Guns captured by local police

Ministers of government Adriel Brathwaite (Attorney General/Home Affairs)and Ronald Jones (Education) were in the news this week condemning rising gun violence in Barbados. The latest count is 7 gun killings this year compared to 2 for the same period last year. Brathwaite promised earlier this week strategies are in the offing to combat the worrying situation but it is no surprise he was not at liberty to allay the concerns of Barbadians by being specific.  He hinted though he plans to speak to the Commissioner of Police. Very comforting. Ronald Jones attacked the issue from the angle of gender by urging males to be more responsible and to stop holding the society to ransom. Both ministers are to be congratulated for mouthing politically correct positions but at the same time must be criticized because of the leadership role they should be playing to arrest the situation.

There is a tendency to focus on enforcement, the need to be efficient supported by the judiciary is required to maintain a stable society. The other part of the equation, just as important, is not usually discussed with the same vigour –  the need to factor causality. There must be a reason why an enlightened society in 2014 continues to produce too many dysfunctional young people comfortable  with a gun toting role in the criminal world. The reality for some is that crime is a means of a survival. We can improve detection and punish all with greater efficiency but it will not stem the problem.

Barbados is a small island – 166 square miles – and it is easy for two or three bad apples to drag the reputation of Barbados through the mud. Gun violence has been on the rise for a long time though largely ignored. Authorities wrongly placed bets on an ease in gunplay with the discontinuation of the Guinness Fetes championed by Lil Rick and Voice of Barbados at the time. Barbadians are always slow to react and now the horse has bolted from the stable… Who can forget the willingness of the authorities to allow Vybz Kartel and Movado to spend some time with our children not too long ago.   The same decision makers are in office today who we have to rely on to craft solutions. Are we optimistic about positive outcomes?

On the enforcement side of the equation we have the issue of 150 promotions in the police force mired in litigation for two years because of an inability of the Commissioner of Police to order his human resources. Should it not be obvious to our leaders in the Judiciary, Police Service Commission, Royal Barbados Police Force, Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite et al that this is a priory matter?  Another example of Rome ablaze while the directorate is asleep.

About what is causing our youth to become distracted with crime and violence the reasons are many. At the top of the pile is the rising incidence of poverty in working class hoods. This is supported by the 2010 Country Poverty Assessment Reports. Where there is poverty the lure of quick money will be a challenge,  made more attractive in a morally bankrupt environment. Remember the BU household is entitled to an opinion.

We cannot forget the revelations of the Alexandra Commission Inquiry. For many on the political horses it was a win or lose situation. For others there was the opportunity to see up close the opportunity to improve the management of our education system.

Connect the dots.

100 responses to “Arresting the Gun Play”

1. Police make me get out the van B104 every morning and make me late for school. While the transport bus pass us out was just as full, this happen For most my school life, if the police don’t care about the law why should I?

The minister of education hasent even introduced any form of finantial traning or interpersonal skill development for the youth so he ent want them no better either. Fither more banning cell phones was the worst decition EVER in the history of barbados, can you remember life without one? Do you know how much better students would be if they were tought how to use the smartphone as a tool?

2. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926TO 2014 MASSIVE FRAUD LANDTAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS, BARBADOS DLP/BLP MASSIVE PONZI FRAUD

Where there is poverty the lure of quick money will be a challenge, made more attractive in a morally bankrupt environment. Remember the BU household is entitled to an opinion.@@@

Well , its sounds like the same way the DBLP behave. What you get on the top is what you will get at the bottom.

3. “The kill Switch”
    (America)
    To head off such measures, the nation’s four major wireless providers — Verizon Wireless, AT&T, T-Mobile and Sprint — agreed to begin sharing a database of serial numbers tied to stolen phones. By the end of this year, a phone reported stolen will, theoretically, no longer function on any of the provider networks.
    But that doesn’t address the overseas black market because foreign wireless carriers are not participating in the anti-theft campaign. The current price for a new iPhone 5 in the Middle East is between $1,000 and $1,200, according to authorities. Domestically, the iPhone sells for about $648 retail, or less if the buyer signs a contract with a service provider.

4. Damian…..” hasent, finantial, traning, Fither, decition, tought” I suggest you sue the Minister of Education and The Royal Barbados Police Force for taking valuable school hours away from you.

