Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance

Minister of Finance (MoF) Chris Sinckler has promised a press conference on Monday [27/10/2014] at 10AM. Given the anaemic performance of the Barbados economy over the last 6 years, AND what is projected in the near term, there is an air of doom and gloom that has understandably settled over Barbados.

One positive that may yet come from the MoF press conference is that he finds himself in a position toย  elucidate on the Central Bank Press Release Current Economic Performance for September 2014. At a time when clarity is required to ensure stakeholders in civil society are able to strategize for success there is continuing confusion if we are to judge by the statements coming from the heads of the Private Sector Association (PSA) and Barbados Chamber of Commerce (BCCI). It is an understatement to suggest confidence has been dwindling in the pronouncements of the Governor of the Central Bank. His most recent projection that the local economy will grow by 2% echoes a similar statement in January 2011, instead, Barbadians have witnessed economic decline.

The sudden cancellation of press conferences post delivery of Governor Worrellโ€™s economic performance briefings has largely gone unchallenged by local media. What we had was a spirited response by the Nation newspaper to the decision to expel them from Central Bank press conferences to which the Governor and his Central Bank Board responded by cancelling press briefings altogether. The Governor has gotten the last laugh with local media receiving a black eye and by extension the public it is ethically setup to serve.

The vague Press Release delivered by the Central Bank of Barbados last week has created the opportunity for PROFESSIONAL journalists attending the MoFโ€™s press conference tomorrow to probe. Alex Macdonald and Tracey Shuffler from the PSA and BCCI have started the ball rolling. If BU were present here are some questions we would demand HONEST answers from the MoF:

1. On page 3 of the Central Bank Press Release mention is made that the fiscal deficit of $360 million has been financed largely by a reduction in Government deposits in the banking system in the amount of $235 million. The remainder was financed by the drawdown of the Governmentโ€™s deposits at the Central Bank and the NIS. Has the governmentย  been utilizing sinking funds to finance government expenditure?
  2. The Central Bank Press Release makes mention of the tourism sector has begun a turnaround. Is it honest to represent that tourism has begun to turnaround on the basis of an 8% increase in the UK market YoY? To what extent has there been a positive correlation in spend from the UK market and tourist receipts? Was the increase driven by sustained marketing programs or one off events?
  3. Mention again is made in the flimsy Central Bank Release that foreign capital inflows โ€˜picked upโ€™ – estimated at $399 million compared with $173 million last year. How much of foreign capital inflows was made up of foreign borrowing? Based on the vague Press Release the public is left to guess whether there was an increase in foreign direct investment and how much was any increase.
  4. Please comment on press reports the IMF has recommended a swath of new taxes as part of its tax reform recommendations.
  5. Do you agree that at a time when the country demands leadership in the economy the Governorโ€™s report has only serve to obfuscate?
  6. And lastly Minister, what has become of the โ€˜concernโ€™ made public by you in parliament that your life was threatened.

We have scratched the surface.

161 responses to “Minister Chris Sinckler’s Press Conference”

1. OFFBEAT: I kept wondering why during the 2008 and 2013 elections this administration kept stating that UWI will remain free to students. But I was fooled in believing just like the promise of “No Privatization”, “No Retrenchment of workers”, “No more taxes” and a host of “No this and that”. I was fooled, until I realised that the MoE had far reaching motives in making students pay for attending the UWI. The intention was to embrace other players like the University of the Southern Caribbean who is now praising the Government for the decision of making students pay. This act likens the behaviour of Privitisation. Another comparison. MoH is making Barbadians pay for medical services, this opened up Bay View Hospital takeover and subsequent expansion. Will we have more University graduates? Will we have better health care? What will happen: the middle class will now be the poor class and the poor class will died out like how Africa’s poor are being used like guinea pigs with the invention of EBOLA. Probably, the lesser developed countries like Barbados are being affected with this Chikungunya. Will the poor survive this constant threat for survival?. I think I want some Bush Tea to rid this constant Health threats and Economical wealth threats.

