BU shares the Jeff Cumberbatch Barbados Advocate column – Senior Lecturer in law at the University of the West Indies since 1983, a Columnist with the Barbados Advocate since 2000 and BU commenter – see full bio.

MUSINGS: The guns of August
8/23/2015

[…]

Barbadians might be forgiven for thinking that our island in recent weeks had been transformed into some latter day Caribbean Dodge City or Tombstone Territory, given the alarming incidence of crimes involving the use of firearms. It is disconcerting enough when the offence involves mere unlawful possession, although if one judge from the newspaper photograph of one such weapon, preparations for an internecine civil war or a serious public assault might already be substantially underway.

This may be scary enough; however, when there eventuates the scenario of an innocent bystander’s life becoming the collateral damage of some unfriendly fire, the situation becomes even more terrifying.

Despite the populist diagnoses of this spate of gun violence, ranging from scarcely veiled partisan discourses on the degree of the contribution of the state of the economy and, by extension, depending on the speaker’s political allegiance, the indirect responsibility or non-responsibility of the governing administration for the current state of affairs, to the so-termed “slap-on-the-wrist” approach of the magistracy and judiciary to sentencing offenders that, as popular wisdom would have it, contributes immeasurably to all criminality in Barbados. There have been more broad hints than one in the public domain during the last week that some aspects of Sharia law may not be that bad after all.

Last week’s revelation from the acting Commissioner of Police, Mr Tyrone Griffith, of the police suspicion (he might have put it higher than that) that negligently or criminally inadequate oversight by local customs officers of incoming cargo is a major contributor to the presence of illegal firearms in this country was always going to set the cat among the pigeons in a jurisdiction where such sweeping generalisations are more than likely to raise the hackles and much otherwise of all the members of the class of individuals at whom fingers are pointed.

As to be expected, there is a report in another section of the press this morning (Saturday) that customs officers are “hopping mad” and their representatives “outraged” and befuddled at what has been reasonably interpreted as a generalised calumny on all customs officers.

Of course, I do not believe that this defamation was intended by the acting Commissioner, but it would have satisfied the requirements for actionability in the courts had he been any more particular in his assertions. Indeed, as I propose to tell the students in the law of Torts II lectures in a few weeks, when a wide class of individuals is impugned by a statement, no member of that class may sue successfully for defamation unless he or she is able to establish that there is something in the statement that would lead the ordinary hearer or reader reasonably to consider that the claimant was being referred to.

While this is the strict legal position, it is at least doubtful whether the customs officers would be detracted by such a technical consideration.

However, given that it would have been both defamatory and impolitic for the acting Commissioner to be any more specific in this context, there is necessarily now an impasse between the two entities to be judged in the court of public opinion. There the issues to be determined are whether the acting Commissioner was right to have made the police suspicion public without there having been at least the arrest and charge of one officer, and whether the customs officers are not being overly sensitive, given the allure of an argument that a proliferation of weapons in the island must include at least a number that were imported through the lawful ports of entry.

The workers’ representatives are nothing if not adamant that the Commissioner’s statements were more than unfortunate. While the more representative of these organisations, the National Union of Public Workers [NUPW], has termed them as “inflammatory, without basis” and serving only “to tarnish the reputations and integrity of all customs officers”, Mr Caswell Franklyn, the leader of the Unity Workers’ Union, argues that the police force was “more responsible for interdicting weapons than Customs given its superior facilities and training…”

What may be equally regrettable is the appearance of a public spat between these two governmental entities that are placed in the forefront of the interception of contraband into the jurisdiction. At a time when there are already publicly expressed fears that the interdiction of drugs, despite reports of periodic substantial seizures, is barely effective if at all in stemming the available local supply, any fissure in the scheme of co-operation between these agencies could scarcely be in the public interest.

Perhaps it may be that guns have become the new controlled narcotic substance and thus their imported presence here, like that of the latter, is inevitable.

For the average Barbadian, this maybe a future too terrible to contemplate. A combination of astute political leadership, the committed co-operation of the responsible authorities and judicious parenting would serve us all in good stead to alleviate the problem.

153 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Guns of August”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hants

Who cares?

It seems to me that the acting Commissioner has joined the fray in support of those who want Customs to become part of the Barbados Revenue Authority. I don’t know if he believes that destroying the reputation of customs officers would help Government to achieve that goal. Where is his proof? If he has any: he should arrest the perpetrators instead of defaming fellow law enforcement officers in this wholesale manner.

Maybe, he might be aware of an incident where an employee at the Airport is alleged to have been caught with a firearm, ammunition and a quantity of drugs. I am sure that that alleged perpetrator is not a customs officer. The acting Commissioner should investigate that allegation before he points his finger in the wrong direction. I am led to believe that family ties, and not customs ties, have saved that person from jail while he continues to have access to the Airport.

2. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mr. Franklyn

I wonder if you were to put that incident regarding the person caught with the weapon in an email question and send it to the COP and Adriel Nitwit tomorrow night rather tonight, if (i) it would be allowed to be read or (ii) he would answer the question?

3. Pieces,

Wait, you can’t sleep? I just wake up and went on BU to see one Alvin Cummins trying my patience and causing me to sin my soul. Boy he made me madder than you did when you questioned my Christian status. At least what you said had some truth to it in that I have sinned and still struggle with sin. I am a sinner. But that fool had the gall to call me a BLP operative, something I have NEVER been! I just can’t stand idiots!

