Submitted by Heather Cole

One of the most famous men to have walked on this Earth was Julius Caesar. The exploits of his life are well known up to this day having been immortalized in the works of the great playwright William Shakespeare. The conspiracy that led to his assassination has left phrases that are still in use. They are ‘beware of the Ides of March’ and what has been attributed to be his last words as he lay dying on the Senate floor, ‘et tu Brute?’ There is another phrase that is less well known but more important that was also coined after Julius Caesar because it assisted in changing the course of history. It is “crossing the Rubicon” and it has survived to refer to any individual or group undertaking an irrevocably risky or revolutionary course of action. It has come to mean “passing the point of no return.”

‘Crossing the Rubicon’ may have been the most profound act of Julius Caesar. It was his act for change, change in political leadership. In 49 B.C. he disobeyed the orders of the Senate to step down from his command and return to Rome. In defiance of that order from the Senate, Julius Caesar stood on the northern bank of the Rubicon River in Italy and led an army against the Roman Republic. It was an act of treason that plunged the country into three long years of civil war. In the end he was victorious and became the supreme ruler of the Republic. He brought swift changes with a programme of social and governmental reforms.

History has shown that ancestors of the peoples of Barbados have passed the point of no return on several occasions. On the coast of Ghana, there is an old slave fortress named Elmina Castle. It housed luxury suites for the Europeans in the Upper levels while its dungeons contained cells which held Africans captive in filthy conditions. On the seaboard side of the Castle was the Door of No Return, the infamous portal through which the Africans boarded the ships that would take them on the treacherous journey across the Atlantic known as the Middle Passage. By the 18th century, 30,000 people would have passed through Elmina’s Door of No Return each year. When our people stepped out of that doorway from Elmina Castle to board the ships that took them into slavery, they were “passing the point of no return.”

According to the work of our noted historian Dr. Karl Watson, the struggles in England in the 1640’s between the Monarch and Parliament led to the Barbadian planters developing a strong sense of autonomy and they engaged in free trade. However, “with the execution of Charles I, the de facto truce changed to one of enmity between the royalist supporters and those who supported the Commonwealth. The Barbadian royalist planters exiled all the Commonwealth supporters who went to London to complain to Oliver Cromwell. This was tantamount to a declaration of independence. Cromwell sent out a fleet and troops to besiege the island.” There was no going back for the planters as they were ‘passing the point of no return.’ They engaged in a battle against Cromwell’s Army which ended in a truce, out of which the Charter of Oistins was signed.

The Irish prisoners’ of war who were captured during the invasion of Ireland in the English Civil War 1642 t0 1651, were given a choice, prison or deportation. The vast majority chose the latter and many of them were sent to Barbados. When they saw the port of Bristol disappearing in the distance, they too were ‘passing the point of no return.’ They were called indentured servants but there lot was no better than that of the slaves, for they too had journeyed across the seas to a place that destined them to poverty. They endured the harshness of servitude but they were not docile, they wanted change. In 1649, the Irish joined with the African slaves in a rebellion against the English in Barbados. In response to the rebellion, many were hanged, drawn-and-quartered and their heads deposited on pikes on high ground where the entire population of Bridgetown would see them as a warning against future rebellions.

We do not know if he was of noble birth like Julius Caesar, or if he was a warrior. No famous phrases have been coined after him. We do not know the name of the person who betrayed him or the actual circumstances of his death but, what we do know is that like Caesar, he led an act of defiance to pursue change. Having known about the Haitian Revolution, on the night of August 13th 1816, Bussa with revolutionary ideas in his head and a plan for its execution was ‘passing the point of no return.’ The next day he began to execute his battle for revolutionary change but it failed. By the 16th of August no revolution was under way but a rebellion was crushed by the British Militia and no one knows for sure how many slaves were murdered on those three days.

The Bengalis were the first east Indians who came to live in Barbados in the early 1900’s. Later the people from the villages Gujarat arrived. They and the thousands who left poverty stricken provinces of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar in the mid-19th Century, were also ‘passing the point of no return’ when the left India to journey to the Caribbean and British Guyana in search of a better life. Some of the descendants of latter later migrated to Barbados from Trinidad and Guyana.

