Submitted by Douglas
Leader of the BLP Mia Mottley (l) Former Leader of the BLP Owen Arthur (r)

“The challenge is, as represented in the Peter Wickham poll, that Ms Mottley . . . faces a problem of being accepted by the society at large and faces a problem of being accepted by a cross-section of the BLP,” Arthur told the media at his UWI, Cave Hill office.

“The BLP has a challenge and we have a situation where there’s not a contest […]for leadership within the party, but there is a problem in the wider Barbados society, where there is unacceptance and unacceptability of the present leader of the party,” he said, “but she has to make herself likeable, she has to be respected because people want to believe that their leaders are full of integrity . . . and she has to consider the use of power; not be feared negatively, but be understood as a person who can use power effectively.”

Extracts from 2009 Interview with Owen Arthur

Owen Arthur warned Barbados and the Barbados Labour Party about everything that is taking place now in the corridors of the Barbados Labour Party. In an interview in 2009, he spoke honestly and without malice while giving an assessment of the leadership of his “former protégée”. He advised “the challenge is to have a leader who enjoys wide acceptance and acceptability in the wider society and wide acceptance in the parliamentary party.”

Here lies the fault line, which is occurring on the eve of the party’s next annual conference. The race is on to have the Mia matter executed ahead of the Party’s conference. It is evident the “former protégée’s”arch rival and an unrepentant political acolyte of Arthur in the person of Jerome stands to benefit from this imbroglio. He stands to benefit immensely after standing down from an obvious third defeat at the hands of John Boyce.

The spin doctors in the BLP are busy at work trying to give the public the impression that the issue in Christ Church West is about Dr Maria Agard. We on this side are quite aware at the core issue is leadership. This re-occurring decimal in the thread of Opposition politics continues to define for this country what is to come if ever the BLP is elected to office.

Less we forget that what happened in Ch. Ch. West happened in the St James North and St George South candidate selections. The white elephant in the room is the apparent irregularities in the branch voters’ list or for some Mia’s list . The last recorded issues have to do the accusations of monies spent in St Joseph by the Female Club to ensure that Dale was a sure loser. Of course, no one is talking about Arthur’s concern re governance of the BLP’s edifice after he took over from his former protégée” on the last occasion. The issues there are the subject of a Barker Report.

There is clear and present danger in the Opposition way of managing the affairs of their party. What say you about the affairs of the country? It is clear that there is a danger in opposing the leadership of the Messiah.

This new brand leadership which is authored by the non male members ’club of the BLP begs the question, in whose interest is the process gaining momentum? The face of the Barbados Labour Party has changed so much since Arthur exited that is hardly recognizable beyond the Mia’s faction. She has done well to stamp her authority NOT leadership.

In a letter penned to Dear Joan and signed by Mia Amor Mottley Q.C., M.P on the 19th September 2011. The author of the letter declares to Joan

“ You may well ask whether internal victory at all costs for certain interests is worth jeopardizing the image and appeal of our great Party in the eyes of the wider electorate at this volatile and uncertain juncture of our Nation’s history and within sight of a General Election.”…

We must quell all other attempts to secure the domination by a few to the detriment of the majority. For we must ask ourselves, after the women and young people who will be next in the line of attack? Why is one-man one vote so threatening to the leadership in a modern democratic Party?”

Understand what would happen if these machinations take place in national elections by those who appears to manipulate constituencies branch elections.

The views of Arthur and the views of Mia as contrasted here speak to a leadership of contradiction. The current leadership is on a journey to redefine politics by making it a blood sport where lives and reputation are placed in public space. Barbados must listen to the honest words of Owen Arthur “…there is unacceptance and unacceptability of the present leader of the party,” he said

222 responses to “Mia…Just Not Ready”

1. Boo hoo, no “sympathy for the devil”, huh! Call Mick Jagger. He knows where Barbados is.

2. Oops! Meant to say sympathy card in your favour

3. @Raw Bake

I hear what you’re saying and the same sentiment can be expressed here as well, but the choice is quite simple my friend, it is an idealist dream to believe that the political establishment can do no wrong, and that their will abide by proposed pledges made to the masses at all times.

