Submitted by Old Onion Bags
Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance

How many of you had any extra money to spend on gifts this Christmas? I bet most of you  (if honest like me) would agree, ‘tings were tight, tight. Over taxation, high food and gasoline prices had people ‘pun lock.’

How much longer can we continue this way though? Better believe me when I say Bajans are overly TAXED nowadays. People all over Barbados need some reprieve Mr. Sinclair (not more taxes as you have hinted). How much longer can they take these draconian measures and not fall through the social net? They need relief and they need it like yesterday. A voice hollering in the wilderness….dun know.

What is the sense of being able to boast of cutting the deficit by a mere 6% and the country’s people are suffering like hell? Jobs a thing of the past, who working, doing  so with fear shivering, peoples’ children who worked hard to achieve  university status, now left with a broken dreams, ( EWB recently emptied promise).

Mr. Sinclair, you are on video boasting in Parliament of the tough times our generation has been through and of how it makes for character. Yes sir Mr. Minister we agree, but are you not forgetting… back in those days you could beg for a breadfruit….a turnover was for 5c….you could eat food at the neighbors’ and\or  find a job if you wanted one. Times have changed sir … they have obviously become harder. What WAS in those days, won’t cut it today.

By taking so much money out of the economy in the forms of increased taxation and surcharge on fuel,   the money supply has decreased.  The money multiplier effect has thereby waned as a result, and there are less dollars to be circulated and personal savings are being withdrawn from the banks. For those so interested….. money creation is the process by which the money supply of a country  is changed. There are two principal stages of money creation. First, a central bank introduces new money into the economy termed expansionary monetary policy…. by purchasing financial assets or lending money to financial institutions. Secondly, the new money introduced by the central bank is multiplied by commercial banks through fractional reserve banking; this expands the amount of broad money (i.e. cash plus demand deposits) in the economy so that it is a multiple (known as the money multiplier) of the amount originally created by the central bank.

Mr.Sinckler,  with this government’s so called mid-term fiscal policy, you all have successfully choked up the country’s monetary plumbing real good. Disposable income has dried up and money is no longer flowing down. The system needs an enema, and real fast….to releases some frustrations and anxieties the hard working and unemployed people are left to bear.

With this administration having just another two years, how many more taxes  do you plan to implement? A new on-coming cell phone tax promised of 22% in 2016,  one wonders what next… a bedroom tax maybe?

88 responses to “Bajans Overly Taxed and NOT Loving It!”

1. Onions

It is good to see you back.

Appealing to this Government is like talking to the wind. They don’t know what to do, it is as simple as that. They have taken so much money out of the people’s hands, in the form of taxes, that it is crippling the economy. And worse yet, at Christmas time, they made sure that people did not have cash to spend by paying public officers on December 22nd with one and a half shopping days left. Utter madness. But that is economics DLP style. They want you to spend to stimulate economic growth and simultaneously taking away what little you have to spend.

2. Good to see you back, old onions bag!

This minister really does not care neither does he know what he is doing. I just cannot understand the madness in this government’s policies……….give the investors who should have the money to invest in the economy…….40 years tax free, no taxes….zero……. and instead put the heavy burden on the taxpayers who can no longer bear the brunt of his failed policies.

Sandals got 40 years tax free, Cahill got the whole hog even lands belonging to the taxpayers and heavens knows how much they have now given to the new kids on the block….the Canadian frauds!

Kill the Bajans is their motto.

3. Prodigal

It is worse than you think, the investor, who by the way was not seeking Government concessions, was put out of Barbados because he would not hand over part of his investment to a politically connected person. They were calling it a joint venture but the local was only putting in his political connections, not one cent in the “joint venture”.

4. Barbados is not over-taxed, the problem is that public finances are badly managed by this government. Then again, this has been happening since constitutional independence.

5. Hal it is good to see you around. We were given the opinion you were taking a break and would have returned to sharing your perspective with the BU family.

