BU understands the Minister of Finance & Economic Affairs Chris Sinckler will play hardball with the sugar industry deal unless Minister of Agriculture David Estwick appoints BNB Capital Corporation to provide the financing for the new sugar factory. It is being discussed in certain circles that the minister of finance arranged for BNB Capital Corporation to handle the financing for the new sugar factory but Minister Estwick is not going with the flow.

Directors of BNB Capital Corporationย  incorporated on 17 September 2014 are:-

• Senator Jepter Ince
  • Timothy D. Joseph
  • Jung Yun
  • Sir Trevor Carmichael, QC

Related Links:

If there is anyone who can provide additional info email Barbados Underground the information.

234 responses to “Chris Sinckler and David Estwick Saga Continues – Money is Sweeter than Sugar”

1. Two Crocodiles were sitting at the side of the River Thames.
    The smaller one turned to the bigger one and said, ‘I can’t understand how you can be so much bigger than me.
    We’re the same age, we were the same size as kids. I just don’t get it.’
    ‘Well,’ said the big Croc, ‘what have you been eating?’
    ‘Politicians, same as you,’ replied the small Croc.
    ‘Hmm. Well, where do you catch them?’
    ‘Down at the car park by the Houses of Parliament.’
    ‘Same here. Hmm…..How do you catch them?’
    Well, I crawl up under one of their Lexus cars and wait for one to unlock the car door. Then I jump out, grab them by the leg, shake the shit out of them and eat ’em!’
    ‘Ah!’ says the big Crocodile, ‘I think I see your problem. You’re not getting any real nourishment.
    See, by the time you finish shaking the shit out of a Politician, there’s nothing left but an asshole and a briefcase.

2. Why would either senator feel that there is any impropriety in setting up a finance company for the sole purpose of financially milking the tax payers of this country? This is an administration whose leader (is he really?) declared that a known individual was his “friend” and not a “leper” to be shunned and that he would stand behind him (standing behind him and not in front of him may have something to do with popular rumor – ask David – oops! to late). There was a time when political dishonesty was practiced without such blatant disregard to public opinion, not any longer. Can you imagine the lengths the next set of thieves will be willing to go to given the mantra that “the last set of dem do it and wunna ent say nuttin. If EWB is really turning in his grave it is a wonder that we have not yet had a tsunami devastate this small island.

3. @ Anthony
    Aha!… that explains the difference between a Crocodile and a shark..

An old shark and a young one came across a group of people swimming. The young shark started swimming directly into the crowd when the old shark (’bout Piecuhderrock’s age) pulled him back and said “NO!….follow me”…..
    ….they then swam around the group with their dorsal fin sticking out in typical ‘shark-attack’ style. After some minutes, the old shark said…OK let’s eat now…and they moved in….

After the meal, the young shark asked…Boss, what was that all about? we could have eaten them half an hour ago and gone along ’bout our business…..

…The old fella said “…this way, by the time we are ready for them, all the shit has been expelled and we can safely eat everything else….”

4. @Bentley
    Professor Watson is correct.
    I keep saying there are too many Alices bout Barbados posing as bright making pronouncements as if the world is made up of one nation–Barbados. Resuscitate sugar industry? More like invigorate pockets!!

5. @ Anthony/ Bush Tea

I want Anthony and Bushie Tea to never every give up their night jobs becausing the two of yall are the worse story tellers on that side of the river. Wunnuh got Piece looking like Eddy Murphey right now; poor souls. And do maa aa big favor, dont tell noooo more jokes yaa hear, becausing it was painful enough having to read them?

6. @ Dompey

Glad you like buddy.

7. Anthony

I love it buddy, but how long have you Bushie being hosting Geriatric Comedy Hour on BU?

