Who believes Barbados is ready to treat Ebola?

It is interesting to observe how Barbados has reacted to the Ebola threat. In spite of the assurance from the Barbados government that surveillance measures are in place at the airport and the seaport, in real terms, we know the surveillance is NOT a robust method to screen Ebola affected travellers seeking to enter Barbados.

Given the importance of tourism to Barbados and service economies in the region, a decision to ban incoming non Barbadians who have visited Africa in the last 30 days should have been axiomatic. The region should have acted in concert given our vulnerability as a tourism destination. The fact that St. Lucia, St. Vincent and a few neighbouring islands have banned travellers from visiting who have visited Africa means nothing if the region is perceived by the outside world as one space.

BU is of the viewย  individuals who have visited Africa in the last 30 days should not be permitted to enter Barbados (and the Caribbean space). The embargo should also extend to imports vulnerable to the virus.

355 responses to “Impose Ban on Travellers from Africa NOW!”

1. The Guyana Public hospital now has a woman under observation for ebola, after she took a pleasure trip to a region in West Africa , that has not been affected with ebola,so far.
    She is reported to have arrived in Guyana from Suriname.
    We must realise that there are a lot of back doors into this region, and a blanket ban on travel from West Africa may not end our worries. And in some cases , neither is the checking of a traveler’s itinerary ,as we have heard on this very BU, one poster informing us that he has “more than one passport.”

2. here are the manys methods and procedures along with local and international experts advise in the decision making that govt has implemented in the fight against

Surveillance measures are in place at the airport and the seaport in Barbados. According to the health ministry, all passports are being reviewed to determine the passengersโ€™ travel history within the six weeks prior to travelling to Barbados. In times of high alert, Barbados has established procedures for determining illnesses on board air and sea vessels in advance of arrival.
    Once it is established that someone has arrived from a country where the disease is endemic, then specific precautions will be taken, including the administration of a checklist and an assessment by a port health nurse, to determine the level of risk.
    If the environmental health officers and port health nurses identify a person with symptoms, that person will be placed in the quarantine facility for further assessment. A passenger who is asymptomatic, but has had contact with an Ebola patient or has eaten bush meat, will be placed under active surveillance for a period of 21 days. However, if they have not been in contact with anyone with Ebola, they will be placed under passive surveillance.
    Over the last two months, the ministry has trained and sensitised health care workers at the air and sea ports, as well as customs and immigration officers and other personnel, equipping them with the knowledge and skills they need to protect the public and themselves. Front line workers in both the public and private sectors have also been sensitised about Ebola.

as for the chick V outbreak this requires a collective effort between govt and populace ,govt role ensuring that fines are activated also an a ongoing media program of education to teach and reinforced to a the public it there business to keep their surroundings litter free ,in other countries a high price or fined is leverage against homeowners who give no thought or concern to the environment, a sure and effective way to stop littering and to protect the environment, .

3. are-we-there-yet Avatar

ac; We know that you always have good inside information on what Government is hoping or planning to do. Could you give them a message.

Tell them to get out a proper GIS documentary on Barbados’ Ebola readiness, that includes all you have said above but in a bit more detail and with images of Port Health officers in their PPE’s (get closeups of the date of manufacture of the PPE’s), with perhaps simulations of them putting on and taking off the PPE’s and decontaminating them, Barbados stylee; and videos of the working in-situ incineration facilities that will be used to destroy Ebola wastes if Ebola gets here; and pictures of the current Isolation and Quarantine facilities and their surroundings ( with commentary that informs the public of the real difference between the two). That documentary should be run on a weekly basis on CBC-TV

Also tell them them to run some more Chik-V ads that address our current local situation in a more forthright manner.

Also tell them to wake up the Prime Minister and get him to address the Nation on these matters urgently. The MoH statement was a good start but the country needs the PM to stamp his authority and vaunted “honesty” on this matter. As it is, some Health professionals are saying privately that the PPE’s were only ordered 2 days ago and that the existing thousand or so may not be suitable to adequately protect front line workers as in addition to their design they are several years old. He can correct this misinformation, if misinformation it indeed was.

You’re doing a good unofficial job, but get them to keep us on track with direct information from the horse’s mouth. Please!