6. I agree with Hal above. Barbados’ revenue as a percentage of GDP is quite normal for a “high income country”. What is lacking is effective management of the revenues generated, including the fact that a good percentage of that revenue goes towards debt servicing (albeit domestic debt). Another issue is the growing informal economy. A study I read a while back estimated the informal economy was around a third of the formal economy. This means tax revenues which otherwise would be collected are foregone. The establishment of the BRA is one good step to help correct this by streamlining tax collection in an effort to identify and reduce the level of tax delinquency. However, a major issue is public distrust of the way their tax dollars are being spent. If the public feels their tax dollars are not being used efficiently and effectively, they are less inclined to pay their share. The problem of effective resource mobilisation and management is not a DLP or BLP issue but a governance issue which has existed in Barbados for quite some time…

7. Keep hearing the ring leaders of Doom and gloom talking about taxes but not one of them including the leader of the BLP Mia Mottley is yet to offer any alternative /solution to paying off the barbados debt yes debt owed to international financial institutions which has accumulated high interest over the years, while resolving the long term financial stability of the country
    After six years that is the million dollar questions that needs to be answered All have heard about the quick fixes from the BLP but still not heard how the BLP economic policy/s would be efficient (excluding painful measures ) in the long term to tackling high debt and sustaining barbados economy growth and viability

8. @Alicia

There is the trap right there.

I agree with Hal above. Barbados’ revenue as a percentage of GDP is quite normal for a “high income country”. What is lacking is effective management of the revenues generated, including the fact that a good percentage of that revenue goes towards debt servicing (albeit domestic debt).

It seems the debt burden, and we have had to listen to perennial reports from the CDB for example on this matter, is and will act as a drag on any serious attempt to more effectively manage public finances. We continue to borrow but there seem to be no visible strategy by government to effectively allocate/deply borrowings to optimally drive GDP and other metrics. The rhetoric we hear is all politically motivated and this is affecting the public confidence you mentioned.

9. @David, I agree the high debt burden constrains our fiscal policy space and that borrowing should be for development-oriented projects. Borrowing is a necessary evil for a small developing state like ours with limited domestic resources. A significant portion of our debt servicing is interest payments. Part of the reason for the high interest rates is that our high GNI/GDP per capita constrains our ability to access most concessionary loans which have no or below market interest rates. Moreover, having a speculative grade sovereign credit rating constrains our ability to raise capital on international capital markets so bond issues are not an immediate answer.

To the Government’s credit, several of the loans they have received from Multilateral Development Banks like the IDB and CDB for instance are for projects aimed at bringing efficiencies to various departments. An example is the CDB one aimed to improve the workings of the Immigration Department. This should have spillovers for trade facilitation and improve our competitiveness. Besides borrowing for development-oriented projects, we need to make more optimal use of the tax revenues collected rather than just paying salaries. That to my mind is what successive governments have failed to do effectively. We only need to look at the Auditor General’s reports to see the flagrant mismanagement.

10. Agree Alicia that what you stated addresses current state, however, what economic and social policies have we seen that address glaring structural problems. What we are seeing is an improvement in global economies we do business and it has floated our boat somewhat. What we have not seen is our leaders enthusiastically searching out new and bold opportunities any good crisis offers.

11. @David, on that we are in complete agreement!

12. In other words where there is no vision the people are taxed into oblivion.We are on the way to hearing…..”Brother,can you spare a dime?”And Kofi say we punchin’above we weight!What a big joke!

13. Keep your eyes on the progression of recovery:
    1. Build up to 50 years of Independence
    2. 3rd Quarter Central Bank report indicates that country is on full economic recovery under skillful management of MoF
    3. Unemployment figures drop dramatically in the months leading up to Christmas
    4. Massive 50th Independence party with feel-good emotions spread throughout nation
    5. Full employment by Christmas along with enormous tax roll-backs because of our spectacular economic recovery
    6. Gigantic PR campaign in January reminding everyone of how lucky we are to have such a skillful team managing the country’s finances and returning Barbados to it’s former glory
    7. With full employment, a Christmas spend beyond the imagination, reduced VAT, Land Tax and personal income tax, an election will be called and we the brightest and best in the Caribbean will vote DLP for a third term.