But this my friend is a misconception among the masses or perhaps illusion, which lead them in false sense of security, and undermine their confidence in the political process because of their unwillingness and inability to accept this as a given reality.

It can be argued with some degree of sustainability that the modern day politician isn’t devoid of the faults and failings common to politician of former times, even though we have propensity to hold him or her at a higher standard of judgment than we do ourselves.

Now the way I see is quite simple Bake, you either decide to abandon political process all altogether which in my view is analogous to shooting yourself in the foot, or you’re forced for the lack of better alternatives to choose between the lesser of two evils.

Now the lesser of two evils entails in my judgment that you choose between the ham cutter which offers little meat or the ham cutter which proposed to be loaded with lots of meat and offers none at all.

And with that being said I shall end on this note: the power is and has always been with the people, but if the people refuse to actively seek the change their are hoping for then their only have but themselves to blame.

4. The problem lies in the fact that those who sees the problems would rather be backseat drivers than take control of driving the bus.A prime example and typically played out here on BU too many talkers and no doers.

5. FLUsh!

6. Don’t worry, AC, election day will be “doers’ day.”

7. Me worry have never put all my eggs in one basket .The truth of the matter lies in a society who is lazy !spoiled! Complacent and would rather bitch !bellyache!and refuse to step up and offer themselves as agents for change.

8. This is little off topic but it is worth mentioning I think: I know one thing the govenment need to downsized the Defence Force. A force that is incapable of defending the country against and internal and external foe; sitting wherever their are sitting eating up taxpayers money and getting fat. Perhaps, we should go back to an all volunteer force; the Royal Barbados Police Force can hold it own and has proven capable of doing so.

9. I’m not always able to read BU everyday, but I try to do so as often as possible.
    It seems that Dompey, AC and the lot are continuing to spout their faecal matter. I’m very disappointed at Dompey simply because we shared the same school. Wonder what he was doing during English classes.
    I look forward to reading comments by Artax, the affable Bush Tea, Donna, Gabriel Piece and some others as they make some serious thought-provoking suggestions.
    People like Irene aka, AC and the donkey bring nothing worthwhile to the table. Although I may read something by one of them once in a while, I make it a habit to ignore the nonsense which they produce. I wonder if they ever take time to re-read anything which they wrote to see if it makes any sense to them.
    We have too many issues facing the country to be bamboozled by those yardies.
    One thing I’d like to see is that Irene, sorry, AC and that ilk at least for once, just once, come up with a meaningful contribution which has some meat that it worthy of serious discussion rather than promoting the “virtues” of this government.
    Not asking for much AC, just ONE contribution.

10. AC

Have you notice lately that Artax has assumed the position as the BLP spokesperson here on BU? The guy comes on BU daily and lays out his one-sided statistical- analysis to receive his much anticipated browie points from his trusted teammates and rallying cheerleaders.

11. Sea Egg, you’re made for good laughter… another BLP supporter I assume? lol

12. Dompey, I belong to no political party so I hold no brief for anyone. Whenever anyone shares a different opinion from you, that person is labelled as a BLP supporter. I support NO PARTY. They are all the same. Themselves, family members and close friends.
    BTW, where is the laughter, Dompey?
    Still waiting for ONE SINGLE serious issue from you. CAn do do that? Please?

13. @ Dompey
    Do you understand what is meant by faecal matter? Simple, Dompey. All you do is talk bare shite. Nothing more, nothing less.

14. Sea Egg

AC, continue to do what you’re doing, Sea Egg is entited to his own twisted opinion which doesn’t change the fact the their are those persons who see things much more differently than he does. Now Sea Egg, going and drink some more of your BLP joy juice because it has appeared to have given you a burst of energy… and who might you be again?

15. Sea Egg

Done worry yahself Egg … just go and drink a little bit more of yah BLP Joy Juice… yah doing well here brother.

16. @ Dompey

MUST YOU ENGAGE IN THIS JUVENILE ACTION EVERYDAY???

Dompey, it’s about time you stop this shiite, now. Yuh mean you gine display yuh “jackassery” on EVERY post presented to BU for discussion?

WHY DO YOU HAVE THIS OBSESSION WITH TRYING TO PROVE TO THE BU HOUSEHOLD THAT YOU ARE A “BRIGHT BOY”, when by persisting in this endeavor you only show up yourself to be the JOHNNY we all know you are. And using the name “DOMPEY” does not help your cause either.

