Submitted by Old Onion Bags
Gasoline prices continue to rise in Barbados
Fuel at the pump continues to rise in Barbados

With the recent unprecedented rate at which oil prices have been falling on the international market, one would believe by now, that the price of gasoline to the Bajan consumer would have gone down.  But no-no; don’t forget Bajans were recently placed on a diet of “Blackbird soup” and Wood dove rations by their Minister of Finance, and such levity would derail frugality. As such, the prices being asked for gasoline in Barbados remain around the same as when Brent Crude was listed on the exchange at around $120 per barrel in 2011. Who in their right minds would not believe, that with a decrease of more than 30% in crude oil prices, some semblance of a significant reduction would be passed on to the Bajan consumers?

On the international markets, crude oil price have plummeted to around $83 per barrel. A variety of factors have coalesced into a perfect storm driving oil prices lower and lower: US prices have fallen 25 percent to around $80 a barrel in the past five months – a large drop, given that prices had been floating around $115 dollars a barrel from 2011 onward.

In late October, Goldman Sachs revised its 2015 forecast to predict that oil prices would continue a downward slide. Goldman predicts soft demand and a glut of supply will drive West Texas Intermediate – the North American benchmark – to $70 a barrel in the second quarter of 2015. Global benchmark Brent could dip to $80 that same quarter, according to the report, when oversupply is at its peak.

There have been many outcries by Bajans on social media and the call in programs for gasoline prices and fuel oil prices (hence electricity bills) to go down with the advent of these falling crude oil prices. Minister of Lands Dennis Kelman was first to offer his explanation on the call in program. He said that government has negotiated with Trinidad to purchase gasoline and fuel oil on future contracts (buying on forwards). Since the current supply has not been exhausted, prices of gasoline would remain. This does little to explain Mr. Minister, why Bajans have seen spates when gasoline prices have increased almost every fortnight and the fuel adjustment rate on their light bills escalated unexpectedly. Are we to believe then Mr. Minister whenever we see a price hike in gasoline, it is as a result of drawing down a new negotiated shipment from Trinidad?

The obvious question then that follows Mr. Minister, since we have these negotiated forward contracts, why is John Public and \or businessmen not privy to such scheduled pricing? With such information in hand, they can ‘forward plan’ and\or reschedule thereby reducing business cost?

As one caller to the call-in program most unctuously put it, “to us it seems as if increasing\decreasing gasoline and fuel oil pricing is being done ‘willy nilly’. “It seems as if when government has a shortfall for cash in one area, it increases gasoline and fuel oil prices to compensate.”

49 responses to “Forward Contracts or Price Hikes?”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Onions

I don’t like talking to dead people. However, I must join you in asking why fuel is still at an all-time high in Barbados when the price has plummeted on the world market. Is Government keeping the price artificially high in order to rake in more taxes? They have little regard for the suffering of the poor.

2. Money grab.

Transparency required!

3. Why from Trinidad to start with? What was the term of the futures contract? What was the price fluctuation written in? Will the government produce a copy of the contract for public scrutiny? Whose administration negotiated the contract?

4. @racehrse

Why not Trinidad?

They take our low quality oil which represents 10% of our demand.

5. @ David

If things keep going the way they are, they’ll own and control most of the country soon, We could probably find a US supplier. But you’re right; a money grab.

6. gas prices have fallen quite a bit in canada, which truthfully is shocking tu us canadians, we are used to getting bent over

7. Last week on the call in program ex senator Husbands pointed out how important and serious the manipulation of energy prices\rates can be. Govt thru manipulation of the prices for diesel, gasoline,- fuel adjustment rate, bottle gas etc.. has an immediately and effectively tool to alter the country’s internal money movements at short notice…..In addition, did BNOC in its last FS not make $100 million in profits in 2012?……serious business here. No wonder the hush hush…

