Submitted by Douglas

PM SAYS A NEW RESPONSE IS NEEDED TO WHAT HE CALLS “NEW TRADE UNIONISM”

NUPW BLP

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is questioning the union’s position on escalating industrial industrial action even though the matter has been referred to the courts.[โ€ฆ]

Mr.Stuart has explained that the application before the court is not a regular application.  Mr Stuart says what is more concerning is that the BIDC has made certain reasonable commitments –

These include paying all entitlements if the courts determine the retirement exercise has been wrongful. Also to pay the retirees up until September and suspending the retirement orders. He added that the corporation is also willing to pay the workers up until December if need be. According to the prime minister the union is not allowing for the established processes to be completed. The Prime Minister also hinted that there are certain powers and procedures of parliament available to the government under Section 48 of the constitution. These speak to parliament making laws for peace, order and good governance of Barbados.

Prime Minister Stuart on NUPW strike action

335 responses to “Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart Breaks His Silence on NUPW BIDC Matter”

1. @businessman

Why not restructure based on a system of performance and meritocracy? Why engage in an act which is defined in the ERA as discrimination. Also why not make sure the social partnership is kept apprised and use it to support government policy?

2. The court will make that judgement and hopefully BIDC will abide by the judgement. if they and every statutory corporation have to keep the same staff roll and staff costs there will be financial consequences for the country. All these rights we are clinging on to will be meaningless if we can’t get the public finances under control.

To me you cannot run entities by committee in an efficient manner. The social partnership cannot and should not be used for these kinds of micro issues. management has to be able to make decisions and be judged by the consequences of these actions. BIDC is trying to get its wage bill down, they have opted for a particular approach. If thats found to be illegal they will have to try another approach. But the financial problem will not go away. BIDC should have the freedom within the law to allocate its resources. Are we to continue to encourage an environment where entities spend money and just come for supplementals. When i look at the estimates, the BIDC like most other entities have to stick to their allocations if the country is to meet its fiscal targets. if we cant meet and beat those targets all these rights will be useless. ask the greeks. populists, editorial writers, bloggers and talk show hosts don’t have to pay the country’s bills every day.

maybe BIDC should raise fees or the government should raise taxes or maybe disband the BIDC and have hundreds of job losses. Why do we need it anyway? maybe shut down Invest barbados.

3. The reference to the social partnership has nothing to do with right sizing at state agencies, it has to do with buying into the policy position. Bear in mind this is a government coming off an election platform braying about no to privatization, no to selling off state agencies etc. You can’t boast of a calm IR climate because of a social partnership and then treat it like BS.

4. de Ingrunt Word Avatar
    de Ingrunt Word

@businessman, as David asks ” why not restructure based on …performance and meritocracy”.

No reasonable person can dispute the kernels of your arguments above, particularly when they are couched in such smooth saws as “We want to get rid of the fever but not willing to drink the bush tea”(that resonates on BU for sure), or my favorite, ” we want to go to heaven but donโ€™t want to die”.

It seems clears that the populace are angry that the burden of that ballooning deficit is fallen disproportionately on their shoulders.

What about cuts in Parliamentary salaries; what of the very high fees being charged to corporations and other gov’t departments to do standard legal work? Just two examples.

I agree with you that like the Greeks we need to either cut expenditures and/or raise taxes and levies. But you are well aware that the Greeks enjoyed many years of very lax tax collection and willful avoidance by many businessmen/women; Coupled with extremely well funded retirement and other social programs.

So yes, no pain no gain. But it all starts at the top, sir. The Greek gov’t were clearly complicit in the madness of a country run amok.

It’s shameful and very annoying that when push comes to the proverbial shove that those at the bottom get hurt most FIRST.

That sir, is the underlying tone for all this anger and dissonance. It is nothing to do with a desire to advance through the pearly gates before achieving eternal sleep. I believe Bajans are brave enough to accept the future steadfastly and honestly.

Are our leaders doing the same? Clearly not!