During the 1930’s, the entire British West Indies was in turmoil. The social upheaval that took place in Barbados for workers’ rights occurred amidst a harsh economic environment which was plagued with unemployment and poverty. The Barbados Workers Union was at the forefront agitating for workers’ rights and in 1937, when the people thought that the police had detained Clement Payne they rioted. They too were ‘passing the point of no return.’ To this end, the Moyne Commission was set up to create a process for reform in the British West Indies.

When Errol Barrow went to London in 1965 to make a case for Barbados’s independence, he argued that the by the Treaty of Oistins, England had allowed the island to keep its “representative” institutions, including the right to make our own laws and that the island was never a crown colony. So on November 30th 1966, Errol Walton Barrow believed that he was ‘passing the point of no return’ in Barbadian history because full independence was achieved. This paved the way for an evolution of social, economic and political changes were put in place to transform the island into becoming a first world state. His greatest success was the transformation of the educational system. Free tertiary education became the new doorway for the upward mobility of the blacks into the middle class. Just as the Door of No Return had destined many to slavery, an education at the University of the West Indies was the symbolic way out of poverty. However by 2014, all of Mr. Barrow’s post independent tertiary educational achievements had vanished into thin air.

In Caesar’s time the problem was the political system, for the English settlers it was an invasion, for Bussa it was slavery, for the Irish it was deportation, for the East Indians it was poverty, in the 1930’s it was unemployment and poverty and in 1966 it was colonialism. These were the forces that caused the people to cross the Rubicon. In 2016, the problems are too many, sustainable access to water, burdensome taxation, lack of social services, inflation, unemployment, poverty, crime, the need for proper health and sanitation services, political miss-management, corruption, poor governance, lack of integrity, free tertiary education and the lack of a sustainable development model.

The present government has no solutions. There are no ships to take us back to Africa, England, Ireland or India. We are at the point of no return. Shall we be like Caesar and mount an act of defiance against Rome? Shall we go like him and change Rome? All Barbadians are waiting for Election Day but first there must be the crossing of the Rubicon River. Perhaps Robert Lowry the American poet left us this question to haunt us when he wrote the Hymn “Shall we gather at the River?” We can gather at the Constitution River and wait for our Julius Caesar who is part of the old system to lead us over, not only to an election victory but to swift social, economic and political change. The only questions that remain are who is this Julius Caesar? And, is the time drawing near?

31 responses to “Crossing the Rubicon”

1. I’m glad to see that you pointed out that Barbados is not and has never been a Crown Colony. Local taxes paid for (and housed) all the administrators and Governors the island hired from England to administer the island since 1625. English settlements in the 17th Century were sold by the monarch of the time (James I and then Charles I) – to private merchants who promised tribute and loyalty to the king in exchange for the rights to develop the territories, but should they ever failed to conform, their patents would be revoked and the (developed) settlements were “confiscated” by the Crown. Barbados never failed to meet her commitments and never sought the British monarch’s help for her defense or to rescue her from disaster !! Barbados has in fact had her affairs managed internally for almost 400 years. No other English speaking territory can make this claim !!

2. Heather

Your knowledge of Bussoe is false,check with Caswell Franklyn or Karl Watson,we must stop perpetuating this nonsense,as we are giving our people a wrong perspective of ourselves.

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

The Minister, while concluding his sermon on temperance…..
    If I had all the beer in the world, i would take it and dump in the river.
    [with increased emphasis] If I had all the wine in the world, i would dump it in the river.
    [louder still and fist pumping] If i had all the rum in the world, i would take it and dump it in the river.
    He slowly returned to his seat.
    the Choir leader almost unable to control himself rose and announced
    Please rise and join in the singing of Hymn 365…Shall we gather at the River

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

When a government is without solutions, it must engage the voters in a way to detract from the problems and make them feel good. I suggest a year long Independence party, full of nuff parties, entertainment and free food and drink. And mek sure to make Zika a big ting, causin ya gunna need to blame sumting effin tings get bad. Blame Zika.