4. the PM does not have to make a public statement about Ebola, our country is already in a state of readiness and public announcement via govt websites and government information centre to the state and preparedness is available for all to see, ,

5. are-we-there-yet Avatar

ac; Thanks for responding.

6. I do not understand why returning health workers should be upset at being quarantined, just like when you go deep sea diving you have to decompress on the way up if it is set up properly it will be a minor inconvenience. Rather than a hospital the high risk returnees could be put up at a hotel with all the bells and whistles for 21 days where they are monitored and can even intermingle unless they show signs of fever then they can be isolated, the cost would be a drop in the bucket as compared to the tracking going on now and the possibility of missing a contact
    Hants , the plan is when someone arrives at the airport and is suspected of ebola they send one of the UAE rickshaws to pick them up … by the time they get to the QE they are passed the 21 day mark and are cured or have died along the way either way no-one makes it to the hospital so the need for hazmats suits there may be moot.

7. @Lawson,

You are likely right about not needing hazmat suits. Likely the amount of HOT AIR being blown by Govt and Ministry about being ‘ready fuh Ebola’ will kill the germ pun the spot.

They don’t have a clue what ‘ready’ means. What drills have taken place? How many. Readiness for emergency events REQUIRES practice and drills, communication with the public so that each person knows their role and action.

That is clearly NOT in place, no matter how much hot air blows.

8. Photo: EBOLA in the Caribbeanโ€ฆ..Are we really ready? rofl rofl http://t.co/vU58uw0gSQ

9. are-we-there-yet Avatar

For those who think that Barbados cannot handle a single case of Ebola it may be instructive to look at the case of Senegal which is not often mentioned in the press reports.

Here is a summary of the development of the Senegal incursion:

https://www.internationalsos.com/ebola/index.cfm?content_id=434&language_id=ENG

I’m not talking about the effects on tourism, etc. I’m just indicating that it is reasonable to assume that with our infrastructure (Communications and Health) we should be able to identify potentially infected persons and their contacts, isolate them dispose of wastes if the authorities do what they have to do efficiently.

10. I am planning to visit soon (have my ticket in hand) but Iโ€™ve heard about of so many people with โ€œChicken gotchaโ€ that Iโ€™m wondering what precautions I should take to avoid same. Should I take the ultimate precaution and cancel or should I throw caution to the winds and sing Que sera sera?

BTW what happens if people decide to stay away in droves because of the disease of the month?

11. @ Lawson
    Agreed (not with the rickshaw part ๐Ÿ™‚ )
    One would think that having just come from West Africa and seeing the devastation caused by EBOLA, returning health workers would VOLUNTEER to be quarantined in the interest of protecting their own family, friends and country….
    bottom line…. these people are all just a bunch of selfish so-and-so ‘s who probably only went to West Africa instead of bungie jumping from some shiite bridge or doing some other Jackass stunt as is their wont.

Pity the CMO did not stay where ever it is she said she went…. She only confirms what Dr The Honourable preaches…
    …and people who always start sentences with “So….” pisses Bushie off. This is a white PR tactic that the bushman finds overbearing and condescending. Then she asserts all kinds of “plans” that are clearly only some shiite she has just written down somewhere….

OBVIOUSLY if EBOLA comes here it will be the end of life as we know it.
    just the simple question of people throwing up on planes or at the airport she make a mess of a coherent response… Many people get ill during turbulent flights and throw up. If the person has normal temperature and has not traveled to an affected country there should be no issue.
    If they had recently traveled to an affected country or had a high temperature they should have been specially monitored from the time they boarded the flight anyway ….and steps taken to deal with them upon landing whether they vomited or not…
    Or better yet, they should have been banned from coming here until 21 days had passed……
    steupssss

12. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Sargeant;
    If you are over 60 my best advice is to stay where you are.

Just a non-scientific survey of my friends, family and neigbours shows that about 60% or so of them have been struck by chikungunya or something like it. I have not heard of any deaths or hemorrhagic symptoms, but I’m not a health worker so I can’t say for sure

Chikungunya hits the elderly and some young Children very hard, although my grandchildren were just down for a couple of days while my immediate neighbour’s grandchildren were down for weeks and in one case it has recurred. Several elderly neighbours and friends have said that it is the worst illness they have ever had.