2. @Bajan Yankee
    “While these ministers impose austerity and sell off the country”
    Please provide details about ” sell off the country” or are you just mouthing political nonsense.

3. bajan yankee must be a “mouthsketeer “

4. @Bush Tea

To repeat the MoF delivered a better press conference this time around compared to his priors. We can debate the other stuff.

5. David

Agreed but this ain’t about delivery now, this is about substance. Too much generality, optimism and blank hop that things will get better by end of March, 2015.

6. I have to say, if I was Mr Sinckler I would have resigned already.

7. Chris & Delisle were later seen running naked down Broad Street shouting “we won the lotto” while chasing a bald pooch cat.

8. and will the BLP opposition keeps frothing at the mouth and having no sensible solutions ac suggest that Mia used some of that frothing and plead with those in the private sector that owes the govt millions to do right by repaying those loans ,loans that have been a drain on the treasury and in part have helped to ballooned the deficit.

9. it is a shame that the opposition loathes on how bad things are in this country and how hard it is for the poor to make ends meet. would sit up in Parliament year after year and know how much money is owed to govt via loans by some in the private sector some of which were handed out under the BLP administration and have been reported in the Auditors general annual reports and have not used the same tenacity and bully pulpit to denounce such indiscriminate behaviuor , however not surprising as some of them individually are known to have to engage in fraudulent practices right under the noses of the people they swore to protect,

10. Washington based Charlie Skeete remains unimpressed with government’s economic policy. And the people in Barbados remains confused. It is interesting the MOF indicated a budget is coming soon (we hope) but seemed surprised when asked about collabรดration with the private sector. What is obvious, the heavy involvement by local private sector will not happen in the prevailing climate. What has become of the regular meetings promisd by minister Inniss? Needed more than ever are stakeholders who see the benefit to the country of working together. A caller to the post press conference yesterday made some telling points about the type of private sector the government seems to be courting. It was one of the most telling points made for the day but because David Ellis and the caller have a relationship like the government and private sector the public was robbed of th engagement.

On Tuesday, 28 October 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

11. 5 more years for/of Delisle Worrell. Talk about affixing a yoke around the necks of the people of Barbados. This is pure shite.

12. @ David
    Answer | October 28, 2014 at 12:20 AM | is correct.
    If you wish, we can debate the meaning of “better”

13. Question for the private sector. The world knows the problems of the Bdos government. Revenues dropping, cant borrow money to start projects, fiscal deficit wont go away and on and on. At least the government is trying to tackle these issues though their success in doing so is up for debate. The question to the private sector and the opposition is what are you dong to help the beleaguered economy and ‘your country.’ The Shuffler girl, Tony Walcott and Macdonald not to mention the always lurking white shadows recite the ills of government every day. We have heard it the all everyday for last six years. Again the question what is the private sector and the opposition doing to help “their country” out of the morass. Don’t tell us our neighbors are doing better you’ve repeated that ad naseum for years. Come with firm workable proposals to help “your country.” North American, British and Caribbean investors and bankers express confidence in Barbados and are investing. The Barbados private sector show no confidence in in “their country” and are not investing even after government meets their excessive concessions and gimme demands. Who is fooling who.

14. Waiting

Clearly you have never had to try get anything done in Barbados with the Government.
    I thought Sen. Jepter Ince said the private sector in Barbados was a ‘parasitic plant’?
    After 7 years of taxation and a depressed economy, tell me who in the private sector has money to invest in Barbados? How can you be taxing the economy into submission but in the next breath say you expect private sector led growth? Trust me, its a nonsense.

15. @Waiting – “The Shuffler girl”! The Shuffler girl? You are so disrespectful to the point of disgusting. It this a reflection of the disdain with which you hold professional women? You should be ashamed of yourself. I wonder if you would refer to “The Stuart boy”.

16. This is a classic case of setting up a straw man. The world economy is recovering so they can’t blame them anymore so they need a need devil for the people to blame, …………..so blame the ‘white shadows’ private sector.
    Listen hear it is GOB and no one else who is responsible for having shrunk the size of the economy and for the consequence of such shrinkage.