4. Caswell,

Can you account for the character of every customs officer? How can you say that it is the wrong direction? It does not follow that because other persons who are not customs officers are doing it that customs officers are not doing it also. He may have his evidence.The reason no action has been taken on the customs officers he may be referring to could be that the person who is responsible for the shipment may be connected just as well as the airport worker.

5. This article is loaded with platitudinous- statements, truisms and a hold lot of irrelevant superficiality which fails to tell us what is fueling the recent surge of gun-violence in Barbados, and who are the main perpetrators of this paradigm shift in the infinitesimal island.

Nevertheless, I have noticed that when the economy is stressed the drug trade seems to flourish despite this changing development?

So in an economy that isn’t performing optimally, there is often a growing unemployment rate which keeps on escalating amongst the youth as government sought/seeks solutions to address this national crisis.

So therefore, is doesn’t take one versed
    in the theory of quantum physics to concluded that a young standing under light trying to comeback his incessant hunger pains, in an economy that shows no immediate sign of recovery isn’t going to be lure into drug trade where the divedends are high, and the risk to life and limb and possible incarceration is of little or not consideration to him, as he seeks to focus on feeding himself and family if he has one.

Now, as twisted as Bushie appears to be mentally, his life experiences ought to have taught this wooden-legged twisted mouth old bag that the recent surged in gun violence in Barbados is directly related to the high unemployment rate, the lack of proper enforcement and interdiction, and a growing moral-decadence amongst the youth.

6. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Donna,

I was saying the same thing about you!! When you reach de ole man age you does be afraid to close you eyes too long, lest dat fellow with the scythe creep up pun you. Tings like de dog pan scrapping in de night does frighten you (which remind me dat i gine hafta move she pan when she done eating causing she does pull um around reminiscent of de death charriot when de night come)

“Fret not thysrlf because of evil doers”

That Cummins fellow know how to sing for his supper so the same way that you going be in church later singing praises to Our Lord, he heah singing praises to his lords, all 16 uh dem nitwits.

Somebody gine probably want he to write a bood fuh dem or some sorta consultancy (normally de ole man does spell dat word with a variation but since it is you i speaking to i ent gine use it heah.

AC/DC Alternating Current or Direct Current as the initials hint are of the school that there are only two types of current and if you are not DLP then you must be BLP.

It is like me saying that you are an Anglican and me madam is a Pentecostal but den you will cuss all pentecostals whenever you see dem, en you ent got no idea in de world bout Catholics, Muslims, Budhists AND CERTAINLY NOT ATHEISTS

Some people doan get called a donkey only becausing dem does mek asinine statelment but some of dem, whose name I cannot cal, does really be wearing de blinkers dat de donkey does have on and myopic de same way.

Gu long tuh sleep de ole man gine look out fuh de noises fuh you …

7. Donna

Alvin, might quite possibly correct in his analysis of your political leaning because I have also gotten the same impression based on many of your recent statements here on BU.

8. Piece

It doesn’t take a hold lot of brains to discover that there are only two major political parties in Barbados, and if you’re not BLP then you’re obviously DLP or else you’re apolitical old one.

9. To Caswell’s point, and Jeff’s, why should the Commissioner be allowed to make generalizations without challenge? If he has intelligence do what good police forces do.

10. Dompey,

I do NOT have DLP or BLP blinkers on. I have a normal range of vision. Unlike some donkeys who keep trying to run in horse races.

11. Pieces,

Watch my back. I going catch a few more zzzz. The devil like he send his minions to make me sin my soul.

12. balance August 22, 2015 at 5:38 AM #

“but one cannot overlook the fact/s of the commissioners findings and their relevancy as to how the guns and drugs enter the country and the one worst case scenario of employees working at the ports of entry aiding and abetting gun and drug traffickers .This kind of information had to be given to the commissioner by several sources one which could be been person/s working within those environment and detecting / or people closely affiliated with traffickers and have and interest in telling”

How do we know that the Commissioner’s revelations are not the usual self-serving rhetoric of someone who a short while ago proclaimed that that crime is down and under control . Where is the evidence except for his mouthings and as the boys on the block in New Orleans rightly said why not go after the source if as you say you have the intelligence”

Br Cas not having your testicular fortitude, in my remarks above first posted under the “POW POW” commentary I refrained from alluding to that particular airport allegation where direct evidence should have fallen into the hands of the Commissioner and no prosecution or penalty has as yet resulted to the individual purportedly involved. Hence my contemptuous dismissal of the Commissioner’s grandstanding.

However on another note; it is my view that the system of allowing containers to be unstuffed away from the confines of the port in this present climate is fraught with danger and without going into specifics should be reviewed in its entirety.

13. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Dompey

There you go with the classic myopic interpretation in similar vein of that simpleton AC (which one? you might well ask. I shall plead the fifth so that there is no noise)

Here are some permutations that would be alien to some of you.

I could be an avowed DLPite or BLPite who does not like what the respective party is currently doing, and/or has a personal vendetta against its its current leadership, or jes doan like de man/woman, or feel that I should have been the PM, like the Eager 11, and have opted for a stance which IS NEITHER APOLITICAL, NOR partisan, as you have posited in your submission.

You love your mother but when she pelt them licks in your backside with the dog hunter, during them seconds the licks raining down, you ent in a loving frame of mind is you??