YOUR TIME ON BU SHOULD BE BETTER UTILIZED BY CONTRIBUTING TO THESE ARTICLES, rather than coming to this forum EVERYDAY to criticize Bush Tea, De Word, Piece, Money Brain, Prodigal, Are We There Yet, Walter Blackman and me.

Are you jealous that you do not have any “trusted teammates and rallying cheerleaders.” Are you angry that no other person (except you) is unable to find anything of significance or worth in your contributions?

Is your hatred for intellectuals grounded in the fact that you were “horned” by one and in the process he showed you up to be less of a man? Were you bullied physically (or otherwise) by the “bright boys” at school?

Dompey, it’s not OUR FAULT that you did not “pass for a good school,” you have only yourself to blame for that. It’s not our fault that you did not pass the RBPF entrance exam, or you thinking that being molested by those officers at District A would have been a better recruitment option.

Perhaps in the same manner a psychopath achieves a climax after killing someone or having sex with a dead woman, you seem to “get off” by constantly focusing on criticizing those who you know are intellectually superior and more mature than you are and will ever hope to be.

This not what being a real man entails, Dompey. Your behaviour on BU is tantamount to that of a JEALOUS, SPOILT LITTLE GIRL who, after not being allowed to have her “own way,” throws temper tantrums. This manifests itself in the multiple posts you use to vent your anger.

What you could do is, rather than focus your attention on my contributions, use the “DOWN ARROW” KEY and move on to the next contribution. SIMPLE!!!!!

Yuh also need to know how and when to use THEIR, THEY and THERE appropriately. Shiite, even “spell check” would tell you wuh to do. Similarly to Sea Egg, “I wonder what you (were doing) during English classes.”

SHIITE, DOMPEY, GROW UP NUH!!!!!! EVERYDAY, YOU WID DE SAME SHIIITE!

17. Okay Artax, I promise you that today will my last comment on this blog, and I am quite serious. Fair enough? Well later!

18. @ Dompey

Despite the fact that the ACs and many other contributors to BU do not “see eye to eye,” they take their criticisms like women (and men), respond with a quick retort, a jovial insult or they simply laugh it off and move on.

Whatever the detraction, they never lose focus from expressing their beliefs or view point on any issue in the BU forum, despite what their opponents may state.

I can do no less than to admire the ACs for their MATURITY. They NEVER respond or behave in a manner similar to you. You just go on, and on, and on, and on, until it becomes quite juvenile.

Perhaps you could learn a “thing or two” from the ACs.

19. Artexeres. So busy carrying buckets of water for blp he changed his moniker to Sea egg

20. @ AC. Not true at all. I’m not Artax.

21. Rather, Artax is not Sea Egg. For your information, he’s into things financial. I’m into law.
    And you? What are you into?

22. Artax

It seems as though you’re anticipating a response from me? Well, firstly, let me address the issue regarding the words THEY, THEIR and THERE … I writing quite quickly on a cellphone which you know doesn’t have spellcheck, enough said on that issue.

Secondly, I do recall Mr. Sealy beating us quite badly to inculcated THEY, THERE and THEIR, shortly before he left the teaching profession to become a reporter back in the early 70’s.

Thirdly, I have never met a buller who was a police in all of my association with them. so your referenced to child molestation is pure bullshit sir! The only buller ever I knew or heard of was guy called Sergeant Beckles and he has been dead more forty years now of an heart attack. The police I knew were all ladies men, who ran down women morning, noon and night brother.

Fourthly, I don’t find you all guys very intellectual all, apart from AC and Moneybrain who thinks outside of the box often. Are you kidding Artax?

And lastly, your analysis of my charcater is just your analysis sir, and does not reflect the manner in which I view myself and others who knows me on the personal level do. And as I have said earlier: I am going to abide by the promise not to posting on the blog any longer. Now have a great afternoon sir… and continue to stewing in your own juices/self -righteousness.

23. “Her weak support within the party perhaps has acted as a delimiter.”
    Am a bit confused with that statement and what you are trying to convey when contrasted with your subsequent remark
    “Mottley has significant support still within the party”.

