Submitted by Heather Cole

corruptionAmidst the celebrations of 50 years of Independence, the Attorney General of Barbados made an unexpected announcement regarding corruption. In an article in Barbados Today dated March 4, 2016 under the heading “Not Here”, the Attorney General did NOT promote the touted administration’s promise of anti-corruption legislation. Instead he said corruption was not a major problem and that his administration was not interested in pursuing anti-corruption legislation any time soon because it was not a priority.

What is corruption?

It is defined as a form of dishonest or unethical conduct by a person entrusted with a position of authority, often to acquire personal gain. From the looks of it, we have entered an era of systematic and political corruption in Barbados.

It makes one wonder what the priorities of this government are. What the public perceives as the priorities of this administration were first outlined in the Democratic Labour Party Manifesto. The most glaring of these was to be the implementation of Integrity Legislation. To date the government has not even hinted that the promise they made to the electorate will be kept. The very fact that the Attorney General rose to defend the Government is an indication that corruption is a big problem. Government’s corrupt practices have escalated during this administration and include the Cahill Scam, theft by the Speaker of the House, Mara and David Thompson’s involvement in the Clico Affair, the Coverley Lease, missing information on the Auditor General’s Reports, the depletion of the NIS funds, contracts awarded in contravention of government’s financial rules, Government giving away tax free and other concessions as well as the buying of votes in the last election.

Let us examine the implications of his statement – corruption degrades the moral fabric of any society which becomes so steeped in filth that it is unable to remove it. After 8 years of being rocked by scandal after scandal, one wonders if his next pronouncement will be that there is no crime, no guns or no drugs. Will he state that these are not major problems and his administration is not pursuing any more legislation to counter them because they are not priorities?

He admitted that there is a tear in the very fabric of society and yet his intention is not to mend it? It is like a perpetrator of a crime boldly admitting guilt while showing no remorse. Perhaps the statements are opening the flood gates for corruption in the wider society, heralding our descent down the slippery slope. It can lead to a mafia type society where bribes and payments abound to get simple things done or payments given to look the other way. With acknowledged corruption, a precedent is set that informs the youth that things are to be achieved through corrupted methods and patronage. There is a rise in suspicion and lack of trust amongst the citizens and residents of a country that leads to fear mongering. The established functions of government become so adulterated and this ultimately affects the poor who become unable to pay for bribes and turn to crime to obtain bribe money. Damaged as it is now, the election process of buying votes will only get worse, making elections neither free nor fair.

Ultimately those statements speak volumes about the character of the person that the island has entrusted the responsibility to uphold the laws of the land and create new legislation when it is lacking. His statements do not infer integrity neither responsibility nor accountability to the people of Barbados and the Attorney General should resign.

Since there is an admission of corruption, the people want answers to many questions relating to the Cahill Waste to Energy Plant, Clico, Coverley, contracts that have been awarded outside of the proper tendering process and concession given to various parties. They also want investigations; the guilty sent to jail, explanations to mysterious money on bank accounts of persons who entered Parliament broke, moneys returned to the public purse that were unlawfully taken, the audited financial reports for Ministries and Departments of Government and resignations from Parliament.

Also, in light of this admission by the Attorney General, the Government needs an open rebuke from the church. To date the church has been silent but it needs to take a leaf out of the book of Pope Francis who is very critical about corruption. There is a role to be played by the church, other religious organizations and groups in civil society to denounce corruption in high places. Along with prayers, it is time for these groups to stand up and speak out and not wait until this same corruption is manifest within their doors.

In our 50th year of Independence, it would have been worth celebrating if Attorney General made a statement that Barbados was corruption free. The icing on the cake then could have been that since the implementation of the Integrity Legislation not one Member of Parliament’s activity had been called into question.

118 responses to “Corruption Gets a Passing Grade”

1. @David
    “What the Attorney General needs to analyze is why are countries scoring low on the transparency index. Countries like Sweden, Denmark and others.”

Easy to tell for Scandinavia, eg Sweden: Total transparency of data. Every taxpayer can access the data of all other taxpayers including the prime minister. Only the king is excluded. In other words, the Swedish citizens know everything about each other.

Ref: http://www.channel4.com/news/taxes-are-an-open-secret-in-scandinavia

The same is true for other data like the car you drive.

The more transparency, the more social control. No wonder the Scandinavians are amongst the top nations of the HDI. It is a matter of societies were politicians are no notorious robbers and liars. It is a matter of Nordic Culture.

Quite the opposite is true for Bim. “He is well connected”, “I cannot do anything, he is the friend of a minister”, “When I came into that office, I would do the same”, “Pointing to corruption and nepotism is unpatriotic”. And so on and so on ….