14. @ FearPlay

I fear that you are correct. And that Mottley has been uninspiring and somewhat ineffectual in her job is not helping. There will probably be a low turnout unless some emotive issue arises (like if they want to proceed with Cahill).

15. The bogeyman “taxes” raises its oniony head once again about over taxation and like Pavlov’s dogs we react accordingly. Let’s peel a few of the layers, in the last few weeks Jeff C had a column on the Gov’ts proposal to impose penalties on certain professionals to close the loopholes that they exploit which certainly exist in the public’s imagination or are as real as Gov’t postulates.

Hal A writes (and I paraphrase) that it is not an issue of over taxation but Gov’t mismanagement of tax revenue since 1966. The upshot is that we have had three “brilliant” Finance Ministers in that period and somehow that has escaped them but I digress as Hal’s theory has drawn some support ………

Let’s say we are overtaxed then Gov’t should immediately abandon all efforts to stem the flow of “lost’ revenue from these professionals and simultaneously reduce the burden on those poor souls who are bearing the burden of this “over tax” while implementing measures to correct the mismanagement of tax revenues. There I’ve said it – a real mouthful – problem solved.

Grecian formula anyone? That grey is only a figment of your imagination

16. @Sargeant

The problem is multifaceted this we all know.

Has anyone noticed how our infrastructure for water generation and distribution has been deteriorating?

17. I would gladly pay all taxes as long as ALL categories of working people are made to do the same and as long as I can see value for my money. Neither of these conditions is met in Barbados. Should I “be content” with this?

18. The DLP [over] taxes, the BLP [over] spends

Same old, same old.

If the frequent [even if mild] earth tremors have damaged the telecommunications lines, don’t we think that they may also have damaged our water pipes and or reservoirs.

But nobody is saying that.

19. @Donna December 30, 2015 at 11:05 AM “I would gladly pay all taxes as long as ALL categories of working people…”

Not only working people, but also people who have never worked a day in their lives but who have inherited assets and income.

They too should pay their fair share.

20. David

Was VAT not the tax to be implemented over time to,end all taxes and were not the reasons given all about the difficulties in collecting&managing the existing tax structure.

21. @Vincent

Correct.

22. ac December 30, 2015 at 6:33 AM #

“Keep hearing the ring leaders of Doom and gloom talking about taxes but not one of them including the leader of the BLP Mia Mottley is yet to offer any alternative /solution to paying off the Barbados debt yes debt owed to international financial institutions which has accumulated high interest over the years, while resolving the long term financial stability of the country….”

I told you not to continue with this shiite in 2016…… trying to defend the indefensible.

Surely ALL BARBADIANS should RECALL that the DLP, in their 2008 and 2013 election manifestoes produced ALL the ANSWERS to Barbados’ social and economic woes. Now, eight years after, the DEMS are still BLAMING their FAILURE to address economical issues on the economic crisis and BLP.

This DLP administration increased the national debt by borrowing money for UNPRODUCTIVE PURPOSES. Let us not forget that the DEMS economic policies resulted in CREDIT RATING DOWNGRADES by the INTERNATIONAL FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS and CREDIT RATING AGENCIES.

AC shiites, tell BU what does that have to do with the BLP?

Several institutions, associations, clubs and ordinary spoke-persons gave ADVICE or SOLUTIONS to this administration only to be dismissed as being “PROFITS OF DOOM AND GLOOM OR BEING IN BED WITH THE BLP.”

Supplementaries bfw for January 2008 – March 31st 2008: $680,399,208.00

Here is the amount of money the DLP took from the Treasury that stinking, lying Thompson, Stuart and Sinckler told Barbadians was “EMPTY” – during the period: April – December 2008.

