News items in the last couple of weeks gave pause to the BU household to reflect on the state of agriculture in Barbados. If there is one industry that tells a sorry tale of mismanagement, lack of vision, a dearth of leadership – you get the idea – it is agriculture. The news that Barbados will produce about 7,000 tonnes of sugar in 2016 demands an explanation from government and in particular the minister of agriculture David Estwick who although known for making ‘noise’ has been very quiet on the abysmal performance of the sugar industry. If one is to judge from the statement that was issued by Chairman of the Barbados Sugar Industry Limited (BSIL) Patrick Bethel, government must take much of the blame because of the late payment of the 2015 incentive payments totalling 15 million dollars. According to Bethell this is money used historically by the independent sugar farmers to prep for the season to come by servicing equipment, dropping manure among other tasks.

Then there was the perennial cry from CEO of the Barbados Agriculture Society (BAS) and a few others that the scourge of praedial larceny  continues to decimate the industry making it difficult for farmers to be profitable. There was a great expectation for the agriculture industry when Haynesley Benn and James Paul were elected to parliament on the same side. Both came with a rich agriculture background and resume. Benn tried his best before he was posted to a cushy diplomatic  Consul General job in Canada, duty free perks and all! Surprisingly Paul was not given the opportunity to succeed Benn and in 2011 had to stave an attempt to oust his as the CEO of the BAS – James Paul M.P. Fired from the BAS. The obvious question is why between Benn and Paul they have been unable to flesh out and champion a plan for agriculture. Why all the long talk and little progress in the industry for the eight years they have gained the government. Has there been any significant output by the agriculture industry to place a dent in food imports? Has there been any significant two initiatives local agriculture can defend as progress in the industry?

One is forced to ask Paul what has Agrofest achieved since inception. Is it correct the exhibition has been running since 2005? How can the BAS claim that Agrofest is a success and while there is thumping of chests there is no serious commitment to agriculture by the government. There has been no significant improvement on the island to dissuade  the thieves. There has been no shift in local taste from foreign to local. The 2016 Draft Estimates show no significant increase in budget allocation. Where is the leadership to highlight questionable pesticides. Are Barbadians happy with Monsanto products being sold and used in Barbados?

BU will listen to the Estimates debate to get a sense of whether agriculture will be prioritized.

Seriously 7,000 tonnes in 2016?

And what is the status of the $250 million Cane Industry Restructuring Project (CHIRP)?

112 responses to “Service Economy and the State of Agriculture”

1. A country without a strong agriculture sector has no hopes of ever attaining food security.

2. A country with jokers leading government has no hope of EVER attaining ANYTHING positive…

3. @Bushie, that too!

4. Maybe we should concentrate on king grass and river tamarand production to feed the egos and pockets of the Nastys in government. After all Cahill has bills to pay lol

5. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

The crooks in the DBLP government vision is to remove SUGAR from the land to then have the land SOLD to people over seas to put them on the TAX and VAT roles,
    This to them is the BEST way to bring money into Barbados and to replace the Citizens With White People and their FAKE MONEY, Now leaving Bajans as SLAVES to take care of them in their Own Country,

Any thing for the WHITE and to Hell with the BLACK.

We keep talking and most of you ALL on BU can never SEE or get the Big PICTURE.

THE LAND HAVE BEEN THE KEY FROM THE START OF TIME MAN WALKING ON IT,

THE PIMP HOLDERS OF BARBADOS ARE IN THEIR WAY OF GIVING UP THE NATION WITH OUT A WAR,
    COLUMBUS IS ON HIS WAY AGAIN , THIS TIME WILL BE WORSE THAN EVER IN MODERN DAY. NNNNIIIGGGGEEERRRRSSSS IN CHARGE CAN NOT HAVE ANY OTHER RESULTS

6. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

Redfactor101 March 11, 2016 at 7:49 AM #@@@

That is not even funny, sad very sad , they all have to be voted out.

7. Seeing that agriculture is taking a big hit in the estimates it will be interesting to hear Dr.Estwick’s position now that pensions are now guaranteed.

8. What’s even more sad is we have to wait to vote them out.
    In the mean time the poor get poorer while these assho@@s live high on the hog.

9. @gfparoman

Estwick has zero credibility.

10. Vincent Haynes Avatar

This govt. is not serious about Ag. it just cut that budget by 67m. from the previous years,I thought I saw Andrews in it but that maybe something else.

As I asked before who benefits with the death of Ag.?

This is a govt with a lot of bright people who have an agenda,the only problem is that it does not coincide with the expectations of the people.