So too might be the circumstances relating to one’s stance about the party so there are more than the 3 states of being that you propose oh Domps

The problem with simpletons like Alvin is that they do not know grey and refuse to see it manifest in the moments before dawn and then at dusk being denizens of this planet who, even though having spent over a half century here AND WRITTEN (Some would say PLAGIARIZED??) Books, they have been on the planet long, observed little and learnt nothing.

Nonetheless you are to be congratulated for at least the effort as well as the fact that unlike Dufus, you saw three states instead of two so you still get a 4 1/2 out of ten for the effort. I am serious Domps,

Bush Tea is a harder marker than I will ever be but I feel that WITH TIME (possibly more time than the ole man gots left heah) you may one day be a 7 or 7 1/2.

And you owe it all to the Blogmaster who in the face of the Petition (you know the Banning Petition) has in his wisdom seen it wise to be kind, and adhere to the “Hope Springs Eternal From The Human Heart”

14. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right,

All good things must come to an end. In Donna we have someone who may just be capable of carrying your torch.

In an earlier blog I made a comment: “Since when has BU become a refuge for the bored housewife? The debate was meandering around at a pedestrian, monotonous pace and Donna was the chief instigator. She rightly assumed that the jibe was aimed at her.

Her reply to me was not very lady like. However in a later blog she came to my side after I had been savaged by a female contributor. Which I probably merited?

The point that I am trying to make is that we do not have sufficient female contributors to BU. The few we have such as Island gal 246, Donna and Simple Simon bring a different approach to the table; they are more conciliatory, less adversarial and more tolerant.

The Barbados political spectrum is composed of predominately identikit; corrupt alpha, Negro males who all seem to have a penchant for dressing up in sharp suits. Yet seem incapable of delivering cohesive and constructive political policies which will improve the lot of the common man.

This article is merely reactive. Those of who have contributed to the BU forum over many years have spoken of the rise in the number of firearms entering in Barbados way before it become a topic of discussion in the national media.

No disrespect to Mr Cumberbatch; but I believe that Barbados does not require yet another Negro male intellectual/political commentator. Instead Barbados should be tapping into that reservoir of female talent to bring an alternative and a more nuanced voice to the table.

15. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ David [BU]

Homonym or words that sound alike.

Wrote and rote, and as if to give some Divine Confirmation? of this point that i will make, in Dompey’s post at 5.am, “a hold lot” instead of whole lot…

Does the word Deafness have a homonym?

Does deftness pass? I am afraid it doesn’t but that word immediately sprand to mind as you posed the question earlier per the current Commissioner of Police and his comments about the Customs Officers fraternity.

deftness
    deft (dĕft)
    adj. deft·er, deft·est

Quick and skillful; adroit. See Synonyms at dexterous.

I copy that word from the internet.

Suppose you was gine into de horpital fuh a heart operation was you did gine run a public campaing saying dat de horspital nurses is whores and dat dem is nasty?

I realise dat you does ask dese questions en get we going, you gots to be a man who understand polemics and psychology doah

Let me put the question to you though in a next way regarding the deftness , or lack thereof as exemplified by the current Commissioner of Police.

I gine put dis question to you and to Mr. Franklyn.

I likes Mr Franklyn, he mouf ent easy.

Of the Commissioners of Police dat this cuntry has had, home many of them could ever be ascribed as being “deft’, I said deft not daft!!

16. @Piece

When some of you attack expect the alpha male to respond.

BU continues to ask – and perhaps the question can be asked of the COP later – whither this case?

http://www.barbadoslawcourts.gov.bb/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Griffith-v-Commissioner-of-Police-and-the-Attorney-General.pdf

On 23 August 2015 at 10:27, Barbados Underground wrote:

17. On the front page of today’s Nation newspaper: should Bejerkhahm be the person addressing security concerns at Port St.Charles? And if there are concerns should the security forces and others responsible not feel obligated to schedule a meeting to discuss behind closed doors? What does a public verbal pow wow achieve?

18. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Ahhhhhh Exclaimer man you bring goose bumps to de ole man skin, dat is the clossest ting to an erection dat de ole man does feel in he octogenarian years.

Arrector Pili muscles!!

De ole man does every once in a while talk bout de hand dat rocks de cradle rules de world!!

I is a male chauvanist pig or I was one till my Madam knock dat ingrunce out of me head.

I is still believe dat ummens is doan tink like we menses does BUT I gots a respect fuh wumens who are not in the clutches of menopause, bipolar mania or do not realise that they do change when menstruating…

I will NEVER use derogatory comments about a woman seeing her period, NEVER, but I was and am aware of the changes that significant others go through even to include pregnancy, pre and post.

None uh we is angels, whu every now and again de ole man does be here ranting bout putting a bullet to the skull of many of the sluggards and sloths who abound in our cuntry and who lead the charge of the malaise that affects our society.

Passion does mek us say some tings but, some of us, have “governors” and there are a number of “complimentary rational thoughts” that counterbalance those passionate mouthings.

I have seen Owen Arfur sit and keep smiling while a man to his right told him “you ent know you want killing doah, tek dis and dis and dis” and proceeded to pass him during a passionate game of dominoes.. Owen ent get de fellow arrest en lock up

Donna openly acknowledges that she is “a work in progress”, and you can see that, during all of the moments that she is genuinely working on the frailties that ALL OF US HAVE, but few of us want to admit to.

