The unprecedented decision by a minister of the crown to instigate legal action against Omar Watson  because he posted a Facebook status which caused him distress and anxiety  continues to be a source of annoyance to the BU household. The more you think about it, sub judice or not, it is a frivolous action, and when viewed together with the dry talk from minister of drainage Denis Lowe – there appears an obvious attempt by members of the government of Barbados to intimidate Barbadians who operate in the social media universe. BU does not condone misuse of social media and parties who abuse it should be aware there are consequences.

The racial tension playing out in cities across the USA should serve as a reminder to local authorities what is possible when citizens believe they are being ignored.   Barbadians have always been regarded by our neighbours as a docile people, always willing to avoid conflict. Some regard it as a positive quality and others suggest it creates the opportunity to be manipulated by others.  In recent years more Barbadians have been driven to social media platforms to voice ‘real’ concerns about matters affecting them. Authority figures should thread carefully before trying to enforce any attempt to quell citizen opinions posted to social media platforms. Instead, they should leverage social media to offer rebuttals and clarification statements to bring balance and truth to the public. How many political figures in Barbados maintain an active social media presence outside of an election period?

The bigger irony in the matter playing out is use of the Computer Misuse Act by Lashley which appears to be irrelevant to the times. We have a minister of the crown who sits on the front bench and is responsible for enacting relevant legislation would seek to use the current law to bully a Facebook poster merits careful review. Until Minister Michael Lashley brought this frivolous matter less than two or three thousand would have been privy to the status message. What was the status message anyway, was it that some alleged he received some blows at St. Catherine Sports Club and had to beat a hasty exit to his BMW SUV? Barbadians are known to spice an argument by adding the colloquialism, you doan know you want killing.  Many of us have used the reference at some time or the other.

BU is sure if the late Prime Minister David Thompson was alive DLP actors would be more comfortable handling criticism in the social media. What we are witnessing is the most unpopular government in our history reacting; lashing out wildly. What will we witness next, Minister Denis Lowe doing the same? Why doesn’t Minister Lowe face the public to refute an alleged transaction of which he is aware. Something to do with an account, millions, family dispute, Financial Intelligence Unit etc., etc., etc. What about the Cahill-Energy deal and B’s Recycling? What are you not telling us Minister Lowe?

113 responses to “Our Eyes are on YOU Ministers Michael Lashley and Dennis Lowe”

1. Everybody knows professor brass bowl bush tea is a no1ass licker and bold face hypocrite his erratic daily mouthings and usual hypocrtical responses fits well with his agreement to this loopsided format. No surprise here just the usual spit and jobby from him.

2. @Bush Tea

Thanks as you know we make changes at this time of the year. We don’t expect to be offline 2 days like last year but lookout for a few more changes. What you are seeing is some experimenting with layout, as always we will welcome feedback when we make the change. Bear in mind though the current format is similar to the Nation a…lol. The current format we are told may challenge some with a dormant left side brain…lol.

3. piece uh de rock yeah right!! Avatar
    piece uh de rock yeah right!!

@ David [BU]

Stereoscopic dormancy, left and right side, barring the fellow who does talk sense

AC/DC

Alternating Current does spout ingrunce but Direct Current does give some good points.

I feel dat de cuntputer belong to DC BUT AC possess certain assets dat does cuntrol certain tings dem, if you get my drift.. cause sometimes DC does say tings dat AC can’t conceptualize in a week of Sundays

4. @David
    The change gets a vote down from this combatant, I read left to right but perhaps “David’ is preparing us for the inevitable when Arabic becomes the language of choice and the reading is right to left but by then I’ll be fertilizing the roses.

Bushie will stand for anything especially if AC is on the other side. :-)

5. @ David
    Extra points for the new format….
    Sargeant don’t like um either…. THE FORMAT KICKING DEN..

SHIITE MAN…. you like you hit a stroke of genius this christmas D 🙂

6. Ac is not questioning or in disagreement for a new look or design .however for this type of format the lay out is horrible and needs to be fix forth with. Btw the nation lay out is horrific and one can only gaze for about a one a day topic which is about thirty seconds

7. LOL
    …so are you suggesting that this format is being deliberately employed to get de rid of pest like you and Sarge…?
    ..are you suggesting that after extensive research, blog masters have finally come up with the “anti-AC” format…?

BTW….um like um kill Dompey in the process yuh….

if we can limit you to 30 seconds a day on BU it would be more than worth any inconvenience caused to others..
    …hear yuh tomorrow den…. LOL ha ha ha

8. looking good a little bit more of alignment from the far left side to centre and it would be just about right ,,ac can adjust to the left to right movement of the head ,,but as one blogger suggested it may be a blessing in disguise for bu,

9. With MALARIA on the island now, will the Environment and DRAINAGE Unit focus on clearing drains and clearing bush and fogging???? Urgently?

THAT is what the Ministers should be focused on now.

Think Dengue bad, MALARIA is even worse!!!!

10. And remember, when they say it s a couple or few, many already have it and the real figures are much worse.

This is SO serious.

11. I am a Dengue Mosquito in Barbados, and I have wrecked havoc, and no one did much to curtail my behaviour.
    Next I filed for my cousin Chickungunya ,and brought him here , and we are doing the dog, from St Lucy to Christ Church, and yet still I am ruling untouch.
    Last week I sent for my other cousin, Malaria, who came equipped with , not only with a scorpion, but also with a dog hunter , bull pisstle and a UZI.

12. NAME +TOPIC was a easier concept,

13. The comment by (the brighter) AC regarding name and topic is seconded.

Name + remark seems oddly “redundant” since showing the “truncated remark”, while teasing a peek at the subject matter, more often that not may carry one to a topic of minimal interest to the reader.

I now find myself clicking on “authors of Content Merit” who may have posted in the tab on the right and who I recall are authors of worth as opposed to tracking the subject so to speak.

“Latest” topic/tab posted doesn’t achieve the same objective which would place you at the same reading point, usually the last entry of a topic, as the other format of last name + topic did

This AC thinks before writing