INSIGHT Critical to Getting the Best Result From Tourism

According to a recent TravelMole article, British travel agents are reporting ‘exceptional’ days of trading so far this month. Some say forward bookings are up as much as ‘30-50 percent’ over the same period last year and that a third of summer holidays currently being offered in 2015 will be sold during January and February.

Based on early indications, the most popular long haul destinations are within the Caribbean and in particular, Costa Rica, Mexico, Cuba and the Dominican Republic. Others far flung choices include Mauritius and the Maldives.

On the downside, the Association of British Travel Agents (ABTA) reported that short haul holidays are being boosted by the low value of the Euro against Sterling, making the Mediterranean much more affordable. But conversely, the abolition of the dreaded Air Passenger Tax (APD) for children below 12 years is driving demand for destinations further afield.

There is also a continuing trend for traveller’s booking further in advance and as a former tour operator for 12 years, I can tell you just how helpful that is in the overall scheme of things.

And especially, bearing in mind the new Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc (BTMI) declared intent to attract a higher percentage of younger people to our shores, this early booking trend is being led by them, with 51 per cent of 15-24 years and 44 per cent 25-34 year olds choosing their holiday earlier in 2014, with every indication these percentages will rise this year.

If we are going to ever maximise the use of marketing dollars, researched information like this is critical to achieving best results. Each year ABTA publishes a consumer report that reflects any trends that will help its members exactly how they are going to drive additional business and hopefully retain existing clientele. Bearing in mind it is based on a representative UK sample and in the particular case of the 2014 report, 2008 consumers took part.

Among some of the findings were: Package holidays continue to grow in popularity with just over half (51 per cent) of the population booking an overseas package holiday last year.

Of all overseas holidays offered in the UK, 20 per cent were booked with a ‘High Street’ travel agent, 25 per cent with a travel agent online, 21 per cent directly with a tour operator and by far the single largest percentage 34 per cent, directly with the service providers (airline and/or hotel).

While fully understanding the desire or even need to attract a younger demographic, our tourism policy planners might like to read another conclusion in this report.

‘Younger holidaymakers are the most eager to try new destinations with almost half (49 per cent) saying this is quite likely. ‘Meanwhile older consumers are more conservative – over half (56 per cent) of over 65 years and (51 per cent) of 55-64 year olds said they would definitely not or would be unlikely to visit a country they had never been to’.

It’s a very fine balancing act.

51 comments

• Go to Best Beach in the Caribbean.com US travel and see Barbados Crane Beach is highlighted as # 2…….vote and hope we become #1…..these is D kinda advertising thrust we want Adrian…

• Email recently received

Sent: Thursday, January 22, 2015 6:43 PM
    Subject: VOTE for Barbados’ Crane Beach

Good evening,

Your help is needed to select the Best Caribbean Beach. Our Crane Beach has been leading for the past few days! Please go to the link below to vote for the Best Caribbean Beach. You are able to vote once per day until February 2 at noon. Please join us in this exercise and feel free to share this link with your family, friends, and other Barbadians in the Diaspora.

http://www.10best.com/awards/travel/best-caribbean-beach/crane-beach-barbados/share/

To vote, go to: http://www.10best.com/awards/travel/best-caribbean-beach

Thank you.

Jamila Jones
    Secretary
    DLP Barbados (Canada) Inc.
    Call/Text: 416-287-8291
    Facebook: DLP Barbados Canada
    Twitter: @DLPBarbadosCan

• When is the sense voting for self?

• Adrian Loveridge you should be on the Tourism Boards in Barbados.

• The issue of crime has serviced in tourist belts in Barbados again. We have complaints from St. Lawrence Gap heading East to Long Beach area.

• @ David January 26, 2015 at 10:14 AM #

When is the sense voting for self?

Just like buying vote

DEM wants to stack the deck

• Taxation is Theft. Theft is evil. Taxation is evil.

A certain future coalitional government of Barbados – and of which the PDC will be part – shall Abolish Taxation in this country and at the same time help in the liberation of ALL people from the evil, wicked and inhuman bondage and scourge of TAXATION.

Otherwise stated, there shall be the ushering of a very necessary inescapable post-Taxation society for Barbados.

• Russia is now junk status by s and p ….below investment grade ….. Barbados is getting below assessment grade….like why bother

• “Russia is now junk status by s and p”

Russia In The Cross Hairs — Paul Craig Roberts

Standard and Poor’s downgrade is, without any doubt, a political act. It proves what we already know, and that is that the American rating firms are corrupt political operations. Remember the Investment Grade rating the American rating agencies gave to obvious subprime junk? These rating agencies are paid by Wall Street, and like Wall Street they serve the US government.