5. @Heather,
    I just read your submission. I have difficulty with some of your points and will answer in length shortly, Your accusations against the government are very inaccurate and somewhat simplistic.
    “In 2016, the problems are too many, sustainable access to water, burdensome taxation, lack of social services, inflation, unemployment, poverty, crime, the need for proper health and sanitation services, political miss-management, corruption, poor governance, lack of integrity, free tertiary education and the lack of a sustainable development model.”
    Surely you jest. I will analyze each of your assertions and counter.

6. @Northern Observer

Please rise and join in the singing of Hymn 365…Shall we gather at the River
    Wunna Northerners with wunna wry sense of humour gotta stop making light of these posts that some people take very seriously, I kept substituting Charon for Caesar and Styx for Rubicon to get the measure of it.

7. There is no Caesar !!!

8. @ Sargeant,

I just come back from a river and it is 90% frozen but only about 2 to 3 inches of ice at my favorite spot. So instead of fishing I come back home to blog.

That means that Saturday and Sunday will be good days for fishing as the temperature will be 4c and 6c and at least 30% of the river will open up.

Climate change is increasing my fishing time cause I ent got nuh low value Canadian dollars to travel to high price Babadus to fish.

9. @NorthernObserver January 27, 2016 at 3:15 AM #

“When a government is without solutions, it must engage the voters in a way to detract from the problems and make them feel good. I suggest a year long Independence party, full of nuff parties, entertainment and free food and drink. And mek sure to make Zika a big ting, causin ya gunna need to blame sumting effin tings get bad. Blame Zika.”

Indeed – Zika is the perfect excuse.

With stories like the one at http://news.nationalpost.com/news/badly-losing-the-battle-to-zika-brazil-sends-in-troops-to-eradicate-spreading-virus many potential visitors, not just pregnant women, will be avoiding to travel to Latin America and the Caribbean.

“Stu Privett, an HR systems specialist for the Royal College of Nursing in London, tweeted that he had cancelled a trip to Barbados, where several cases have been recorded and where he had planned to travel with his pregnant wife, who is in her first trimester.”

And what does the Ministry of health say?

“Many persons may remain unaware they have the virus, as they may not develop any symptoms.  Only one in four persons with Zika will develop symptoms and in those with symptoms the illness is usually mild,” a statement from the Ministry said.

Don’t worry – Hardly anyone gets it, and when they do it is usually mild.

10. KILL DE FACTIN MOSQUITOES.

DAT IS DE BESS COURSE OF ACTION.

11. @ Hants
    What kill what mosquitoes what??!!
    Can’t you go and dig a hole in the ice like the Eskimos do?
    ..or perhaps you need to build a pond at home ..so you can fish at your leisure…

Um is much more likely that the damn mosquitos will kill us first. You see that we can’t even get our Central Bank to turn a little profit …and you talking bout killing mosquitos….

You just tossing your unused bait at BU…? 🙂

12. What a load of crap we heard the Minister of the Environment spewing out yesterday in parliament in support of the purchasing of 15 new trucks for the SSA. Obviously the Minister did not consult his technocrats before speaking. The Minister cried down the Freightliner trucks bought a few years ago, that are now all reduced to scrap. The Minister went on to state that the Freightliner trucks are fitted with Allisons Engines. I’ve been in the motor industry and engineering business for almost half a century, and have never known Allison to manufacture an engine. Allison is the prime manufacturer of Automatic Transmission. We are hearing that the trucks have worked too hard and the little hills we have in Barbados have taken their toll on these Freightliner trucks. What a load of utter rubbish.
    The Freightliner Company is a subsidary of the very reliable Mercedes Benz, and comes with either the tried and tested Mercedes Benz engine, or the even more tried and tested Caterpillar engine. The Freightliner truck is rated very high in North America and elsewhere and are commonly uses on long hauls jobs and in really hilly terrain.
    Many farms in Barbados still operates Caterpillars tractors,many in excess of 60 years old . If we had to replace the SSA trucks with new Caterpillar – adapted trucks, the Minister,who ever he will be , would be going cap in hand in two years time asking for another new fleet.
    Perhaps as Government seems stuck in a throw-away syndrome , it would be better off sourcing its equipment from China.

THE PROBLEM WITH SSA, LIKE OTHER GOVERNMENT DEPARTMENTS, IS A LACK OF A GOOD PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE PROGRAMME.