11. @David

Estwick is unpredictable. Who knows what effect that recent poll had on his mind or the minds of other dlp politicians. We could see another Richie Haynes event.

12. @gfparoman

The original comment stands. People are fed up!

You can slice the apathy and cynicism with a knife.

13. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You need to ask what the heck they are paying people in the Agriculture ministry to do. The country is supposed to grow food. Where is the effort in that? Why are we not seeing more controlled farming in a few spots around the island focusing on experimenting with growing a few things not common to Barbados? Ya think we cah flood a few patches of land to see if we can’t start a rice programme or even broccoli sprouts under a control farming programme. Where is the pioneering work from the Ministry of Agriculture to show that this ministry is leading front and hard in innovation and production. Where is the ministry of agriculture programmes encouraging householders to contribute towards growing food for our needs? Where are the experiments in producing our own brand of corn flakes, the planting of wheat to produce our own cereal brand, flour meal etc; the general push to show that this ministry is on top of things. Look, if the shites up there do not understand the importance of Agriculture, then done away with the ministry and have a small agriculture unit run under the Ministry of Finance’s visionary. Chris Sinckler. Chris thinks it is ok to slash the agriculture budget since they have not proven themselves to be worth the two cents they tend to waste every financial year. I say done away with the ministry of Agriculture DLP, your governance makes a whole lot of ‘cents.’

14. @SSS

Is there a negative correlation between the motivation to expand the Ag segment and the nonexistent will to deal with praedial larceny?

15. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Redfactor101

We do not have to wait to vote them out. Online petitions against the policy of the government can be put forward. Protest that focuses on the nonsense that government is doing and highlighting 3-PMs disdain towards Barbadians can feature prominently against this regime. But what I am saying bajans are subdued to frighten. Even the opposition with all the talk is beaten into submission.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ahh…echoes of Switzerland from SSS…1000k petitions and DLP asses would be out….next….showing their inability and reluctance to govern effectively also….1000 petitions and they (BLP) too will be gone.

Bajans need to wake the hell up…keep rotating the politicians until they are giddy or an effective 3rd party finally emerges.

17. Whatever happened to the White Paper on Agriculture prepared by Dr. Chelston Brathwaite. A document quoted in May 2012 by the Ministry of Agriculture as being “the first step in a process that will lead to the transformation and repositioning of the agricultural sector in Barbados.”
    http://www.agriculture.gov.bb/agri/index.php?option=com_content&id=645:background-document-on-a-white-paper-on-agriculture

According to a story in the Nation Newspaper dated Wed, November 27, 2013 reporting on comments made by Minister Estwick the paper said:
    “The minister told the country today that a White Paper on Agriculture, which should be going before Cabinet soon,…….”

That was November 2013. This is March 2016. What were the White Paper’s recommendations and policy proposals? Maybe Dr. Brathwaite, the Minister, the Ministry or someone would be kind enough to send a copy to BU or make it publicly available?

18. My thoughts exactly
    We will never get enough interested people to sign on the dotted line to impeach these theifs
    So we’re stuck for the next 2 years

19. Nostradamus March 11, 2016 at 11:54 AM #

Gone the way of Ag. white papers over the last 20 years…..file 13.

20. Barbados had a well structured functioning Agricultural “Industry” from before I was born.

It is sad that we are in this ridiculous situation today.

However there is hope….. sooner or later Barbados will not have enough money to import all the food it needs and we will see how fast the lawns will become gardens and orchards.

21. @ Hants
    However there is hope….. sooner or later Barbados will not have enough money to import all the food it needs…
    Skippa, we passed that point YEARS ago…

But instead of just giving us a kick in the ass to wake us up (like they did Jamaica), the albinos decided to lend us enough money to dig ourselves in so deeply that we are now effectively back in slavery… they apparently LOVE these ‘fields and hills’ that we once called our own…

…just that the brass bowl idiots have not quite realised it yet….
    Soon though…

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

The negative correlation only needs a trip back down memory lane to see the manner in which two sucessive administrations approach it over several decades. There never was much of a focus or priority towards developing agriculture to meet the food needs of Barbados. It took a crisis and a high import bill for them to be interested in agriculture. Agriculture for those who govern was interpreted simply as sugar cane with industry put in place to produce sugar. There was never a desire to promote agriculture towards value added interests or as a sector for which by product processing could have emerged as a viable industry. As long as sweet potatoes was still available for a man to get a rod that was agriculture. NO thought whatsoever about what you could have turn that sweet potato into to give it value. It took them ages before they decided to make flour out of cassava and breadfruit. We should have establish industries for processing experiments long time ago and I am sure all like now we would have had establish industries and niche markets already.If we did,our farmers would have been planting, getting more for their efforts and enough to put safe guards in place against the thieves.

