Walter Blackman - Actuary and Social Commentator
Walter Blackman – Actuary and Social Commentator

The following submission is reprinted from May 2014.  Walter’s view: “As an update, the situation has worsened. At the end of March 2015,

the amount of Barbadians who are of working age […] = 222,400. Of that number, only 127,900 found employment. Therefore, 94,500 Barbadians are unemployed. This means that, today, Barbados has a gross Human Unemployment Rate (HUR) of 42.5%. It was 41% for 2013. The amount of unemployed persons at the end of 2013 stood at 88,000. At March 2015, it is 95,000. At August 2015, it must now be higher because young adults recently left school and there are no jobs available for them!”

Reprinted from May 2014:

Based on official demographic numbers put out by the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs recently, I have calculated that there were 214,100 Barbadians available for work in 2013. Out of that number, only 126,300 persons were actually employed.

This means that 87,800 Barbadians of working age did not have jobs in 2013. When translated into a concept that measures the wastage of our human resource, this also means that the Human Unemployment Rate (HUR) for Barbados was 41% in 2013.

All Barbadians, on one hand, should justifiably feel a sense of pride in the fact that Barbados has attracted immense global respect for its high ranking based upon the United Nations’ Human Development Index. On the other hand, however, a Human Unemployment Rate of 41% demonstrates to the world that whilst our governments have provided, and are continuously striving to provide, critical developmental services for our citizens (education, health care, security etc), only about 59% of our workforce is being utilized. Put differently, we are investing millions of dollars in raising and educating our people, but no successful policies are being implemented to enable them to work and make a meaningful contribution to the economic development of their country.

Out of the 3,500 students who finished school in 2013, very few have succeeded in getting jobs. How many school leavers will get jobs in 2014? Fewer still. To give you an idea of how serious our unemployment situation is, imagine that for the past 25 years, not one student leaving school in Barbados has been able to find a job.

Given the destructive, wasteful, and corrupt practices which have seeped into the area of public finance in Barbados over the past 35 years, a Human Unemployment Rate of 41% at this time is almost fatal economic news for our country. The cumulative effect of these practices are now forcing us to stare some serious questions in the face: Can the government of Barbados adequately service a debt burden of $10 billion, repay its $2 billion obligation to the NIS fund, meet its mounting, unfunded civil service pension obligations, and pay for salaries and services with only 59% of a small workforce being employed? Can we, as a country, earn enough foreign exchange to support our 2 to1 peg to the US dollar with a whopping 41% of our workforce remaining idle? Can we achieve these national objectives in the presence of widening fiscal deficits, paltry global exports, and limited borrowing options triggered by government’s inability to pay its debts?

If the answer to all of these questions is a resounding “No”, then, given our current human unemployment rate, there is no feasible solution to our public finance and national economic problems. Looking at our situation from a black hole perspective, we are now heading towards the event horizon. A downward spiral has started in earnest, and in many cases, an already bad situation is going to get worse. Let me give you an idea of what I mean.

The fiscal problems confronting the government of Barbados cry out for a solution that involves job creation and attendant expanding government revenues. At the same time, unfortunately, diminishing exports, excessive borrowing, poor planning, and low international credit ratings have combined to create a foreign exchange crisis for Barbados. The foreign exchange crisis, in turn, has become the most urgent and overpowering force in the local economy and it has brought in the IMF, the ultimate lender of last resort, to make financial and economic decisions for us that our leaders were not capable of making. In an attempt to inject some measure of fiscal responsibility into the management of our country’s public finances, and by extension, to safeguard the interests of our foreign creditors, the IMF has effectively initiated a series of layoffs in Barbados. These layoffs, along with other financial problems confronting the government, have depressed aggregate economic demand, and have directly triggered layoffs in the private sector as well. The Human Unemployment Rate which stood at 41% in 2013 is therefore rising appreciably in 2014. An already bad situation has worsened, and there is no relief in sight.