The Barbados Light and Power Company has within its fleet, many Freightliner trucks, some as old as 15 years, and they still appear to be in good working condition.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants January 27, 2016 at 2:14 PM #
    “KILL DE FACTIN MOSQUITOES. DAT IS DE BESS COURSE OF ACTION.”

Kill them with what, Hants? Insect spray that the same mosquitoes have genetically adjusted to and now see it as spray deodorant which has the side effects of killing off the other beneficial insects and small reptiles and amphibians(Bajan green lizard, frogs and pond flies) that used to eat the mosquito eggs and control the population?

As the Earth heats up there is going to an intensification of the war between man and mosquito.
    Bajans are certainly making a great contribution to the war effort on the side of the mosquito. Just check the sanitation habits of Bajans and you will see the amount of garbage materiel and filth Bajans are providing to advance the prosecution of the war.

14. William Skinner,

Sadly, I think you are correct. We haven’t raised any Caesars.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Insecticide is also killing off the honeybees so instrumental to the environment, not to mention it’s also killing us as well, killing everything except the mosquitos.

Alvin….don’t you get tired trying to deceive everyone……being deceitful is a terrible thing.

Fact:

A relative of mine today attended West Terrace School house sports at the new, but unfinished, Ryan Brathwaite running track up by the Lazaretto in Prospect. ….why is the track unfinished, it was said government owes UWI millions of dollars and have no money to pay them, so they had to erect tents instead of the required covering for the stands, two other stands are unusable.

Why is there not a running track in each parish so that the young folk, who have not enough outlet for their build up of energy are able to use them positively. I am not telling you that so some politician could use it to be reelected and then don’t do so.

I am saying that to say this, you are not fooling anyone, so why do you even bother.

16. @Hants

Which river is frozen around these parts? Are you catch and release or catch and consume? There is a creek close to where I live which was stocked with salmon fry and every year I see a few mature ones heading upstream to spawn. Some folks drive into the area to fish during the summer but I don’t know what they are after.

17. @ Donna, not even Grenville?

18. @ Sargeant,

The Rouge river. I catch and release. Prefer to buy frozen dolphin. Salmon and Brown Trout from the lake go into the rivers and creeks to spawn from September to November.

Rainbow trout do similarly in the spring but some live in the rivers all year.

I fish four rivers, Duffins creek,Rouge, Humber and Credit River.

19. Recommended new trucks for SSA
    http://i.imgur.com/UMG1Dl3.jpg?1

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Someone made fun and money off Gayle.

‘Don’t Blush Baby’ wins at annual Australia Day cockroach races

BY: LOOP NEWS
    09:36, January 28, 2016

The Chris Gayle-inspired critter won the first of 13 races at the quirky Brisbane event.

It was the 35th anniversary of the annual cockroach race celebrated at The Story Bridge Hotel on Australia Day, January 26.

‘Don’t blush, baby’ has become somewhat of a catchphrase after the recent debacle over Chris Gayle’s interview with journalist Mel McLaughlin during the Big Bash League in Melbourne, Australia.

According to an Australia Associated Press (AAP) report, the roach’s buyer had warned it to be wary of the girls.

“I said, look you know, don’t be distracted with all the bar girls, all the draught … it’s a big occasion for you but you just stay focused, stick to the plan, you got this,” said Irishman Mark Alcorn.

Cockroach MC Damian Burke said the event had grown in popularity since originating as a way to settle some rivalry many years ago. Nowadays, the event raises money for charities, with patrons buying a cockroach to enter into the races. At the start of each race, a container full of marked cockroaches are spilled onto a mat with the first to crawl out of the circle declared the winner.

Meanwhile, Chris Gayle himself took to Instagram on Australia Day with well-wishes for his fans there.

RELATED STORY: Chris Gayle makes smashing exit from Big Bash League
    http://loopassets.s3.amazonaws.com/styles/juicebox_square_thumbnail/s3/cockroach_winner.jpg?itok=SN2QaM-Ohttp://loopassets.s3.amazonaws.com/styles/juicebox_square_thumbnail/s3/chris_gayle_australia_day.jpg?itok=u1uGLpVD
    http://loopassets.s3.amazonaws.com/cockroach_winner.jpghttp://loopassets.s3.amazonaws.com/chris_gayle_australia_day.jpg
    1 / 2
    Irishman Mark Alcorn celebrating his cockroach’s win.
    2 / 2
    Chris Gayle posted on Instagram: #HappyAustraliaDay especially my Aussie FANs! #OneLove from the Jamaican Champion.

