The following was submitted to BU’s Dropbox

As we approach the precipice of celebrating this island’s 50th anniversary of Independence from our colonial masters, the burning question is ‘what have we really gained and at what cost?”

This question is posed against the backdrop of recent developments at an enterprise located at this island’s lone airport in which the Government of Barbados is a major stakeholder.

Reliable sources indicated that one week ago, two key local management executives were unceremoniously relieved from their substantive posts in the areas of retail and finance after nearly a decade of yeomen service to the organisation. We further understand that the employees were informed by the General Manager (an Irish expatriate), in the presence of an unidentified white non-Barbadian female and a representative of the Barbados Employers’ Confederation (BEC). Glaringly absence from the meeting was the local Human Resources Manager and a representative from the local Board of Directors.

Read full text – RUNWAY SETS LOCALS FREE

34 responses to “RUNWAY SETS LOCALS FREE”

1. […] By David […]

2. Why not submit the letter, why not name the principals?

3. John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES, Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782, I SERVE 1788-1792 BARBADOES,

MAYBE YOU NEED TO GO TO NAKED DEPARTURE AND POST THE NAMES , THEY WILL NOT SAY YOUR NAME.

4. No surprises in this submission.All the principles hold true.Some idiots want to build Barbados to be like apartheid South Africa.Forgetting the blacks who sold blacks in slavery were themselves eventually enslaved.

5. This may be happening in Barbados Avatar
    This may be happening in Barbados

Sad and horrifying and gross and true.

A hotel restaurant in Anambra, Nigeria has been shuttered by authorities for serving human flesh. According to the BBC, suspicious residents told police of rumors that the restaurant was cooking human meat for customers. Police then raided the restaurant, where they discovered fresh human heads that were still bleeding. The blood was in the process of being drained into a plastic bag.

In addition to the illegal meat, authorities discovered automatic weapons, grenades, and cell phones. Ten people were arrested in conjunction with the crimes. One resident said, “Every time I went to the market, I observed strange activities going on in the hotel. People who were never cleanly dressed and who looked a bit strange made their way in and out of the hotel, making me very suspicious of their activities. I am not surprised at the shocking revelation.”

A priest who ate at the restaurant was alarmed when presented with a bill of 700 Naira, or roughly $3.50 (Tens of millions of people in Nigeria subsist on less than $1 a day). “The attendant noticed my reaction and told me it was the small piece of meat I had eaten that made the bill scale that high,” he said. “I did not know I had been served with human meat, and that it was that expensive.”

Last year, Australian chef Marcus Volke murdered and cooked his girlfriend before killing himself. In Brazil, also last year, a man and two women were arrested for murdering potential nanny candidates and then cooking their flesh into empanadas.

http://www.eater.com/2015/5/15/8613497/nigerian-restaurant-shut-down-for-serving-human-flesh

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Almighty GOD, we have seen the error of our ways.

Take this “cup away from us” we can no longer continue tasting of its poison, for each day it is killing us.

We have learnt the lesson and it has been bitter like myrrh.

Whether we are BLP or DLP we have come to the realization that WHEN we continue to vote for Incompetence one either side, the only “harvest” that we can inherit from our deliberate actions, is one that is reaped in long suffering under crass ineptitude.

We know that we cannot continue in the state that we are in today. We also know that it is only BY YOUR MERCY, that we are breathing today.

Like the Israelites of old, we ask YOUR forgiveness, and ask that YOU release us from these modern day egyptians who would have us make our equivalent of bricks to build our nation with graft and kickback, fleecing old age pensioners of their belongings while securing kickback in suitcases which they try to export to foreign lands.

Save us from these purveyors of flesh and those who are the new PIMPS and sellers of the souls of Bajans to new slave masters.

And LORD, since none save you know the Coming of Your Son Jesus, send us a Moses to lead us out of this turpitude and mediocrity.

I pray this in Your Name

Amen

7. It is not the civil service.

There is no such thing as supersession in the private sector.

If the workers think that they have been unjustly dismissed let them go to their union if they are unionized.

If they are not unionized take the same advice the Prime Minister gave to the Speaker “hire a lawyer.”

8. @ David.

Good morning.

Could you please post the full article as I’m unable to access it. Thank you.

9. This article is difficult to decipher. All I have gleaned from it is that two big boys got leggo from a big retail giant in Barbados. So what else is new????

10. @ Exclaimer

By not calling the names detract for the otherwise sound import of the article.

This is not the time for that kind of distinctively Bajan secrecy.

A secrecy thought to be prudent or as supported by a fourth estate paradigm of libel and slander laws.