A look at the facts serves to establish the political nature of the ruling. Don’t expect the corrupt US financial press to look at the facts. But right now, we will look at the facts.

Indeed, we will put the facts in context with the US debt situation.

According to the debt clocks available online, the Russian national debt as a percentage of Russian GDP is 11 percent. The American national debt as a percentage of US GDP is 105 percent, about ten times higher. My coauthors, Dave Kranzler, John Williams, and I have shown that when measured correctly, the US debt as a percent of GDP is much higher than the official figure.

The Russian national debt per capita is $1,645. The US national debt per capita is
    $56,952.

http://www.paulcraigroberts.org/2015/01/26/russia-cross-hairs-paul-craig-roberts/

• It seems obvious the G& (excluding Russia) has orchestrated this low oil price scenario to destabilize Russia. Rest assured the price point will move up again and then what?

• Rest assured the price point will move up again and then what?
    LOL @ David
    Boss, you take optimism to a world beating level.

If our biggest worry is the “price point of oil moving up” then we don’t have too much to worry about after all…

But if we live in a world where loose cannons like Al-Qaeda, Boca Harram, and ISIS seem to operate at will, and where the global power brokers like USA, EU, and Russia are basically at war, Is it not obvious that this will escalate into serious global chaos?

Sorry to burst your optimistic bubble, but the shit is scheduled to soon to hit the REALLY big fan…

• Good to hear the President of the BHTA speaking positively to what they have been doing to rehabilitate THE GAP. The question though is why would we have allowed our most popular entertainment strip to have deteriorated to a project that required fixing.

• @David,

Page 3 of Barbadostoday. plantations for sale.

• @Hants

Will likely be snapped up by the Trinis.

• As a regular visitor from North America, part of the attraction, besides the weather and the people of Barbados, is (was) that it was not North America.

There were Super Centre, Dacosta Mannings, Dacosta Distrbution , Knights Pharmacy, 99 Convenience, United Insurance, SBI Distribution, Illuminat, SP Musson, Booth Steamships and Big Bs.

During a recent visit, I discovered that those Bajan brands have all disappeared in the Massy-fication of the 166 square miles, which is now dominated by those garish MASSY STORES signs everywhere.

And, it is not that long ago there were no McDonalds, no Subways, no BKs etc; just Cheffett, Oistins and other uniques Bajan brands.

But that too is changing.

The following article in the Nation suggests we are seeing the Bizzy-fication of the fast food landscape.

“Fourth Burger King on the way
    LK,
    Added 26 January 2015

BURGER KING IS seeking to expand its market share

And executives are telling other local fast food operators to look out for greater competition.

Barbados franchise holder Ralph ‘Bizzy’ Williams revealed yesterday that the brand is expected to launch its fourth location at Sheraton Mall by mid-May, while there are tentative plans for stores in the north of the island in Holetown and Speightstown.

However, said Williams, expansion would depend heavily on the amount of licences that would be issued to the franchise”

Can there be any doubt that with the cash-strapped Government in need of any money it can get its hands on, whether by way of licence fees or otherwise, that licences will be issued to Bizzy for whatever location he applies?

Surely being able to get a Whopper and Fires at the nearest BK will not be a selling point for potential visitors.

• David

Must be laying the pipe for natural gas from Trinidad

• Included in todays Globe and Mail is a 12 page (6” X 10”) glossy brochure for Beaches (Resorts for everyone by Sandals) in Jamaica and Turks and Caicos, where the fun never stops and its all included and always unlimited.

Just visited http://www.sandals.com/main/barbados/bd-home/ and see that the Countdown to Reopening Sandals Barbados is now down to 11 hours, 30 minutes and 13 seconds.

Guess we will see pictures in Thursdays papers of Butch and Minister Sealy at the ceremonial ribbon cutting.

Sorry I cannot be there in the US $2,302 PP/PN Ocean Village Beachfront One Bedroom Butler Suite with Balcony Tranquility Soaking Tub – which is available for the discounted price of only US $806 PP/PN

Yes those are the prices posted in the website. US $2,303 PP/PN sounds like Sandy Lane, but what does DD know?

• @ Due Diligence,

Sandals brand is a success story and let us hope it is the same in Barbados.

Up to 60 percent off.