24. Sea Egg

Glad I have here because it is important you hear this one: a former minister of government got Utube a couple years, and said in no uncertain terms that when he corrects the papers sent to him by lawyers in Barbados, that he take out his red pen and undeline all of the grammatical you guys make continually. And that is a fact sir! And he I blame these errors on yall use of the internet / Microsoft Word!

25. Artexeres u are such a liar lol your writing style and charismatic linguistic wording is a dead give away. U need to refrain and use a more down to earth style with necessary flaws and a small dose of idiocy.

26. Wuh, shiite, Dompey…. I din expecting nuh response from you. I thought you did gone fuh good. Yuh mek me drink a whole bottle of Moet & Chandon in celebration. Don’t mek them type ah promises, yuh. I still have a bottle of Dom Perignon here just in case yuh decide dat dat is um fuh good.

@ ac

Please, I don’t have to change my name to attack you or anyone else. Look, I not too long ago give you some praise, doan leh me have to cuss yuh now.

27. Balance do not be surprised if the mia supporters get all tongue twisted and confuse in their efforts to give her some type of grounding for political mileage unfortunately the horse has already bolted out of the stable leaving plenty dust in the way

28. Artexeses look what must I say.even the devil gets his due. But Sea egg !no you are not! more like double dutch.lol

29. @ Dompey
    The first time I read something from you that makes a LITTLE sense. It is true that SOME lawyers can hardly put together a few sentences properly. I do see some briefs written by some of the well-known colleagues thast make you wonder if they were written by primary school children. Piss poor to say the least.
    But on another note, you need to step up your submissions in terms of quality content and stop trying to demonstrate your intellectual wharever

30. should be ….that make you…..

31. Where is sea egg today?

32. Hi AC
    Was in court all morning

33. Sea egg yuh know i think we might just get along well . i like” courting” ….LOL. just a little play on words,

34. Sea Egg
    As a member of the board of a certain school here,I listened first hand to a local attorney questioning a representative of the school in a disciplinary matter concerning one of the ancillary staff.His English was so bad,I couldn’t believe he got past Use of English on the Hill and enquired at the time; to hear that it was no longer compulsory.This is a school known for its high quality students,so you will appreciate the dismay of the Principal having to listen to this poor guy all suited up and looking the part, assaulting the English Language with tremendous success and quite serious about it.

35. Gabriel
    I hear the bad English everyday and it’s frightening to say the least.
    Back then we used to refer to it as useless English. Perhaps some would have taken it too literal.
    It is sad to say that for too many lawyers it’s all about style and glamour. Really sad. I could give you many instances where some lawyers turn up for meetings or even cases without adequate preparation and you would not believe the nonsense they spew. But I won’t. Really pathetic.

36. AC
    Before you post anything just try to think carefully about what you want to write. I’m not sure that you give enough thought to your posts. Not attacking you but most of it is too politically negative. We want issues raised and discussed. You don’t have to be defending the indefensible. You can do better so surprise all of us and try raising the bar. (No pun intended)

37. sea egg i hear you but what i interpret your message to say is for ac to take a position away for one of honesty to one which is tailored to this forum ,
    What i say in my comments are things i believe, where is the negativity ?far from being politically negative i am attacked for being too pro govt when in fact my allegiance is to my country,
    Most of the time my political angst feels a sense of betrayal of those would i believe have a self serving and political interest which i perceives to exude jubilation at the countries problems and that makes me so so angry,
    Maybe i am wrong in my perception but my replies are really geared as a buffer or that which a parent would do to protect it.s fragile child.
    i hope you understand my philosophy since most never try but would prefer to attack and name call