8. As I wrote last week the price at the pump in Trinidad since their last budget earlier this year is US$0.43 per litre.What the hell good is this thing called Caricom if it benefits Trinidad to practically take over all commercial activity in Barbados,but when it comes to oil,we pay world price.Worse yet is that right next door in Venezuela the price of petrol at the pump is US$0.01 per litre.for folk like Sinckler/Dompey,that is 1c us per litre.Why is not our ministry negotiating with these cheaper sources.The US still trade in oil with Venezuela.I suppose Boyce and Stuart can’t be bothered.
    This DLP government aided and abetted by a compliant press has been since 2008 making trite pronouncements that “there has been a SLIGHT increase in the price of gasolene….and slam consumers with a 15 and 20c per litre increase,to a stage now where we have moved to US$1.81 per litre.The price of a barrel is now about US$78.00 and we are being price gouged by an uncaring government for an old price range of US$120.00 per barrel.One would have thought that a government of vision would have cashed in on selling our marine blocks when high prices prevailed…but that was Liz Thompson’s work and to play down her good work and role in this regard,the Dems turned a blind eye.Behold the scales have fallen away from their eyes now that there is no money to feed the Fatted Calf Brigade and they are so desperate that shame is the least of their concerns.

9. Forward contract? If Kelly had any say that would be a case of “ monkey handling gun”. Forward contracts are for sophisticated Traders unless the Gov’t bet that the price will go up and locked in at current prices which means that when the market collapsed they would still be bound at the price negotiated.

BTW one should always follow the money, when the Merrill Lynchs of the world predict lower prices in any commodity I always think that they have a lot of money riding on futures,

Here is what I wrote in one of the Blogs on Wind farms in Dec. 2008

“If any one wants to know where the price of oil is going all they have to check are the price of oil futures contracts due for delivery in three years….. they are all pegged at more than $80.00 per barrel. Coincidentally, tonight on 60 minutes two segments were devoted to oil production in Saudia Arabia and the Saudis are not averse to spending huge sums of money to bring their vast resources to market. Apart from the technology feat utilized to bring oil from under tons of desert sand, two things stood out during the interview 1) it costs the Saudis two dollars to produce a barrel of oil; 2) they would like to see oil selling for $75.00 a barrel”.

10. Why can’t the government in the interest of being transparent communicate with the electorate the type of contract it is obviously locked into if any? Don’t we deserve better? Are we not the people who elected these people? Why allow every issue to drag on and become very political.

11. David you need a whistle blower at BNOC.

12. @Hants

One of the reasons the government used for passing thru the market price of fuel was the need to retire BNOC debt accumulated under the BLP as a result of its policy of subsidizing oil. As far as BU is aware that goal was achieved. There needs to be an adjustment to the policy so that it doves-tail a realistic takeup of alternative energy by consumers.

We need transparency and yes Hants; a whistleblower.

13. What Bajans generally do is CONSUME. Why do you want cheap oil prices? so that more people can drive ’bout? …so that it no longer makes sense to invest in alternative energy? …so that people will have more disposable income?
    “Real Real” poor people are still paying $1.50 bus fare, walking, or slamming tar…
    …and “real real” producers (FOREX earners) who Baffy regards highly, should have their fuel costs tagged directly to the international prices.

Truth is that there SHOULD be a punitive tax on fossil fuel imported into Barbados. Why the hell wunna stop complaining bout the shiite tax FOOLISHLY IMPOSED on poor Bajan people’s HOMES, but vex bout some hidden tax on Trickidadian oil?

Petrol should be $10 per liter wunna don’t know…? 🙂
    Let Gabriel and new onion bags put down the benz and buy a bicycle and a whacker….

14. Bushie I got muh cart waiting fuh yuh to strap to yuh back and pull. Heee hawww! And eff yuh playing de fool ah gots muh bull pistle to paste yuh rassta.

15. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE1788- 1792 BARBADOES Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE1788- 1792 BARBADOES

David | November 19, 2014 at 8:49 PM |

Money grab.

Transparency required!

Never happen yet and never with the two crooks , liars and scumbags BLP and DLP ,,,,, CUP on its way, Vite better next time , Lets see who we can put out the People House,

Caswell , We know you know why, Now time for the others in the streets and houses and even this Blog understand the truth . Most must have went to American school to enjoy telling lies and hiding truth ,

No Clear Titles no TAX BASE, All other things must be TAXES AND OVER VAT-TED UNTIL YOU ALL VEX,
    we cant wait till they see and then CHANGE their MINDS ,,, that is going to HURT their Heads,,,,,,,,,,,,More Pain to COME

16. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE1788- 1792 BARBADOES Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE1788- 1792 BARBADOES

Master of blocking Blogging is at it again?