2. @ ac did you not read the newspaper article? The AG was quoted admitting to the existence of corruption in the present Administration which is his goverment.

3. “I cannot remember listening to a sermon about corruption. However I do believe that as a part of society the role of the church is to speak out about injustice and corruption.”

I assume you have never visited the Church in the Bay. feel free to drop in on Sunday at 8am.

4. Girl all I would say to you that if the BLP wants to keep shooting itself in both mouth and foot and lose the next election keep raising the flag of corruption

5. @ac, the flag has been raised already. I am not lowering it or taking it down.

@balance where is the church in the Bay?

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@ the dumb AC cunt

You are a real clown. The BLP does not have to raise the red flag of corruption when it comes to the Dees, because the Dees are seriously not trying to be discreet about it. You think Low Lowe and Lashley give a shit about who knows they are on take when the connections have them well protected. Stuuuuupse really does not know why you at the other shites supporting these stinking bitches do not see it for what it is. Really is the right time you to stop playing the role of bare pooch chicken.

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine March 9, 2016 at 3:02 AM #

“You are a real clown. The BLP does not have to raise the red flag of corruption when it comes to the Dees, because the Dees are seriously not trying to be discreet about it.”

@ SSS

There are reasons why I would never blindly support any political party and have more faith in politicians, who are mere human…….. susceptible to sin, greed and lust.

After EIGHT YEARS holding the reins of government and accusing the BLP of corruption, this DLP administration has not shown Barbadians RESPECT, since they CONTINUE to WITH-HOLD NAMES of those CORRUPT former BLP ministers and the NATURE of their CRIMES, as well as the NAMES of their COHORTS and BUSINESSES involved, not only from the PUBLIC, but more IMPORTANTLY, the Royal Barbados Police Force’s CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION DIVISION.

COMMON SENSE tells me the DEMS are not SERIOUS, because if they were, rather than conveniently using PARLIAMENT as the forum to make snide remarks about corruption, (being fully aware of their PROTECTION which is guaranteed by PARLIAMENTARY PRIVILEGE), they would have ENSURED a few BLP parliamentarians are residing at HMP Dodd’s.

COMMON SENSE also tells me if VECO, Triple S, Greenland, etc were blatant acts of corruption perpetrated by the former BLP administration, as the DLP is suggesting, why have there not been THOROUGH INVESTIGATIONS of those accusations? After 8 years, a few fellows should be locked up by now.

BOTH the BLP and DLP are GUILTY of CORRUPTION. It’s only a farce with both parties talking about the issue to appease their supporters and solicit votes, while PROTECTING each other.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Exactly Art…and that nasty practice by both political parties is why they should both be ignored, they maliciously continue to insult the intelligence of the electorate by pretending to accuse each other of corruption while making sure that nothing is done to each other re locking up their corrupt selves for the practice of corruption.

AC….is a useless specimen.

9. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Artax

You cannot expect to throw stones at glass houses knowing full well that someone can turn around throw them right back at yours. The DLP would have never gone after any the BLP figures involved in the many alleges of corruption against them. You really do not want that do for do. So I know that you know it will never happen. However what I find interesting are the nationnews article of today, 09.03-2016, states that government spending will increase according to the government’s estimates of revenue and expenditure.

Interesting to note is the hike in wages and salaries by an additional $17.8 million. This comes after several thousand workers were laid off in the government’s economic stabilization program. I am going to assume that this increase is due to government’s plan to rehire many of those who were sent home. This is the only logical explanation to be had at this time because any other for this increase that does not translate into additional persons coming back under a government pay pack will not suffice. However, one cannot wonder if the move at this time is not one to provide people with jobs in order to get the votes and loyalty of those perspective households. After all, there is more than one way to buy votes. But, I am just assuming here because 17.8 million could also be allocated for something else like statutory bodies and overseas missions, which the government would find all sorts of justifications to convince.

Let us just hope that it is not another move like the one Low Lowe did when he was hiring like there was no tomorrow. We would not want after several months to hear that they have to be sent home again when the DLP orchestrate their master plan of psychology to secure their election victory. That being said, the increase really makes you wonder what moves are underway under the 3-PM mandate of madness. Guess we will find out soon ahh.

10. Colonel Buggy Avatar

We saw the PM on the Garrison at the Sandy Lane Gold Cup Race. Shortly afterwards , we heard Sir David Seale announcing that night racing maybe taking place very soon.
    How things in Barbados are easily settled,or promised, over a Bowl of Cuckoo …….or a few shots of Brandy or ESAF.