17. Bushie

We fail to see any measurable difference between conditions now and those that will result from having to go to the IMF.

It can be argued that the IMF medicine could be worse than the cure, but even World Bank/IMF policies, as admitted by them, are also unlikely to be helpful. They serve another purpose. There are no examples of small island states going to the IMF and coming out the better.

While the minister talked about the internal situation, we are of the view that those conditions are largely a result of external issues for which the minister has no control. And he should say so. Say that he is impotent.

Nobody, local or foreign, is going to be investing resources unless there are protected like Bizzy, Butch etc. And there could only be a selected few.

18. To not renew Worrell’s contract would be an admission of a failed economic policy.

Any comment when Sinckler deflected a question about Estwick’s UAE proposal to Estwick? Found it interesting if nothing else.

19. @ Pacha
    There is a difference.
    Under the IMF, there will be at least a coherent plan to balance expenses with income. There will be a focus on living within our means.

Yardfowls will be unable to kiss political pooches in order to extract special benefits.

The bribers and schemers will find that the IMF professionals come from jurisdictions where such activities are punished…. and that the political parasites here will be powerless to help them

The political contributions will dry up as a result and the useless lackies who run into politics for personal gain will run away..

Some of the existing “payback schemes” will be dismantled by the IMF when the paperwork is examined

On the downside, the IMF people will quickly see that Bajans are indeed a bunch of brass bowls whose dollar is really worth about US $0.15 and will act accordingly …bringing a sharp end to the culture of institutional mendicancy and “closing schools for rain”, and hopefully enforcing a situation where productivity and merit come to the fore… (in another 100 years or so…)

20. @ David
    Any comment when Sinckler deflected a question about Estwickโ€™s UAE proposal to Estwick?
    not really David, he effectively deflected all the other questions too…. in which area are we any the wiser for his lotta talk?

THAT is what bull shit is….

21. Drill Sargeant | October 28, 2014 at 7:50 AM |

These political neophytes attack issues from a party political perspective rather than from an analytical process. If one minister said the private sector is not investing, these DLP supporters run with it as though it is gospel, without ever checking the facts for themselves. Their thoughts and sense of reasoning are developed within the realm of their political party.

I refer you to an article in the September 6, 2014 edition of โ€œBarbados Todayโ€, headline โ€œGovernor defends sectorโ€:

Governor of the Central Bank Dr Delisle Worrell is defending the private sector against criticism that they are not doing anything to revitalise the economy.
    Worrell questioned these claims while participating in a panel discussion on the Barbados economy, under the theme Consolidation and Growth Strategy.
    โ€œThe notion that the private sector is doing nothing is absolutely false. We have, and have always had, an entrepreneurial culture in the economy at all levels. The private sector people in this country are moving forward. They are complaining about the things that are wrong that Government needs to do and they are insisting that the Government lives up to its side of the bargain but, in the meantime, they are investing,โ€ he said.
    โ€œThe private sector is expected to invest $2 billion in the economy. There are ongoing major projects financed by the private sector that has gone on throughout the current recession. We must not minimise the importance of these investments.โ€
    Dismissing the argument that there is a lack of enterprise in the private sector, Worrell also pointed to entrepreneurship also contributing to an economic revival.
    โ€œA lot of young people are taking their own initiative, people are adapting creatively to the circumstances,โ€ Worrell pointed out.

The above sentiments were expressed by Dr. Delisle Worrell, Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados and the government’s number 1 economic advisor. Not the opposition, not the private sector.
    So, who should we believe…… “Waiting” with his/her rhetorical party political diatribe or Dr. Worrell?
    If this “Waiting” is prepared to state that Dr. Worrell is incorrect, then he/she should be willing to retract any praise given to the Governor.

22. The media event undertaken by Mr Chris Sinckler, and by some others, yesterday afternoon, on the current financial state of the government sector of this country, and the little reported media responses to that event by Miss Mottley, do show, again, the very incapable and incompetent hands in which much of this country’s political destiny has been placed.