De ole man did never a drinker not a smoker but I was a womanist, en even now de remnant of leechery does come thru (dat is why Hants cud still sen de ole man to Krave Tent pun You tube.)

I is not gine tell you dat I doan go pun TBN and the Christian Channel but I acknowledge that other side as being a weakness still and submit myself to His Work in me.

Dere endeth that lesson.

19. Piece

I think that it is obvious to some of the conscientious observers here on BU that your writing seems to indicate a person at or someone who is nearing the point of dementia.

To repeat what you have indicated above really makes me question whether or not someone with your diminishing intellectual-capacity should be afford the opportunity to continue posting on this blog.

So I am a simpleton because I have engaged your point from and angle unlike what you were anticipating? Are your serious for real?

Sir your response further reinforces the fact that you need to be prescribed a daily dose antipsychotic medication to address your ever present psychosis associated with your emerging cognitive-insufficiency.

Now I only hope that you do not view what I have written as mean-spirited because I hold no visceral animosity towards you old-one, but I think that your intellectual marbles have taken a turn and headed south.

20. Exclaimer,

Never aimed to be a “lady”. Always saw “ladies” as being too restricted. Just want to be a decent woman. As I recall my reply to you was-

I am neither bored nor a housewife. I am just a person who is interested in the opinions of others. Besides, I’d rather be a bored housewife than a person like you who would seek to exclude bored housewives from national discourse. By the way, I read that they recently discovered a new species of human before homo sapiens. Could those have been your bones they dug up?

Unlike “doormats” or “ladies” I usually call a spade a spade. I have agreed with you before that comment and also since. If the devil had a good idea I would agree with him. But he never does. I have heard drunk men with good ideas. I have heard ac with good ideas. I have heard Dompey with good ideas. Even a stopped clock is right twice a day. I would agree with my worst enemy if he came up with a good idea. I have already told my twelve year old son that if he follows the multitudes to do evil don’t expect me to pay any lawyers with my nest egg. I would stand in the courtyard wailing and holding my belly and my money would remain nicely at the Credit Union. I would visit him at Dodds every visiting hour. I would never desert him. But he would have to pay the price for his actions. I have also told him if I believe him to be innocent I would spend every cent of my nest egg in his defence. My son knows I mean what I say.

I am a straightforward person. I believe in God and goodness and right and wrong. If I am wrong then I am wrong. If my son is wrong then he is wrong. If my party is wrong then it are WRONG!

The party I have voted for since 1981 is now mostly WRONG!

Let the bird brains keep clucking. That’s what yard fowls do. That and lay eggs. Of the rotten kind lately.

21. Pieces,

Like my nap WERE too short. ‘if my party is wrong then it ARE wrong” . Ha, ha!

22. If Pieces lost half of his mind he would still have more than some people.

23. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Exclaimer

I ent forget how you really wanted to talk bout de guns doah.

Dem was always guns in Barbados and that there were also illegal guns is evidenced in the Laws that were made, and the fines levied, on those who had the illegal ones, over the centuries.

We all agree that “one illegal weapon is one weapon too many”, notwithstanding that the Commissioner of Police has the sole responsibility of issuing gun licenses, and that he seems sometimes inclined to hive guns to the idiotic gunslingers in Parliament.

What then is probably the bigger concern is the quantum of illegal weapons in circulation and, most important, is the type of weapon and (in some cases) its commensurate kevlar piercing ammunition.

If you do the maths on this, for every 1,000 law biding citizens there is probably a criminal and 10 idiots and for every 1,000 of these criminals 20 have guns, and of the 10 idiots 2 have guns, for ever 20 criminals that have guns 10 are idiots and of the 10 idiots who are not criminals, 3 have guns.

So we have criminals who have guns, idiots who have guns, criminals who are idiots who have guns, and idiots who are not criminals who have guns and then of course we have the David Estwicks and Dale Marshalls, politicians who are by definition idiots and lawyers who are by definition criminals who also have guns.

There were always idiots Exclaimer but before it was not easy for these idiots to get a gun because those who had guns did not let the idiots get the guns and the criminals were not idiots AND DID NOT LEND, RENT OR SELL IDIOTS A GUN.

Even the criminals and I knew and still know a few, knew that a gun in the hand of an idiot was a danger to themselves.

A fellow hit you and you went to the police, (who came when you called – I hope that that catch-all derogatory statement about the RPBF does not insult any one) at worst, you looked for bottle or rock to threaten to hit him with, and even if you let go the first stone, you made sure to miss him, but he understood that he was not to mess with you.

Those subtle degrees of “escalation” or options DO NOT EXIST NOW!! IF YOU DISS A MAN, you got to bury him causing he gine come and bury you!!

Exclaimer, when you go to cut your lawn, do you carry a scissors or a chain saw? You will give me a reasoned response but you see the convoluted venn diagram ignorance that I described above? That is the madness of what we are encountering on the streets.

We have bred idiocy of such complexity that Dipshits and Nitwits like Adriel Nitwit Brafwit DOES NOT HAVE the Intellectual Currency to Deal with it

We really PHUCKED and dont have any way out of this one do we?

24. On Sunday, October 20, 2013 during his speech at an awards ceremony to honour police officers for their years of dedicated service, held at Solidarity House, Acting Commissioner of Police, Tyrone Griffith urged corrupt officers to “do the right thing and bow out now,” lest they “sully the reputation of an otherwise great organization.”