5. Where was this minister and his forebears when White people and upper class Blacks had a monopoly on guns in Barbados? From an anthropological point of view we don’t known how a society, any society, could expect to give a minority social nuclear weapons and still expects that an arms race will not ensue. And that that arms race to present the problems we now have with gun violence. When you plant corn, you will only reap guns!

6. Can anyone name any societies in our world today where gun violence isn’t a challenging concern? As youth who grew up in the city area of Barbados, I witnessed as well as heard of many instances of gunplay between police and the criminal element in the town locality. I recalled quite vividly the day Barbados most notorious criminal Doctor-Rat shot Jasper Watson who was attached to the CID in the 60’s and throughout the 1970’s. And when my good friend Mounted Police Marlon Moore, was got shot in the leg at the National Stadium on dreadful night back in the 1980’s. And finally, I saw firsthand the pain CID detective Track-Suit-Top/Bowen endured after being shot in the leg as well. Many days this man who I didn’t really care for was afflicted with pain associated with the injury he sustained from the gun shot throughout his career, which was terminated by Commissioner Durant for abusing the criminal elements in his custody.

7. So in essence: gun-violence has always been part and parcel of our way of life in Barbados, but perhaps, not in the country localities. Police was also accused of murdering people and planting a guns next to them. One such case was the Sand-Fly case, where several CID detectives some of whom are deceased now, were accused of shooting Sand-Fly and planting a gun next to him. I care not to speak on the Farmer case because a good friend of mine was involved in that troubling case back in the 1980’s.

8. drugs and guns is a recipe for disaster ..protecting our borders and better vigilance of land sea or air by those in authority come hell or high waters must be of the uttermost importance in order to curb any further escalation of murder in barbados………

9. I have to get this final piece in before David accuse me of digressing from the topic before deliberation. Now, by the way Track-Suit-Top brother-in-law at the time Dirty Harry, was also terminated by Police Commissioner Orville Durant for conduct unbecoming of a police officer back in the 1980’s. These two Former CID detectives I knew very well, but care little for because their acted much like the criminal elements their were employed to apprehend.

10. Guns enter Barbados in ways you wouldn’t hardly think about. I remembered as a kid when the Royal Police Barbados Band would visited New York City annually, and upon its returned, the members of the Band would bring back to Barbados all types of handguns.

11. There is corruption in all fronts in Barbados, but only persons like myself who were exposed to it are aware of it. Listen! During the inter-school -sports at the National Stadium back in the 1980’s, a lot of those young underage school girls ended up in the police men bed at District A Police Station. (I saw them because I was present) It could have been Bush Tea’s or Geogie Porgie’s daughters, but one thing that is certain, their parents knew little about it. And these underage school girls were engaging in entercourse with grown men who were charged to Serve and Protect.

12. @islandgal246. It is true I can’t spell to save my life. So I dident particulary like going to school because I had to put up with people that have your atituide, you all can read and write but can’t form an idea.

Anything on topic to contribuite?

13. First of all, the problem with guns in Barbados is nothing new. It can be easily solved through the judicial system as one means of a deterrent. Not less than 25 yrs if found with an unlicensed gun, simple!

@Damien and Islandgal 246,

The youth nowadays are technologically suave, , access to wealth of instantaneous information through the same smart phones, but yet still illiterate and devoid of critical thinking skills and expression. How ironic!

14. @The Thinker

Here is part of the problem in Barbados, lack of enforcement, corruption and lack of leadership. The following case since it was highlighted in 2010 hanging in limbo. Why is the question we would post to the DPP. CCJ and AG.

The Fear Of A Lawless Society

Posted on October 16, 2010 by David | 25 comments

On Thursday October 14, 2010 Suleman Esuf was granted bail of 1 million dollars with two sureties of $500,000.00 in the Bridgetown Traffic Court. We recall Esuf was charged with having a traffickable quantity of cannabis stated as 2778.38 pounds … Continue reading →

http://www.nationnews.com/index.php/articles/view/businessman-on-11m-drug-charge-remanded/

15. @ David
    This thing about leadership. We don’t know that we want anybody/ies to lead us. We should all lead ourselves.

