country have no access to the people who are elected to lead it.

As has been posted numerous times, there are obvious solutions that are not in the interest of those vying for election to public office.

31. According to Mr. Franklyn’s article, Stuart was alleged to have said the following at the recently held press conference:

“I don’t think that this is any increase for parliamentarians. I asked members of Cabinet, I asked parliamentary secretaries, in fact I didn’t ask them, I ordered them, to give up…that ten percent of their salaries. The time has come for the restoration and for me it is no longer an issue of dollars and cents, it is a moral issue.”

However, it amazes me that, at the SAME press conference and in response to a question on whether government could AFFORD SALARY INCREASES for PUBLIC SECTOR EMPLOYEES, Stuart is also reported as having said:

“I heard that one trade union was going to make a fairly significant request on the government in terms of salary increases. It is TRUE that OVER the LAST FEW YEARS we HAVE ASKED PUBLIC OFFICERS in Barbados to HOLD STRAIN and to WALK WITH US and SEE US THROUGH the DIFFICULTIES which we were passing.” [Source: Sun on Saturday – June 11, 2016]

Yet, after just TWO years of accepting a 10% reduction in their salaries, not only Stuart and his colleagues are no longer willing to “hold strain,” they see the salary restoration as a “moral issue.”

Therefore, against the background of public officer accepting a freeze in their salaries and wages for the past EIGHT YEARS, incurring ADDITIONAL and INCREASES in some TAXES as well as corresponding INCREASES in the cost of living, Stuart must accept that “one trade union” making “a fairly significant request on the government in terms of salary increases” should also NO LONGER be “an issue of dollars and cents,” but “a MORAL ISSUE” as well.

Is Stuart also PREPARED to ACCEPT that there is a MORAL ISSUE as it relates to those former Beautify Barbados employees who, almost THREE YEARS after being RETRENCHED, have not RECEIVED their SEVERANCE PAYMENTS as yet?

32. Yuh see what i mean the brother up in here on BU trying to analyse what PM said steupsee talking nuff shite

33. Uh know uh en talking nuff shite when I analyse your mug and dah weave, doah. Uh talk de TRUTH.

To besides, if you know um is shite, wuh you read um fuh?

34. Lol i know u dying to see what i look like but yuh going to have to keep looking at the ugly picture
    Uh deserve the punishment.keep looking

35. just wait till 2018 when wunna the blp operatives a,ss get tarred and feather then you will get to see wuh ugly reallyyyyyy looks like

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/82204/-follow-law-music

As Caswell has been saying repeatedly…both political parties have access to and know about the necessary legislations in place for awarding government contracts to private business people …..but have steadfastly refused to follow that law themselves and have been awarding government contracts based for decades on who pays them the most in campaign financing, the most bribes, nepotism, favoritism, party affiliations and yardfowlism.

Now here is Sinckler pretendibg he does not know about the practice or that like his fellow ministers, he does the same thing…..trying to assign phantom blame on others.

They better get the Bizzys, Maloneys, Bjerkhams and their filthy stench away from the taxpayers or they too will feel the music.

37. And as the defecit becomes lower one will notice the blp operatives construct fresh narratives and formulas out of soft issues and emotionalism..hence one will continue to hear the loud cackles of blp yarfowl and wild geese going into the next election having no solutions going forward for the barbados economy.. What a shame
    Now it has become apparently clear that the doom and gloom strategy bandied about for the past seven years has been abandoned by the blp… having shown clear evidence that barbados economy is turning around.

38. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Refer teefin' to the DPP' my ass. Avatar

And now the idiot Stinkliar says he can’t sell CBC because it owes the gov’t money that would have to be written off an noncollectable.

Better to keep pissing more money away and increasing the debt indefinitely. Never mind limiting the haemorrhaging of limited cash resources.

I would like the auditor general to tell us what every school meal delivered in Barbados costs the taxpayers of this country. I’m sure it is much more that what the school canteens can provide them for.

Ninjaman has a better grasp of simple economic realities than our MOF.

There will be no economic recovery under Fumble’s Fools.

39. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the CUNTS AC

I am so glad that you posted speeches by this Piss Poor Prime Minister. By his own words he shows all what a hypocrite he truly is. It is mindboggling how far people like wuhna would go just for a few dollars. Pathethic little bunch of ruf wuk worms.