Griffith also stated: “It is also your responsibility to do all in your power to eradicate those small pockets of persons whose conduct has been unethical and sometimes downright corrupt.”
    “I know those persons; you know those persons; and they know who they are. They should do the right thing and bow out. I will be doing all in my power to rid the organization of them.” [Source: BGIS Media, October 21, 2013]

Recently, during the force’s annual conference held at Solidarity House on January 29, 2015, Griffith reiterated his position on crooked policemen. He said a small percentage of officers in the Royal Barbados Police Force are unscrupulous and even evil, and warned that there was no place for rogue policemen in the constabulary. His comments came against the background of an increasing number of police officers who were brought before the law courts on various charges. [Source: Nation New, January 29, 2015]

Obviously, Griffith, who was attached to the CID for a number of years, would have also based his comments on intelligence received and his experience in the force.

I “said the above to say” politicians are not the only individuals that are corrupt; corruption can be found in every organization in Barbados. Hence, Customs officials should work in a collaborative with police, acquire the relevant intelligence and conduct their own internal investigations.

Kudos must be given to the acting Commissioner for ADMITTING there is a level of corruption within the police force.

Rather than “jumping and hollering fuh murder” when issues of corruption are leveled against them, perhaps other law enforcement agencies should seek to rid their departments of rogue officers as well.

25. There is a ground swell among some political operatives for a called for transparency legislation which was prescribed and written into the DLP manifesto under the leadershp of DT.
    However what is interesting that when officialdom exercised a certain amount of leverage to give crucial and critical information what transpires after such information is given can be referenced as gunshots coming from armed political bandits to shoot down the messenger and the message
    What i am referencing are the politicos who have an urgent message of defense to guard and protect their own turf and to distant themselves from the truth using rage and hostility with an effervescent vibrancy of legalistic banter to dilute the message of the COP which serves no other purpose then their own
    A classic remaking of Jack Nicholson line, ” you want the the Truth .You can.t handle the Truth”

26. BTW a few of BU vocal voices are missing , If there are still breathing hope they would be so kind to give their valuable input on this very important subject, (missing in action ) are MILLER and ROSS.

27. Artaxerxes,

Only a fool would not admit that there are bad apples in every profession. Never knew the Commissioner to be a fool. I could call him some other not so flattering things in his private life but never a fool. There are bad teachers, religious leaders, doctors, lawyers, policemen, judges and CUSTOMS OFFICERS. Likewise there are good apples in all professions. Seems like people take everything personally these days at the risk of sounding stupid. All similar enforcement bodies worldwide have similar problems of corruption. So are these customs officers saying that our department is the one incorruptible force? Please!

When I first realized that containers are allowed to be opened and checked outside of the Port I was flabbergasted. When I saw how they were checked I was even more flabbergasted. The possibilities are endless.

I believe that the Commissioner knows what he is saying. I am skeptical that he will be allowed to do anything about it. His hands may soon be tied tighter than Orville Durant’s. He may have to resign himself to catching the petty drug pushing foot soldiers who believe they have escaped working for an oppressive slave master but have actually hopped from the frying pan into the fire. It is just a quicker death.

Maybe somebody could use that angle when educating the youth. Or maybe they prefer that quicker death.

Back on topic, the Commissioner may just have to resign himself to catching the boys on the block or if he gets frustrated just resign and be a whistleblower. AND watch his back in another country far, far, away

28. The following brief, could very well be, at the very heart, foundation of our problems, as a society.

With hurricane “God is [my] Judge” knocking at the door . . . are we indulging the Laodicean lock-out spirit?
    Inbox
    x

kairos gem
    Aug 22 (1 day ago)

Colleagues:

This weekend, we who live in Montserrat, Antigua and St Kitts etc prepare to face a hurricane named God is [my] Judge.

There is an irony in that, as most people do not know what the name Daniel means.

At this time, I feel a strong need to share a concern with church and region — even as a sometimes dismissed voice crying in the wilderness — on the need to change course when (often unrecognized) time is not on your side.

It holds personally, but also for families, churches, organisations, governments, communities, our region and the wider world.

I think, for example, that the attempt to create under false colour of law, a notion that Adam can marry Steve, Sue Mary, and maybe soon Fido too, is a break-point for our civilization as a direct attack on the foundational creation order institution for the sound reproduction and nurture of our race.

It is no accident that in Rom 1 Paul speaks about cultures that profess to be wise even as they set out on a suicidally self-destructive march of folly.

When we turn our backs on God as a civilisation — in the teeth of abundant evidence of his reality, love and righteous concerns (not to mention judgements) culminating in Messiah who has come to us — we necessarily set out on a march of folly to ruin.

And when we lock out the knowledge of God from the foundation of all knowledge we force ourselves to build without foundations on shifting sands even as the storms draw nigh.

I beg to remind again of the colour-coded prophetic alert levels/phases of judgement I have spoken of for many years now, in the context of Daniel (and to discuss onward Government and nationhood under God::

http://www.angelfire.com/pro/kairosfocus/resources/Government_under_God.htm#prelims

29. PSALM 127:1

Laboring and Prospering with the Lord.

“Unless the LORD builds the house, (Family, parish, Nation) They labor in VAIN who build it. Unless the LORD guards the city (Ports of entry, etc) the watchman stays awake in VAIN.”