11. Colonel Buggy wrote ” or a few shots of Brandy or ESAF ”

You do know that Owen is no longer the PM. lol

12. Common sense also dictates and directs that if the process to pursue by legal avenues is going to be costly to the taxpayers with plenty legal hurdles to overcome and time consuming then the best way forward is prudence
    Sufficit to say that those who were accused in these high crimes and malfeasances are not longer in charge of the govt/ taxpayers purse.
    The voters heard answered the call of making the necessary changes the voters being the judge and jury with an exclamation of who would be the next the guard

13. come next election and the blp wants to indulge the electorate on corruption issues go right ahead , The last two election the BLp and operatives tried whipping frenzy albeit about DT and CLICo and the end result was a dismal failure having the BLP sitting in the wilderness

14. Dear All:

There are two methods of addressing corruption. One is the illusion of Integrity Legislation with cleverly designed loopholes to allow individuals to get off on a technicality on appeal. The second is the more effective Whistle-blower legislation.

We propose the following method. For our first 3 months in office, there will be an amnesty of sorts where everyone who paid and received a bribe will pay a fine of the value of the bribe.

After three months, whistle-blower legislation will be proclaimed and the penalty will be 10 x the value of the bribe. The whistle-blower will be entitled to receive the full value of the bribe.

There will be disincentives for malicious accusations. See detailed plan at Solutions Barbados.com

Best regards,
    Grenville

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Solutions Barbados

I hope that after you posted that comment, you had second thoughts and realise that it is crap.

16. St George's Dragon Avatar

It may be crap but Solutions can’t change it as it is published on their website. From another thread, Solutions is not going to adopt any new policies until they have been given a mandate by the electorate.
    Strange but apparently true.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol….Solutions dont realize that those dudes have stolen so much money, taken so many bribes….that only a mad person will believe they will surrender to anyone to be locked up..lol they have enough moola and visas to hightail it out of Barbados, they will have to be deported from whatever country they absconded to in order to face the music, but only if a request is made….so who will be willing or brave enough to demand their extraditon.

18. @ Grenville,

You seem to have an obsession with numbers. Throwing numbers around will not fix the myriad of problems facing Barbados. You and your party must try to build a rapport with the people. At present you come across as being too detached, too cold, lacking empathy and devoid of any emotion.

Convince the masses that your party is the real deal.

19. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Personally I believe that the escape hatch for these thieves and bribe takers is in the process of being closed,or turn into a one-way tunnel, by the new US Ambassador to Barbados.

20. @ Grenville,

With regard to corruption. You should be highlighting how other nations are dealing with this problem. Contrast and compare Barbados indifference to stamping out corruption with the approach of those nations who are challenging corrupt practices within their countries.

China’s approach to tackling corruption is the death penalty. I would be happy if Barbados were to adopt this policy. It would certainly discourage our business men/ women and our politicians from indulging in this practice if they knew that they could be forfeiting their life.

Breaking news:

” Brazilian prosecutors are filing charges against ex-President Lula da Silva in a money laundering investigation, officials say.”

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-35770299

21. I suspect the escape hatch for many of these thieves is the good old USA.

22. @ Solutions Barbados who wrote ” everyone who paid and received a bribe will pay a fine of the value of the bribe.”

Paying and receiving a bribe is a CRIMINAL offence.

23. Colonel Buggy Avatar

On second thoughts,we should welcome the Chinese into Barbados ..

BEIJING — Zheng Xiaoyu, the former head of China’s food and drug agency, was executed last month for accepting $850,000 in bribes from pharmaceutical companies trying to fast-track approvals. But if history is any judge, those who dished out the bribes and saw their companies profit handsomely will suffer a great deal less.

Bribe-givers tend to get off relatively easy in China, according to legal experts, government statistics and media accounts. This not only leaves them free to bribe another day, critics say, but also sends a signal that a little money can get you around even the toughest rules and regulations.

“Those who give and take bribes should be punished equally,” said Ren Jianming, vice director of the Anti-Corruption and Governance Research Center at Beijing’s Tsinghua University. “I’ve repeatedly voiced my views on this, but realistically, little has changed.”

Zheng’s sentence, harsh even by Chinese standards, comes as Beijing finds itself under extreme pressure to show results after a series of health and safety scandals rocked confidence, spread fear and tarnished the “Made In China” label at home and abroad.

24. Like Kissinger said corrupt politicians make the other 10 percent look bad. Keep in mind an uneducated man may steal a coconut but an educated one will go for the plantation. That is what is making trump viable the hate of politicians

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Gazer…they love to commit crimes against the people and then run off to the US, the lawyers/politicians are particularly famous for this…just watch closely.