Given the fact that we have 88,700 able-bodied Barbadians who are not working, what policies and ideas are being highlighted and pursued by the government with the aim of solving the problem?

A few weeks ago, we were treated to a somewhat instinctive proposition which came from the Honourable Mr. Ronald Jones, Minister responsible for Education. Ostensibly inferring that the government does not like the idea of cutting its expenditure, the minister argued that Barbados needs more economic activity which would enable the government to collect more taxes to cover its expenditure. Fair enough, up to that point. However, where the minister started to raise the cynical eyebrows of his detractors is when he recommended, as a solution to the problem, the production of many more babies than are being born currently in Barbados.

The minister’s recommendation of an increase in baby production in Barbados (whether by fornication, adultery, hook, crook, or traditional marriage) as a solution to our current economic problems, must have sparked some interesting conversation and responses in the offices, rum shops and living rooms across Barbados.

On the religious front, the Church has always held the position that sex and procreation should be reserved for married couples only. Yet so far, the voices within the Church, the traditional bulwark of our societal morality, have remained relatively silent in the face of a deafening cry from a minister of the Crown for engagement in indiscriminate, wanton, baby-producing sex.

On the family planning front, we have been advised for the past 40 years, that it is of extremely critical importance for Barbados, a small island state with scarce limited resources and with one of the highest population densities in the world, to keep a firm lid on the growth of its population. The minister’s solution represents a shot across the bow of the Barbados Family Planning Association’s efforts which are aimed at keeping our population from exploding.

In Barbados, health practitioners and AIDS counselors have been highlighting the risks associated with unprotected sex, given the presence of the AIDS virus in many fertile Barbadians. The minister’s call for an upsurge in unprotected sex, to produce more babies, amounts to an invitation for Barbadians to increase the incidence of AIDS in their country.

On the human unemployment front, therefore, it is fair to conclude that the honourable Minister of Education has more faith in the strategy of waiting for babies to grow up and revive the national economy than in coming up with policies to generate jobs for the 88,700 Barbadians who are currently waiting to be employed. We can only hope that the other members of the cabinet hold a different philosophical position on this matter.

For the unemployed in Barbados today, the future looks rather uncertain and bleak. At the individual level, some of our jobless are hearing daily about the need to become entrepreneurs, but they have little or no experience, no guidance from a successful model in place, no business skills or training, and no finance to transform themselves from being ‘dreamers’ into successful entrepreneurs. Others are trying a ‘thing’ in the underground economy. Others are sending out hundreds of job applications and are hoping against hope that a few big projects would open up and create some jobs, even if temporarily. After many years of trying, others have given up and have decided to rely on someone else for support.

The future of the entire country depends on our ability to put these 88,700 people to work. Somehow, we have to wrap our collective minds around the central objective of coming up with ideas that can generate jobs for our fellow Barbadians and that rely on no financial contribution or commitment from government.

Can we do it?

Walter Blackman is a pension actuary, licensed by the Federal Government of the USA.

186 responses to “The Human Unemployment Rate in Barbados – a cause for serious concern”

1. The following extract from Walter’s submission is interesting given the recent interaction between an unemployed person and David Ellis this week.

For the unemployed in Barbados today, the future looks rather uncertain and bleak. At the individual level, some of our jobless are hearing daily about the need to become entrepreneurs, but they have little or no experience, no guidance from a successful model in place, no business skills or training, and no finance to transform themselves from being ‘dreamers’ into successful entrepreneurs. Others are trying a ‘thing’ in the underground economy. Others are sending out hundreds of job applications and are hoping against hope that a few big projects would open up and create some jobs, even if temporarily. After many years of trying, others have given up and have decided to rely on someone else for support.