17. @ Bushie
    Duppy or not…..Man what foolishness you post @ 11.16 ?…….”real people” still paying $1.50 for bus fare?….which part..?? Like U behind times Mr.Outback …..But of course people want cheaper gasoline…..in case you din know..some people have small meager incomes and have to travel from St.Peter to St.Philip evaday to work- evabody ent a big able headmaster….Unlike you I guess…some people are self employed and have to travel the lenghts and breaths of this forsaken country to do a lil business?..You eva hear bout salesmen? ….Of course we want cheaper prices for gasoline diesel,fuel oil, bottle gas and the like to lower D light n cooking bill… unlike you Bushie we feeling D pinch inflicted by Chris….. Not evabody got something put aside…..some people barely can make ends meet and you talking balls?….Who you know in this day n age duz just drive bout for sport?….Not everybody like you cud eat rice upon rice evaday…..so how a Casanova (like Onions) gine get home at 2.30 pm affa a lil escapade..? Man Bushie we dun know you duz talk bare brassbowl (my word ya tief) when you pun D grogs….what $1.50 real people what?….stupess..lol

18. @ onions
    Wait bozie…that big ride you pushing like um hitting you pocket real hard yuh…. LOL
    you could save a real dollar if you would do like Hants and go fishing in the sea or river …. instead of in a strange bedroom when the nights come. Then yuh won’t have to spend more $$ again buying fish early pun a morning at paynes bay to carry home….

Bajans too like the easy cheap life. THAT IS OUR UNDOING…

Free this… Cheap that… pay later…. It is a lotta shiite.

Our national goals need to be made of sterner stuff than catching after a few dollars…. ANY pretty young (or even 48 year-old) woman who has such an attitude can expect to end up being French Connected (UK style.) – like your “fish”…

Barbados was great when our national motto was to be “CRAFTSMEN OF OUR FATE” …and to “OWN OUR FIELDS AND HILLS”
    …now we just want rich people to come back and get us some easy money and we will sell them all our fields, hills ….and after THOSE are all sold off….our asses.

Our independence motto for 2014 could easily be displayed at the Garrison – on the Bush Hill side – “SWEET AND EASY POKE POKE, COME AND GET IT” ….and in Bridgetown.. – “THESE FIELDS AND HILLS ARE ALL FOR SALE….. SPECIAL ON BNOC ..ANY OFFER ACCEPTED” ….cause Freundy needs his sleep…and an idiot steering the ship…

Cheap gas shiite…that is the LEAST of our problems…
    brass bowls……

19. SO WAIT..WHY BAJANS TOO CAN’T REAP THE BENEFITS OF FALLING OIL PRICES?…..PEOPLE IN CANADA (and d resta d world) DO…

I will tell you why…Is because we got certain Negrocrats bout here that believe all the sweets for them…..They just love the current status quo….as a matter of fact…..they will promote it….one man’s meat (ascendency) is another man’s poison (suffering)….

This current lot however…catching they royal….dey spent so much and waste so much ….and din collect so much…that they heads in awry…in short DEM can’t do any better…imagine selling BNOC that just mekk $100 million for $ 70 Million?…dat is how bad it is….dey reeeellling.

Whoever stated that devaluation isn’t a real and possible poltergeist had better take stock the way things shaping.

By the way Bushie evabody done know I got an old 1987 Toyoto SUV….so what Mercedes what?…..only Mercedes I have access to is from Transport Board……swallow dat

20. And Bushie I does drive a humble Suzuki dat Dame Billie cry dung in Parliament some years ago as a cheap kyar.And Bushie you pass a construction site recently and see the vehicles that park nearby?You tink dem belong to the site managers and supervisors.Naw,dem belong to the masons and kyarpenters an steel benders and dem.Hard werkin artisans dat movin’ on up.Wuh ef you cud put stuart in a benz,a man dat doan produce a dayz work fuh a dayz pay and he driving bout at we expense,you mean to say I got to suck salt wen gas prices shud come down and benefit the whole society.Wuh ef people drivin’ bout, dey mussee spenning money to keep de economy turnin’ ova!