How will Solutions know who paid and received bribes, or is he talking about if his party is successful, he will be monitoring closely for such….cause this current crowd of politicians are now too many for him to contain their actions or the corrupt business people and rein in the now out of control bribetaking and bribe giving occuring between them all.

What will Solutions to about the insurance fraud, the money laundering, the scams, the compromising of the supreme court through misuse and abuse that has been going on for over 30 years by insurance companies….dude got a lot of work to do.

26. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Grenville

Upon evidence that exposes the bribe simply lock them to shite up.

27. Sunshine Sunny Shine March 10, 2016 at 4:14 AM #
    And another bigger bribe will get them a Get out of Jail card.

28. Hi Everyone:

Locking up people removes them from contributing to Barbados. Better to fine them heavily (10 x the value of the bribe) and then let them go to either sin no more, or to continue in bad behavior only to be heavily fined once again – to perhaps bankruptcy. The second fining should definitely result in behavioural change. Locking up fellow citizens should be a last resort for violent offenders.

Whistle-blower legislation is effective if the reward is sufficiently high. If a person received a $100,000 bribe, then somebody knows about it and can get the $100,000 reward. If no whistle-blowers come forward (including confidentially), then all of the accusations about corruption in Barbados can be deemed malicious rumour.

It is expected that the 3-month amnesty, where the fine is the value of the bribe will provide sufficient evidence to get the proverbial ball rolling.

This is the most effective method that we have found and the most economical to manage. If anyone has a more effective idea, then please describe it.

Best regards,
    Grenville

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I really don’t know how to say this and I hope that Simple Simon does not take offense to this when de ole man speaks.

That answer has got to be the most insipid response that I have seen proposed here as a solution and is befitting of a Simple Simon only

“Locking up people removes them from contributing to Barbados”

I am not even going to spend time on commenting on the infantile construct and grammar, let me get to the meat of the matter.

Say you have a Minister who has stolen $5 million. This is hypothetically of course. You say that he will be fined $50 million and behavioural chance will take care of the rest!!! But de ole man cyan left de grammar alone cause it speaks to the crux of the matter, clarity of thought and soundness of the underlying rationale.

“To continue in bad behaviour….” You really can’t e serious continent in bad behaviour….de man is an effing their and you soft soaping it as bad behaviour!!!

Ammm locking up should be a last resort for violent crimes I ent even going axe you what is a crime in this marijuana induced idiot state you are proposing lest yo submit even greater idiocy to consider

….as a last resort???? Man wait the first resort for violent crime is going to be to invite them to Kentucky Fried Chicken and offer the two free barrels and have them self induce behavioral change??

If no whistle blower comes forward including confidentially…”

Is confidentially a person? Because your simple Simon statement gives animus to this part of speech. Whuloss….!!

It is expected that the three month amnesty where…blab blah blah choops I ent even gine deconstruct your puerile submission no more den

Suffice it to say that these twelve lines have relegated you and your party’s legislative capabilities to the level of primer or Infants B at Lawrence T Gay primary

To those of your promoters who have been toting you as a serious third party choice you have by this submission forever put to sleep their hopes and confirmed the adage “it is better to remain quiet and be thought of as a fool that to open one’s mouth and be known inconclusively to be one…”

“We?” We, we you mean that a plurality of persons were a part of this dogshite submission? And gave it a superlative qualification of most effective? Say it ain’t so!

Adamson from the PDC is part of your crew?

We the people are sandwiched between the Certifiably mad, the undoubtedly dishonest, those of dubious gender (do not forget Patrick Todd ‘s motion to have a Bill passed in the House of Assembly requiring that all members declare their sexual preferences) and of course the ovah and away crew who jes come to Bulbados cause dem heah we ingrunt and nevah had a white meat yet Me Clare, who you?

Before wunna dufuses write anyting heah pleasing tuh get a copywriter vet wunna submission

30. Dear Piece:

Since no solution is perfect, every solution can be criticised. Therefore, I requested a more effective solution from readers. You simply criticised the one that I offered without proposing a better one. Nevertheless, I will respond to your main arguments.

Incarcerating Non-violent Offenders

Why should the public have to pay to shelter, feed, and manage persons convicted of non-violent offenses. (Piece, I was going to write ‘why should the criminal do the crime and the public have to pay the fine’. The aim of writing is to communicate. However, since such grammatically incorrect writing offends you to the extent that you would post such a response, I will accommodate you.)

Incarceration is a waste of our limited resources. Our most important resources are our people. We should not waste their time and potential by having them guard their non-violent fellow citizens.

Fining Criminals

You gave the example of someone receiving a $5M bribe and having to repay $50M. Then you seemed to have realized that the solution was indeed a grievous and potentially bankrupting penalty and an effective deterrent, so you decided to attack the grammar.