21. @ Well Well & Consequences January 28, 2016 at 6:26 AM,

You remember my post from yesterday?

Exclaimer January 27, 2016 at 9:53 AM #

“The Corruption Perceptions Index 2015 has just been released. I searched the list to ascertain what position Barbados held. To my surprise it has not been listed! You can come up with your own solutions for this omission.

http://www.transparency.org/cpi2015”

Imagine my surprise when I purchased a copy of The Barbados Advocate and viewed the headline: “CARICOM states named among most corrupt in region”. The Advocate had the audacity to announce a roll call of the seven most corrupt Caribbean countries within the region with unashamed glee!

The Advocate mentioned that 168 countries were surveyed but bizarrely failed to inform her readership that Barbados was one of only several international countries that were excluded from this survey. This omission is both glaring and calls into question the integrity of The Advocate.

In terms of transparency and reporting facts Barbados must be on a par with Russia, North Korea and other dictatorships. There is an umbilical cord that links our government, big business and our media. This cord must be severed!

22. AUDIO: The Breakfast Roundtable interview on Sky 99.5FM- 28 January 2016

by AfraRaymond

Afra Raymond is interviewed on the ‘The Breakfast Round Table’ show on Sky 99.5 FM by Eddisson Carr and Jessie May Ventour in light of the fact that he recently facilitated a seminar titled “Corruption Perceptions Index 2015: Facts and Findings”, which was hosted by the Trinidad and Tobago Transparency Institute, in collaboration with the Trinidad […]

Read more of this post

23. @ Heather,

I have just read your piece in today’s Nation newspaper. Your manifesto is powerful, transparent and unpretentious. Your voice resonates clearly; and is a clarion rallying voice to the masses.

Surely there must be a place for you in the Barbados political landscape. You would certainly get my vote.

Exclaimer…I posted a comment on here monthe ago re corruption. A new Consular presented papers and asked the outgoing Consular how come they are being told that there is no corruption on the island, the outgoing Consular asked who was saying this, the incoming Consular gave the names…the outgoing Consular said…that’s because you asked the people who are the most corrupt.

Just as the DEA dude said re corruption in the police force, they can only assess them by their interactions which will not tell them anything……so they are fooling people…but that does not last forever either.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/king-black-history-month-slavery-article-1.2513580

The real History that should be taught in all schools, particularly schools in majority black nations like Barbados:

King: Why Black History Month should never begin with slavery
    NEW YORK DAILY NEWS Friday, January 29, 2016, 9:30 AM A A A
    facebook73Tweetemail
    SHARE THIS URL

“Harriet Tubman is an important part of black history, but her struggle shouldn’t be the starting point for enlightening our children.
    ASSOCIATED PRESS
    Harriet Tubman is an important part of black history, but her struggle shouldn’t be the starting point for enlightening our children.
    In our house, Black History Month is a big deal each February.

My wife, Rai, is an award-winning elementary school teacher and has been an educator for the past 15 years. My undergraduate degree is in African American Studies and history is my true passion. We have five kids of our own from pre-school to high school.

So we’ve always taken it upon ourselves to teach our kids their history 12 months a year, but Black History Month is special for us and should be special for students all across the country.

Which is why I’m slightly irritated that it got the shortest month of the year — but at least 2016 is a leap year so we get 29 days to get right this time around!

The biggest problem that my wife and I have with Black History Month (and black history in general) is that, far too often, it begins with American slavery.

At least 70,000 years ago, deep in South Africa, traces of modern men and women have been found. In 2002, in the Blombos caves of South Africa, the earliest abstract art was discovered and believed to be from that period — the earliest art ever found. In Africa, traces of migration routes, art and civilization take us all the way through the Nubian kingdoms that began 7,000 years ago. During that time, not hundreds, or thousands, but millions of Africans lived and died before the idea of the trans-Atlantic slave trade would come into being.