More than ever before, what this political media chit chat and the responding babble do show also – and at this time of deepening political economic depression in Barbados – is the very appalling dearth by those two joke political characters of a needed overarching vision and a necessary underlying cosmology informing their very shallow political utterances, and that which -otherwise properly understood and shared by many people in Barbados – would foreshadow much of the future growth and development of this country.

Indeed, both Sinckler and Mottley do not possess each a requisite and bestirring vision and cosmology for this country, and as such they and their respective political factions must be absolutely permanently removed from the parliament of this country by the broad masses and middle classes of people in the shortest possible time.

Indeed, Barbados is in very serious trouble across various fronts!!

23. @Bush Tea

He was very clear about the ‘attrition’ that will result from the rationalisation of state agencies exercise. No doubt he meant redundancies.

24. I thought Donkey was the major JA on this blog but I see he has a competitor in Waiting.
    The foolish Dems do not understand nobody owes them a living.They have to earn it everyday.They want advice from the opposition?Wait for it.Even when you got it in the past you told them go to hell,wunna had wunna time;now is we time!Is this a government promoting stability and laying a solid foundation for progress.Hell no!What a sick bunch ‘o jokers bajans voted for.No one believes a word they utter.Gaul bline all ‘o dem chuckers!

25. The MoF deflected the Busary decision to the MoE. Should we assume the education budget has to be rejigged to now factor delivery 3000 bursaries, at this late stage? How will the decision affect the objectives of the minister of education given that this is a last minute change?

26. The MOF admitted the following yesterday:-

1. The GOB is using sinking funds to buy goverment paper/treasury bills.
    2. There will be increased taxation in the upcoming budget and that will come by broaden the base.
    3. There will be further layoffs in the upcoming budget and mergers of statutory corporations.
    4. Ronald Jones got to break for himself on the bursaries because no money is coming from Ministry of Finance.
    5. De lisle Worrell contract has been renewed.
    6. He was not aware Estwick had a plan.
    7. There will not be any plan to restructure the debt.
    8. The Chinese building Sam Lords Castle.
    9. The Minister of State Darcy Boyce advised him that the Ministry of Energy is/will be conducting direct negotiations with oil and gas companies to explore offshore blocks.

27. @ David | October 28, 2014 at 10:05 AM |

The minister of education knows that several schools owe the BL&P, and teachers, students and supernumerary staff have to walk with their own cleaning agents and toilet paper. If the ministry of education can’t supply the funds for those basics where is it going to find the money for bursaries?

28. So Bushie an Miller and de rest ah wunna wid money.

Wunna gine tek wunna money an run befo devaluation or wait till a cucumber cost $89 ?

29. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Bajan in NY; re. your 10:05 am post.

Yet more very transparent tricks intended to help Ronald Jones save some face! A simple reading of the situation says that there will not be anywhere near 3000 UWI bursaries this year. Indeed, It would be surprising if any bursaries given this year do not trend to zero.

30. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hants re, your 11:32 post; Why yuh say so? Yuh tink Sinckler is uncharacteristically telling the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth, when he said words to the effect that ” there is no plan to invite an IMF programme AT THIS TIME ?

31. @ Bushie
    Everybody will have their interest, even the IMF people. That interest is not dissimilar to that of the empire. That is a reality. On the other hand there is a national naivete that assumes god is a bajan, that devaluation can’t happen here. We know these people. To the IMF there are no sacred cows, no sacred governments.

Yes, a country could beg off or ask its political masters to ease here or there but in the final analysis the protection of the US dollar by the IMF/World Bank is paramount. This is inverse to the internal goal of Barbados – what the MOF is saying. This dollar is in trouble internationally thus a reduction in the parity viz a viz Barbados serves to support a fiat currency.

And the MOF should tell the people the truth – first principles. That things are going to get worse. Still all kinds of hopeful forecasts are given by this feckless minister.

When we look at the source countries, their economies, these pleadings by the minister seem less than realistic.

32. When (if ever )are the Blp yardfowls and leadership gonna take responsiblty for this balloned economy.boy i tell u that all the froth and poison darts thrown around at govt not going to eliminate such truths.