21. LOL
    ok fellas …. wunna got bushie in a corner…
    especially the master point that if Sleeping Stuart can move between naps in a benz wunna can’t be blamed for wunna Japanese rides…

BUT HEAR THIS…
    There are only two possible means of legally ‘moving on up’ in this world and enjoying the things that Sargeant, Hants and those other rich Canadians enjoy..
    Work hard as shiite and be productive…
    …or sell yuh soul to the rich perverts…

What the hell do you work an produce onions? …not even the damn old wives that you does sneak and buy in Paynes Bay at 4.30 in the morning…
    …don’t mind Gabriel with his big job behind a desk giving orders yuh….

22. @Bushie
    What the hell do you work an produce onions? …not even the damn old wives that you does sneak and buy in Paynes Bay at 4.30 in the morning.

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    ……whey I duz produce?…..A BIG able man stick…dat the sea-cat woman..that threaten to out you lights if ya come back down dey again..does be glad to see when D nite come…….

But no no Bushie on a more serious side…Govt must be in a heck of trouble for them not to be more responsive here, to these downward prices internationally….let’s not forget …..interfering with the money movement can and does stifle commerce and inevitably the country’s growth…Govt must learn to allow the cash to flow amongst consumers, hence allowing small men like landscapers\car washers to partake in the trickle down and enabling the money multiplier to be effective….why you think deposits so high on the commercial banks bout hay?…one body getting all…

I hear Baker on D call -in program now….talking bout this controversial issue…..and he is notable economist….

23. A lot of this is related to the continued assault on Barbados citizens where there is a move under way to reduce the amount of income available to spend on things that are imported and thus reduce stress on the fx reserves while at the same time reducing the GOB deficit. Of course if the Barbados dollar were correctly valued, living standards would have adjusted to a level that is a sustainable by the economic GDP of the country.

24. Bushie don’t include me among the rich BajanCanadians.
    Hard working (some of the time ( lol ) yes but not rich.

25. I posted a link above showing that the price of gasoline has been declining continuously in canada for a whole year.

The price of gasoline in the USA has plummeted in the last few months.

Why must Bajans be punished with exorbitantly high prices even though the price of crude has gone from $120 to $78.

Wake up leaders of the DLP. Do the right thing and cut the price of Gasoline so Bajans can have more coppers in dah pocket nuh.

26. @Hants

It must be a 1 year forward contract the government has locked itself to.

On Thursday, 20 November 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

27. Now this is what I call innovation;
    UK’s first ‘poo bus’ goes into service between Bristol and Bath
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-bristol-30115137

28. David Bajans must be vigilant and make sure that they benefit when the current low price crude is bought.

Gasoline prices must go down. Also the savings from “low pridce oil should be reflected in the electricity bills of consumers.

The foot must be lifted off the throat of bajan consumers.

29. David I just watched the BarbadosToday news update.

Emera/BL&P complaining that Bajans are going off the grid and sales are dropping.

Glad to hear that the alternative energy band wagon is rolling.

30. @Hants

EMERA’s reaction was predicted on BU. Now the government will have to make some decisions because they will squeeze those on the grid to maintain margin.

On Thursday, 20 November 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

31. Now Bushie you see what does happen when Chris restricts TOO MUCH of the money supply.

Extra Extra …..read all about it 3 YOUTHS BUSTED for robbing Scotia Bank and knocking out the messenger with a claw hammer.

32. Now you all see those 3 young people……if circumstances were different maybe they would have been studying up at Cave Hill….But TINGS SO TIGHT….this time their parents couldn’t find the MONEY to send them..the result ….we raising GREAT TRAIN ROBBERS…..all because Blackbird soup for some…. caviar and champagne for others…but it gine get worse doan study it…

33. @ Al Capone
    Perhaps it is not Chris’ fault, but yours…
    Suppose you have become their role model…?

34. When I rob, I don’t use now claw hammer.
    A real white collar business man here, SIGHT!!! Bushman

35. Reality is, that all dollars and cents now is smoke and mirrors.

Do people really believe that ‘IS’ is actually a real Islamic body working for the interests of the Middle East people or Islam?

The ONLY thing that IS is doing effectively is destabilsing the Middle East and by ensuring that arms manufacturers and dealers etc are needed, is buoy up the stock markets of the world by continuing the sales of heavy weapons.

THAT is the sole aim of IS. Who are they working for? Who knows.

But the reality is that this generation is now a slave to the ‘Stock Market Syndrome’, whereby the stock markets and by extension pension funds, MUST be protected by one way or another.