8. are-we-there-yet Avatar

On reflecting about David’s question re. could there be mitigating circumstances in the seeming horror story above? It came back to me that many many years ago I was a senior consultant in a consulting firm that did a fair amount of work for Government and the private sector. One day our CEO called the senior consultants in and announced that he had been offered the chairmanship of a statutory corporation. After congratulating him I asked if that was a wise thing to do as it seemed to me that taking that position would exclude the firm from being able to bid on some quite hefty projects because of possible conflict-of-interest situations. His rejoinder was that he had got the assurance from the relevant Minister (A Lawyer) that such would not be a problem. Our CEO’s first act as Chairman was to mandate that a fairly hefty baseline study should be made of the statutory corporation. It was therefore no surprise to us that our firm was awarded that project and a few spinoff ones as well.

So do not be surprised if it is entirely legal for all the persons listed as Directors of BNB corporation to take up those positions. Indeed, seeing the name of Dr. Trevor Carmichael there as one of the directors and that the firm of Inn Chambers did the incorporation suggests that there is unlikely to be any significant gaffes re. eligibility of the directors.

However, the ethics of the situation, as revealed by David and Dr. Love (Congrats!), is a horse of a different colour. Where is Due Diligence? sounds like this story needs his input.

9. @Gabriel November 15, 2014 at 10:15 AM “or does not understand the difference between an umbilical cord and refer to it as an โ€˜umbiblicalโ€™ cord?”

An umbilical is attached to a child born of a marriage

An unbiblical cord is attached to bastard babies, that is those babes born outside of a marriage.

We have to differentiate the babies because these things are important you know.

Surely even you Gabriel understands that.

10. @Sargeant November 15, 2014 at 12:28 PM “One of the primary reasons I supported the DLP in the 2008 Election was due to the promise made by the late David Thompson in the fall of 2007 to a group meeting at a Hotel in the west end of Toronto to implement Transparency/integrity and Conflict of Interest legislation if the DLP won the Election.”

Sorry Sarge. You got fooled and we got screwed.

Maybe you were too far away, but some of us understood that David Thompson was a liar, and completely self-interested.

We therefore did not vote for the DLP in 2008 nor in 2013, and won’t vote for them in 2018 unless they lean up their act.

11. @Anthony November 15, 2014 at 2:53 PM
    Two Crocodiles were sitting at the side of the River Thames…See, by the time you finish shaking the shit out of a Politician, thereโ€™s nothing left but an asshole and a briefcase.”

LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!

A good one Anthony. Thanks.

12. Took a drive thru st.george and st.thomas and was shocked at the state of the overgrown bush on the roads. I can’t imagine what Barbados would look like without sugar cane.

13. Took a drive thru st.george and st.thomas and was shocked at the state of the overgrown bush on the roads. I canโ€™t imagine what Barbados would look like without sugar cane.

Like Antigua and St.Kitts……do we realy want to sell tourism????

14. @are-we-there-yet November 15, 2014 at 8:49 PM “One day our CEO called the senior consultants in and announced that he had been offered the chairmanship of a statutory corporation. After congratulating him I asked if that was a wise thing to do as it seemed to me that taking that position would exclude the firm from being able to bid on some quite hefty projects because of possible conflict-of-interest situations. His rejoinder was that he had got the assurance from the relevant Minister (A Lawyer) that such would not be a problem.”

Dear are-we -there-yet: WHY THE HELL WOULD ANYBODY ASK A LAWYER FOR ETHICAL ADVICE? ESPECIALLY A LAWYER WHO IS ALSO A POLITICIAN.

@are-we-there-yet November 15, 2014 at 8:49 PM “Our CEOโ€™s first act as Chairman was to mandate that a fairly hefty baseline study should be made of the statutory corporation. It was therefore no surprise to us that our firm was awarded that project and a few spinoff ones as well.”

YOUR ERSTWHILE CEO IS A PART OF THE PROBLEM. NO WONDER THE COUNTRY HAS GONE TO HELL.

THE POLITICIANS ARE IN CAHOOTS WITH THE BUSINESS COMMUNITY TO ROB THE TAXPAYERS OF THIS ONCE DECENT COUNTRY.