2. The above comment is not epedemic to barbados, nations all over the world are struggling(for lack of a better word) to put policies in place whereby a substantial amount of its populace would be skilled and receptive to becoming self reliant and not having a need to be dependent solely on govt for jobs and financial support which in fact is a burden to taxpayers,
    Another factor which should be brought into this discussion is lack of vision from previous govts her at home who had the where with all and financial support to implement a number of growth initiatives which should have been part of early childhood school curriculum as preparation for the youth when they enter the workforce

3. From the time I was a girl, the majority of folks in Oistins were always self employed. As a girl growing up in another part of Christ Church I always admired the fisherfolk. Bernard St. John represented this area in parliament. Most of the women opted to own their own busineses. Cleaning fish and selling. Now with the new fish market many are owners of stalls in the Bay Gardens where their culinary skills are a great treat to locals and tourists. These women never asked Mr. St. John to give them a job as a maid or work elsewhere. These people are contributing to the tourism industry and earning themselves a good dollar. What people in Barbados need to understand is that black people need to start generating employment for themselves. There is a lot of talent here in this country, The days are gone where people believe that SOMEONE must find employment for them. I have a full time job but I still have a small craft busness on the side. Many years ago women in this country sold mauby and fish cakes and were able to purchase land. People must understand that govenrment cannot do everything.

4. My concern is the amount of unemployed men in Barbados…! Women, in generally, fake much better than men in getting and keeping employment…! The imbalance needs addressing urgently!

5. Walter Blackman Avatar

Your comments at August 7, 2015 at 6:33 AM are fair and reasonable.

However, since I have been arguing consistently that our problems have been plaguing us for the past 35 years, I would bring some balance to the discussion by making a slight adjustment to one of your sentences:

“Another factor which should be brought into this discussion is lack of vision from previous govts, AND THE CURRENT GOVERNMENT, here at home who had the where with all and financial support to implement a number of growth initiatives……”

6. Looked Over Student Avatar
    Looked Over Student

The statistic that everybody seems to be ignoring is the number of individuals 31% of 222,400 who are considered as NOT ACTIVELY seeking employment (because they have not registered with Employment Bureau. We all know that most of those individuals ARE seeking a job, but don’t have the time nor bus fare to go register every 6 weeks.

7. Walter’s elegant treatise informs us all that the one word that is the cause of concern to most right thinking Barbadians, who incidentally make up about 69% of the electorate based on the figures in the public domain as at February 2013,that one elusive word is CONFIDENCE.Lacking this value is the bogeyman of this administration and it will not change until 2018 according to tradition.What an awful realisation.

8. Barbados has struggled to provide meaningful employment a high percentage of its citizens.

Barbados fell into the trap of using “make work programs” by Government. to employ people.

We a need a comprehensive national effort to create new sustainable industries and jobs.

9. Truthfully ac would not engage with the back and forth about govts .However I would say that many who have entered the work force have been lead to believe that there is a guaranteed life long position by having a govt job and therefore the skills which are necessary for one to have outside those of being a professional are sorely lacking.
    One can easily assumed that until that notion is broken and thrown away from the minds the need to become a society of self producing people would not happen.

10. Bajans getting hurt at all ends and plenty expats from outside the region coming in droves because they say we are lazy and under-qualified.This is heresy. A place with nearly 50 years of independence and university education under its belt and we are made to believe that we cannot employ our populace.We could not search the internet without the genius of Barbadian Alan Emtage. 2015, we are saddled with an inept government and a greedy sluggard for a private sector.

Good luck to Darian King in the Us Open.

11. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

ac August 7, 2015 at 1:04 PM #
    “Truthfully ac would not engage with the back and forth about govts”

ac,
    That’s your stated position, and I will respect it. I will remind myself not to engage you in such a discussion again.

12. @Walter

Who is responsible you think in the society for building the framework to sustain employment? BU has always held the view that Barbados is a public led economic / society. On this premise therefore if government – by policy initiative – wants to move in a different direction one would imagine a sensible approach would be one of collaboration and preparation. It appears to many current policy is being driven by economics and not an all-encompassing strategy.