There will always be a problem of praedial larceny because Barbados remains 90% poor and struggling. That is why it makes sense to develop specialty agriculture in a control environment because you can do a whole lot more with dependence on a whole lot less. You can even establish your security controls in this environment rather than on several acres of land growing corn for thieves to harvest in darkest hour of the night. Several control farming structures will gurantee and ensure the production of predetermine crop yields. It makes a whole lot of sense to grow a covered two acres of land and get two tonnes of a specific yield then to grow 6 acres of land and end up reaping only 1 ton of a specific yield. These jokers at the ministry are not interested in experimenting. All like now they could be experimenting in growing crops not indigenous to Barbados. There is no will or desire of government to see agriculture reach the peak that it should be all a long. That is why controlling the thieving is not high on the agenda of the government where agriculture is concern. It’s just not monetary attractive.

23. Not only the agricultural budget has been sliced but also the budget for the QEH.

The QEH’s suppliers must have cringed when they heard this as they know for sure they will not be paid their outstanding monies.

The Stinkliar can find $5million to splurge on bashes for the low information voters to wuk up and then when they go to the QEH they have to wait days for treatment. What a difference $5million dollars in suppiles would do to the QEH right now.

We should all be concerned with the comments from a UK economist in today’s paper.

24. The dilemna which agriculture finds itself is brought on by years of exploition and one tracked initiatives implemented by govts who did not have the political will or foresight to engineer alternatives that are good prospectives and profitable in a global economy.
    Why is that when it comes to agriculture that govts remain focused on the lilltle in hand than trying new alternatives that are highly in demand and geared towards consumer spending along with proper marketing strategies

25. The whole world is fast moving towards healthy living styles consumers are demanding foods that are not processed and barbados still trying to attract markets for sugar
    Either govts are living in denial or is content on depending on small scale planning
    Recently i was in an internation country and saw soursoup tge size of a young breadfruit selling at outrageous price.
    It is time our leaders and advisors start thinking and planning globally instead of locally

26. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@the intelligent AC

I love when you write like this. Don’t know who you are but I like what you write sometimes. At least, I know you ain’t the crutch licking AC lap dance wannabe, or that octagenarian fraud who is suffering immensely from delusions of grandeur.

Agriculture in Barbados is starved for a few action Jacksons. But, what is amazing to me is the way how excuses are found to justify this administration’ non-interest in specific sectors and all the rhetoric that is specific to their interest they could articulate like the gospel of John 3-16.

Anyone notice how quick a ban can be put in place to stop drones, but this coming election no such ban or prohibition will be put in place to stop vote buying or taking campaign contributions.

27. gfparoman March 11, 2016 at 8:12 AM
    Its more than entitlement to a pension. Its sticking around for another term , to fill up another bucket with bribes ,payouts and kickbacks,while salting away ,untouched, their normal salaries and allowances.

28. The whole world is fast moving towards healthy living styles consumers are demanding foods that are not processed and barbados still trying to attract markets for sugar
    Either govts are living in denial or is content on depending on small scale planning
    Recently i was in an internation country and saw soursoup the size of a young breadfruit selling at outrageous price.
    It is time our leaders and advisors start thinking and planning globally instead of locally

29. ac March 11, 2016 at 2:19 PM #
    The whole world is fast moving towards healthy living styles ……
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Ya got that right! Have you seen the ballooning size of many of our MP’s . Bull necked, big guts , moon faced, XXXXL size suits and as Kerry would have put it, a 1000 pound of blubber. Never had it so good.

30. Col….I think i saw a shrinking minister of finance

31. Hants March 11, 2016 at 12:40 PM #
    Barbados had a well structured functioning Agricultural “Industry” from before I was born.
    ………………………………………………………………….
    This collapse of agriculture was on the cards long ago. I had two close relatives. One was a politician and the other was born in agriculture. One night the politicians and his friends were discussing agriculture, and were in essence talking a load of junk. The agriculture man, not able to withstand the crap any longer, intervened and attempted to put the politicians straight. He was immediately rebuked by the other relative, with a “shut up old man, what do you know!” And this is really one of the the underpinning factors which has caused the collapse of agriculture in Barbados. Like the ‘engineers’ in the sugar factories who kept those steam engines ,and the sugar process going, but could not not be called Engineers, so too were the many people in agriculture, who knew the ins and outs of every aspect of agriculture, and who ,for all intents and purposes, were the real agronomist in Barbados, unlike the certified ones now sitting in air -conditioned offices with a grand view of the Atlantic’s south coast.