5. People keep making references to Greece and similarity to Bim. What they don’t highlight are the similarities in the approach to paying taxes. Since the budget and the requirement to have a tax clearance, the reaction in most quarters leads me to conclude that there is a huge swathe of persons in Bim who have never really paid corporation or income tax.

Why can’t customs be part of BRA? Did we not go through this when the hospital and qeh became statutory corporations? Are we to be silent and support workers and unions resisting moving to structures where they may be more accountable because we don’t like a government.

6. We talk a lot about accountability on this forum. I submit that the most resistant group to accountability for their performance in this country is public sector workers. The trdes unions are their greatest supporters in the quest for job security, better compensation without being accountable for performance. They are experts in rules and procedure all designed to avoid performance based accountability and organizational efficiency. I am not supporting that because I don’t like a government. Administration after administration has avoided these issues and sacrificed efficiency and productivity for political gain. MAM is doing the same and on this course cannot be part of the productivity revolution the country needs.

7. @businessman

You have ignored the poignant point in our last comment?

The biggest problem in the public service is created by the politicians themselves who must make a whole country to suffer because part of the modus operandi of a political party is to remain popular by blindly recruiting supporters. BU submits therefore we are spinning top in mud. There is support for our argument if you accept Sandiford shave a huge choke out of the public service staff strength only to witness Arthur in the ‘good times’ repeat the folly. BU again submits Sir the problem with the public service is implementing a performance management setup. You send home people and have those remaining on the payroll continue to work within an archaic system of naked subjectivity.

8. You object to involvement by the social partnership who by definition is a stakeholder in the business yet as we comment on the blog the social partnership is at the LSCC trying to avert a national strike? By whose definition is the role being played by the social partnership? Yours or the one mutually agreed.

9. There have already been cuts in parliamentary salaries since last year, We may not like the government but bajan politicians are by and large ordinary people who face the same challenges as all of us. I know many from both sides past and present and they are not some fat cat, corrupt out of touch group. They face all the tax increases and loss of allowances etc.etc. like the rest of us.

There has been shared pain across our society for the last 8 years. businesses have suffered (mine surely has), investors have suffered and workers have suffered. I may not like the government but I can’t ignore a 5% or so reduction in the deficit and the seeming determination to get it down further to sustainable levels. if BIDC acted illegally then other ways will have to be found to contain expenditure there.

10. The unions must not be allowed to derail this painful and necessary fiscal programme. we will have our chance to vote them when the time comes.

11. My underlying point is that the unions are among the greatest objectors to genuine performance based systems.

12. You spoke about keeping the social partnership in the loop. I don’t see why they should be in the loop for an operational decision by the BIDC. Sometimes when I hear McDonald and co it sounds as if they want to be politicians and run the government. that is not their role, They should not have enough time on their hands to play that role. A board can’t and should not micromanage a company, the social partnership cannot micromanage the operations of statutory corporations.

13. @businessman, why would give tax free concession to everyone who show an interest in doing business in Barbados when you already have a shortfall in revenue. Can you tell me why we needed to give tax breaks to Cost-U-Less to sell vegetables, DVD players, etc. etc., and then try to make up for the lost revenue by taxing poor Bajans to death?
    Bajans never objected to paying taxes and tightening their belts, but we object to doing so while the Butch Stewarts, the Maloney, etc. of this world continue to have lives of luxury.

14. You should not bring wholesale argument by jettisoning the Union because there of some blind commitment to hitting a number. Understand that in times of austerity this will bring a natural tension to labour relations. How the government has been managing the process leaves a lot of room to improve. Their garrulous approach has been childish best described. And to think ordinary Bajans are looking on and observing obvious corruption in the form of large legal fees by lawyers mentioned by Dee Word and what must be described as generous agreements to shell companies. Is the government walking the walk to back up the talk?

15. You keep missing the point businessman. The government has made a top level decision to retire public servants at 60. It is a significant decision which required socializing with stakeholders.