• @green monkey

don’t worry about the USA debt to GDP. They have things well under control and there is already a bill introduced to reduce the price of gold to $1.00 US$ per oz. I suppose that is there just to put a little warning that nothing is going to replace the US$ as the worlds currency.

https://www.congress.gov/bill/113th-congress/house-bill/1576

• Due Diligence January 27, 2015 at 1:34 PM #

Must be laying the pipe for natural gas from Trinidad
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Could be connecting Sandals to Trinidad natural gas, as word in high places ,believe that Sandals is the cause of the recent natural gas shortage in some areas ,having three commercial meters and 3 turbine generators running on natural gas.

• Colonel Buggy

Could be that direct line to T&T natural gas was one of the concessions

• Canadian dollar closed at 79.87 cents US on yesterday.

Barbados is now almost 20% more expensive for Canadians. Not good.

• Hants

If GOB/CBB would allow the BDS $ to float (i.e. devalue) a visit to Barbados would (theatrically) be less expensive for Canadians (and Americans and Brits) to visit Barbados.

But dat aint gonna happen.

• @Hants

Whenever the topic of allowing the Barbados dollar to float comes up it is followed by the word “devalue”. That seems to indicate everyone thinks the Barbados dollar is overvalued. Do we really think that the Barbados dollar is worth 20% more than the Canadian dollar? Tourist operators in Jamaica, DR, Costa Rica, Brazil and Cuba are loving our monetary policy. They have all come to the realization that they need their currencies valued in a environment that makes them competitive.

• From today’s Advocate.

PM: Devaluation not an option!

1/29/2015

PRIME Minister Freundel Stuart has given the assurance that Government, through its policy choices, will continue to make the preservation of the exchange rate a matter of priority.

He was speaking yesterday afternoon at the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry’s business meeting held at the Hilton Barbados Resort.

“I give this assurance, well aware that this will serve neither as a deterrent nor a discouragement to that small coterie of alarmists who continue to believe in economic witchcraft and are therefore preoccupied with and intrigued by this brand of necromancy,” he mused

Apparently the Government of Canada subscribes to economic witchcraft and that brand of necromancy.

• @DD

Sending home public workers and asking Cave Hill students to pay fees was not an option either. So what is your point?

On Thursday, 29 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

• David

To which of my posts do you refer?

• Last one 😄

On Thursday, 29 January 2015, Barbados Underground wrote:

• @ Due Dilligence,

the Government of Canada can take advantage of a floating currency because Canada has a substantial export economy. The rise and fall of the dollar is manageable.

Barbados is a likkle 2×4 island and a net importer with very little to export competitively.

• Hants

Not to be picky, but I thought Barbados is a little 14 X 21 (166 sq. mi.) Island.

Barbados generates the bulk of its forex from its export of tourism product/service.

See BHTA article at http://www.bhta.org/index/resources/news/the-effect-of-concessions-and-taxation-on-doing-business-in-tourism.html

“Today the tourism industry is that export industry, an export that cannot be readily seen as a tangible product leaving our shores but is the export of the experience that a guest takes away from Barbados and is the sector that is the driver of the Barbadian economy and major source of foreign exchange.”

Canada exports natural resources and manufactured goods and services, Barbados exports tourism services to pay its import bills.

I think SITH’s point is much the same as mine

“Tourist operators in Jamaica, DR, Costa Rica, Brazil and Cuba ……have all come to the realization that they need their currencies valued in a environment that makes them competitive.”

• Barbados continues to be a more expensive destination for Canadians. Watch the roller coaster ride.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/business/canadian-dollar-continues-slide-to-78-cents-us-1.2936443

• The big picture is you have to bring in more FX than you are sending out. To get a grasp on that FX numbers have to be looked at net of any FX borrowings. If we are not bringing in more than we send out to cover the import bill, then we have leaks that have to be plugged. We can plug the leaks by not spending and that would mean having less people employed by the government so that they don’t get to spend wages on imports. I cant imagine that the recent 20% increase in the value of the Barbados dollar is going to help FX unless of course we had positive FX inflows prior to this 20% increase. Time will tell all things.

• @SITH

Your point is taken and it is how Dr.Mascoll explained it in his analysis of the Governor’s recent economic review. Our net earning of forex declined YoY if borrowing is factored.

• Question, is the BTMI working with Charles Lewis?

Charles Lewis

January 25 at 3:22am · Edited

In consideration of the issues, suggestions and concerns discussed in the recent meeting with Mr William Griffith, CEO of BTMI we have revamped the business model for the air charter project.