Piece, the only persons who should be afraid of an effective solution to address corruption are those who are or have engaged in it. Why are you so afraid? Why didn’t you offer a better solution?

Best regards,
    Grenville

31. @ Piece
    Bushie explained to the man about Moses and recommended an Aaron… 🙂

32. Hi Bush:

Please read Piece’s post again. Your comment only serves to give it some value, when it is clearly a terrible response.

Best regards,
    Grenville

33. @ Grenville
    You mean well….AND, unlike other jokers around Barbados, you are PREPARED TO TAKE ACTION. In Bushie’s book, this place you in the top 0.01% of useful citizens.

You MUST understand however, that reaching out to brass bowls is a highly complex art that requires a level of communication that requires a special talent, and takes YEARS of practice.

If it was possible to just get up one morning and convince hoards of sheeple of what is in their best interest ..by using pure logic and common sense, then we would live in a RATIONAL, well-ordered world.

The FACT is that your communication style, while well suited to generate discussion among a room full of professionals at your level, falls DISMALLY short of what is needed to generate traction on BU …or in a country like Brassbados….where brass is plentiful.

This is no reflection on you (contrary to what DIW says, …or what you have deduced from Piece) but a simple indication of why TEAMS of variously talented individuals are needed in order to make ANYTHING work …(even a simple marriage).

Stop with this ‘ONE-MAN’ show …and bring some others on board …. and not specially ‘businessmen’ either – ALL KINDS OF TALENTS.

Right now, Caswell would be a MAJOR asset in refining your strategy – mainly because he would not hesitate to tell you when you are talking shiite …(and as you know, you do that almost as well as Bushie)….. and he has actually VOLUNTEERED…!!

On you current trajectory, you will lose the opportunity to do something REALLY BIG for Barbados…. You MUST learn to accept even the most harsh criticism in the right spirit ..and use it to your advantage…

34. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@Pieces, I am surprised by your strong response above to wit, “,,,these twelve lines have relegated you and your party’s legislative capabilities to the level of primer or Infants B at Lawrence T Gay primary”.

No disrespect but did the medication from your illness finally wear off and you read Grenville’s views pellucidly for the first time!

Mr Philips is basically using – but horrendously so – the same tactics of Mr Trump (again gotta give props to Mr Bushie EXACTLY suggested political strategy). He is offering simplistic, non answers to the problems. Trump keeps it very, very simple with ‘I will do great deals’, ‘I will make America great again’ etc. Grenville has provided too much ‘detail’ in his simplicity and thus its clear to see that the solution is IMPRACTICAL.

When Trump gets into the weeds the same difficulties arrive: 45% tariff on goods from China, for example. .

@Grenville, as I recalled (and I just checked) @Pieces’ example of $5 Mil – $50 Mil example is a direct ‘quote’ of your system. You have said: “..on conviction offenders will be fined 10 times the replacement value of the offence, and HMP Dodds will be reserved for violent offenders … Therefore, if someone steals a cell phone… costs $700, then they will pay a fine of $7,000 on conviction. ”

What you have not clarified or explained: when the offender CANNOT pay this humongous fine of $7,000 or $50 Mil then WHAT.

Alas, like Trump I imagine that commonsense will prevail after you win the elections and you will reduce the fine to a more practical amount.

And if that still does not work for the really indigent folks then you will simply establish some type of probation system where they have to work in some version of the old-days “chain gang” doing community work. So for the cell-phone fella that would be 6 months to a year, maybe. And for the $50M type fellow then that would be 10 – 15 years of serious community probation.

Now sir I offered an alternative.

Grenville, please please get serious. Previously your solutions were labelled high school 3rd form Civics level…Pieces has bluntly downgraded them to primary school level.

Is that the trajectory for a serous discussion on the issues facing Barbados!!!

35. Dear DIW:

Your substantive question was: “What you have not clarified or explained: when the offender CANNOT pay this humongous fine of $7,000 or $50 Mil then WHAT.”

First, our Policies (Item 3.2) allow a negotiated settlement, where a guilty plea to avoid wasting the court’s (including the jurors’) time is exchanged for a fine of 3 x the value of the offence.

Secondly, we have addressed payment in our Policies (Item 3.7): “The fines can be paid by instalments, and work opportunities will be found for those not employed in order to facilitate their payments.”

To pre-empt your likely follow-on question, the work opportunities will generally be in maintaining the nation’s high-maintenance infrastructure.

We plan to publish our detailed implementation plans for each solution, for critical public review, before the end of this month.