You are talking about a supposedly ‘public’ entity. Call the names of the ‘so-and-so’ people. Wha’ the hell you frighten fuh!

Dey cud only kill you, and we know you are unafraid to dead! LOL

11. St George's Dragon Avatar

Two people lose their jobs so workers can be paid more – this is going to sound callous but it sounds like a good plan to me.

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ St George’s Dragon

If only it were that simple.

However the modus that the Union WILL NOT INSIST ON is that these positions will be advertised and “there being no suitable local candidate found” thereafter filled by the same people that the expatriot and their colleague have already offered the jobs to

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Recently, de ole man tek to reading Edmund Burke.

I am fascinated by the timelessness of his speeches as I am with the commonalities with those of Malcolm X Shabazz.

If you look around the world with all of the social upheaval, just today we are seeing that Mohammed Morsi Egypt’s ousted president has been sentenced to death.

I all of this increasing revolution there is one common thread that is visible one that is best expressed by Burke’s comment

“People crushed by law, have no hopes but from power. If laws are their enemies, they will be enemies to laws; and those who have much to hope and nothing to lose, will always be dangerous.”

Burke also says

“Those who have been once intoxicated with power, and have derived any kind of emolument from it, even though but for one year, never can willingly abandon it. They may be distressed in the midst of all their power; but they will never look to any thing but power for their relief.”

It applies to Antigua and Barbuda, it aplies to St Kitts, it applies to Guyana and as of latem we are starting to see that IT NOW RAMPANT IN Barbados.

ALL HAIL FUMBLE, LONG MAY HE REIGN…

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Wrong Blog, it fuh de BRA tingy

15. Colonel Buggy Avatar

SuckaBubby May 15, 2015 at 10:35 PM #

No surprises in this submission.All the principles hold true.Some idiots want to build Barbados to be like apartheid South Africa.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Skippa , we were always an apartheid state.

16. Why are those two complaining??? When they sat and plotted with the previous general manager to get rid of fifteen staff members in 2011 who were members of the BWU not a fellow lifted s finger to help.
    Those staff members were bajans with bills and children.
    Those two got what they deserved!!!!
    Its called KARMA!!!!!!

17. Transfer of Knowledge from Expatriates to Barbadians!

As a people we tend to take matters at the personal level. I refer to a previous writer.

Key here is what provision is made to transfer knowledge to Barbadians within the clause of the partnership of whatever entity is involved with bringing expatriates to the country.

How long is a reasonable time frame to keep expatriates coming?

A previous writer talks about a previous General Manager. Since the start of the operation of this entity surely a Barbadian should by now be given the opportunity to be the General Manager.

Competitors in this region make sure that consultants or General Managers ( ag) who come to work and live in their country are committed to transfer of knowledge to a home grown person. That is a key issue that needs to be raised in this discussion.

Let’s us embrace national consciousness. WMH.

18. Isn’t issuing a work permit conditional on training a local person? Is this condition ever enforced?

19. @ David

Maybe you should ask the writer of the letter if the employees that the FCO and the Retail Manager and the then Irish expatriate GM conspired against because they were bold enough to join the BWU and were fired masque as redundancy if these workers who were at the bottom of the salary scale weren’t people with bills and children as well.

Kudos to this expatriate GM he had the balls to see you two for the dis-honest people you are!!!! And just in case you never heard of KARMA this is it at work.

I always knew your day would come !!!!!!!!

20. The thing is I am sure their compensation packages are far better than the lowly sales associates whom they had fired/redundant.

After all they are Managers and compliance officer. So you should all be happy and jumping your way to the bank .

Now you will know the indignity of unemployment , and what it feels like to have your health insurance ripped from under you , how it feels not bein able to secure a loan
    and since when you all have children? ???

Remember the old adage Do good and it will follow you
    I guess you finally knows what THAT means! !!!!!!

To the expatriate GM I say a job well done it took you a while but you saw through them! !!!

21. @Sugar

Can you address this matter in a more specific manner? Unless readers are familiar the objective of the post is defeated.

22. What is the name of the company ? Do I have to wait for puddin and souse or flying fish an coucou in de next NationNews ?

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Sugar

“Because I love Bim…” aptly expresses how you and alot more people feel when they first come to this site.

We are afraid to say the names less it comes back to bite you

Might I suggest the following. You seem to know a fair amount about this matter, including where the skeletons are buried.

Take the information and send it to the confidential email of the BU blogmaster, from an email address that you make up, solely for the occasion.

David[BU] is a down to earth fellow who, like you and me, like this country bad and doan want to see it dead.

You can send him anything and, as long as you tell him NOT TO PUBLISH your name, he takes the material, “tidies it up” over a few days and when it is republished, not a man jack, including you, dont know where it comes from.