33. MAM asked where is the PM?

Her staff where asking where are they paychecks and NIS contributions?

be a good leader in your yard 1st before you take on the nation.

34. @Nation Builder

The fact MAM has internal issues to deal with does it negate the validity of her concerns? Some of you political people need to be able to separate your partisan positions from national concerns.

35. This past weekend DD attended the Zoomer Show in Toronto, an exhibition of vendors promoted by the Canadian Association of Retired People (CARP) and directed at the 45+ demographic. Most attendees appeared to be retired people, or those approaching retirement.

See details at: http://www.zoomershow.com/events/toronto2014/

Included among the exhibitors were a variety promoters selling vacations and vacation/second homes in such sunny destinations as Florida, Dominican Republic, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Nicaragua, etc.

Toronto FM radio station The New Classical had a booth, which was shared by BTMI. Visitors to the booth could enter a contest to win โ€œa 7 night trip for two to the Classical Pops Music Festival in sunny Barbadosโ€, via Air Canada with accommodation at Bougainvillea Beach Resort.

See https://www.facebook.com/zoomershow/photos/a.10150318989437503.339118.347998647502/10152446895907503/?type=1

It was good to see a BTMI representative at the booth chatting up attendees who dropped by the booth, promoting Barbados and passing out promotional material, including Bougainvillea brochures.

DD has no political affiliation; so says without political bias – Congats to BTMI for taking part in the show and waving the flag for Barbados tourism.

BUT, where were the other private sector hoteliers apart from Bougainvillea.

They complain that the cash-strapped Government is not doing enough to promote tourism; but none of them used the Zoomer Show to promote their properties to a targeted audience of thousands of retired people in the third largest tourism source market who attended the three-day show.

To those who complain; get off your butts and promote yourselves.

36. St George's Dragon Avatar

August 2013 Budget statement – there will be no more Supplementals.
    October 2014 press conference – Supplementals will be limited to $100 million.
    October 2014 press conference – there will be no more layoffs.
    Let’s see what happens next.

37. Nation Builder | October 28, 2014 at 1:05 PM |

โ€œMAM asked where is the PM? Her staff where asking where are they paychecks and NIS contributions? be a good leader in your yard 1st before you take on the nation.โ€

The former Transport Board employees were asking this group of โ€œgood leadersโ€ to be paid their severance payments for almost 7 months before they were eventually paid. Those former NCC employees are still asking severance payment cheques almost 8 months after being retrenched. Former employees of MTW who were terminated in March this year, had to ask for their severance payments for 4 months before they were paid in July.

So, what is your take on this type of leadership? It appear as though to be good leaders, this group took on the nation 1st before managing their yard.

38. As we say at times on BU… off topic:

I just read that former High Commissioner to the UK, Peter Simmons has died.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Answer | October 28, 2014 at 10:23 AM |
    “The Minister of State Darcy Boyce advised him that the Ministry of Energy is/will be conducting direct negotiations with oil and gas companies to explore offshore blocks.”

When are you guys are going to come to grips with the fact that the MoF is a patented pathological liar? Here is what the bull-shitter said in the 2012 budget presentation:

Off-SHORE DRILLING PROGRAMME:
    โ€œFinally, while I am on this issue of energy Sir, it would be remiss of me if I
    didnโ€™t update the House on the off-shore drilling programme much vaunted by the last administration but which ran into (‘severe’) difficulties at the beginning of the economic recession when virtually all of the proposed bidders backed away from pursuing the investment. As you know Sir there were almost major deficiencies identified by several of these companies with the two pieces of legislation โ€“ the Off-shore Petroleum Exploration License Act and the Off-shore Petroleum Taxation Act. We have now completed the draft amendments and will very shortly lay the Bill in (‘Parliament for’) debate and passage.