Best regards,
    Grenville

36. @ AC

You are even more stupid than I actually thought. Your contribution re “March 9, 2016 at 6:03 PM” is a feeble “COP OUT.”

Firstly, you should not have begun your contribution with the words “COMMON SENSE,” since your comment is indicative of one who lacks that vital attribute. Yours probably went when this administration ceased producing “COMMON CENTS.”

The ACs submitted contributions to BU that were SUPPORTIVE of this DLP administration’s establishing a Commission of Enquiry into Alexandra School. This enquiry was “costly to the taxpayers with plenty legal hurdles to overcome and time consuming,” only resulting in transferring Jeff Broomes from Alexandra to Parkinson Secondary School. A less expensive exercise could have been done by the Ministry of Education.

Additionally, Prime Minister Stuart ADMITTED there were PROCEDURAL MIS-STEPS in the retrenchment process of the former NCC employees, whereby that government agency and the minister breached the Employees Right Act by not adhering to the process of “Last In First Out.”

Stuart referred the matter to the farce calling itself the EMPLOYEES RIGHTS TRIBUNAL, which “is going to be costly to the taxpayers with plenty legal hurdles to overcome and time consuming.” And once again the ACs wrote CONTRIBUTIONS in SUPPORT of this “COSTLY and TIME CONSUMING” exercise. If “the best way forward is prudence,” then Stuart should have SIMPLY dismissed Denis Lowe and the NCC management.

Now these idiots are suggesting that, if government identifies those former BLP ministers who allegedly engaged in corrupt activities in an effort to bring them before the law courts, this “process to pursue by legal avenues is going to be costly to the taxpayers with plenty legal hurdles to overcome and time consuming.”

If you and “Douglas” are the best people the DLP could pay to defend their position on BU, then they could have used Patrick Todd, Reggie Hunte, Maxine, Irene, Esther and Jester Ince, since they are being paid in the Senate to talk shiite. Unless of course the AC is representative of them.

37. Well of course you logic is one of a persuasive misuse of govt appropriating funds in pursuit of a goal that was already taken care of by the electorate in 2008
    What more and better ostracizing can be asked of the people after the evidence of the 275thousand dollars was shown as proof as legible corruption by the leader of the blp.
    Wasnt the blp party thrown out because of allegations alleged to corruption.
    What you are asking for is not resolution but actions which you belive if taken by govt might vindicate the blp party.
    Suffice it to say that the electorate gave their official stamp of disapproval taking into consideration that the Blp govt might have be principled to those acts degined as corruption.

38. de Ingrunt Word Avatar

@Solutions Barbados at 8:52 AM …”we plan to publish our detailed implementation plans for each solution, for critical public review, before the end of this month.” I do hope your plan is based on REAL world implementation sign-posts. For what my 2 cents its worth…

Example: Does current statute or judicial sentencing guidelines/rules and regulations ALLOW “a negotiated settlement, where a guilty plea …is exchanged for a fine of 3 x the value of the offence.”

I do not know the law so I am simply saying do not go to print unless an attorney or a Caswell has reviewed that portion to confirm that its valid and real.

Example: “The fines can be paid by installments, and work opportunities will be found for those not employed in order to facilitate their payments.”

How can you be so confident that work opportunities will be found? So I infer that you will automatically create temporary/casual labor in the government ranks for these indicted felons and that you will garnish their wages to repay the fine. Although government has laid off so many!!!

Even assuming they do work diligently at their post , are you 100% confident that you will get buy in from the unions and all other interest groups on this plan? I further presume they will retain their jobs after the fine is paid. So in essence there becomes the built in perception that a minor theft is a good thing!

Grenville, I am not being DEFEATIST or NEGATIVE towards what you are attempting to do. I applaud your courage and conviction and want you to SUCCEED. But my point is that governing a society is a COMPLEX and MULTIFACETEDLY DIFFICULT process. You need to be serious and ready for the push back that will be levied.

For every path explored there are at least two more paths that also have to be explored before you reach that final destination.

I simply say (as Bushie did above) engage with many others and drill down assiduously on these plans. You certainly need to have the most difficult scenarios fully ventilated (internal to your group) before you step forward publicly.

Otherwise you will be laughed off the stage and do significantly more harm than good!

39. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Solutions…you cannot handle corrupt politicians with kid gloves…they value false status, false prestige, false good character. .lock their asses up, let them be branded jail birds, that punishment is worse than death to a dishonest politician, they are brutal and vicious, what you are proposing is not justice for the taxpayers, most politicians are lawyers and will manufacture loopholes which will enable them to slither away and make you look foolish…lock them up.