40. Sunshine Sunny Shine June 14, 2016 at 8:19 AM #

It is mindboggling how far people like wuhna would go just for a few dollars. Pathetic little bunch of ruff wuk worms.

@ SSS

Perhaps if you saw their mugs who would appreciate just how far they would go for a “Fist Full of Dollars.”

41. Caswell,
    Contributors to this blog, who are “looked up to” as knowledgeable persons, who are seized of the facts, should be truthful in their contributions.You fall into this category. You wrote (above):” …it is on that basis that they are seeking to increase their own salaries. Why must they be the first ones to benefit from this alleged recovery? ” You know full well there was no INCREASE (my caps) in their own salaries. Why have you prevaricated? Just for political fuel? You know that there are hundreds of contracts and procurements given to small and medium sized businesses. Big contracts HAVE based on their size to be given to BIG businesses (with subcontracts to smaller businesses) because they cannot be done by the small businesses who would not have the equipment or money to complete these projects. For example, could the Spring Garden highway project have been done by a “small” contractor?

Frustrated businessman,
    Have you done a cost analysis of the costs to provide every canteen in the schools with the resources to provide the meals for each child? You are just pulling this supposition from the top of your head, Get down to brass tacks, do the analysis and let us have the figures then you can talk. Until then you are just blowing in the wind.

In the absence of accurate analysis it is just political rhetoric.

42. Frustrated,
    If I remember correctly, one of the first things I recollect is that the BLP were supposed to sell off CBC. In for 14 years and it never happened. Why?

43. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Refer teefin' to the DPP' my ass. Avatar

Alvin Cummins June 14, 2016 at 9:48 AM #
    Frustrated,
    If I remember correctly, one of the first things I recollect is that the BLP were supposed to sell off CBC. In for 14 years and it never happened. Why?

Government propaganda tool obviously.

Regarding your school canteen comment, your lack of understanding of financial realities shines through. We don’t have to analyse the canteens, they sell food every day for a price that has been accepted by the free market. My question was for the Auditor General who has access to data I don’t. What does it cost to operate the School Meals Service annually, including opportunity costs such as rent they aren’t paying, and how many meals do they deliver annually? That would make it quite easy to decide whether the SMD should be shut down and the gov’t provide meal tokens to school administrators to be issued to students in need and used at existing canteens run by tax-paying business people.

Simple maths, not hidden agenda political grandstanding.

44. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Alvin

I suggest that you re-read the article. I maintain that the Government proposed an increase in pay for themselves. The law allows the Minister to set salaries for ministers by making an order to either increase or decrease the salaries. If there was any intent on the part of the Minister of Finance to change the salaries for a specific period, the order should have said so. It did not. The 2014 salary order established the salaries any change upward is an increase.

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

It is sure thing that my Alvi Pelvi really losing he gaw darn cotton picking mind. Wuh I read some where by the auditor general that the government was in the habit of giving big name construction companies millions in start up money before they drove one single stroke of work, and how this ”loan money” will never be repaid by the people who get the hand out. Alvi u doan tink de guvment cud do the same ting for the small contractor so the small fella can rent a few big name tools to get the job done. I just asking cuz ya know i cah step where you have already walked. You is de big man

46. Wait Who do U think i would listen to ..u or the PM when last any of wunna ever run anything of real importance outside yuh friggin mout. Guh long do with them pissy posters

47. Frustrated Businessman aka 'Refer teefin' to the DPP' my ass. Avatar

ac June 14, 2016 at 1:01 PM #
    Wait Who do U think i would listen to ..u or the PM when last any of wunna ever run anything of real importance outside yuh friggin mout. Guh long do with them pissy posters

The ignorance of your statement is deep, maybe a new level.

That is the exact criticism levelled at your ridiculous PM. Accomplished nothing his entire life but a barely law degree and less-than-average practice and set himself up to run a small nation state.

If I was offered the QEH boss’ job tomorrow I would have to decline for all the same reasons your PM has destroyed this country’s economy.

48. @Frustrated

The statement from ac exposes the problem we have in Barbados. Here is a person on a blog with mainly anonymous commenters who gives herself the license to speak as if she knows the professions of you et al. If only she knew! How are we able to take some people seriously?

#JA