16. Fatther Crab Johnson-Hillaby Avatar
    Fatther Crab Johnson-Hillaby

Fishing Boats Bringing in Guns for years

17. Yeah, and no one has heard anything about a conviction for that indian dude yet, Esuf is related to the Adams’ of SY Adams, that could never have been his first container shipment of drugs into Barbados, it’s just the first that was caught, he was also arrested for shooting some dude prior to the arrest for trafficking, and i understand he was given bail for both offenses, imagine that…..

The police should be looking at who is importing so many guns into Barbados, Caribbean governments should be doing the same, it’s certainly not the poor people, they do not have those connections that span the globe……

In the 90’s, if you wanted a gun, there were many Bajan whites gun dealers you could check, i am sure it has not changed, i am equally sure there are now new players in the gun market, unfortunately, these weapons of death always end up in the hands of the ignorant, uneducated black youth whose only ambition in life is to kill each other…..find out the source of these guns, it’s gotten so bad i understand israeli made weapons were found in Barbados not even 2 years ago.

18. Fatther Crab Johnson-Hillaby Avatar

Dompey !
    Wuh that have to do with Guns. 1980–girls sleeping with Police
    Do you know how long fooping did gwine long i the world
    Dompey yuh tawking Shiite

19. @Father Crab

Yes it is true but isn’t the issue about the escalation of gun violence?

20. Here is part of the problem in Barbados, lack of enforcement, corruption and lack of leadership.

THIS IS SO ALL AROUND THE WORLD– AND SIMULTANEOUSLY SO.
    WONDER WHY?
    SOME ONE HA TO FILL THE VOID.

THERE IS A RETARD ON BU WHO THINKS WE SHOULD BUP oh me am
    the rum shop and cricket is a great entertainment combination

21. Yes the government (Police force) has to find a way to keep guns out of the hands of criminals and other ‘thugs’. But the blame should lie with the same ‘thugs’ and their family. The government should not be blamed for every single social disorder that occur.

22. @TJ

And if the thugs and their families are not stepping up what do we do?

23. But the government can be blamed, particularly the security forces for not doing enough to keep guns out of the island, they do an admirable job on the drugs, that’s all you hear about, well guns are a hell of a lot harder to import, export and hide than drugs, so then, how are so many guns making it into Barbados and the Caribbean, it’s looking like a well orchestrated effort to visit death and destruction on a massive scale to the Caribbean.

24. @ David

I am in agreement with you in that its government should do more to tackle the gun element on our streets but they should not be held fully responsible for they gun-play that goes on.

25. @T J

Agree we all need to be part of the solution. This is a big problem, disengaged stakeholders.

26. In the inner-cities of America where gun violence is a serious problem; from time to time the police departments in these trouble areas have what is called a Buy-Back-Program. Where the police departments buy back some of the illegal firearms from the people within these high crime areas in the cities. So this is one way to get some of these illegal firearms off the streets of the island of Barbados.

27. Well Well | August 17, 2014 at 1:17 PM |
    But the government can be blamed, particularly the security forces for not doing enough to keep guns out of the island, they do an admirable job on the drugs, that’s all you hear about, well guns are a hell of a lot harder to import, export and hide than drugs, so then, how are so many guns making it into Barbados and the Caribbean, it’s looking like a well orchestrated effort to visit death and destruction on a massive scale to the Caribbean.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………
    A hell of a lot of drugs is still bypassing the Coast Guard ,Police and Customs check points, probably mainly through fast boats in the middle of the night on some deserted and otherwise rough beaches. The guns are most likely coming in via this route, not in suitcases, barrels nor parcel post.But I would not discount shipping containers, which have been the source of many drug finds, with hardly anyone being prosecuted. The case of Bridgetown Asian merchant’s son who was apprehended with a contained full of drugs ,seems to have been swept under the carpet.
    If the government continues to turn a blind eye on the proliferation of guns in this island, one day these same guns may be used directly against Palmetto Street.
    Parliament needs to enact laws to give the Police and Joint BDF/Police patrols the power to stop and search vehicles on our highways, if they have reasonable suspicion . Since the days of Errol Barrow’s last rule, the point was made by the then Attorney General, Maurice King that it was illegal for police to stop and search vehicles on our highways. So, for the past 28 years we have sat back and done sweet FA and are now crying crocodile tears and scratching the hairs off what little balls we have left.