But if you do come and intend to stay in a private home, you can stay safe by avoiding crowds in areas where there might be Aedes Aegypti mosquitoes; you should also ensure that where you are staying is well netted up and excludes these mosquitoes; only open your windows to let the MoH fog come in; spray your rooms regularly to kill adult mosquitos; and verify that your hosts are keeping their property clean with no sites that harbour larvae; When you’re here you should wear long sleeve shirts and long pants and socks with closed shoes and earphones and hat when you have to be outside your protected room.

But most of the Hotels should be OK and their guests safe from contracting Chikungunya, although my personal survey was not carried out in that sector

But even if you are not planning to stay in a hotel, we need the economic fillip which your foreign exchange could bring us, so do come, yuh hear!

13. We Bajans, with all this “Ebola” obsession seem to have a cathartic wish to be spiritually CLEANSED (by โ€œEbolaโ€) of pathological ‘HORNING’ and GOSSIPING (Gossiping, which by-the-way is more dangerous than โ€œEbola.โ€ For such a malady destroys Families without contact. Just think of the DAMAGE these two ills has been and are, doing to Families in our dearly beloved Nation

14. We Bajans, with all this “Ebola” obsession seem to have a cathartic wish to be spiritually CLEANSED (by โ€œEbolaโ€) of our pathological ‘HORNING’ and GOSSIPING (Gossiping, which by-the-way is more dangerous than โ€œEbola.โ€ For such a malady destroys Families without contact.) Just think of the DAMAGE these two ills has been and are, doing to Families in our dearly beloved Nation

15. @ Sargeant,

If you must travel, make sure you take mosquito repellents to last the entire trip.

16. THERE WILL BE NO EBOLA EPIDEMIC OR PANDEMIC IN THE USA, EUROPE OR THE WESTโ€ฆ NONE IN BARBADOS!!! Unless contracted through the hysteria of autohypnosis or autosuggestionโ€ฆwhich is, very prevalent.

I, of course, state the above at the risk of being ridicule and proven wrong should they be an epidemic or pandemic in those places but I state IT again: NO “Ebola” epidemic or pandemic in the USA, EUROPE or the WEST…NONE in Barbados

17. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Hants; Sorry! You’re right!. I forgot to mention mosquito repellents in my reply above. I suspect it might be that I think that most real older bajan males tend not to use personal mosquito repellents. I might be wrong, but I don’t remember the Chikungunya Ads mentioning them.

18. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Sargeant; For completeness, here’s a home cure for Dengue or Chikungunya that several people swear by. It is really bitter though.

http://m.timesofindia.com/city/kolkata/Home-cure-for-dengue-death-sting/articleshow/16359807.cms

19. The Government of Trinidad & Tobago is threatening to prosecute anyone there who claims to have a cure for Ebola.

Since the out break of Chikungunya here, many people have been using Papaw leaf tea, and I understand that Soursop leaf tea is being used in Grenada.

20. David
    Is it true that Mia Mottley has suggested to Owen Arthur that he should seek medical attention in Liberia ?
    One irate member of the Arthur clan just made that disclosure.
    MAM…….ain’t easy!

21. Thanks AWTY

I donโ€™t know the last day I saw a Papaya (Papaw) tree in Barbados I heard most of them succumbed to a virus. If your information is correct then I expect that the owners of those remaining will now be standing guard armed with a pitbull and a โ€œdog hunterโ€.

22. @DOMPEY
    Perhaps you are able ,as an ex GI ,and a widely read man , to throw some light on this tale.
    During the Vietnam War, there was a strong rumour circulating in the Rhine Army and elsewhere , of a deadly ,incurable strain of venereal disease, indigenous to Vietnam, called Black Syphilis or Vietnam Rose,and those GI’s who were unfortunate to have contracted this deadly pox, were sent to a remote island, for the rest of their lives,effectively barring them from re-entering the United States, and were listed as KIA.
    Is there a whisper of truth in this?

23. @ Australia have imposed a visa ban on those countries affected by Ebola. Interesting development. Let’s see if other countries follow suite?
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-29809863

24. @Exclaimer

One can disagree with Australia but it is a logical position to take.