Have we become so wise in our own FOLLY, that we can no longer discern, that we are on a sinking sand foundation, of utter ruination and ultimate destruction!!??

Specifically, we may think in terms of three levels of God’s judgement of the nations, which — as Psalm 24:1 -2 and the Parable of the Vineyard and Tenants in Lk 20:9 – 19 remind us — are his tenants; and since this is being written in volcano-stricken Montserrat, let’s highlight the levels with appropriate warning level “colour codes”:

YELLOW: We are fallen creatures in a morally ordered world, where sin leads to death: we are subject to the judgement of consequences. [Jas. 1:12 – 18, Rom. 6:23, Prov. 14:12 .]
    ORANGE: God, in loving mercy, sends his prophets and especially his Son to warn, redeem, correct and call us to repentance and reformation: corrective judgements and chastisements. [Amos 3:7 – 8, John 3:16 – 17, Heb. 1:1 – 14, Matt. 28:18 – 20.]

RED: If we insist on disobeying God — that is, on “sin/business as usual” — we will surely be destroyed by our sin: destructive judgement. [Deut. 8:17 – 20, John 3:18 – 21, Rom 1:16 – 32.]

So, it is high time for us in the Caribbean to wake up to our peril, and turn back to God; in the hope and prayer that he will graciously forgive and rescue us from our folly.
    But, also, speculative eschatological escapism is of great concern to those who are inclined to take the Bible seriously, for such an attitude distracts us from the direct relevance of Daniel to the business of government in the community in our time, and in our place: the C21 Caribbean. However, while indeed Daniel contains many prophecies of the End of Days — some of which are “closed up and sealed until the time of the end” [12:9] — there is much in that Book that speaks to us as we set about just government under God.

30. Piece

It would appear as though you do not understand or you’re short of the capacity to comprehend that the circulation of illegal guns in Barbados are not being employed for personal protection.

These illegal weapons are being employed in the commission of criminal activity in Barbados, as we have seen in the wider -world today.

So the fact that the Commissioner of Police in Barbados is issuing gun permits to citizens who meets the standard criteria, and those persons turn around and illegally rent out those weapons isn’t the commissioner’s fault.

I don’t see where or how this constitutes poor judgment on the part of the commissioner of police?

But you’re quite correct old-one illegal- weapons have always been part and parcel of the Barbadian society, and police in my day carried the bulk load of them.

Prior to 9/11 the Royal Police Band travelled to New York annually, and I can recalled quite vividly the band members returning from visiting to New York with plenty of illegal which their distributed to the members throughout the force back in the day. But you see prior to 9/11, immigration in the United States and here in Barbados never expected the members of the police band, so their were able to conceal these guns in their instruments at liberty.

31. The central point provoked by Jeff’s column and other views on the same topic is that there seems to be an inevitable result given the direction we are headed.

32. Interesting from a secular perspective!

DONALD TRUMP: WARRIOR MALE EXTRAORDINAIRE
    Exclusive: Kent G. Bailey, Ph.D., says such men have ‘sustained the human race’
    Published: 2 days ago

image: http://www.wnd.com/wp-content/plugins/wp-print/images/print.png

Republish Reprint
    By Kent G. Bailey, Ph.D.

In 1987, I published the first book in the field of Human Paleopsychology. This approach is premised on two basic assumptions: First, human beings have an ancient and rich evolutionary history, and second, that ancient history is thoroughly involved in everything we feel, think and do personally, politically and morally. According to famed neuroscientist Paul MacLean, the human brain is composed of a primeval reptilian segment at the lowest level, a mammalian segment at mid-level and a human or neocortical segment at the highest level. I added the notion that we human beings are constantly “regressing down” or “progressing up” MacLean’s triune brain system in the natural flow of behavior.

The concept of “paleopolitics” is an obvious derivative of human paleopsychology. Indeed, we may easily infer that humans are, at base, political animals who obey more the law of the jungle than the pieties of high culture or the moral righteousness of the godly. Politics is selfish and egoistic, tribalistic and xenophobic to its core, and will readily go to war to win at any cost. It sells itself as “progressive” and of higher things yet most often operates in the gutters of human nature. Politics is not for fops, Pollyannas or the faint-hearted; it is internecine war by another name. It is the game of war, and only the true warriors win.

In the past 60 years or so, America has become progressively feminized, and the archetypal warrior male has virtually disappeared. However, some tough ladies have stepped in to fill the vacuum including Phyllis Schlafly, Laura Ingraham, Sarah Palin and Michelle Malkin and many others. But how would any of these wonderful and strong women compete head-to-head in a private conference room with Vladimir Putin, Kim Jong-un of North Korea, or the mullahs and emirs of the volatile Middle East? We have seen how poorly our current girly-man-in-chief, Barack Obama, has dealt with the world of violent supermales out there. From the dawn of time, mutual respect among warrior males is the coin of the realm in these matters.

Fox News’ Megyn Kelly seems to see herself as an alpha female capable of taking on any and all opposition – male or female. Yet, when set against the unadulterated masculine intellectual powers and cunning of Donald Trump, it was not a fair fight. She was overpowered to the point of speechlessness and had to take a 10-day vacation to lick her wounds. When the ladies operate within a protective penumbra of political correctness in a highly feminized culture of girly men, it is pretty easy to win intellectual pillow fights.