16. The current system is not so much one of subjectivity it is filled with rules which are supposed to promote objectivity. the problem in my opinion is the absence of a focus on outcomes and holding managers and staff accountable for those outcomes. As much as i respect caswell i see him as part of the problem because he always argues rules not outcomes. rules were made to serve man and promote desirable outcomes not man to serve rules whatever the outcomes. Bureaucracy becomes a horrible thing when the rules become an end in themselves. So you can have perfect operations but the patient ends up dead.

17. Businessman give us an example of how adherence to rules has created a problem caused by Caswell. Generalizations will not cut it.

And how is the PM managing outcomes with his aggressive language in the prevailing climate?

18. We seem obsessed with horse race politics. who is up, who is down. we are obssessed with who done it. These things are important but they dont get to the heart of finding solutions to serious issues. the issues get lost in the midst of who is up and who is down and who did it. The personalities get changed bu the issues remain.

garbage is a perfect example. the evidence suggests that serious issues with our waste management emerged in the 1990s. we did not do greenland under public protest. it may have been politically usefully but did we do any thing else to address the problem. if we ditch the waste to energy as we probably should the issue of lack of landfill space and nitrates in the water supply from landfilling do not go away. any solutions will require adjustment, costs, losses and inconvenience to some memebrs of society. dow e then run from the politics of that? will bu, and other media then simply be a forum for thise negatively affected and opposed to the government of the day, or a place to deal with the issues.

19. tax concessions of the type you have mentioned do not constitute giving up money. we never had those revenues. We can have a good debate about whetehr too much was granted relative to the benefits from the investments. On the surface sandals seems to have been woth it to date. Not sure about the others you mentioned.

20. Businessman don’t go there. Who signed off on SBRC? Barbadians don’t have a problem with finding solutions for waste management, we have a problem with the lack of transparency of deals which point to our poor governance setup. Whither transparency legislation? How can we build trust between government and the citizens who elected it.

21. I am not giving the PM a passing grade on this or anything so i dont get your point.

A statutory corporation BIDC made a decision to retire some employees at 60, how is this now a general government policy?

The challenge with these rules based systems is that the focus is on compliance not whether or not desirable outcomes have been achieved. In the private sector an employee might just not be a good fit for the organization strategy at this time, and the employee and organization may have to part ways. They may not have broken any rules or done anything wrong.

22. It should have been discussed, retiring people at 60 is alien to what we have done in the public service to date, correct? In the context of wanting to promote efficiency, retrenchment should have been discussed with the social partnership in the context of a implementing a system of meritocracy. All being discussed cannot be in isolation to the type of leadership driving the process.

23. The Freundel Stuart administration is
    Suffering the full and well deserved effects
    of having misled the electorate in 2013 and
    for using and abusing the Unions in
    Barbados all to achieve their ends of mass
    retrenchment.

I for one, am pleased to see this administration
    get their just deserts. This PM and his
    Cabinet thinks they can operate in stealth
    and TRICKING the people as the go.

24. phew!….at least ah get them to forget Cahill

25. Have we created a legal environment where there is little or no flexibility in terms of retrenching labor? If that is so its great for those employed but will certainly reduce incentives to hire new workers. This is one of the major challenges in Greece, Spain and portugal.

26. David wrote “It should have been discussed, retiring people at 60 is alien to what we have done in the public service to date, correct? ”

Civil servants have rules governing their employment that includes their expected retirement age.

It is completely absurd to force a civil servant to retire prior to the normal retirement age of 65 to 67.

There are some civil service jobs that are not easily transferable to the private sector.

60 is also a difficult age to start self employment especially after “pushing paper”.

The point is that the civil service is not private enterprise.