28. Fatther Crab Johnson-Hillaby | August 17, 2014 at 12:54 PM |
    Fishing Boats Bringing in Guns for years
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    It has been known that Barbados fishing boats have turned up at the Bridgetown fishing port, laden with appliances purchased abroad, and as a territorial waters operation, were exempt the usual Custom and Exise regulations. Similar may apply to small foreign yachts visiting Barbados, they are anchored off the coast, and the crew have to remain on board until the Custom and Immigration officials, have given them clearance, but once given clearance they are then free to sail back out later,under the disguise of sailing around the island or whatever, and rendezvous with any illegal supplier, and sail back in without any bother.

29. No amount of laws will deter a willing criminal from engaging in criminal activity once the incentive to make money is there. Look how the federal and local government here in the US; enforced stricter laws, brought in State Police and the FBI to assist local police within the inner-cities of America and yet gun -violence is still on the escalation.

30. Damian there is something called “spell check” you know. Just right click on your mouse and select the correct word. Do you know how to use a pc?

31. @ Dompey
    David | August 17, 2014 at 12:16 PM |
    Those who have served in the military know in a situation where there is civilian protest the rule us to stay low and not act as provocateur
    ………………………………………………………………………………………….
    Perhaps the US government needs to try similar techniques to they employ in other countries to disarm criminals who refer to themselves as freedom fighters, nationalists,dictators etc.

32. Dompey | August 17, 2014 at 3:54 PM |
    No amount of laws will deter a willing criminal from engaging in criminal activity once the incentive to make money is there. Look how the federal and local government here in the US; enforced stricter laws, brought in State Police and the FBI to assist local police within the inner-cities of America and yet gun -violence is still on the escalation.
    …………………………………………………………………………………..
    Perhaps the US government needs to try similar techniques to they employ in other countries to disarm criminals who refer to themselves as freedom fighters, nationalists,dictators etc.

33. Fatther Crab Johnson-Hillaby Avatar

certain browsers have automatic spell-check
    Yes the government is to be blamed for GUNS in Barbados
    If not the Government -who
    They have destroyed the morale of the appropriate public servants by bad decisions and square pegs in oblong holes. People with Degrees and not practical experience messing up the place . Poor salaries , low morale and hand to mout people = corruption -bobol

34. Colonel Buggy

Fortunately, we live by the rule of law here in the US and a written constitution. As I have said earlier: as long as there an incentive to make money, no amount of legislative enactment will deter a willing criminal. The prohibition laws in the US did little to curved gun violence during that troubling period in American History.

35. Those living on the rock are terrifyingly aware how easy it has become to access a gun whether automatic or other. The conversation needs to go pass ‘guns were always in Barbados’. Given the impersonal society we are becoming and the dismantling of borders there is a different dynamic at pay.

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Damian,

The effort to participate is commended and doan mind that as you admit your spelling skills are not the best, what you have stated is as much caused by how you learnt in school and what we the ole fogeys “toght” you in school.

There was a time when there were teachers like Austin, Jemmott, Brickie, Dame Elsie and others who took pride in making sure that the slowest of their class were the judge of whether they were really teachers or just there to pull a salary every 28th.

As it is with the MTW crew who only feel justified in blocking up traffic to check errant road tax and non-paid insurance and dont give a rats ass about whether there is an illegal radio on a bus or if the driver craddling you and other students on the minibus.

So kudos to you, go out and tell all your friends to bring your young minds here so that you can “talk” and listen and share to show how how we have failed you.

Nun uh wunna ent know de Judge dat leggo dat fellow wid the traficcable quantity of drugs de udder day and lock up de nex feller fuh a spliff.

Nor nun uh wunna ent know de officer dat blow off he finger when a man ask he tuh move he car from in front he driveway when he did visit Shelley Weir House.

Guns does gi’ an ingrunt man power Damian, when you is a phvcking idjit and cant put together a sentence to save your life, the power of the gun is like a salve, it gives you status among the rest uh de idjits.

Now Idjits like Adriel Nitwit Brafwit and We Jonesing de Minister of Edukation doan know nuffin bout addressing de problem, no siree dem doan know boat how our Education system is failing the cuntry because uh de emphasis pun English and Maffs and how, even if you is a boss fixing a TV dat no one has thought of looking for a system that will bridge the gap between your challenges in English and Maths and your competencies in Electronics.