Financial year: 2008-2009
    10, July, 2008 – $15, 000,000
    29 July, 2008 -$4,809,359
    29 July, 2008 -$500,000
    8 August, 2008 -$33,569,474
    8 August, 2008 $5,698,586
    7 October, 2008 -$80,004,807
    14 October, 2008 -$10,000,000
    4 November, 2008 – $3,287,503
    16 December, 2008 – $88,624.00
    16 December, 2008 -$129,760.00
    16 December, 2008 -$1, 059,110
    19 December, 2008 -$55,868,735
    19 December, 2008 -$64,068,575

$274,084,533

Two hundred and seventy-four million, eighty-four thousand, five hundred and thirty-three. Now add that to the $680, 399, 208, it took between January and March 2008.

$882,483,741 from an “EMPTY TREASURY,” and in an economy that the DLP said was in shambles?

23. Shite Man what are these UNPRODUCTIVES PURPOSES OF WHICH YOU SPEAK , Further more how much of what was left in treasury by the BLP went to pay govt workers and tell the audience mr economist how much of the remaining reserves after govt workers were paid would have been sufficient to pay all the outstanding debt left from the past administrations
    Don/t mek me laugh with this litany of numbers that does not substantiate the real reasoning for govt additional borrowing in order to stave off doom and gloom

24. A view…

Moore: Not quite a recovery yet

GERALYN EDWARD, geralynedward@nationnews.com

drwinstonmoore

Dr Winston Moore. (FP)

IT IS STILL TOO early to say the Barbados economy is in “recovery mode”.

Related articles

That was the view of former Barbados Economic Society (BES) president Dr Winston Moore, who said while this year was “definitely an improvement over last year”, to suggest the country was in full recovery mode would be an overstatement because the improvements were concentrated only in a few industries.

“To make a dent on unemployment, growth and public sector debt, more broad-based growth across the economy will be needed,” he said.

Moore, who is head and senior economics lecturer in the Department of Economics, Cave Hill Campus of the University of the West Indies, identified debt as one of major challenges for the island.

Please read the full story in today’s Daily Nation, or in the eNATION edition.

– See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/76086/moore-recovery#sthash.jvZoqWRt.dpuf

25. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences2

As I look forward…I love to peep into the future. Exactly how much debt would DBLP have accumulated for the taxpayers, after, their 8+ year rein of whining….from 2008-2018

26. A man like Sinckler who even cannot control his one weight by natural means is simply unable to control a budget.

ANIMA SANA IN CORPORE SANO EST. The old Romans are right!

27. Yes……. UNPRODUCTIVE PURPOSES…….. such as GIVING Leroy Parris $10M, is ONE example.

28. it is MENS SANA IN CORPORE SANO is it not?

even if you are a nutritionist you must be careful about commenting on a person’s ability control one’s weight by “natural means” what ever that is supposed to be

so many xprts are contradicting each other on this issue

29. This DLP administration will go down in the history of Barbados as the worst government ever to “rule” this island. There is not anything you or the other DLP yard-fowls could present to BU to convince us otherwise.

That stinking liar, David Thompson, promised us ITAL immediately after elections and an end to corruption. It is now 2016, 8 years on, and the status quo remains unchanged. Thompson operated his campaign similar to that of Donald Trump, by telling Barbadians things they wanted to hear. Such as the former administration sold land to foreigners and that too many Guyanese were here so he “will send them back.”

That hypocrite and porn facilitator, Donville Inniss, after being asked if politicians should agree to a reduction in salary just as civil servants were asked to “hold strain” on salary increases, told Barbadians that he had bills to pay and a child to send to university.

30. Shit Man yuh come in the class room as an economist spouting large gawd blimma words like UNPRODUCTIVE PURPOSES wuh eva dat suppose to mean and use LP as an example wud bout OSA thiefing cheque he got from CLICo dat dont count as money
    Yuh got yuh jackass version of time and events but fail miserably to tell the whole truth about the times and events that helped poised barbados in economic doldrums and why the failures of the past administration policies were some of the main causes for the next govt to implement harsh measures and additional borrowing
    i know yuh would continue to repeat a litany of warm over blackbird soup but bro it is tine for solutions people asking for change also asking for answers none of which the blp can offer

31. WTF, you talking ‘bout Owen Arthur “thiefing cheque ($75,000) he got from CLICO dat dont count as money” and playing dat you fuhget dat stinking David Thompson and Leroy Parris CONSPIRED to teef $3.333M frum de same CLICO, under the guise dat it was fuh Parris gratuity?