27. There are issues that not ought to be politicized.The issue of retiring workers before they achieved the legal age of retirement is wrong.This is an extremely dangerous development that left unchecked could have disastrous consequences for all category of workers in Barbados.
    Every one knows I am a hardcore Democratic Labour Party supporter.I have no intentions of deserting this great party.The party will always have my support.However, I cannot support the government on this BIDC issue.The government is totally wrong.
    I have taken a principle position on this issue.I support the union.However,I will not be participating in any industrial action.Definitely not marching.
    Our Prime Minister needs to take a reality check. Prime Minister Freundel Stuart is too aloof,arrogant,insensitive,insulting & contemptuous. He believes that he is a self appointed Prime Minister not answerable to anyone.
    Prime Minister Stuart and his government must be made to become humble.No high-handed behavior should be tolerated by the people of Barbados.

NB David of BU no hard feelings. You are still my favourite blog master. I cuss you and you cuss me.

28. @Hants

We have to separate a public servant working in a statuary corp like BIDC versus central government.

29. None Aiken Negroman, you are a BU regular.

30. de Ingrunt Word July 14, 2015 at 1:21 PM #

โ€œIt seems clears that the populace are angry that the burden of that ballooning deficit is fallen disproportionately on their shoulders.โ€
    โ€œWhat about cuts in Parliamentary salaries; what of the very high fees being charged to corporations and other govโ€™t departments to do standard legal work? Just two examples.โ€

Thatโ€™s true, De Word.

The DLP and its supporters always try to attach โ€œpatriotismโ€ and โ€œputting country firstโ€ as justification for us to accept any policy that may be viewed as being disadvantageous to ordinary citizens of this island. We are to take the full brunt of the burden and prepared to be the โ€œsacrificial lambsโ€ for Barbados.

We presently have the largest cabinet in the history of Barbados, inflated by number of DLP candidates who either lost their seat or failed to attain one during the last general elections.
    Such as Patrick Todd, Irene Sandiford-Garner, Esther Byer, Jepter Ince, Harcourt Husbands, with Haynesley Benn being appointed as the diplomatic representative to Canada and George Huston a board member of the newly established NLICO.

Yet, Stuart and his administration are not prepared to make any sacrifices for the benefit of Barbados.

Under the prevailing economic circumstances, he has not seen it necessary to decrease the size of his cabinet, especially against the back ground of retrenching more than 4,000 public sector employees, a situation where, almost two years after retrenching the former Beautify Barbados employees, they are yet to receive their severance payments.
    The latest development being undertaken by the DEMS, is the process of retiring statutory and quasi government organizations employees who are 60 years old.

These people were told that they had to forfeit their livelihood as a sacrifice for โ€œputting the country first.โ€ Essentially, they were forced to sacrifice their jobs, not only for โ€œthe love of Barbados,โ€ but also for Todd, Irene, Jepter, Harry, Esther et al, to continuing working to feed their families.

The DEMS need to be reminded that Cranston Browne, CEO of the NCF; Dr. Delisle Worrell, Governor of the Central Bank; Undene Whittaker, governmentโ€™s advisor on poverty eradication and the United Nationsโ€™ Millennium Development Goals; and Hamilton Lashley, consultant on poverty, all work for statutory/quasi government organisations and are over the age of 60.

If Stuart is serious about reducing governmentโ€™s expenditure, surely he must take these issues into consideration.

31. look business man your assessment so far is correct when it comes to who will be the losers without doubt it would be the economy and the people. However your rationality flies in the face of an undercurrant of politics which is the Driver and the navigator of this strike .it is obvious that there is a timing component which has called for an escalation of strike action by the Unions..my point being that the Union leaders have more than one agenda which even themselves cannot understand so the forward movement to make haste while the sun shine requires that rules and regulations be dam in order to make govt bend because some where in there mind they belive that instant pain to the citizens means instant pressure on govt a pressure which this govt can,t least bear.
    Yesterday reaction came as a surprise to the Union which caught them off guard and unsure of which strategy might be best to answer the PM response
    Even thpugh his reaction spoke of using legal action to protect even the Union the response by the Unions was another eye opener as to what directions and who are the directors in this ongoing espisode of dooom and gloom

32. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Hants July 14, 2015 at 11:33 AM #

@David who wrote โ€œOn a positive note, minister Michael Lashley was spotted in New Yorkโ€

What is positive about this?
    ……………………………………………………………………
    Who knows, maybe the suit case of Positive Notes got through this time.