32. @ AC
    Col….I think i saw a shrinking minister of finance
    That may be true, but the Colonel was not talking about intellect…..

33. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Colonel Buggy March 11, 2016 at 3:50 PM #

Never truer words spoken in a post.
    ………………………………………………………

Let me add my questions and thoughts.

Why are we buying Sorrel from the far east?

Yam,Cassava,Breadfruit,Sweet potatoes for chips&Flour for local&export

I was involved in recommendations for the Scotland District becoming the bread basket of Bim,with export potential.

Thinking back….why was the processing plant scrapped because it was obsolete…..when I remember how the foundry used to make parts for our Sugar Factories…….Could not the SJPP have been set up to assist?…..Why was another one not set up?

Everything about Ag. smells,historian can trace the destruction of Sugar&Ag. years from now.

34. @SSS

The bottomline is that neither party is committed to agricultural. The model we are happy with is to earn forex to buy food at a cheaper cost than we are able to produce.

35. Vincent
    Agriculture is the MOST NATURAL form of manufacturing and business anywhere.
    It failed in Barbados (and the Caribbean) because we created an education system that has produced generations of clowns -whose mission in life is to get a job – preferably working for some albino looking stranger; get a loan from another albino or Trickidadian looking stranger; buy a REAL fancy Toyota from another albino and then rent a government house (cause everyone knows that you don’t have to pay them any damn rent).

Who wants to go into agriculture when the education system defines success thusly?

Who wants to go into agriculture when these same ‘generations of scholars’ insist on buying their agricultural produce overseas where unregulated chemicals are used on the “goods for export”?

Who will plant when the thieving lawyers and useless courts cannot see fit to condemn praedial larceny – since they KNOW that they are stealing even on a BIGGER scale?

How can agriculture survive when those in charge of it never planted a tomato in their WHOLE life ….except back in that Lab course in St Augustine….?

Fortunately, nothing stops you from creating YOUR OWN farm in your backyard ..and enjoying the bounteous blessings of BBE’s glorious agricultural designs… 🙂
    That is if you learnt ANYTHING from 4H ..besides the fact that the girls were naughty….

36. Who believes the young people who are the leaders of tomorrow care about a sustainable agriculture industry.

37. Any feedback what UWI, Cave Hill has done to the many hectares of land received from Eddie Edghill of Dukes plantation?

38. We speak of high labour cost , but in many aspects there is a bigger killing to be made by the merchants from things imported.
    @ Vincent, also why are we importing tamarinds from the Philipines?
    When the Australian vegetable farmer was treated the way be did by a crony/puppeteer of some government ministers,and no one came to his aid, that was a clear indication of what this administration thinks about agriculture.
    We do not need to sell Citizenship to rich foreigners, all we need to do , as reported in today’s Nation, is sell them a few acres of the rock to build a mansion in an exclusive area on.

39. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Ah tru dat

BT has answered your comment…..our educational system is not geared towards creating agricultural entrepreneurs.None of the older secondary schools was interested in an Ag.programme back in the day and that generation would have produced this one that knows nothing about it.

Just before I de-involved myself,I was promoting greenhouse technology,like what that chap was doing who was chased out,showing the application of science to soil less crops,increase yields due to controlled environment and with solar panels driving ac units how one could produce anything that northern countries produced.

BT also hit the nail on the head when he touched the fact that to import and sell makes a lot of people rich as opposed to thinking and producing quality crops with initial expenses.

40. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Colonel Buggy March 11, 2016 at 4:54 PM #

Our posts overlapped……when will they see that off our land is not the way to go,when will they introduce lease only for non bajans.

41. @Vincent

Let us wait to see if the JAs debate the AG Head and particularly what is said. Lies more lies and then some.