13. I posit that Govt’s role is to provide the policy framework for its citizens to earn a decent living.Passing a certain restaurant on the west coast,seen parked in the morning were 2 Mercedes Benz and a Range Rover.What is this message being sent………..and reported.A decent living is not to be confused with overcharging clientele and engaging in Trump style living in a struggling economy.Its a recipe for disaster for those whose only passport is Barbados.

14. @ David
    “….It appears to many current policy is being driven by economics and not an all-encompassing strategy”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss you is a real gallows bait fuh truth.
    “it appears to many…”? LOL ha ha ha
    You mean that it is OBVIOUS to all with eyes …that ‘current policy’ is driven by idiocy and greed.
    THERE IS NO ALL-ENCOMPASSING STRATEGY.
    That shiite is called VISION …and it does not exist in idiots.
    LOL…can you imagine AC with vision…? 🙁 frightening…

As we speak, our employment numbers are driven by the extent to which our lenders – basically absentee plantation owners just like those of old, determine that we impact on their profits. Stinkliar is purely a messenger whose task it is to find a politically expedient way to bring us the bad news…. He labeled it ‘homegrown’… ha ha ha

But it SURELY MUST be obvious that if you keep on borrowing money from Bushie, …and borrowing money from Bushie’s brother, and borrowing money from Bushie’s son … that at some damn point the bushmen will start calling the shots …and controlling your whole household and your purse…. and limiting your spending choices. Choices like borrowing MORE money to spend on ‘educating’ even more future borrowers….

We are pathetic.
    The ONLY strategy that Froon and Stinkliar has is to seek out even MORE loans in their attempt to last out a few more years before the inevitable implosion back into full slavery.

They are using Dompey’s motto……. when you find yourself in a deep hole, dig faster….

15. @Bush Tea

In brief form you ate saying we have migrated from physical slavery to economic slavery driven by our addiction to unbridled conspicuous consumption.

16. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

David August 7, 2015 at 2:48 PM #
    @ Walter

“Who is responsible you think in the society for building the framework to sustain employment? BU has always held the view that Barbados is a public led economic / society. On this premise therefore if government – by policy initiative – wants to move in a different direction one would imagine a sensible approach would be one of collaboration and preparation. It appears to many current policy is being driven by economics and not an all-encompassing strategy.”

To answer your question quickly, I will use a cricketing analogy. The umpires are supposed to make sure the cricket pitch is in playing condition, the field is not waterlogged, the stumps are correctly positioned with the bails on, the creases are marked, and the boundaries clearly defined. Once “play” is called, the players are allowed to perform according to the rules, and the umpires intervene and make decisions to ensure the rules are observed or enforced. Actual performance, on a level playing field, determines the winners and losers.

Theoretically, the role of government is similar to that of the umpire. Government is supposed to lay down the rules and let the economic players compete. In Barbados however, the government long ago decided to make and break the rules, become a player, select who is to bat and who is to bowl, ban certain players from the game, and “create” winners and losers based on its own criteria. A lot of the artificial winners created by government can neither bat, field, nor bowl. To prevent these useless performers from being shown up, many of the players with talent and ability had to be banished from the game.
    In a small fragile economy like Barbados, Government has a critical role to play as far building a framework to sustain employment is concerned.

For such a framework to be successfully built, our politicians must keep the interests of Barbadians to the forefront of their minds. Alas, all of us can plainly see that our politicians have one question that is constantly on their mind:” Where is the money?” They have asked international lenders and our NIS this question repeatedly until there is no more money left to grab from these sources. They have sent Cahill to ask us this question on their behalf, while they lurk silently in the background. Now, they are directing this question at all Barbadians who have savings. They are not concerned about repaying. That will be someone else’s problem.

In an attempt not to further depress you and BU readers, I will give you an example of the type of structure that Government should be building to create sustainable jobs. To prevent this reply from becoming too lengthy, I will pause here and start a new comment. In fact, I will broaden it into an article for submission to BU shortly.