The Russian investors behind the project now propose to set up a luxury air charter company offering an all first-class service to select destinations in the Caribbean from target hubs in the overseas tourism markets. The first travel route will be Moscow to Barbados as originally planned.

For more detail go to https://drive.google.com/…/0B6mI3yBkGaJwZVVnYkpZN1VkU…/view…

http://www.google.com/url?q=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.the-latest.com%2Fchequered-life-sex-industry-guru&sa=D&sntz=1&usg=AFQjCNGTnlQhSArXC5fasV77WuZlxu7YRQ

• I shook my head today in disgust and amazement. Today was one of the few times that I’ve ventured into Bridgetown without my camera, as I thought , after parking up,it will just be the same old, same old. But as I was strolling along Marhill Street, I saw about 4 or so visitors, with another person who appeared to be a tour guide,as he was giving them a run down of this city street. This group were all standing just a foot or two away from that unsightly ,smelly build up of garbage at the “bottom’ of Amen Alley, a picture that I’ve published before.
    The question is what are we doing about cleaning up the much bragged about UNESCO Heritage sites of Bridgetown and the Garrison? Just a basic low- tech sweeping, cleaning,washing down and discarding of garbage would go a long way in improving these sites.

Amen Alley as it always is.

• One of my buddies stayed at holetown last week and said it seemed like there were a lot less people than he usually sees….. low and behold I see someone from govt telling the x Chilean president they are having a good winter season. Whats the truth?

• January 2014 had the second lowest long stay arrivals over the last 4 years after January 2013 which had the lowest, so any comparision has to take this into account together with average stay and spend. The Chairman of BTMI stated that the first half of January 2015 was up by 12 per cent, but sadly the Barbados Statistical Service continue to be so tardy in posting up-to-date figures (the last being September 2014) there is no way the public (or industry) can verify this.
    Arrival figures should never be more than one week behind, if public servants are doing the job they continue to be paid for.

• Adrian did You cast your vote for one of Barbados best beaches to be no 1 so far Crane beach is leading,,
    Here is a chance for all the naysayers and doom and gloomers to put barbados interest first without spending a dime but just by the click of a mouse

http://www.10best.com/awards/travel/best-caribbean-beach/crane-beach-barbados/

• here is the complete list from 1-29
    Barbados had two hotels featured as among the best,, kudos to those in the industry for their valiant effort in being amongst some of the best hotels in the Caribbean. keep up the good work

http://travel.usnews.com/features/2015-Best-Hotels-in-the-Caribbean-Winners/

• Eat your heart out naysayers and collectors of garbage memorabilia , here is another list which place Barbados at no 4 of being among the best of the best
    Again kudos to all who have made this all worthwhile

http://travel.usnews.com/Rankings/Best_Caribbean_Vacations/

• Yes there are people out there who have Barbados best interest at heart and are not afaraid or ashamed of this country unlike those who seem to spendless nights alone in darkness looking under every nook and cranny to turn this little rock upside down, Barbados is and will always be a favourite place for many

• millertheanunnaki

@ ac February 1, 2015 at 4:29 PM

Yes, you are right ac, Barbados is indeed a lovely place to spend a holiday or even live.

The question to you though is whether this is a recently acquired status or has it always been like that even during the horrible reign of King OSA from 1994 to 2008?
    I bet you don’t bloody well answer that.

• Listen dorfus, i did rightly apply my KUDOS to ALL that contributed , Now you miller can add or subtract accordingly to your political scale

However the Fact is and will always remain are those with a obstructive and destructive agenda hell bent on portraying any negative about this tiny island u included

• 2015 and barbados is among the top ten i am tickled pink after reading all the negative articles here in BU land of the one EYE king

http://travel.usnews.com/Rankings/Best_Caribbean_Family_Vacations/

• A “NATION” First .. maybe after receiving a plate of humble pie by Sue springer and a reality check about All things Barbados
    The nation printed an article asking readers to vote in favor of Barbados having one or more of the best beaches in the Caribbean,

i guess something is better than nothing… Rats!

• today is the final date to vote deadline
    put barbados first

http://www.thecrane.com/vote/

• This is not good.

VISITORS ARE BEING DRAWN INTO THE MIDDLE of the war of words

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/62989/caught-middle#sthash.5wg6aBMz.dpuf

• @Hants

Yes it is a good news story but the other side is that the government has significantly reduced this service to the public. It needs a relook.

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s