42. cant blame the young people for not being interested in agriculture after being brainwashed for so many years to become doctors and lawyers and furthermore the knowledge to be acquired can only be taught by those who have been avid farmer’s their whole life and not the new educated UWI school book educator who gain their agricultural knowledge by shoveling a book laying on a library shelve
    Technicians of the soils are those farmers who worked in the field for many years and earn a living and not some so called educated [professor who might by chance advanced his education for the purpose of certification but have more likely than not broke a sweat working outdoors in the field of agriculture

43. Without demand, the wholesalers can’t supply the imported food. Like Dennis Johnson has repeated ad infinitum, if Bajans prefer penne and lasagne then growing yams and eddoes does not make sense. Dig up wunna concrete yards and lawns and plant fruit trees, herbs and vegetables. That is where “feeding ourselves” starts not in Graeme Hall or Bay Street. Instead of talking foolishness about exporting soursops and golden apples, plant some trees and make wunna own juices and jams and plant and dig wunna own yams, eddoes and sweet potatoes. Urban agriculture, allottments in housing developments/communities! How many of the “feed ourselves” brigade own a lime tree? Sue me!!

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“Seriously 7,000 tonnes in 2016?”

What is so surprising about that? King Sugar has been dead for a while. The 7,000 tonnes are just the gases escaping from his orifices as a result of decomposition.

Long live the new grass! Will it be crowned as King Elephant or Queen Mary Jane?
    Seeing that Barbados is a ‘perennial’ Judeo-Christian land ‘it is highly recommended that its inhabitants take a hard look at its mother country in religion and see what the Israelis have done in the field of ‘scientific’ agriculture.

Not only is “Aloe Barbadensis Miller” big business so too is the cutting-edge research into the cultivation and use of marijuana for both medical and industrial purposes.
    Barbados has had a good relationship with the Israelis going back to the days of Barrow and Bull as far as agricultural science is concerned.

If Yahweh’s chosen people can see the benefits of marijuana as a real ‘cash’ crop why not religiously fermented and cash-strap Barbados whose Debt to GDP ratio will soon be the highest in the world just like its once vaunted literacy rate.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac March 11, 2016 at 6:53 PM #
    “cant blame the young people for not being interested in agriculture after being brainwashed for so many years.”

Do you mean like the following promise to the same young people you and your administration have treated like fools?

“AGRICULTURE
    As greater emphasis was placed on the transition of
    Barbados into a service economy over the 1994 to
    2008 period, Barbados became an even more heavily
    food import dependent country. The food import
    bill averaged approximately BDS$560.00 million
    during the last five years. A new Democratic Labour
    Party Administration is committed to the sustained
    expansion of production in key areas of food
    production. A target of a ten percent (10.0%) increase
    in food production during the next five years will be
    set. In addition, a reduction of the food import bill
    by at least 25% over the next five years will be
    pursued. A key element in achieving this will be the
    modernization of Agriculture and Fisheries to take
    advantage of the latest technology, which will enhance
    the productivity of the sector and increase its
    attractiveness to young persons.

THE NEW DLP ADMINISTRATION WILL:”

Do ‘diddly-squat’ after it has been returned to office in exchange for lies, tablets, smartphones, free fetes and $100 bills.

46. One has to admit that this DLP administration is probably the biggest set of stinking Liars since Lord Nelson penned his calypso ‘King Liar’.
    Now any such calypso would be called StinkLiar …..

47. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Bush Tea March 11, 2016 at 8:53 PM #

Chuckle……..ah wuh yuh cussin dem fore……..dah is what we wanted to hear…..juss like trump tellin evahone wah dem wan a hear……too sweet,5 moe yers.

You wished it and you got it so stop complaining……get some vaseline for the next five.

48. Many people would plant vegetables and other agricultural produce if there was some effort to deal with praedial larceny. Why plant something if others will benefit by stealing it ah mean some of these people would teef de saddle off a nightmare.

A friend reported an interaction with a man who was on his property up a mango tree stealing mangoes, when he confronted him the man threatened him so he did the next best thing……. he cut down de mango tree but years ago de fellow would be like a waistcoat.

49. David March 11, 2016 at 4:53 PM #
    Any feedback what UWI, Cave Hill has done to the many hectares of land received from Eddie Edghill of Dukes plantation?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………….
    The last I saw of it , it was freshly ploughed, more in order to hide the grass under the mole, rather than to start working on it. But honestly who from the UWI are going to go all the way up to Dukes and put their hands in the mud? My mother did not send me to Cave Hill to pull grass.
    Mr Edghill would have been better off donating the land to the Skills Training programme , or better yet,divide it up among his former and present workers, who have broke their backs in these same cane fields.
    Not today, or tomorrow, but some day we may see this gifted land, which overlooks the west coast, turned into a Hilary Beckles park.

50. @ Sargeant
    “….so he did the next best thing……. he cut down de mango tree”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Well we know that you were not that man…. you would have decided to pick some mangoes with your 9mm …. 🙂