Of course Bratwit gine blame you and your young brothers fuh all de crime in Bulbados and the udder chvnt gine tell you to go and breed somebody to increase the population so dat there would be peeple to sell to.

Damian, honestly what can we tell you seriously about arresting the gun play and stopping the violence among youth when we big peeple pulling gun pun pun each udder in Parliament Yard, bitting out people clitoris, teefing money under de guise of cuntsulting fees and Solid Waste Taxes and udder tings like dem?

37. When one of these gun-tooting young men shoot One of these politicians, or a member of their families, then the rest of us in the society will get some action and not a “bag of chip chat” in the media..

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hants

I rest my case.

See the difference in presentation even down to the statistics data.

Have you ever watched any of our corresponding presentations, the content, how it is conveyed, the competence that it is conveyed in, the latent ineptitude, what confidence is conveyed?

Man even if the cops are shysters and equally incompetent it comes over as, we got this under control, don’t mind that they dont and we are losing the battle against drugs and illegal funds because we simply have no clue what to do.

Criminals who will kill on an order, corrupt lawyers, judges, policemen and Directors of Public Prosecution (sorry I got carried away you would be inclined to believe that i am talking about our Guyanese DPP, we are losing the fight.

39. @ David,
    It is with noted interest that you support your points with the reference case. There is a correlation ship between the underground economy (drug trade) and rising gun violence , in Barbados and all other small island jurisdictions. I guess we all know that.
    This is the fall out of prohibition versus legalisation of drugs particularly marijuana which we have to live with. As long as supplying drugs remain illegal, the business will remain a criminal monopoly. The gangsters will continue to enjoy control of the market, by any means necessary. They will go on corrupting police, murdering their rivals and doing some of the most unjust things to maintain status quo.

So, are we actually wining the war on drugs through prohibition, or is it encouraging other deviant behaviour such as more gun play and increase in corruption?

40. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Cant Wait

Anarchy and Sedition

David [BU] ban dis man immediately.

Looka dis doah nuh, right heah pun dis blogspace a men put forward a seditious suggestion that if somebody kill a politician son, daughter or in-betweener dat dis ting would stop or at least, like the Chatterton fellow related to the former lady at the National Substance Abuse agency someting wud get do.

Cat Wait it wud tek 4-5 deaths of these highfalutting peeples dem before de peeple wake up and see what is going on.

I like i gine hafta get ban meself

41. Colonel…..if it’s as you say.and in addition the security forces take bribes to let a few boats as well customs to let a few containers go in both more than likely loaded with both guns and drugs because there are connections to whomever on the island, hard to win that particular battle……i believe i read somewhere that the authorities in Barbados were about to start lie detector tests for their security forces, maybe the time is ripe, hope that was not just lip service.

There were always conversations stating that the yachts were the easier methods of transportation for drugs and guns into and out of the islands because the police, customs, coast guard do not search them enough or pay attention to what they do for one reason or another……;pure idiocy.

42. @pieceuhderockyeahright

There is good reason to agree with Can’t Wait. When was the last time the gallows took a life in Barbados?

43. Piece…….i agree, let us hear from the youngsters on the blog, never mind their lack of certain verbal skills, we should be here to correct them or show them how they can correct themselves, it’s hard to express your feelings when you are a certain age, even if your writing skills are perfect and they will get great practice for future life experience……

By all means invite the young folks to participate on BU, we are here to teach and pass on knowledge to the young, unlike the elders of previous generations, who either did not know better or just liked to keep information to themselves to take with them to their holes in the ground…time to help these young folk, they need all the help they can get.

44. David asked rhetorically “When was the last time the gallows took a life in Barbados?”

I was also told from trial to gallows was swift.

45. Can’t Wait

How about educating the youth on effects of gun violence instead criticizing them for the lack of proper enforcement of our water – ways. I am quite sure none of those young men were born with a gun attached to their hips. So therefore, we have to look at the sociological causes which have given rise the to distructive behave of today youth.

46. So we associate guns with wealth and the wealthy, and we have come to regard wealth as the highest social value and then we act surprised when
    ignorant, uneducated black youth who don’t have a po to piss in nor a window to throw it through covet guns so that they can kill each other.

The youth in the ghettoes will turn in their guns when the wealthy turn in theirs.

47. And we all know that the wealthy and powerful in Barbados (and in the world) will NEVER, NEVER turn in their guns