25. I listen to all the doctors, and cant understand how they keep using this red herring that they wont go to west Africa to help if they are quarantined when they get back…bullshit…. and they only have their own to blame , I wonder if that doctors girlfriend or the others that he may have contacted would have liked it if he had waited 21 days before he saw them. Remember it was not that long ago you were getting a checkup and a haircut by the same person. Doctors adjust their protocols and the way they handle cases by their results….he still wants to kill the cat…more drugs only wants to draw himself killing the cat …less drugs. There the best we have but sometimes they have to be protected from themselves, Just like them govt puts in sanctions but can always downgrade , the other way around even if they upgrade sanctions the wolf is already in the hen house. Why is it Australia descendants of criminals seems to have more sense than Barbados descendants of slaves

26. @ David,
    We all know that Australia is a deeply unpleasant and racist country. However it has made a sound and rational decision. I hope that it sees fit to send over some of her medical professionals to learn more about this virus and to assist West Africa in its fight against this virus.

27. So far two (2) US residents who were not in West Africa have contracted the disease and they had direct contact with Duncan. Two (2) out of a population of 300 million and people still pushing the panic buttons.

The latest patient was released today and her story has receded from the headlines.

http://abcnews.go.com/Health/dallas-nurse-discharged-ebola-treatment/story?id=26495682

28. The OECS is sending a mixed team of medical professionals to Cuba to learn how to deal with Ebola.

29. are-we-there-yet Avatar

China has managed to stay under the radar re. Ebola incidence there. But look at the following information

29 October
    China: According to media sources, authorities have released at least 43 people in Guangdong province who had been quarantined on suspicion of Ebola infection. Over 8,600 individuals have travelled to Guangdong from the Ebola affected countries in Africa, of which more than 5,400 have been cleared of Ebola. Around 27 hospitals and three disease control and prevention centres have been assigned for treatment of Ebola cases in the province. Special screening procedures have been adopted at all major international airports in China.

What does that suggest? Could China be hosting the highest incidence of the disease outside of Africa? Will the Caribbean countries that have instituted bans of West African countries also institute one against China?

For those who will say “But the figures don’t say that there is any Ebola in China” I say, just read between the lines while recognizing the innate secrecy of the Chinese psyche.

30. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Here’s some wikipedia information on Guangdong province.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guangdong

Guangdong is where most of the modern action is in China.

31. are-we-there-yet Avatar

Here’s another article on the possibility of Ebola spreading to China

http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/10/30/us-health-ebola-china-idUSKBN0IJ0X520141030

32. Is it not commonsense for a healthcare worker to want to be quarantined after working with Ebola patients?

33. @ David, these people astound me but maybe I am just a lazy person.

How can anyone complain about doing nothing for 21 days?

34. Some of these people see opportunity….to make money.

35. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I would have thought so! But who knows what an amalgam of conflicting emotions could give rise to what seems like non-sense to us. Superiority; Expectation that they would be treated as heroes; Anger at really bad treatment by the authorities; etc. etc.

36. are-we-there-yet Avatar

I forgot to add that some of them might not be able to concede within their heart of hearts that they could actually have contracted Ebola since they might have felt that their very survival in West Africa was due to their God or to their carefulness or that they were better than their patients.

People with missionary zeal are different! Who knows what energizes them?

37. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David;

I had not read the latest hews on the returning nurse, Kaci Hickox’s defiance of the quarantine in her home state when I made the comments above. That news concretizes exactly why she has reacted the way she has. It is a very powerful message that she is sending and I hope it works.

That message is that most of the reaction to Ebola is hysteria. She fully buys into the CDC advice that Ebola is only spread from contaminated body fluids of Ebola victims who are expressing late symptoms from her up front and close experience with the disease. It cannot be spread by infected persons who are not showing symptoms.

That message has been validated by practically all observations on the ground in West Africa and the US and other places.

Her defiance is designed to show that requiring returning health workers, who are actually experts on the disease and have demonstrated a heroic committment to control it, to undergo a mandatory in house quarantine makes no scientific sense and is indeed counterproductive to reducing the hysteria about the disease. The requirement is therefore a nonsense that has no value in the fight against the disease and wastes scarce resources.

If she continues to be free of Ebola it should mark a turning point in the general public’s understanding of the non-patient oriented treatment of the disease and help to free up resources to track and contain insurgent outbreaks globally. If she contracts it the hysteria will continue and spread.

I hope she doesn’t contract it.