NONE O’ WUNNA CAN’T SEE GOD FACE…NO WONDER SO MANY O’ WUNNA CAN’T MAKE IT TO THREE SCORE AND TEN, WHILE UNEDUCATED FIELD LABOURERS LIVE TO BE 110. YOUR SONS AND DAUGHTERS HAVE LOST ALL RESPECT FOR YOU, BECAUSE BETTER THAN ANYONE ELSE THEY ARE DAILY EXPOSED TO YOUR EVIL WAYS.

AND NO WONDER WUNNA SONS WASTING WUNNA DISHONEST GAINS ON DRUGS AND DRUG DEALERS SCREWING WUNNA DAUGHTERS.

GOD DON’T LIKE UGLY.

15. Simple Simon; Where in my post above did I suggest that someone asked a lawyer / politician for ethical advice?

16. “our CEO[‘s] rejoinder was that he had got the assurance from the relevant Minister (A Lawyer) that such would not be a problem.โ€

Your question to your CEO, and the CEO’s rejonnder the rejoinder were both about ethical matters. If you dod not recognize thatthen or now, and if your CEO did not recognize it then or now, an in the Minister’/awyer did not recognize it then or now, then all 3 of you are part of the problem and my assertion that no wonder this once decent country has gone to hell stands.

17. Bolts with Nuts | November 15, 2014 at 9:25 PM |
    Took a drive thru st.george and st.thomas and was shocked at the state of the overgrown bush on the roads. I canโ€™t imagine what Barbados would look like without sugar cane.
    ……………………………………………………………………………
    You do not have to imagine it. It is being played out before our very eyes. Take up a vantage point on top of Easy Hall cliff, the one just above the abandoned St Joseph Church.Take a look all around you and the popular term, “Its a jungle out there !,” rings true. From this elevated point you will see mostly bush, and/or grass covering what was once the following sugar plantations.
    Bawden & River, Baxters, Cleland , Bruce Vale,Greenland, Greg Farm, Haggatts, Mount All, Sedge Pond, Spring vale,Seniors, Swans, Turners Hall, Bissex, Blackmans (partially) Cambridge, Castle Grant and Retreat (Mostly) Chimborazzo, Forster Hall, Frizers, Joes River, Malvern (partially)Mellows, Parks, Richmond, Spa, Springfield and Vaughns. And not forgetting the many many small plots of land that our fathers,or “peasant farmers” as they were called, used to cultivate ,collectively ,a sizeable tonnage of canes every year.
    And the story is not much different if you stop on top of Mount Misery and survey St St Thomas and parts of St Michael area, except that these plantations are being converted for use as residential areas, Golf and polo grounds.

18. Simple Simon; You really seem to lack comprehension of simple English. Sorry to belabour this, but you seem to have jumped to a number of conclusions that are not supported by the facts I related.

If you read my post carefully you will see that I asked the CEO a question that had to do with ethics. The CEO pooh-poohed the question by stating that he had checked with the Minister (a Lawyer) who had assured him that his taking on the Chairmanship of the Corporation would not affect his private company’s ability to get projects from that corporation.

The CEO wasn’t asking the MInister/Lawyer for ethical advice. He was asking the minister for an assurance that his company would be eligible to get projects from the public corporation of which he would be chairman. He must certainly have known that he was personally skating on thin ethical grounds. The Minister also must have known that he himself really did not have the de-jure power to give such an assurance (because of the financial rules and other checks and balances) but he also knew that he had the de-facto power to do so. He was and still appears to be ethically challenged.

Nobody asked a lawyer or politician for ethical advice as you seem to think.

I asked the question about ethics.

I had no direct connection with any of the projects which the company did with that local board. My salary came directly from a number of projects that had absolutely no question of unethical provenance since they were from ironclad internationally funded projects.

I brought up the true story as an illustration that ministerial ethics were on shaky ground for a long time now (that incident took place over 30 years ago). Things have worsened ethically in Barbados over the ensuing years but I think the major difference between then and now is that the PM then would have run a tight ship and such incidences would have been relatively few. Now, from the stories I hear and the things that BU publishes, the leadership turns a blind and sleeping eye to such escalating situations even though they are times more significant to the survival of the country.