40. @ Grenville, I think that you should redefine your brand. To me your message is not for the masses, it is more suited to professionals like yourself. You must get a message that resonates to the masses. Pitch your language to them, they are your audience. Find a way to get their attention. It can be at a meeting in Bridgetown, pitch a tent at the upcoming Fish Festival or take your message into popular rums shops or something. It does not have to be the norm. By now you and your team should be commenting on newspaper post, sending articles about any and everything to them. Do not let people talk about you when you can speak for yourself. Even if you have to step outside your comfort box do it. Other than that you are wasting time because no one will know you well enough to vote for you. Find a way, someone will listen, even if they are just curious at first. Remember the fabric of human expression is woven in stories not just text.

41. Sorry but Granville does not have the kind of enthusiasm or charisma that would draw the masses attention

42. Professionally, the majority of members of parliament are lawyers, a group who will defend and support each other’s interests. And so, they will, at every opportunity, establish unnecessary and useless bodies such as the Commission of Enquiry in the Alexandra Schools problem,and the Equal Rights Tribunal into the NCC problem. These “commissions” and “enquiries” are “rewards”, and provide “employment” for their supporters/lackies…other lawyers! They are unnecessary, useless, and simply a means of feeding at the public trough and a great expense to the taxpayers! It would be most interesting to hear Solutions Barbados’ proposed manner of handling this ever-present problem !

43. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Grenville

According to a recent poll, 37 percent of the voting public are up for grabs if you have enough humility to show them besides the intellect. That 37 percent will increase as the two monkeys that are presently higher than you (don’t mean you) continue to show more of their tail. Those who dissect your proposals like my sweet piece are looking at the entire whole involving persons who cannot even spell Grenville farthest know who he is. The paling cocks of the two parties believe that the island will forever remain D and B. They believe that loyalties have been bought thus guaranteeing votes are reassured. Grenville if you serious about this going forward you got to be serious about listening to the voice of reason that is constantly the urge. Some serious comments of value should be set aside for contemplation and deliberation. Make your shot count. What you do will determine if that 37 percent increases or if the simply spoil their vote and leave all three a wunna out.

44. Dear All:

Please understand that I gratefully embrace all criticism, regardless of the source’s motives, because it is an opportunity for me to improve. Useful criticism is informative if it identifies a specific deficiency and either provides a remedy, or the remedy is obvious from the deficiency’s detailed description. Examples of helpful criticisms are: “You speak too fast”, your writing is too verbose”, “You are using too much jargon” etc.

Unhelpful criticism does not identify a specific deficiency and is generally subjective. Examples of unhelpful criticism include: “I don’t like that”, “you don’t appeal to the youth”, “you lack humility” etc. Such statements offer no guidance to the one desiring to improve.

Best regards,
    Grenville

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ SSS

See whu DIW aka DPD aka Dribbler aka saying?

You, my sweet sexy one, come here and tell dis man tuh “listen to all peeple, absorb every ting and tuh try and tek criticism and be humble and all dem sweet tings dat if you was telling me I wud do in a heartbeat and dis megalomaniac in de making, EVEN BEFO HE GET A SEAT oR NAME HE PARTY MEMBERS, look back and tell you dat “when you talking tuh he dat tell he whu tuh do and dont tell he whu not to do”

Instead uh de man being silent and not responding tuh whu he doan wants tuh hear, he already dun show he level uh humility and tell you doan talk tuh me,

Well you dun know dat he ent gine have a good time communicating wid half de population uh ingrunt Bajans!!

SSS why you doan tek one uh you Nandoris and rub it in he face!!

Whu de man getting on like he had a drop uh dah cocoa tea, is a poison tuh me, every time i drinks it I doan know where i be, if you want to find me, you gots to look fuh me, cause you gots my head upsided down, dat cup uh cocoa tea”

By de way SSS, only rub de ones in you hand cause anything else and he liable tuh be stalking you like de nex one….

46. Notwithstanding the legitimate concerns of many re the number of lawyers, and lack of integrity, transparency, accountability etc. in parliament , I cannot think of anyone more qualified to best represent the people’s interests,than Philip Nicholls. Given his experience as a member of the profession, he is most fitting and capable of cleaning up the mess in the legal profession and judiciary of this country, and of making a valuable contribution to good governance! He has lived it and knows it from inside out ! More likely than not, he now appreciates the importance of integrity, transparency, accountability and freedom of information…essential to good governance. Perhaps it is time to get his views on Solutions (for) Barbados ! Just imagine him on a political platform !

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Pieter Pieper

You were doing well, extremely well in saying what a few of us were saying earlier.

He is better suited now BECAUSE OF HIS EXPERIENCE and as a practicuum should be inclined to toss in his lot with the oppressed.