33. businessman July 14, 2015 at 2:18 PM #

โ€œtax concessions of the type you have mentioned do not constitute giving up money. we never had those revenues. We can have a good debate about whetehr too much was granted relative to the benefits from the investments. On the surface sandals seems to have been woth it to date. Not sure about the others you mentioned.โ€

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

What evidence can you present to BU to substantiate that the concessions granted to โ€œSandals seems to have been worth it to date?โ€

Please note, you cannot base an increase in tourist arrivals based on the fact that there is a Sandals hotel in Barbados. Many people do not choose a destination based on the existence of a particular hotel in a country. And the few that do so, are able afford the rates and amenities offered.

You must also factor in the fact that Sandals top and middle management are Jamaicans, whose only contribution to the society, as employees, is VAT paid on VAT-able supplies. Also, the line staff are complaining that management has been making life extremely difficult for them.

34. I don’t see what the issue is. None of these people have age 65 or 67 put down and a better recourse would have been to negotiate a reasonable severance pay. The talk of industrial action was hasty and the idea of a national shutdown is buffoonery.

I remember when Hitler used his words to strike fear in the hearts of the most intelligent people in Germany, causing them to commit atrocities which led to the World War.

What I am seeing exhibited by these unions is no different to Hitler’s approach and if Barbadians think that a shutdown will resolve their personal issues with the government, and Freundel Stuart, then they are as misguided and dillusional as Hitler.

Has anyone ever asked themselves or these union bosses what would happen if a country like Barbados is shutdown? Can anyone even foresee the negative impact this will have on our country? Absolutely not.

Now if the country is shutdown and God forbid something irrevocable happens (like more job loss) who will we seek to blame? Probably big nose Freundel as usual. Would it even matter if these 13 old people were retired early or not? Absolutely not.

We are angry with the government for reasons I cannot understand. We vex cuz a whole chicken is $25 but would happily pay Halout 24.50 for a dinner mate. We vex cuz the govt asking for cents on the dollar for soft drinksย  but would happily buy an overpriced brand name shirt to be ‘on fleek’ for a cruise.

But that is the thing about Barbadians, they always put themselves before country and fail to see the bigger picture. I certainly do not care about these old people and I wish their vacant posts can be filled by younger people in years to come.

I also do not respect these unions and their anti-govt agenda because they are obviously being controlled by external forces that do not have the country’s best interest at heart – – only their thirst for power.

I wish more efforts were placed to clean the sargassum seaweed or even focus on sprucing up our current landfill to make it cleaner, more organised, and more efficient.

Let us continue to boast a high literacy rate and continue to be duped by short sighted jackasses who just want power but offer no real solutions to improving the country.

35. mandatory retirement of firefighters in Ontario is 60, as time goes by the citizens are not getting the service they deserve it is a young mans game. A lot of other jobs are the same but it is not popular to throw them out when they get long in the tooth. People must start to realize that they are the beneficiaries of better medicines diet lifestyle and are living past the old expiry date but that does not mean you are owed a job …let the young have a chance at the govt teat

36. @Liam Massy

Yours is hogwash. The public sector has not received a wage increase since 2006. Barbadians, individuals and businesses, were told to hold strain, don’t layoff workers and the like. For the most part there was compliance. Up to today the middle lass continues to bear the brunt, a simple indication, tax refunds outstanding are for this class of people who because of salary size are labelled middle class when we know this is not aligned with disposable income.

37. Art/Ezra
    Where is your sidekick Prodigal girl

38. @ Donna

“CHAUCER July 14, 2015 at 4:05 PM #: Art/Ezra: Where is your sidekick Prodigal girl….”

Donna, see wuh ah tell yuh?