38. Goodmorning AC
    I think that I understand your philosophy as you term it. I’m sure you are very passionate about your beliefs. Can’t fault you there. My concern is that you often take a position which at times is contrary to common sense. Before you get your undies on wrong let me explain. It is quite evident that this government has promised to deliver the moon, stars and sun and so far it has not produced not even a smut lamp far less a candle.
    It has gone against everything on which it campaigned during the last elections. And you know this to be true. My last son is into his final year at UWI and he has to pay. Well, I have to pay. Of course I can afford it but he has friends who had to drop out because their parents could not afford to pay. I know of people who lost their jobs while their children were at UWI. What do you think happened to those children? I also know of some who could not even access any type of loan for their children’s education and yet you could find time to support these people in power?
    If you were to do a simple analysis of each ministry you may find that EACH AND EVERYONE has been a dismal failure. Be honest with yourself and take off the blinkers.
    I have not been attacking you personally, but it is the foolishness that you write. It shows that you are not thinking. I know that thinking is hard work, but give it a try. You may like it after all.
    Perhaps you are too close to the backsides of these people and you may need to step back and take a deep breath.
    Btw, what is it that any of the current ministers did successfully before taking up a ministerial position?
    Stop drinking the kool-aid and have some water instead.
    FYI, I’m not a member of any political party. I voted for the Dems in 2008, but they have since betrayed the trust I had in new leadership. Since then things have progressively worsened.

39. AC
    All we get from these people are lies continually, hence the disconnect which has resulted from the said people who elected them in the first place. They made themselves liars. It is said that a promise is a comfort to a fool and what this government has done is promised the fools some comfort.

40. LOL @ Sea Egg
    Boss, dat whacker you got too sweet doh!
    So far you have been the nicest, most respectful and kind-hearted blogger to call AC a foolish, brass bowl, ignorant, yard-fowl, jackass….

Shiite den! …you even get she to agree…. 🙂

Much ‘respeck’ to you Sea!!!

BTW
    AC’s panty problem is not about ‘putting them on wrong’…
    They are just too tight …

…thus forcing what should come out behind her, up towards her brain…
    LOl

41. Sea egg I hear you with all due respect for the compassion. However ac have to be convinced that the measures taken which were harsh was not meant with the best intentions of security the stability of the country.It is really hard to belive that a govt would seriously disconnect or uproot the social mechanism to usher in pain on its people.
    My problem with your comment it rather chooses to leave out the “root causes” with a disconnect which ignores and criss cross with giant leaps to place blame rather than face reality

42. Ha!

43. Or to use the young people’s slang – BURN!

44. Donna, prodigal son, Arttax there is a bet among friends on the amount of times and constituencies Ralph Thorne contested. Its part of a bigger wager on the amount of occasions he was Dee, Bee, NDP. The bet is that Thorne, Hal Martin ,Trevor Prescod and Commissiong are the top grasshoppers in political history. Just asking for a lil help to win the bet.

45. Sea Egg is saying the same thing I said. He is met with due respect whilst I……. AC is looking for FRIENDS. Tired of Dompey, I guess.

46. “Sea Egg is saying the same thing I said”
    Don’t come with that Donna…
    You see how sweet Sea Egg mouth is…?

Bushie just hope that Sea Egg is still around at the close of the season….

47. Hi Bushie
    I ain’t going nowhere. I hay fuh de long haul

48. Donna
    Don’t worry about AC and Dompey. Siamese twin. Inseparable and we don’t have a Ben Carson in Bim

49. And listen Donna friends have never been one of my best assets most of them are liabilities.
    Seriously BU would be the last place where I would invest my time and energy looking for friends
    You are such a loser

50. @ Sea Egg

You like you get you sea egg permit fuh dis munt only, yuh.

Sea egg, you are certainly correct by stating that the ACs (duh is nuff ah dum) “often take a position which at times is contrary to common sense.”

Let me give you two examples.

Firstly, you mentioned a few things that could be deemed as criticisms of this DLP administration. The ACs and their accomplices would characterize you as being a “BLP yard-fowl,” because they believe anyone who is critical of the government is a member of the BLP. The DLP is the party that forms the country’s administration and will be the party under scrutiny, not the BLP.

If a company recorded a decline in profits for a number of years, the owners would scrutinize management, not the employees or the competition.

Secondly, the ACs have argued that government’s failings have to be the fault of the Opposition, because a vibrant Opposition has to make sure the government “tows the line.”
    But the ACs always refer to the BLP’s 14 years of wastage and their lack of implementing policies, which is responsible for the economic position in which Barbados now finds itself.

Do you know the ACs want to absolve the then DLP Opposition from a similar responsibility?

You now see why people does got to cuss the ACs and suh dum stupid?

Dompey in a class by he self.