This is about caring for Barbados MORE than these vagabonds.

That is why the government canvassing to get this site closed down, they hate what it publishes.

In fact Fumble and Sinckliar feel it causing the IMF and the World Bank to look pun dem with distrust.

BU now has the reputation for getting Moody change the cuntry’s ratings ask AC

24. Thank you pieceuhderockyearight.
    I am am still employed by said company which Is located I the airport so I have first hand knowledge of the whole situation.

25. My take is that the writer is seeking to share the experience of the impacted and simultaneously bring some awareness to an issue that Barbadians have been hiding from for some time. Whether we choose to openly acknowledge it or not, there are still significant social disparities in this country when it comes to wealth, income and job opportunities. We would do well to take a leaf from the book of our neighbours in the Cayman Islands. In spite of being a jurisdiction where expatriate labour is required to manage the many captive insurance and international business companies – expatriates ‘tour of duty’ are guided by limited terms (believe maximum of 5 years). Infants born to expatriate families are not granted Caymanian citizenship (stated fact not that I am in agreement). Cayman citizens are given first priority for employment opportunities. The reason for this is multifaceted – advancement and upward mobility of their local people, providing the locals with examples worthy of emulation just to name a few. Local blacks in key management/board positions should not be deemed strange, weird or exceptions to the norm less the Willie Lynch syndrome continue >>>

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Fanyepur

All roads lead to Rome.

“America is for Americans, Spain is for Spain, Germany for Germans” wherever you go people have a send of “this is our land” which, barring the lines in the song, does not mean anything to us Bajans.

When you walk the length and breath of Barbados and you say for example take a look at our highways or main City what does it mean to you?

When you see it filth or you are driving along behind a minibus and one of our Bajan animals on two legs, throws a snow cone cup out of the window, or a chefette box, does it mean anything to you or me?

You dont really understand the job that massa has done to us and the job that we have continued these 50 years post independence.

We love the outward show 375 years of Parliament, Crop Over, all these meaningless things which make us comfortable about ourselves but that is precisely what we are froth of ole men’s piss, not really worth the beer that we drank to make it, soon to soak into the earth and disappear.

Like that ole piss, of course we leave a rancid smell, that causes many of us to turn up our noses, but the most that we do in response is to shift our wares to another street, further than Amen Alley, where another set of ole mens will piss again and we will move again.

At the empirical level we do not see ourselves as “craftsmen of our fate” these fields and hill beyond recall is part of a song that we simply sing and have sung, because if the teacher dont see us singing it in our respective schools, it may mean a detention.

It does not mean anything so by the time that we get to hiring practices, immigration regulations, “there being no other suitably qualified candidates’ notices we have so diluted the concept of what it is to be Bajan that it is like the Pineapple drink that Chefette sells, watered down, yellow coloured, sugared water.

If it was diluted urine, you cant tell.

Let any one of you stand up for any issue and see what becomes of your efforts and how quickly your character is assassinated.

Long Live BU, Balme Them & Shame Them and use them like the *** that they are

27. Pages 4 & 5 of BarbadosToday. READ PLEASE!!!!!

In the words of Malik “Barbados real fuh cup”.

28. @David,

” handled by a senior accountant supported from the team in Ireland.”

So tiny likkle Babadus providing employment fuh people in Ireland.

29. @Hants

There is a significant Irish population in Barbados and there is DIGICEL.

30. Colonel Buggy Avatar

Hants May 23, 2015 at 4:22 PM #

@David,

” handled by a senior accountant supported from the team in Ireland.”

So tiny likkle Babadus providing employment fuh people in Ireland.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………
    This is not the first time that little Barbadoze has found employment for the Irish,compliments Oliver Cromwell.

31. Colonel Buggy Avatar

“An official with intimate knowledge of the situation said the “termination” letters given to deputy general manager David Estwick and retail manager Sharon Hinds conveyed the impression that the company, Caribbean ARI Inc., sent them home in order to save money and put dominance in the hands of expatriates.”
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Reference the above, delete Caribbean ARI Inc, and insert LIME/FLOW or BL&P, or Massy and quite a few others.
    This government has not yet started the business of selling Citizenships, but it is sure as hell selling out its citizens, at a knock down price.

32. It is called “selling your birthrights for a pot of porridge”…
    When it is done within two generations out of a four-hundred-year-old slavery experience, then you KNOW you are talking about brass bowl rabbits(f).

Imagine selling NATIONAL ASSETS to complete foreigners …for a few dollars to ‘boost foreign reserves’ (ie ..to buy a lotta bling..)

…we deserve every shiite that is coming our way….