Then you stopped pedalling and since you were on an all-pedal bicycle and not the Raleigh Styliard I used to ride Whaplax right over the handlebars pun you face in the middle of Bridgetown you went.

After saying such glorious statements how could you tie up de man new calling wid Grenville who doan wants to listen to the common man who, because the common man “doan know” what to do” going tell Grenville “doan do “x” nor “y” and Grenville say dat he doan want to hear dat.

So the target audience that you are exhorting that Philip pursue the hungry and the undertrodden from our teeming shores are completely at variance with Grenville’s “naysayer” po’ man, so you brek up that party befo’ um start.

48. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Dear Grenville

I hope you ain’t referencing the SSS about the part about, ” you lack humility.” The SSS told you from the start what would appeal to Barbadians at this time (having had a double dose of arrogance under two pom-piss-setting parties).

Telling you about humility is advising constructively. I am prepared to give you the benefit of the doubt because we no longer want to be at the receiving end of the politics of exclusion. If you prove me wrong, I would simply consider you no different to the other two that never listen.

Grenville, if you have humility this is key to winning over the hearts of a large percentage of the voting public. And, upsetting the seats of the two parties who feel confident that you cannot even make a dent far less any in rows.

You got to be able to mix it and mixing it means presenting a disposition that would allow people to take you seriously. If you mix that with your intellect and the type of policies that will prove your intentions are about change, about people and about fairness, you will solicit the types of support that will make you a serious contender and a new face to bring back hope in many people. Right now, the majority here on BU would support you, but they are asking you to listen and pay attention. Writing the way you write only conveys a line of pomp (subject to individual interpretation but interpretation is what will determine your outcome) synonymous with DB party behaviours.

Already I told you to look again at your politics of business candidates only because the way how bajans think, you will be defined along the lines of what you present. That is my only concern until my sweet piece pointed out a few findings, which spoke to demeanour and having the right attitude. You got to understand that 37% of Barbadians no longer want what these long serving persons have been dishing. You got to dish différently. That is all people trying to tell you starboy.

Susanne S S

49. Arthur accused Thompson and the DLP of accepting funds from CLICO, and Thompson responded by presenting a returned $75,000 cheque as proof the BLP also received funds from CLICO as well. The only difference was Arthur deposited the cheque on his personal account. However, evidence was not presented to show if Arthur kept the money or if he paid it over to the BLP. So, essentially, the only evidence we have is Thompson’s suggestions, in innuendo, that Arthur was corrupt as it relates to the $75,000.

Now we had a situation where a FORENSIC AUDIT (not “word of mouth”) proved beyond reasonable doubt that Thompson was also CORRUPT, by REVEALING he and his company, Thompson Associates received funds from CLICO under the guise as “payments to related parties,” and more importantly, a DUBIOUS transaction that ASSISTED Leroy Parris in SECURING $3.333M from CLICO by FRAUDULENT MEANS, tantamount to MONEY LAUNDERING.

The Judicial Manager found the EVIDENCE was COMPELLING ENOUGH to INITIATE a CIVIL SUIT against Parris and Branlee Consulting Services, as well as the estate of David Thompson, in an effort to regain the LAUNDERED FUNDS. And remember, after receiving word of the intended law suit, Parris declared Mara Thompson, as representative of her husband’s estate, should be sued as well.

Surely, this act can be CONSTRUED as an ADMISSION of GUILT.

The court ruled in favour of the Judicial Manager, since the evidence presented “was (accepted) as proof as legible corruption by the leader of the DLP (and Leroy Parris).”

There is also evidence that Parris has been seen in the company of Sinckler and other DLP members, drinking and laughing, while Stuart made it abundantly clear Parris is not a leper, but his friend.

When the electorate takes into consideration “that the DLP govt might have been principled to those acts defined as corruption,” they will conclude that neither Thompson nor the DLP is not in any position to accuse anyone of corruption. And Thompson’s involvement in the $3.333M scam also tested his credibility, henceforth anything he PREVIOUSLY MENTIONED about corruption has to be IGNORED.

Against the background of CAHILL, Maloney, Bjerkhamn, Trans Tech Inc., Lowe, Michael Lashley, Richard Byer, Coverley, The Grotto, Central Bank Governor manipulating economic data and the myriad acts of corruption and blatant displays of arrogance, surely the “electorate (will also) give their official stamp of disapproval” and the DLP will suffer a SIMILAR FATE in 2018.

50. but dont conveniently forget that the court has yet to rule on the legitimacy of the 3.333 million and more over the DLP govt was given a clean bill of health by process of the elimination of the BLP out of office in 2008 and 2013
    Which bodes well as as to which evidence the electorate took into consideration and believed