38. @are-we-there-yet

She is almost passed the danger point but the bigger issue is whether a government should cede the responsibility of monitoring self for Ebola health worker notwithstanding.

39. The refreshing news is that a judge has reversed the State requirement of a 21 day quarantine for the nurse who returned from helping Ebola patients in West Africa.

Itโ€™s surprising that these Tea Party type politicians who are always ranting about Govโ€™t intrusion into the lives of private citizens would advocate quarantine without any discernable reason but their own fear and prejudice. Their actions were not based on any science or medical information but simply by fear fueled by politics (mid terms are next week). Roosevelt words โ€œonly thing we have to fear is fear itselfโ€™ rings hollow. The residents can walk into any gun store and purchase weapons capable of stopping a herd of elephants but if you treated an Ebola patient or visit an area where Ebola is present you should be โ€œquarantined โ€œ for 21 days. How does that work anyway? The woman is living with her boyfriend and presumably they are having intimate relations (that make up sex after an absence) so should he now be quarantined? A CDC nurse visited her yesterday to take her temperature and she wasnโ€™t wearing a hazmat suit should that nurse be quarantined?

I can hardly wait to see the reaction from the Granite State (New Hampshire) if one of their residents returned from West Africa, then we will really see if the State motto โ€œlive free or dieโ€ has any merit.

40. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David in your 10:39 post you said;
    She is almost passed the danger point but the bigger issue is whether a government should cede the responsibility of monitoring self for Ebola health worker notwithstanding.

Let’s take the Barbados situation where a single case of Ebola landing here, or even landing in one of our sister Caribbean countries, could ensure extremely harsh consequences for our economy and society.

First we should let science and observations in the field guide our protocols and not take, without necessary modification to fit our peculiar circumstances, the harshest protocols from the USA or WHO or PAHO or even Jamaica. As I’ve said from early in this Ebola discussion on BU, the available evidence strongly suggests that Ebola cannot be spread through casual contact with asymptomatic infected persons. Therefore quarantining or isolating all persons who might have the virus is not likely to be helpful but will instead pander to increasing the hype and hysteria surrounding this disease and would not be a good use of our slender resources at this time.

In addition, our small size and good communications infrastructure make it quite easy for our authorities to monitor persons like Barbadian health workers returning home from infected countries or indeed visitors who are deemed to have had a strong probability of having been infected by virtue of their travel history and other activities.

Therefore a system which ensures that anyone who has been caring for or in close contact with someone who was in the late stages of or died from Ebola in any country that had a recent outbreak of Ebola MUST have his or her temperature taken twice per day over a period of 21 days from likely exposure by one of our health professionals in the Ministry of Health and the results immediately submitted by phone or email to the Ebola command centre for any necessary action.

There should be NO self testing in Barbados of anyone who might have contracted the disease. That should be a responsibility of the MoH that must not be ceded to anyone. Our vulnerability to the consequences of an Ebola incursion is in no way comparable with that of the USA or even New Jersey or Maine.

The mandatory testing here could be done at a Health Centre or at the home or place of residence of the individual under such quarantine. A system that ensures full confidentiality re. names and addresses of persons under such quarantine should be implemented.

I’m certain that many will find such a system or protocol too lax, but Ebola is in many respects similar to AIDS, especially re. its transmission. AFAIK, there was never a quarantine placed on persons who might have been carrying the AIDs virus.

41. are-we-there-yet Avatar

David; I heard tonight that a young bajan yankee who came here to see his sick mother and returned to the USA a couple days ago with symptoms of a Chikungunya attack was quarantined in a hospital there on suspicion of having Ebola.

Velly interesting! The hysteria thickens.

42. @Are-we-there-yet

The good thing about the Ebola hysteria is that the world has finally taken notice of the disease.

On Friday, 31 October 2014, Barbados Underground wrote:

43. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

“Ebola, The Jihadist Weapon of Mass Destruction”

I would never condone civil unrest to remedy uncivil rest
    but to role-play Devil’s Advocate I would suggest Fire
    as alternative option
    http://youtu.be/VL2HE8qqsJE

44. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

Soul Fire

Dub Fire

http://youtu.be/JPFBCzgXdzw

45. Canada is now the latest country to impose a visa ban on ebola hit countries!
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-29861563