And currently, the international stock markets are a paper pyramid.

Germany is heading into recession, the one bright spark in Europe previously.

Yes, the reality is that the xxx has hit the fan. And ALL, money transactions are fluff.

But, those who play the big leagues, know that real products = real value, hence sales or arms is big business and a big foreign exchange balancer.

For us, what it means is ensuring that we are producing more and more of our own consumables.

And replace the import of expensive oil as much as possible by solar energy.

36. Good news to learn after the public clamour about gas prices up in Barbados compared to other countries down we are hearing there will be a drop in price at the pump.

37. Now tell me if public agitation doesn’t work…….and while you at it ..tell Deniss Kellman ….forward contract what….We bajans tired of being RAPED at the PUMPS ..imagine the amount of $$$$ that was raked in since October…our last increase to $ 3.64…..By the way David I wonder if the drop will be 3c or something minute ?

38. @David
    By the way,look for the price of bottle gas to GO UP..to compensate…as the Jesse James oil and gas Merry-go-Rund continues….

39. Believe it was 5 cents and 9 cents gas and diesel respectively.

40. Talk about commensurate? That ain’t saying a PANG!…..Next week bottle gas going up 10c..just watch.

41. Who in their right minds would not believe, that with a decrease of more than 30% in crude oil prices, some semblance of a significant reduction would be passed on to the Bajan consumers?

GIS issued this latest bulletin on Monday 24th November re: its policy on establishing prices for gasoline.

Effective midnight, Sunday November 23, the retail price of gasoline will decrease from $3.62 to $3.57 per litre – a saving of five cents.

The price of diesel will move from $2.87 to $2.78 – down by nine cents; while the retail price of kerosene will now be 14 cents less at $1.61, down from $1.75

SOME DECREASE…….5c a litre imagine dat…crude oil prices have gone down by more than 30%….and we drop gasoline by a mere 5c….

42. So for the sake of argument…..based on Govt reactionary figs. of a 30% decrease could only field a 5c drop…….suppose crude dropped by 95% then, how much could we consumers expect would be the commensurate decrease in price?

Using simple mathematics
    30% occasioned…an expected decrease of 5c
    1% should therefore………………………………..,5\30
    95%should therefore………………………………..5\30 x 95..or a mere 16c.

Sheer madness…..Is gasoline therefore top loaded before even marginal pricing kicks in…. with a Govt excess burden of $3.50 per litre?This mean then that Govt is set to make in excess of $9.00…(3liters=1gal) on each gallon of gasoline consumed…..WOW!

43. @ new onions
    …so wait boss..
    why did you think government only TALKS about alternative energy…while fossil fuels continue to consume FX?
    ..can you figure out a way to tax the sun and the wind like that?

44. @Bushie

So true….is bare TALK…What is more important ..is WHICH will bring in the most $$$ to them to reload a fatted calf….. The car business is a bare rip off…From the time a car lands in Bdos…is 150% DUTY to Govt…then we have licenses to pay yearly….But the BIGGEST revenue earner by far….is taxes and duties on the pink stuff we put in our tanks called GASOLINE

Now Govt has come up with Solid waste tax (a.k.a “Garbage tax) a last rite tax to put down D ole jalopy ……Highway robbery from the cradle (Port) to the grave (Dump)…..Hard to believe they still can’t get this 11 x 14 mile rock run.

45. In late October, Goldman Sachs revised its 2015 forecast to predict that oil prices would continue a downward slide. Goldman predicts soft demand and a glut of supply will drive West Texas Intermediate – the North American benchmark – to $70 a barrel in the second quarter of 2015. Global benchmark Brent could dip to $80 that same quarter, according to the report, when oversupply is at its peak

Brent Crude Oil is reported on the BBC selling internationally at $67 Us bbl…..a decline of 5 approx.50% since 2011 ($120 Us bbl)… then we in Barbados had been paying $3.50 ….almost the same as today $3.57 per litre…tell me who really raking in all THESE PROFITS?????

46. Give better pricing NOW! Avatar
    Give better pricing NOW!

Bajans continually being fleeced by astronomical GASOLINE PRICES. How come? More strangle hold tactics to suffer the public at the expense of GREATER COMMERCIAL activity . Why cant some people see this?