I can also alert the House that we have reached agreement for an exploration with the one remaining company from the first batch of bidders, BHP Billiton, who will be free to proceed with its operations once the amendments are passed in Parliament. We expect that that agreement will be signed shortly and government will receive a signing bonus of US$6 million. โ€œ

40. Common sense is not common Avatar
    Common sense is not common

Farewell old onions.

You were a worthy fighter in the battlefield.

Diabetes is a destructive force and government needs to start looking more at prevention measures than just seeking to manage this sickness.

You were away from us on this blog for a while, but sad to see you go.

41. @Common sense is not common

Wrong!

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Common sense is not common | October 28, 2014 at 3:04 PM |

Commonsense is certainly not ‘common’ in your case.
    If you are implying my friend Ole Onions Bag was indeed Peter S then you are Jesus incarnate.

43. @ Drill Sargeant | October 28, 2014 at 7:50 AM |

“………..After 7 years of taxation and a depressed economy, tell me who in the private sector has money to invest in Barbados? How can you be taxing the economy into submission but in the next breath say you expect private sector led growth? Trust me, its a nonsense…………………………..

I agree with your comments. This inept incompetent Minister of Finance who should never ever be near any country’s finances…….does not understand that no one can bully any private sector to have confidence in an economy run the way he and the Central Bank governor have been running this economy down for the last six years.

The investors have no confidence in him or the governor. Who in their right minds would risk their life’s savings in an economy run in a such a slip shod manner.

The only people the Stinkliar can say who are investing in this economy is his friends who are getting the huge government contracts from him and Lashley. Can the Stinkliar say that the investment Jadaand Preconco made at Coverley is a good one. The hundreds of unfinished houses on the right as you drive in and the hundreds of unsold units on the left side of the development tell the story of the confidence people have in this economy!

44. Also the MOF should know that October is month seven of the Governments financial year and not month six as he stated yesterday.

45. @David October 28, 2014 at 10:05 AM |

The MoF deflected the Busary decision to the MoE. Should we assume the education budget has to be rejigged to now factor delivery 3000 bursaries, at this late stage? How will the decision affect the objectives of the minister of education given that this is a last minute change?………………..

This is all coming (if it does comes) at the expense of every school. Talk to any teacher and they will tell you that the schools do not have the resources to buy even simple essentials!

46. How can anybody take Mam seriously after her asinine suggestion of locating the Ebola centre in St.Lucy. Yesterday torrential downpours and flooding of highways and by ways should be an eye opener to how much Mam is out of touch with reality.when one considers the direness of a situation where an Ebola patient has to be tranported to the closest area hospital and where her undoubetly fool hardly decision would compound the problem especially when distance becomes problematic because of unavailbity and acts ofnature.Mam has proven once again that she posses an inate ability to put political grandizing before what is proper and right.

47. When the minister said that he is going to bring more people into the tax net, does he mean that those who earn $15,000 and under will now have to pay income tax?

Is this fair after all the 40 year tax holiday that he gave Butch Stewart. He exempts Butch Stewart from paying taxes and is going to put the burden on the poor? I thought the dems were for poor people! They are cold and heartless people!

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 28, 2014 at 4:24 PM |

Are you a jackass or what?
    Where in Barbados is far? Barbados is just a puny 2×3 coral stone.
    Since Stinkliar and the Guv of the CB says the economy is on the up and up and ready for take off why not buy a helicopter to transport the imaginary Ebola patients to the airport Kellman has plans to build in St. Lucy?

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | October 28, 2014 at 4:29 PM |
    “When the minister said that he is going to bring more people into the tax net, does he mean that those who earn $15,000 and under will now have to pay income tax?”

He certainly cannot bring those poor Bajans earning under $25,000.00 into the personal income tax net. What is he thinking of? Rolling back the personal allowance to $20,000.00 or even $15,000.00?
    What he most likely plans to do is to abolish the reverse tax credit and the other deductions available to taxpayers like the child allowance, the house repairs/ mortgage/insurance deduction and possible reduction in the contributions to deferred income plans (pensions and RRSP). The deduction for renewable energy expenditures by domestic taxpayers might also be reduced.

You want to bet the mother F will never touch the contributions politicians make to political parties?