Thousands of years before American slavery, African kingdoms like the Axum Empire ruled. Other rich civilizations like the Ghana or Songhai empires have so much to tell that they alone could fill Black History Month.

Nearly 300 years before American slavery, Mana Musa, who ruled in what would be modern day West Africa, was the richest man alive. Adjusted for inflation, his wealth is estimated to have been more than $400 billion — which would make him the richest man to have ever lived. Of course, this means he oversaw a complex economy with a rich culture — all overlooked in most basic retellings of black history.

In the 1500s, Leo Africanus wrote of Timbuktu that its king “hath always 3,000 horsemen … (and) a great store of doctors, judges, priests and other learned men, that are bountifully maintained at the king’s cost and charges.”

Timbuktu was a thriving African economy in the late 1500s.
    PHOTO 12/UIG VIA GETTY IMAGES
    Timbuktu was a thriving African economy in the late 1500s.
    Yes, Harriet Tubman is heroic and deserves to be highlighted, but the history of black people did not begin with her courageous efforts on the underground railroad in 1850. Africans had already been in the United States for 231 years by the time she began her efforts. Beyond that,the 246 years of American slavery represent less than 1% of known black history from around the world.

That’s the historical beef I have, but the problem with starting Black History Month off with slavery goes much deeper than that. It is a formative, emotional, psychological mistake to introduce the history of black people with them as subjugated, enslaved peoples. Yes, it’s simply inaccurate, but it actually does damage — not just to young black children, but to all children, when they are given the distinct impression that black people began as inferior subjects and somehow found their way out.

STACEY DASH BLAMES BLACK PEOPLE FOR KEEPING THEMSELVES ‘IN THEIR PLACE’

The earliest white people that young students of all races learn about are world travelers, inventors, and American presidents like Christopher Columbus, Ben Franklin, and George Washington. From there students are likely to learn about Michelangelo, Mozart, or Galileo. They may learn about Abe Lincoln or Lewis and Clark, but (white) history never begins or ends with horror or pain.

Of course, the trans-Atlantic slave trade is an important piece in the total history of the African Diaspora, but starting it off there strikes me as a suspicious form of white supremacy. When young white students first see that historical heroes who look like them were the glorious leaders of the world and that the first black people they learn about were owned like property and lived as mindless slaves picking cotton, what impact do you think that has on their worldview?

In our house, and in my wife’s classroom, we’ve taken two different approaches to Black History Month. We have started Black History Month off in pre-historic South Africa or in early African Kingdoms to show the true depth and breadth and beauty of blackness or we start off in present day and work ourselves backwards, introducing children first to healthy, relevant, modern examples of black leaders before we move through slavery then back to Africa.

Either way, Black History Month must never begin or end with slavery.”

26. @ Exclaimer Thanks. I want the people to think and not accept whatever is dished out to them.

27. @Exclaimer and Heather

Quite the tag team; or are you in fact one and the same?

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lee…is that something to be proud of and for whom. The people and island were used as a vehicle by criminals, now all dead, except for their descendants, to enrich themselvs and when it no longer became a source of enrichment all the thieves of labor, thieves of other people’s lives left and came up with a new scam to steal from others……check the new managers today, still nothing to be proud of…….

Since yours was the first comment, it stood out.

29. @ the Flyonthewall it seems that I bother you. Why not contribute to the discussion? It is the matter at hand not be. If you are the proliferent writer that you claim to be, it would not have escaped you that the styles of writing are not the same.

30. SOMETIMES, you hear or see things that really reconfirm your faith in this beloved country of ours.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/77277/jeff-broomes-little-help-goes#sthash.1HPr8Jcc.dpuf

31. There are more good people out there ,its just that the relatively fewer bad ones are more in the lime light. Two weeks ago , a police squad car stopped in the road and had traffic backed up. The Constable ,who was the passenger, had made a quick exit from the vehicle to help and old lady with a walker, who was on the high and uneven sidewalk, making a dash for the steep Oistin Hiil.
    In a supermarket recently as I was about to pay the cashier, a fellow informed me that I had dropped a $50 note. He was making a small purchase, and I instructed the cashier to add it to my bill.
    Often we hear of kind acts, by ordinary people, only when it involves visitors.