The FORENSIC AUDIT into CLICO’s operations revealed this NOT me.

32. Look, legion, you better hush you mout’ yuh, you closet full a nuff skeletons.

33. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

More whining……every brother/sister government blames the other brother/sister government for leavingv he taxpayers with large unsustainable debt, bad debt, bribery, corruption, thiefing……but NONE want to itemize their own roles in making fools of the taxpayers with their lies and all the above…..nauseating.

34. jack ass and talking bout downgrades did not the blp have downgrades in the best of economic times dont mek me laff out loud and hard yuh talking nonsense u ought to go back and reflect on how good barbados economy was then and was subjected to down grades yuh ole hypocrite trying to hoist bull kites with out high wind ,

35. “THE PEOPLE OF St Joseph have been told not to expect relief any time soon.”

“BWA says Bajans may have to put up with water rationing.”

36. The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is projecting positive GDP growth for Barbados this year as a result of increased tourism arrivals and accelerated growth in key markets.
    After a slow 2014, conditions in the country’s economy have improved with lower oil prices, new tourism investment, and falling inflation rates, the IMF said in a recent report.
    The IMF predicts a one percent expansion in real GDP by the end of 2015, a significant leap from .2 percent in 2014 and no growth in 2013.
    With lowering oil prices, the current account deficit is expected to drop from 8.5 to five percent in 2015, while private capital flows are expected to stabilize with foreign reserves at about $545 million by the end of the year
    Executive Directors of the IMF praised the authorities’ implementation of necessary reforms to help spur macroeconomic growth, but called for caution going forward in dealing with the country’s looming challenges including external risks, high debt and fiscal deficit levels, and competitiveness.
    The directors emphasized that Barbados’ growth strategy should center around strengthening the business environment, as well as the efficiency and effectiveness of public services..

37. Fool and DLP yard-fowl pimp, you should stop trying to push DLP propaganda, especially when you are ignorant of the facts.

America is known to have one of the best economies in the world and their currency was devalued twice in the 1970s. However, under the Bretton Woods treaty, all other countries had to devalue their currencies so that the parity “status quo” would remain the same.

The Barbados economy was downgraded under a BLP administration but to the extent it was subsequently upgraded thereafter. In Barbados economic history, the credit rating was downgraded EIGHT TIMES under this inept DLP administration, as follows:

New York, May 14, 2009 — Moody’s Investors Service has placed Barbados’ government bond ratings on review for possible downgrade in order to assess the credit impact of further deterioration in the country’s debt metrics in the coming years.

New York, October 13, 2009 — Moody’s Investors Service has downgraded Barbados’ government bond ratings following several years of deterioration in credit metrics. The Baa2 foreign currency government bond rating and the A3 local currency government bond rating were downgraded to Baa3 and Baa2, respectively.

New York, June 13, 2011 — Moody’s Investors Service has downgraded the Government of Barbados’ domestic currency rating to Baa3 from Baa2. The Baa3 foreign currency bond rating has been affirmed. The outlook on both ratings has been revised to negative.

Tuesday, July 17, 2012: Standard & Poor’s downgraded the country’s national debt to junk bond status in 13 terrible words: “We have lowered our sovereign credit ratings on Barbados to ‘BB+/B’ from ‘BBB-/A-3’.”

New York, December 20, 2012 — Moody’s Investors Service has downgraded the Government of Barbados’ foreign and local currency bond ratings to Ba1 from Baa3. The outlook remains negative.

New York, June 02, 2014 — Moody’s Investors Service has today downgraded Barbados’ government bond rating to B3 from Ba3. The outlook remains negative.

Friday, December 19, 2014: Standard & Poor’s (S&P) Ratings Services lowered its long-term sovereign credit ratings on Barbados to ‘B’ from ‘BB-‘. The outlook is negative. The country’s ‘B’ short-term sovereign credit rating was affirmed. However, the transfer and convertibility assessment was also lowered to ‘B’ from ‘BB-‘.