19. @Are-we-there-yet

Now, from the stories I hear and the things that BU publishes, the leadership turns a blind and sleeping eye to such escalating situations even though they are times more significant to the survival of the country.

Also the people.

20. Lincoln Carrington Harper Avatar
    Lincoln Carrington Harper

David, I think that you are doing a good job proving that Barbados is not worth saving. Reminds me of the story of Sodom and Gonorrhea. I guess that our Lot is to be turned into pillars of salt, and not just our wives.

21. The Minister of Finance & Economic Affairs would have be a callous and cruel man to be putting the sugar industry and its 4,000 plus workers at risk, all because they trying line up a deal.

22. IF
    we sit and quietly consider those “inhuman objects” that we have mandated to run this Lil Rock we all call home.
    Personally I have the feeling of revulsion and sadness to have entrusted out future to these “objects”(we cannot call them people).
    “Action DO speak louder than words” FAR LOUDER.
    Are these “Objects ” Alien??
    The are certainly “Alien” to us and our Honest everyday people way of life and thinking.
    They are “Alien” to the ways of normal Barbadian people.
    Every word uttered by them is a fabrication and a piece of “foolery” designed for our betrayal by them.
    Blatant bald faced lies. Spoken in the name of God or Conviction,whatever can be used to dupe us.
    For these “objects” there are no Moral boundaries,or rules of Law; Demigogs.
    Imagine yourself!!
    Is there anything that would make you sell your Soul in this same manner?.
    As you think , you actually FEEL how far removed from us these “objects” are.
    You feel the Derision they have for you,the actual,total lack of regard they have for you.
    They are as the Politicians of Nazi Germany,Arrogant beyond the realms of Normal Humanity.
    Assured of their power over you and over the Laws of our Country.
    Like Giants walking in a field of Ants.
    Do you feel betrayed?
    When Stuart thrusts his Bloated face into mine via the Cameras of television, gurgitates, “heartfelt” lies,straightfaced and even toned,I feel the revulsion of having been physically “PUKED” upon.

Am I alone if the revulsion I feel for these people?

23. http://pdfserver.amlaw.com/cli/memorandum/oca_memorandum_652008_2013_14.pdf

FILED: NEW YORK COUNTY CLERK 06/24/2013
    NYSCEF DOC. NO. 14
    SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK COUNTY OF NEW YORK
    ————————————–X :
    GONG (DIXON) CHEN, individually and : derivatively on behalf of SKOFO MEDIA, LLC, : : Plaintiff / Counterclaim Defendant, :
    INDEX NO. 652008/2013
    RECEIVED NYSCEF: 06/24/2013

Index No. 652008/2013 – against – :
    ________________, J.S.C. SKOFO MEDIA, LLC, AMIT (ANTHONY) :
    KHERA and JAMES SHEIB,
    IAS Part ____
    Defendants, : : – against – : : JUNG YUN and YUN CAPITAL LLC, : : Counterclaim Defendants. : :

24. Is there an opportunity for one of our journalist to ask one of the Senators why was BNB Capital setup and their anticipated role as Director?

25. @Flying Mares
    Well done.
    Illustrates total the calibre and more IMPORTANT the M.O. of this person and the LEVELS of normal operation.

Extract:

Today, Kheraโ€™s dream teeters on the edge of ruin. The reason? Dixon Chen,
    an experienced 38-year-old investor, and Jung Yun, a 48-year-old self-styled
    international banker. Chen is Kheraโ€™s 24% partner; Yun is Chenโ€™s new girlfriend.
    Together, on the eve of the launch of fashionism.com, Chen and Yun attempted a
    corporate mugging. They called a meeting and demanded that Khera relinquish his
    control of the Company and hand Chen a controlling interest. For good measure,
    Yun also demanded a little something for herself: that all of the fees associated
    with the expected investment raise for fashionism.com be diverted to her company,
    Yun Capital

After this I have ABSOLUTELY no DOUBT:
    BARBADOS WILL BE MUGGED and for a vast sum.