Typical DLP yard-fowl strategy….. throw in red herrings in an attempt to shift our focus from the issue at hand.

39. Latest economic report: a dip in international reserves as predicted.

40. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

@businessman

There is indeed much flexibility in reducing labour -through redundancy or retrenchment. In fact it is the sole remaining example of dismissal-at-will. All that justice, fair play and the worker’s dignity require are (i) that it be discussed with his or her representatives too see if it is really an objective truth, and (ii) that the employer adopts a fair system of choice for termination, not one based on race, age, color, religion or political affiliation, for example. As David calls it, a meritocratic system.

That was the failure of both the NCC and of the BIDC. A poor and unfair selection system. But this matter seems to long gone past law.

41. @David

So which is it David? Are the people of this fair land, who are striking, genuinely do so on behalf of those 13 bidc workers are or they simply striking because they have not received a salary increase?

This is my dilemma: No clear or justiable reason has been brought forward by the union as to what it is they wish to achieve in the long run. A country does not simply shutdown because of 13 old people and I keep saying that freundel is not a fool but quite an intelligent lad.

We need to admit to ourselves that the decision has yet to be countered with intelligence. Why shouldn’t those workers be laid off and paid after? What is so different about these 13 that an entire country has to shutdown?

Barbadians are taking this too personally and like the lady who asked the PM if he will ‘inject’ himself, Akanni MacDowell has not clearly stated what his position is and what his motivations are. I am afraid that he in over his head.

He was recently elected and in less than 6 months, the country is in an uproar. I do not agree with him and I certainly do not agree with the ones pulling the strings.

Like Hitler, and Germany, someone will step in when shit hits the fan. We are unable to move the country forward so the imf or Trinidad will have to do it for us.

42. @Minister Esther Byer

Do you recall why the prime minister of Bahamas left the HOGs conference early? You are obviously not aware so be enlightened. He had a pressing matter on the domestic front playing out.

43. @Liam Massy

The fact you are in a quandary about what is the kernel of the issue reflects poorly on the social partnership and government. An obvious lack of continuous communication.

44. Good news, so far.

A new offer put on the table out of the sub committee meeting today.

We await NUPW’s response after meeting with their council.

45. Artetexes can you provide evidence that it did not? My business is tourism based and airlift is a major factor in tourist arrivals. The evidecne from my end is that sandals has had a significant impact on airlift.

Thanks for the guidance Mr. Cumberbatch. I am used to a somewhat more flexible environment than BIM,

There was a major salary increase in 2008/2009. I still view that increase as a major factor in our fiscal challenges. But no one complained at the time.

BIDC may have acted incorrectly, but they have indicated a willingness to have the courts decide and to abide by that ruling. If I understand their offer correctly the workers will not be financially disadvantaged while the courts are deliberating. If so why escalate industrial action?

the cahill investment would do wonders for the forex reserves david.

46. @David,

Have the sanitation workers gone back to work yet or de place still full a garbage?

47. Artertexes maybe the management is demanding high levels of productivity and holding people accountable for performance and not letting unions run the company.

48. I find the sandals people to be hard nosed aggressive business people committed to offering a world class product, and maximizing their profits. have no problems with so far in my business. they have high standards and drive a hard bargain. i do the same. this is business, no quarter asked none given. If we don’t wake up and shape up we will get eaten alive in this capitalist world.

49. Why is the pm so focused on having the matter settled in the law court? is it because he trusts and honors their judgement? Mr Barrack had his matter adjudged by all levels of court decisions including the Hight Court and Court of Appeal. Has government honored judgement of the court yet? Mr Parris was ordered not to sell a certain type of policy by the Supervisor of Insurance and ignored that order. Law court? More like red herring.

50. @Hants

The island is sinking under the garbage and to rub salt in the wound, when private haulers are called they have to pay the tipping feet of dump at the landfill. What poor BC planning.

@businessman

The issue with Cahill is not about forex, it is about lack of transparency and circumventing process.