17. @Walter

What an apt analogy!

18. I watched the yellow bird being renovated for the last few weeks to get it open for and rented for kadooment, the men and women worked at a quick pace and long hours to get it open. Probably the fastest I have seen anybody work in barbados except maybe Antonio at the coconut court beach bar. All that to say the woman who seemed to be running the yellow bird project should be running your govt.

19. my belief is that when free education was introduced by Barrow his vision was one to see a fully equipped and prepared educate force one which had the potential to build a country from the bottom up,,One that carried a sway of productivity that would be the envy of the world, one that would capitalize on its eduction to such an extreme that there would be no room (left) for outside influence to intervene or interfere,
    An educate force that would have become an army of self sufficient ,self reliant doers instead of (what now) have become and occupied army of public servants who does not have the necessary advantage to lift selves off the ground when govt can not help them to advance
    Hence we would continue to hear the cries coming from those who have worked for govt and now sit idly at home or on the bread line waiting for the next unemployment check because these unemployed bought into a political belief and a misled conception,that govt owes them a job.
    Now the burning question should be ,,How can this ole and worn out trick of the mind be reversed ? a reversal that in fact which is a medicine that would quicken the pace open a new chapter which removes the cup of dependency and it replacing it with a taste for self reliance ,

20. the govt along with a worthwhile educate force works together to sustain employment however what has happened over the years is this maddening erotic dance to persuade and entice through political channels with and upside down conclusion ,leaving the country burden and over bloated and looking for answers that can not remedy without causing pain.

21. Bushie,

How you manage to make me laugh and depress me at the same time is unbelievable.

22. What a mess we’re in! How do we get out, Walter?

23. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

David, are you aware that your wordpress system has been compromised? Please investigate to ensure that other of our pseudonyms are not hijacked.

Evidently, someone has usurped the AC account and made a sensible, very sane and clear posting at August 7, 5:37 PM.

Thanks. Cause as you know this sorta ting is a serious matter

24. @ Donna
    Child, yuh may as well laugh. It is the mature thing to do, cause the alternative for an intelligent person such as yourself is frightening. Um is alright for people like AC and Dompey whose blinkers prevent them from seeing anything but the party propaganda line. Like sheep, they remain blissfully unaware and even cheerful …right up to the moment when they become mutton.
    Unfortunately for thinking persons, the reality of our predicament is painfully obvious.

How do we get out…?
    Bushie is anxious to hear Walter’s prescription….but regrets to tell you that our ‘getting out’ is roughly about as likely as Piece or Bushie being restored their youthful days. Like everything else that live in our world, the Earth itself has it’s own ‘three score and ten’ so to speak, and right now we on borrowed time….
    If the hard-ears rebel Caswell had followed his calling and BUPped as directed, we COULD have enjoyed a healthy and enjoyable old age as a country, but unfortunately he ran off in his little Unity fishing boat and is now in dander of being swallowed by the Stinkliar whale….

25. David, are you aware that your wordpress system has been compromised? Please investigate to ensure that other of our pseudonyms are not hijacked.

Evidently, someone has usurped the AC account and made a sensible, very sane and clear posting at August 7, 5:37 PM.

Thanks. Cause as you know this sorta ting is a serious matter

Will have a look.

26. Busie,

Stop, please!!!

27. Bushie,

The Stinkliar whale? Oh no!

28. Bush Tea

You ought to admit that your concept of truth is obviously predicated upon the validity, as well as the consensus of the majority opinion here on BU? But how ignorant you are to believe that by employing persuasive-eloquence, or character-assassination, that you can somehow convince AC and Dompey to see things your way, when the both of them have already been firmedly grounded in their beliefs. Bushie, the entire concept of liberal democracy rebels at the notion of giving any man or woman the power to control others minds. People are at liberty to choose as their see fit whether you or anyone else here on BU thinks otherwise. This core concept forms the basis of the Christian faith, which is predicated upon the concepts of self-determination, self-actualization, self-realization and finally self-perfection brother.