In 2006, I published a column suggesting that Ann Coulter was the last of the “real men” on the intellectual right. I believe that Ann is the closest on the distaff side to the “in your face warrior hawk” profiled in that article. She may be the brightest and most courageous conservative intellectual in the country who can breathe fire when fire is needed – and that is most of the time. She has wonderfully set the stage for her male warrior counterpart, Donald Trump, who takes primal maleness to levels unseen for at least half a century. The everyday people of America long for strong warrior male leadership of the kind that has sustained the human race from the dawn of time.

Do you support Donald Trump’s no-nonsense candidacy? Tell the world with this brand new magnetic bumper sticker: “DONALD TRUMPS THE REST”

Donald Trump is the prototypical, archetypal and testosterone-driven alpha male who rules by the sheer force of his personality, imposing physique, quick wit, mastery of repartee and almost hypnotic control over his gathering masses of adoring followers. He is Attila to the Huns, Henry V to the outnumbered English army, Winston Churchill to desperate allied forces, and now our fearless leader against the pagan forces of progressivism and political correctness. He is the unapologetic, quintessential warrior male of yore capable of vanquishing any and all opposition in his way.

Trump is not a clown, a bloviating buffoon, an intimidating bully, or just a really rich guy hoping to buy America as a shiny new toy. He is ambitious to a fault, relentless in his desire to control, own and build, and he has success written into the DNA of every cell of his body. Yes, he is egotistical, over the top at times, and less soft and sentimental than some would like, but I think he would do pretty well in that closed conference room with Putin or Kim. They would respect him but not necessarily like him. These are the ways of the warrior males who have ruled the world from the beginning of time.

Kent G. Bailey, Ph.D., is professor emeritus of clinical psychology at Virginia Commonwealth University and has published three books and various articles in the field of human paleopsychology.

Read more at http://www.wnd.com/2015/08/donald-trump-warrior-male-extraordinaire/#7doC6g7lQeUMzStH.99

33. Interesting article.
    “plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose”
    I remember coming home from a village fair in the 70’s and a friend calling me to his window to show me something. I found myself looking in the barrel of a gun. I departed from Barbados in the early 80’s but as I read the various musing and posting, it seem as I have taken a time machine to a time in the past.
    plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose

34. I seem to recall an incident years ago when a member of the BPF was caught at a NY airport smuggling a gun in a turkey,

It might be easy to talk of police officers and custom officials, but in such a small island it might be a network
    of acquaintances who are turning a blind eye for each other.

35. BU inquired from Wade Gibbons on his FB page about the Commissioner of Police vs Tyrone Griffith case to be found on the High Court website. He offered the view that it was a trumped up charge by former CoP Orville Durant of me hands tied fame. Hinds Dottin and even back then we had Durant Griffith. And we wonder…

36. Zoe August 23, 2015 at 9:34 AM

According the Bible, Jesus and his disciples prophesied the conditions that would prevail before the end of time and His (Jesus) return to earth.

Matthew 24:5 – 7: “(5) For many will come in my name, saying, ‘I am the Messiah,’ and they will deceive many. (6) You will hear of wars and reports of wars; see that you are not alarmed, for these things must happen, but it will not yet be the end. (7) For nation shall rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom: and there shall be famines, and pestilences, and earthquakes, in divers places.”

Timothy 3: 1 – 5: “(1) But understand this, that in the last days there will come times of difficulty. (2) For people will be lovers of self, lovers of money, proud, arrogant, abusive, disobedient to their parents, ungrateful, unholy, (3) heartless, unappeasable, slanderous, without self-control, brutal, not loving good, (4) treacherous, reckless, swollen with conceit, lovers of pleasure rather than lovers of God, (5) having the appearance of godliness, but denying its power.”

The content of your contributions as it relates to your associating world events to Bible prophesies, suggests that you believe the Bible is the Word of God and His prophesies MUST be fulfilled.

Because of the unfolding world events, Bible enthusiasts are of the opinion these are the “last days.”

If you are adamant that God’s prophesies MUST be fulfilled, is it not contradictory for you to imply “it is high time for us in the Caribbean to wake up to our peril, and turn back to God; in the hope and prayer that he will graciously forgive and rescue us from our folly?”

Perhaps it may have been better for you to advise that we should seek God, ask for forgiveness of our sins and live a better life until death, we would be rewarded accordingly after judgment day.

Common sense tells me if we pray or not, those of us who may be alive at that time, will inevitably have to endure the prophesied calamities associated with the “last days.”

37. If my memory serves me correctly, that case arose out of an issue involving Griffith’s alleged involvement in the illegal importation of vehicles from England. It was also alleged that the two detectives who accompanied the acting Inspector, were from Scotland Yard.

Additionally, former police officer, Leroy Cumberbatch (who was in active service at the time of the alleged car importation racket) was also suspected to be involved suspended as well.

Ironically, Cumberbatch, also known as “The Crow” in the police calypso arena, was one of three individuals arrested and charged following the seizure of 123 lbs of cannabis and 32 kgs of cocaine off South Point, Christ Church on Monday, March 16, 2015.

The fact that Griffith (once described as a “rising star” within the force) was reinstated, received multiple promotions and has been appointed acting commissioner, suggests, as Gibbons stated, he may have been a victim of “trumped up charges.”