Tuesday, December 16, 2014: Caribbean Information and Credit Rating Services Limited (CariCRIS), which is based in Trinidad and Tobago, said that it dropped by two notches the island’s rating on the Government debt issue of Bds$600 million to CariA- from CariA+ and a CariA on the local currency down from CariAA-.

38. Imagine that, you and the fool we have for a prime minister, Fruendel Stuart, should be ashamed to quote from the IMF, especially AFTER the big nosed ugly idiot DISMISSED Moody’s and the IMF’s downgrades and reports as “what they say has as much value as what you would see in any garbage dump collected by the Sanitation Services Authority.”

So you want us to believe they are speaking the gospel now?

Guh way, do.

39. Artaxerxes,

I applaud your patience! I would have answered, “Steupse!”

40. @ Donna
    Bushie applaud both you and Artax!
    wunna does actually read AC… !!??

Bushie tries to avoid stepping in jobby…

41. Ashamed for what if the govt hard worked and initiatives bear positive fruit and international monetary financial institutions gives barbados a thumbs up with positive outlook why should govt not appreciate
    After all this kind of news serves the right purposes purposes of confidence

42. Ok, Donna

“Steupse” to the legion’s last response

43. Bushite yuh need to shut up u need a big slap across the stink mout of yours and a lie that yuh tell you read my comments cause the downrates on my comments can be attributed to yours as one of the many
    You are such a bold faced liar

44. Bushie,

I scroll quickly past. The “steupse” is my default answer.

45. Well Well & Consequences2 Avatar

Art….and they don’t have enough trucks at the SSA to collect that garbage anyhoo..

46. The Nation editorIal was besides itself today in lambasting from David’de pit bull’ Estwick to the big-chain-open- neck- thug- looking 80 year old excusative chairman of the BWA to the rude,rough neck policeman type Ghanian expatriate acting general manager.The people of Barbados have never been worse served by the Waterworks ever.Its nothing but a bloody disgrace to know our people are without running water in their homes in the year of our Lord 2015.Between that African man and that octogenarian who also lived in Africa,the two of these guys have taken Barbados back to the 19th century.Nicky Sealy got to be turning in his grave at what has been done to his legacy of skilful management of our water supply to every corner of Barbados up to his final days there when he was dealt a serious blow to his honour by the other nincompoop PM Sandiford,need I say also a DLP PM?
    Poor management of the BWA.Poor management of the SSA.Poor management of the QEH.Poor management of the NHC.Poor management of the economy.Poor management of Education.Poor management of Transport.Double poor management of the Environment and Drainage.Poor management of social services.Poor management of Agriculture and Lands.
    It’s been another bad year for Freundel Stuart and his band of Buccaneers and the Fatted Calf Brigade.We dare not ask Dr Boobie Durant to offer up a prayer for Barbados based on his record.

47. cheeze on bread here comes another BLP knuckle head bailing water for the blp national brigade .Poor fellow

48. @Gabriel December 30, 2015 at 11:03 PM “the rude,rough neck policeman type Ghanian expatriate acting general manager.”

What is an expatriate?

When does one become a Bajan? 3 years, 5, 10, 20, never. Is that what you want for born Bajans who live and work abroad?

He is not Ghanian.

He is a scholar and a gentleman.

We are lucky to have him.

49. @Vincent Haynes December 30, 2015 at 4:14 PM “Was VAT not the tax to be implemented over time to,end all taxes.”

Dear Vincent: Do you [and David] believe in Santa Claus?

50. Just read the last DLP manifesto:

page 9: Construct a new General Hospital
    page 15: Increase the threshold for assessing land tax from $190,000 to $250,000
    … Reduce the operational costs of Government Departments and Statutory Corporations …
    … Expand Ronald Mapp Highway to four lane …
    … Reduce the operating costs of the Transport Board by sourcing electric and hybrid buses … Pass a Freedom of Information Act

OK, Donny did that: … Particular focus will be placed on Film production.