29. thanks de igrunt for bringing my attention to the 5.37 pm posting you indeed is correct my pseudonymous was hijacked, now it is back to regular posting

30. @ Dompey
    ….and you said all that to say that Bushie CANNOT stop you and AC from being Jackasses…?
    oooo…KKK Bro !!!

31. Oh no! She’s back!

32. Oh No she is back

Who de hell u referring to,? ummm i think its best to stick to wuh u do best that as a manic depressive holier than thou christain. ;;; flea bag

33. we are investing millions of dollars in raising and educating our people, but no successful policies are being implemented to enable them to work and make a meaningful contribution to the economic development of their country.

////////////////////////////////

In general all would agree,but still there is this burning question of responsibility which cuts both ways,who is responsible for what and how much,
    Did the govt renege on their promise to educate through out the years? For those who benefited from their education should they not of thought it necessary to be self reliant. Is it the govt overall responsibility to be provider and caretakers of an educated workforce after millions spent
    Should there not be an even handiness , one led by those windows of opportunities garner through education for the country to gain, .

34. AC,

As long as you don’t call me an AC I’m cool with that. Ha, Ha!

35. I can take pills for my manic depression. Never heard of a pill that can cure stupidity. So….. you will die stupid, I’m afraid.

36. Bush Tea

I am afraid to have to say this once more, but you have become like the bird under human domestication, almost incapable of finding and providing himself the necessary knowledge to escape his captor. So what does he do? Well, like the house slave in the antebellum south, he beckon to his master’s every call devoid of any sign of resistance like that of the yard slave. More or less like the brainless wonder Bushie, who is so easily persuaded by the majority or popular opinion that he loses his mental equanimity.

37. Met many a flea bag smarter than you. I kinda like flea bags.

38. Donna

Have you heard the old adage which says:” Ignorance can be cured but stupidity is for ever?”

39. Donna

It seems as though you have thrown your Christian bears out of the window? What has happened to the passage of scripture which says:” Soft words turns away wrath and grievous words stirs up anger?”

40. Dompey,

Lighten up! Just having a little fun. Besides, AC needs no stirring up. She is anger personified.

41. “The Devil” is a roaring lion…..

42. Donna

AC, is in my judgment about the only voice of reason which supplies the much needed counterpoise for what appears to be a discussion infused and interlaced with partiality,and an open-mouth self-righteousness here on BU.

43. David

When will this blog encourage the participation of the generation of Barbadians, so that we can conduct a balance discussion?

44. AC, the only voice of reason? Cuhdear! That would be funny if it wasn’t so frightening.

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Well wunna dun know de ole man did hear a noise earlier, like de sound of a scythe raking de driveway coming up to de house and so dat de ole man din in de bed when Deaf (not to be confused with death, wunna ent hear how Ronald WeJonesing does pronounce dat word???) de ole man get up tuh fight he.

@ De Honourable Blogmaster

Have you thought of employing the new poll icon called the idiot meter???

It is new on the market and looks like this

👍 👌 👎 👀 and 🙏

There is also a variation for the atheist among us that has 👽 for the peeple who definitely come from another planet and 🐇 female rabbit lest the try to close down BU on the grounds o corrupting the morals of the young peeple whom HeeHaw has indicate that you are not doing enough to attract here

The 👀 stands for incredulously stupid and/or interchangibly for Miss Cat Eyes, but, given the amount of bites the dynamic duo will get, polldaddy would have to employ raised to the power of…

Where there is the inability of a blogger to make sense as in hee haw of Station Hill you can use 🐴 🐒 or 🍴💀 as in “out to lunch permanently” or a new favorite of mine 🐑 which certain people alone can get as a inbreeding of “alpine sheep parts”

I am look forward to seeing the new idiot meter some time soon here on BU because the don’t like does not allow posters to do justice to some postings here

Thank you, I have to go and turn on the outside lights because I just heard some more scraping….

46. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

ac August 7, 2015 at 9:58 PM #

“there is this burning question of responsibility which cuts both ways,who is responsible for what and how much,
    Did the govt renege on their promise to educate through out the years? For those who benefited from their education should they not of thought it necessary to be self reliant. Is it the govt overall responsibility to be provider and caretakers of an educated workforce after millions spent…..

ac,
    These are deep, thought provoking questions.
    I agree with your point, made subtly, that there needs to be a balance. I agree with you also that we need to send a strong message to all Barbadians that the role of government is not to take care of them from cradle to grave. Barbadians of working age must be encouraged and prepared to compete in a global market.

We are applying reason and logic in our discussion here, but, at the individual level, how do you handle a young Barbadian, holding a masters degree, never worked before, but puffing up his chest and insisting that his masters degree entitles him to a $10,000 per month salary? How do you pull him aside and tell him that his employer is either providing a service or a product and that there is a process associated with getting that service or product to the consumer, and based on the prices that are paid by the customers, a salary of $10,000 would create a loss for the business? How do you convince him to accept $3,000 per month, build some experience and skills, and then test the market 3 years down the road? We need to change some attitudes; practical business education must now be placed on the front burner.
    At the governmental level, how do you get the opportunity to tell ministers that Barbadians are educated and qualified in almost all areas of human expertise, and thus there is no need for them to be paying millions of dollars to foreign consultants and wasting our foreign exchange? How can you reach them to tell them that government contracts should only be awarded to foreigners after it has been ascertained that no qualified Barbadian could be found to do the job? Barbadian jobs are for Barbadians first! New political thinking is needed.
    Individual responsibility must be blended with and supported by governmental responsibility. Therefore, I agree with you that “this burning question of responsibility…. cuts both ways.”

47. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Mr Blackman

You seem to be up early like de ole man, I hope you ent hiding from Deaf like me?

I will make an observation in shared banter and then ask rather make a second observation.

Why was the word human put in front of employment? I do know that Hee Haw is himself part of the donkey race and is employed at a horsepital in Murica but it seemed a strange juxtaposition when concatenated thusly.

Now onto my second observation

You have these “degreed” young people who are unemployed because (1) there is no work or (2) the work that exists is not paying them commensurate compensation given their qualifications

I note that consistent with the anecdote that only a grave starts at the top you wisely advocate taking a job and post some on the job training then leveraging such for the next stage.

What however concerns me is the double headed ethos or lack thereof.

The first head lies in the prevalent mindset of mostly black qualified degreed persons that they are entitled to begin at the top.

Additionally as a matter of fact, more frightening than this first black man mentality is the continuing inability for us peeple to create opportunities for ourselves.

While this alternative might not obtain is all disciplines wouldn’t it be great if an unemployed economist or lawyer could go to a virtual job bank and announce that they would be available for an assignment for say $ 2000 and that virtual job community be their gateway to the world where they can hone said unemployed skills while part of Barbados version of Monster an electronic employment agency that our computer students at Cave Hill created?

This is why fellows like Bush Tea and Hants and the Annunaki exasperate because as degreed as they are we have breeder some useless foops!!!

48. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Breeded**

49. “Most of the women opted to own their own busineses. Cleaning fish and selling. Now with the new fish market many are owners of stalls in the Bay Gardens where their culinary skills are a great treat to locals and tourists. These women never asked Mr. St. John to give them a job as a maid or work elsewhere. These people are contributing to the tourism industry and earning themselves a good dollar”

You need to impress upon those in your view successful fisherfolk the need to pat self-employment contributions to the National Insurance Scheme otherwise they would not be entitled to any pension in their old age.

50. “People must understand that govenrment cannot do everything.”
    Politicians when campaigning for office must not lead the electorate to believe that when elected they can do everything. The disingenuous mindset is nurtured by the politicians not the gullible electorate.