38. Artaxerxes,

Bingo! Makes no sense at all to believe the prophesy and then call for change. I’ve been saying that for years. Me? I and others in certain circles view the Bible in a non -fundamentalist way. Then it makes sense because the “prophesy” is seen in a different light. Otherwise we are left trying to explain away the inexcusable. And God seems nothing like the One Jesus was supposed to have revealed.

39. Artaxerxes,

Quite true about that case. Remember it well.

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

He may have been the victim of trumped up charges or he may be a Dem and hence his appointment to act as Commissioner, that may be something to consider before you come to a conclusion.

41. Artax
    There were two young “rising stars” both from St.Lucy and HC and round the same age who joined the BPF at the same time. What became of the other?

I suspect that quite a few here are old HC boys around my age.

42. Donna August 23, 2015 at 12:21 PM #

“Bingo! Makes no sense at all to believe the prophesy and then call for change. I’ve been saying that for years. Me? I and others in certain circles view the Bible in a non -fundamentalist way.”

I agree with you 100%, Donna. One of the reasons why I usually do not become involved with Bible arguments is because the Bible enthusiasts often interpret certain Bible verses based on emotionalism or convenient to specific situations, while ignoring to comment on verses pertaining to that issue, but written within a particular context.

Let’s examine a Bible perspective on children. The enthusiast are quick to quote Proverbs 13:24: “He who spares his rod hates his son, But he who loves him disciplines him promptly,” when discussing issues of child discipline.

However, I have never recalled them ever mentioning Proverbs 13: 22: “A good person leaves an inheritance for their children’s children, but a sinner’s wealth is stored up for the righteous.”

But why have an obsession with beating children and using the Bible as justification?

I believe there are other Proverbs that, if taught and reinforced by parents, churches, etc., may deter children from engaging in actions to avoid beatings. The following are 3 examples.

1) Proverbs 1:7 – “The fear of the LORD is the beginning of knowledge; fools despise wisdom and instruction.”

2) Proverbs 3:5-8 – “Trust in the LORD with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight. Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the LORD and turn away from evil. It will be healing to your body and refreshment to your bones.”

3) Proverbs 14:27 – “The fear of the LORD is a fountain of life, that one may avoid the snares of death.”

43. @ Caswell Franklyn August 23, 2015 at 12:26 PM #

“Artaxerxes: He may have been the victim of trumped up charges or he may be a Dem and hence his appointment to act as Commissioner, that may be something to consider before you come to a conclusion.”

There MAY be some truth in your above comments, Caswell, but based on David’s 11:26 am post, re:

“BU inquired from Wade Gibbons on his FB page about the Commissioner of Police vs Tyrone Griffith case to be found on the High Court website. He offered the view that it was a trumped up charge by former CoP Orville Durant……..”

I only suggested that Gibbons’ response MAY be true as well. Perhaps you should redirect your comments to him. Lol.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

@ The Observer

I cannot recall their names at this time.

44. Caswell,

Griffith was promoted regularly under both administrations, I believe. He was earmarked as a potential commissioner for many, many years.

45. Araaxerxes,

True. While people hold the view that the Lord is going to rain down fire and brimstone on us for our evil ways I believe that the stew we now cook in is just a natural consequence of our actions. No need for God to intervene. We have cooked our own goose on this earth pretty well.

It’s like if you keep having sex with irresponsible guys, God does not intervene and punish you with an unwanted pregnancy. That’s just a natural consequence of our stupid actions. When the guy literally leaves you holding the baby, it’s not God who made him leave you to struggle to raise the child alone. Natural consequences of your actions.

On a national level as well as an individual level what sweeten goat mout does burn he tail. Check it out! Stop blaming God for our destruction. He instructs us, watches us and weeps for all His stupid children. Then He gives strength to those who ask to do the necessary.

Now back to the topic.

46. @ Donna

That’s true, “Ty P” Griffith as well as former police officer, Exley (Austin, if that’s his correct surname and I’m subject to correction as it relates to him) received double promotions “back in the day.” However, “Ty P’s” suspension created a pathway for officers such as Lionel “Mark” Thompson and Erwin Boyce, both of whom are widely favoured to be the next CoP.

Unfortunately, many good officers resigned from the force to join other regional constabularies that offered higher remunerations (e.g. Bermuda and Cayman Islands), to recruited as security officers by UWI Cave Hill, Barbados Community College, Sandy Lane Hotel, BNB/Republic Bank and security firms or pursue careers in the private sector.

Others resigned after completing their law degrees to pursue careers as lawyers. Acting magistrates Alliston Seale and Elwood Watts were police officers before becoming public prosecutors.

Then there are those officers who retired medically unfit.

47. Corruption is not confined to the Police or Customs, but Immigration as well.

Recall in 2013 an Immigration Officer was arrested and charged with the offence of “Misconduct in a Public Office,” in connection with human trafficking of 5 Guyanese nationals, after a police operation at a Bar at Nelson Street, Bridgetown on 18 April 2013.

He was not required to plead to the charge that, being a public officer on February 20, 2013, he provided information to a Guyanese woman which he knew to be false and which he knew would be used to obtain an extension to her stay.

48. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

Don’t believe everything you read even if a person was charged. The person misconducting him/herself in public office was not the officer in question. They now have a problem: how to get rid of this charge without looking bad. The officer in question has been on full-paid leave ever since while authorities try to figure out how not to look foolish while disposing of this matter.

49. @Caswell

It appears you and your school buddy are not on the same page re the CoP (ag).