Ably assisted by the Current Government.

26. How do we get involved with these shady operators? Don’t we do due diligence? Even a simple Google?

27. Further extract :

After Chen raided the Companyโ€™s bank account on May 2, 2013, Khera
    pleaded with Chen: please give the money back and let us launch the website!
    Chen knows that the website has a promising future โ€“ so much so that in April
    2013 he offered to pay $80,000 to buy more equity in the Company. Chen also
    knows that his theft of the Companyโ€™s funds has been utterly devastating to Skofoโ€™s
    prospects. Shortly after the theft, Chenโ€™s girlfriend, self-styled international banker
    Jung Yun (who has appointed herself Chenโ€™s representative and is now a defendant
    in this action), emailed Skofoโ€™s counsel, highlighting that Khera no longer had any
    money to defend against a lawsuit and demanding that Khera make sweeping
    concessions that Khera could not provide, even if he wanted to. Yun threatened:
    Unless the company is able to settle with Mr. Chen and
    then raise more money into the company, it will be
    impossible to grow the company.
    Ms. Yunโ€™s words are not hard to interpret: Mr. Khera, we have your money, so you
    cannot afford legal counsel. You face a lawsuit which means no one else will invest
    new money. You are completely at our mercy. Give us what we want or your
    business is over.
    Khera and Skofo have attempted to negotiate with Chen and Yun, who have
    shown Khera no mercy. Unable to watch his lifeโ€™s work go up in flames, destroyed
    by two cynical opportunists, Khera has maxed out his credit card to finance this
    legal action

28. I understand Senator Ince’s role in BNB Capital Corporation but I am surprised that Sir Trevor Carmichael would be involved with something like this and with someone like Jung Yun.

29. Has the Case been concluded?
    What was the result??

30. Follow the link to Yun Capital (there is that word capital again) and take note Yun claims To serve as a fund manager and partner in Global Media Fund with over 0 million dollars under assets.

http://iidcc.com.vn/en/chi-tiet-tin-c33a28/yun-capital.html

31. What the Brass Bowl !!!!

32. @David November 16, 2014 at 7:04 AM “How do we get involved with these shady operators? ”

Come on David, you are a smart fellow. Surely you learned in Infants B, that birds of a feather flock together.

Ask Dr. Georgie Porgie what that means.

33. @Flying Mares November 16, 2014 at 7:11 AM ” I am surprised that Sir Trevor Carmichael would be involved with something like this and with someone like Jung Yun.”

Why are you surprised?

34. @are-we-there-yet November 16, 2014 at 12:46 AM ” The Minister also must have known that he himself really did not have the de-jure power to give such an assurance (because of the financial rules and other checks and balances) but he also knew that he had the de-facto power to do so. He was and still appears to be ethically challenged…ministerial ethics were on shaky ground for a long time ”

The Minister or erstwhile Minister whoever the hell he is is a crook, plain and simple. No need to dress it up and make it smell pretty..a wolf in sheep’s clothing is still a wolf.

35. Only civil disobedience will save you from this poor governance and malfeaseance. Sad but true

36. I did tell wanna not to ELECT this crop of of Sick ASK watless people…..not true? butt wanna din hear…From D time David “alibaba Thump-sooo did crawl up in St.John parish church yard..leffin D MARROW VINES ..wid all my CLICO money affa shuttin down D company I did know DEM did thivess …Even harder, not one shoite was done for poor peoples D likes of me….Now I up hay at St.Peters Gate watchin on from ABOVE(LOL)…I does look down eva so often towards HELL GATES and open flames…. and hear n see the Thump-so fella …beggin Lazarus (not me, cuz I ent gine) …to dip ee lil finga in D guard dog water..and come down and put it on he tongue ( he ent want nah mint)…he say leff the mints for Sturts & Co….cuz them soon gine join ee…..he also advise DEM to bring asbestos pants and a saucepan to mekk lil cou-cou….cuz dey in nah saucepans down dey……hey hey….looka Onions get a reprieve….(only in Heaven boy)..murda…If wanna did like D last the article pun Chris (Laffers Curve)….dah did me too ( up hay in Heaven Library got nuff pun economtrics)…ah ready n rearing… in D pens up hay got in endless ink…and dey ent nah body tah banner ya…

37. @ Colonel Buggy | November 15, 2014 at 11:39 PM,
    A couple of months ago I insinuated that you have a style and wit comparable to an old-style worn at the edges Roman senator. Judging from your prose you are probably a few years passed the revolutionary stage of fighting on the battle fields. However you have tremendous wisdom, spirit, historical knowledge and intellect.

We as Barbadians are responsible for her decline. My question is simple if it can be proven that over the last, say, thirty years that are decline could be linked to the corrupt practises of are political parties and private enterprises; would the Barbadian populace than have a mandate to ensure that swift justice is brought to those guilty individuals and entities irrespective of their background?

Secondly do you believe that a case could be made for Barbadians to march directly onto those vast tracts of land which seem to have been โ€œsequestratedโ€ by aliens and a historical privileged plutocracy class; and to break up the stranglehold of these groups by โ€œevictingโ€ them off the land?

Revolutions do not necessarily come at the barrel of a gun. However the seeds of revolution will one day take place in Barbados. My question to you Colonel Buggy is this: how may we and are brothers and sisters throughout the Caribbean find peace in are lands without resorting to the bullet?

38. Butt wait….I did thought Karlo Markso did long dead…..but there again I UP hay….and ee musse DOWN dey…Kastro too. Gabby boy the Govt Boot open…(GPO)

39. ole onion bags ,,seem like uh having more fun up dey than down here ,,save a seat for professor brass bowl Bush TEA,

40. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Flying Mares; re. your 6:28 am post;

Yuh really tink dat dis lot cares about the sugar industry and its workers?

The sugar industry is in its last death throes after decades of timorous neglect while paying lip service to the concept of supporting an industry with low Domestic Resource Costs and thereby a relatively high yield of foreign exchange. The writing has been on the wall for a long time and the sugar industry will give way to a phoenix like fantasy renewable energy industry which at this stage is being milked to provide enormous retirement benefits for a few.

If this lot could savage Education; Health; the Environment and other DLP signature projects. do you really think that the ordinary workers in the sugar industry, with whom they have little natural affinity, will be treated differently?

41. ac
    I see you ent come to my turn-out ( I had a mahogany casket boi)…..butt that is OK…..I also see ya Govt in bare trouble….but that as you know ent OK…..Again I say wanna Thief-a Bait…..now wanna like a Cavalia…(fish) fighting like hell to spit D hook….Four year baby..four long years..by then poor Barbados gine have taken 20 years steps backward and Barrow legacy be in shame…Education will be a rich man’s privilege and D poor man will have to know his place…a cook or a bottle washer..thanks to D Ugly Man from Hillaby.

42. Corr; ..I mean 80 years backwards or 100…shiite times

43. ole onions can’t bother wid u today bozey ac fraid a duppy uh hear,,,,,

44. Hopefully independent commenters can glean that whether B or D there no difference except that the B seem to enjoy the confidence of the business community. You are always able to spot YARDFOWLS when in the face of irrefutable information hard positions will be held.

45. BURN dem…..doan spare a fella…..

46. We need a Batman

47. @ Gotham
    True dat……instead we got a pack of JOKERS….(murda)

48. are-we-there-yet
    Well then they like with the consequences. Inniss threatened resign at last weeks cabinet meeting and Estwick says he going on the war path.

49. Gotham

Batman or a Leader?

50. @ David 9:25
    Let’s hope that sensible Bajans can glean the difference between competence and incompetence.